General Discussion >> General Board >> Home cleaners and ethics http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1397427030 Message started by olde.sault on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:10am |
Title: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:10am During the last 2 years I've had unhappy experiences with such women who seem to nurse a great sense of inferiority. Also dishonesty, like working only 1 hour instead OF the 2 for which they are paid. (the government, also the recipient pays agencies for this service.) The fact is that they are given the identity of "social workers" and one doesn't dare call them "cleaners". After refusing to mop the floor around the carpet square, one said "I'm not supposed to do that. . . I'm not your servant !" Sadly, the only Aussie of that lot, was the only honest worker, she was obliging and worked her 2 hours. The co-ordinator suggested to offer a cup of coffee and "chat" (to make them feel important!) But-- am I a racst for speaking out? |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by sherri on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:42am
No, you're not.
I can look at it from both ways as I have done some casual house cleaning. My full time job was as a teacher but when I was on family leave I just wanted a few hours of work a week and found doing a couple of hours a time suited me. I got one job where I was doing a house for a woman who was on a govt payment for work injury and they also paid for her house cleaning. She told me that I was the first cleaner she had had that could work independently and who didn't expect to sit there half the time drinking tea and telling her all my problems. There was one time she was in hospital and I stayed an extra 5 mins over my time to finish the last shirt in the ironing basket (I mean really-why leave one shirt there?). It seemed to me to be the logical thing to do and no big deal, but the woman especially mentioned it in surprise the next week, that I had 'gone over my time. Embarrassing, when we are talking 5 mins. But apparently some of these cleaners down tools to the second. A few years back, my parents were getting frail and had council home help. I was there one day when she arrived. About half way through, she came out, sat outside with us, helped herself to some chocolates and licorice I had given to my parents and started to chat. I am pretty sure they are told that part of their job is to talk to their customers, suss out how they are etc, but I didn't think it was needed this day. Had it been me, I would have waited to be offered something too, before just taking it. And we would have offered. The woman was also a bit stroppy with my mother at times (so my dad told me). It reminds me of the comment you got that they were 'not your servant". I think mum got that a few times too. Mum was in the early stages of dementia and would say thinks such as 'Don't bother to vacuum, I can do it" and so the woman would just not do it, even though dad would explain they really needed it done. Had it been me, I would have gone on to another task and then come back to it or else just humoured her and said now I had the vacuum cleaner out I would just do one room (then do the lot). The woman had no nouse. I am sure people with dementia can be difficult but it is part and parcel of the job. Some of the cleaners are obviously not the best. Not sure why anyone would cheat on the time as that is easily checked out, maybe even reported by neighbours but also, if a job isn't done, do they think no one will notice? Oh-and I did have one experience that made me think some migrants don't know when they are lucky. I had a one off job to replace a cleaner who was away on holidays. It was to the home of a man who had only been in this country 9 months. He lived with his sister and teenage daughter. He was on some sort of work injury (back, I think) and had not been working for 6 months though he could get around petty freely as far a I could make out. His sister did not work at all. He spent half the time following me around and complaining that he only got 4 hours of cleaning per week and they didn't give him gardening home help as well. I think he really wanted me to mow the lawn but I didn't. I thought a migrant who had only worked 2 months here was jolly lucky to be on a pension and with 4 hours of housework supplied, to be honest. My daughter badly injured her knee at work a couple of years back, needed an op. She was only given a couple of weeks off work, had to return on crutches, couldn't drive so we had to take her (and she doesn't live at home) & no suggestion of home help or anything. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by El Gatto on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:59am
I did a stint for the Home Care Service around 25 years ago (mowing, cleaning yards/guttering etc, general
handyman tasks), and found that a very large part of the job involved talking and drinking tea/eating cakes and scones. But only if it was offered, I never demanded or simply took it. I took pride in my work, and would always go that 'extra yard' if needed or if I had the time available. For some time after I left that job, I was hearing reports that some of my former clients were still asking 'Where's Jim, he was wonderful, we don't like the new guy'. Many just wanted the company as much as they wanted the work done. So I must have been doing something right... :-) |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:06am olde.sault wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:10am:
Of course you're not being racist. White people - especially Australian white people - are much harder workers than brown people, which is why brown people should not be allowed to work. Imagine if some of them became doctors or something? Scary. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by cods on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:11am
I have always found house cleaning hard yakka to be honest.. its hard work..
I have only seen one of these help for the aged...she was 90 years old..and had someone come in once a fortnight..to do bathroom toilet and floors...well she went through a few and the only one that did a real decent job was a black guy... the first thing the women all did was tell her what they didnt do.. like move anything...so if this 90 yr old wanted her kitchen/dining room floor washed all over it was her job to move the chairs and tables...lol.. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by sherri on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:14am
Annie, I think there can be a problem with cleaners generally. From what I have heard, it can be hard to find an honest, reliable one.
Mind you, sometimes the pay rate they are offered is ridiculous. I saw an ad on gumtree where the person expected someone to work 5 mornings a week, at 2 locations (about 35km apart), for $100. Under $10 an hour. Whether he got anyone I don't know but I hope not. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:39am olde.sault wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:10am:
It isnt the job of social workers to mop your floor SOB |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:41am sherri wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:14am:
Of course it's a problem, but that problem has nothing to do with ethnicity. It's a ridiculous prejudice, but to be expected from Olde Sault. In the case of cleaners who work through the government, the agencies need to be clear to their client about what is both within and outside of the scope of the cleaner's role. Boundaries should be established from the beginning. It is the same in the private sector - managing expectations and good communication is key. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:52am olde.sault wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:10am:
SHe was right, she is not your servant and moping your floor was not her job, why should she do it? ..... I bet the thought of you offering an extra $10 to her to do so didn't even cross your mind ... I ran across a lot of ingrates when I was working dept. of haousing ... instead of being grateful that they were getting things for free, theż'd bitch about things they weren't getting and might have to pay for themselves. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 14th, 2014 at 11:10am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:39am:
Not "real social workers, otherwise known as "snobs" I need vacuuming, floor-washing and driven over to the surgeries to see doctors. I was offered back washing, chat. Well, I do well enough showering and do my best chatting-- Had to explain to one haughty the meaning of "politics" and what a "revolution" meant. I suppose I could teach some of them "English"! |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 14th, 2014 at 11:21am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:39am:
Your question left me wondering. . . Are you a public school teacher? What is so hard about realising that a person hired to clean house is mainly the "cleaner"? Should they just chat after they wade through dust and cobwebs? That more important than making this home sanitary? |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Dame Pansi on Apr 14th, 2014 at 11:31am I'd say if you live in Qld you better enjoy what help you get, whether it's up to your standard or not because Newman has this service on his 'cut list'. Nil home help for the aged and infirm....happy voting olde sault. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 14th, 2014 at 12:08pm
Not a racist - just stating facts.
I won't comment on other ethnic groups, but I think it is a part of the Aussie style to be more easygoing and helpful as a matter of course. I read a book by one of the Guinness heiresses and she was hilarious about her mother's live-in caretakers on Sardinia (I think it was) and the way they blatantly ripped mother off etc... I think the concepts of service and loyalty are vanishing these days - even of duty - and I'm afraid we have only successive government policies to blame. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 14th, 2014 at 4:03pm Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 12:08pm:
They seem to come under "aged care" workers, however, if they are paid for 2 hours cleaning they should fulfil this time whatever they want to call this service. Unclean surrounding add to the depressive state of the aged or disabled and chats with the uninformed spouting an attitude, is hardly uplifting. As far as what is happening in Q-land, I'm sure that no government will cut its throat electorally by denying help to the needy. That is Labor propaganda - you leftards are full of shet as is your present leader and the past two PMs who brought the country down in debt. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 14th, 2014 at 4:17pm olde.sault wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
You're such an unpleasant individual. It's hardly surprising the hired help can't wait to get away. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by El Gatto on Apr 14th, 2014 at 4:26pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 4:17pm:
Yes. I, too, am curious as to what Labor has to do with a cleaner who cuts corners and/or is rude. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Dame Pansi on Apr 14th, 2014 at 5:06pm Didn't you know the age of entitlement is over. Hire your own help, white Australian of course, then you can fire them at leisure. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by cods on Apr 14th, 2014 at 5:31pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 11:31am:
does all this help for oldies and carers come under the States???.. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by El Gatto on Apr 14th, 2014 at 5:35pm cods wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 5:31pm:
Certainly when I was with HCS it was. I don't know about now, or what the go is in other states. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by miketrees on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:18pm
I would give any cleaner the benefit of the doubt.
The poor cleaner may also be working other jobs for a company like I work for, where they never allocate enough time to get the job done. So often the cleaners work over time and effectively get a much lower rate of pay. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Dame Pansi on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:19pm cods wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 5:31pm:
I'm not really sure. Who pays Green Care, Blue Care, Ozcare, RSL Care and the myriad of other NGO's that run from house to house early morning to late afternoon? |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:25pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:19pm:
states |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:48am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:19pm:
I'd dearly like to hire my own help if it was available. Living in a rural area it is hard to get anyone close by . I tried, unsuccessfully. However, it is not a free service, never has been. One pays a certain amount and then have to suffer ignorant, inferiors who want to believe themselves as important. It hurts to see how these "home carers" operate - come an hour late then get me to sign them out for the 2 hours that they hadn't fulfilled. It is not the colour that earns one the slur, "racist" but how some of these people behave. In hospital, there were many ethnics among the staff who were worthy of smiles! |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by sherri on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:25am John Smith wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:52am:
If a social worker called in, of course you wouldn't ask them to mop a floor. But if someone is hired to do the cleaning, of course that is one of the expected tasks. I would think olde Saulte was talking about someone whose primary job was to clean his house. There are limits on what these people can move etc but a rug shouldn't be too difficult. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Gnads on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:48am miketrees wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:18pm:
Yes because they aren't in a Union or are too scared to join one & they work for arzeholes. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by miketrees on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:16am
Yes because they aren't in a Union or are too scared to join one & they work for arzeholes
From what I can see the whole industry is full of sphincters. It seems every company is screwing the cleaner and all the companies screw the cleaning companies. I am stuck trying to make our company compliant with OH&S laws and comply with employment laws. I am pretty sure any company that does the right thing in employment laws will go broke. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:53am sherri wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:25am:
says who? they are given a set of tasks to do, and that is all they have to do. I used to get the same thing when I was painting DOH ... they'd send me in to paint a bathroom, and the idiots would expect me to paint their bedroom too.... I was only being paid to paint the bathroom. Neither you and I guess old sourpuss seem to have any idea what exactly they are being paid to do, how can you say it's their job. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by El Gatto on Apr 15th, 2014 at 1:57pm John Smith wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:53am:
Ah, so you've painted for DOH too? What fun, eh? Aren't some places (and tenants) shockers? But there are some great ones too (like the one who supplied coffee, lunch, and morning and afternoon tea) although she was a rare one. :-) |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 15th, 2014 at 4:22pm Kat wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 1:57pm:
one of my favourites was an elderly lady with a disabled son, she was 80yrs old and was looking after a baby as a foster carer ... she said she'd had 120 foster kids in her time, all the while with a disabled son and her husband had passed away many years earlier ... she baked homemade cake (as opposed to packet stuff) for our morning tea every day we were there. Another good one had actually chased of the previous painter with a shotgun .. I was wary at first but once I saw the work the previous painter did I understood why ... had a BBQ cooked and ready for lunch and case of beer for every day we were there .. but I told my guys one beer after knock off only... I couldn't have one falling of a ladder |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by El Gatto on Apr 15th, 2014 at 4:29pm John Smith wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 4:22pm:
A few of the places I did, the tenants were very unhappy with the previous job. Again, not hard to see why... they'd watered the paint and only applied one coat and the preparation was ...well, it wasn't. But they'd have been paid for two full coats. I'd say it was probably the same contractor each time, and no wonder they no longer had the contract! |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 15th, 2014 at 4:32pm Kat wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 4:29pm:
turned out the guy I mentioned was a gardener who thought painting would be easy, in the house I mentioned earlier he rolled the walls bumping against cornice and skirting boards, no cutting in ..... each wall was a different colour as he was trying to use up old left over paint he had at home and he couldn't be bothered boxing it. I would have shot him not just threatened him |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by El Gatto on Apr 15th, 2014 at 4:56pm
Gawd!
I can just picture it... :-( |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:10pm
"I need vacuuming, floor-washing and driven over to the surgeries to see doctors."
I I am wondering why some of my tax dollars are going to help the OP. The cleaning of your home, the drives to see Doctors, the visits to GPs etc are YOUR responsibility. The people that assist you with that are called "family and Friends" If you don't have any of those, then call in the Salvos or Lifeline. Why the heck am I subsidising your life? Pay your own way as we all do and stop bludging off the taxpayer. A good way to start saving would be to get off the internet and use those dollars to pay for taxis, public transport etc. A penny saved is a penny earned. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:12pm Vic wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:10pm:
notice that the same people champion Abbotts proposal to charge patients every time they see a doc? they have their pension card, they'll be right ... F%#k everyone else |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by red baron on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:20pm
On this subject I was talking to a friend who was a social worker and she said people stay in their own homes 10 years too long.
Just a thought for those 'clinging' on to the family home. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:59pm Gnads wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:48am:
These are the arseholes, MATE! I said to the one, a few days back, "If someone checks on you, I'll tell them the truth, that you worked only for one hour." She answered, "You won't have to lie, they don't ever check'. Such dishonesty would cause anyone to throw up. I was brought up with the slogan, "Whatever the job, get the satisfaction of doing it well." Yes, and at the age of twelve years, in the terrible heat of Q-land, I accompanied my parents working on cotton fields. How much easier it would have been to mop floors or vacuum! |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:07pm Gnads wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:48am:
What utter rot! Cleaners are not brain surgeons and are well paid for unskilled work. Why in hell would they want a union? It is their prerogative, either take the job at $30 an hour or remain on the dole. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by miketrees on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:14pm
OS, the award rate for part time cleaning is $20.11 per hour.
Companies like mine will give you 1.5 hours worth of work to do in 1 hour. The cleaner has to decide ,do they do the job properly or do they work to the time limit. Many cleaners work over the hour to make sure the job is done correctly, yet they still only get the $20.11. I hate being part of it. They don't tend to join unions because they get paid such crap rates they dont want to pay anything to a union that will probably do nothing for them anyway. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:18pm Vic wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:10pm:
Idiot! My doctor is three streets away and taxis refuse to accept short fares. There being no cleaners handy, who'd want to use petrol and time travelling to my home for a couple of hours work and involve a union? LOL! You probably have tunnel vision, certainly have no understanding of different circumstances. Even if I could walk without a frame, the closest bus stop is half a mile distant. In addition, I'm 90 years old and have had two heart attacks. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by John Smith on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:31pm olde.sault wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:18pm:
it's illegal for taxi's to refuse a fare over the distance.... next time one does, report him however don't bother if you expect the taxi ride for free |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:49pm Vic wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 7:10pm:
What a lovely compassionate outlook towards your fellow man. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Apr 16th, 2014 at 4:16am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:49pm:
Hahahahahaha! Hey kettle whats with the tuirnabout? Is it because its olde sault that you are now exhibiting opposite views to normal? SOB |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 16th, 2014 at 7:40am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:49pm:
This coming from a person who called asylum seekers trying to get to Australia - "human garbage" Thanks for keeping this one alive Dame Pansi "andrei said: Great isn't it? Seeing boatloads of what is nothing more than human garbage turn up....." |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 16th, 2014 at 7:43am olde.sault wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 10:18pm:
I don't care!!!! Again, why should my tax dollars support you in getting to hospitals, getting your house cleaned and sweeping your floors? By the look of it, most of that is being done for you and you were complaining about it! I don't care how old you are, or operations you have had, stop looking a gift horse in the mouth - you are getting a free giddey up from my tax dollars so stop whinging |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Gnads on Apr 16th, 2014 at 7:55am olde.sault wrote on Apr 15th, 2014 at 9:59pm:
Oh yassir massa ... nowse ey gits it wha frum ya'all gits sech an uppitty minset. Wat be yo name ...Kunta Kinte? Gonna change dat tu Toby ... yassir Toby yo name now. ;D |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Dame Pansi on Apr 16th, 2014 at 8:58am Imagine the outrage from the other side if a leftie said this. What do ya reckon aquascoot? ..........surely she should have planned for her old age. Andrei?.............mother won't end up like this she'll have a live in nurse eh! Longboring?.........she's had 90 years to prepare and she should have prayed more. Cods?............what do you think of someone who accepts free operations and almost free home help, then complains about the service? |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:16am olde.sault wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 8:10am:
Yes you ARE! The Lefty-Luvvies will be along shortly to wash your mouth out with soap. When I came out of hospital after my heart op I had 6 weeks of two home-helps coming here. One came on Tuesdays to clean ... and the other came on Thursdays to take me shopping in her car. They were all dinki di Australians except the jet-black lady from Somalia or the Sudan (whichever). (She was the one who told me that the Australian government is stupid to import Muslims here ~ it will mean only trouble, she said). I had no problem with any of them, but I was surprised when one of them said she can't vacuum the carpets because she had a bad back. ;D PS. What ethnic types are you talking about? Italian ... ? 8-) |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 16th, 2014 at 11:31am sherri wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 9:14am:
That would have been tax-free. (Some) Immigrant Muslim husbands will send their wives out to work 'casua'l no matter how small the hourly-rate. The women know better than to argue ... |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by olde.sault on Apr 16th, 2014 at 3:57pm Vic wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 7:43am:
The topic is not about my operations although I have health insurance and pay for these oiperations or any time spent in hospitals. It's about unprincipled women bludging on getting paid for jobs not done. The quote for recipients of this care (that is only for the old or severly disabled) was $60 per week which entails the recipient to be driven to the doctor and to the shops twice a month. The state tops up for these costs however, pays for nothing if some home carers cheat on the hours. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 16th, 2014 at 8:21pm olde.sault wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 3:57pm:
Correct. My neighbour's receiving this service. Cleaning one day ~ shopping the next. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by AiA in Atlanta on Apr 16th, 2014 at 8:59pm
I used to have a home cleaner (maid) come out every couple of weeks to give my pad a once over but let her go not for drinking my booze and cutting it with water (which she did) but for taking taking loose change home with her :)
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by sherri on Apr 17th, 2014 at 7:19am Vic wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 7:43am:
I doubt if it is free. My parents used to get council house cleaning help 2 hours a fortnight and they had to pay a fee for it. I look at it this way-some form of subsidised help (note I did not say totally free help) for those who really need it eg infirm, seriously ill, disabled etc, goes towards helping people live alone without needing a nursing home or whatever. And I would add-those doing the cleaning need to do an honest job of it. People doing any job need to put in an honest effort. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 17th, 2014 at 8:54am olde.sault wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 3:57pm:
Thank you, Old Salt. You subsidised my totally free heart operation which in America would have cost me exactly $100,000 in Australian money ~ and that's not including the 7-day hospital stay with meals, etc. I owe you at least a $3000 bottle of plonk for your generosity ... :) I'll leave it on your doorstep. 8-) I hope you won't forget this fine gesture of mine in future years .. ::) |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 17th, 2014 at 9:01am sherri wrote on Apr 17th, 2014 at 7:19am:
As each of my helpers finished their 6-week stint with me, they gave me a form to sign as to how they performed, etc. I gave them a good testimonial. And then after they had all departed, their supervisor came to my place to ask me if I had any additional comments to make, or revisions of what I'd written in the forms ~ and had I been satisfied with the service. The check-up was very thorough. By nature I'm far more inclined to tick all the boxes and save anyone from any grief with their boss. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 17th, 2014 at 9:04am olde.sault wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 3:57pm:
No, it's about your racism and Anglo vs. brown cleaners. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 17th, 2014 at 9:11am
Old Salt got the colour scheme wrong.
If he'd said the darkies had beaten the whiteys in doing a better job ~ he wouldn't now be hearing the crack of a whip for his assumed racism. We just can't win with some of these PC people, Old Salt. You may just as well go back out to sea again. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 17th, 2014 at 9:22am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 17th, 2014 at 9:11am:
You're just as bad. It's sad to see, because unlike Salty here, you seem to be an otherwise compassionate and reasonable person. Odd. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Apr 19th, 2014 at 5:35am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 17th, 2014 at 5:51pm:
prolly since colour didnt need to be mentioned @ all SOB |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 19th, 2014 at 5:45am
Race is a factor for cleaners though.
My wife and I engage in positive discrimination. Hispanics or Poles only. Clean the house like it's Buckingham Palace for the lowest price too. I didnt want Americans or White British. Lazy bitches who would do 1/4 of the house for twice the cost. Race is always a factor in these things. You know it is. |
Title: Re: Home cleaners and ethics Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 19th, 2014 at 6:32am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 19th, 2014 at 5:45am:
There's no such thing as 'positive' discrimination. Someone gets discriminated against on the basis of race or ethnicity. So let's run that line again, shall we? Quote:
Thank you. It looks a lot more honest now that I've done a bit of house-cleaning here. 8-) |