General Discussion >> Feedback >> Handyman Board http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1419552707 Message started by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 10:11am |
Title: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 10:11am
Hey Freediver, I reckon we could do with a handyman (woman?) board for hobbies n stuff.
My post on Welding would suit perfectly into it. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 26th, 2014 at 1:55pm
Any ideas on what to call it?
Hobbies DIY Handypersons A shed for straight blokes to drink beer in |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 26th, 2014 at 1:57pm
Why not call it 'The Mens shed'
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 26th, 2014 at 1:58pm
You don't think that might be a bit too subtle for some?
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 1:58pm John Smith wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 1:57pm:
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 26th, 2014 at 2:00pm freediver wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 1:58pm:
are you worried greens_win and Matty won't participate? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 3:44pm
What about "The Man Cave"
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:03pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 3:44pm:
Gawd....you blokes got a death wish or something? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:06pm Aussie wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
I used to have a mens shed .... women were warned prior to entering ... having said that, the only ones to ever enter were there to strip .... (Christmas present for the staff :D :D :D :D) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:06pm Aussie wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
Well what about "Men and Sexy Chicks Cave" |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:08pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:06pm:
Do you have a preferred undertaker at all Mr. R. Neck? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:21pm Aussie wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
I think its called dreaming aussie.. Fantasy Island might be better...lolol... the usual not much work gets done...unless you call elbow bending work that is. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:28pm cods wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:21pm:
"Fantasy Island" sounds gay to me. Nah skip that one FD "Maybe "Your Shout!" |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:30pm
How about 'DIY ~ Handy Andy/rea?'
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:33pm
Most of the Old Farts around here are too old, senile and smelly, to do much so they need a place in the backyard to sit, swear, drink VB and moan about their wives and watch footy. It used to be called the Kennel or Dog House. ;D
So MY vote is 1. Dog House 2. Kennel 3. Man Shed ;D Members could occasionally help other members with DYI stuff as well. BUT it should not be restricted to ONLY males (as one Board was for females at one time). |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:34pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:28pm:
how do you know FD isnt gay? he might like pink. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:35pm
>:(
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:36pm Neferti wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:33pm:
bump |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:40pm Neferti wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:33pm:
And on other occasions, they could talk about how bloody stupid some women are, especially Ophthalmologists wot? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:41pm
No I agree Nef should be available to both sexes, I was just fooling around!
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:42pm Neferti wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:33pm:
And on other occasions, they could talk about how bloody stupid some women are, especially Ophthalmologists wot? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:43pm
Perhaps just "The Shed!"
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:44pm Neferti wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:33pm:
I always try to look on the bright side neferti... and not think of old or farts... but Dirty Harry comes to mind when I think of the lads....and the music from the good the bad and the ugly theme..... dont shatter my fantasy.. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:45pm Aussie wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:40pm:
or... how about.. "he who likes living dangerously".. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:50pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:43pm:
Has my vote. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:52pm cods wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:44pm:
I wouldn't attempt to tell you How Things Work, Cods. ;) Setting up The Shed for the Old Blokes, so they can drink VB and order in Pizza is fine ....... so long as they keep their crap out of the house and do their own laundry. Right? ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 5:04pm Neferti wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:52pm:
well never had to live with a mens shed nef...my man wasnt handy that way at all... we had many laughs over his few attempts...I did know someone whos bloke liked motor bikes pulling them apart and putting them together again..... in their bedroom.... I did not ask. ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 5:06pm Aussie wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:50pm:
trust you to be boring aussie. I bet you put up the first handy hint on how to stop a dripping tap.. I use a bucket. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 5:10pm cods wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 5:06pm:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RadejyaApI |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:08pm
Men need a place where they can feel comfortable to talk about their feelings without mean girls like Nef making rude jokes.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:15pm freediver wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:08pm:
Thats because she just discovered there are plans afoot to poison her prunes at Shady Pines-- she isn't nearly so mean on her good day's honest she isn't FD ;) ;) ;D A handyman board would be , very , well-- handy and the Shed is good name |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:18pm Neferti wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 4:36pm:
Nef must be getting to the last of her boxed wine by now surely ? So many days till New years, not enough goon bags in the cupboard. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:20pm freediver wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:08pm:
Neferti......make a joke, let alone a rude one?! She's terrific at copy 'n paste out of www joke sources, but....... How very jolly. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:43pm
I will post some pics of my shed, collectables, tools and stuff if we get this up and running!
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 26th, 2014 at 7:59pm freediver wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:08pm:
you don't hang out with a lot of men do you? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 26th, 2014 at 8:01pm
He likes fish.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Honky on Dec 26th, 2014 at 10:24pm
"mens shed" is tautology, since theres no such thing as a womans shed. Simply "the shed" will do, and it retains a pretense of inclusiveness.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 26th, 2014 at 10:30pm The Mole wrote on Dec 26th, 2014 at 6:18pm:
ouch!!! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by The Mechanic on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:07am
if the place is going to be a diy then the name has to reflect that... if its just to talk crap and put up silly jokes then you already have a forum like that ...it's called... the tavern ...so if you want a new name just rename the tavern... remember.. the name has to be specific to the topics you want... and at this stage it doesn't look like you guys even know what you want perhaps that's because women folk got involved ::)
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:13am
topic was going fine until the women joined in .... i don't care what it's called, just keep the women out 8-)
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:19am John Smith wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:13am:
I'm a bit of a DIY person - so because I'm a female, I won't be able to ask a question - or even give advice? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by The Mechanic on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:26am mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:19am:
pretty much.. yes.. ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by The Mechanic on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:29am
but if its for DIY, anyone can join in
if its for talking crap then rename the "Tavern" .. they are so desperate for posts down there they are stealing FOOD topics.. if it's a "mens shed" then it has to reflect that of the already operating "Mens Sheds" all across Australia.. so no women folk in that one.. we men might want to talk about our erectile dysfunctions... and/or why are women such nags? ... :P so what is this place to be? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:32am President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:29am:
Can't you discuss that in private messages or will you use a secret password to access it? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Honky on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:53am mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:32am:
I expect they'd do what 'the tavern' used to do when it was called "sceret womens business" - restrict access to people whos profile has them listed as female. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:54am mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:32am:
I thought it was to fix the plumbing...[no not that plumbing].. or a light switch...some of us girls live alone and need to know how to fix things as well..and some live with real dills and still need to fix things.... names of tools get me.. I think they should all be called thingies... |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:30am cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:54am:
I don't touch anything to do with electricity, aside from changing bulbs. I have a whole cupboard full of tools - many of them used once or twice, some of them never, but screwdrivers, hammers, nails, drill, saws, wrenches, snake (not a live one), cans of everything etc. get used regularly. If something goes wrong - I've possibly got a tool for everything. The only hindrance is strength, but I borrow someone for that if necessary. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:32am mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:19am:
I knew you were sharp .... full points to you young lady |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:03am John Smith wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:32am:
I think you're being sarcastic, but I don't mind. So many tradesmen have ripped me off for the most simple jobs. It might take weeks to figure out how to do something that would take a professional a couple of hours, but the satisfaction of completing a repair is worth it. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Black Orchid on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:10am
I have a plethora of tools. Hand tools and electric. I am not scared to pull things apart if they go wrong. I figure that if something is already broken I cant do much more damage, so why not give it a go myself first?
We lived in the bush for a few years and fixing things became a necessity. The roads were rough and dusty and shook things about. I remember hammering sticks into the carburettor and using stockings for belts just to get home. I've changed the manifold and half moon gaskets, the belts and the brake pads. Male or female. I think you will either give it a go or you won't. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:01am
I am looking forward to a handyman board- I think it should be available to all of us- women need practical advice on a lot of handyman jobs wether your alone or have a partner who is just not interested, too tired or whatever.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:03am
I have very few tools- I need to get a few more. I want to know how do things like build a small deck-- I don't think it would be difficult-- and building your own would be very satisfying.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:05am mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:03am:
not at all sarcastic .. i have no problem with you posting advice on 'handyman' services, I for one am keen to hear just what it is you do with that snake ... ... just not in 'mens shed' (if it eventuates) ... kinda defeats the purpose of a mens shed |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:06am Black Orchid wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:10am:
:o :o :o :o :o |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:06am
The Tool Shed ... 8-)
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:11am The Mole wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:03am:
Your local Bunnings has all sorts of 'how to' pamphlets free of charge. Usually located near where they hold their 'how to classes, .. lots of stuff available on the net to |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:11am Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:06am:
is that where you hang out Herb? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:12am John Smith wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:05am:
At one time, a member complained about the male comments in SWB - AG wasn't around at the time, so it became restricted to only female comments. It became so boring that members just stopped posting there. I don't mind if there's a private men's forum - erectile dysfunction and nagging are pretty bland subjects, although women could probably supply more constructive replies than males. As far as a handyman forum goes - it would interest both females and males. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:17am
I thought 'Technically Speaking' covered it.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:19am Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:17am:
I have always thought of that as relating to computers, software etc. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 1:31pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:19am:
Technically speaking, it does ::) ::)... but there is no reason why it couldn't be expanded to include other things |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:37pm John Smith wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 1:31pm:
Apart from Technically Speaking not being a Member Run Board, I somehow can't see how asking questions about anything DIY is necessarily "technical". I do think you dear old blokes need a Man Cave or something though to discuss footy and stuff and drink beer. Us attractive young girls can always post our "emotional" stuff in Relationships, Tavern or Food Boards. ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:38pm The Mole wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:03am:
You really should start with something a bit smaller. It is simple work, but a lot of it, and expensive if you stuff it up. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:42pm
I like "The Tool Shed".
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:45pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:38pm:
Oh, I don't know, some girls are handy with a hammer. ;) My sister built a Pergola all by herself ... the BIL apparently didn't know which end of the hammer to hold. I didn't actually see her doing this and she could have been skiting, I guess. Another sister did similar things. I have always left DIY stuff up to the males, but I can change tap washers, oil (and filter) in the car and a few other things. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:48pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:42pm:
No. You like fish. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:09pm mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:03am:
talkin g of which mantra.. I do not like aircon.. cant stand the fans.. however when it gets really bad I put it on for an hour...anyway the first summer no one could work the damn thing...the board on the wall very simple basically on or off..what else is there...but although it came through ok it wasnt near as cold as it should have been... so in the end rang a tradie.....he walked in and switched it on.. went out the back door found a tiny little tap turned that and bobs your uncle .. air COLD... I looked at him and cried.....no I didnt I waited till he had left.. it cost me $115...... no the tradie didnt rip me off. I ripped me off.... ::) ::) sometimes its the only way we learn. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:19pm There's bound to be a Youtube video to solve your DIY problem. That's my first port of call, step by step guide to all sorts of dilemma's. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:21pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:42pm:
Enough friggin around with the committe approach freediver, go for it I reckon! ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:23pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:21pm:
I agree. The Shed, if you please freediver. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:34pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:19pm:
do you find the home made ones hilarious....its all about the bloke talking and not doing much.... ;D ;D pretty much what goes on here... |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:35pm Aussie wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:23pm:
aussie has spoke fd... now watch fd call it something else... :D just kidding aussie.. I think the "thingy" shed.. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:37pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:35pm:
Very true. I should have endorsed The Tool Shed and then probably The Shed would have been given the FD nod. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:37pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:42pm:
That sounds good. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:39pm
It could be called Tools for Old Fools? ;D
Most haven't a clue about anything around the house, that is why they want to pick us females' brains about such stuff. WE actually know how to research and use the phone. ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:40pm mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:37pm:
Yeah.....it's just great freediver. I reckon you must, you just have to call it The Tool Shed. I reckon you'll be right at home there, freediver! *resists temptation to use emoticon* |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:41pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:09pm:
We need to stop and think about what's causing a problem and not panic. There's also the net now which is great for looking up information on "how to fix it". |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:45pm Aussie wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:40pm:
if you call it the "thingy" shed it covers everything.. we could talk about how to fold fitted sheets.... if its called "tool" well that means you have to have something in your hand....and you have to know what each "thingy"is called..they all look the same to me. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:48pm Neferti wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:39pm:
What about "Old Tools", we have a lot of them on here! ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:49pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:48pm:
speak for yourself.. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:50pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:49pm:
Or perhaps "Old Tools Always Standup Shed" |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:54pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:50pm:
may as well stick with Fantasy Island.. ;) ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:55pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:54pm:
How Rude! I am shocked! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:56pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:42pm:
So do I. I like the double entendre. But that's just me. :P |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:16pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 4:34pm:
Hilarious, I watched this bloke trying to convert a 44 gallon drum into an incinerator, a comedy of errors for what should have been a simple job. This place is like a tool shed most of the time :) :) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:22pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:16pm:
You obviously dealt with the right type of MAN girls! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:24pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:16pm:
I like it when they sort of try to steady the camera and it misses the point completely...I was watching one on growing fruit trees from seeds...which started off alright...but there was this pile of cherry pips and he proceeded to whack each one one at a time with this huge meat mallet....I thought after one or two he would move on but no it looked like he was going to whack everyone....I didnt stay around to watch.... when you talk about tool shed pansi emphasis on TOOL...you are dead right. when these guys can fold a fitted sheet....I will ask them for advice....till then I wouldnt trust a word they say. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:25pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:22pm:
look I know this shouldnt come from a lady.. but I bet hes gay...they always are.... we get stuck with godzilla..never fails... |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:27pm
One of myself!
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:32pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:27pm:
is that what you see in the mirror. ::).. that face doesnt fit the body... ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:33pm
Oops sorry wrong one!
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:36pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:27pm:
ROFLMAO. Nope, your nose isn't long enough. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:47pm
red those selfies have got to go..
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:51pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:47pm:
Well the nose isnt big cods but......... ;) Do you think I should go offline for the day now! Beer O'Clock is over...LOL! ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:54pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:51pm:
yes well that final selfie put me right off joining the TOOL shed. think I might need a beer myself... and I dont drink. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:56pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:54pm:
Damn! I was just having a bit of fun. OK perhaps back to Ebay for a few bargains! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Dec 27th, 2014 at 6:07pm cods wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 5:25pm:
Look I know I shouldn't agree, but I will bet your right too ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 6:08pm Neferti wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 3:37pm:
you old blokes? I bet I'm younger than you Nef :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:27pm
Good idea Aussie. Done.
Now all we need is a pick. How about a hammer? Setanta? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:33pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:27pm:
Oh, come on. You are being modest now. Stop hiding under that bushel. How about another photo (vague of course) of you.......it is to be The Tool Shed, isn't it, as per your choice? 'Innit?' |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by freediver on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:35pm
Will do, but bear with me, I'm not real sure how these buttons work.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by The Mechanic on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:45pm
ok, nearly all done then..
all we need now is a forum moderator.. of course.. that should be me... :) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Setanta on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:22pm freediver wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 8:27pm:
How about this? Let's see how it comes out on the background. A bit too suggestive? Wouldn't want to upset cods. ![]() |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Setanta on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:27pm
I suppose a hammer could intimate there's a bit of nailing going on.
![]() |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Annie Anthrax on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:07pm mantra wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:30am:
I dislike working with electricity but I've reconnected a light switch to the wires, rewired a phone jack and diagnosed various problems with a multimeter. I have two very well stocked red and shiny big tool boxes that my husband bought me and fitted out for a gift. I've also done a bit of plumbing work with a problem shower. Self sufficiency appeals to me. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Setanta on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:15pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:07pm:
If you like mowing lawns as well, we have a spare room! ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:24pm Quote:
You got a sister? Available? (Mind you.....I'd have her very well insured if she was silly enough to monkey with electricity!) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by The Mechanic on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:46am Annie Anthrax wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:07pm:
Is your husband handicapped? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by The Mechanic on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:52am
Oh... nice to see that the 'tool shed' is up and running. . :)
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:11am Setanta wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:22pm:
you wont.... I dont look at them ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:12am
will there be a poll for the mod....
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Annie Anthrax on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:43am President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:46am:
Not at all. He's just appreciative of a woman who is good with her hands. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:05am Annie Anthrax wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:43am:
::) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Annie Anthrax on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:22am Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:05am:
Cut me some slack. You can't expect me to have my rapier wit at its sharpest early on a Sunday morning, Herb. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:45am Annie Anthrax wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:22am:
tsk :P You can work on my antique organ in the Tool Shed at any time, Annie-baby. You'll find it needs a lot of hard work and polishing up before it'll be ready for me to perform with. 8-) Meanwhile, don't go away. I'll be Bach. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:46pm
I don't see any new Member Board thing called The Shed or anything else related to tools! Where is it? ;D
Who is going to be the Mod? Do we need another Poll? ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:51pm Neferti wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:46pm:
I can see it as can The Mechanic. Maybe it has been hidden by FD from some Members. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Neferti on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:04pm Aussie wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:51pm:
Freediver is being sexist! I can now see the new Tool Shed but I had to have a transgender re-arrangement to do so. Good one, FD. ;D PS I left a congratulatory message for Redneck, but couldn't cope with the underwear and inconvenience of being male, so have returned to my natural state. Have Fun! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:48pm Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:45am:
lordie lordie.. are you ever on that fantasy island with branson....time to stop smoking the funny cigarettes herb and settle down with a nice cup of tea... you and nef together in the shed.. it will be X rated..and for naughty people only.. I am :o :o |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:54pm Neferti wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:04pm:
He hasnt really locked it to males only has he? LOL!! I cant believe it! ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Black Orchid on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:04pm
Hidden to females? ;D
Shakes head. Have fun in there 'boys'. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:18pm Black Orchid wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:04pm:
Yes. Secret Men's Business. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:22pm
FD's hidden it from women?
what a pity, now Herb can't use it. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:49pm
Ok Guys any suggestions for men only entertainment.
Forget lectures on: Prostrate Problems Erectile Dysfunction Penis Enlargement etc etc This is a Handyman Board! ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:57pm
look I have often wondered what men talk about when propped up at the bar...footy or women..[ the fantasy kind].. has always been my thoughts...
I cant imagine them talking about fixing the leak in the lav somehow... what about old farts jokes.... trouble is remembering them.... ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:02pm
Settle petal!
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Black Orchid on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:48pm
Perhaps some of the men appear much better when they are invisible? ;D
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:29pm Redmond Neck wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:49pm:
As the moderator of the tool shed, you should be ashamed of yourself for using a hammer ... as a male only area it is compulsory that you have at the very least a page 3 girl, perhaps even a centrefold, in the shed. ;) ;) ;) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 7:39am
so whatever happened to the "SHED"
I thought I would get some tips on DIY home maintenance with pictures of course....no good talking about noggings or grommets with me..they are all thingies...so show pics please. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:09am cods wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 7:39am:
Its their cods but its hidden from girly types, you will need a sex change (forum sex change that is) to view it! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:23am Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:09am:
HEY FD ISNT THAT SEXIST.....WHATEVER HAPPENED TO FREEDOM OF SPEECH.... thats discrimination.... might have to take this to the anti discrimination board...my taps drip as much as anyone elses.. or is the shed for men to be rude and vulgar...and not helpful hints....might have guessed.. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:31am cods wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:23am:
Be flattered that it's hidden from girly types Cods and that only females resembling males are allowed admittance. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:41am mantra wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:31am:
it kind of makes fds stance on FREEDOM OF SPEECH kind of flacid ;D ;D ;D.. sorry mantra... I am in a naughty mood... hands up all those that are members of the shed... come on lads.....and those in between. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:42am
I cannot see a Shed forum ( quick gender change ) so don't worry. they are just pulling your leg.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:44am The Mole wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:42am:
Try again,second up from the bottom of Member Run Boards "The Tool Shed" , where the tools hang out! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:49am cods wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:41am:
Flacid. :o Let them have their little hidden escape from females if that's what they want. If you need information on how to do something yourself - there's always Google. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 9:08am Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:44am:
I believe it... typical blokes...you think we wont find out sneaky lot...do you talk about the ups and downs with life red????just asking. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 9:09am mantra wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:49am:
I hav e tried that mantra and I always seem to find some old git and all he wants to do is yap on...by the time he gets to the nuts and bolts I am asleep. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 11:45am Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 8:44am:
Now I am, convinced your having a lend Redneck ;D- no Tool Shed , on my comp at least. I don't really care anyway- i get most of my tips from Youtube , a wealth of useful info. My partner, know's even less about this stuff than me, just as well he has other talent's to make up for it, he can cook~. ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 11:47am cods wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 9:09am:
Oh lol Cods [smiley=happy.gif] [smiley=happy.gif] |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 11:52am The Mole wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 11:47am:
I am not sure what you are on about there cods, but I am sure I dont want to go there ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Lord Herbert on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 12:48pm Black Orchid wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 5:04pm:
The Shed has set aside certain days for the gay membership. That's when the freshly laundered towels are delivered and the curtains are drawn. It's anybody's guess what goes on in there during the Gay Days. ::) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by A.G on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 1:07pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 12:48pm:
So not fair even men could look into Secret Womens Business I cant even see where this is supposed to be? I thought guys grew out of gay days in their frisky teens? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 3:31pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 11:52am:
lying bugger... I am on about googling for my handy andy tips....its the highlight of my day... and I always get the boring one who holds the camera right where you cant see the nitty gritty...sometimes you even see the white knuckles..as they strain to loosen the tap thingy and the bugger wont come off...I get a small smile out of that.. so professional...I dont think. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 4:02pm cods wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 3:31pm:
Oops! Sorry my dirty mind! :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 4:10pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 22nd, 2015 at 12:48pm:
well, having popped into the Stephen Fry is getting married thread I backed out very quickly the males on here...cant get enough of it... ;D ;D ;D I find the topic most uninteresting luckily.. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 8th, 2015 at 7:48am
so hows life on the men only board???...
I am wondering if we need a female only [invisible to men] board.... is it worth it fellers??...dont need to know the content.. erk....but wondering how much you are learning about each other some of the males have almost disappeared on the rest of the forum so can only think its exploding in its own modest way. ::) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:07am
it is going well cods.
I have been talking to my colleagues daily about how the board is going! All are in agreement that it is a stable, considered, er, er, solid board. And we are determined to do what we were elected to do! ;D |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:12am Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:07am:
oh you mean BOARD meetings...I get it..down at the pub... eh... shed...its good to know no in fighting and trying to get rid of the current mod... nothing worse than unstable leadership is there?. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:32pm
I have had enough of this bickering!
I have decided to sack our Treasurer of The Handyman Board (Aussie) as he has spent our savings on booze and loose women. We are forced to drink tea and coffee (No goon Bags even) We are a team you guys under Captain Redneck, shape up or ship out! I am seriously contemplating a spill if this keeps up! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by John Smith on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:34pm Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:32pm:
captains call? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:44pm John Smith wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:34pm:
Sheeeeet, spend $2.00 on a VB and The Boss gets the sheeets! Where's the love? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Redneck on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:46pm Aussie wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:44pm:
It was the $400 on the prostitute that upset the members Aussie >:( |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Juvenile in Atlanta on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:49pm Aussie wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:44pm:
Oldest trick in the book, sleeping with the boss. ::) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:53pm Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:46pm:
What $400.00? What prostitute? What credit card? I did nuthin'! It's all a schmedia beat up, I tells ya! I am a Cod fearing man! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 8th, 2015 at 5:48pm Aussie wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:53pm:
ha..you wish...wait till your wife hears about this... bet she isnt near as understanding as THOMOS wife.. I think you had best resign from the mens shed... just to stay on her good side.... ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 8th, 2015 at 5:53pm Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 1:32pm:
I have been waiting for the leaks to be honest.. doesnt every secret session.. leak?...maybe we could plant a spy.........maybe a tranny we have a couple I believe.... ;) ;)ummmmmmmmm.. no names mind. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by perceptions_now on Feb 8th, 2015 at 7:52pm
What a load of CRAP!
There is a Women's Issues section, why not hide that, if your going to hide The Tool Shed & supposedly make it Male only, why not hide the Women's Issues section & make it supposedly for Females only???????????????????????????? As I said, what a load of CRAP! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:01pm perceptions_now wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 7:52pm:
That's the way it is, and you are part of the Management Team which implicitly condones the very crap you wail about. "Hypocrisy, heal thyself." |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by perceptions_now on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:07pm Aussie wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:01pm:
Really, how do figure that? In any event, it is still ridiculous, do you agree? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:17pm perceptions_now wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 7:52pm:
Yes it is a load of crap. Fortunately the females on this forum are very open minded and tolerant, otherwise we'd be screaming "sexism" which of course it is. I don't think anyone really cares that much though. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:22pm perceptions_now wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:07pm:
Of course it is, but I'm just a 'pest,' - one you did not want to hear from when you were active as a GMod, one you ignored when relevant matters were brought to your attention. You have forfeited right to start bitching now about the very things you felt way too above to deal with when you had the ear of freediver. "Hypocrisy, heal thyself." |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by perceptions_now on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:01pm Aussie wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:22pm:
Well Aussie, you have to be correct, sometimes? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by perceptions_now on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:02pm mantra wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 8:17pm:
Agreed! |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:24pm perceptions_now wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:02pm:
perc are you allowed to use the C word.? as a former gmod who was rather strict about M.words and cr@p words...I am surprised to see your strong language to be honest.....seems out of character... |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Aussie on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:29pm
No point asking him cods. He had no idea about the Rules. But, he is still a GMod.
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Feb 8th, 2015 at 10:02pm cods wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 9:24pm:
I use that word occasionally Cods and have never viewed it as an obscenity. It has a few meanings - "rubbish" is one of them. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 9th, 2015 at 1:53am
Crap isn't a swear word. There's nothing wrong with it.
Just a stronger way of saying rubbish. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 9th, 2015 at 8:06am mantra wrote on Feb 8th, 2015 at 10:02pm:
I know mantra thansk for that.. I was being sarcastic as perc once warned me about a word a used.. its an 'IN' joke if you like.....I was just sayin for him it was strong language......my silly little joke.. |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by mantra on Feb 9th, 2015 at 8:49am cods wrote on Feb 9th, 2015 at 8:06am:
I should have realised Cods. Your humour is almost as dry as mine is. Perhaps that's why people take us so seriously? |
Title: Re: Handyman Board Post by cods on Feb 9th, 2015 at 9:07am mantra wrote on Feb 9th, 2015 at 8:49am:
if we dont have a laugh now and then....we may as well give up....yes I am treading on someones toes on here...wish I knew what I was doing....I forget there is no body language so what it looks like in writing isnt the same as whats happening in my head.... I do a lot of tongue in cheek....I have asked for a sarcasm smilie...maybe a slow hand clap..lolol |