Member Run Boards >> Environment >> Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1520498284 Message started by The Mechanic on Mar 8th, 2018 at 6:38pm |
Title: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 8th, 2018 at 6:38pm Quote:
im just going to drop this here so we can look back on it later on... I think a lot of ammeter weather men do great predictions because they are not held by the government and its institutions who have to follow the political line.. it would not surprise me if he is right as the past 2 or 3 winters have been long and colder than the ones before... time will tell.. but people are always "smart" after the event... lets keep this prediction here before the event.. :) |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 8th, 2018 at 6:39pm
mind you..
saying that we're in for the coldest winter on RECORD is really putting your balls on the line.. I would not have gone that far... |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Mar 8th, 2018 at 7:31pm
I expect snow in Melbourne this winter
if David DuByne is right. Last winter was bad enough - it seemed to go on for 5 months. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Agnes on Mar 8th, 2018 at 7:54pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 7:31pm:
well you could have shared that with me- it wasn't even a decent winter out here- more like spring |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by lee on Mar 8th, 2018 at 8:00pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 6:39pm:
Yeah, but BoM only recognises temperatures to 1910. They refuse to recognise Stevenson Screens were in place for most of Australia before then. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Mar 8th, 2018 at 8:12pm Agnes wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 7:54pm:
Not here in Melbourne - sometimes it was so cold I didn't want to get out of bed. My car was covered in ice 3 times & the whole street was white with thick frost & ice as though I was living on a mountain. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 8th, 2018 at 8:37pm
We had our usual 2 weeks of cold weather (if that) in Rockhampton. But it was not a cold winter for the other 10 weeks. If we get freezing weather for a month (at the coldest time of the year) I will be happy. I would not mind it if we broke the -1 degree Celsius record we established 70 years ago.
I have not had a decent winter for the last 30 months. It has either been hot or mild around here all year. Nothing under a 5 degree minimum since 2015. And I do hope we have heavy Autumn rain before Winter sets in. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Mar 11th, 2018 at 2:09pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 8:12pm:
Nobody cares about Melbourne: the wogs can have it! ;D |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 11th, 2018 at 2:37pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 6:39pm:
Actually by saying "on record" they are protecting themselves because the records go by exact dates and temperatures on those dates. Since our calendar is well overdue for an overhaul (seasons about a month out now) its a pretty safe bet to beat some "records" for specific dates. Spot |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Mar 11th, 2018 at 3:31pm TheFunPolice wrote on Mar 11th, 2018 at 2:09pm:
Melbourne is a cold damp place in winter - cold with high humidity that eats into your bones. Even wearing 3 jumpers, a beanie & a scarf - you still feel cold & that's indoors - go out into the wind & it feels like Stalingrad in WW2. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 11th, 2018 at 4:14pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 11th, 2018 at 3:31pm:
how in the hell did we ever used to live outside with no clothes on? |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Mar 11th, 2018 at 4:18pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 11th, 2018 at 4:14pm:
We came out of a hot part of Africa about 200,000 years ago. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 11th, 2018 at 4:19pm
I just saw around 40 to 50 black cockatoos in the trees across the river...
I've seen them go by over the past 4 or 5 years after the mini drought... some old folk say its a sign of winter coming in a couple of months, as they are flying passed on their way to the mountains... a bit early I would have thought.. in passed years I've used Crows as an indication winter is on the way.... hundreds of them come to my area a couple of months before the rains come in... I've been working away and only Home some weekends so it'll be hard to tell this year... there are crows around at the moment... but not by the "hundreds" ... yet... I will expect to see heaps more within the month which will indicate heavy rains through winter... |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 12th, 2018 at 6:07am
Who needs ground hogs?
Spot |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Ajax on Mar 12th, 2018 at 8:47am
Astronomers who study the sun are usually spot on about the weather thus far, I think.... ;)
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 12th, 2018 at 8:15pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 12th, 2018 at 6:07am:
ROSIEODONNELL.jpg (66 KB | 29
) |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 13th, 2018 at 5:03am President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 6:39pm:
On record for this region means going colder than negative 1 for one day of the year. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Agnes on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:36pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 8th, 2018 at 7:31pm:
Hoping to see snow in Adelaide as well - at least in the hills anyway- I will be up there frolicking around and building snowmen etc- I have a good feeling about winter this year :P |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Gordon on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:39pm
Bring on the cold weather. I now have 3 gas heaters and central heating.
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by miketrees on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:43pm Cold in WA usually means dry as well. I dont want that,,, not that wanting or not wanting will change anything. What ever happened to Indigo Jones and Lennox Walker reincarnated to Mechanic |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Agnes on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:48pm Gordon wrote on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:39pm:
LOL Gordy is there ANY weather you actually like- just put on yer puffy winter jumpsuit and snow boots and LIVE!!!!! |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by lee on Mar 14th, 2018 at 11:39pm
Rainfall in WA
From an alarmist perspective Cherry picking start dates. Showing the full record to 2005 |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:37am miketrees wrote on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:43pm:
ole folk didn't have weathermen and looked for signs in nature to give them a hint of what was to come... Some farmers use different types of weeds growing as a sign of turning climates... going from draught back to rains coming in.. but we are losing that ability... im sure everyone on here knows that a sign of thousands of ants on the move means rains are coming in within a day or 3... people are calling Melbourne Radio stations talking about ants on the move today... Rain coming your way Bobby.. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Gordon on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:47am Agnes wrote on Mar 14th, 2018 at 9:48pm:
Actually I lurv the cold especially at night. I sleep with the window open in winter but I have 2 gurls and a baby boy so.... This winter the rules of the heater will be as follows. No heating will be turned on unless tracky dacky, hoody, thick socks or slippers are worn. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:58am Gordon wrote on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:47am:
strewth.. the fun never stops at your house Gordo.. :-/ |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Gordon on Mar 15th, 2018 at 10:03am President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:58am:
Why, that's just normal winter indoor clothes. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:06pm
I am already chasing one of those air conditioners for the room, as seen on television. With winter coming on, I doubt that they will sell very many, and I should get a fairly cheap unit. It will have to sit in storage until September. But it should be really good.
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Apr 2nd, 2018 at 9:06am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 12th, 2018 at 6:07am:
mice are moving inside Spot... we had a nice long autum last year but that WON"T happen this year... winter is coming in.... along with the mice... I went to Bunnings yesterday and bought a bucket of mice bait bocks... 50 for 33 dollars.... 3 blocks have disappeared overnight... along with two the night before that... :o I have also thrown blocks and other baits into the roof.. its killing time at the Mechanics home... :) |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Apr 3rd, 2018 at 2:13pm Ajax wrote on Mar 12th, 2018 at 8:47am:
...what? ::) |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Apr 3rd, 2018 at 2:15pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 15th, 2018 at 9:37am:
You're cheating the kids! Hope you feel good about that! |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The_Barnacle on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 10:18am
Winter is now over so let's see how how David Taylor's forecast of the coldest winter ON RECORD panned out:
Oh dear. Far from being the coldest winter ON RECORD, for most of Australia it wasn't even BELOW AVERAGE. massive fail from David Taylor massive fail from that fraud Du Byne Massive fail Bobby |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by lee on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 12:52pm The_Barnacle wrote on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 10:18am:
Oh dear. Fancy using BoM's smeared temperature from those 715? weather stations. Over 7.7 million square Kms? And then we get this - https://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/climate/fresh-doubts-over-bom-records-after-thermometer-read-at-wrong-end/news-story/8b7fd6ae4fc27b2b6f2429b016be21ef paywalled Apparently a Post Office worker was reading the wrong end of the slide for temperatures. ::) dated August 2017 You are so funny. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The_Barnacle on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 1:02pm lee wrote on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 12:52pm:
If you have an issue with the BOM data please provide references and explain how many weather stations you would require with links to the appropriate sources. If not then STHU |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by lee on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 1:10pm The_Barnacle wrote on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 1:02pm:
Oh dear. Getting antsy in your old age? What do you call spreading data that way? When it can be a certain temperature at your place, a different temperature two blocks away, how do you resolve 1000's of square kilometres? I know - you are a true believer. How do you resolve "data" for all that area around Alice Springs which is multiples of 1000's of square kilometres of empty land? Inquiring minds would like to know. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 6:47pm The_Barnacle wrote on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 10:18am:
I saw a graph very similar in one of DuBynes's videos & it showed massive areas of cold. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 6:54pm
All time record cold in Australia.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdjlJZDphBA Record Cold Australia with August Snow in Turkey & Calgary (702) Adapt 2030 Published on Sep 1, 2018 Record cold in Australia, but you would never know it by the news headline that says "Coldest August in 19 Years" buried deeper is the single small paragraph of the all tie record cold in Melbourne, a capital city no less. August snows in Turkey and Calgary, which add to the August snows in USA and Europe. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by lee on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 7:43pm
Did you notice Barney showed Mean Temperature map?
Does everybody get a mean temperature? Of course if you want to look at cold winter temperatures you look at minimums. And despite the smearing this is what the minimum anomaly looked like. Gee. Lots of blues and greens in that. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 8:26pm
Thanks Lee,
I hope Barny has a good look - it really has been cold. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The_Barnacle on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 11:25am lee wrote on Sep 2nd, 2018 at 7:43pm:
You are hilarious lee 1. so you don't mind using the BOM maps when it suits you, but you reject them when anybody else uses them. That is the ultimate in dishonesty and hypocrisy. 2. Even the map you posted doesn't show the COLDEST WINTER ON RECORD. So the thread is still wrong. 3. Minimum temperatures are overnight temperatures. So they have nothing to do with the Grand Solar Minimum and they are exactly what you would expect in a drought year. So once again you fail lee and just show yourself to be the most dishonest and hypocritical debater. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The_Barnacle on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 11:31am This is the daytime temperature map for Winter 2018 So if this so called Grand Solar Minimum was affecting us you would expect the daytime temperatures to be well below normal Instead we see that basicly the entire nation was above average Du Byne and Bobby have failed again |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bojack Horseman on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 11:49am
All those two graphs indicate to me is the dryness of the winter.
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by Bobby on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 4:12pm The_Barnacle wrote on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 11:31am:
You've proven nothing. We've had record low temperatures - a 60 year low record for Melbourne as one example. You wouldn't expect that if the climate was getting warmer. |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by lee on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 5:39pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 11:49am:
Well they are temperature maps to be fair. But generally cold is dry. rainfall anomalies |
Title: Re: Australia is in for its coldest winter ON RECORD . Post by The Mechanic on Sep 4th, 2018 at 7:57pm The_Barnacle wrote on Sep 3rd, 2018 at 11:31am:
I dont even know what that map is supposed to show barney... Maximum Temperatures?? :-/ you haven't really shown us anything... |