General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1452454907 Message started by Sir Crook on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:41am |
Title: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Sir Crook on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:41am
Labor leader Bill Shorten rebukes NSW opposition leader Luke Foley over GST comments
Date January 10, 2016 Canberra Times Federal Labor leader Bill Shorten has issued a rebuke to his NSW counterpart Luke Foley, saying it would be "wrong" to hike the GST and slug every family in Australia to raise money for education and health. :( Mr Foley, the NSW Labor opposition leader, said he would consider supporting an increase in the GST from 10 to 15 per cent as long as the funds were used solely for health and education and to compensate low-income earners. The position is at direct odds with that of federal Labor, which vehemently opposes a GST increase. In a statement to Fairfax Media, Mr Shorten said a GST increase was "wrong" and he was "worried about ... the millions [of] families who are already struggling to keep their heads above water who will have to pay for an increased GST on every single thing they buy". :( "Of course, state leaders are under pressure to find more money - that's because the Turnbull Liberals in Canberra have cut $80 billion from schools and hospitals," Mr Shorten said, referring to cuts in the 2014 federal budget. "But increasing the price of everything by jacking up the GST and the cost of living is not the answer. "These families deserve a decent standard of living and that's why I am absolutely opposed to the Liberals increasing the GST." Mr Shorten questioned why the government was "soft" on multinational tax avoidance but was considering going "hard on families by increasing the GST". :( Federal Labor's position is informed by its own research and anecdotal evidence, and was reinforced by a poll which showed a higher GST was backed by just 28 per cent of voters. The figure rose to more than half of voters when sweeteners were added, such as lower income tax and changes to stop the wealthy from exploiting superannuation tax breaks. NSW Premier Mike Baird has proposed lifting the GST to 15 per cent to cover the estimated $80 billion health and education shortfall, plus compensation for low income earners. Mr Foley said he would consider offering Mr Baird bipartisan support for his model if strict funding guarantees were in place. He rejected suggestions by federal Treasurer Scott Morrison that any potential GST increase must also fund income and company tax cuts. Mr Foley has previously criticised an increase in the GST to 15 per cent as "lazy" and said state governments should raise extra money by agreeing to set taxes at the same |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:09am
If jacking up the GST is the answer, then the wrong questions are being asked.
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:41am
The other option is NEVER having another incompetent Labor government with an incompetent Labor treasurer in government EVER again.
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:21am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:41am:
It's the only thing which will save this country. That's if these LNP maggots leave anything TO save. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:26am Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:21am:
I am glad you finally agree. :) |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:32am Quote:
So who should pay for health and education if not every Australian Bill? :-? Quote:
What a sensible Labor fellow. There's hope for them yet. If low income earners are compensated, an increase in the GST could indeed pay for improvements in Labor's perpetual catch whinge. Health and education. Low income earners benefit from taxation. Any taxation. That's why there is taxation. It's redistribution of wealth and the GST is no different. Labor's issue is that if the Liberals pour funding into health and education......what is Labor going to be able to whinge about? It's political teeth would have been pulled? ;D Can't have that. Not even when it improves health and education... :-? ::) |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Sir Crook on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:36am
Mr Shorten questioned why the government was "soft" on multinational tax avoidance but was considering going "hard on families by increasing the GST". :(
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:39am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:26am:
But I don't. You've misquoted. Again. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:44am wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:36am:
Where's Mr Shorten's policy on "multinational tax avoidance" Crook and why shouldn't the Govt look at both? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:21am Swagman wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:44am:
He doesn't have one because to do so would open him up to uncomfortable questions about union accountability. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:22am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:21am:
really? ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by aquascoot on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:25am
think of all the level crossing we could fix with the extra money.
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:32am aquascoot wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:25am:
... and all the extra money Labor would have to waste! |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Sir Crook on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:38am
"Of course, state leaders are under pressure to find more money - that's because the Turnbull Liberals in Canberra have cut $80 billion from schools and hospitals," Mr Shorten said, referring to cuts in the 2014 federal budget. :(
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:42am Swagman wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:44am:
No it should look at the higher level tax avoidance first. Increasing the GST should be the last resort not the first option. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:44am aquascoot wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:25am:
How when it all goes into health education compensation and tax cuts. Obviously it does nothing at all for level crossings. Possibly even makes it more difficult to fix them. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:10am wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:38am:
Schools and hospitals are state responsibilities Crook. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:12am Swagman wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:10am:
.. funding for which traditionally comes from the Fed, and even more so since the advent of the GST...... |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:15am Dnarever wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:44am:
Not really. Health and Education are likely eating into the budgets for public transport infrastructure already. Why do you socialists always want more of everything, but only as long as someone else pays for it? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:19am
Someone else doesn't pay for it - everyone pays for it....................... to the extent that they benefit from it......
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:37am Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:19am:
Not if you follow Bill Shorten's logic. He's just playing the 'Regressive' tax Boogieman card, like all misinformed socialists. The carbon tax was a regressive tax as well. Why wasn't it evil incarnate? :-? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:37am Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:09am:
Cutting government spending is the answer. Sell off ABC and SBS to remove a billion dollar a year albatross from the necks of taxpayers. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:03pm Swagman wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:15am:
Why don't YOU learn what socialism actually is and means? THEN comment. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:06pm Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:37am:
No, both spending AND revenue need to be increased. Bringing the carbon tax and the MRRT back would be a good start. Utterly STUPID to axe either of them, not to mention criminally incompetent. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:07pm Swagman wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:37am:
Swag - you know that no matter what the tax package is (that word package gives one pause) it will always get the most out of you while appearing to be benign to you personally... The illusion and sleight of hand is that politicians cunningly work out how to distract you (bit like the Buffs sheila bashing) by shrieking 'left-right, left-right'.... while shafting you with the other hand.... They are ALL the same and the tax burden on you will not change one bit through their machinations.... you will just THINK you are better off, but the fact remains that governments will always want more than they have... and you'll pay for it one way or the other. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Honky on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:08pm Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:03pm:
Why don't you teach us? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:10pm Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:06pm:
You should learn some basic economics, I suggest listening to Milton Friedman who won a Nobel prize for economics |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 1:11pm Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:03pm:
Spoken like a true socialist.... ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 11th, 2016 at 1:19pm Swagman wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 11:15am:
Scoot is making suggestions for the extra money when there is no extra money, there is no indication that the finance budgeted for roads and transport isn't going to roads and transport. Increasing the GST is not planned to change that in any way. The feds ripped $80 B out of health and education and we are expected to pay for it a second time. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Bam on Jan 11th, 2016 at 1:24pm ... wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:08pm:
Seems many people have no idea what socialism actually is. "Socialism" was the top search term for Merriam-Webster in 2015. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 11th, 2016 at 2:06pm Bam wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 1:24pm:
Doesn't seem like many of 'em were from here... :-( |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Bam on Jan 11th, 2016 at 4:31pm Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 2:06pm:
Indeed, but it appears the global backlash against unrestrained capitalism has begun. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by aquascoot on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:03pm Bam wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 4:31pm:
really?? the fastest grwoing, most dynamic countries (china, india, south korea, malaysia, singapore, indonesia, the phillipines).....absolutely LOVE capitalism, they cant get enough of it. socialism is the consolation prize you get for not being able to compete. socialism is like getting to watch TV whilst the capitalists go out and party. socialism is a story that failures tell themselves to glorify the state they find themselves in because they dont have the courage, energy and drive to go out and make it happen. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:04pm Bam wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 4:31pm:
as evidenced by...??? thats right... your masturbation fantasies. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by mariacostel on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:16pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:03pm:
It sounds like Bam is still going through the hate phase where he hates those that 'have' while he has nothing. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Honky on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:21pm Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 2:06pm:
Maybe they were waiting for you to make good on explaining the difference. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:27pm mariacostel wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:16pm:
he does that a lot. same with companies and anyone rich. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:34pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:27pm:
Quoting your own psuedo , goodness me . |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:37pm Bam wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 4:31pm:
...soon as you get your form stamped at Centrelink :D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:01pm
Got to love the way the conservative supporters spent years warning about voting for Labor because they would put the GST rate up while denying that the Liberals would do it.
Now they are all supporting the biggest Australian tax increase of all time to the biggest Australian tax of all time. Every election since 2004 the Liberals have included a scare campaign in their elections that Labor would increase the GST, What a joke they are. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:05pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:27pm:
Those are also the countries with the most human rights abuses and the most fragile economies and societies based on intimidation, abuse, exploitation, subordination of Law to the governing class's whims, and outright violence including use of the armed forces (against the constitution of every civilised country) to curtail protest or objection ... very Stalinist the lot of them.... when they come for you, don't ask me for protection...... I won't be putting my hand in the fire for you... So when I defend the 'little person' and attract criticism and vitriol from you - don't expect me to display the same courage and integrity in defending you.... Thing is - I would - which is exactly where we part company.... a point of departure.... |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:09pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:01pm:
All I've ever heard is the constant Leftist whinge about the GST whilst enjoying the public services it provides.... ::) ....and their ever constant whining about not enough public services when they could have had 50% more GST revenues for the last 20 years to pay for them if they hadn't howled it down in 1993..... Dnarever wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:01pm:
You obviously don't pay income tax. Dnarever wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:01pm:
Are you from one of those alternate universes where everything is in reverse? ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by stunspore on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:53pm
GST is not the way - when there are so many tax deductions/loopholes/havens/etc that should be considered.
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Kat on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:33am aquascoot wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:03pm:
Doesn't sound like you have any idea either. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by stunspore on Jan 12th, 2016 at 4:29am aquascoot wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:25am:
I assume this is about Vic's lab gov. At least I find it more credible than current NSW's Lib gov. http://www.smh.com.au/comment/why-sydneys-train-promises-dont-add-up-20160111-gm39w1.html Another (lib) election promise that won't be kept. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by BigOl64 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:23am Kat wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:03pm:
Maybe this will help everyone understand socialism_meme_for_facebook_screen_capture.jpg (20 KB | 33
) |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:08am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:23am:
Back to the drawing board Big O - start again. You didn't seem to get it and went for your previous biased uneducated view. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:11am
Not sure what socialism has to do with jacking up the GST.
An action that both governments went into the last election with strong commitment to not do and now the Liberals are going to increase the GST as their first preference. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:19am Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:11am:
Ok, so as a socialist why post in a thread you don't understand? :D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by aquascoot on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:36am Kat wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:33am:
Kat, i think there is a misunderstanding between the haves and the "have nots". i think the "have nots "genuinely believe that the haves dont like the "have nots" and are trying to hold them down. Nothing could be further from the truth. the haves, the successful people, the guys who run companies and small businesses are, by and large , great people they are centred, they are good blokes, they are very smart, they work very hard and they would desperately like to see everyone of the "have nots" become successful as well. It is the people who are unsuccessful who try to divide the citizens into 2 warring factions. The successful people want a form of socialism where everyone comes up to their level. where all are happy fulfilled and successful. unfortunately, most of the "have nots" have such terrible success barriers and limiting beliefs, that this is an impossibility |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Redneck on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:38am Swagman wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:19am:
Swaggie would understand it, he is on a par with Aqua and Longy. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Bam on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:39am mariacostel wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:16pm:
Reported. You deserve a lifetime ban. You contribute nothing useful to any discussion but just go around attacking anyone who doesn't agree with you. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Bam on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:49am stunspore wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:53pm:
That would be a sensible approach that removes the need to slug hardworking Australians and honest businesses with more taxes. The problem is, we're not going to see such action as long as we have a Prime Minister with millions stashed in the Cayman Islands. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 10:00am Swagman wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:19am:
If that were a rule you would get to post nowhere. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 12th, 2016 at 10:47am Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 10:00am:
...spoken like a true socialist |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:12pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:11am:
not true. labor opposes the GST because the Libs proposed despite it being the ALPs preference for a while. and the libs did NOT promise to not increase the GST, only that they would not do so without seeking a mandate from the voters. now DNA... this is what truth looks like rather than the ignorant rubbish you peddle. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:13pm Bam wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:49am:
as does half the labor front bench and Rudd and Gillard. all of whom pay australian taxes on the earnings, a fact you seem to struggle with. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:14pm Bam wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:39am:
you hate companies and rich people. dont deny it. instead, go have a sook in the moderator corner. maybe they will change your nappy for you |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Karnal on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:18pm
Thank God you’re back, Longy. That awful Maria woman tried to weigh in on your writing challenge, but I told her we wouldn’t have a bar of it.
Distinguished writers and business owners only, thanks. Now that you’re back, she can SHUT UP. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 3:10pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:12pm:
Maybe you should call Tony a liar ? I am not going to call you a liar just because you are wrong but you are wrong. Next time you say this and you will you will then be a liar. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1FVt5h5hnI |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 12th, 2016 at 3:38pm
The tax exemptions on super will cost the Budget $170Bn over the forward estimates. Let us look at them, eh? Then move on to multinational tax avoidance.
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 4:35pm Swagman wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 10:47am:
Than you comrade Swaggy. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 4:59pm Melanias purse wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:18pm:
move on karnal you wanker. you dont actually believe in anything at all. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:01pm Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 3:38pm:
sounds like someone who doesnt have super. what about we get rid of the aged pension? same amount of money but I tip you are a pensioner. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:02pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:01pm:
don't be stupid .... get rid of pensions and people will starve. They should pay EVERYONE the pension, even Gina fatfart, and then charge tax on all investments at normal rates. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:06pm John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:02pm:
and you think removing super exemptions wont have largely the same effect? thats why cleverer people than you (eg downs suffererers) know that you dont wreck a multi-generational retirment plan because of ideoology. i underlined the words you dont understand so you can google them. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:15pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:06pm:
really? you want to pretend if you don't get tax exemptions on your $2m super fund you'll starve? ;D ;D ;D longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:06pm:
both still above any level you can ever hope to achieve longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:06pm:
got nothing to do with ideology .,... we simply cannot afford it longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:06pm:
like you did? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by BigOl64 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:08pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:08am:
Im pretty certain socialism embraces that lazy and the stupid as their central tenet. At least that is what has been proven to me time and time again by the socialist themselves. Gotta bury them deep to make sure their hand doesn't stick out of the ground. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:28pm
Longy is no smarter but just as abusive as Maria. Hmmmm
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:37pm John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:15pm:
its not exemptions on $2M+, twitface. it is exemptions on EVERYBODY'S SUPER - including yours. idiot. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:38pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:06pm:
At your level of comprehension there are areas of criticism you should avoid.. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:42pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:38pm:
says the imbecile that calls any error or mistake 'a lie'. the same clown that blames howard for the horror of being debt free and in surplus and the same boofhead that simply cannot handle the truth of howard being the most popular PM. context problems is just ONE of your issues and not even the worst. your inability to think outside a labor-mandated thinkatorium is your biggest problem. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:46pm
Says Longy the brainwashed Lib drone.
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:49pm
Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer
As opposition leader one of Tony Abbotts often repeated mantras was : "You can’t tax your way to prosperity" Quote:
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:53pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:42pm:
I specifically called your error a mistake and not a lie. You have the issue 100% reversed, remember it was you who calls spelling mistakes lies ? You also call anything and everything that you don't like a lie when the vast majority of the time it is true. Very consistently when you call me a liar I produce the evidence to show I was correct. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:53pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 5:01pm:
Abuse is all you got, isn’t it, Longy? Support for Libs dropped 1.5% on Morgan polls. They will be in negative territory before long :D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:00pm
Attacking superannuation will only make more people worse off.
I would think that fixing the rorts is important but in general Super is a very good thing. In my opinion retrospectivly screwing a lot of people who have spent the last 45 years saving for their retirement is an awful thing to try on. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:05pm
There are a relatively few people using super as a tax minimisation scheme, using the last big stupid decision of Howard & Costello.
That has to be stopped. Those people will still retire on comfortable income from super but they can pay tax on it and get the pension. Plenty other rorts to go after as well. Raise the GST is a Lib desire not a rational act of economic or Budgetary management. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:07pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:37pm:
you're not helping your case idiot remove the exemptions, i certainly won't starve. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:09pm Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:53pm:
without the abuse he'd have nothing else to say ... he certainly doesn't argue for or against. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:10pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:00pm:
no ones screwing anyone ... they still have their money. But why should someone making $100 000 in interest on super have it tax free when the guy working for $40k a year pays tax? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:22pm John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:10pm:
True |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Bam on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:23pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:12pm:
Incorrect. Labor opposes it because it is a bad idea. Morrison has explicitly stated his intention to use the increase in the GST to transfer the burden of taxation from corporations to ordinary taxpayers (using the increase to fund a company tax cut). Increasing the GST is not an option to be pursued when there are so many other things we could do first, such as closing tax loopholes that leak billions in revenue. That should be the first priority for a competent Treasurer who wishes to balance the Budget while alienating the fewest voters. longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:12pm:
They have already breached their commitment by changing the GST after promising not to do so. longweekend58 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 12:12pm:
No, that's what LIES look like. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:24pm
Longy took a near infarction and developed PTSD over the Newman disaster in Queensland.... it shows in his grumpy attitude... coupled with Optical Rectalitis which gives a crappy outlook - well - it's a sad case...
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:24pm Swagman wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:22pm:
what makes it worse, the pensioner who tries to work a couple of days a week to make a little extra cash, loses 50% of what he gains in cuts to his pension ... ridiculous. Let him earn it and then tax him at normal rates. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Bam on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:25pm John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:10pm:
A similar argument can be made against CGT concessions. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:33pm Bam wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:25pm:
it can, and should. The biggest difference however is that capital gains is usually a one off and not an ongoing income source. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:35pm John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:10pm:
You know that the average superannuation savings is little over $120K. They don't get $100K interest. People locked money into Super over 40 years ago on the basis that it would be tax advantaged when they reached 55 , now 60. The government put the tax incentive in place to encourage people to save for retirement, to now penalise the people who took the incentive would be unreasonable and unfair. Many people would have not bothered to save money in superannuation without the incentive, to retrospectively change the position people spent over 40 years to get to would be disgraceful. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:39pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:35pm:
Any income over and above the pension should be taxed. The amount is irrelevant. And I don't agree that many don't get $100 k interest. Many do and use SMSF's just for this purpose. SMSF's are the fastest growing industry in this country for a reason. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:41pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:35pm:
I'm not changing their position. They still have their super at whatever amounts they would have with no changes. I'm not calling to tax the super ... only the income they earn on it. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:56pm John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:41pm:
It is currently taxed in the fund. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:11pm
The exemptions benefit most those so rich they don’t need them. As I keep saying, super is becoming a tax minimisation scheme rather than a scheme to save for retirement.
We cannot afford to keep going on like that. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:54pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 7:56pm:
heavily discounted |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:14am Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:11pm:
Yes that needs to be stopped but don't throw the baby out with the bath water. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:15am John Smith wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:54pm:
Yes taxed at 15% the same as any Superannuation with some other typical investment offsets. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 13th, 2016 at 4:53pm Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 6:53pm:
from 56.5 to 55 while reliable polls have them ant 53/47 and holding. I did read some of you and maria knocking heads over polls. you really made yourself look like a first-rate fool. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 13th, 2016 at 5:23pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 4:53pm:
of course you did .... you even told her what to write while she was replying :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:41pm John Smith wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 5:23pm:
just like jovial_monk tells you. surely you are not going to claim you and he are not the same person???? you have similar styles and similar levels of abuse. and you are both OH SO STUPID. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:42pm
Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer
Increasing taxes is seldom the answer. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:51pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:42pm:
but increasing spending is? coz that is always the labor way of doing things. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:55pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:51pm:
And yet it was the Abbott / Turnbull government that has been on a spending rampage since 2013 and the Howard government which is shown to be the biggest and most wasteful spending government in at least 7 decades. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:04pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:55pm:
your ignorance is no longer surprising as it is just a defining characteristic of you now. funny how you repeatedly ignore the 6 years of the highest increases in spending in history and in fact the fastest increase in spending IN THE WORLD. and that was despite the mining boom under labor. and when the GFC ended, labor just continued increasing spending. by far the most profligate govt was Rudds. and quoting the IMF and its rapist head is not helping your cause. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:29pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:04pm:
Yes Longy - If you don't like the facts just make up your own, that'll work. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Dnarever on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:32pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:04pm:
6 years of the highest increases in spending in history and in fact the fastest increase in spending IN THE WORLD. Information of questionable value straight from the seventh planet of Mr Long. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 13th, 2016 at 9:31pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:51pm:
So tell me then - why is it the LNP propagandising a rise in the GST? Because they want to spend less? Why did Joey lift the borrowing ceiling to infinity? Because the LNP want to spend less? I believe you are once again on the horns of a dilemna..... your answer should be breathtaking... |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by crocodile on Jan 13th, 2016 at 9:36pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:04pm:
Longy, that's not a very edifying statement. Debt came from a low base. If I had a debt of $1 billion and increased it to $10 billion it has accelerated the debt by 1000% but only $9 billion. If I had a debt of $500 billion and increased to $1 Trillion I've only doubled it. One can make statistics say anything one wants. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 13th, 2016 at 10:01pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:41pm:
really? you want to claim Jovial and I are the same person? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D farrrk but you are an ijut . :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by John Smith on Jan 13th, 2016 at 10:02pm crocodile wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 9:36pm:
longie knows that as it has been explained to him on several occasions. Acknowledging it though would mean his argument fall flat, like all his other arguments. It's easier for him to ignore the facts. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 14th, 2016 at 7:43am
Be nice if Longy actually gave links to Treasury papers.
Fact is, Labor spent less (stimulus excepted) and collected less revenue than the Howard/Costello goivernments. The present Lib govt is spending at a record rate of just under 26% of GDP, even Morriscum has said that. $170Bn over the forward estimates will go to super tax exemption. We cannot afford this. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by longweekend58 on Jan 14th, 2016 at 8:50am Dnarever wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 7:32pm:
actually straight from the IMF you love to selectively quote.. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 14th, 2016 at 9:00am wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 7:36am:
Why doesn't Mr SHoirten talk about negative gearing and tax CGT concessions ? Is it because him and his poli mates have a nice little collection of investment properties ? |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 14th, 2016 at 10:23am Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 9:00am:
Essentially they are all in the same boat.... doing all that hard public service work needs its rewards, you know, and they're not going to cut their own throats for the good of the people - cut the throats of the people instead - only peasants anyway and beneath our consideration and they can afford it..... |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Swagman on Jan 15th, 2016 at 7:52am Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 9:00am:
Bill only talks about what the ACTU tells him to talk about. |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 16th, 2016 at 12:41pm
Come on Mr Morrison, if the Europeans can do it why can’t we?
http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016/jan/15/apple-european-commission-ruling-back-taxes-ireland |
Title: Re: Jacking Up The GST Is Not The Answer Post by The Grappler on Jan 17th, 2016 at 1:36am
You operate here - you pay our tax rates here - you take it as a deduction in your home base country... pretty simple, yes? Owing a loan to mummy or daddy company doesn't count... any more than being able to deduct repayment of a loan from a family member counts for the ordinary taxpayer......
You don't get to deduct repayments to Uncle Arfur to keep your household going when you're doing it tough, do you? **Downe at Ye Olde Taxe Office,,, "Nah, then, Mr Bloggski, you say you needed to borrow to keep your household going in its business of earning a profit, and you now want to deduct repayments on that?" "Ye-ussh - I had to borrow from Uncle Arfur to set up a bank account to keep going and earn an income. Without it I wouldn't even have been able to go to work or pay fares, let alone pay the kids in food for doing the chores!" "I'm sorry, Mr Bloggski... but if you'd been Bloggski Corporation we could allow this.. but for you it means a fine for attempted tax evasion. Payment required within 28 days!" "But I'll have to borrow from Aunt Marfa to cover that!" "Not our problem, Mr Bloggski... just don't try to get a deduction for that loan next time or it'll go worse for you as a second offence!!" |