General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1432535570 Message started by perceptions_now on May 25th, 2015 at 4:32pm |
Title: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by perceptions_now on May 25th, 2015 at 4:32pm
Senior police officer to lead welfare fraud taskforce to be established by Government
The Federal Government is set to announce a crackdown on welfare cheats by appointing a senior police officer to lead the attack on welfare fraud. Human Services Minister Marise Payne said the Government is working with the Australian Federal Police to appoint an officer to lead a special taskforce. The taskforce will target people who have undeclared income, with pensioners and people who receive the Newstart allowance and disability support to face income audits. "This measure is targeting people who received an income support payment and have income that they have received through employment that they have not declared to the department," Ms Payne said. Prime Minister Tony Abbott said the crackdown was expected to net substantial savings for the budget. "We think that up to $1 billion a year can be defrauded because people are not being upfront about their income, so it's important that we ensure that people are being straight with us," he said. As well as the Newstart allowance and disability support, affected income support payments will also include youth allowance, parenting payments, and the age pension. Payments such as Family Tax Benefit and paid parental leave are not included. Ms Payne said in a statement her department was bound by law to recover money where people had received more than they were entitled. "This measure will allow the department to uncover overpayments, recoup debts and investigate deliberate welfare fraud," she said in a statement. "Individual cases may result in debts of between $1,000 and $50,000." Greens senator Rachel Siewert said it was ironic the taskforce was announced in the same week it was revealed that half the calls to Centrelink have not been answered and addressed. Ms Siewert said the Centrelink system was overly complex and most of the errors that occur are administrative mistakes by Centrelink staff or genuine mistakes by recipients. "The Government's choosing to address this as fraud rather than addressing the complexity of the system, acknowledging that the system is failing and choosing to blame income support recipients," she said. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-05-24/senior-police-officer-to-lead-welfare-fraud-taskforce/6492804 ====================================================== I would have no doubt that some are fiddling the system, to get some personal advantage. That should be investigated & dealt with! However, the fiddling of the system goes a lot further, with many high Income/Asset individuals & businesses, also fiddling the system. The difference being, that there is a lot more money involved at the Top End of town & the Politicians, from both major party's, have structured legislation to allow "additional leeway" to the Top End and neither major party appear to have the required "intestinal Fortitude" required, to undo what they have done! THIS MUST CHANGE, as we are now heading into uncharted waters and "New Measures will be needed, for these New circumstances"!!! |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by cods on May 25th, 2015 at 5:25pm perceptions_now wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 4:32pm:
are you suggesting the high enders have access to our welfare system????????????????? you do mention welfare cheats in your op.. so you must know something we dont know ???. come on perc..what have you heard????? this is not about TAX CHEATS>.. which everyone does.. dont pretend you have never claimed for donations that you have never made... as a pensioner they ev en check up on me... so what are you talking about.. if I found out Jimmy Packer was claiming single parents I would dob him in for sure.. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by innocentbystander. on May 25th, 2015 at 5:26pm
In relation to call waiting times at centrelink, Some people don't seem to understand how a government dept works, now what government dept. do you think is going to get more taxpayer funding?, the one that has no waiting time or the one that has a long waiting time.
Obviously the one with the long waiting time and that is why it is super important to keep them unemployed bums waiting. Now transfer this scenario to private industry and what business is going to going to go out of business first? the one that leaves their customers waiting on the phone forever or the one that responds quickly to their call. As you can see the govt. dept. operates in a different universe, a universe where no customer service actually rules. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Dame Pansi on May 25th, 2015 at 5:37pm They will get a few cheats I'm sure, they'll tell us they got a heap more than they did I expect, it makes them look like they're doing their job. I wouldn't expect too many people to be claiming double benefits, at least not enough to push the unemployment numbers south. It wouldn't be easy to cheat, most gov. departments have multitudes of questions to be answered before they answer a simple enquiry. I hope they put as much effort into catching the tax cheats from the top income bracket, now that should make some serious dollars for the guvvy. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by cods on May 25th, 2015 at 5:50pm
more people cheat than we give them credit for pansi...
some even get into the 6 figure market with what they have to pay back...it isnt something we should pretend isnt happening...its like those who trash govey houses they make me sick...its all take with a lot of people these days.. I see where the Martin Place inquest has started.. lets not forget Monis was on welfare for something like 20 years... |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by The Mechanic on May 25th, 2015 at 6:01pm
greens win, dunny, and a few others on this forum must be crapping their daks.. ;D
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Dnarever on May 25th, 2015 at 6:07pm
We need to get rid of welfare cheats but at the same time the Liberals are always quick to take action in getting a small amount off of the relatively poor but will only talk about taking action at the other end of the scale where the big money can be easily saved.
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by perceptions_now on May 25th, 2015 at 6:09pm cods wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 5:25pm:
Well Cods, I'm sure that the Top End & all other sections incorrectly did into the Welfare system and I'm also sure that both legislation & policing of appropriate legislation is needed! That said, I am saying there are a lot bigger fish to fry, in that the Top End, both Personal & Business have been allowed "additional leeway" in a great number of areas and THEY THEREFORE PAY FAR LESS TAX THAN THEY SHOULD! So, be it Personal, Business or Unions, THIS MUST CHANGE, as we are now heading into uncharted waters and "New Measures will be needed, for these New circumstances"!!! |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by The Grappler on May 25th, 2015 at 6:26pm
What's new? the LNP has always suffered the delusion that they feed to an equally deluded public that there are about a million dole bludgers who are out there rorting the system.
Some people are utterly stupid enough to actually believe that is true. They attack people like a woman in hospital for an operation who forgets, under drugs and pain, to report her income for the fortnight on time, and they call her a cheat..... put her through the courts... Bunch of overpaid criminals the damned lot of them.... They oughta shake Fat Hank upside down and get some coins out of his pockets for rorting the public by pretending to be the king pin of Centrelink. I'd estimate his fat cat position at worth no more than $150k as a senior clerk. No wonder this country is a ruin. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Grendel on May 25th, 2015 at 7:00pm
Agree with DNA and Pansi...
they can go for it, but are unlikely to find many that are rorting the system... hope they do find cheats and stop them... perhaps they should start with the Muslim enclave, that may be the most productive. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by The Grappler on May 25th, 2015 at 7:01pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 5:37pm:
No government will ever do that - the 'job creators' are a protected species, and are also mates who they share a nice scotch with sometimes. But those 4-5 genuine dole cheats... wow - that must be the tip of the iceberg despite the current information sharing between government departments. I work part-time on pension and used to get my figures pretty accurate. I think I've had a pay rise - I was about $10 short in my estimate last fortnight. The Guv can check my bank accounts at any time and see what I've got... at year's end, my tax package will automatically put in my pension, pay, bank interest, and everything else. So - how does this amazing sytem miss all these 'dole cheats' out there? Simple answer? It doesn't - and this is just another beat-up by a desperate government to feed the delusional snobbery of a few voters who might be silly enough to vote for this lot or their Opposition, and who assume that they are the pinnacle of civilisation while Social Security recipients are the nadir. Had a neighbour like that - no compunction about doing a cash job - but oooooh! All those 'dole bludgers' out there ripping off the taxpayer! He'd drink to that every day! I D I O T S ! |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by cods on May 25th, 2015 at 7:14pm perceptions_now wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 6:09pm:
oh you are correct of course....whatever it is is CHEATING if you are not really entitled to it.. .. and I agree everything and everyone... and I think you will find they do look very hard at the top end.. ask the TAX dept..not long ago they caught several JUDGES who were doing the wrong thing... it is of course the consequences that also need looking at... I remember one welfare cheat who was told to repay it at $5 a payday... which would have taken something like 70 years... so a bit of a joke.... name and shame is a goody especially for the TOP end... I remember Frank Lowey being able to pay the Tax man off they accepted something like $20m.. I think it was... is that right do you think??? I reckon Jail...at least ... Alan Bond was always a goody.. god knows what he got away with.. but he still flies high...once upon a time it was a disgrace to go to Jail now it doesnt seem to make any difference.. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by longweekend58 on May 25th, 2015 at 7:42pm cods wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 7:14pm:
you don't understand the tax system Cods. it wasn't as if Frank Lowey just kept a few things of his tax return. with what he does, the taxation issues are extraordinarily complex and not clear - hence lengthy court cases. The ATO took a lesser amount to avoid the expense of going to court and perhaps losing. They lost big time against Paul Hogan. Just because someone settles doesn't mean they are guilty. Especially in non-criminal matters, settling something out of court makes good financial sense sometimes even if you are completely innocent. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Redneck on May 25th, 2015 at 8:07pm
Great idea!
The trouble is they will find a few of their supporters. Longie....I bet he is into ripping off the government Cods.... No I think cods is too pure she wouldnt screw anyone (or so she keeps telling me when we meet up) The Mechanic... now there is one I would watch....owns a lot of stuff... motorbikes ? Is he a Rebel or Hells Angel? Swagman certainly sound dodgy with all his online activity during working hours,,,does he really have job? My bet he is a dole bludger. Greenswine: Now here is a worry, those dole bludging greens will do anything to support their radical views....Global Warming etc...What a lot of crap. Gizmo2655: Mmm he claims he is a poor person and yet behaves like one of Abbotts mod...Where does the money come from to live like that you crook? |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Greens_Win on May 25th, 2015 at 8:13pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 6:01pm:
Why? |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Bam on May 25th, 2015 at 11:15pm cods wrote on May 25th, 2015 at 7:14pm:
I think they learned all about "Go To Jail" by playing Monopoly: accumulate wealth at any cost, and if one goes to Jail a few times, who cares, that's just good business. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Sir Bobby on May 26th, 2015 at 5:41am
Typical Libbos -
they attack the poor & most vulnerable while letting: Google, Apple & Microsoft getaway with paying no tax. The Libbos are like wolves - seeking out the easy prey. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Karnal on May 26th, 2015 at 8:45am
It won’t net a billion. The dole’s worth 2 shifts a week at minimum wage. Few people are going to all the trouble of rorting that. Of those who don’t declare their income, many are entitled to the benefits they’re claiming anyway. The government won’t hassle pensioners and few kids on youth allowance are working cash in hand.
Expect a mission accomplished speech from Scott Morrison later in the year. It will announce a lot of cheats. There will be no detail. And it won’t save a billion. If anything, this process will cost money. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Armchair_Politician on May 26th, 2015 at 8:47am Bobby. wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 5:41am:
Eight out of ten workers pay for the welfare system. That number is far too high. If people aren't entitled to claim welfare, if they're blatantly rorting the system, you'd rather they continue to be able to do that just because it's a Coalition government trying to stop them? Yep, you're about as stupid as they come! |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Dame Pansi on May 26th, 2015 at 8:49am Paki gob on a stick wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 8:45am:
I think the main aim of this game is to scare the cheats, hope they'll get cold feet and surrender before someone comes knocking on the door or sending them an email calling them in for bit of a rough up. I wonder why this sort of thing is always a mission, it should be common practice to search for welfare cheats and tax dodgers. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by cods on May 26th, 2015 at 8:55am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 8:49am:
more and more people are dobbing in pansi... remember the old culture???..... and thats how they catch most of them...there is a lot of whingeing about aboriginals and how they spend their govt pay..... well its time the rest took a good hard look at themselves as well.... as their record isnt that great.. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by cods on May 26th, 2015 at 8:57am Bobby. wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 5:41am:
thats funny ... so its alright to cheat if your white I guess..........how do you feel about aboriginals that drink your hard earned taxes away bobby..??? you do realise CHEATING THE SYSTEM IS A GROWING INDUSTRY |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Karnal on May 26th, 2015 at 9:05am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 8:49am:
Good point, Pansi, but the government’s aim.here is outer suburban seats. To get these, it needs prosecutions. It needs to look tough. This has to be a crackdown. This is a performance, not a policy. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Redneck on May 26th, 2015 at 9:08am
Its OK with this mob if you are a top end of town cheat, screwing the taxation system.
But its the evil pensioners and unemployed we will target not the billionaires, tax dodging multi nationals etc Absolute mongrels need hanging the bloody lot of them. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by longweekend58 on May 26th, 2015 at 9:09am Bobby. wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 5:41am:
why must you try so hard to be an uninformed idiot? ABBOTT is the first person to actually change the tax law to attack these tax-ripoff merchants. THE FIRST. grow a brain or at least borrow one. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Karnal on May 26th, 2015 at 9:11am cods wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 8:57am:
No, dear, it’s a DECLINING INDUSTRY. It’s a rustbelt after successive policies have made it almost impossible to cheat Centrelink. The only way to do it is work cash in hand. Few employers will do this, and the jobs are low-paid anyway. Letterbox drops, handing out pamphlets in the street, etc. Skilled jobs require Workcover insurance and tax file numbers. Unfortunately, this doesn’t make the news, so we’re stuck with futile "crackdowns". |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by longweekend58 on May 26th, 2015 at 12:56pm Paki gob on a stick wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 9:11am:
so you don't think cheating welfare is occuring? if course you don't. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Kat on May 26th, 2015 at 10:51pm longweekend58 wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 12:56pm:
Sure, it is. It always has. But it's not that common these days, for reasons already explained, and certainly no-where near as common as you and this idiot government seem to think it is. You do realise, I hope, that most 'over-payments' are the result of working recips having to estimate their earnings in advance, and good old clerical errors??? And that the amounts are usually quite small??? And that most people are happy to re- pay in this situation, and don't need to be chased, threatened or bullied??? No, probably not... :( |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Lisa Jones on May 26th, 2015 at 11:02pm Bobby. wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 5:41am:
Stop your nonsense! Labor's the same. And you must surely know WHY Google, Apple and Microsoft get away with so much. Their technology is badly needed. Without these corporations, govts would have a lot of trouble finding info. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Karnal on May 26th, 2015 at 11:02pm longweekend58 wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 12:56pm:
Smart. Have you ever thought of running for politics, Longy? You could go for the letterbox and sandwich board vote. I know voters are idiots, but you might just win. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Lisa Jones on May 27th, 2015 at 4:10pm
Did anyone watch A Current Affair last night?
This welfare cheat owned a BMW 4 wheel drive, conducted a cash in hand make up artist mobile business making thousands per week....and yep...she was getting the full single mum pension rate along with rent assistance, child and family benefits. She looked like Kim Kardashian ...dressed in designer jeans, jewellery, long black dead straight fake hair extensions etc. She was Lebanese...but Aussie born. Anyway....she's in BIG TROUBLE. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by innocentbystander. on May 27th, 2015 at 4:14pm
Is a current affair real?, I thought it was a reality TV show :D
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Lisa Jones on May 27th, 2015 at 4:28pm innocentbystander. wrote on May 27th, 2015 at 4:14pm:
We like watching it. Can be funny at times. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Dnarever on May 27th, 2015 at 4:48pm Bobby. wrote on May 26th, 2015 at 5:41am:
Wolves do it to survive - the Liberals just like doing it. |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Grendel on May 27th, 2015 at 5:18pm Lisa Jones wrote on May 27th, 2015 at 4:10pm:
Lebs... what do you expect? |
Title: Re: Federal Crackdown on Welfare Cheats Post by Lisa Jones on May 27th, 2015 at 5:22pm Grendel wrote on May 27th, 2015 at 5:18pm:
Ummm.....that's exactly what I told my hubby as we watched it. Word for word. <<< looks around for hidden cameras lol>> |