General Discussion >> General Board >> Woolworths to exit Masters
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1453074931

Message started by greggerypeccary on Jan 18th, 2016 at 9:55am

Title: Woolworths to exit Masters
Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 18th, 2016 at 9:55am

As predicted.

"Woolworths has surrendered its attempt to enter the home improvement and hardware business by today announcing it will offload its failing Masters chain."

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-18/woolworths-to-exit-masters-hardware/7094858

Title: Re: Woolworths to exit Masters
Post by John Smith on Jan 18th, 2016 at 9:58am
inevitable

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 18th, 2016 at 10:17am

I doubt they'll find many workers a new position in Woolworths stores.

Looks like more redundancies coming.

Not a good way to start the year.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 18th, 2016 at 10:21am

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 18th, 2016 at 9:55am:
As predicted.

"Woolworths has surrendered its attempt to enter the home improvement and hardware business by today announcing it will offload its failing Masters chain."

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-18/woolworths-to-exit-masters-hardware/7094858

they are having troubles exiting from masters.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 18th, 2016 at 10:30am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 18th, 2016 at 10:21am:

As predicted.

If they can't sell the business, they'll close it down.

The workers will become redundant.

Post by cods on Jan 18th, 2016 at 10:47am

As predicted.

I dont even know why they took that road...I mean Bunnings have got it down pat... and a lot of that stuff has a low mark up margin.... and a lot is low turn over..

I would think everywhere is doing it a bit tough to be honest... you dont see the crowds like you used too.. and half the registers are never working..

Post by mariacostel on Jan 18th, 2016 at 12:02pm
I wonder if bunnings wil buy up some of the stores dirt-cheap.

Post by Gnads on Jan 18th, 2016 at 1:37pm

cods wrote on Jan 18th, 2016 at 10:47am:

As predicted.

I dont even know why they took that road...I mean Bunnings have got it down pat... and a lot of that stuff has a low mark up margin.... and a lot is low turn over..

I would think everywhere is doing it a bit tough to be honest... you dont see the crowds like you used too.. and half the registers are never working..

You think? They have cheap chinese shyte that you can buy elsewhere cheaper.

Go in and price a Lawn Mower at Bunnings ..... they are dear as poison ....

you can buy a self propelled push type lawn mower with a Briggs & Stratton motor online for half the price of their push mowers.

Post by innocentbystander. on Jan 18th, 2016 at 2:27pm
They need to put in some pokies.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 18th, 2016 at 2:35pm

As predicted.

Rubbish !! They say they will beat any price except if it's online where the real prices are !!

But still they are handy and that's why you pay more.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 18th, 2016 at 2:38pm

mariacostel wrote on Jan 18th, 2016 at 12:02pm:
I wonder if bunnings wil buy up some of the stores dirt-cheap.

Most of the masters stores are located next door or across the road to bunnings. Obviously a strategy to take away some of the customers from bunnings but it didn't have the effect they expected. Also bunnings have dolled up their stores buy tidying everything up and polishing their rough concrete floors.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 18th, 2016 at 2:45pm

As predicted.

Yes, bunnnings run a good shop.
A tough competitor, run by Wesfarmers.
Open up against them, you have your work cut out for you.

I only went into a masters twice, did not like them.
Woolies did not do proper market research there.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:41am
Did anyone see the grand sale planned for masters on ACA ?

Looks like another dicksmith sale to get people in the door.

Post by Kytro on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:43am
Woolworths basically wasn't willing to take the risk any longer.

They would have become profitable, but it would have taken too much time, and with Woolworths already struggling they decided it was too long a wait.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:48am

Kytro wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:43am:

They would have become profitable, but it would have taken too much time, and with Woolworths already struggling they decided it was too long a wait.

what are they going to do with the stores ? Turn them into yuppy apartments for the chinese. How ironical.

Post by Kytro on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:42am

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:48am:

Kytro wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:43am:

what are they going to do with the stores ? Turn them into yuppy apartments for the chinese. How ironical.

Sell the business if they can, else liquidate the assets

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:47am
this might be a good opportunity for Mitre 10 to take a bigger bite out of the Bunnings pie.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:49am

John Smith wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:47am:
this might be a good opportunity for Mitre 10 to take a bigger bite out of the Bunnings pie.

Do Mitre 10 still exist?    :-/

Post by Redneck on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:51am

Yes I would rather see that than a total close down, I had hoped the Masters venture would succeed to provide a bit of opposition to Bunnings

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:51am

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 11:49am:

yep, now owned by Metcash. Apparently it's doing well, profits are up and it's growing .... buggered if I know where though, you hardly see them any more.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 12:12pm

They were advertising on TV the other day but where are they now ?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 20th, 2016 at 1:05pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 12:12pm:

I can't remember seeing one for a long time.

Wiki says there are 366 stores!    :o

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 1:07pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 1:05pm:

probably in the smaller towns, where it's not worth bunnings opening a store, and where Mitre 10 can take advantage of farmers buying in bulk

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 20th, 2016 at 1:12pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 1:07pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 1:05pm:

probably in the smaller towns, where it's not worth bunnings opening a store, and where Mitre 10 can take advantage of farmers buying in bulk

That makes sense.

Come to think of it, I do remember seeing them in country towns here in WA.

And there's one in Huonville, in Tasmania.

Post by innocentbystander. on Jan 20th, 2016 at 2:40pm
Mitre 10 is on the ropes too.

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 2:42pm

innocentbystander. wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 2:40pm:
Mitre 10 is on the ropes too.

you sure? I found this but it is a couple of years old

http://aubis.com.au/news/building-construction/mitre-10-up-masters-down-bunnings-strong/

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 3:09pm
Does everyone realize that these hardware stores are highly dependent on the health of the property market and the growth of debt used to finance it ?

If the bubble bursts then bunnings will be lining up behind masters at the liquidators ;)

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 3:11pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 3:09pm:
Does everyone realize that these hardware stores are highly dependent on the health of the property market and the growth of debt used to finance it ?

If the bubble bursts then bunnings will be lining up behind masters at the liquidators ;)

true .... before the property 'bubble' hardware stores didn't exist.  :D :D :D

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:15pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 3:11pm:

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 3:09pm:

true .... before the property 'bubble' hardware stores didn't exist.  :D :D :D

They were usually only very small family run business in a shopping strip until they started to fuel a property bubble with lots of corporate welfare and tax concessions as well as cheap credit.

Post by Lady Lols on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:35pm
There are not a lot of Masters nearby our area, yet there are 3 times more Bunnings....and it's about easy access within a short drive, that's where Bunnings is winning over Masters.

I did go into Masters on my way somewhere further away from my home, and I really liked the store, the prices were good, and they were a bit more upmarket, with some really interesting stuff.

It would be a shame for them to close down, but perhaps Wesfarmers went in and started off too big initially?
I don't know....but whatever it is, I don't think Bunnings will close down for a while, do some remember here with that red hammer logo, it used to be McEwans?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:40pm

Sophia wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:35pm:
I don't think Bunnings will close down for a while

Bunnings are moving in to the UK.

Post by Lady Lols on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:43pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:40pm:

As in? Leaving Australia and going there, or expanding to the UK as well?

Post by Redneck on Jan 20th, 2016 at 5:17pm

Sophia wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:43pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 4:40pm:

As in? Leaving Australia and going there, or expanding to the UK as well?

Expanding!

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 20th, 2016 at 6:16pm
What  a pity -
Masters had a better selection of bolts nuts & screws.

On other products their prices were exactly the same to the dollar

- there was no advantage in going to Masters.

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 6:59pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 6:16pm:
What  a pity -

I didn't like their selection of bolts nuts and screws ...

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:03pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 6:59pm:

What  a pity -

Maybe you didn't look closely enough?

There are sets of gray metal drawers below the bolts & nuts section!

They have a huge extra range there.

Post by innocentbystander. on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:13pm
I wonder how many farmers Woolies forced to suicide in order to get this venture up and going, lives lost in vain by the look of it.  :(

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:25pm

innocentbystander. wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:13pm:
I wonder how many farmers Woolies forced to suicide in order to get this venture up and going, lives lost in vain by the look of it.  :(

Link?

Proof?

Post by Wolseley on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:29pm

Yes.  My local hardware store is a Mitre 10 and it seems to be doing quite nicely.  There's also a Bunnings nearby too, but I prefer to go to Mitre 10 for most things.  Oh, I forgot - there's a Masters near me too, but I've never got around to checking it out to see what it's like.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:13pm

What  a pity -

hard to get those small parts for your wife's vibrator eh smithy ;)

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:48pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:03pm:

What  a pity -

Yes masters had a broader range and it was layed out much better than bunnings. However a dedicated fastener supplier is always going to be superior in both range and price.

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:50pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:13pm:

What  a pity -

hard to get those small parts for your wife's vibrator eh smithy ;)

not at all, I just get them from your wife

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:51pm

What  a pity -

please .... I said I didn't like them, not that I didn't see them  :D :D :D

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:54pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:48pm:

What  a pity -

Yes masters had a broader range and it was layed out much better than bunnings. However a dedicated fastener supplier is always going to be superior in both range and price.

Masters had a huge range of fasteners but -

they only sold 2 screws in a packet with the correct nuts & washers for about $4.
That's right - 2 lousy screws!

What a ripoff.

Post by John Smith on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:57pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:54pm:

they only sold 2 screws in a packet with the correct nuts & washers for about $4.

and there is why I didn't like them. :D :D :D

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 21st, 2016 at 5:30am

John Smith wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:57pm:

Bobby. wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:54pm:

and there is why I didn't like them. :D :D :D

No wonder they are closing - greed brought them undone.