Member Run Boards >> Food >> Best meat and sausages.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1463822041

Message started by Black Orchid on May 21st, 2016 at 7:14pm

Title: Best meat and sausages.
Post by Black Orchid on May 21st, 2016 at 7:14pm
Meat is getting more expensive and much of what we have on offer is lower in quality. 

For good old style sausages we have suggestions for  ...

In QLD

http://www.micksmeatbarn.com.au/

In Sydney

https://www.facebook.com/Parisis-Food-Hall-Rose-Bay-654931527850349/

Any other suggestions?

Title: Re: Best meat and sausages.
Post by Black Orchid on May 21st, 2016 at 7:15pm
Trevor Conn used to sell the best meat in all of Sydney years ago.  Apparently he is back in both Glenorie and Kenthurst and his meat is still primo.   His ham was delicious.

Post by John Smith on May 21st, 2016 at 7:47pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 7:14pm:

In QLD

going by that photo on their homepage, i'd say their sausages are crap. They look like they're full of fat.

Post by Wolseley on May 22nd, 2016 at 12:19am

Any other suggestions?

Victor Churchill at 132 Queen Street Woollahra would have to be one of the best butchers in Australia, if not the best.  If you can afford it, that is.  The most attractively laid out and cleanest butchery I can recall seeing, with service to match.  Aside from being the best quality meat I have ever encountered, it is also, by far, the most expensive.  I go there only once or twice a year.  To do otherwise might be hazardous for my bank balance.

http://www.victorchurchill.com/

Post by cods on May 23rd, 2016 at 2:57pm

John Smith wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 7:47pm:

In QLD

going by that photo on their homepage, i'd say their sausages are crap. They look like they're full of fat.

I prefer snags with some fat in them.. we have gone overboard with no fat no salt.. no taste....cook /fry a sausage now and there is no fat in the pan at all...

they are just solid...with tough skins....I dont think they should be allowed to put whatever in them.. but surely if they sell well they must be doing something right...

dunno about you but I dont go back if I dont like..

Post by Lord Herbert on May 23rd, 2016 at 3:43pm
If you want first grade meat then I recommend Halal. They don't dare risk a suicide bombing and so they sell only the best cuts to their customers.

'Country Style' sausages at Coles used to be the only snags I would buy, but they've disappeared over the past few months.

Meanwhile, it's only Hungarian salami for me, thank you (medium hot).

Some Polish kranskys are good, but you've got to pick the right ones.

Post by Black Orchid on May 23rd, 2016 at 4:29pm
It is the fat that gives sausages their flavour and, yes Cods, the skins are way too thick and chewy especially if you bake them.

Post by Baronvonrort on May 23rd, 2016 at 4:30pm
I don't eat sausages, they put all sorts of crap in them

Post by Black Orchid on May 23rd, 2016 at 4:37pm
I only eat sausages 2-3 times a year but, when I do, I want them to be decent and it is because most of them are utter rubbish that I have been obsessing over it.

I bought one at Bunnings the other week when I had a zillion things to do before I could go home and when I drove into the carpark the bbq cooking smells were too tempting to refuse.   The sausage sandwich, however, was disgusting and was tossed after 1 bite.

My grandfather used to call them 'little bags of mystery'.

Post by Redneck on May 23rd, 2016 at 4:44pm
I quite like a nice fat pork sausage, but the problem is most of the ones one buys  are crap.

I am even tempted  at Woolies by such names as gourmet pork sausages, cumberland sausages, this means nothing they all taste crap

As far as the ones with added flavours/ingredients forget them all are tasteless imo

Post by Lord Herbert on May 23rd, 2016 at 6:20pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 4:37pm:
I only eat sausages 2-3 times a year but, when I do, I want them to be decent and it is because most of them are utter rubbish that I have been obsessing over it.

I bought one at Bunnings the other week when I had a zillion things to do before I could go home and when I drove into the carpark the bbq cooking smells were too tempting to refuse.   The sausage sandwich, however, was disgusting and was tossed after 1 bite.

My grandfather used to call them 'little bags of mystery'.

;D ;D ;D

I think you must live near my place. The delicious smell of sausages and onions on the hot-plate outside the Bunnings entrance carries for miles. I love those sausages with heaps of onion. Mind you, they only taste delicious if you haven't eaten them for awhile.

My second ever paid job was as a kid making sausages in a butcher's on Saturday mornings - turning the handle and twisting these condoms as they filled with mince to the right size.

By FAR the best sausages I ever ate was at Boarding School for breakfast. Skinny things that were usually burnt on one side where they hadn't been turned over quickly enough. 

Post by John Smith on May 23rd, 2016 at 8:53pm

cods wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 2:57pm:
I prefer snags with some fat in them..

some yes, but we've gone overboard

The sausages you grew up with cods had about 25% fat in them ... more than enough fat for flavor and moisture.

Todays sausages are at least 50% fat

it's cheaper than using meat :D

Post by John Smith on May 23rd, 2016 at 8:56pm

dunno about you but I dont go back if I dont like..

people buy them because they're
1. Cheap
2. Quick and easy to cook
3. Great on a BBQ

but mostly cheap

1kg of sausages goes a lot further than 1kg of scotch fillet, especially with kids

and at 1/5th of the price

Post by cods on May 31st, 2016 at 8:27am
ok cods is having another whinge..

this time its about the mince we are basically forced to buy..

again its another cheapo feed... but its also popular...however the latest way of mincing I DONT LIKE...its like little worms...it all looks very nice in the packaging...yes basically talking supermarket..but when its cooked its still in the same shape.. little worms..short of smashing it with a potato masher...nothing I do changes it... I always brown it off first and drain off whatever comes out of it.. I hate that fat.....but it still ends up being little worms...

does anyone else notice this???...I dont think it is like it once was...

Post by Wolseley on May 31st, 2016 at 9:13am

cods wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 8:27am:
the latest way of mincing I DONT LIKE...its like little worms...it all looks very nice in the packaging...yes basically talking supermarket..but when its cooked its still in the same shape.. little worms..short of smashing it with a potato masher...nothing I do changes it... I always brown it off first and drain off whatever comes out of it.. I hate that fat.....but it still ends up being little worms...

does anyone else notice this???...I dont think it is like it once was...

Maybe it's added preservatives that are doing it - after all, mince goes off quicker than a whole piece of meat.

Which is why I prefer to go to the butcher and get them to select a cut of meat and mince it on the spot for me.  It's more expensive, but it's worth it - and you know it's pure meat, with no additives.

Post by John Smith on May 31st, 2016 at 9:16am

Wolseley wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 9:13am:
Which is why I prefer to go to the butcher and get them to select a cut of meat and mince it on the spot for me.  It's more expensive, but it's worth it - and you know it's pure meat, with no additives.

Alternatively, buy your own mincer. They're not expensive and you can mince what you want, when you want it.

Post by greggerypeccary on May 31st, 2016 at 9:24am

John Smith wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 8:53pm:

I prefer snags with some fat in them..

some yes, but we've gone overboard

The sausages you grew up with cods had about 25% fat in them ... more than enough fat for flavor and moisture.

Todays sausages are at least 50% fat

it's cheaper than using meat :D

Surprisingly, sausages today only have about 20% fat in them, on average.

"Fat-free flesh is described by the FSANZ as being the skeletal muscle of any slaughtered animal, which can include animal rind, fat and connective nerve, blood, blood vessels and in the case of poultry, the skin."

"However, sausage packets that just list "meat" in their ingredients can contain the whole or parts of buffalo, camel, cattle, deer, goat, hare, pig, poultry, rabbit or sheep, Choice spokesman Tom Godfrey said."

Good Food

Enjoy your breakfast   :)

Post by Wolseley on May 31st, 2016 at 9:30am

John Smith wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 9:16am:

Wolseley wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 9:13am:

Yes, I have done that too.

Alternatively, buy your own mincer. They're not expensive and you can mince what you want, when you want it.

Post by John Smith on May 31st, 2016 at 9:33am

greggerypeccary wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 9:24am:

not sure where they got those stats from. I once worked for a small goods manufacturer/ butcher and he used a lot more than 20%.

Post by Wolseley on May 31st, 2016 at 9:37am

Any other suggestions?

This is one of the better ones: http://www.yelp.com.au/biz/chop-artisan-butchery-baulkham-hills

Post by greggerypeccary on May 31st, 2016 at 9:39am

John Smith wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 9:33am:

greggerypeccary wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 9:24am:

not sure where they got those stats from.

Choice.

''Fat is essential for a tasty sausage,'' says Baudouin. ''Around 20% fat is about right.''

I'm sure there are sausages out there with more fat, but it seems that the mainstream ones are about 20% fat (and full of crap).

I still eat them, though   :(

Post by Black Orchid on May 31st, 2016 at 11:31am
I have read that Choice article.  Here's another extract ...

"George Papanicolaou, from Dulwich Hill Gourmet Meats in Sydney, agrees. “Don’t be scared of a little fat in the pan when you cook the sausage. A sausage that releases no fat when you cook it can mean it has too many binders, and this can mean all the fat is held in the sausage. The more fat in your pan, the less fat you end up eating.” Don’t pierce a sausage in the pan, as all the juices and flavour will leak out, and always cook over a medium heat or the sausage skin may split.

We cooked six varieties of beef sausages and measured the fat left in the pan. The gourmet, independent butcher and organic snags left up to 30ml of fat in the pan (from eight sausages), while the supermarket varieties released so little fat they were hard to cook
."

Post by greggerypeccary on May 31st, 2016 at 11:38am

I love German sausages.

In Perth, this is the best place I've found:

Westphalia

Post by Black Orchid on May 31st, 2016 at 11:51am
These guys have a great reputation but I have never been there.  They specialise in German, Austrian and Swiss smallgoods.

http://www.euromaster.com.au/about-2/

Post by greggerypeccary on May 31st, 2016 at 11:59am

Black Orchid wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 11:51am:
These guys have a great reputation but I have never been there.  They specialise in German, Austrian and Swiss smallgoods.

http://www.euromaster.com.au/about-2/

Looks good.

A long way from my house though    :(

Hungarian salami.  Mmmm.

Post by Black Orchid on May 31st, 2016 at 12:18pm
Now I am getting peckish!

All my local delis have been and gone and you have to make a special road trip to the few that remain.

There used to be a fantastic deli in the Spanish Quarter in the city and even that has gone.  The area once famous for its delis and tapas is dwindling and is now just an extension of Chinatown.   Even the lettering on buildings defining the Spanish Quarter has been painted over.

People wonder why I am not keen on Asian food.  The fact is that there is just way, way too much of it to the detriment of other cultural cuisine.  You smell it everywhere and eventually it ends up turning you off.

I really miss the delis of yore.  The crusty rolls and delicious array of smallgoods  mmmmm.  Such a shame.

Post by cods on May 31st, 2016 at 5:51pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 12:18pm:
Now I am getting peckish!

All my local delis have been and gone and you have to make a special road trip to the few that remain.

There used to be a fantastic deli in the Spanish Quarter in the city and even that has gone.  The area once famous for its delis and tapas is dwindling and is now just an extension of Chinatown.   Even the lettering on buildings defining the Spanish Quarter has been painted over.

People wonder why I am not keen on Asian food.  The fact is that there is just way, way too much of it to the detriment of other cultural cuisine.  You smell it everywhere and eventually it ends up turning you off.

I really miss the delis of yore.  The crusty rolls and delicious array of smallgoods  mmmmm.  Such a shame.

I even remember when David Jones had its gourmet food section....expensive but nice...

we have lost such a lot..to be honest there is no smell of fruit even when they are cooking there doesnt seem to be a smell......so many preservatives they will find food still usable 100 years from now.. ::) ::) ::) ::)

Post by Black Orchid on May 31st, 2016 at 6:41pm
Thomas Dux stores are closing too.  They were a bit expensive but well stocked with out of the norm products.

Oh well   :(

Post by Wolseley on Jun 3rd, 2016 at 6:16pm
I've been told that there's an exceptionally good butcher in Griffith (the ACT Griffith, that is) but I haven't had time to check it out yet.

http://www.griffithbutchery.com.au/