General Discussion >> Chat >> I'm having a pine tree removed for $1,400 ...
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1452120884

Message started by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:54am

Title: I'm having a pine tree removed for $1,400 ...
Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:54am
Seems a bit excessive to me, but my Google search indicates this is about what tree removalists expect to be paid.

Doesn't include grinding the stump out.

Just cutting the tree to ground level and removing the waste.

It's about 20 meters tall and only a foot wide.

If you own the equipment needed, it's money for jam if you're in the industry.

You know you're paying a ridiculous price, but they know they've got you over a barrel because you don't own the equipment required to do the job.

This is what 'de-regulation' means for the paying-public. They can pilfer your bank account with impunity.

Title: Re: I'm having a pine tree removed for $1,400 ...
Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:04am
Hi,

That is expensive but not a ripoff. It is dangerous work.
They will have a truck and 3 - 4 men there.

We had 4 pines removed a few years ago. Larger than those ones. From memory, the original quote was $5K

It is a lot better with them gone, Bad trees to plant.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:13am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:04am:
Hi,

That is expensive but not a ripoff. It is dangerous work.
They will have a truck and 3 - 4 men there.

We had 4 pines removed a few years ago. Larger than those ones. From memory, the original quote was $5K

It is a lot better with them gone, Bad trees to plant.

I asked the fellow if he had one of those robots that crawl up the trunk of the tree while lopping off the branches - and he said yes.

But being an Arab, I'm not too sure I can believe anything he says.

Not much danger if he has one of those.

Being able to hire dinki di Australians for anything nowadays is becoming increasingly difficult.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:25am

I used CHIPMUNKS TREE SERVICES PTY. LTD. Myrtle Street 11 4133 Brisbane - Waterford West Queensland - Australia 0407 633 777

we have used them a few times.

It is dangerous work

Post by freediver on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:31am
I always cringe when I see them using their foot to push a branch into the woodchipper.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:33am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:54am:

"money for jam" ?

The equipment just magically appears, and the tree then magically cuts itself down, and then magically transports itself away?

Nice one, Herbie.

Picking on blacks, Arabs, Jews, Muslims, women, and anybody who is slightly different to you isn't good enough any more - now you're starting on your average hard-working Australian.

Ask Homo if he can get his neighbour to do the job for you (you might even get some goat meat out of it).

Post by Lady Lols on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:46am
We have recently had a huge cypris/pine type tree cut down, the quotes were between $1100 - $1900.

Just try to get different quotes.
And yes, pulverising the stump was extra, but we left it as is, cut down to a bout 18 inches high (can be used as a table). And they take it away also, included in the price. Unless you wish to have the wood and keep it for firewood, then you have to chop it all up for your own use.

There's a lot of training, fitness and stamina required to climb a tree and cut down the various branches starting from the top, with lots of security ropes, chainsaw, safety equipement worn etc.

It is very interesting to watch the way they do it. It isn't something done quickly either, it is bit by bit all the way down, with the swing of the branches cut with ropes being pulled by others on the ground, knowing how to.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:49am

freediver wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:31am:
I always cringe when I see them using their foot to push a branch into the woodchipper.

I think it might be what they did with Jimmy Hoffa ... and used him for mulch in the city parks. 

But then again, the Italian Mob might have buried him beneath a concrete-pour when they were building the Twin Towers in 1973.  8-)

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:51am

freediver wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:31am:

And vice versa.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qWFhDvURLg

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:55am

Sophia wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:46am:
We have recently had a huge cypris/pine type tree cut down, the quotes were between $1100 - $1900.

Just try to get different quotes.
And yes, pulverising the stump was extra, but we left it as is, cut down to a bout 18 inches high (can be used as a table). And they take it away also, included in the price. Unless you wish to have the wood and keep it for firewood, then you have to chop it all up for your own use.

There's a lot of training, fitness and stamina required to climb a tree and cut down the various branches starting from the top, with lots of security ropes, chainsaw, safety equipement worn etc.

It is very interesting to watch the way they do it. It isn't something done quickly either, it is bit by bit all the way down, with the swing of the branches cut with ropes being pulled by others on the ground, knowing how to.

I've watched tree-removalists hanging off the top of a tree next door - and yes, they certainly earn their money..

Butt!

With my tree there will be nobody shinning up the tree with a chainsaw hanging from his belt, and that's because the tree is on a dangerous lean. Nobody is going to be sent up there.

My guess is that they'll bring a tall cherry-picker and hoist a couple of the men up there to do the snipping from the top.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2016 at 10:09am
I'm glad you think that way Herbert.
I've worked at heights and with weights at times and they are both dangerous.

people that have never done either often do not take that into consideration.

Good luck with it.
Good to get it cut down before it falls down.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 7th, 2016 at 10:14am
I would think a bit expensive for a pine tree.

2 guys with the equipment about 1.5 to 2 hrs.

Different for proper trees but a pine is easy.

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2016 at 11:04am
a bottle of round up and 6 months will fix the problem for you for $20  :D :D :D

Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 7th, 2016 at 11:05am

Dnarever wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 10:14am:

The tree is 20m tall, it's not a small job.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 7th, 2016 at 11:45am

Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 11:05am:

The tree is 20m tall, it's not a small job.

It's not really now is it, but still bigger than I was thinking.

If it is real big the type of pine would make a huge difference, some have really hard wood as well.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 1:59pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 10:09am:
I'm glad you think that way Herbert.
I've worked at heights and with weights at times and they are both dangerous.

people that have never done either often do not take that into consideration.

Good luck with it.
Good to get it cut down before it falls down.

Thank you.

The last one fell against the house, and so I qualified to have it cut down cost-free by the SES people. I was thinking of angling this one towards the house and pushing it down to hit the roof, but then I thought it might bounce and roll and come crashing down on my Illawarra Flame Tree .  8-)

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:00pm

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:02pm

Damn right, but if these Arabs don't rob me it would only be another set of ethnics.  8-)

Post by Fireball on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:03pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:54am:
Seems a bit excessive to me, but my Google search indicates this is about what tree removalists expect to be paid.

Doesn't include grinding the stump out.

Just cutting the tree to ground level and removing the waste.

It's about 20 meters tall and only a foot wide.

You know you're paying a ridiculous price, but they know they've got you over a barrel because you don't own the equipment required to do the job.

This is what 'de-regulation' means for the paying-public. They can pilfer your bank account with impunity.

I had two very big pines removed a couple of years ago by the same bobcat guy who does my drive.  $400 cash.....

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:05pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 11:04am:
a bottle of round up and 6 months will fix the problem for you for $20  :D :D :D

A bottle of Jack Daniels and a chainsaw would be much cheaper.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:07pm

Fuzzball wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:03pm:
I had two very big pines removed a couple of years ago by the same bobcat guy who does my drive.  $400 cash.....

Wow! Did you give him a blow job too?

I retract that question unequiv .. unequiva ... unequivo ... ably.  8-)

Post by Fireball on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:08pm
It's the roots of these trees which cause the damage if they're too close to the house. Getting rid of them as quickly as possible  is prudent. 

Post by Fireball on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:10pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:07pm:

You could give that a try Herb, but he may remove your house instead of the pine.....

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:19pm

Fuzzball wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:10pm:

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:07pm:

You could give that a try Herb, but he may remove your house instead of the pine.....

He's removing my wallet - that's for sure.

These people in the tree trade are attracted to this sort of work because of the phallic symbolism. I noticed this fellow walked a bit funny ...    ::)

Post by Neferti on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:33pm
A neighbour had a mature Claret Ash tree removed yesterday.  No idea what it cost but the blokes were there for about 4 hours.  The noise was horrendous. They seemed to have a "smoko" every so often when, seemingly, "nothing" was happening.  :)

Another neighbour had a gum tree removed several years ago ... cost? I was told $3,000.

I loath both gum trees and pine trees of any description. NOBODY should plant either on their suburban block.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:50pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:33pm:
A neighbour had a mature Claret Ash tree removed yesterday.  No idea what it cost but the blokes were there for about 4 hours.  The noise was horrendous. They seemed to have a "smoko" every so often when, seemingly, "nothing" was happening.  :)

Another neighbour had a gum tree removed several years ago ... cost? I was told $3,000.

I loath both gum trees and pine trees of any description. NOBODY should plant either on their suburban block.

My row of Arizona Pine trees along my drive-way are something of a celebrity all of their own here in this suburb. I've had more than a few admiring comments from complete strangers about how magnificent they look all in a row like this.

The Problem?

Poor root depth which creates a lethal situation when the ground has been soaked to a loose bog several feet deep after unrelenting rain for three days and three nights in a row ... with a wind coming through that's just strong enough to lever the roots out of their grip like a dentist prising out a tooth in a rocking motion with a set of pliers.

I'll be planting a quick-growing 'tall bush' in its place - something evergreen but quite exotic. 

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:51pm

I have a Melaleuca tree that plugs up the guttering with tiny rice-sized leaves.

Post by Neferti on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:04pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:51pm:
I have a Melaleuca tree that plugs up the guttering with tiny rice-sized leaves.

When I lived in Sydney, many moons ago, they used to plant Malaleuca trees on the "nature strip".  The one outside our block "died", so I rang the Kuringai Council to report "the passing of a Melaleuca" ... in a couple of days a Council truck pulled up to replace it.

I kid you not.  There were (from memory) 5 Council workers.

1. Driving the truck
2. With shovel
3. Watering can
4. New tree
5. Supervisor

I watched in amazement. (The tree trunk was around 5" diameter for those who will ask the question.)

It's a bit like that joke about the Council employees.  One digs a hole, the other fills in the hole. When queried they said "Oh Mick is away today" ... Mick is the one with the plants to put IN the hole.  ;D ;D ;D

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:09pm

I agree, there are few trees that should be planted on a suburban block.

Shrubs, yes.
Grevilleas and the like that grow to about 4 meters, ok

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:09pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:05pm:

you do maths like you do politics ... $20 v's $40 for the  JD  :D :D

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:14pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:04pm:

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:51pm:

When I lived in Sydney, many moons ago, they used to plant Malaleuca trees on the "nature strip".  The one outside our block "died", so I rang the Kuringai Council to report "the passing of a Melaleuca" ... in a couple of days a Council truck pulled up to replace it.

I kid you not.  There were (from memory) 5 Council workers.

1. Driving the truck
2. With shovel
3. Watering can
4. New tree
5. Supervisor

I watched in amazement. (The tree trunk was around 5" diameter for those who will ask the question.)

It's a bit like that joke about the Council employees.  One digs a hole, the other fills in the hole. When queried they said "Oh Mick is away today" ... Mick is the one with the plants to put IN the hole.  ;D ;D ;D

;D ;D ;D

Those guys with the shovels are the garbos who once used to run alongside the garbo trucks picking up the bins and dumping the rubbish in the back.

They were heroic, those guys.

Not much muscle that you could see - (just as with sheep shearers) - but by golly they were fit and strong, with incredible endurance and stamina. 

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:17pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:09pm:

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:05pm:

you do maths like you do politics ... $20 v's $40 for the  JD  :D :D

Huh? Jack Daniels is 40 bucks now? Thank god I got out of the drinking game when I did.

So okay - I'll buy some cheap ice and have the strength of ten men to do the job in quick time ..  :P

Tree RAGE ... !

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:20pm
If you don't plant natives then, in essence, you deserve what ever hassle's you get.

Gum trees for example are native... They can work really well as yard trees, get the right gum for your region.

As to pine trees, without doubt one of the easiest trees on the planet to remove. I cut down a mature golden robinia some months back (had to be removed because of neighbour request), all done in a day, cost, $50 for my carton of beer at the end of the day  ;) (including digging up stump).

Herb, once you have the tree down, do yourself a favour and check out the range of natives that might be suitable to fill the gap - they will survive better, take replanting better and, in short, be much easier to look after. Just a thought.

Post by Neferti on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:39pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:20pm:
If you don't plant natives then, in essence, you deserve what ever hassle's you get.

Gum trees for example are native... They can work really well as yard trees, get the right gum for your region.

As to pine trees, without doubt one of the easiest trees on the planet to remove. I cut down a mature golden robinia some months back (had to be removed because of neighbour request), all done in a day, cost, $50 for my carton of beer at the end of the day  ;) (including digging up stump).

Herb, once you have the tree down, do yourself a favour and check out the range of natives that might be suitable to fill the gap - they will survive better, take replanting better and, in short, be much easier to look after. Just a thought.

Gum trees should NEVER be planted in suburbia. They are shallow rooted, unstable, and grow to enormous heights and give absolutely NO real shade.  All they do is distribute bark/branches all over the neighbourhood when it gets windy and sometimes uproot and kill people in their own home/car. 
Gum trees belong in The Bush. I love them but not in my back yard.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:56pm

Gum trees should NEVER be planted in suburbia. They are shallow rooted, unstable, and grow to enormous heights and give absolutely NO real shade.  All they do is distribute bark/branches all over the neighbourhood when it gets windy and sometimes uproot and kill people in their own home/car. 

Totally with you there Nef.
They drop branches that weigh 100's kgs for no reason and kill people.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:01pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:56pm:

Ban them.

Post by Neferti on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:11pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:01pm:

Ban them.

Easy for you to say but the local Government thinks that "native plants" are great!

In NEW suburban areas The Government hands out various FREE shrubs and trees ............ or they already plant this "native" stuff on new block/landscapes. Cheap as chips and if anyone buys a NEW house and finds these trees/bushes already there .... pull them out and throw them away. There are many more useful "shade" trees and shrubs that don't need attention (the selling point for Aussie natives).

The fact is, that Aussie Natives do very well in the Native Bushland but they are dead or plain unattractive in Suburbia.

I loath conifers as well.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:14pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:11pm:

Ban them.

Easy for you to say but the local Government thinks that "native plants" are great!

In NEW suburban areas The Government hands out various FREE shrubs and trees ............ or they already plant this "native" stuff on new block/landscapes. Cheap as chips and if anyone buys a NEW house and finds these trees/bushes already there .... pull them out and throw them away. There are many more useful "shade" trees and shrubs that don't need attention (the selling point for Aussie natives).

The fact is, that Aussie Natives do very well in the Native Bushland but they are dead or plain unattractive in Suburbia.

Nuke them.

Post by Neferti on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:22pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:14pm:
Nuke them.

Most people do but, remember, this is a Herbert thread.  ;)

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:36pm

"I'm having a pine tree removed"

Sounds painful, Herbie.

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:38pm
I'm surprised Herb sent you a photo of his butt plug :D :D

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:44pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:38pm:
I'm surprised Herb sent you a photo of his butt plug :D :D

Sir Booby eat your heart out.

I just went into Herbie's photobucket album, and there it was.

He doesn't realise that every time he posts a pic from there that it gives everyone on the internet a direct link to his account (including his full name etc.).

Just a tip for you there, Herbie    ;)

Post by aquascoot on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:24pm
here you go herb

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luygMuoFnXs

Post by The Mechanic on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:36pm
once again gweggy trashes a decent thread with his obsessed homosexual BS...

when will admins ever remove this piece of trash from these forums??

Post by Aussie on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:41pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:36pm:

Stop it.  That is 'drama queening.'

Post by The Mechanic on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:44pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:41pm:

only if I start a new thread about it on its own ;)

Post by Neferti on Jan 7th, 2016 at 6:19pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:41pm:

You have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA what Drama Queening is, do you, arsie?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2016 at 6:56pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:11pm:

Ban them.

Agreed

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 7:01pm

Wrong.

They are highly dangerous in a backyard location. Their branches fill with water, and then under the right conditions, direct sunlight causes the branch fibres to expand rapidly so that it explodes and drops to the ground with some times fatal results.

Experienced bushies will never sleep under a gum tree.

Well, seeing as you've asked so nicely ... I might consider it. However, you name an Australian bush-type plant and I'll bet I've planted it in years gone by - and the damned thing up and died within a few months or a couple of years.  All of them. There's definitely something wrong with the soil here. Wrong pH.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 7:14pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:22pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:14pm:
Nuke them.

Most people do but, remember, this is a Herbert thread.  ;)

Damn right it is.

Copyright ©

So far I've agreed with everything you've said here ... but I've got my eye on you. Don't disappoint me.   8-)

And to be brutally honest, having lived in the northern temperate climates where there's lashings of rain and rich soil - Australian woodlands are incredibly dull in colour and general appearance. Dull, brittle, dead-looking, and sparsely leaved.

Mind you, there ARE some magnificent stands of trees in this country, and how I know this is through your art galleries where such scenes have been painted by the likes of Arthur Streeton and many others.

link

Post by Setanta on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:12pm

aquascoot wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:24pm:
here you go herb

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luygMuoFnXs

Does it sing too?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL7n5mEmXJo

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:19pm
Wow - that's definitely the New-and-Improved model, Setanta.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:23pm

I didn't mention anything about homosexuals.

The lady doth protest too much, methinks.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:24pm

Greggy wrecks every thread with impunity

with his homosexual garbage.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:24pm:

I haven't mentioned homosexuals.

The ladies doth protest too much, methinks.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:45pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:27pm:

No - you just posted a picture of a giant butt plug.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:47pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:45pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:27pm:

No - you just posted a picture of a giant butt plug.

Nope.

That's a pine tree.

It seems that you only see what you want to see, Booby.

Post by Setanta on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:00pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:19pm:

Certainly is Herb, any Arab can use a machine but what darkie can be a real white lumberjack!

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 8th, 2016 at 5:14am

Setanta wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:00pm:

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:19pm:

Certainly is Herb, any Arab can use a machine but what darkie can be a real white lumberjack!

I withdraw the remark about these tree removalists being a bunch of Arabs - and therefore needing a careful eye lest they cheat me in some way.

And that's because the Single Mother who lives across the road from me got cheated by a dinki di Aussie only a couple of weeks ago. She paid $300 for this bogan with a beat-up ute to come around and teach her newly-acquired dog how to behave passively while being taken for walks by its owner.

The agreed deal was that he would give her two x two hour sessions with the dog.

He did the first 2-hour session all right, but come the second session he scarpered after giving her only one hour ...  in other words he stole $75 from her handbag.

Post by The Grappler on Jan 9th, 2016 at 1:09pm
How did it get stuck there?

Post by John Smith on Jan 9th, 2016 at 1:21pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 8th, 2016 at 5:14am:
I withdraw the remark about these tree removalists being a bunch of Arabs - and therefore needing a careful eye lest they cheat me in some way.

And that's because the Single Mother who lives across the road from me got cheated by a dinki di Aussie only a couple of weeks ago. She paid $300 for this bogan with a beat-up ute to come around and teach her newly-acquired dog how to behave passively while being taken for walks by its owner.

The agreed deal was that he would give her two x two hour sessions with the dog.

He did the first 2-hour session all right, but come the second session he scarpered after giving her only one hour ...  in other words he stole $75 from her handbag.

Surely you must be mistaken Herb ...

Ok, they may have been Aussies, but I bet they had converted to Islam.

Post by aquascoot on Jan 10th, 2016 at 7:19am
gums can be very very dangerous.
if you plant one it might be ok, but if you build a slab over the root system of one , you will see it dropping branches for sure
r0_121_2362_1450_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg (24 KB | 18 )

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 10th, 2016 at 8:05am
There is such a massive range of "Gum" trees that no one size problem or benefit fits all. It is just stupid to suggest or even think so.

However, you can go "Native" and never go near a gum tree also.

Best to plant things that will work in the ground that you have. There will always be something - might not hurt to check out what was native in that region. Or I suppose you could just grab any old tree, stick it in and see what happens next.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 10th, 2016 at 12:28pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 8:05am:
There is such a massive range of "Gum" trees that no one size problem or benefit fits all. It is just stupid to suggest or even think so.

Best to plant things that will work in the ground that you have. There will always be something - might not hurt to check out what was native in that region. Or I suppose you could just grab any old tree, stick it in and see what happens next.

I'm thinking of planting a couple of Duranta there. I have the Duranta with the golden berries. Beautiful. Hardy, and doesn't need fussing around with.

link

Post by hawil on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:14pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 2:02pm:

Damn right, but if these Arabs don't rob me it would only be another set of ethnics.  8-)

I had quite a respect for your posts previously, but this post is rather racist.
I,am an so-called ethnic, worked hard in my life, like shovelling 8 tons of coal into a steam-engine firebox at 40 degrees heat, without a meal-break.
I never cheated anyone, but being a bit of a sucker, have been cheated by others.
There are honest and dishonest people in all communities, so one has to take them as they come.
I worked with some lazy Aussies, and some very industrious; when you work in two-man situation, like on a steam engine, you soon find out, to distinguish the wheat from the chaff.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:16pm

hawil wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:14pm:

I had quite a respect for your posts previously, but this post is rather racist.

You're not that familiar with Herbie's work, are you?

Post by hawil on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:37pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:16pm:

Well I must have missed the nasty ones.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:43pm

hawil wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 1:37pm:

Herbert is the resident troll.

He starts topics designed to offend as many people as possible

He'll attack blacks, Jews, Muslims, Asians, single mothers, pensioners, women, etc.

Moreover, he's a bit of a Walter Mitty so don't pay too much attention to the stories he spins.

"troll: one who posts a deliberately provocative message to a newsgroup or message board with the intention of causing maximum disruption and argument. e.g. Lord Herbert from OzPolitic"

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=troll

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:00pm

Here's one of his latest:

"I'm glad they got raped out of their minds and then killed by a lunatic running after them with a hammer."

Yes, you read right.

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1451833521/7#7

Lord Herbert, Trolling 101.

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:13pm

I,am an so-called ethnic, worked hard in my life, like shovelling 8 tons of coal into a steam-engine firebox at 40 degrees heat, without a meal-break.
I never cheated anyone, but being a bit of a sucker, have been cheated by others.
There are honest and dishonest people in all communities, so one has to take them as they come.
I worked with some lazy Aussies, and some very industrious; when you work in two-man situation, like on a steam engine, you soon find out, to distinguish the wheat from the chaff.

Hawil - I deal in satire - just like Charlie Hebdo. Don't take anything personally. I insult everybody equally, and some more equally than others if I take a shine to them.

Relax - you're among friends.

Everybody is a wog if you trace your family back far enough. Every dinki di Aussie is a Bloody Pommy bastard if they trace their family back far enough. Or are Bog Irish Micks.

So what is your ethnic background Hawil, if I may ask?

Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:16pm

;D ;D ;D

My apologies! I'll use bold type with the really nasty ones in future.

Post by Neferti on Jan 14th, 2016 at 4:47pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 8:05am:

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-14/severe-thunderstorm-for-sydney-hunter/7089142

A MAN DIED!