General Discussion >> General Board >> Auburn Council suspended http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1455167796 Message started by Redneck on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:16pm |
Title: Auburn Council suspended Post by Redneck on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:16pm
Great news, this mob are a mob of crooks at least three are under investigation .
Property developrs should be banned fron councils in my opinion Auburn Council suspended as councillors face public inquiry An administrator has been appointed to run the Auburn Council after Local Government Minister Paul Toole announced today the council has been officially suspended. Interim administrator Viv May has been appointed to replace the councillors after allegations of misconduct led to a public inquiry. “There are allegations made against individual councillors that need to be looked at further,” Mr Toole said today. “Given the serious nature of the allegations the council is facing, it is clear that it is in the public interest to temporarily suspend the council during the course of the inquiry. “Auburn ratepayers deserve a strong council that is acting in their best interests. The only way to achieve this is for me to temporarily suspend the councillors so the inquiry can be undertaken effectively.” The council is facing a public inquiry into property deals that allegedly benefited some councillors, including controversial deputy mayor Salim Mehajer. The allegations include a planning decision related to a carpark in Lidcombe which the council voted to sell to a Mehajer-owned company for allegedly millions below market value, a rezoning of Berala Town Centre to include the family home and investment property of Councillor Hicham Zraika and the rezoning of a large area in Lidcombe - where Councillor Ronnie Ouiek owns property. Mr Mehajer is serving a four-month suspension from the council imposed by the NSW Civic and Administrative Tribunal two weeks ago, because he had not declared a pecuniary interest. He hit back at the decision, saying it was made before an investigation was complete. “The decision of the ‘suspension’ remains respected. I am however disappointed that the ‘indefinite suspension’ has taken place prior to the completion of the ongoing investigation,” he said in a statement to 9NEWS. “I believe that this has raised more concerns from the public relating to the Ministers ‘abuse of power’, as we all can appreciate the understanding of ‘cause & effect’.” Mr Mehajer said the suspension was now a matter for the law. “I believe that it is now a matter for the Australian Legal System to play its roll [sic] in reference to the above to ensure justice is kept”. Since the allegations came to light calls have been made for the government to ban developers and real estate agents from sitting on councils. Auburn councillor George Campbell said he would support the move. “Where you have developers or real estate agents on council you have high risk,” he told 9NEWS. © ninemsn 2016 Read more at http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/02/10/07/52/auburn-council-to-be-sacked-today-report#yiwMEb5PrZTdHDR9.99 |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Redneck on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:18pm |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:23pm Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:16pm:
yes |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by GordyL on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:33pm
They should have just waited until council was in session then dropped a bomb on the joint.
Any one killed outside the council are probably terrorists anyway. |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by John Smith on Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:08pm Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:16pm:
and real estate agents |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by The Mechanic on Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:58pm
they should have been sacked..
how on earth has it taken this long to suspend them?? |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by The Grappler on Feb 11th, 2016 at 7:09pm
Unless you are a campaigner.. some kind of crusader.. what other reason is there to want to be elected to council other than to feather your own nest.
I have no doubt there are many other councils in a similar position...... in this case the absurd and childish antics of 'Slim' Mehajer were the key... what a clown. No matter what happens - follow the trail carefully - his company floated a 'business plan' to a bank.. the bank loaned out millions on the basis of that plan... Slim side-tracked millions into his personal companies and accounts as fees for services to his development company... if that development company falls flat tomorrow leaving many hard-working tradies and buyers out of pocket massively .. he will still keep those millions... that's how it works in the Alan Bond mode that is still par for the course. No vested interest should be permitted to stand for election to a decision making body. Guess that puts paid to Mal of the Banker's Guild.... This country desperately needs a complete overhaul of the rules.... no more 'single shareholder' companies that permit that shareholder to escape responsibility for fiscal disasters.. and any such similar ventures.... you own the company - you pay its debts if you fork it up. |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by issuevoter on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:49pm
I agree that developers and agents should not be allowed to become councillors. And I also believe that they should not be allowed to name infrastructure like bridges and parks after councillors or other politicians.
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by John Smith on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:51pm issuevoter wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:49pm:
agree ... we should name our infrastructure after soldiers who have died serving this country. |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Leftwinger on Feb 11th, 2016 at 10:04pm John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:51pm:
Nice one, fully agree |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Setanta on Feb 11th, 2016 at 10:11pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:23pm:
ely Cheers! |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by The Grappler on Feb 11th, 2016 at 10:20pm John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:51pm:
My old mate Shrapnel would be happy to have a bridge named after him..... drink, depression, PTSD and driving at full speed down a ramp the wrong way onto a freeway did him in..... his second attempt and he didn't call.... we'd have come running... Pick up that phone, any of you out there.... we're all here for you. :'( Damn - I just gotta finish that counselling, law degree and do the advocate thing...... |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Lisa Jones on Feb 12th, 2016 at 9:58am John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:08pm:
Why? |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by cods on Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:18am
Property developrs should be banned fron councils in my opinion
red they are.... but this crook didnt call himself a developer... ::) ::) ::) ::) hes another OBEID... he claims hes working for everyone else.... but by coincidence he manages to come out with a fortune... funny that! |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Redneck on Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:37am Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 9:58am:
Because they are a bunch of crooks aiming to feather their own nests |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Lisa Jones on Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:53am Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:37am:
We all know this. But in banning them....do you think this nest feathering will stop? If you do, then you are sweet, innocent and naive. :( |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by cods on Feb 12th, 2016 at 11:07am Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:53am:
oh come on lisa... even you cant believe we should allow anyone who is anyway to do with building planning and land selling as the council is....onto the councils... ye gods.. are you crazy???....Wollongong were caught out and now Auburn...not a good record granted....but trhey were caught simply because they broke the rules... if we dont have rules they will run the whole show. ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) some one explain it to lisa.. |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Lisa Jones on Feb 12th, 2016 at 11:22am
Cods, my point is this :
Such rules will prove futile. |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by cods on Feb 13th, 2016 at 6:43am Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 11:22am:
so you are saying dont bother with rules???>. thats daft.. may as well take away speeding signs as they dont work for everyone either... if you know of people using their power on councils for their own gain then I trust you tell the authorities....of course we have many crooks everywhere... but they are NOT CROOKS if there are no rules to break... even you must understand that.... this guy deserves JAIL I hope thats the outcome. |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Gnads on Feb 13th, 2016 at 7:37am Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 7:09pm:
Couldn't agree more |
Title: Re: Auburn Council suspended Post by Gnads on Feb 13th, 2016 at 7:40am Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 9:58am:
Did you have to ask that question & do you really need it explained it's bleeding obvious. |