General Discussion >> General Board >> Buy brand name mik and save the Farmers
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1463787861

Message started by red baron on May 21st, 2016 at 9:44am

Title: Buy brand name mik and save the Farmers
Post by red baron on May 21st, 2016 at 9:44am
Coles have broken ranks with the milk 'cartels'  and stated that they will pay a fair price to Farmers for 'band name' milk in their stores.

I hope everyone gets behind this, when we are prepared to pay $4.50 for a bloody coffee what is an extra 30 cents to help  Farmers from going under. Make it a long term commitment it is the only way our Farmers will survive.

Please save the Aussie Dairy Farmers from walking off their Farms. Once it reaches 'critical mass' you could be paying extra 'dollars' for your milk.

Screw no names milk!!

Title: Re: Buy brand name mile and save the Farmers
Post by freediver on May 21st, 2016 at 9:45am
Only 30c extra?

And how much do the farmers get out of that?

Title: Re: Buy brand name mik and save the Farmers
Post by red baron on May 21st, 2016 at 9:47am
A lot more than they are getting now. They are only getting 43 cents a litre and recently the 'cartels' decided to screw the Framer and reduce that rate even further.

Post by freediver on May 21st, 2016 at 9:51am
So you are suggesting people part with their money to help out are farmers, and you do not even know how much they are getting out of it?

My guess is, if this was a charity, you would be condemning it for waste and profit taking.

43% of the shelf price is actually a lot more than most farmers get.

Post by cods on May 21st, 2016 at 10:07am

freediver wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 9:51am:
So you are suggesting people part with their money to help out are farmers, and you do not even know how much they are getting out of it?

My guess is, if this was a charity, you would be condemning it for waste and profit taking.

43% of the shelf price is actually a lot more than most farmers get.

one did say he would end up with 14c a litre...and it cost them 34c to produce......I am buying milk now as I have a grandson living with me... so I would like to know how I can help the farmer,.. I do enough for COles and Woolies....when my grandson leaves in July I wont buy milk much anymore....so give me some clues....now....

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 21st, 2016 at 10:33am
The usual consequences will emerge. The higher price will cause over-supply and then a price crash.

Evidently the current producer prices are inducing sufficient production to meet current demand.

Thailand interfered with rice producer prices and caused huge oversupply and a rice mountain which they are still trying to dispose of. Not only that, it caused a drop in world prices and Thailand's market share fell.

Post by freediver on May 21st, 2016 at 10:35am
Australia is a milk exporter.

Post by GordyL on May 21st, 2016 at 12:00pm
I blame the Indians. Every time I buy milk from the servo they tell me I can get 2 for  $5 instead of $3 each.  They're obviously trying to undercut the farmers with their cheap milk just like the undercut Australians by working for 50 cents per hour.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 21st, 2016 at 12:20pm

GordyL wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 12:00pm:
I blame the Indians. Every time I buy milk from the servo they tell me I can get 2 for  $5 instead of $3 each.  They're obviously trying to undercut the farmers with their cheap milk just like the undercut Australians by working for 50 cents per hour.

Indians know you love them GordyL after you denounced Mexican rapists. They see you as a soft touch.

Are closet poms worth 50c an hour?

Post by GordyL on May 21st, 2016 at 3:35pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 12:20pm:

GordyL wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 12:00pm:

Indians know you love them GordyL after you denounced Mexican rapists. They see you as a soft touch.

Are closet poms worth 50c an hour?

What pray tell do Mexicans have to do with the price of milk?

When I need a few grams of cocaine or my cat raped I'll call a Mexicunt.

I have no need for Poms but at least the Indians are selling cheap milk at the servo, subsidized by them working for 50c an hour. I think I'll pop up the servo now and buy enough to give my dog a nice bath in warm milk.

Post by Gnads on May 21st, 2016 at 7:10pm

red baron wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 9:44am:
Coles have broken ranks with the milk 'cartels'  and stated that they will pay a fair price to Farmers for 'band name' milk in their stores.

I hope everyone gets behind this, when we are prepared to pay $4.50 for a bloody coffee what is an extra 30 cents to help  Farmers from going under. Make it a long term commitment it is the only way our Farmers will survive.

Please save the Aussie Dairy Farmers from walking off their Farms. Once it reaches 'critical mass' you could be paying extra 'dollars' for your milk.

Screw no names milk!!

You can't believe that crap.

Coles & Woolies started the attack on dairy farmers farm gate price for milk with their cheap watered down home brand product.

Companies like Murray Goulburn & Fonterra stuck the sav in a little bit more screwing the price down for whole milk to unprofitable levels where farmers would go broke.

Do not buy any products from these dairy companies despite them saying they are Australian & support the dairy farmer .....

they don't .... they are the problem.

Not only are Murray Goulburn & Fronterra & their brand names screwing farmers of a fair go .........

most of them e.g Mainland, Bulla, Devondale, Western Star, Bega etc etc are all paying Halal Certification fees whilst they screw the farmers of a reasonable price for their milk.

Buy your milk from independent non halal milk/dairy companies .....

they are still out there. 

Post by issuevoter on May 21st, 2016 at 10:07pm
The dairy farmers have my sympathy, but I need to hear from them. I am surprised they cannot organise a better PR campaign.

Post by freediver on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:03am
I'm pretty sure at least some of our dairy farmers are behind this PR campaign. They are getting free advertising and creating a charity of patriotism that no-one asks questions about. Looks pretty slick to me.

But there are others profiting from this too. I bet even coles and woolies make more money out of it.

Post by John Smith on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:46am

freediver wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 9:45am:
Only 30c extra?

according to coles, all of it .... they have stated they will start a new line of 'home brand'  milk from which they will forfeit ALL the profits to the farmer.

i think it's gimmick and won't last

Post by red baron on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:02am
I will do whatever it takes John. But I'm going to do my homework and where that milk dollar is going to the Farmers.

Post by gandalf on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:03am
It always amuses me when people come up with a business model that involves consumers paying more money out of the goodness of their heart.

If local producers can't compete, then tough titties. I thought we'd already learned the painful lessons of propping up inefficient industries just because they are "local".

Post by freediver on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:06am
...said the self-identified socialist.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:18am
Low margins are a signal for the least efficient producers to leave the market. Interfering with the market never has a good outcome.

Post by freediver on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:21am
I think we've entered the twilight zone.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 22nd, 2016 at 12:48pm

red baron wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:02am:
I will do whatever it takes John. But I'm going to do my homework and where that milk dollar is going to the Farmers.

Several rounds of blather by Red Baron are not going to solve this issue.

Post by red baron on May 22nd, 2016 at 1:09pm
What are you going to do Laugh, go out and milk the cows yourself? :D

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 22nd, 2016 at 2:54pm

red baron wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 1:09pm:

I have contracted that service to Denizen Aquascoot who has honed his techniques on horse semen harvesting. Not one drop will escape Aquascoot.

Post by GordyL on May 22nd, 2016 at 3:18pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 2:54pm:

I have contracted that service to Denizen Aquascoot who has honed his techniques on horse semen harvesting. Not one drop will escape Aquascoot.

Hi Svengali.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 22nd, 2016 at 3:22pm

GordyL wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 3:18pm:

Hi Svengali.

Are you sharing an invisible friend?

Post by GordyL on May 22nd, 2016 at 3:27pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 3:22pm:

GordyL wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 3:18pm:

Hi Svengali.

Are you sharing an invisible friend?

If you're going to have a sock, why have one that posts the same rubbish from the same hardcore socialist website?

Post by miketrees on May 22nd, 2016 at 4:37pm
On Landline today (ABC) they mentioned that part of our milk problem was caused by the Europeans subsidising their farmers then Putin banning the import of milk into Russia.

The subsequent 3 billion litres was then dumped into Asian markets killing our exports.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 22nd, 2016 at 5:31pm

miketrees wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 4:37pm:
On Landline today (ABC) they mentioned that part of our milk problem was caused by the Europeans subsidising their farmers then Putin banning the import of milk into Russia.

The subsequent 3 billion litres was then dumped into Asian markets killing our exports.

Russian babies are nurtured on Vodka?

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 22nd, 2016 at 5:36pm
Apologies to Red Baron. I mistakenly thought this topic was about milk, but the subject heading says "mik"

Please elaborate Red Baron. Is it MIK [Methyl Isobutyl Ketone] or Made In Korea?

Post by freediver on May 22nd, 2016 at 5:40pm
That's after he corrected the spelling.

Post by Gnads on May 22nd, 2016 at 6:23pm

John Smith wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:46am:

Only 30c extra?

according to coles, all of it .... they have stated they will start a new line of 'home brand'  milk from which they will forfeit ALL the profits to the farmer.

I think you're right

Coles were a part of the problem with ripping off dairy farmers

now they are going to exploit the situation to make more money

and make out they are heroes in the process

Big Fail.

Post by Gnads on May 22nd, 2016 at 6:36pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 9:18am:
Low margins are a signal for the least efficient producers to leave the market. Interfering with the market never has a good outcome.

What bullshit.

What started this was the deregulation of dairy industry that saw all the small producers gone. Victoria dominated the market & that saw the dairy industry in QLD decimated.

Those feeling the pinch in Victoria now are milking up to 350 cows & that is no small operation.

Your rhetoric would see all dairies being mega dairies milking 500 to 1000 head and run by monopoly business interests.

You espouse socialist values in one breath & capitalist
dogma in another.

You are a charlatan.

Post by freediver on May 22nd, 2016 at 6:41pm
Is there something wrong with 350 head in one operation? Do we really need to devote 1000 people to a task that 100 can do?

Post by Gnads on May 22nd, 2016 at 7:03pm
WTF are you on about?

Post by The Mechanic on May 22nd, 2016 at 7:15pm

Gnads wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 6:23pm:

John Smith wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:46am:

Only 30c extra?

I think you're right

Coles were a part of the problem with ripping off dairy farmers

now they are going to exploit the situation to make more money

and make out they are heroes in the process

Big Fail.

like I was saying in the farmers shooting themselves in the foot thread..

IT WAS/IS the farmers who caused this problem in the first place...

with their filthy greed..

THEY USED TO OWN THE FACTORIES..

why would you give them away???

for a quick buck?

only to ruin it for future generations?

oh wait.. that sounds so much like Australia in everything we do.. greedy damn rsoles loading up future generations with debt and a poisoned world where roundup falls from the sky with the rain...

oh wait.. that's already happening right now.. but never mind.. as long as cods in her ilk can kill a few weeds in her garden..  ::)

fair dinkum.. could the farmers be ay stupider if they tried?? 

Milk Companies are now floating on the market and have become public companies..

they are making all sorts of promises to their share holders in terms of profit...

when that profit doesn't happen (because they lied) they steal money from the farmers to give to the shareholders to appease them..

but it hasn't worked.. the share holders are now organising a class action to sue the company due to their lied forecasts..

what a mess..

by the way... I have little sympathy for these arrogant, short tempered, smart assed, smart mouthed poo eaters..

after working in the industry for 5 years one of the reasons I got out of it was because there were too many rsole farmers out numbering the good ones...

mind you.. it was always good to give the "bad" farmers C Tax the next time they came in and wanted something ;) ;)

Post by miketrees on May 22nd, 2016 at 7:21pm
@ Mech
IT WAS/IS the farmers who caused this problem in the first place...

Not if their export markets were destroyed by EU dumping in Asia

Post by freediver on May 22nd, 2016 at 7:33pm

Gnads wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 7:03pm:
WTF are you on about?

Just trying to figure out what you are on about. Would you like to re-regulate the milk market? Tax milk as it crosses state borders?

Post by Gnads on May 23rd, 2016 at 8:00am

freediver wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 7:33pm:

WTF are you on about?

Just trying to figure out what you are on about. Would you like to re-regulate the milk market? Tax milk as it crosses state borders?

When the industry was regulated milk wasn't expensive
but farmers were guaranteed a price.

When you keep using practices that reduce the number of suppliers & those suppliers have to become very large ........ then you head towards the industry being monopolised.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 23rd, 2016 at 9:23am

Gnads wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 8:00am:

WTF are you on about?

When you keep using practices that reduce the number of suppliers & those suppliers have to become very large ........ then you head towards the industry being monopolised.

That's called economies of scale.

The economics of farming is perverted by large numbers of people who do it for the lifestyle and others who do it only because their family has always farmed, not because they are good at it or highly productive.

Post by Gnads on May 23rd, 2016 at 9:40am

Laugh till you cry wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 9:23am:

WTF are you on about?

That's called economies of scale.

The economics of farming is perverted by large numbers of people who do it for the lifestyle and others who do it only because their family has always farmed, not because they are good at it or highly productive.

Those people are very few & far between ... the changes in the industry saw paid to that ages ago.

The use of the word 'farming" is a generalisation for the many types of farming there are ...

Dairy Farming is the topic here.

Post by freediver on May 23rd, 2016 at 12:21pm

WTF are you on about?

Are you trying to suggest something, or just having a whinge?

Farming is at least risk of being monopolised. There are more dairy farmers in Australia than there are car manufacturers in the world, by a factor of at least 10.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 23rd, 2016 at 12:49pm

freediver wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 12:21pm:

WTF are you on about?

Are you trying to suggest something, or just having a whinge?

Farming is at least risk of being monopolised. There are more dairy farmers in Australia than there are car manufacturers in the world, by a factor of at least 10.

Gnads needs some cheese with his whine.

Post by Gnads on May 23rd, 2016 at 12:49pm
You have rocks in your head

as if car manufacturers have anything to do with anything related to this topic

One might ask you what you're trying to suggest?

Have a look at the reductions since 1979.

And yes I'm having a whinge about the milk marketers & the major supermarkets screwing dairy farmers.

Just like they do to fruit & vegie suppliers.

You didn't have to be a Sherlock to work that out  ::)

http://www.dairyaustralia.com.au/Markets-and-statistics/Farm-facts/Cows-and-Farms.aspx
Dairy_Farms_Stats.jpg (43 KB | )

Post by GordyL on May 23rd, 2016 at 2:00pm
Just heard a dairy expert guy on ABC702 saying supermarket milk represents about 5% of total dairy production and buying cheap milk or expensive milk or giving the farmers a few pennies per liter for consumer milk makes SFA difference.

Most milk ends up as powder which is a global commodity.

So enjoy your 2 for $5 bottles of milk.

Post by red baron on May 23rd, 2016 at 6:22pm
Now the mother f......g supermarkets are stacking their shelves with Home Brand milk and little of anything else.

Fight these bastards..Go to your servo or your local shop. Buy name brand milk  don't let these a..holes win!

Fight them and help our Farmers. They will get sick of having to throw out stuff they can't sell!

Post by freediver on May 23rd, 2016 at 6:26pm
Gnads, can you turn your whinge into a suggestion or some kind of solution? Should we get a few percent of our adult population to devote themselves to hobby farms to get the numbers back up? Perhaps a few handouts might encourage them back into unproductive labour?

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 24th, 2016 at 12:32pm

red baron wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 6:22pm:
Now the mother f......g supermarkets are stacking their shelves with Home Brand milk and little of anything else.

Fight these bastards..Go to your servo or your local shop. Buy name brand milk  don't let these a..holes win!

Fight them and help our Farmers. They will get sick of having to throw out stuff they can't sell!

Red Baron, I think the windmill is defeating you again.

Post by red baron on May 24th, 2016 at 4:01pm
I don't think so Laugh, did you see the shelves of a Woolies on TV last night, crammed with Home Brand milk that no one wants to buy. They can't give it away.

Never, ever underestimate the power of public opinion.