Member Run Boards >> Food >> Bygone foods http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1452401495 Message started by bogarde73 on Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:51pm |
Title: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:51pm
Potato salad:
We're familiar with what it commonly is now. Pre-WW2 however (ref Common Sense Cookery Book) it was something else and I don't mean by that it sounds good. It was a combination of mashed potato, parsley, sliced onion & mayonnaise, all served as a goo. Mock Chicken: This was a sandwich filling. Chopped tomato and grated processed cheese (you may remember blocks of Kraft processed cheese in blue packets) Don't ask me why they called it Mock Chicken? |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:18pm
Tripe, does anyone eat tripe any more?
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:46pm
Funny, we were talking about that last night.
The conclusion was you probably couldn't even get it or if you could it would probably cost a fortune. Like lamb shanks. They couldn't give them away once, now they're a delicacy. My old man ate tripe. It was supposed to be good for ulcers. I couldn't come at it. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:59pm
We used to eat it as kids, not sure I want to revisit
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 10th, 2016 at 4:06pm Liver and kidneys |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 10th, 2016 at 4:07pm
Every day I think I must find a receipt (as recipes used to be called) for Brown Windsor Soup.
Its often mentioned in old movies and I think I might like it. But I forget. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Redneck on Jan 10th, 2016 at 4:20pm
Lambs Fry, still a favourite of mine but seldom buy it now days.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 10th, 2016 at 4:52pm
I have a steak and kidney pie every now and then.,,,, about once a year
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Stratos on Jan 10th, 2016 at 4:52pm bogarde73 wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:46pm:
You can find tripe. Most butchers that aren't big supermarket can get it for you. Why on earth you would want such a thing is another matter. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 10th, 2016 at 4:52pm
And I must have some lambs fry again
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:40pm
tripe is still fairly easy to get, and still fairly cheap ... but why would you bother.
Kidney and liver I still occasionally eat. Not as often as I should cause they're very good for you the other one I used to have as a kid but never see anymore is blood pudding. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Stratos on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:41pm John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:40pm:
My local Coles sells it during the winter months, assuming blood pudding is the same this as black pudding? |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:46pm Stratos wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:41pm:
not sure what black pudding is ... blood pudding (or the one I used to eat) is made with pigs blood. Came out like a thick chocolate custard |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by the good ole boys on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:48pm John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:46pm:
Came out as thick black custard gay boy?? Did you slurp it up?? |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:50pm the good ole boys wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:48pm:
no did you slurp up your boyfriend last night? |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Stratos on Jan 10th, 2016 at 6:01pm John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 5:46pm:
Oh so it's actually liquid? I'm referring to the very British food, which is indeed made with pigs blood. More of a sausage, and definitely not liquid. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_pudding |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Redneck on Jan 10th, 2016 at 6:08pm |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2016 at 6:09pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 6:08pm: Is Don, is good. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2016 at 9:29pm Stratos wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 6:01pm:
From memory, and it was a long time ago, I'd liken it's consistency to 'yogo' |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2016 at 9:31pm Radish salad. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2016 at 9:32pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 9:31pm:
I like radish .... especially in salad |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 11th, 2016 at 6:03am
Traditional black pudding has more the consistency of say a roll of Devon sausage. It's firm enough for frying.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Redneck on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:28am
I just remembered my dad used to also eat "white pudding" which is similar to black pudding but doesn't contain blood
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_pudding |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Stratos on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:46am Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:28am:
It's basically fried fat. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:52am
And was it "lard" (which I think is also dried fat) that people once spread on bread?
This would be around the time margarine was made from coal. Just think, Clive Palmer could have been a food processor instead of a food superingestor. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:55am bogarde73 wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 9:52am:
Bread and dripping. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 11th, 2016 at 12:44pm
That's it. (Spews stage left)
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:31pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 9:31pm:
What was that? |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 11th, 2016 at 5:37pm bogarde73 wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:51pm:
Mock Chicken sounds like what I remember as Mock Turkey. Then there was "mock fish" (grated potatoes, fried) My Granny told me this. ;) |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by skippy. on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:13pm
When I was a kid my grandmother used to make a desert called rice in fruit salad. I never tried rice as a hot dish until I was a teenager and was surprised it was eaten that way. ;D
Boiled rice then chilled and mixed with a tin of fruit salad and topped with fresh cream, I actually liked it but my wife thinks it sounds grose. I saw an interesting sign at a cafe the other day it was pretty spot on. " come in and try our delicious organic food Or as your grandparents used to call it...food." |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:16am skippy. wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 8:13pm:
So true |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 13th, 2016 at 10:29am miketrees wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:18pm:
I remember my mother making it a couple of times when I was little. Maybe when Dad had ulcers, I don't know. I never tried it. Never will. Pass pass pass. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Redneck on Jan 13th, 2016 at 11:19am
When I was a kid my mother used to cook rhubarb as a desert!
Most horrible stuff I ever tasted. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 13th, 2016 at 1:02pm bogarde73 wrote on Jan 12th, 2016 at 8:16am:
Not true, they used anything up to and including arsenic to control pests. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 13th, 2016 at 1:07pm
Rhubarb is delcious, Red. Try an apple and rhubarb tart or crumble. I often cook strawberries with the rhubabrb. Yum!
Tripe—I can eat a little bit of tripe cooked the way the chinese do it but it is not my favorite. Tongue, sweetbreads (thyroid gland) liver and kidney—yum! Beef cheeks, cooked long and slow as in beef rendang, yum! Glossy and gelatinous. Anybody tried junket and syllabubs? |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Stratos on Jan 13th, 2016 at 1:30pm Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 1:07pm:
I have. Tasted ok. Looked literally like vomit. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 13th, 2016 at 3:22pm
Do not like junket. The 'curds' are ok but the 'whey' is gross.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:09pm
Yes Jovial, you are right they used Nicotine in the past and its banned now.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by skippy. on Jan 13th, 2016 at 8:23pm Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 1:02pm:
Maybe in backward countries , but my grandparents never used that. ::) |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Wolseley on Jan 13th, 2016 at 9:51pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 11:19am:
Obviously it wasn't cooked properly. Rhubarb is delicious as a dessert (usually accompanying custard, ice cream or yoghurt), added to an apple pie or in jams. It can also be served with pork belly, to balance the fattiness of the meat. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 14th, 2016 at 7:44am miketrees wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 6:09pm:
Yeah, dreadful stuffs were being used. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by ashlee on Jan 14th, 2016 at 11:15am miketrees wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:18pm:
Personally, no, :o BUT I will, and have, cleaned, prepared and cooked tripe. My other half loves offal of all descriptions especially sheep pluck. I don't, :-X but that doesn't stop me cooking it for him and the twins. I want my children to be able to eat everything, to educate their palettes etc. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by ashlee on Jan 14th, 2016 at 11:17am Stratos wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 1:30pm:
You sure it was junket? I've yet to see one that looks like vomit, it's more like a firmer, less airy instant pudding. Well, the one's I've seen anyhoo. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by ashlee on Jan 14th, 2016 at 11:20am Wolseley wrote on Jan 13th, 2016 at 9:51pm:
Agree, and it's YUM with roasted pork belly. I used to eat it raw when I was a wee girl, even though I didn't really like it raw. Weirdo. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by ashlee on Jan 14th, 2016 at 11:25am
Mock Chicken:
Chop 1 medium sized onion finely and cook in a little butter, but do not brown. Add a small tomato skinned and sliced, 1 teaspoon mixed herbs, salt and pepper and 1 beaten egg. Cook slowly till mixture thickens. Pile on cheese or water biscuits and garnish with parsley. Source: Edmonds cookery book. Typed as is, in said book. Hmmmm :-/ |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 14th, 2016 at 1:16pm
Found some receipts for Brown Windsor Soup but am not enticed. Looks too heavy. Might be OK for winter.
Might go for Beef Consomme with Veg in the meantime. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 1:47pm
I remember my mother making Flummery and something called Spanish Cream. Both milk based.
My great grandmother used to make an amazing Apple Roll. I have tried to copy it but haven't got it quite the same as hers yet. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Redneck on Jan 14th, 2016 at 2:06pm ashlee wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 11:20am:
Who me? Maybe my old mum (long gone to heaven) was a lousy cook, actually I dont think she used enough sugar in it for my young childs taste |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 14th, 2016 at 2:12pm Black Orchid wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 1:47pm:
You probably don't have the pastry skills she did and the apples won't be the same either |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:12pm
I probably don't and the apples are definitely not the same. Not much is now.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:14pm
Give me a good old fashioned sausage. I only eat them a couple of times a year but they just don't have any flavour anymore.
No smart assed comments required |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:31pm
I don't think you're Robinson Crusoe there.
What it is I don't know but lots of people have said the same thing to me. I've given up, either there's too much fat or no flavour or tastes artificial or something. But then other people will say go here, go there they make great sausages. Not that I find. BTW, no criticism intended re apple roll |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:38pm
I had a few things to do last weekend so when I stopped off at Bunnings I couldn't resist the smell of their sausage sizzle.
It was terrible. The sausage was disgusting and I had to throw it away. BTW no offence taken. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:42pm
French Toast!
Cut stale bread into 2 bits, break a couple of eggs into a bowl, add a little bit of milk. Then dip the bread into the mix then into a frying pan and cook both sides until brownish. Serve with good old Tomato Sauce. Yum if you are feeling lazy and have some stale bread. ;) |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:42pm
Well that's handy to know. I've been tempted there a couple of times.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:47pm
I also remember "flummery". It was, as I recall, jelly almost set then whipped up with the (hand held) beater thingie.
I remember also a dessert that was layers of fruit, custard, flummery and cake ... sort of like a Trifle but minus the booze. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:50pm bogarde73 wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:42pm:
Different organisations take turns at running them so it probably depends on where they get their snags. Some weeks might be good but it's turned me off snags for awhile. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:52pm Neferti wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:47pm:
Don't know about the boozeless trifle but I think flummery is whipped evaporated milk with either jelly or gelatine and fruit. I remember pineapple flummery, I think lol. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 14th, 2016 at 4:01pm Black Orchid wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:52pm:
Remember that I was raised in Victoria .... lots of things were (and still are) named differently down there to NSW. For example, spinach and silver beet! Scallops (fish) and Scallops (potato cakes). Not that it matters all that much. ;D |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 14th, 2016 at 4:10pm
Spinach and Silverbeet are interchangeable. Spinach is the shorter English style but we tend to have Silverbeet growing here more readily. I call them both Spinach regardless ;D
I don't know what they have in Victoria but in NSW there are 2 kinds of scallop. A potato one and a clam related one. I thought all states would have the same. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 14th, 2016 at 4:23pm Black Orchid wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 4:10pm:
They may have come to grips with the different terminology now but when I arrived in Sydney, many moons ago, I was questioned as " You're from Melbourne, aren't you?" I remember asking at the local sandwich shop for "a round of ham and tomato" and they said, "our bread is square, here" ;D Plus if I wore a combination of black and white, I got the question "So you are a Collingwood supporter". I've never, ever followed football. So at the time I didn't twig to what I was being asked. I don't know whether there is still a bit of competition between Sydney and Melbourne but there was when I first arrived in Sydney. Canberra doesn't care, one way or the other and nor do I. However, childhood things such as foods are probably what we knew as kids. What other areas called them is no longer a problem. ;D |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by The Mechanic on Jan 15th, 2016 at 8:43pm
dear god...
I've just gone a bit wonky and faint looking at some of that spew some of you have eaten... :( |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by The Mechanic on Jan 15th, 2016 at 8:45pm Black Orchid wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:14pm:
come again... :o |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 16th, 2016 at 4:55pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jan 15th, 2016 at 8:45pm:
:D |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 16th, 2016 at 4:56pm
I tried another old fashioned apple roll today by taking bits and pieces from 3 different recipes and tweaking them.
It was delicious :) |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 16th, 2016 at 6:09pm Black Orchid wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 3:50pm:
bah ... won't really make that much difference 20 to 30 yrs ago the standard for sausages was 30% fat now the standard isf closer to 50% fat you can thank coles and woolies for improving our standards :D :D ohh, they also led the charge to have veal, previously regarded as a beast under 3 months of age, changed to a beast under 12 months of age ... you are paying for veal but getting beef. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 16th, 2016 at 6:11pm Black Orchid wrote on Jan 14th, 2016 at 4:10pm:
I didn't figure out that silver beet wasn't 'spinach' until I was almost 30yrs old .... I'd always known it as spinach before that. I blame popeye .... ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by John Smith on Jan 16th, 2016 at 6:12pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jan 15th, 2016 at 8:45pm:
twice already? gee, you are quick |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by AiA on Jan 17th, 2016 at 8:39am
Chickens that live outside with their feet in the grass taste quite different from those that grow up caged ... the flavor is quite distinct. I get my beef directly from a rancher and it too is more flavorful than anything available at an average market.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 17th, 2016 at 12:27pm
more flavorful than anything available at an average market.
Absolutely right AA Just about every product is dumbed down by going through the supermarket industrial food chain. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 17th, 2016 at 2:35pm
Let me begin as I frequently do and must be boring to more recent generations, "when I was a kid" . . .
- we got our fruit & vegies from the greengrocer. Tomatoes were not available all year round but, by god, when they were they tasted like tomatoes. They didn't taste like a pale imitation of a memory encased in a 4 or 5mm skin designed to survive nuclear attack. The same seasonal limitations existed with many fruit and veg varieties which could not be grown within a reasonable distance of the Sydney markets, eg in the Hawkesbury basin. But what we got was recognisable and was what they now call heirloom varieties. - I still get my stone fruit from an orchard but this will be the last year. Thanks to pressure from those friends of the earth, the Greens, orchardists can no longer use any spray effective against fruit fly and other pests and diseases. So the peach & plum trees are being pulled out after this harvest. The cherry trees have all gone locally and I think just about everywhere in NSW. One of the main hurdles here was the growers were not allowed to protect their crop against the ravenous multiplying hordes of fruit bats in any affordable way. The life of a bat, which we now know carries a highly infectious and lethal virus, is obviously worth more than the livelihood of a farmer and our self-sufficiency in foodstuffs. But I console myself with the thought that Woolworths & Coles etc will be able to sell me fruit and veg from China where no controls or prohibitions on chemical pesticides are put in the way of trade opportunities. And if I don't like the tomatoes I can probably play tennis with them. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 17th, 2016 at 6:01pm
Hey Bogarde
I was a fruit grower and that's pretty much what happened to me. In my case it was feral lorikeets that bred up in the city and found my fruit irresistible. (they will fly 120km a day to feed) Also the city people bred fruitfly in such numbers it made growing fruit near impossible. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 18th, 2016 at 6:40am
I'm sorry to hear that Mike but I guess you might be glad to be out of it.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 18th, 2016 at 6:46am
No,,, I loved being a grower
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 18th, 2016 at 9:24am
I loved running my HBS but arthritis wrote finis to that.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by cods on Jan 20th, 2016 at 7:13am bogarde73 wrote on Jan 17th, 2016 at 2:35pm:
I didnt know that how depressing...only imported fruit to look forward too...we seem to give up really quick in this country it all becomes too hard.. yet we accept other countries food that is never anywhere near the standards we set ourselves... how is that possible??????... its like the fish...I believe it is farmed in polluted water.....yet we allow it into the country... I dont understand how?... if we cant combat fruitfly.... then we are in a sorry state...beaten by fruitfly... amazing.. ::) |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Neferti on Jan 20th, 2016 at 2:18pm bump |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 20th, 2016 at 8:02pm
if we cant combat fruitfly.... then we are in a sorry state...beaten by fruitfly... amazing.
Cods,, when you have city/town people breeding them in the millions, then the APVMA ban the chemical that has been used for 40 years, there is a big problem. We could beat fruitfly if back yarders that don't look after their trees had to remove them |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by bogarde73 on Jan 21st, 2016 at 10:20am
Mike, I have neighbours each side who let their citrus drop on the ground and leave it there.
Maybe they think fruit fly don't get into citrus, most likely they don't care. Don't know why they planted them. I researched the history of fruit fly control once. Don't remember the details now but the state govts did employ inspectors who went around and enforced the regs. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Wolseley on Jan 21st, 2016 at 11:04am bogarde73 wrote on Jan 21st, 2016 at 10:20am:
I remember once (some time in the early 1960s), when my parents, who used to live in Turramurra, had a flowering peach tree, which was in the habit of producing a fair sized crop of pretty inedible fruit, that one of these inspectors came knocking at the door to tell us that the fruit had to be removed otherwise action would be taken. My father ended up cutting down the tree. And yes, the inspector did come around later to check to see if anything had been done. I doubt if anything like this happens today unless you're living in a major fruit growing area. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by Black Orchid on Jan 21st, 2016 at 12:16pm
Councils are still planting Cherry Plum, Prunus Cerasifera, as street trees.
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by miketrees on Jan 21st, 2016 at 3:16pm
state govts did employ inspectors who went around and enforced the regs.
I did that job as a young fellow in 1978. I would do all the work and notify people but the Ag Dept would never enforce penalties. They abandoned inspectors ,,, one reason was because Fenthion was doing such a brilliant job controlling FF. Now Fenthion has been banned. I only lasted about 6 months on that job, wasting my time. |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2016 at 7:33am bogarde73 wrote on Jan 21st, 2016 at 10:20am:
I also remember people being very concerned about taking fruit across borders... we went through a fruit fly check station once.... what is the answer?? we have a cane toad problem that is now bigger than the problem they were brought here to solve.... they are a killing machine...yet so far I have seen no emergency regarding the spread of them.... we have funny ideas in this country we wait till its an epidemic a threat to human life.... then we have to fight all sorts of groups who dont see it that way...and even have save the rabbit/fruit fly/bats/and cane toad... rallies.... and treat any person trying to eradicate them as evil doers... ::) ::) ::) I dont know how you stop anyone growing a fruit tree in their garden.. maybe a hot line to dob them in... |
Title: Re: Bygone foods Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2016 at 7:35am miketrees wrote on Jan 21st, 2016 at 3:16pm:
it will take a massive Famine and Pestilence to visit this continent to wake us up mike... the carers are now out numbered by the dont care... :( |