General Discussion >> General Board >> Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1409829766 Message started by Lord Herbert on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:22pm |
Title: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:22pm
The news today is a warning not to eat fish caught in the Sydney Harbour. Some parts of the harbour are less risky than others, but you'd be stupid to chance it.
The question now is: Is the fish in our Fish-n-Chips safe to eat? I now have grave doubts. I suspect a lot of our Sydney Fish-n-Chip shops buy their fish from the local markets where they are sourced from the harbour waters. This is not good news. Dioxins are seriously bad toxins. Read No.5 link |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 4th, 2014 at 10:02pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:22pm:
I seriously doubt that there's much commercial fishing done inside Sydney Harbour. It's far too busy for one thing. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Greens_Win on Sep 4th, 2014 at 10:42pm
Relax, your fish & chip's fish probably come out of the commercial waste sewer water of asia ... and that adds to the flavour.
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Sep 4th, 2014 at 11:48pm
Eat a fish from Sydney Habour? Not if it glowed in the dark.
Gives a new meaning to silver fish. I live in a major once-fishing area.,. I commented to someone about buying fresh Flathead fillets from a local producer... and was advised that the producer now imported his fish. I love Flathead..... to eat... |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 3:14pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 10:02pm:
Reasonable comment ... but!! Who owns the Fish-n-Chip shops? The Greeks, Arabs, and the Turks. And who has extended tribes of family and rellies in Sydney? The Greeks, Arabs, and Turks. And which ethnicities are particularly partial to 'recreational fishing' from the harbour foreshores ... ? .... waaaaaaait for it .... The Greeks, Arabs, and Turks. And which ethnicities are most likely to offload their weekend catch of baby sharks etc from the Sydney Harbour waters to their cousins and uncles in the Take Away foods trade... ? (don't even think of anticipating the answer) .... but yes it's the Greeks, Arabs, and Turks. I'm a connosewer of Fish-n-Chips Take Away. I've been sold inedible slimy fish to very good quality fish. I know the difference between bottom-feeder sludge-gulping harbour fish to blue water firm-flesh fish. But now we've got to worry about Dioxins. *** Incidentally, as for your comment about Sydney Harbour being far too busy ~ you've obviously never been outside of Australia. Hong Kong in 1949 when I was there had a harbour that was 10 times more busy than Sydney Harbour is today in the year 2014. Sydney Harbour is a stagnant pond of inactivity compared to most harbours in the world. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by life_goes_on on Sep 5th, 2014 at 3:43pm
Herbert's certainly not one to shy away from the opportunity to combine a garden variety whine with a dumb as dog sh!t racist rant.
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 5th, 2014 at 3:51pm
It's been long known that the Nepean river & Sydney harbour have been heavily polluted with dioxins.
Amongst other things. You can't have a city with Industry & a population of 4.5 million living on a river system & harbour & think there's any chance of it being pristine or without it being polluted. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Black Orchid on Sep 5th, 2014 at 5:19pm
Commercial fishing was been banned in Sydney Harbour in 2006 and I am surprised it took that long to do something.
Parramatta River, Nepean River, Hawkesbury River are all toxic dumps stemming from 100 years of unregulated industrial dumping and Homebush Bay is a quagmire of toxic waste which seeps up through the soil and has been labelled the dioxin capital of the world. If you want to eat fish, travel up the coast for a weekend to somewhere like South West Rocks and stock up every few months. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:00pm
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1371766682
I think the guidelines are to eat nothing caught upstream of the harbour bridge. For fish caught downstream, there is a guide to tell you how much you can eat. Commercial fishing is banned. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:04pm Gnads wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 3:51pm:
Exactly. And that's why I question the legality of Fish-n-Chip shop owners being allowed to accept fish brought in by relatives and friends who do weekend fishing down by the harbour. 'life' here believes there are just as many F&Chip shops owned by Swedes and Russians, Japanese and Sri Lankans in Sydney as there are owned by Greeks, Arabs, and Turks. He can't get out much. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:11pm ____ wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 10:42pm:
Well spotted, Green. I'm assuming you're referring to the exposé done by one of our TV shows which showed us fish being bred in netted compounds in the delta regions of the Mekong River in Vietnam where for a thousand miles up-stream the river is used as an open sewer. That's a thousand miles of sewage passing through these breeding pens. When they mature, they're snap-frozen, packed, and sent to Australia's supermarkets ... ;D ;D ;D That's why I never buy frozen fish of any kind that doesn't come from the oceans or the north Atlantic waters, fjiords, and cods etc offshore from Canada. I do love Nile Perch though. And I occasionally buy Rainbow Trout from the rivers of Tasmania, and kippers from the seas off Holland. Expensive ~ but a wonderful treat every now and then. Oh yes, and sardines in tomato sauce and anchovies (to die for wrapped in a roll of plain bread with no nuthin'). |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:20pm Black Orchid wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 5:19pm:
Jesus. What a horror story. Good post. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:26pm freediver wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:00pm:
They can't be serious. Who the hell is going to trust one type of fish caught in the same fishing spot as another type of fish that'll have you glowing in the dark? And what's that deadly disease caught from eating commercially-caught fish that there's the occasional scare about? And the recurring incidence of whole breeding farms of oysters having to be destroyed because they've become toxic? And oyster managers trying to sell these off before the government inspectors quarantine them? |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:48pm
I'm not going to eat anything out of Sydney Harbour, but I believe the theory is that it is a cumulative toxin so limiting consumption can work. If you can draw the line somewhere and say it is safe to eat on this side of the line, then you can draw a line a bit closer and say it is safe to eat in limited quantities from there.
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 5th, 2014 at 10:02pm
Dioxins in Sydney Harbour have been known for decades, but as someone who has dived around Sydney Harbour (inside/outside), it has improved a lot since...
...but still has a long way to go. We are lucky that it could have been far worse like Hong Kong and other major Port-Cities, that are so far gone that their waters only spawn jellies and other 'parasitic' squidgies. I still won't eat Seafood from around Sydney (Newcastle & Wollongong) and I don't care if Doyles is offering 2-Heads for the price of one on a Fish :P When diving, the best indicator of 'Health' is the SeaWeed & Kelp. Anywhere around Sydney, the plant life is ragged-looking, disease spotted, sparse, small in size and easily broken/dislodged. Most areas around Sydney are 'Urchin Barrens', as are other heavily COMMERCIALLY FISHED areas like Bateman's Bay (from what I have seen). Poor plant life = poorly oxygenated water = less fish/less healthy fish. BASA is the Mekong Catfish that is sold in 80% of Australian Fish & Chip Shops, as it is way cheaper, boneless & sweeter in taste. But if anyone has seen that Doco on what feeds these Catfish... ...People pooing and pollution. :P :o Australia, like in New Zealand - sells OUR quality fish overseas, while we are sold 'cheap' poor quality imports ...just for the MONEY ::) made on the exchange. Anyone had a Myanmar Baramundi? But hey, if you can't be bothered to go out and Catch your own yourself, or support the up-keep and conservation of our Aquatic Resources... ...then you DESERVE to eat only Mekong Catfish in a Tin from Woolworths! :P ;) |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:15am
Anyone who eats the sewer grown hormone fed Vietnamese Catfish.... deceptively called BASA
may as well eat Sydney Harbour fish. I don't understand how authorities can eventually ban a suspect local product because of toxin/pollutant contamination yet allow the importation of such crap as BASA...... catfish. Btw ...... it doesn't taste sweet ....... it's feckin tasteless/bland. I got caught eating it once. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:02am freediver wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:48pm:
I remember the awful documentary about a seaside village in Japan where a whole generation were rendered dribbling idiots because the water had become contaminated with some sort of mercury or lead run-off. It was a pitiful sight. It's a case of "Do you feel lucky, punk?" ~ then okay ~ eat the fish and switch off the lights to see if you glow in the dark. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:06am
It was called Minimata Disease Herb.
Industrial poisoning from MethylMercury in Minimata City in JAPAN. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minamata_disease |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Dnarever on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19am
Done a bit of fishing off the sow and pigs when younger - close enough to the heads to be OK I think.
However eating fish from up stream has been known to be a problem for 20 years or more. fish that'll have you glowing in the dark? With certain algae types in the water it is normal for many species of fish to glow in the dark but its not contagious. People swimming in the same water also go phosphorescent. It is probably not the correct term it may in reality be the result of chemiluminescence I am not sure. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:22am
The leatherjackets and a few other species from down that way have bones that are bright green/blue in the middle. Apparently it is a natural thing.
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:34am Dnarever wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19am:
And you don't think any of these fish can swim/travel up & down the Harbour? ;D |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Dnarever on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:45am Gnads wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:34am:
It is more about the fish that live in it, swimming over it once or twice isn't much of an issue. The heavy metals etc are primarily in the sediment on the bottom - bigger impact on bottom feeders (you don't see many Lib politicians in Sydney harbour). At the mouth of the harbour you can target fish more likely to have come in from the ocean or fish that are known to live on a reef. There are species that do not go upstream. i.e. Bream would be suspect but Atlantic salmon, kingfish or many shark species would be OK Even with Bream you have an idea as their colour will change dependant on their environment and diet but still not out of Sydney Harbour. While I think some locations may well be OK I am afraid that I still would not be doing it today. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 10:38am Gnads wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:15am:
Well said! I was beating my brains out trying to remember the name: The notorious Basa! I've eaten them too. And then I saw the documentary of how these fish grow fat on a thousand miles of Mekong River effluent drifting past them where they are corralled within netted compounds alongside the banks. 'Basa' is a four-letter word like 'Sh!t' ... Gnads wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:15am:
That's never been a problem for me. I drown everything in a bath of Tomato Sauce, HP Sauce, Worcester Sauce, vinegar, Tabasco, squeezed lemons, grated cheese, Ground Peppers, salt, etc etc. With Smoked Cod I only sprinkle them with Mint Sauce. To die for. Smoked Cod ~ cheap, delicious, tremendous value. Serve with peas and mashed potatoes, and sliced tomatoes. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 10:43am Gnads wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:06am:
Yes. It's a tragedy that could happen anywhere. We've been lucky so far. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 10:45am Dnarever wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19am:
That's it. I used to swim in the luminescent waves on camping trips when we lived in Hong Kong. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 10:47am freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:22am:
'Bone cancer' leaps to mind. Leukemia. Some of these toxins accrue in the bones until they reach a critical point of no return. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:10am Dnarever wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:45am:
It's the cumulative effect of eating these fish in which toxins become concentrated over a period of time. If it's not fished outside the Harbour Heads ~ then forget it. Send it back to the kitchen and don't believe any bullshit they tell you. A restaurant was recently fined for blatant false advertising on their menu. Some sludge-dwelling, mud-sucking flatfish being advertised as a blue water delicacy. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by cods on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:17am
I feel lucky all of a sudden that I cannot afford to buy fish... what about prawns.. I do miss them
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:23am cods wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:17am:
Fish is the cheapest protein you can buy except for starvation food such as calamari, jellyfish and eels. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by cods on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:31am Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:23am:
really?.. where do you live here in ACT its like gold dust...I am sorry I wont buy imported fish...dont care what sort of name they put on it...have a grandson who adores fishing.. but he hasnt brought home anything to put in the pan yet....I am going with him one day just to show him how to catch them .. ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:39am cods wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:31am:
Try Smoked Cod simmered face-down in milk for 10 mins ~ then slide the skin off with a knife while it's still in the pan ~ then put the fillets on a plate and sprinkle with mint sauce. Absolutely delicious. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:19pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:23am:
I buy rump for as little as $6 per kilo. The cheapest fish you can get is very old mullet at about $8 per kilo, uncleaned. I actually like calamari, but it is a lot more than steak. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Dnarever on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:37pm cods wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:17am:
Anything in the area that lives and feeds off the bottom (where all the heavy metals collect) are by far the worst affected, Prawns are bottom feeders. This is the reason that imported prawns are cheap and that you can not buy prawns from Sydney harbour. I would think that most Australian commercial prawns are good quality. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:41pm freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:19pm:
Whoaaaa... ! Hold it right theeeere... Poor grade mince beef on a WAY past its Use By Date 'Special' ~ I can believe ... but. freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:19pm:
I haven't had fish for awhile. I'll check the prices out next time I'm at Woolies or Coles. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:44pm Dnarever wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:37pm:
It's a dodgy food, but I love big prawns, and occasionally treat myself to $10 worth of 'Tigers' etc to peel at home and dip in vinegar for a nice snack in front of the TV in the evening. I eat a lot of NZ mussels as well. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:14pm
OK Tedi & Fly Rivers in Papua New Guinea spring to mind in regards to bad pollution.
BHP totally destroyed the environment and then got away 'legally' with not having to clean up their mess. At the start, the locals got a bit of cash in hand and some jobs ...but they have nothing to spend it on as everything is ruined: trees, rivers, animals. Open up a fish that is contaminated and its liver is black with mercury and other pollutants. Unedible. One of the best examples in the world of a vibrant ecosystem that has just died from an over-dose of smack/ice, so to speak. Seafood, I only get from the upper or lower coasts or from South Australia or New Zealand. People in the big cities get absolutely CRAP seafood. But hey, most of them don't give a rats about our Aquatic environment, so they deserve the 'tinned' and polluted stuff. Many places selling Seafood, both BIG and small have often been found to be falsifying 'Labelling' and often quite blatantly. Woolworths & Coles do it often as the profit they make on the 'deception' far outweighs the fines given to them. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Black Orchid on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:30pm
I would not touch Vannemei prawns with my noisy neighbours' fork. They are cheap for a reason. We should all be black-banning this second rate and polluted cheap seafood when the best of our own is exported.
Buy Australian Tiger Prawns if you must buy any but, like I said before, travel for a few hours up or down the coast once every couple of months and stock up on fresh Aussie seafood. If we don't buy the inferior and polluted rubbish perhaps they will stop offering it as a rotten alternative. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 6th, 2014 at 6:44pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:41pm:
You have to buy a whole rump - about $40 worth at a time. It is vacuum packed and fresher than the stuff you get at the coles deli for $20. Usually it is $7 per kilo. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Dnarever on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:12pm Black Orchid wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:30pm:
Till a couple of years back I was going out prawning with my daughter in the lake, had some great times out in the lake after midnight. One new years we were out when the fireworks were going off. You see all sorts of things. Seen a flock of baby seagulls - never seen them before, one night there were hundreds of crabs wandering about, you can imagine how impressed my 8yo would have been with that. Once there was a fish in the deeper water watching - its eyes were way too far apart, then we had a flathead take a prawn out of my net, I don't fancy fighting a big fish in water above my waist. One night there were a group of Lebs stepped in front of us - the first thing they netted was an octopus - don't fancy playing with a blue ring myself, they didn't seem to care. Fresh lake prawns were mostly a bit smallish but very tasty, much better than anything you can buy. Mostly got at least a half k and sometimes lots. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:15pm Dnarever wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:45am:
;D Shark species? Come off it..... They are harbour & river travellers & eat those up harbour/river bottom feeders. Top of the food chain predators are just as likely to be chock full of toxins. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Dnarever on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:23pm Gnads wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:15pm:
That is why I specified species because there are also species that are rarely found upstream but you are right most large predators carry things. Marlin and larger fish seem to pick up mercury, older larger Mulloway and Tuna often have lesions and damaged flesh. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:26pm
Yes Vannemi Prawns are crap.... Virtually grown in the same shyte conditions as Basa... Vietnamese Catfish.
Herb the yellow painted chemically smoke flavoured cod you buy in the supermarket delis are not much better. You need to get someone to genuinely cold smoke some cod or haddock .....& by that I don't mean kipper cooked/ smoked. Oh & I love Calmari/ squid .... & it not that cheap. Fair dinkum I reckon some of you would rave over extruded seafood extender ::) You certainly seem deprived of decent fish or don' know the difference :P |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:02pm freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 6:44pm:
Yes, well, if you live alone, large packets of meat are out of the question. You can't put it in and out of the freezer all the time. I usually buy about $12 worth of halal rump at a local Muslim butchery .. cook it up, and then eat it for 2 or three days. But as cooked meat is a known carcinogen I do this only every 3 months or so. (And yes. If you want the best meat, then go to a Muslim butchers). |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19pm
Does the extra suffering make it tastier?
I freeze most of it. Doesn't seem to make that much difference. I doubt it has already been frozen - too big. Oxygen is a carcinogen. It destroys everything. It will even eat through metal. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 7th, 2014 at 8:02am freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19pm:
:-[ Owned. I'll try to resist buying from them in future. Keep my conscience clear. I don't know what they do with the meat, but it's always soft and tender and gristle-free as you won't find any where else. It could be that they don't pump the meat full of water and add all those chemicals to make it look red and well-preserved like the Australian butchers do. freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19pm:
You need a family to make that a going concern. freediver wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:19pm:
So will Coca Cola. If you are genetically predisposed to it, the most dangerous carcinogen for 'head-and-neck' cancer is alcoholic beverages. It killed my father and brother. Just molecules of ethanol is enough to trigger the growth process. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 8th, 2014 at 11:05am
The extra suffering of Seafood (any food), as seems the rage in Asia, by cooking the animals 'live' does not make the dish taste any better.
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 8th, 2014 at 6:45pm
I boil crabs alive.
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 8th, 2014 at 7:51pm
Yeah well I don't .... I usually kill them with a spike or in a freezer .... then clean them green before cooking. :P
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 8th, 2014 at 8:26pm Gnads wrote on Sep 8th, 2014 at 7:51pm:
Good on you, Gonads. No names, but some people enjoy the agonised wailing and the mournful keening sound of creatures in agony as they are slowly being boiled to death. We can only hope they catch these mud-crabs upstream of the Sydney Harbour Bridge where you can see them glowing a luminescent green on the mudflats after dark ... No names, but. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knWpLdlPD88 |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 8th, 2014 at 9:40pm
I'm with Gnads on that one.
Quite inappropriate to listen to a Crab/Lobster/Crayfish 'squealing' in boiling water. You know what they say about people who pick wings off flies... |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 9th, 2014 at 7:30am Jasin wrote on Sep 8th, 2014 at 9:40pm:
... they end up with body-parts in the fridge ... and in the freezer ... and in pots on the stove .... and in the bath .... and blocking the sewerage pipes .... and they stuff rags under the front door to keep the stench from leaking into the corridors of the apartment building .... and they're usually GAY ..... and get their victims from GAY BARS when they're not down at the Fish Markets buying WHOPPERS to show their friends on Monday mornings as their Catch of the weekend .... and ..... No names, but. 8-) |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 9th, 2014 at 9:02am
Speaking of fish stories ...
Our NSW premier Mike Baird told the story of how he was surfing at an un-netted beach with some friends, when a school of fish raced passed him towards the shallows ~ and he thought ... "This isn't good". He knew what it meant. And he was right. He turned to look to the side of him, and sure enough, right next to his board he was being eyeballed by a shark that had now lost all interest in the mackerels, or bait fish, or whatever they were. It was bad enough to have a shark next to you in the water, and interested in you in a nightmarish sort of way, but it was worse than that. This fish had attitude. Bad attitude. And it was horribly intelligent. It could strategise. All the way to the beach this shark tried to bat Baird off his board with his tail ... And it was persistent. Baird's words: "It chased me all the way onto the beach". This was why Baird was not in favour of removing shark netting from Sydney's beaches. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 9th, 2014 at 5:00pm
Michael Travis & Co (The Anita Coby Murderers) often picked the wings off flies...
...and they would actually have sex with Pigs and ejaculate inside it before serving it up for the BBQ for family and friends to pig out on. :P |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 9th, 2014 at 6:01pm Jasin wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 5:00pm:
They are Poster Boys for the Death Penalty. *** Mind you, I was watching a doco/reality show from America's Southern Georgia featuring the trial of a mass murderer who was on trial for bludgeoning to death 8 of his close family in a trailer park. What surprised me was that in Southern Georgia the jury not only decide the guilt or innocence, but also the penalty ~ including the death penalty. These jury members were mostly illiterate imbeciles with calloused thumbs from playing too much backwoods banjo. Nobody's life should depend on the 'gut feeling' of a dozen retards chewin' straws in the jury box. Them was hillbillies with no education and highly suspect genes ... |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 9th, 2014 at 7:12pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 9:02am:
If you are in the water with a shark that wants to eat you, you have no chance. They can swim about 100 times faster. He made it to shore because the shark did not want to take a bite. At most, it was interested. When sharks are chasing fish, they go after fish. They are mentally focused on fish. It is when they are chasing seals and turtles that you have to watch out. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 9th, 2014 at 7:35pm
Mike Baird was safe .... sharks don't eat Politicians whole
they spit that bit out. It probably recognised he was a Lieberal & knew he would be full of shyte. Anyways the ocean is the sharks domain not Bairds ... what happened should have SFA to with shark nets. Sharks get inside them all the time .... they(the nets) kill more innocent marine animals like turtles, dolphins & whales. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 9th, 2014 at 8:04pm freediver wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 7:12pm:
Shark behaviour is still a mystery. It's been observed time and again that a shark will swim through a crowd of people swimming at a beach before then biting a certain person. There's a type of sole in the waters of the Red Sea that sharks never bite because of its deadly poison. It's surprising there's still no effective shark deterrent for people who sail boats around the coastal waters. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Gnads on Sep 10th, 2014 at 11:25am Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:02pm:
So by buying that HALAL meat you are unwittingly or not putting money into the hands of Muslim/Islamic organisations & I bet some of that ends up supporting terrorists. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lady Lols on Sep 10th, 2014 at 11:33am
I only buy fish from our local fishmonger, whom says it's all Australian fish, but now I am worried, and, I have to ask, what part of Oz it comes from! :o
And also, all that gel capsules of krill/clamari/omega 3 oil, in bottles, one has to ask where it came from also! |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lady Lols on Sep 10th, 2014 at 11:35am Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 8:04pm:
Something I recall, that sharks go for bright colours, such as yellow, and also anything or anyone, that makes sudden movements. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 10th, 2014 at 12:31pm
There's a nice new Wetsuit out that is banded Black & White striped like a Krait SeaSnake.
This principle works upon the Shark's vision that is weak in 'contrast' and is much like what Zebra's use. Apparently it works - so far. It's a shame that Human's aren't intelligent enough to understand animals enough in order to co-exist by 'mastery' and instead 'destroy' them. If there is a big Shark in the water, I don't go in. Simple. Not until I can find a safer way to do so... ...without having to kill/destroy it. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 10th, 2014 at 2:11pm Gnads wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 11:25am:
I won't be doing it in future. :-[ |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 10th, 2014 at 2:18pm Sophia wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 11:33am:
Why do you think I keep cats??? Three of them ??? I give them each a small portion of fish I'm about to fry, and if two out of three of them turn their nose up ~ then I toss the fish into the neighbour's swimming pool to sink to the bottom. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 10th, 2014 at 2:25pm Sophia wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 11:35am:
Correct! Don't wear yellow or any bright coloured swimming gear. The Great White that just killed a 50yr old fellow at Byron Bay never intended to kill him. Totally innocent. This shark had every opportunity to tear this fellow to shreds and swallow him in comfortable portions ... but even after tasting blood ~ lots of it ~ it swam away. Everyone knows that sharks take an initial bite to analyse the suitability of a prospective meal. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by freediver on Sep 10th, 2014 at 5:45pm Quote:
Anything bright and reflective (eg a watch face, or a white strip on your clothes) could get mistaken for a fish in dirty water. Quote:
This is no different to me shooting a certain fish out of a school of them. It would not be very obvious to an onlooker why I chose that specific one. Quote:
Sharks are also innocent. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 10th, 2014 at 6:52pm freediver wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 5:45pm:
Let's not get carried away with this. Next we'll be saying sharks are cute and cuddly. Pelagic white-tip sharks are genuine man-eaters. They are the piranhas of the oceans. They'll eat the meat off a man's legs like we strip the chicken pieces off a shishkebab. Bullsharks up the rivers will go for swimmer knowing full well it's not a seal or a turtle. Tiger sharks, mako, hammer-heads ... they'll pull you off a surf board and snack on you because we're good eatin'. |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lady Lols on Sep 10th, 2014 at 9:42pm
The ocean is the shark's home, as land is ours.
Do sharks come into our territory? Yet we go into theirs. We do have chips, and flake in our dining area, so I guess, if we go in the water, it's a sharks dining area, right? |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by JaSin on Sep 10th, 2014 at 10:23pm
Basically if you thrash about for many Shark species, it excites them a tad, some more than others.
The Tiger Shark prefers a prey that doesn't move as much - being a scavenger, it prefers something 'dead' looking. Most Sharks hone in on the smell of urine/wee wee in the water as a person can thus actually smell like an animal. This was the case for one South African Surfer who survived x3 Great White Attacks (once with two at the same time! :o) - the reason why they always chose him amongst the others is because he Wee-Wee a lot in the water. Being fully clothed (ie: shoes, socks, long pants) does help to nullify the smell of skin a lot. Sharks are colour-blind, they only see things in contrast of bright & dark. Most GWShark attacks in WA have been via Scuba Divers 'spearfishing', which is legal in WA. The dead fish attracting the Sharks. On one occasion, such Scuba Spearo's returned to the same spot the following year after they lost a mate to a GWShark and were (obviously ::)) attacked again. Certain Beaches are known 'hot spots' for Shark activity, with Sharks hanging off the 'Points' for some 'oxygenation' - but many 'Surfers' flaunt the 'bravado' of surfing such places and basically just 'ask for it', although they insist the Sharks should be culled away. Education is the main advantage, especially getting to know the area you are about to swim/dive in. The lady at Tathra may have been better off not to become isolated, let alone swimming at the Dawn/Dusk periods. The Navy Diver who got attacked in Sydney Harbour: the place was known by locals as a feeding spot for Bulls at Dusk. Lady in QLD who got taken by Bullsharks, wadding in knee-deep water with her dog in an 'estuary' entrance which are common 'hotspots' for shark activity especially when the tide is going out. Me? Well when snorkling off Port Lincoln at 5 metres deep, I suddenly found myself with a Kingfish and his 3 wives hugging me closely I could touch them. Then I remembered being in Gordons Bay (Scuba) in Sydney when surrounded by a Baitball of fish (sounded like a chandelier moving about) for 'protection' from the attacking KingFish. So I decided to move closer to shore - just in case. WA & SthAust Great Whites are a different breed of Shark to those of the Tasman Sea, although they both mix around Tasmania, they never interbreed. I consider the Tasman Sea Great Whites a bit more 'placid' ...maybe because there are more ORCA to keep them 'humble'. ;)? |
Title: Re: Dioxins in Sydney Harbour fish ... Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 11th, 2014 at 8:40am Sophia wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 9:42pm:
Nope. That's PC orthodoxy. Humans belong everywhere ~ even in the skies at 37,000 feet travelling at 750mph. We have no fur on our bodies precisely because we came from the coastal waters where fur would have slowed our progess through the water as we hunted. Sophia wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 9:42pm:
They sure do. Bullsharks can be found miles up rivers looking for a bit of 'Long Pig' (that's us) to nibble on. Sophia wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 9:42pm:
Several million tons of food stuffs are thrown overboard from ships, boats, dingies, etc that sharks feed upon. We pay our dues for being out there. Sophia wrote on Sep 10th, 2014 at 9:42pm:
Correct. Chips and small flake for them too, but not us. 8-) |