General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Crack Down On Top End Of Town First http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1450468901 Message started by Sir Crook on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:01am |
Title: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Crook on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:01am
Tax transparency: Crack down on big companies before cutting welfare, say crossbenchers
Date December 18, 2015 Canberra Times The government should not cut benefits to low-income earners if it won't crack down on tax avoidance by large corporations, which costs the budget billions in revenue, crossbenchers say. Tax transparency data released on Thursday showed 600 of the 1500 largest companies operating in Australia in 2013-14 did not pay a cent in tax. :( Independent Senator Nick Xenophon says the government has a revenue problem. Crossbenchers have joined Labor and the Greens in challenging Treasurer Scott Morrison's assertion the government has a spending problem, not a revenue problem. :) Independent senator Nick Xenophon said on Friday any discussion about cutting welfare now had to be "seen in the context of which companies are paying tax and whether they're paying their fair share of tax". "This has to form part of the equation now," Senator Xenophon said. Senator John Madigan has called for corporate tax reform. "I would suggest that with the release of this information the government has a revenue problem to look at." Independent Victorian senator John Madigan said the fact so many big companies were paying no tax suggested there was a problem with compliance or Australia's tax law had too many loopholes. He said the need for reform was obvious. "One issue it does highlight is the unhealthy focus of this government on increasing revenue by slugging those who can least afford it," Senator Madigan said. :( He said the biggest savings measure in Mr Morrison's mid-year budget update was a crackdown on welfare compliance. "Yet there was no mention of cracking down on the top end of town," he said. :( "If Scott Morrison can squeeze nearly a billion dollars out of the most vulnerable people in our society, imagine what he could do if he went after his mates in the banking and finance sector." Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party senator Ricky Muir said that in some cases there were legitimate reasons a company had paid little to no tax. But he said tax loopholes that made it "easy for big companies to avoid paying their fair share of tax" needed to be closed. "It's no wonder struggling families look at the overall picture and question the fairness of it all," he said. "Welfare recipients shouldn't be unfairly treated by a government aiming to balance a budget. Other areas of government expenditure should also be looked at. The income side is equally as important - hence, the current focus on taxation revenue." |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:24am
Can everybody see budget 2014 outcome all over again for the libs, grab the popcorn , its about to all fall in a heap for the Libs, again :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Crook on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:25am
Thank heavens for the good people in the senate. :)
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Maqqa on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:32am wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:01am:
Labor, Greens and crossbenchers have no freaking idea what they are about. It's like the Greens first it was global cooling then, global warming and now "climate change" so they can have a bet each way |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:34am Maqqa wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:32am:
Wow, smell the desperation! |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Maqqa on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:35am Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:34am:
wtf? |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:38am
Bringing up discredited old crap to avoid answering a real question.
Exemptions on super will cost the Budget $170Bn over the forward estimates. I reckon these exemption need to be reduced and eventually gotten rid of entirely. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:39am
And once again, there is no tax avoidance in these companies at all. If that were so, the ATO would be after them... and they arent. Apparently the ignorance that afflicts forum posters on here also afflicts the crossbench senators who appear to struggle with understanding the normally simple concept of PROFIT. Companies pay tax on PROFIT, not revenue.
What hope is there for rational and good policy-making if our elected representatives dont understand this incredibly simple concept. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:40am Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:38am:
and therefore end the entire purpose of superannuation entirely. Why would ANYONE spend their hard-earned money and put it into super for no benefit and then be unable to access it for decades? Short answer: no one. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by John Smith on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:42am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:39am:
it's all tax avoidance. The fact that it's legal is what people are upset about. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:43am
Why do we pay into super, Longy?
To prepare for retirement, right? Well, ATM it is to dodge tax. Stuff that. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:04am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:39am:
How can you post crap like this that is so utterly wrong? Are you trolling? * Many of these companies are avoiding tax. Looks like you have tax avoidance and tax evasion mixed up again. * Some of these companies are breaking the tax law, and the ATO are investigating some of them. The ATO would have more resources for compliance if the inept Abbott and numbskull Hockey hadn't slashed the ATO's compliance budget by tens of millions of dollars. Good decision, not!! ::) mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:39am:
Says the poster who doesn't seem to know the difference between tax avoidance and tax evasion. ;D mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:39am:
Again, incorrect. Companies do not pay tax on profit. Companies pay tax on TAXABLE profit. You had best refrain from posting further on this topic until you have mastered the basics of corporate taxation. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:45am John Smith wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:42am:
forgive longloser. he likes to think that one day he will own one of these big tax avoiding companies :D |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:04am:
You are quite the economic retard. These companies are all acting legally otherwise they would be investigated. The reason people are upset is because like you, they are ignorant fools who think because a company has a revenue of $100M they would therefore automatically be paying $30M in tax. Your misunderstanding of profit vs taxable profit is equally ignorant. 'profit' is a basic term of revenue minus costs. TAXABLE profit includes finance charges, previous losses and other associated legitimate costs associated with earning the profit. And 30% tax is paid by EVERY COMPANY on its taxable profit. You just hate companies. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by cods on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am
I am very much in favour of any crackdown on companies not paying tax..I do not think its right that a foreign company can do business here and yet escape paying ANY TAX..
thats pathetic and needs to stop....100%.... its the same with good bought on ebay.. let them pay GST...I dont care how small it is...make em pay.. 600 companies its mind blowing.. if they found 600 welfare recipients fiddling their pensions they would b eon them like a tonn of bricks... what the heck is this all about?????>.. and lefties dont kid yourself it was any different when your mob was in... |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:56am Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:45am:
We all know you never will. You lack any of the abilities, drive or desire to improve yourself from the minimum wage renter you currently are. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by cods on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:59am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
THATS WHAT PEOPLE ARE CRANKY ABOUT..... WHY ARE 600 COMPANIES MAKING MILLIONS OUT OF US AND NOT PAYING ANY TAX???>.. why do you think thats OK?. we all know about profit and loss... an d if its managed right... its always a loss.... if they only pay $100 a week...... BUT NOTHING is not acceptable. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:37am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
Yes but they have ONE UNFAIR ADVANTAGE. They are able to organize deductions so their tax liabilities are negligible. This a privilege that most people don't have particularly PAYE's !! Typically one of the scams is deducting interest payments on loans from another arm of the same company !! Stop trying to sugar coat it !! |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:39am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:56am:
You're just another Walter Mitty fantasizing about running a successful business after the last failed attempt :D LOL None of your businesses will ever amount to anything. You're just a one trick pony trying to recreate the past and it's just not happening for you :D LOL |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:42am John Smith wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:42am:
Tax avoidance is illegal. As Kerry Packer said if you don't minimise your tax you need your head read. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnwYoOeWZGA |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:42am cods wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:59am:
You have zero idea of how companies operate. They are not 'making millions out of you'. Most of them dont sell YOU anything at all. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Dnarever on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:47am Baronvonrort wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:42am:
There should be no such thing as tax minimisation - people and companies should pay their tax. Tax minimisation is only legalised tax avoidance. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:54am Dnarever wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:47am:
Companies do pay their taxes otherwise people would end up on serious charges. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Kiron22 on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:56am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:56am:
What a nasty piece of work you are. Do you get wet from hating on working class people or something? |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:57am mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:42am:
These people think it should be forbidden for a company to spend their profits expanding their business at great cost. Expansion is a god thing it creates more jobs therefore more taxpayers. In the case of Qantas they also appear to be rather ignorant about claiming depreciation on tax which is allowed. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Dnarever on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:06pm
Crack Down On Top End Of Town First
For this government it is already 2 years too late for that. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:13pm Dnarever wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:47am:
There should be no such thing as discounts on products and sales should be banned. OF COURSE people and companies shoudl seek to minimise thier tax. Only a fool (ie you) would do otherwishe./ |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:14pm Baronvonrort wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:57am:
While also ignoring the fact that a large portion of their loss was a TRADING loss. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:25pm Kiron22 wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:56am:
Yes - Maria is a nasty man - the funny thing is that sir Nail is more successful than him - Nail is an international businessman who drives a luxury car. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:32pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:37am:
You are wrong. PAYE have the same deductions as companies. If they are required to buy their own desk, computer, tools, contribute to power and water, they can claim it. If they have to borrow to buy their office equipment and rent their space, they can claim that too. BUT NO ONE HAS TO, DO THEY? |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:38pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:25pm:
![]() |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:59pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:32pm:
And whilst they are at it lend themselves money and deduct the interest payments :D LOL |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 3:42pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:38pm:
Dear Maria, you're just jealous of sir Nail's success. this is forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 3:47pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 3:42pm:
of his rented room and multi-colour 1992 commodore? If he were successful he would not make so many drivelling, envy-laced posts. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 4:15pm
Maria,
sir Nail wouldn't lower himself to drive a commodore - he drives a luxury imported car. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 4:17pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 4:15pm:
Which is unnamed of course. Do you mean a Suzuki hatch? Fully imported. Or perhaps a Datsun Sunny? You really are a dim twit. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by BigOl64 on Dec 19th, 2015 at 4:53pm wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:01am:
Why not do both, jump on the welfare bludging scum that infest our country and the companies that employ people. But most of all clamp down on those free-loading politicians that infest our lives. The politics of envy has more than enough to go around. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by BigOl64 on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:00pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:25pm:
Rusty has always denied being a successful anything, he has always blamed you for making u that little lie. He has never confirmed any of the bullsh1t stories that you are gullible to believe. He treats you like his useful idiot. But you two are a very successful team on this board aren't you? ;D ;D ![]() |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:09pm BigOl64 wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:00pm:
Bobby doesn't come across as very bright. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:12pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:09pm:
Maria - get that silly dress off - take the lippy off - & put on some trousers. ;D |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:14pm cods wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
Agree cods, it's a disgrace. And as for it not being different regardless of who is in power, that is mostly true. One main point of difference though - Labor introduced the tax transparency laws, the Liberals want to get rid of them. But both sides have gotten too cosy with large companies. The laws we have today are the sum total of all the laws passed since Federation minus the laws that have been repealed. What has happened over the years is that corporations have lobbied for numerous tax loopholes and corporate welfare and there has not been much effort made to clean out this accumulation of rorts. The rorts have to be abolished. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:23pm Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:14pm:
define your rorts. Do them one at a time. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:39pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
And again you fail. Revenue is not the same as profit or taxable profit. For someone who is claiming to be better informed, your inability to use correct terminology is rather hilarious. What you fail to understand is that some of these companies are very close to the edge of legality with their tax affairs and some overstep the mark. Why do you think the ATO spends hundreds of millions a year on investigations and enforcement? mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
Says the poster who has mixed up "profit" and "taxable profit" several times. mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
"Associated legitimate costs" ... sounds like you have been spending too much time in the company of organised crime figures. Legitimate costs, legitimate tax deductions, legitimate businessmen, associates ... mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
You are a liar. You even lie about your gender, but you're fooling nobody. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:10pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 12:25pm:
Maria drives a Camry, Bobbie. But her hubbie drives a Merc. Yes, Maria might not be a successful businessman, but she did come from money. Give credit where credit's due, I say. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:13pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 4:17pm:
and this coming from the dude that would defend Holden and Ford with his life now he is admitting what the product is really like :D LOL |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm Karnal wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:10pm:
so who actually is maria and who is her husband and how does longloser fit into this incestuous circle ? |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:22pm Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:39pm:
So that is a 'no' to detailing these alleged 'rorts'? Of course you run when asked to detail your issues instead of just issuing blanket complaints - the mark of a fool. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:23pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:13pm:
You should try following a conversation just for the novel experience. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:35pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
According to a number of people I am Longy, Quantum, Lee, General Li and a few others I forget. Apparently anyone who is educated, articulate and of course, conservative, is the Longy/quantum/lee hybrid. It largely shows off the limitations of the left-wing brain. Mostly they make this claim when they have been schooled in a debate. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:36pm
Who said you are educated or intelligent?
If you were you wouldn’t resort to insult so much. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:47pm Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:36pm:
List of Maria's insults from today: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1442900777/690#702 |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:48pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:22pm:
A sure sign that you're losing an argument is when you resorts to shouting your abuse. I have detailed some of the rorts before, such as interest rorts and transfer pricing. I'm not going to waste my time detailing them again for your benefit because I know from experience that explaining things to you is like casting pearls before swine and I am not going to waste my time pandering to abusive idiots. I know that you are aware of my previous explanations because you posted in the threads afterwards. You can find them using the search function. If you're unable to use the search function that's not my problem. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:50pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:47pm:
Good thread, I shall use it from now on. Longy-maria abuses me about five times a day on average and I am now going to zero tolerance. Lock and load. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by hawil on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:51pm Baronvonrort wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:42am:
Kerry had a lot of money and power, and used it too, while on this earth, but in the end, the great reaper(equaliser) took him rather early in life. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:54pm
No point providing links or facts to Longy. Either insults or runs away.
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by hawil on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:55pm Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:38am:
Super tax concessions are the biggest tax rort ever known; has any other country tax-free super for the over sixties? Australia has enough legal tax rorts, yet some people or companies even try to dodge the least bit of tax required to pay. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:56pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
Maria is an ex-negotiator fom Sydney. She was very successful at her craft. Hubbie is an entrepreneur. He still goes into the office each day. He makes squillions. Maria helps him to spend it all. Longy runs a small creative writing business, a one-man start-up. The Liberal Party is one of his clients. As Longy used to say, when you're given lemons, make lemonade. It doesn't make much money, but it keeps Longy busy. Maria has a lot of respect for Longy. Maria never met him (she joined the board the day after Longy left), but she feels she understands him. They might live on opposite sides of the country, but they share a deeply human connection. It's not that they're that good, just that everybody else are IDIOTS. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:57pm
Axe the tax.
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:58pm Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:50pm:
Longy/Maria has always been a real nasty one - even back from the Yahoo days in 2007 - before many of us came here when Yahoo politics closed down. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:04pm
What I don’t understand is why Longy doesn’t get banned despite all the foul insults all day long. When he did get banned recently it must have been for something exceptional!
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:08pm Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:04pm:
The rumor is that he got banned as Longy so he disguised himself by coming back as Maria but his obnoxious writing style was so obvious that everyone knew it was Longy within a few days. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:08pm Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:50pm:
Longy/Maria has always been a real nasty one - even back from the Yahoo days in 2007 - before many of us came here when Yahoo politics closed down. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:29pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:08pm:
I'm sorry, that's just not possible. Maria has integrity. If she was Longy, she would have told us by now. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:36pm Karnal wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:29pm:
Dear Karnal, you are mistaken - the weekender has never been honest you are forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by John Smith on Dec 19th, 2015 at 8:11pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:55am:
by whom? The ATO is one of the most under resourced departments we have. Their chances of being audited are slim at best. mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:56am:
says the unemployed person who is waiting for her husband to set her up :D :D :D :D Baronvonrort wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 11:42am:
I don't blame business for doing what they are allowed to do. I blame the government for allowing it in the first place. mariacostel wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 5:09pm:
in that case, you could be twins Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
Harvey Dent Karnal wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 6:56pm:
I sure hope Maria's husband has the good sense to put Maria on the front desk of his new engineering business. ... she's sure to be a hit with the customers :D :D |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 8:57pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 7:36pm:
Now that's just unfair. What has Maria ever said that's dishonest? For Heaven's sake, she's a retired Christian. She's a married woman. How can you cast aspertions on such a lady? |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 9:01pm John Smith wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 8:11pm:
Excuse me, Maria's hubbie has already set her up. Maria's just waiting for the pension. It's only fair. Maria does come from money, you know. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 19th, 2015 at 9:23pm John Smith wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 8:11pm:
This is probably the most insightful remark on this topic so far. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 19th, 2015 at 9:48pm Karnal wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 8:57pm:
A Christian who receives miracles - yeah right. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Karnal on Dec 19th, 2015 at 10:28pm Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 9:23pm:
Yes, but why shouldn't governments give business a bit of a leg up? Business makes money and keeps people rich. It sends much of this money to other countries to keep people rich there too. Surely this is a good thing for our society. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:35am John Smith wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 8:11pm:
If you read the ATO you would know that MOST of these 600 have been audited, you twit. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:37am mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:35am:
I'm clearly not as clever as you Maria, how do you read the ATO? Can you show me where they say most of the 600 have been audited? |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:47am
ATO auditing involves rather more than looking at the tax return.
The Libs slashed the workforce of the ATO especially the corporate branch. A lot of the tax experts who did audit company tax returns are now working for the big accounting firms advising companies how to reduce tax using loopholes. This is what you call a spectacular own goal! Yet this did not come about by chance. It is standard neocon ideology. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Dnarever on Dec 20th, 2015 at 8:14am Bam wrote on Dec 19th, 2015 at 9:23pm:
Yes I thought it was on target as well. The problem isn't that companies legally pay little or no tax but that our current taxation laws enable and encourages it. They could probably make it an 18% tax and collect more if they removed all deductions. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2015 at 8:25am Dnarever wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 8:14am:
not sure about removing all deductions ... many businesses wouldn't survive if they couldn't claim their deductions, but there are waaaayyyy to many loop holes in the current system that allow them to escape their taxes. One that comes to mind is to stop the transfer of money overseas for tax purposes |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 20th, 2015 at 1:42pm John Smith wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 8:25am:
Another good post. Many of the deductions are necessary. The problem here is that not all of them are and the rules for some deductions are far too lax. When various multinationals were dragged in front of the Senate to provide an explanation of their tax affairs, they all said much the same thing - they avoid tax because Australian law permits it. Sending money overseas is a case in point. It's currently legal for multinational corporations to create a financial structure where they "borrow" money from a foreign branch of the same corporation that charges "interest" and then the Australian branch "repays" the "loan". The "interest rate" on these "loans" is well above market rates. And yes, I used scare quotes liberally because this is extremely dubious IMO. It is not hard to fix this particular rort. Require all corporate loans and debts to be held by an Australian bank (a company incorporated in Australia that holds an Australian banking licence). Any debts that do not conform are either not deductible at all, or have a maximum deemed interest rate equal to the RBA's cash rate, currently 2%. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by stunspore on Dec 20th, 2015 at 2:21pm
I would say just let the die hard libs have their last words - they are delusional if they believe the bottom half of the population should be paying more taxes compared to the top half and will just keep pumping out drivel.
If they want Australia to be like America, just move to America then. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:18pm Dnarever wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 8:14am:
How does a business operate without deductions? While somewhat obvious that you dont have the foggiest clue on how business operates, would you like to see how long Coles stays operating if it cannot claim the cost of staff and product as deductions? I would say 5 minutes max. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:22pm Bam wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 1:42pm:
As always, you are making quite silly statements. When Qantas wants to borrow $8B for new planes where does it go? Down to the local branch of the ANZ? When BHP needs to raise $3B for a new project does it run a Kickstarter? Stop fixating on multinationals and actually express you endless hatred of AUSTRALIAN business. Details the deductions you disagree with instead of making wild and unspecified complaints. And because you are such a whiner about being confronted by a demand for facts, here is a picture just for you. ![]() |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:26pm |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:26pm stunspore wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 2:21pm:
And you are truly delusional if you think the bottom half pays more tax than the top. That is so provably idiotic that I at first assumed it was a joke. ![]() |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:30pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:26pm:
It's OK maria, you're not really surrounded by idiots .......................... it's just the reflection on your monitor |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:31pm Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:47am:
spectacular own goal! Which means the poorest & most vulnerable pay too much tax. Typical Libbo policy. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by mariacostel on Dec 20th, 2015 at 6:03pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:31pm:
You really are quite stupid. ![]() |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:45pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
Reported again. At this rate you'll be banned by Christmas. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Bam on Dec 20th, 2015 at 7:49pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
As always, you have not made even an attempt at a constructive comment but just poo all over what others post. Have you got any solutions for these problems? No, you haven't. I don't care though, you won't be with us much longer. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Dnarever on Dec 20th, 2015 at 8:55pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:26pm:
Maria posted : They typically gather around their king or Queen. |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Sir Bobby on Dec 20th, 2015 at 10:47pm mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 6:03pm:
The logical fallacy of - Argumentum ad hominem used when a poster can't argue the points & so resorts to a cheap shot. forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Crack Down On Top End Of Town First Post by Dnarever on Dec 21st, 2015 at 6:06am mariacostel wrote on Dec 20th, 2015 at 5:18pm:
how long Coles stays operating if it cannot claim the cost of staff Never thought about it before but they do claim this, I can not help to wonder why the taxpayer subsidises almost all employee wages ? No wonder the system is a mess. Probably the reason that the government is so pro active in keeping wages low, they end up paying for most of it. |