General Discussion >> General Board >> Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1418689890 Message started by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am |
Title: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am
Do you want to make a statement. Tell the whole bloody world how you feel about this sh.t we have been dragged into?
Make a statement, FLY THE AUSTRALIAN FLAG, let them out there know, this is OUR COUNTRY and they are not going to take it off us. Get out your Australia Day flags and make this gesture to the world and in honour of those hostages and fallen and to the brave Police who ended it. We are AUSTRALIAN and no terrorist group nor individual is going to threaten it nor take it over. I have 3 flags on my house right now. I plan to have them on my car as well. This is one small way as an individual can make a bloody big statement. :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:32am Ghey. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:05am
I'll have to ask Tony to send me one.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by longweekend58 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:18am
If I had one, I'd fly it - at half mast.
but has anyone noticed the absence of Aussie? He is probably trying to work out what all the fuss is about. Two innocent people are dead and people are upset. I doubt he has the slightest idea why. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:25am
Yes Long by all mean half mast. But to do it sends out a message...we will not be cowed nor will we ever be cowed by terrorists. :)
You can buy flags cheaply at 2 dollar shops. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by SpecialShirtFront on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:44am longweekend58 wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:18am:
;D |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by JC Denton on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:52am
why
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by JC Denton on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:53am
i heard he killed a lawyer?
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:58am MumboJumbo wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:44am:
funny huh ::)... I dont see it as funny.. I see is as needless personal abuse... some of the things I have seen written by longy on threads dealing with this topic.. have been more than cringeworthy...things I wouldnt be proud of writing... in fact he would have done himself a favour had he not printed them up at all... aussie isnt the only one who hasnt posted...[that as far as I can see]... but whos business is it anyway???.. you either get involved with a topic or you dont.... maybe we should start checking on what subjects longy doesnt bother with.... >:( >:( >:( and make an issue out of them.. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:59am JC Denton wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:53am:
nice......................... |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by rabbitoh08 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:00pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am:
Errr…no. Jam your flag up your arse. It was yesterdays nut job flying a flag that turned the actions of a single lunatic into an international media event and potential blueprint for other lunatics. We can do with a lot less flags being waved I think. We don't need another Cronulla. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by The Stunt-free Horse on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:03pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am:
I make my statement by always showing the boys in blue respect! |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:04pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:25am:
the best thing we can do is BUSINESS AS USUAL... to be honest I am surprised that building and all around it is still standing...but thankfully it is....so we can carry on... we may not always be this fortunate.. and I dont believe he will be the only one to go this far either.. lets be more vigilant as well. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:05pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:03pm:
well said.... :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by The Stunt-free Horse on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:06pm rabbitoh08 wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:00pm:
War is fought under flags: that's why Aussies don't want a big fuss about going to a new one- they want to never forget what happened under this one and march towards peace under it! I have spoken :D :D :D :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by The Stunt-free Horse on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:08pm cods wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:05pm:
Oi Oi Oi ;) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:16pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:06pm:
we have a lot of cultures a lot of religions.. a lot of diverse food a lot of teachings. but we all come together under the one flag.. we should always be united under one flag... hopefully always in PEACE.....AMEN TO THAT |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by rabbitoh08 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:20pm cods wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:16pm:
The idiots waving flags in Cronulla a few years ago were not uniting anything, anymore than the idiot with his flag yesterday. Let's leave flags out of it. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:25pm rabbitoh08 wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:20pm:
there was more than one flag at Cronulla....and isnt it about time you looked and gave some thought to what came out of that???>. have we seen more incidents? of that like?? not that I know of....sometimes things need to come to a head before commonsense kicks in... do people walk around in Crunulla wearing flags??????????... I dont think so.. its time we had a bit more respect for our flag...and stopped putting the bloody thing on toilet seats..and BBQ aprons... we dont respect our flag like other countries do... |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by rabbitoh08 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:31pm cods wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:25pm:
They did that day: cods wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:25pm:
And we should keep it that way and hope other countries follow suit. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:34pm rabbitoh08 wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:31pm:
Makes you wonder what sort of parents that kid in the white t-shirt has. Sad. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 1:13pm
So...now it is offensive to fly the Australian Flag is it
Rabbitoh8...You sure revealed your colours with that comment...colour you yellow. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 16th, 2014 at 3:08pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 1:13pm:
Jingoistic nonsense. Give it up, red. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:45pm
Piss off Gregg if I want to fly a thousand Australian Flags I will, not going to let dickheads like you, who like to make other people feel like they are breaking the law if they are patriotic.
I can't think of a better time to unfurl our beautiful flag and fly in memory of those who suffered and died in that lousy siege and to remind us what we stand for as a Nation. If you can't handle that tough bananas. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Datalife on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:52pm
A flag to the sandalistas is like garlic to a vampire, they recoil in horror.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:53pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:45pm:
they prefer the colour WHITE.. the one shortarse has under his desk... I am disgusted with anyone who devalues the flag... it could have a pair of Stevie Conroys red knickers on it for all I care... its our flag....and if you dont like it.. then pizzzzzzzzzzz off..most of us are not interested in your anti Australian thinking...go away. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Aussie on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:56pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:45pm:
And I guess you acknowledge that on the other side of that very coin is that I am no less patriotic than you if I choose not to fly a flag outside my house or on my car in what really boils down to an ostentatious move to attract interest to your very overt demonstration of patriotism which is not unique to you or others who want to ~ wow and whoopie ~ fly a flag. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:00pm
Bite it Aussie, don't need your trite brand of garbage at this particular point in time.
Many of us are actually grieving for what happened Aussie and don't need your usual shite right now. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Aussie on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:08pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:00pm:
That's okay. Wallow away in self pity and 'grief.' Go your very hardest Red. The rest of us will get Australia back to business as usual (as urged by our 'Leaders,') and not bother with silly private/public flag waving gestures. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:11pm
Some random nutter kills 2 people and the whole nation needs to be mobilised into some sort of flag waving excercise? For the point of what? So that nutters see the flags and wont go nuts anymore? Whats your point ?
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:12pm Aussie wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 4:56pm:
you wouldnt dare have a flag on your cab aussie and we all know why..........fear mate fear.. and thats pretty sick.. the ISIL are thrilled to fly their flag on TANKS AND KILLING MACHINES....but we wouldnt dare fly a flag on a bus or a taxi.....the lucky country. :( and you sneer at anyone that thinks its a good idea.. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:14pm
You are a first class insensitive idiot Aussie. I can't believe the depths of your shallow lawyer like posts on this. Two innocent beautiful people died you arse, show some bloody respect.
I feel like wishing something on you Aussie but I won't. I won't drag myself down in the same gutter that you reside in. YOU DESERVE THESE COMMENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Aussie on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:18pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:14pm:
What makes you think I am not? Is it just because I am merely pointing out to you that I feel no need to show it by flying a flag, (the sole impact of which, in my never humble opinion, is to draw attention to my flag flying?) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:21pm ian wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:11pm:
I see it as just a gesture nothing more... what was the point of the siege by Man Haron Monis??? is the question I would like answered.. if someone wants to wave the flag let him...as long as he isnt naked I dont have a problem with it. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:46pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:14pm:
One doesn't need to fly a flag in order to show respect. No matter how many flags you fly, red, it won't make you a better person than those of us who don't indulge in such attention whoring practices. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by jackmountain on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:49pm
You should try being a troll on a forum man 24/7 I reckon you would kickasses. Musleman asses too.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by longweekend58 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 6:02pm ian wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:11pm:
You criticised Aussie (fairly) for his thread on the grief for Hughes. Don't undo that good work by coming down on the opposite side of that argument today. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 16th, 2014 at 6:03pm jackmountain wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:49pm:
Aunt Herbie has that job, and I don't think he'll be retiring any time soon. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Phemanderac on Dec 16th, 2014 at 6:20pm
Fly the flag if you want, but don't dare to assume you can judge me if I choose not to or endeavor to assert puerile pressure on me otherwise.
I am a sixth generation Aussie whose forebears bled for the country. The fact that I do not buy into shallow jingoistic nonsense is irrelevant to my patriotism. The fact that I see modern flag waving, Sabre rattling patriotism as jingiosm is, by and large the fault of our inept media, shallow boganism en masse and our repetitive nationalistic drivel based on hatred. I do not need a piece of cloth to exercise my shock, sorrow or horror of the events in Sydney thank you very much. Nice sentiment, right up until you started to shoot those who chose not to buy into it. As far as I can tell, NO ONE tried to "make flying the flag" a bad thing or a crime, just stated their personal view. When we have some kind of thoughtful leadership and a stronger sense of community in this country, then maybe (and I say maybe advisedly) our flag may have some capital again. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Dec 16th, 2014 at 9:05pm rabbitoh08 wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:31pm:
Excellent propaganda, Comrade. Monis is a hero and was pushed into action by the people like those of Cronulla. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by jackmountain on Dec 16th, 2014 at 9:09pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 9:05pm:
Poor monis our hearts go out to him. Bad Bra Boys Bad Bra Boys #IllRideThatWave |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by The Stunt-free Horse on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:08pm
If I drove a cab I wouldn't fly a flag..
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by rabbitoh08 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:49pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:00pm:
No - you were not grieving. You were inciting people to wrap themselves in silly nationalistic symbols and act like arseholes. You wrote: red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am:
Who is this "them" you are talking about you bigoted twerp? I saw one idiot flying a flag yesterday. And I see one idiot here - trying to hide his own bigotry and insecurity behind the same sort of symbol Grow up. It lis a bit of cloth. It has no magical powers. It is just a shield that gutless cowards try to hide behind when they are frightened to death of people they don't understand Which one are you Red - you prize bogan |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by rabbitoh08 on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:55pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 5:14pm:
Two innocent beautiful people died you arse - and you get on here calling for some sort of jihad: red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am:
... show some bloody respect. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by jackmountain on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:56pm rabbitoh08 wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:49pm:
Oh Precious, a shield, gutless cowards and now everyone is suppossed to be frightened to death of people they don't understand. Yes yes we must not be frightened we must understand rabbitoh08 before he turns into rabbitoh09. We are so scared of him better run and hide behind a flag and fly it high. What a bumbling fool. #Illridewiththatretard |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 17th, 2014 at 5:57am Honestly red, you'd be better off joining the #I'llridewithyou mob. Ditch the flag flying idea lest you bring bad tidings to your door. I went out of my way yesterday to look in their eyes, smile and say hello to any Muslims I saw at the shops. We must show them that it's not their fault. The hatred is eating you up, red. You'd be better off learning a few phrases in Arabic, then if you're ever in a hostage situation, you have a great bargaining tool and some common ground with your captor. At least that's more sensible than flying a bloody flag. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 17th, 2014 at 5:57am
roll over
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Dec 17th, 2014 at 6:42am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 17th, 2014 at 5:57am:
Good propaganda, Comrade. Just don't let the conservatives know that there's no Muslims in your idyllic and sleepy beach town in the sunshine state. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 17th, 2014 at 6:44am
You've got me totally wrong Dame Pansi. If you read back through my posts on this subject I clearly said I would embrace Muslims who held Australian ideals close.
It is the hard line Muslims I have no time for. They don't belong here and if they feel so strong then let them go to Mecca or wherever in the Middle East. I suggested flying the flag to honour in particular the deaths of two fine young Australians murdered needlessly by the hatred of a Muslim terrorist and for our thoughts for the hostages who made it but will be forever confronted by the terror they underwent. My flags are still flying and I will continue to say, we are one, we are Australian. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by The Stunt-free Horse on Dec 18th, 2014 at 12:38am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 17th, 2014 at 6:42am:
Righty loves renting, selling and building houses to clientele who self create more clientele at more than double! |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by bb on Dec 18th, 2014 at 1:19am red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am:
What is it with lunatics and flying the Australian flag? theguardian.com/australia-news/2014/dec/16/sydney-siege-gunman-man-haron-monis-the-unlikely-violent-extremist |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 18th, 2014 at 5:30am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 17th, 2014 at 6:42am:
Sux to be so ill informed as you Misty. If I go to one of the shopping centres I am guaranteed to see a Muslim lady or ten. There's Muslims in almost every town in Australia. I actually had a little chit chat with a lovely Muslim mum yesterday, they don't usually talk, just smile when greeted, but maybe they are going out of their way to be extra friendly too. This could be the start of something big :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 18th, 2014 at 6:44am
What it is bb, message. It says no matter what you throw at us we will survive together as a Country. Few things bind like the sight of the Australian flag which flies over all of us.
It stands for fairness, freedom, love of one another it represents the direct opposite of that piece of shite that was held against the Lindt Café window. Don't be ashamed of your flag be proud of it. Many men and women have fought under that flag to keep us safe. I truly don't get the sick paranoia that some here feel about the flag. If you don't want to fly it no one is twisting your arm. After all this isn't Islam. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Dec 18th, 2014 at 9:24pm Julius Abbott wrote on Dec 18th, 2014 at 1:19am:
Good propaganda, Comrade. The Australia flag is a symbol of oppression and hate. The Jihadist flag is one of love and peace. Only bigots disagree. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Dec 18th, 2014 at 9:27pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 18th, 2014 at 5:30am:
Excellent propaganda, Comrade. It's not a lie if you believe it. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by jackmountain on Dec 18th, 2014 at 9:33pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 18th, 2014 at 5:30am:
Then being a ripe pansi went out and had muslim tea together. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by life_goes_on on Dec 18th, 2014 at 10:03pm
Sucks to be Misty.
A head injury must be a complete poo and utter misery to live with. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 19th, 2014 at 6:17pm
Sill flying my flags have had nothing but positive feedback from the neighbourhood who 'got' why I was doing it without any explanation - 100% approval; rating, I must be doing something right.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Dec 19th, 2014 at 9:56pm Life_goes_on wrote on Dec 18th, 2014 at 10:03pm:
Good propaganda, Comrade. However, negative generalisations using reductionist psychology should only be made toward conservatives. In time we "progressives" will wipe them out. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:00pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 11:25am:
... that are made in China The "official" Australian Flag (since The Flags Act of 1953) was irreparably tarnished the day Pauline Hanson - followed by the cascade of racist, right-wing loonies - started draping themselves in it, culminating in the Great Australian Ugliness that was Sunday, 11 December 2005 Today, I can only see it representing all that is WRONG with Australia Australia's first flag - sewn by the wives of Ballarat gold miners, in 1854 - has only ever been the TRUE "Australian flag" for me |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Mattywisk on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:08pm
God bless Cronulla, now peace reigns there and no more leb muslim abuse of the locals.
We should take a leaf out of that book, obviously we haven't learned from history. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Mattywisk on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:09pm
Today we just suck on hash tags that proved all bullshit promoted by leftards.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Sprintcyclist on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:11pm red baron wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 10:31am:
Onya Baron. I'll be looking for a flag ASAP |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:32pm Mattywisk wrote on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:08pm: ... even the Telegraph was appalled by the behaviour |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Aussie on Dec 20th, 2014 at 11:03pm Mattywisk wrote on Dec 20th, 2014 at 10:09pm:
What have you done with jackmountain, Mattywisk? Nothing evil I hope? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by bb on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:42am
Wave the Aussie flag...it means you're normal
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by bb on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:55am
Perhaps we should all join the army too? Joining the army confirms that you are a true blue Aussie right?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julian_Knight |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:12am Julius Abbott wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:55am:
Yep! the Aussie flag, the Southern Cross on the rear window of your holden/falcon, rugby or NRL shorts, XXXX singlet and join the army....true blue mate! If the army won't have you then you walk around in camouflage clothes.....I feel so protected. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by athos on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:21am red baron wrote on Dec 18th, 2014 at 6:44am:
Escusate Sinore. I apologize for my ignorance and asking some question: 1, Is it Australian or British flag? 2, What is an Australian? Is prime minister Tony Abbott an Aussie considering that doesn't have either Australian birth certificate or Australian citizenship certificate. What is the difference between Tony Abbot and an illegal migrant?. Obama at least provided a fake American birth certificate but Tony Abbott not even that. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThljZBvUocw |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:35am cods wrote on Dec 16th, 2014 at 12:16pm:
What about the separatist indigenous flag? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 27th, 2014 at 12:33pm athos wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:21am:
Answer: Both. It's designed to remind both generational Australians and immigrant newcomers that it is Australia's British heritage that has been mostly responsible for its success. It's not because Australia's political, judicial, religious, and cultural heritage has been modeled on that of Greece, or Italy, or Yugoslavia, or the Middle East. athos wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:21am:
Excellent question. An Australian is anyone who has generationally been here long enough not to describe himself as being 'Italian', or 'Greek', or 'Indian', or 'Yugoslav' etc. Australian-born 'John Smith' here refers to himself as 'an Italian' - which is all well and good, but needless to say this precludes him from being regarded as a genuine Australian. The Australian government interned thousands of 'faux' 'Australians' during the Second World War. People like John. In my decades here in Australia I have never once ~ not a single time ~ heard an Anglo or Irish Australian-born person tell me ... "I am English" ... or "I am Irish". That has only been something I've heard from born-in-Australia ethnics ... Greeks, Italians, Yugoslavs ... and the rest. athos wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:21am:
Seriously good question. The answer is : Yes. The reason: He comes from the same cultural background as produces the generational dinki di Aussie of British heritage. He doesn't need paperwork and bureaucratic documentation to certify him as 'an Aussie'. athos wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:21am:
Outstanding question. Answer: His parents paid the right people to come here (the Australian government), while the boat-people paid the wrong people to come here. *** And incidentally, if Australia had been founded by the Irish ~ Keating would be singing a very different tune, and you can bet your bippy he would have absolutely no problem with the Irish flag in the corner of the Australian flag. Keating has always been a spiv, a smart alec, and a shady character. Read about his pig farms in Indonesia sometime. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 1:58pm Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 12:33pm:
utter codswallop Herb.. I always refer to myself as Australian, my background is Italian, but I have always refered to myself as Australian ... the only time I'd tell someone I'm Italian is when I know I'm talking to a racist redneck ... no point in telling them I'm Australian, they'd still call me Italian. what are you Herb? Pommie? Chinese? Aussie? Senile? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by John Smith on Dec 27th, 2014 at 2:00pm Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 12:33pm:
you should clean your ear out then ..... :D :D :D pomms ALWAYS refer to themselves as English |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 27th, 2014 at 2:01pm athos wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 11:21am:
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by athos on Dec 27th, 2014 at 9:19pm Lord Herbert wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 12:33pm:
Thank you Sir for so comprehensive answers of yours that can help me to learn something about your country considering that I don't live in Australia. If you will be so kind and answer me just another question: Is Australia still British colony?, considering that the British queen is Australian head of state who has constitutional right to replace Australian prime minister (happened to Gough Whitlam). If it is the case with other country it would be considered at least as an occupation and lost of sovereignty. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:55am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 27th, 2014 at 10:12am:
Good propaganda, Comrade. The only true Australians are international socialists who wave the red flag with the hammer and sickle. This is progress. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by bias_2012 on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:56am
(xxxviii) the exercise within the Commonwealth, at the request or with the concurrence of the Parliaments of all the States directly concerned, of any power which can at the establishment of this Constitution be exercised only by the Parliament of the United Kingdom or by the Federal Council of Australasia;
If this old clause in the Constitutional Notes is still in force, then we are still a colony |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Annie Anthrax on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:11am |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by bias_2012 on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:36am
Good photo op there Annie, sad to say they don't look like they're grieving for slain hostages
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:20pm
I have done some research on this and apparently ,' The Big Worry' was that Man Monis had explosives in his backpack and that if he were taken out by sniper fire they would 'trip' and take the whole place out.
On consideration, fair call. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:21pm
I have done some research on the siege and apparently ,' The Big Worry' was that Man Monis had explosives in his backpack and that if he were taken out by sniper fire they would 'trip' and take the whole place out.
On consideration, fair call Id say. PS Sorry guys posted this on the wrong page PPS On the Flag, my beautiful Australian flag flutters over a commanding view at my home. It's a fixture now. Love driving home with it beckoning me to the top of the hill. Great to be Australian and free in the greatest Country in the world. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Laugh till you cry on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:20pm Bias_2012 wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:36am:
It is always a pleasure to see happy people as these girls were. bias_2012 obviously thrives on sham grief and crocodile tears that many of the purported mourners displayed for their 5 seconds of fame and a photo opportunity. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Laugh till you cry on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:21pm
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Laugh till you cry on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:23pm red baron wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:21pm:
Better be careful lest you get an erection while transfixed by this object and run over others who are equally transfixed by your other erection. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:32pm red baron wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:21pm:
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:32pm
yuhhjvgkjbhv
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:33pm
mnb v
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Laugh till you cry on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:38pm ian wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 7:32pm:
Thank god for intellectuals like Red Baron who ferret out the truth at great personal risk. Otherwise we would have to believe the police. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Laugh till you cry on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:38pm
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Laugh till you cry on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:39pm
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by bias_2012 on Dec 29th, 2014 at 11:47am
What's that you're ravin' on about ?
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 29th, 2014 at 1:50pm red baron wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 6:21pm:
Your flag is outside? Why not bring it inside, red, so that it will not be harshly weathered, and then you can enjoy looking at it more often. Hang it on the wall, above your TV, perhaps. Or, maybe in the bathroom. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 29th, 2014 at 1:50pm
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by BachToTheFuture on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:05pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 1:50pm:
That's some extreme |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Redneck on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:06pm Bias_2012 wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 11:47am:
Not sure bit I think it usually relates to the Abbos not getting enough handouts see as the Pommies stole all their land. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:12pm MumboJumbo wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:05pm:
It makes more sense to have red's flag inside the house. It's not going to last long out in the weather. Plus, if it's in the house, red can look at it more often and get more of those warm fuzzy feelings. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 30th, 2014 at 4:45pm
Thanks for sharing with us a shot of your flags inside your home Gregg, closet Nazi huh? :D
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 30th, 2014 at 4:59pm
Hi Red....did you get any Aussie flag gifts for Chrissy?
apron, thongs, undies, boxers, keyring, beach towel, toilet paper, place mats.....you'd be so easy to buy for. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:06pm red baron wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 4:45pm:
You obviously never listen, red. I don't fly flags. I think they are worthless pieces of rag. So, back to the question you're trying so hard to avoid: why is your flag outside - wouldn't it be better kept inside? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:38pm
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:39pm
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,bv v
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by ian on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:40pm
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 31st, 2014 at 7:54am
No Gregg, I'm talking about your pretty Nazis decos in your bathroom. Tiles don't fly do they? :D
PS Dame Pansi, I'm the first one in the street to have their Australia Day decos out. Nothing like getting in first yes!!! :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 31st, 2014 at 8:16am Why is your flag outside, red? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:03am
Because Gregg it's a free Country and I bloodywell feel like it.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:05am red baron wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:03am:
Yes, it's a free country: fly a hundred pieces of rag, I couldn't care less. However, why do you feel like it? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:08am I think it's to parade your Aussiness, red. (not that there's anything wrong with that) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:08am
page turn
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Gnads on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:17am greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:06pm:
Greg of ..... Hommes sans Frontičres ou Les Hommes du Monde. ;D |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by HooYAY its FriYAY on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:37am red baron wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:03am:
Good for you. Peccer is a pedantic troll who only has friends that are university educated. They would be embarrassed if they knew he was a pissy forum troll I think. :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by HooYAY its FriYAY on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:39am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:08am:
You're really that keen to see your mind numblingly banal post up in lights? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:45am |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 31st, 2014 at 10:15am HooYAY its FriYAY wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 9:39am:
Still not working? You're starting to look like a leaner. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by HooYAY its FriYAY on Dec 31st, 2014 at 10:25am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 10:15am:
LOL, I know your lost when you resort to banal crap like that. Its NYE, the place is all but shut down, I got all day to poke along and plenty of time to spend on here and hang the snaga on you…..then you won’t see me on here till next week….i have a life you see. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by athos on Dec 31st, 2014 at 5:02pm red baron wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 7:54am:
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 1st, 2015 at 5:38pm
For someone 'who couldn't care less' you are posting up a veritable frenzy my dear boy.
Sing the anthem over a few times, that should settle your jitters Gregg. ;) PS I fly the flag because I love it and everything it stands for. And...if you need me to tell you what it stands for; then you are in far worse shape than I gave you credit for. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 1st, 2015 at 5:49pm HooYAY its FriYAY wrote on Dec 31st, 2014 at 10:25am:
is THAT what you call a life.....wow Im glad it isnt catching then. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:47am red baron wrote on Jan 1st, 2015 at 5:38pm:
I don't care what it stands for, red. I'm not into empty symbolism. So, back to the question you keep avoiding: why do you have your flag outside - why not have it inside the house, where you can see it night and day (and it's protected from the elements)? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:53am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:47am:
I would think because he is proud of the flag and wants to share it.... one needs PERMISSION these days to have a flag pole..probably have to have a licence... I love the flag...it stands out and in Canberra they raise every countries flag when we have a vip visitor...its a mark of respect and recognition....there is nothing empty about it....it should if nothing else unite us as a nation. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:08am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:53am:
I would think it's because he wants to draw attention to himself. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:24am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:08am:
so what if he does??? what harm is he doing????.... if it was someone elses flag I would ask him what purpose does he have,, but his own countries flag......whats wrong with it??????? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:30am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:24am:
He's only harming himself, cods. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:38am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:30am:
HOW?........ whats wrong with being proud of your country.... why are you ashamed of it......dont say your not.. because why else would you want someone to hide the flag inside his house........and then claim he is harming himself by raising it outside.... whats that all about.???????????? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:46am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:38am:
Nothing wrong with being proud of one's country, cods. I've never said otherwise. I'm not ashamed of it. Never said otherwise. I don't want anyone to hide their flag. Never said that at all. I'm asking red to be honest, that's all. Settle, petal. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:50am
it is a piece of cloth that has no other meaning that what is given it
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:52am AiA wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:50am:
to you and greg... you are not the majority thank god. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:53am AiA wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:50am:
True. And for red, it's a way of attracting attention to himself. He's a true patriot. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:53am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:52am:
oh? take a flag and tell me where you find the meaning in it. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:00am AiA wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:53am:
It's full of symbolism. Men have fought under that flag. It unites us as a nation. Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah ... |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:03am
take the Australian flag and remove a single thread. does that thread contain the meaning? did you discover it there? no? then take a second thread. did you find the meaning there? no? well, then take the third and examine it. is the meaning in that one? let me know when you get to the last thread.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:11am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:53am:
stop side tracking greg answer the question |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:12am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:11am:
What question, cods? (I'm still waiting for red to answer, but I think he's a coward) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:14am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:00am:
so history is a complete waste of time.... I will remember that |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:15am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:14am:
stop putting words into people's mouths cods |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:17am AiA wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:03am:
have that chat with some of your yankie friends and tell us what they say about their flag???????? tell them its a rag with no consequence...I am sure you will win lots of friends. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:17am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:14am:
Link? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:20am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:17am:
you are putting more words into mouths cods. i said the flag has no meaning other than what is given it. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:29am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:17am:
putting words in someone's mouth is a form of lying cods. read my post again. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:37am AiA wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:29am:
its what you are saying....asking what a thread means.. its crap and you know it.. may as well say the same thing about a soldiers uniform.. it too is made up of threads.... dare you to do what I ask.. ask your yankie friends what they think of your threads?????>. >:( >:( >:( >:(.. then let me know and I will give you what I think... did anyone in your family ever win a medal...... they too are made up of threads....... meaningless threads. >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:38am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:17am:
how far does a flag go back.. symbolic of WHAT MAY I ASK>>not togetherness....surely... not with people like you guys in the mix there will never be together or one for all... |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:39am
cods, i have only said the flag has no other meaning than what is given it. you tried to refute what i said. i responded by saying that if you were to take the flag apart thread by thread you would never locate the meaning.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:42am AiA wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:39am:
you wont ask them will you??>.. didnt think you would if anyone loves their flag its the yanks.. and dont you dare talk about meaningless threads...... would you say that about a dead soldiers uniform.. what meaning does a uniform have......none by your standards,. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by AiA on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:44am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:42am:
still lying, oh, excuse me, putting words into my mouth cods? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 8:05am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:42am:
Yes, they sure do. Do you have a point though? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 8:15am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 7:38am:
We don't need a flag for that, cods. It's just a piece of cloth. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 8:26am
No it isn't Gregg...its a piece of rag to you but to countless millions of Australians our flag is held in the heart with pride.
Just because you have an opinion it isn't universal, its simply just your own opinion and as Humphrey said in Casablanca.."That doesn't amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world." PS Light breeze in the Mountains, has turned into a beautiful sunny morning and my flags are fluttering in fine fashion against a brilliant green background. :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 8:28am red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 8:26am:
Yet you can't explain why. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:36pm
No Gregg, it's not that I can't explain why. It's that any explanation I give would be wasted on you.
By the way with all your Nazi paraphernalia you realise of course, if we had one, you would be one of the chosen ones to grace the gas ovens. Just thank God Gregg you live in a Democracy which at different stages was fought for, under pretty much the flag that is flying over your ungrateful head. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Brian Ross on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:53pm
Red, do you know the difference between Jingoism and Patriotism? ::)
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:59pm
G'day Brian Ross, why is it that because I choose to proudly fly my Australian flag I bring all the cockroaches out from under the carpet? :)
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:59pm Brian Ross wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:53pm:
AWW, do YOU understand the difference???...You do realise that it's not actually a problem... |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:10pm red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:36pm:
Yes, it is. You're just one of the sheep. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:10pm red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:59pm:
G'day, red. Why is it that you can never answer a straight question? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Rocketanski on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:11pm
I bet Brian Ross doesn't care when the Palestinians fly their flag during one of their frequent street protests at Lakemba.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Rocketanski on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:12pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:10pm:
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:14pm Rocketanski wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:12pm:
Very good, Max. I know what you got for Christmas. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:36pm
You couldn't ask a 'straight question' if your life depended on it could you Gregg? :D
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:59pm red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 5:36pm:
Do you know the difference between Jingoism and Patriotism? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:09pm
The needle's stuck in your record Gregg...b....o.....r....i...n...g..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by cods on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:15pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 8:15am:
why is it just a piece of cloth????.. why is a uniform just a piece of cloth... would you tell us why men and women wear a uniforms???..... I am sure you see that also as a piece of meaningless cloth....... .do not forget their are many kinds of uniforms out there....with no meaning of course.. lets see coppers....gas meter readers....ambos....nurses used to wear em... :( now they are like gweg... wear jeans and meaningless other pieces of cloth... who else oh thats right pilots.. does anyone else like to know who the pilot is on the plane.......how do you tell.. by his meaningless uniform... ;D ;D dont tell greg.... he doesnt want to know... do we need something to show to others we all belong to the same country...nah.....when in RIO...let all those other nations salute their meaningless pieces of cloth.. I am sure they will know who the aussies are... maybe the athletes can wear thongs.. why do the athletes think its an honor to carry the meaningless piece of cloth in the arena>?????? |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 7:41am
Nice one cods. I have a large Aussie Flag flying from a gum tree, they seem to go so well together.
Every morning when I take my doggies out for a walk the first thing I see is that flag pulling out in the breeze. And every morning when In see it, I thank God I live in such a wonderful Country where people are free to express themselves, without being beheaded for offering a different point of view. This site is a broad church and accommodates everyone, it is the epitomy of what this Country represents. :) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 7:44am cods wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 6:15pm:
Is red an athlete? Has he just won some kind of event? Do tell ... |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 7:48am red baron wrote on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 7:41am:
Ditto. However, I don't need a piece of cloth to remind me. Then again, you're older than me; age wearies the mind. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 9:50pm Brian Ross wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:53pm:
Good propaganda, Comrade. Confuse the conservatives with semantics and other obfuscations. This is progress. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Brian Ross on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 11:25pm red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:59pm:
I don't have a problem with you proudly flying your Australian flag, Red. I have a problem with you seeming to think that doing so makes you better than other Australians. I am a patriotic Australian. I just don't feel the need to proclaim it to every Tom, Dick or Harry at every opportunity, nor to proclaiming that those who don't fly a flag are somehow being unpatriotic. When I was growing up, flag waving was kept for Australia Day and ANZAC Day. One saw flags on official buildings and the occasional home but only rarely. When I went to the US, they had flags everywhere. That's Jingoism, Red and you seem to be suffering from it. ::) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Brian Ross on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 11:26pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 3:59pm:
Very much so, Gizmo. I see Jingoism increasing everyday around me amongst some Australians. Perhaps they feel insecure? Do you feel insecure? ::) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Brian Ross on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 11:29pm Rocketanski wrote on Jan 2nd, 2015 at 4:11pm:
Why should I? Do you care when ex-Poms fly their flag? Or Scots or Irish or Italians or Greeks or.... ? I suppose you'd ban the flying of any flag other than the Australian one? Are you really that insecure, Rocket? ::) |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Svengali on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 11:50pm
Jingoism and "Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel". Samuel Johnson.
Step forward defendant Red Baron. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 4th, 2015 at 1:09pm
Svengali, do you think that by printing big letters, you are going to somehow have that pea brained comment taken seriously?
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by red baron on Jan 4th, 2015 at 1:14pm
Brian Ross, I don't think I'm any better or any worse than anyone else. It's not me that has the problem with flying the Australian Flag but there are plenty on here, who have huge problems with it. Go seek some professional help, you need it. Since when is it an offence to fly the flag of your country. Last time I checked this was a democracy.
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Rocketanski on Jan 4th, 2015 at 1:16pm Brian Ross wrote on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 11:29pm:
Nope. I respect our right to fly a nations flag. Even the Australian one. I do find it strange flying the flag of a country when you live in another. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Svengali on Jan 4th, 2015 at 3:12pm red baron wrote on Jan 4th, 2015 at 1:09pm:
You are becoming very defensive because you are now unfrocked as an extremist jingoist. You should be on the watch list and no fly list. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Jan 5th, 2015 at 12:30am Brian Ross wrote on Jan 3rd, 2015 at 11:26pm:
Good propaganda, Comrade. Nationalists feel insecure while we international socialists are the epitome of confidence and masculinity. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 5th, 2015 at 10:59am red baron wrote on Jan 4th, 2015 at 1:14pm:
Who? Name one. |
Title: Re: Fly the Aust. Flag for the Fallen and hostages Post by Dame Pansi on Jan 5th, 2015 at 11:17am red baron, you say fly the flag for the fallen hostages. How do we know it's for the fallen hostages? Why fallen anyway? Isn't that a war term? They were hostages, killed by gunfire. Anyway, I see the odd Aussie flag (no pun intended) hanging out of car windows or in a front yard but how do I know it's for the hostages that died at Martin Place? One couple I know are ten pound poms, flags out the car windows year after year, just glad to get out of England, but they do go overboard with the Aussie love. Anyway, your favourite store, and mine have some good Australia Day bargains coming up. Have you got your Aldi brochure yet? http://www.discountstoresau.com/category/aldi-catalogue/ |