Member Run Boards >> Health and Welfare >> Domestic Violence http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1429080763 Message started by Neferti on Apr 15th, 2015 at 4:52pm |
Title: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 15th, 2015 at 4:52pm
This year, so far, we have already had 30+ young females MURDERED ... It is only mid-April. Some females murdered were by those males whom they should trust to care for them. Several murders were committed by supposedly "strangers".
WHY? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Lisa Jones on Apr 15th, 2015 at 5:00pm Intimate partner violence is the most common type of violence against women, affecting 30 per cent of women worldwide, according to the 2013 World Health Organization report Global and regional estimates of violence against women: Prevalence and health effects of intimate partner violence and non-partner sexual violence. And Australia is not immune. Violence against women is a serious problem in Australia where: Over 12 months, on average, one woman is killed every week as a result of intimate partner violence. A woman is most likely to be killed by her male partner in her home. Domestic and family violence is the principle cause of homelessness for women and their children. Intimate partner violence is the leading contributor to death, disability and ill-health in Australian women aged 15-44. One in three women have experienced physical and/or sexual violence perpetrated by someone known to them. One in four children are exposed to domestic violence, which is a recognised form of child abuse. The cost of violence against women to the Australian economy is estimated to rise to $15.6 billion per annum. http://www.whiteribbon.org.au/white-ribbon-importance |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Copper-toned-stunt on Apr 16th, 2015 at 5:26pm Neferti wrote on Apr 15th, 2015 at 4:52pm:
I think the law has a lot to answer for. Then the counterargument is the tired line of the coppers being under-resourced to which I would say it is more than the coppers at fault here. The cops can only do so much as they are only part of a system. The sexualisation of women at increasingly younger age is of course a central theme: not too distant from that is the photo-shopping and enhancements of magazine covers and then there is of course pornography... Women get leered at on the street in the most innocent of everday exchanges and attitude is always of paramount importance. I think if a society were to become lazy toward the treatment of its women that would be of no small consequence! Meaning, Chivalry plays its role and only real men can deliver the required protection by speaking up when they see a bad situation develop. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 16th, 2015 at 6:19pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Apr 16th, 2015 at 5:26pm:
Why are you blaming the Police? Men should be in control of their own emotions and stop thinking that they OWN the wife/girlfriend and can smack her around if she gets "out of control". Quote:
Again, you are blaming the female for getting herself murdered! Quote:
Wolf whistles from building sites is nothing. It has always been like that. It's the husband/partner/boyfriend who is murdering their loved ones ... Quote:
Mothers and Fathers should be teaching their sons that they should NEVER raise a hand at a woman. Some of these males that kill their partners, etc. have been brought up to think it is normal to give the Old Girl a slap if she doesn't do as she is told. Attitudes have to change. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Lionel Edriess on Apr 16th, 2015 at 8:25pm Neferti wrote on Apr 16th, 2015 at 6:19pm:
How true! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNErQFmOwq0&list=FLyBAHm0k8_6GKqW1M9acz-g Comments? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Sir Bobby on Apr 16th, 2015 at 8:36pm
The answer is to bring back public hanging for murderers.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lKITYu7z-AY |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 17th, 2015 at 4:23pm Lionel Edriess wrote on Apr 16th, 2015 at 8:25pm:
I am not a feminist, far from it. Have you ever been bashed up by your wife/girlfriend, Father/Mother? Who loses it and lashes out in anger because they can't control another person? Who feels "depressed" because they can't control their temper and their "partner" kicks them out? Who gets drunk after an argument then comes home and "rapes" his wife/partner out of spite? Who gets their tits in a tangle when the wife/partner kicks him out because he is abusive, goes to the Cops and gets a DVO and then he "fixes her"? Men NEED to realise that they do NOT own their wife/partner, nor their children. I many cases, I blame these bloke's MOTHERS. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 17th, 2015 at 4:28pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 16th, 2015 at 8:36pm:
You have no idea, do you? Already 30 young women MURDERED by somebody they knew and it is only mid-April. What do you think should happen? Females should do something to become as physically strong as men? So they can "defend" themselves? Do you have a daughter/daughters? If you did you would be less flippant. Mate! |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:12pm Neferti wrote on Apr 16th, 2015 at 6:19pm:
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Honky on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:19pm Neferti wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 4:28pm:
Why? There's plenty of weak dudes who do just fine. Maybe they just watch how they behave, so they don't have people wanting to smash them. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:47pm rhino wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:12pm:
Well, if you mix with the Bogan crowd, I have nothing else to say. Slapping your "partner" around sounds like it is a normal occurrence in your neighbourhood. How many murders have happened around there, so far this year? NORMAL males don't go around bashing up females. Nor do NORMAL females bash up their males. NORMAL males don't bash their mates, brothers, workmates up either. PARENTS need to instill in their children (male and female) that physical abuse is NOT the way to settle an argument. We already have a LAW that anybody caught on CCTV, just smacking their little 2 year old WILL be ARRESTED and charged. DVOs are useless ...... that just antagonises the perpetrator. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:49pm ... wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:19pm:
So you're saying that should a female ANNOY you it is OK to smack them one? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Honky on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:54pm Neferti wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:49pm:
Little kids know that bad things can happen when you relentlessly hector people - maybe it's time we held grown women to the same standard. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Aussie on Apr 17th, 2015 at 7:43pm ... wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:54pm:
That is a valid point, Mr Honky. Some women (many are probably among those who complain about domestic violence) seem to believe that they are totally free to incessantly abuse the living shite out of their male partner...and somehow expect that he has a limitless tolerance level. I see it on an almost daily basis when I'm driving the Cab. The way some women 'talk' to their male partner is skin crawling. Many has been the time I have intervened and told the woman to shut up with the language, or get out and walk. The blokes were just sitting there, copping it. You see it in public places....well....I do every day. A banshee bitch abusing in language even a wharfie of old would never be proud of. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by A.G on Apr 17th, 2015 at 10:40pm
Mutual respect should be taught by parents, but it will take a long time before the issue of DV is taken seriously by the law and society, you hear it all the time women saying she drove him to it, which essentially excuses the man- if women cant even get her own gender to stand with her then what hope is there- in many cases the female does annoy the living hell out of her partner thinking her gender protects her from any repercussions that may come her way were she born man in the same situation. So some fem. push the issue to the limit and then he snaps- yes its true, There are also men who just enjoy feeling the power of beating someone defenseless and you will also find they also abuse children. They cannot face up to a man- deep down they are cowardly bullies. Most women have known some form of violence from men, verbal and physical. Until mutual respect is taught in the home and at school- this problem will never go away.
There is no society in the world where women are truly free, the male is not born free by virtue of being born a man either- he is bound by a form of slavery that the female ( in a perfect society ) isnt-and many times he doesn't want to nor can he live up to the restraints placed on him..living the dream, wife child and home is a huge burden that is mostly carried by the male- he is expected to perform get on in the world and never question his role- |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by A.G on Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:24am Neferti wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 4:23pm:
And it show's Quote:
This is what I meant about women not defending each other ~ women never cut each other any slack- why do women have to hold themselves to a far higher standard than men? Why do many women excuse behaviour /have more empathy for men and condemn women who do the same thing. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:46am
Cry me a river! :D
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by A.G on Apr 18th, 2015 at 11:41am Neferti wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:46am:
Get real- your whats wrong in the world of women- and by that response its clear you don't give a damn about how and why women are murdered and suffer at the hands of violent men. So why bother. Take your draconian outdated oppressive views and shove them where the sun don't shine. Why raise a serious topic such as this only to crap all over it with responses like that dear Naffy.? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 24th, 2015 at 1:52pm
Yet ANOTHER young female murdered. Anyone keeping tabs? I think it is No 32 for 2015 and we aren't past ANZAC Day yet!
http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/josaia-vosikata-extradited-over-murder-of-daniela-daddario-20150424-1msae6.html |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 24th, 2015 at 2:04pm
Look at her choice of partner. should we be surprised.
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Apr 24th, 2015 at 2:12pm rhino wrote on Apr 24th, 2015 at 2:04pm:
Yes, Fijian, married with kids. I don't know much about it but think I read that she was in her 30s? Old enough to know better! Some girls drive their parents crazy with their choice of boyfriends .... often they go for "bad boys". I never did but had a couple of school friends who went for the that type. They eventually came to their "senses" though. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by John Smith on Apr 24th, 2015 at 3:12pm Neferti wrote on Apr 15th, 2015 at 4:52pm:
Simple, because women drive men nuts. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:36pm Agnes wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 10:40pm:
ag.. all we do is make more and more excuses....for BAD.... do we teach males to respect females of EVERY AGE??? do we teach females to EXPECT respect from males of ALL AGES???? of course we dont lets just teach them to BLAME someone or something else... to give respect earns respect... we seem to have turned a blind eye to what starts off as the usual bully boy stuff... and I WANT IT and I WANT IT "NOW" syndrome that appears to have turned into a if I cant have you no one else will have you syndrome... I teach my grandkids.. that life will have lots of disappointments in it.. get used to it....we soon forget what is was all about...try to look on it as the best thing that could have happened... jealousy and control seem to have taken over a huge amount of peoples lives...they are not happy even if they are in possession... there is no ONE answer....but I do believe we should all be made to answer for the choices we make.. and that starts at a very young age...what is the point of a child having counselling without the parents also.. they are the ones in charge and are usually part of the cause...yet they go about their business as if someone else will solve their problem child.. someone worked out "smacking children doesnt work".. has someone worked out.. that NOT SMACKING THEM DOESNT WORK EITHER???? are we making it easier for children of all ages to do the wrong thing over and over?... :( |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:39pm rhino wrote on Apr 24th, 2015 at 2:04pm:
Indeed. Never trust a man in a hat. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:42pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:39pm:
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:44pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:42pm:
Oh, right. You were being an irrational bigot. My bad. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:46pm Aussie wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 7:43pm:
just look at what is said on this forum alone...we know bothsides never ever stop BITCHING...usually about the same old same old... you are no exception aussie.. some never move on...some never get the message.... but words on a whole do not kill... if someone verballed me day in day out.. I would leave...or change the locks..... it isnt for you or me to decide who puts up with what???... would you also intervene if the bloke was verballing the women????...maybe 6 feet tall and built like a wall..well would you?.. it seems to me it would be easier for you to tell a women to SHUT UP or else... than a man..maybe you should tell both to get out as neither is RIGHT.......takes two remember???? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Baronvonrort on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:56pm Neferti wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 5:47pm:
Are you saying Allah the most merciful of those who show mercy is wrong? quran.com/4/34 |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 1:00pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:44pm:
Nothing irrational about that statement. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 25th, 2015 at 1:14pm Neferti wrote on Apr 24th, 2015 at 2:12pm:
... and lived Happily Ever After as 'single mothers' on the dole ... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 2:10pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 1:00pm:
Just bigoted? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 2:49pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 2:10pm:
since the statement doesnt display intolerance towards other peoples opinions, then no. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 2:54pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 2:49pm:
"utterly intolerant of any creed, belief, or opinion that differs from one's own." Bigot. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 3:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 2:54pm:
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:05pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 3:03pm:
Here's your chance to substantiate your claim, bigot. Show us the "truth". |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:28pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:05pm:
http://theconversation.com/pacific-islands-beset-by-gender-violence-but-why-13150 Only an idiot confuses the truth for bigotry. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:30pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:28pm:
Have you stopped beating your wife? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:31pm
white flag accepted.
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:32pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:31pm:
So, you haven't stopped? |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 6:08pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 4:32pm:
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2015 at 7:20pm rhino wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 6:08pm:
Perhaps you should. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Rhino on Apr 25th, 2015 at 8:30pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 7:20pm:
sorry. Cant stop kicking your arse. maybe if you didnt lead with your jaw every time. :D |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Lisa Jones on Apr 26th, 2015 at 8:37am
Oi you lot... can we get back to domestic violence?
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 26th, 2015 at 4:07pm Lisa Jones wrote on Apr 26th, 2015 at 8:37am:
No need to ask Rhino twice. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by A.G on Apr 26th, 2015 at 8:47pm cods wrote on Apr 25th, 2015 at 12:36pm:
Society has changed and quick /instant gratification seems to be the way it is now, for the majority- society do turn a blind eye to the social degradedation of women and it has been normalised, even by women themselves, through media and internet- porn and sexually negatively charged video clips- young pp quickly learn/think that is how society is, and if that is the only info that is being fed to them, no one is telling them that "no that is not really how men should treat or talk about women" then that narrative will stick and never be challenged unless those who clearly see the wrong are able to speak out and correct and challenge these ideas, 2 sides of a coin must be presented to enable pp to decide which one they want to internalise and make a considered opinion right or worng. That is how the narrative becomes entrenched, bit by bit, respect is lost incrementally and insidiously- the whole of society see's it as an inevitable change because everyone believes that they , as individuals, cant make any difference by speaking up and challenging the declining moral standard, and it does come down to just that, that they are bit one lost voice. Once you dehumanise anyone, male or female , that is the beginning of the end. Majority of pp are sheep, they do as others do and say- so to easy for this to happen. I think your right about the smack thing, unless a parent is clearly identified as a child abuser then the state should stay out of the temptation to legislate the way we parent, parenting is a natural instinct. Take away a parents right to parent is part of the moral decline that leads to abuse and disrespect and disregard of the way females are treated in a our society because it teaches kids that society is consequence free- until they find out for themselves and land in jail or worse. The next step up from being verbally violent is physical violence- so in this case words matter- a violent verbal abuser is only a heart beat away from becoming a physical abuser/ killer. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by mothra on May 6th, 2015 at 3:40am
While it's true that many men have become the victims of domestic violence, the data is skewed a little.
Male and male relationships report a distinctly high number of domestic violence incidents. This is not to say that heterosexual men are not the victims of DV. It is a growing problem. I would like to float however that it is other men who create barriers to these men seeking help. It is considered 'unmanly' to be the subject of a woman's bad behaviour. Is it considered unwomanly to be the subject of a man's bad behaviour? That blunt edge swings both ways ... with no winners. All said and done, the most likely to abused are women. Women with children. This is the primary demographic for abuse. Abuse of all kinds, |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by A.G on May 6th, 2015 at 12:31pm
Some men are just very easy going- and are taken advantage of - it would be a huge loss of face for a man to admit he is the victim of aggression from a woman..my partner is such a man..not a mean bone in his body.
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Phemanderac on May 6th, 2015 at 3:29pm
Skewed data = piffle....
The bottom line is (or perhaps rather should be) using any form of violence to express yourself, get your way or blow off steam is inappropriate and, at least, in a socially integrated and civilised society has NO PLACE.... So, since we have an issue of increasing violence it would seem that we (that's right folks, men and women) need to either accept that we are neither socially integrated or civilised or come up with a few meaningful and effective solutions as recently as RIGHT NOW.... Since many would seemingly prefer to let themselves be bogged down in the age old men vs women thing, I suspect most would reasonably lean to the harsh reality that we are simply still a bunch of anti social barbarians. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Jan 15th, 2016 at 7:08am Phemanderac wrote on May 6th, 2015 at 3:29pm:
one of my main WAR CRIES on this topic has always been stop the bloody blame game..whos the worst.. lets find the answer to stopping it... but there is always the few that just wont stop the verbal bashing.... I agree with Rosie Batty.. who says the word DOMESTIC need to be replaced.... it means its an insular problem.. its your problem only you can fix it.. why on earth we think coppers can do anything I will never understand....its a revolving door as far as I am concerned.....and DVOs are pieces of paper that give women false security.... its bandaid laws that make us all think they are actually doing something towards preventing any more of it.. like it or not.. Mr Little killing himself and his two little boys is "DOMESTIC" VIOLENCE.. so many women have been killed because of "DOMESTIC" VIOLENCE. a "mans" home is his castle.. to be protected at all times.. what goes on behind closed doors....is for them to sort out.. for a long time there has been shame over us about a marriage not working....we picked the wrong person...for a lot of people .. they were warned b y family not to marry that person....so when things go wrong they dont want to hear the old.. "I told you so"reaction they presume they will get if they tell... so they DONT talk about it.. they hope they can mend the broken fence without anyone knowing.... to bad about the kids...who mostly think whats happening is normal..I thought my childhood was the norm ours was mental abuse .. which can be a whole lot worse because its so hard to explain what it does to you... lets find answers.... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Jan 15th, 2016 at 7:49am cods wrote on Jan 15th, 2016 at 7:08am:
The comfort some women believe they have with a DVO is scary you are right- if a man wants to really hurt you it means nothing. And as for Mr Little killing his 2 little boys that way, I believe he was mentally ill- none the less it was DV. Pt Lincoln is just down the road from me. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Jan 15th, 2016 at 7:27pm Agnes wrote on Jan 15th, 2016 at 7:49am:
oh dear.. then that must have affected you badly.. I am sorry, I always feel bad for the whole community...and these small places seem to cop this dont they??...look at finding that little girls body in the suitcase......something like 250 people in the whole place and all the while her broken little body was lying there.... shes home with her mum and family now...god bless her..little soul. its so cruel to have to spend your life trying to live with this... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Jan 18th, 2016 at 1:20am
Yes it is always heart breaking when adults go off the deep end and take the life of little ones, but all too often that is the case . That poor little girl in the suitcase, my heart broke for her and her poor mother, only a child herself. That was the most heartbreaking thing I have ever heard- a small child dead in a suitcase, left on the side of a road like that. Horrible.
There are some deliberately cruel monsters in this world and then we have troubled souls like that man and his little boys- he didn't get the help he needed in time to save him and his boys. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Jan 18th, 2016 at 9:39am Agnes wrote on Jan 18th, 2016 at 1:20am:
agnes not everyone will accept help.. I cannot even begin to think what goes through someones mind when they take a childs life......... Im not sure what treatment there is for that. and you know some of these counselors shouldnt be in the job... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by darinnoah on Jan 20th, 2016 at 2:49pm Neferti wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:46am:
I think so too ;D |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Jan 20th, 2016 at 10:14pm darinnoah wrote on Jan 20th, 2016 at 2:49pm:
Hi "darinnoah", aren't you and Naffy just like peas in a pod, I do declare. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by bogarde73 on Feb 7th, 2016 at 12:41pm
I don't think there is any such thing as anger management in many cases, other than deep deep sedation.
Submission won't do it. Who can ever submit enough or know when or how |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Feb 8th, 2016 at 11:05am
Years of ADVOs failed to protect allegedly murdered mother of five Sharon Michelutti
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/years-of-avos-failed-to-protect-allegedly-murdered-motheroffive-sharon-michelutti-20160205-gmn0cp.html |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Feb 10th, 2016 at 8:20am Neferti wrote on Feb 8th, 2016 at 11:05am:
its amazing the POWER we think a piece of paper has.. its like speeding fines....they work for a week or two after that business as usual..otherwise there would be no reason for loss of points.....would there?.. actually AVOs and DVOs only give some women a false sense of security... and of course lets the law makers believe they are actually doing something to stop DV... a lot is covered up...we still see it as shame...something to hide and not share....if someone has a DVO out on them then it should be common knowledge...women need to be told to tell the neighbours.. so if they see this thug....they ring the police...its not the victims shame after all...... if someone was breaking into homes in the street you would tell everyone wouldnt you????... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Feb 10th, 2016 at 1:50pm cods wrote on Feb 10th, 2016 at 8:20am:
I honestly do not think that AVOs and DVOs are worth getting, it only seems to make the "offender" antagonistic, which makes it even more dangerous for the woman (and children) involved. Women need to learn to be assertive (not aggressive) and be able to walk away from a relationship BEFORE it becomes physically violent. In some instances, I feel that women bring it upon themselves ... they can goad a bloke to frustration enough that he lashes out .... learn to keep your mouth shut, ladies if you can't walk away BEFORE it gets beyond the point of no return. Obviously, I do NOT condone a man hitting a woman (or vice versa) but as they say, it usually begins with "verbal abuse" (we see a LOT of that here from male Members) and progresses to a "slap" and so on. An AVO will not stop "abuse" and in fact might even encourage it. My advice is. If your husband/partner/boyfriend/wife, etc begins abusing you, verbally (you are just like your Mother; you are a slut/whore, etc) do NOT retaliate ... consider the relationship as a bad one and move on! I am not talking about the obvious "spats" that couples have over stupid things .... but verbal abuse for the sake of it is an early sign that the relationship could very well end up with you in Hospital ... or worse. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 10th, 2016 at 1:56pm
Well said Nef and cods.
Against an irate man, a piece of paper may not be overly effective. Better to move away from said aggressive man before they get irate. And keep a golf club in the wardrobe. getting your man involved in a local club or any interest where he has time with other men may help. This is years before he does anything untoward. To the ladies, sorry. Most of us men like women. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Neferti on Feb 10th, 2016 at 2:24pm
Sprint,
One of the problems I see is that girls still have this "Princess" attitude .... some wonderful "prince" will come and rescue her and they will live happily ever after. It is NOT the way life is. Some females also think that they are "nothing" without a partner. So they continue choosing the same type of person. I particularly loath females who think they can "keep a man" by having a child. Every bloody relationship produces another brat. Stupid. Then they whine because "he" doesn't pay child support. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by The Grappler on Feb 28th, 2016 at 11:56pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 10th, 2016 at 1:56pm:
Does that equally apply to aggressive women? Dahn in Ye Olde Liverpool Slum Tenement.... "Oh, aye, m'Luv.. ah be goin' t' poob fer a quiet 'un er twae 'til ye sort ye'sell art!! Ye sort 't art fer yersel' wharl Ah be gorn!" "Ye bastard! There be rowlin' pin waitin' fer ye when ye git 'orm!" "Argh, aye, m'loov... wha'e'er suits ye! But Ah'll nay be feelin' 't when Ah gits 'orm!" |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by The Grappler on Feb 28th, 2016 at 11:59pm Neferti wrote on Feb 10th, 2016 at 2:24pm:
'Victim' syndrome.... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by cods on Mar 1st, 2016 at 1:56pm Neferti wrote on Feb 10th, 2016 at 2:24pm:
dont say it nef my granddaughter has two by two different blokes..this one on the rocks only time will tell... she lives completely in a fantasy world...she thinks she has special powers... ::) ::)in the mean time the eldest boy is a real handful and hes only 5... the girl is a sweety but following in his footsteps..wild. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Mar 19th, 2016 at 12:58pm
Well atm I live in a small town- everyone knows everyone here ( and I detest that ). I know one of the players in this horrible story and know of the other.
A young woman came here a few years ago and worked in a coffee bar for a few months- the boss there took a fancy to her, she was a very attractive young woman, but she didnt stay long. She had a childhood sweetheart, she left town with him. I never knew what happened to her, she just slipped from everyone's radar until Christmas last year. The guy who owned the coffee lounge stalked her to QLD, almost 3000 kilometeres away. He wandered into her yard that night ( midnight) with a knife. He saw her boyfriend in the backyard and stabbed him, then went into the house and found her holding her 10 month old son. He stabbed her and then left. The news papers played down the injury saying she was stabbed twice and was in a critical condition and in hospital fighting for her life. He is now in custody of course and awaiting trial.. No one really knew any details until the victim herself updated a few days ago. She was left with less than a third of her liver ( 13 %) , has been left with only half of her pancreas , she had her bowel damaged, she has no gall bladder, no bile duct- she lost almost all of her blood ( and left with a infection from infected blood from massive blood tranfusions) and she had 2 heart attacks in hospital. She is left with massive scars of course. She will never forget what happened to her that night, she has the vicious scars to remind her ( one running the length of her torso to well below her naval ( he tried to gut her) This young woman had a very troubled childhood..the child of a hopeless addict in her mother- and was outcast and spurned in school ( being too pretty). She is only 21 and one would hope that youth is enough to heal the physical and emotional scars she is left with. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Super Nova on Mar 27th, 2016 at 7:58pm
What a said story A.G.
If there was justice, the guy would die a prolonged and terrible death at the hands of the state. he will enjoy a fit and healthy life until his release. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Mar 28th, 2016 at 3:49pm Super Nova wrote on Mar 27th, 2016 at 7:58pm:
He is still awaiting trial as we speak and he has been put in isolation since as he has been attacked by inmates when they found out what he did. He needs to be put away for life, and if you saw the damage done to her with that knife you would know what I meant- I have photos of her scars ( horrendous) but didn't post them. I feel sick that he has left her like that and she is left with the horrific mutilations from that knife- how will she ever live a normal life ever again..she is on a liver transplant list and she just married her boyfriend. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by capitosinora on Mar 28th, 2016 at 6:40pm
Women are beautiful creatures.
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Wolseley on Mar 29th, 2016 at 7:02pm capitosinora wrote on Mar 28th, 2016 at 6:40pm:
Creatures? I would rather think of women as human beings. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by BatteriesNotIncluded on Mar 29th, 2016 at 7:10pm Agnes wrote on Apr 17th, 2015 at 10:40pm:
Are you saying all men are pigs? If all men are pigs who pick up the pieces?? :o :o |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by BatteriesNotIncluded on Mar 29th, 2016 at 7:13pm capitosinora wrote on Mar 28th, 2016 at 6:40pm:
Not on friggin' drugs they aren't! |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by BatteriesNotIncluded on Mar 29th, 2016 at 7:16pm Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Feb 28th, 2016 at 11:59pm:
Yes, but drugs don't help! Drugs are used as some form of escape but lead the victim to total confusion as to how to actually do something useful! |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by BatteriesNotIncluded on Mar 29th, 2016 at 7:18pm Neferti wrote on Feb 10th, 2016 at 2:24pm:
Rescue her from what? :o |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Mar 29th, 2016 at 9:22pm
I think the old values still live deeply ingrained.."rescue her from a life without a man " ( I know right ?) ::)
In many hearts and mind's ( both sexes) it is not a happy meaningful life if you are not partnered or hitched.. expectations for a life full filled are still really the much as they were 100 years ago. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Frank on Jan 3rd, 2017 at 3:08pm
More than 40% of domestic violence victims are male, report reveals
About two in five of all victims of domestic violence are men, contradicting the widespread impression that it is almost always women who are left battered and bruised, a new report claims. Men assaulted by their partners are often ignored by police, see their attacker go free and have far fewer refuges to flee to than women, says a study by the men's rights campaign group Parity. The charity's analysis of statistics on domestic violence shows the number of men attacked by wives or girlfriends is much higher than thought. Its report, Domestic Violence: The Male Perspective, states: "Domestic violence is often seen as a female victim/male perpetrator problem, but the evidence demonstrates that this is a false picture." |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Agnes on Jan 4th, 2017 at 2:32pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Mar 29th, 2016 at 7:10pm:
No you said that..re read this time to understand.. and you think men pick up the pieces..pieces of what pray tell. |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by goosecat on Apr 19th, 2019 at 10:14am
Bill Burr on domestic violence
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rksKvZoUCPQ |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by PZ547 on Apr 19th, 2019 at 11:10am
'How to beat women correctly' A sociologist from Qatar uploaded a video on his YouTube channel, where he is seen teaching Muslim men how to hit their wives and be the leader of the house. A sociologist from Qatar recently made headlines when he posted a YouTube video teaching men how to beat their wives. The sociologist, Abd Al Aziz Al-Khazraj, posted the video on his personal YouTube channel. The now-viral video is supposed to teach Muslim men 'how to be the leader of the house' and 'how he might feel the need to discipline his wife.' "The husband must make his wife feel his strength," and exactly how light the beating should be, are some of the things that the sociologist is teaching Muslim men and the young boy in the video. "The Prophet Muhammad... Look how merciful Islam is. The Prophet forbade striking the face. He forbade men from beating their wives on the face", "Slapping the face, hitting the head, punching the nose - all of this is prohibited. The beating is for discipline," are some of his 'lessons'. He says in the video, "First, we must understand that the man is the leader of the house. A leader has authorities, just like a company manager. The leader of the house may decide to discipline the wife so life can move on. How does a husband beat his wife? He gives her a disciplinary beating out of love. He loves her. Now, let's see how Islam teaches how to beat your wife." LINK https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-jpwHPsHDQ |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by PZ547 on Apr 19th, 2019 at 11:29am |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Frank on May 31st, 2019 at 7:53pm
Questions answered - awkward silence......
https://twitter.com/CelestialGroypr/status/1130929857666387969 |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Frank on Jan 4th, 2022 at 4:43pm Audacious Australian feminists proudly proclaim they have planned a ‘gender transformative’ program for ‘social, cultural and structural and systemic change’. This includes actively challenging ‘dominant forms and patterns of masculinity that operate at and across structural, systemic, organisational, community, interpersonal and individual levels of society’. Phew! That’s quite an ask. ‘No one’s ever tried to change the gender norms, structures and practices in a society at population level before,’ boasts Dr Emma Partridge, a key member of Our Watch – an organisation orchestrating this ‘lofty goal’. Our Watch was originally set up as the engine room for the government’s massive $3 billion, decade-long campaign to reduce domestic violence against women. Partridge and her colleagues have cleverly performed a sidestep, claiming this government objective isn’t possible without ‘primary prevention’ – by which they mean remaking society… I’ve written before about the sleight of hand used to justify the claim that tackling domestic violence requires reducing gender inequality. There exists obscure international research which tries to make this connection, but this doesn’t stack up. Its failings are demonstrated in this video showing former Liberal Democrat Senator David Leyonhjelm grilling feminist bureaucrats in Senate Estimates. Despite the paper-thin foundation for the premise that domestic violence is all about respect for women – this sentiment has become the prevailing wisdom largely thanks to the control of the feminist movement over mainstream media, government institutions, and key organizations across Australia. Our Watch is a small organisation that has used their modest $12 million annual take from feminism’s huge cash cow to crow about how effectively they have spread their tentacles into every aspect of our society, controlling a mighty industry aimed at gender transformation. The result is a national conversation about quotas, targets, and strategies to worm more women into traditionally male-dominated areas. Bettina Arndt https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CX_jFlP1oM |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by Ye Grappler on Jan 12th, 2022 at 9:43am
Thirty years of striving to bash men into submission and subservience - as a first step in 'controlling violence in society' - and not one step forward on a road littered with corpses and smashed lives, families and social structures and leaving a society riddled with neo-poverty and struggle to survive.... when you impose a rule of emotion over reality that's what you do - ipso facto - that was the end game all along.
About time to call a halt, don' cha think? Re-assess this 'strategy' and first put a stop to the endless 're-definition' of what constitutes violence - but only against women... the same violence against a man doesn't count... real physical violence and social destruction brought against a man on the basis of a feeling doesn't count as violence.... men are not human, right? They are an oppressor and thus have no rights.... Flawed paradigm - always was - always will be... going nowhere except down.... |
Title: Re: Domestic Violence Post by freediver on Dec 2nd, 2023 at 6:32pm
This Topic was moved here from Women's Issues by freediver.