Member Run Boards >> Extremism Exposed >> Pub Quiz #7 http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1493705531 Message started by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 4:12pm |
Title: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 4:12pm
For the time being Pub Quizzes will be held here. I hope it won’t be for long.
Errrr don’t have anything ready right now—but stay tuned! |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 4:58pm
Fantastic! Or, if you’re French, wunderbar! (Obscure Goon Show reference)
Friday I will own a Windsor chair and a lovely big, handmade, Bendigo Pottery stoneware bottle and pay off the layby on my hallstand. Phew! Pub Quiz # 7 Question 1: Besides stoneware what other types of ceramics are there? (There are more than one so don’t be discouraged if someone posts an answer. Besides, they are likely wrong anyway!) I will let this run until Sunday afternoon. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by greggerypeccary on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:02pm I have ceramic pickups in many of my guitars. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:03pm
How interesting (yawn)
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by greggerypeccary on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:04pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:03pm:
LOL Beat you at your own game. You've never heard of ceramic pickups ;D Denier! |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:06pm
Quite frankly my dear I couldn’t give a damn.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by greggerypeccary on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:09pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:06pm:
Denier! |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Brian Ross on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:22pm
Industrially, ceramics come in the forms of:
[list bull-blackball] The best-known ceramics are pottery, glass, brick, porcelain, and cement. Pottery can be called China, Stoneware, Boneware, etc. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Mr Hammer on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:32pm
bisque.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:03pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 4:12pm:
Only as long as it takes for you to say sorry - maybe you can take over extremism exposed..like a petulant rash. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:06pm Agnes wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:03pm:
Thought so. Monk, you've never been the sort of bloke to be manipulated (openly as well) like this.......by anyone, let alone Agnes. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:07pm Quote:
You have the bare faced hide to call him petulant? Pot/kettle. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:09pm
tsk tsk...
Aussie wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:06pm:
How bitch like arsie.. but everyone at PA can manipulate you lol. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:14pm Agnes wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:09pm:
No-one manipulates me Agnes, especially you. I always call it as I see it.....and that's that. No-one can 'buy' or compromise me. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:21pm
I am so glad to be rid of you arsie...should have done this a long time ago. Monk is just mulling on something and he knows he owes me an apology-none of your business! -if it doesnt come- and I am not making demands of him in the open, then I am quite happy to say good bye to him as well- you have both done me a great disservice over a long period of time that I have known you both. You are tarred with the one brush.. I am glad now that when someone calls monk a Flouncing Queen..I can actually have giggle about that I used to anyway tbh.. now away with you stalker
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:23pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:02pm:
He obviously has no musical ear nor knowledge...ignore mr troll Greg. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:24pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:04pm:
you are onto him lol.he is a fake ;D |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:50pm Agnes wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 6:24pm:
There ya go Monk. You are a fake. Worse still.... Quote:
Nasty stuff Agnes. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 7:37pm |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 7:53pm
Try AiA.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:04pm Aussie wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 7:53pm:
jogged a memory for you? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:13pm Agnes wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:04pm:
No, why should it? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:14pm
Could we keep this thread for the quiz please?
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:22pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:14pm:
Why.....this is Extremism. If you want to do this and not have these distractions, choose another Sub-Forum. Relationships or whatever. Your protest is noted, as it is quite obvious, as it is totally understandable. Solution is to move on......effectively. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:30pm
I just asked about this thread. But I am thinking of moving it to Games maybe.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:37pm
Jayzuz Monk! You don't need permission or a cheer squad.
Do it wherever you want. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 2nd, 2017 at 9:41pm
Yeah, I will but probably not for a few days. Got other things going on.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 3rd, 2017 at 9:45pm Mr Hammer wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 5:32pm:
Yeah, but bisque is just porcelain that is not glazed. Used to be used for dolls, painting bisque gave the dolls faces a more realistic look. Parian ware, bisque porcelain made to look like marble (not very successfully IMHO.) Dunno if glass is ceramics: made from sand not clay but hey could be. As far as I know ceramics include: Stoneware Earthenware Hard paste porcelain Soft paste porcelain Bone china |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 4th, 2017 at 10:30am
Ah, one other variation,[i][ blanc de chine /i]which is porcelain glazed but not painted.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 4th, 2017 at 10:53am Jovial Monk wrote on May 2nd, 2017 at 4:58pm:
wow I do trust you are building a house to house all these beauties monk???... it wont I take it be a modern house....dont forget the picture rail for all the plates to be on show....we will want pictures you know.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 4th, 2017 at 11:02am
Nasty stuff Agnes. hilarious from a person who referrers to other forum members as sewer dwellers amongst a lot of other things......lolololol |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 4th, 2017 at 11:05am
My house will be inspired by the Art Nouveau and Aesthetic Movement esthetics Cods.
Tomorrow I will buy a Windsor chair and my hallstand plus a huge stoneware bottle (Bendigo Pottery!) Also two sets of cast iron cupids (will post piccys of all never fear.) From the outside of my front door(Art Nouveau finger/push plate) to the back door there will be that esthetic theme. Ten art Nouveau majolica tubelined fireplace surround tiles are on their way to me! Wait till you see the covered atrium that will be outside my kitchen! Chair rails and picture rails will be in place Codsy! |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 4th, 2017 at 1:55pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 4th, 2017 at 11:05am:
sigh of relief about picture rails... I loved those that went down staircases.. but hell on earth dont have stairs.....but the pics and plates hanging on the walls was such a picture....old fashioned but lovely.. we had a hall stand well we all wore coats in England.. you will have to get a big teddy to sit on the chair monk I wouldnt want any real bums on it.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 4th, 2017 at 3:36pm
My bum will be on it when putting shoes on or off. Chair is about 150 years old! 1868 they were made.
Yeah, need a hall stand in Tassie or England. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 5th, 2017 at 7:17am Jovial Monk wrote on May 4th, 2017 at 3:36pm:
no monk Tassie is very moist! moist means mud.. you will need a room outside for boot changing... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 5th, 2017 at 10:52am
Where I am going—and it isn’t the West Coast!!!—it is a tad drier than Adelaide, codsy.
The first part of my passage will be what the yanks call a “mud room.” Shoes won’t be worn in the house itself. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 5th, 2017 at 2:22pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 5th, 2017 at 10:52am:
well if the chair you posted is the one we are talking about .. it wont go in no mud room... and mud rooms belong out on the veranda or back door.... not in a hallway... where your beautiful hall stand will go. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 5th, 2017 at 5:30pm
Well, will see codsy. Could always put a rude bench by the front door for shoe changing purposes.
But got my windsor chair. Not a single nail or screw in it. Made from green oak. The top of the back was bent using steam. It has two stretchers so pretty sturdy. It was made in 1915 for government use—probably military. The stoneware bottle, made for some industrial use is lovely. Handmade, stoneware, massive and no cracks or chips. Goodness knows what I will use it for ;D ;D ;D just decorative I guess. Love it! Just measured it: the bottle is 20", 50cm high and the inside of the mouth is 10.5cm, a tad over 4" wide. Pretty massive! I can see the fingermarks of the potter on the inside. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 5th, 2017 at 6:07pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 5th, 2017 at 5:30pm:
well done maybe you can grow a few flowers to put in the bottle shame to waste it it was meant to be useful....the chair sounds brilliant I went to the Versallies at the art gallery and its gorgeous to see what they did without the tools we have today is amazing...we should be ashamed of ourselves turning out the plastic crap like we do.... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 5th, 2017 at 6:29pm
The hallstand will be delivered Wednesday morning.
Will need to put something on the glove box part of the stand: some maroon had a pot plant there and overwatered and left the pot to stand in the overflow. In other words, there is a ring on the top of the glove box. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 6th, 2017 at 7:48am
I can see why someone included glass as a type of ceramic: stoneware is fired at a high temperature, over 1100°C, so that it vitrifies to some extent, partly turns to glass. Stoneware, even if not glazed can hold liquids.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 6th, 2017 at 8:06am Jovial Monk wrote on May 5th, 2017 at 6:29pm:
sad but it does add character and is part of its history dont forget... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 6th, 2017 at 8:11am
Yup, a few dings here and there on an old item are inevitable and not necessarily a bad thing with antiques but the ring just speaks of carelessness.
A nice jardiniere with a plant in it would be good or my porcelain peacock might look nice. Have thought about the mudroom and of course you are right, codsy! |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Lord Herbert on May 6th, 2017 at 8:14am
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 6th, 2017 at 8:54am
I've got a lot of ornaments - going back to my great grandmother. Many of them are in boxes gathering cobwebs in the garage. Unfortunately they've become clutter to me and part of me would have fun breaking them all, but when I watch Antiques Roadshow - I think I should hold onto them. It's a toss up between sentimentality or practicality.
I can imagine after I die - my son grabbing all these sealed boxes and throwing them in a skip bin. I might have to err on the side of practicality and sell them. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 6th, 2017 at 9:18am mantra wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 8:54am:
mantra put them up on here I am sure monk will tell you if they are worthy of hanging on to....is there is no sentiment in them they may well be someone elses treasure.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 6th, 2017 at 10:04am
Put some up at auction, see how they go.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 6th, 2017 at 10:45am Jovial Monk wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 10:04am:
I need to do that. We can't take it with us when we go. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 6th, 2017 at 10:35pm mantra wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 10:45am:
too right you may be amazed at what you have and what other people will pay a lot for... even monk may be interested,,,he loves his old china.. I have a few antique dolls..I made porcelain dolls for a long while and got into the real thing...my daughter wants them...god only knows where she will put it all..lolol.. I cant see her ever selling anything that belongs to her mum... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 6th, 2017 at 10:51pm mantra wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 10:45am:
Look, I am no expert but pop up a photo of a couple of pieces—take a photo of any chip or crack, these do not detract that much from really old stuff—I have more than one chipped/cracked piece. Take a photo of any marking on the back too—I can’t tell who made what just by looking at a photo of an item. Aesthetic Movement stuff is in demand by yuppies, art nouveau/deco have their fans. Early Worcester/Derby/Chelsea/Bow/Meissen is $$$. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 6th, 2017 at 11:10pm
maybe even older monk mantras great grandmothers
she may well be in for a surprise.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Karnal on May 6th, 2017 at 11:36pm cods wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 10:35pm:
They're most commonly used as feminine pleasure devices, dear. So I'm informed, anyway. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 5:20am Jovial Monk wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 10:51pm:
I might get around to that Monk. I know I've got stuff that other people want. Whenever I book a household goods pickup with the Council - by the time the truck arrives all my junk is gone. All won't be lost though. I have a daughter who will try to stop my son from throwing everything out. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 7:19am mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 5:20am:
same here...I have a son and daughter with no sentiment at all and one who cant part with a thing... I gave her a couple of wedding presents I still had..nothing to write home about just special gifts thats all...I have a crystal vase and bowl I still use the only gift left...which she has already claimed..... I would sooner someone with sentiment get it wouldnt you?>.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 7th, 2017 at 10:18am
Most young people today don’t have much interest in antiques so keeping a lot of stuff doesn’t make sense. I will keep my collection because I love it but doubt whoever inherits my estate will bother, I will advise them if you don’t want any of this stuff get an antiques expert to go through it and price it then approach a dealer.
Will also advise hang onto it as long as possible as it should all pretty much increase in value for time. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 11:09am Jovial Monk wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 10:18am:
yes I have said the same to my lot dont put it on the verge get an expert even if its falling apart... lol...I dont expect them to keep everything....I got nothing from my mum and dad...not much to have but a little something would have been nice... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 7th, 2017 at 11:25am
I don’t have anything from my grandmother except a photo or two of her.
Oma gave Mum her brooch when we left Holland for Australia. A few years ago Mum gave the brooch to my sister. Much emotion expressed but, as I expected, the brooch has not been seen again. Funny thing is, as the oldest I knew Oma the best and have no keepsake of her. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 11:39am Jovial Monk wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 11:25am:
aint it always the way...the greedy not the needy I had a friend yonks ago who came from a large family my friend was maybe a little backward but she was a very caring soul and loved her mum to bits she went to see her every week and was in fact with her when she collapsed in the street and because she didnt know any better when the ambos asked if she wanted her mum revived she said yes.....and so the poor lady lay in a hospital bed for a week never to regain consciousness all the brothers and sisters spent hours by the bed...of course..7 of them.... when it came time to clean the ladies town house out so it could go on the market.. down they all came and picked it dry my friend dearly wanted her mums dressing table one of those with little draws on top......and very fancy handles...anyway the brother who was older claimed he had first rights and he took it..... but later on my friend found it was stored in his garage with tins of paint on it..and the draws full of nails.... I was so sad for her....it didnt make any sense at all... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 7th, 2017 at 12:39pm cods wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 11:10pm:
Early Worcester is 1750–1775 or so, codsy. Named the Dr Wall period as Dr Wall was the person who got the company up and running in 1751. Early Bow and Chelsea started a few years before Worcester—but their porcelain, lacking the soapstone Worcester used, could not hold boiling water so they made lots of figurines and display or “cabinet” pieces. I reckon “great grandmother” is late 1900s—Aesthetic Movement, 1860–1890—or a bit earlier, Art Nouveau and the Arts and Crafts Movement about which I know nothing much. The came Art Deco after WWII. Depends when the ancestors bought their stuff. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 7th, 2017 at 1:06pm
I dont know about what period anything comes from , never bothered to find out but in an old rural farming area a lot of stuff just goes into the 2nd hand shop and noone has much idea as to what it is worth..I havent been foraging for a while but one time I bought an old whitish jug with a matching ceramic or pottery washing dish ...matching set...there was a slight crack acorss the bottom but appeared to be superficial, it didnt leak...I think that would have been a valuable peice.. would have been because it went missing in time and I have no clue what happened to it..I have moved house once or twice.. things get lost.
Similiar to this but looked older |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 7th, 2017 at 1:08pm Agnes wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 1:06pm:
closer in shape to this one |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 7th, 2017 at 1:51pm
LOTS of those were made and used, AG, wouldn’t get your hopes up. It is also plain and the value often lies, besides age, in hand applied decoration. Printed decoration has a LOT less value apart from Aesthetic Movement stuff (was largely transfer printed.) Not sure if AM stuff will hold its value: the first couple of bits of it I bought at school fetes for 10¢ each or so. Then yuppies moved into the old workers cottages in the very inner suburbs and started buying Aesthetic Movement stuff to decorate their cramped but “desirable” cottages. Any move away from that (decentralisation helped by FTTH and telecommuting) will see a lot of AM stuff dumped on the market and onto dumps, LOL!
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 7th, 2017 at 1:58pm
This was very old...not a recent reproduction, had no print....it had a whitish almost apaque look about it, with cracks in the glaze on the bottom...not that any of this matters now..is gone.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 2:19pm Agnes wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 1:08pm:
I love those water jugs and basins AG. I've never found an old one that I've found reasonably priced. Junk shops used to be reasonably priced, but not now. The modern ones are very chunky. The only pitfall with old china is that it breaks so easily. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 2:27pm
op shops are worth a look and of course garage sales depends where you live....I dont have the inclination any more to search unlike monk who seems to be at it every day....he certainly knows his dates though so worth asking him first I reckon mantra.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 2:40pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 6th, 2017 at 10:51pm:
I've looked up a few bits and pieces over the years. Many of the items are worth under $1,000 a piece and that includes some very pretty pieces of antique furniture. I would think the valuable items would be those you can't find on google. I've got a lot of very old crystal and silverware - some still in their original velvet and leather boxes. There's a Hughes and Sons 1796 sextant - (property of Lieutenant H Hornblower) beautifully crafted, but even that's only worth a couple of hundred dollars. The same goes for some century old hand made scales still in their original box - and other things which belonged to my grandfather. They would be hard to sell. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 2:45pm cods wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 2:27pm:
I might take some photos Cods. I couldn't be bothered looking anymore either, although at the last election when I voted at a church - they had a little junk stall set up and I picked up this large crystal vase (I'm always breaking vases) for $3. That was a bargain. I used to hate those vases, but people are using them again. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 7th, 2017 at 2:48pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 2:40pm:
:o Hornblower is fictional. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 2:54pm Aussie wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 2:48pm:
The brass engraving on the top of the box has the Hornblower inscription. The instruments have the Hughes and Sons engraving. It doesn't matter that Hornblower is fictional - the box and contents are beautiful and very old. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 2:57pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 2:40pm:
are you thinking for sentimental reasons...I can relate to that....its value is in your heart and wont be in anyone elses....so please dont sell those things.. my goodness I bet monk is licking his lips wouldnt he love to go through your treasure trove..mantra there is always a market for something....dont under estimate anything. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 3:10pm cods wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 2:57pm:
Haha - I think he once coveted the mineral and fossil collection I inherited from my mother who was a keen lapidiarist. To me they're only rocks and the only reason I haven't got rid of a lot of this stuff is because it's been drilled into me that I shouldn't by various family members because of their alleged value. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 3:16pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 3:10pm:
bull mantra if it was your mums and you dont need the money why would you sell it...if I had something of my mums I would pass it down to my daughter thats for sure.......yes they may be only rocks but it took them millions of years to get to that condition........ it was a hugely popular hobby years ago.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 4:13pm cods wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 3:16pm:
Yes - it was popular for some people Cods, but personally I found lapidary trips very boring, very hot and very dirty. These rocks don't hold any fond memories. I probably won't get around to selling anything. They are only inanimate objects and if other people want them they can have them - I just wish they'd take them now so I've got more than 6 inches of space on either side of my car when I put it in the garage. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 7th, 2017 at 4:19pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 4:13pm:
you are funny mantra......put them up on ebay....you are good at that.. see what happens...one mans meat as they say.....did your mum do her own polishing and stuff... I remember it was all the go. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 7th, 2017 at 4:22pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 4:13pm:
If they want it.....give it to them now, Mantra. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 5:04pm Aussie wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 4:22pm:
Easier said than done especially when they're young and moving around. cods wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 4:19pm:
She had a few of the good opals polished and made into jewellery. A lot of the stones don't need much polishing. My brother said he'd like to do them - so he bought a gem polishing kit and 2 years later the box is still unopened. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 7th, 2017 at 5:11pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 5:04pm:
Give them the option. "Take take this stuff now, or I sell it or dump it." |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 7th, 2017 at 5:42pm
The trouble is with collecting is..you can run out of room as you know Mantra ...I have some really sweet and quite old pottery and quaint peices, mostly household items like butter dishes etc..around the place..I also collect shoes and handbags.. I love anything with history attached to it...but space can be a luxury..unless you want to clean out a room in the house, which I have begun to do. It can get out of hand. I bought an old coat once and found money in the pocket. That bought me a coffee and a sammich.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 7th, 2017 at 6:52pm Aussie wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 5:11pm:
I'd like to be that tough and threatening Aussie, but they wouldn't fall for it. Agnes wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 5:42pm:
I like old pottery too AG and mirrors. I don't collect clothes anymore. I did before I had a daughter. Now I'm sick of the sight of excess clothes especially when they're not mine. I should have a lot of space, but half the stuff here belongs to other people. I resent it though. It's as though I've got the whole family - dead and alive - living with me. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 7th, 2017 at 6:54pm Quote:
There is zero 'tough' or 'threatening' in that mantra. It is a statement setting out options for them. If they want it, they ought say so and they ought house it. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 7th, 2017 at 7:19pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 6:52pm:
Don’t resent it, take action. The living: come and get your stuff or I will sell it and keep the money as storage fees. The dead: sell it apart from any personal mementoes you want. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 7th, 2017 at 10:30pm mantra wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 6:52pm:
I have the same problem Mantra...esp my daughter, she has left remnants of the last 5 years here and it comes in the form of large peices of furniture etc.. so these are not easily removeable..and clothes of which there is a lot...I have packed them up into boxes but the still take up space...I need to do a kerb side thing, of which I never have done..it's time. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 7th, 2017 at 10:54pm
What about ringing a charity, Vinnies say, and they might come and take the furniture?
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 8th, 2017 at 10:30am Jovial Monk wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 10:54pm:
not in ACT monk you are expected to take it to them.. when I moved I left lots of things on the verge and they all went..lol..make sure they are usable even have a garage sale and make a few bob ....and meet new people...what you should do is chat to the neighbours and try and get a street garage sale up... your own market day..each with his/her own front yard stall..... we made over $800 with a garage sale a few years ago... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by mantra on May 8th, 2017 at 12:03pm Agnes wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 10:30pm:
Daughters are definitely the worst with clothes AG. I've stored dozens of bags of her clothes in the garage in the past, but now when she's not around for a while - I throw them out. It's a waste, but it's better than finding a rat's nest in a bag or mildew caused from the last heavy rain. cods wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 10:30am:
You can make a lot of money from garage sales if you could be bothered. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 8th, 2017 at 12:39pm
I dont have the bottle to throw them out Mantra.. if they didnt belong to her, no problem.. might have to get another shed. I dont know how to be ruthless yet, and I know I have to be at some point..soon.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 8th, 2017 at 12:40pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 10:54pm:
Great idea.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 8th, 2017 at 12:42pm cods wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 10:30am:
Yes there is another great idea cods..we have buy swap and sell.. I could make a bit of money there as well |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 1:22pm
My hall stand got delivered today!
MUCH work beforehand: had to move an iron cupboard (that I intend to take to Tassie with me) had to be moved out the back porch. Empty cupboard, throw away 90% LOL! Make space in the shed, a days work, clean both places. Move cupboard, sweep etc etc. TWO full rubbish bins (recycling and rubbish, some in neighbors recycling bin) but it is done. Hall stand looks magnificent, much more impressive than in the shop. Nine spindles along the top, an odd number so there is a spindle in the middle of the stand. Glad I bought it! If I had hesitated I would have lost it–lots of interest in it I was told. Will take a picture but my internet is crap so not going to upload it. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 10th, 2017 at 1:27pm
on ya monk just watch it when you transport it.. you didnt tell us the age of it?...just make sure your new hall will do it justice... will you be building the high ceilings?
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 1:35pm
Wanting high ceilings is part of the reason I want to build, codsy! I had been looking at houses for sale on the net (Domain.com etc) and ALL the bloody ceilings were low, YUCK! Even $200K houses had low ceilings. Not me!
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 10th, 2017 at 2:24pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 1:35pm:
you will need them for that plate collection...with that lovely picture rail... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 3:05pm
In the kitchen a nice big Victorian–era copper kettle and dipper. Along the picture rail, copper jelly molds. Want the kitchen to be warm and inviting. A dresser with some brightly colored chargers adding to that.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 10th, 2017 at 4:24pm
sounds like you have it all ready.. what about a view monk?? will you have one of those a view of the ocean.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 4:35pm
No humungus view from the ground floor, codsy, maybe from upstairs?
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 4:57pm
Cods, I have received no PM from Agnes here or my joint.
Then again, I have put her (Agnes, Green Hornet) on ignore here and there. Only fair, she did that to me then made allegations I could not defend myself against due to the ban from Tavern. Pleased with Agnes I am not! |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 5:19pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 4:57pm:
Join the Club. Agnes bans from her place, then proceeds...with cods cheering her on..... to bag the chit out of the person they have silenced, knowing their victim cannot respond. Just like what happens at the sewer. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:09pm
The capacity of people to lie like a pig in mud knows no bounds!
You have just made it far more likely that Monk will never go anywhere near you Agnes. I doubt anyone, least of all me, controls Monk. Quote:
Unadulterated lie. Show us where you have seen me same the 'same thing,' Agnes. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:12pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 4:57pm:
you have me on ignore..so how was i supposed to do that..you were banned for about 5 minutes on agnes..because you can be a nuisance sometimes.. I pmed you at your place for that reason..you read it |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:13pm Aussie wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:09pm:
Unadulterated lie. Show us where you have seen me same the 'same thing,' Agnes. [/quote] Oh look ..its Esme Watson again. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:19pm
No....it's me, Aussie, calling for you to prove your bullshit allegations.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:19pm
Monk knows exactly what you are like...he can figure this out for himself.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:24pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:12pm:
Really? A nuisance to whom and why Agnes? So, your Policy is to ban anyone whom you reckon is a mere nuisance? Is Monk a 'dipstick,' Agnes? Why did you alter a Post he made....(one supportive of cods)......so it read 'I am a dipstick?' |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 10th, 2017 at 6:26pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 4:57pm:
awwwwwwwww come on I dont know what happened between you guys so I am neutral but it takes two to tango.. and agnes is the first to make a move....come on life is too short to sulk...I agree and I have spoken to agnes she can be a bit quick when it comes to banning....but it is her domain for her to play it like she wants too...just like others do... will not mention names but others are not slow in coming forward either.... as far as I am concerned agnes is offering the olive branch...you do not of course have to post...you can remain in extreme for sure....its up to you.... each and everyone who has their own little patch is entitled to rule it as they do....just like you did monk and do probably if you still have your own forum..lets not make it harder.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 6:28pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:12pm:
You banned me and had me on ignore. How could I protest your high handed actions? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:29pm
so reject my offer of peace ? yes or no?
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:32pm Aussie wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:09pm:
Unadulterated lie. Show us where you have seen me same the 'same thing,' Agnes. [/quote] Agnes? Why did you lie...............yet again? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 6:32pm
What offer is that, Agnes?
Not impressed you call it a “peace offering” when you banned me for no reason other than chit on your liver. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:33pm Aussie wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:24pm:
Your cat got your tongue, Agnes? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:34pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:32pm:
Same here. If it can happen to me or you, it will happen to others.....and you ~ again and again and again. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:36pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:29pm:
What is your peace offering, Agnes? Does it come with an abject apology for being a compete nutcase? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:37pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:32pm:
No you were being a twat...we had a personal disagreement and we couldnt resolve it..I was quite upset with you at the time..what you did hurt me..you owed me an aoplogy and you were not forthcoming, arsie did his best at the time to make everything much worse as he is trying to do right now...because he is bitter and jealous..and controlling . take a look at his last 6 comments alone...? :o You know what is is about, do not lie Monk..but I am over it, but Aussie will see to it you never are..peace or not- up to you. i will have no more to say here...pm me if you want to talk further you are not blocked now |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 6:43pm
I am a twat am I? What happened to “peace offering?”
Think I will give it more time. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:44pm
Do you really think that I will sit by and say nothing while you lie like a pig in chit in my direction?
How about being an honest person and answering the questions asked of you Agnes, or do you really believe you can smear people with lies and walk away laughing? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by cods on May 10th, 2017 at 6:45pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:32pm:
well monk you are now doing what someone else does bite the hand as the saying goes...agnes if monk chooses not to post in the tavern its not because he isnt allowed to.. thats the main thing... monk I have been banned more than once in ozpol for reasons I never found out why... stuff happen.. we move on well some of us do.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:49pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:43pm:
You do that..the offer is limited to one week. Let me know before next wednesday..or the ban will be re applied |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:52pm cods wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:45pm:
Let's face facts, cods. Agnes could not care less about 'Monk,' the Member. All she gives a stuff about is having him post in her sub-forum. That is what this is about. She wants to see her little bog pile get posts (and we all know how Monk can be prodigious, even if he talks just to himself) so it seems relevant. How about this 'olive branch,' Agnes? Hand over the Green Hornet account to Monk. I bet you don't......because......??????? 8-) |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 6:53pm
I am holding off because I think it is the prudent thing to do.
I like Agnes, I hope we do meet in Adelaide some time, I really do. But. . . |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Jovial Monk on May 10th, 2017 at 6:54pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:49pm:
Peace offering, huh. Try again in a few weeks Agnes. Sorry. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:55pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:49pm:
Will we see the answers to those questions I have asked, and your explanation and abject apology for your insane conduct before next Wednesday, Agnes? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:57pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 6:54pm:
I'll bet pounds to peanuts she will not ban you after next Wednesday. Any takers? |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 6:58pm |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 6:59pm
Given the timing, I suspect that was directed at you, Monk.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 7:04pm
No definitely you Esme..
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 7:12pm
If you want Monk back to validate your Sub-Forum, Agnes, I suggest you start grovelling. I 'control' him, you see. Someone said so. It must be true.
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 7:16pm
Aussie is so jealous he was not invited back..that he would like to see Monk unhappy as well...hope you are happy . Monk does not trust you, ask him how..
And it might be the time Aussie for you to admit about your stalking obession with the PA member who lives overseas.. ready for that are you? Speaking of faults lets number a few of Aussies no one knows about... |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Agnes on May 10th, 2017 at 7:18pm Aussie wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 7:12pm:
we wanted monk back because we like him...and you are just jealous...you are are open sore Aussie, you will die an open sore.. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 7:20pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 7:16pm:
Yet again....I have no idea what you are talking about. How about you confront your lies and start grovelling instead of making stupid threats about what people must do to get in your favour. Not sure who would bother anyway. |
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Vic on May 10th, 2017 at 7:23pm
This thread is locked
Title: Re: Pub Quiz #7 Post by Aussie on May 10th, 2017 at 7:24pm Agnes wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 7:18pm:
Sure, do you make a habit of liking 'dipsticks' and 'twats,' altering their posts, banning them and then adding a threat of a further ban unless they do your will? Is that the way you demonstrate how you 'like' people, Agnes. |