Member Run Boards >> The Tavern >> What's for din dins? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1395814942 Message started by Frances on Mar 26th, 2014 at 4:22pm |
Title: What's for din dins? Post by Frances on Mar 26th, 2014 at 4:22pm
Tonight I've made veal saltimbocca (just have to put it in the oven for a short spell and it's ready - I'm waiting for a telephone call), avocado and tarragon in jelly, and a kale salad.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Mar 26th, 2014 at 4:27pm
I was going to bake a banana cake, but then I realised that I would have to put it in the oven at the same time as the veal, or just after, so that can wait for tomorrow....
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 26th, 2014 at 4:48pm
I LOVE veal saltimbocca! Veal, sage, prosciutto, hmmm! Tangy!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Deathridesahorse on Mar 27th, 2014 at 12:40pm
Sir George of the what now???????? :D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 28th, 2014 at 1:32pm
Dinner tomorrow—pork, mushroom, fennel and rosemary sausages. If my as yet untried sausage making skills are as good as I fear then we will eat patties instead :) Got a lovely piece of boneless feral boar and bought some slices lard in case sausages need a bit of fat to make them juicy. Also 2m of hog casings.
To go with the snags: potato wedges and dry roasted truss cherry tomatoes. When the wedges come out some pears stuffed with sultanas and chocolate chips will go in. Looks like a good guide: http://lochac.sca.org/collegium/notes/How%20to%20make%20sausages.pdf Should have enough snags I can cook some in the offset smoker, hmmmm. 105°C for 2-3 hours and a good half hour of hickory smoke (hickory chunks on top of the charcoal in the firebox.) Funnily enough—apricot and peach wood give a nice light smoky flavor in half the time it takes hickory! Lemon wood gives yet another flavor, rosemary wood yet another. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Mar 31st, 2014 at 4:54pm
Vegetarian meal tonight (that is if you consider eggs vegetarian). I'm making a leek quiche and it will be going in the oven in a few minutes. I have to keep the dairy components in the meal to a minimum, so I used buttermilk instead of cream and I made the pastry with margarine instead of butter. Once it's in the oven I'll prepare the rest - lettuce and beetroot salad and steamed spinach.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 2nd, 2014 at 3:29pm
I eat a modified Atkins diet and last night my husband made buffalo chicken wings with a blue cheese dipping sauce. It was delicious.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by miketrees on Apr 2nd, 2014 at 10:16pm
I made a stir fry of some veg and included some cubes of green pawpaw.
It was ok, never had green pawpaw before. i had some pork chops cooked on a rack in the webber so they would be crispy and a lot of the fat would be melted out of them. They worked perfectly. My anti blood sugar diet of green leafy veg and lean meat is working well. Keeping away from anything with flour, sugar, starch and fat. I must keep reading this thread I am always on the lookout for meal ideas. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by muso on Apr 5th, 2014 at 12:33pm miketrees wrote on Apr 2nd, 2014 at 10:16pm:
Green Pawpaw has a neutral salad taste. It absorbs the flavours of other foods. If you don't like toufu, use green pawpaw instead. It's great with thai foods with a lot of chilli. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by miketrees on Apr 5th, 2014 at 2:44pm
Will do Muso
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Apr 11th, 2014 at 6:43pm
Tonight I've baked a leek and cheese pie, made a Salade Piemontese (salad greens, ham, tomato and egg dressed with mayonnaise) and steamed some asparagus. I was going to bake a cake, but I ran out of time.....
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Apr 11th, 2014 at 7:16pm
noodle box tonight .... got to bludge one night a week
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by miketrees on Apr 11th, 2014 at 7:23pm
I did the slow cook soup yesterday with an antique crock pot.
Some lamb shoulder chops, green beans French lentils, whole garlic cloves, onion, lots of carrot, sweet potato, barley and at the last some diced zucchini. (tiny bit of curry powder) I was running out of room in the pot, so I took some of the top layer out, mainly zucchini, but a tiny bit of the other vegs and I microwaved it. Then I mixed the microwaved bits with a bit of soya sauce and blitzed it with the hand held blender. I left the lid off the pot and reduced down until i could remix the blended bit. I bought a fresh loaf of some yuppie light rye bread and verily it was a good feed. It looks like Friday Pizza tonight |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Apr 14th, 2014 at 11:23am miketrees wrote on Apr 11th, 2014 at 7:23pm:
That sounds yummy. It's perfect weather up here for a slow cooker meal; I will be using mine tomorrow. Last night, my husband cooked feta and chilli meatballs that had a leek based tomato sauce with bok choy and snow peas on the side. It was delicious. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Apr 14th, 2014 at 1:35pm
Just got back from the shops with the supplies for tonight's dinner. I'm going to lightly pan fry some swordfish, make an eggplant relish to go with it and a fennel radicchio and orange salad.
The shops were so busy - must be because of the school holidays - I was lucky to find a parking spot. Next time I think I'll walk unless I'm getting something heavy..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by miketrees on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:10pm
Anybody know what to do with asian eggplant, the yellow ones about the size of a tennis ball?
I have heaps of them. I also have industrial amounts of the orange sweet potato, they produce a hell of a lot of tubers. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Apr 16th, 2014 at 12:06am
Made a beef curry tonight. It's all gone now.....
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by WDKYMYS on Apr 16th, 2014 at 8:15pm miketrees wrote on Apr 14th, 2014 at 7:10pm:
If you have an abundant supply of veg maybe you could give them to friends, a soup kitchen or just eat mash for next 6 months /snerk/... sweet potato can be made into pies all kinds of things..go Google Mike. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by WDKYMYS on Apr 16th, 2014 at 8:18pm Frances wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 12:06am:
Curry is just so good. I had a Indian Curried chicken once in Sydney...I identified the ingredients by taste and it kind of worked out..came pretty close and I still love it to this day! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:36pm
Did something a but different tonight: Soba noodles (no, I didn't make the noodles - I bought them from the supermarket) which I mixed with 100g of smoked salmon (torn into small pieces, 50g of red caviar mixed with a bit of verjuice and four grated radishes. Then I put some pickled ginger and nori on top. I served it up with some steamed bok choy dressed with olive oil, salt and pepper.....
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by WDKYMYS on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:45pm
That sounds delicious..I love smoked salmon...and I love it in Sushi as well.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by WDKYMYS on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:46pm
Mike Trees..for your sweet potato glut !
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RT31MIWyILI |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:51pm
Bit early for dinner.
It's lunchtime here but I have a very nice cheese toastie.... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:06pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:51pm:
fine dining at its best. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:17pm The Mole wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 9:45pm:
I suppose it was a sort of deconstructed sushi. I based it on a recipe in a book by Kimiko Barber but I changed a few things: I used verjuice instead of saki (I wasn't going to buy a whole bottle of saki when I just needed a tablespoon of it), I used ordinary radishes (which I had in the fridge) instead of buying some daikon and I used lumpfish caviar instead of salmon caviar (it was all I could find locally). It was very well received..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:22pm
risotto with Porchini mushrooms for me tonight ...'
or as my 4yr old calls it 'rice with fungus' ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:27pm John Smith wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:22pm:
Not far removed from the original Italian 'risotto ai funghi'.... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:30pm John Smith wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:06pm:
Last week outside the Milano Duomo my choice was a McDonalds. I'm no food snob. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:30pm Frances wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:27pm:
thats the one ... although I suspect he may have got it from something I once said .... I still get that 'look' from the wife whenever he calls mushrooms fungus ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:32pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:30pm:
no food snob doesn't describe it , lunacy is a better suited word whats wrong with you? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by miketrees on Apr 16th, 2014 at 11:00pm
Thank you WDKYMYS.
I think I can do that recipe. I might work on a savory version as well. I made some batter and had north west snapper tonight. I used rice bran oil and it does not spit much at all. I cut potatoes into chips and while they were damp put them in a plastic bag with a tiny bit of flour and some Moroccan spice, I shook it around until the flour has stuck to the spud and had left no free moisture. I placed them in the hot oil for a short time then moved them onto a rack in a baking tray and put them in the oven to crisp them up. I also had sweet potato chips, but not coated with anything. Add some steamed broccoli and that was dinner. It was very nice, probably better than it sounds. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Apr 18th, 2014 at 10:55am
OK, the sofrito for tonights paella is done. Let that cool off then put into a container and put in fridge, flavors can infuse and mingle for hours.
http://www.myfamilyinspain.com/paella-con-conejo-y-salchicha/ I have a Spanish–style black pudding: pork, spices, pigs blood. No barley or wheat as in “normal” black puddings or bloedwurst (blood sausage.) That will go into the paella as well as an aged chorizo and some big prawns, also some very nice pine mushrooms. Buuurp!! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Apr 18th, 2014 at 11:06am
I had ribs from 'Mikes Kitchen' last night
Best ribs on the GC ... slow cooked for 24hrs .... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Apr 18th, 2014 at 11:43am
I smoke my ribs (yeah yeah, have to keep relighting them) 105°C in cooking chamber, takes 2 hours to cook the ribs. Best ribs are from feral boar but they must be basted—not much fat on them.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Apr 19th, 2014 at 10:03am John Smith wrote on Apr 16th, 2014 at 10:32pm:
I still dream of the pizza I had in Florence, frutti de la mere, cooked in a woodfired oven, superb! In Paris I made friends with a bunch of American students, one of who bought and complained about, a Big Mac EVERY NIGHT! Surrounded by wonderful food this idiot bought fast food every night. Another one got wasted on Algerian plonk every night—need to be 21 to drink in the land of the free. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Apr 19th, 2014 at 10:06am
The paella was magnificent! who knew blood sausage and seafood go well together?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by muso on Apr 19th, 2014 at 12:28pm St George of the Garden wrote on Apr 19th, 2014 at 10:03am:
If I was in Paris, my fast food choice would be Moules aux frites (Mussels with chips) or possibly a Sandwich Tunisien or Tunisian sandwich. A Tunisian sandwich is consists of half a baguette (or one of those square rolls, smeared with harissa (hot chilli paste), finely diced tomatoes, cucumbers, green capsicums, red onions, pickled radishes, chopped potatoes, tinned tuna fish broken up into chunks, green and black olives, red pickled chilli peppers, pickled vegetables known as torshi, olive oil, salt and pepper and a hard boiled egg chopped into chunks. They usually add a splash of fresh olive oil right at the end. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir Bobby on Apr 19th, 2014 at 12:43pm muso wrote on Apr 19th, 2014 at 12:28pm:
A Paris - if faut chosir un bœuf bourguignon - toujours. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Apr 20th, 2014 at 11:04am
Eating my easter eggs: two eggs poached in passata to which I added some duck stock and tsp chili flakes.
Bloody nice and really filling! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by ian on Apr 20th, 2014 at 11:07am
I ate yummy asian last night. Oh wait, this is a food thread.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Apr 20th, 2014 at 11:13am
Naughty Ian ;D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 8th, 2014 at 6:21pm
We are having Buffalo chicken wings with a blue cheese dipping sauce. Counting down the minutes until my husband gets home because I am starving.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 8th, 2014 at 6:46pm
Crab linguini with a lettuce and tomato - and for dessert I made some coffee ice cream.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 8th, 2014 at 6:58pm
tonight its Pizza, Capriociosa without the hairy fish
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 9th, 2014 at 11:44am
"Hairy fish" ???????????????????????
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 9th, 2014 at 11:47am Frances wrote on May 9th, 2014 at 11:44am:
Anchovy ..... ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 9th, 2014 at 11:54am John Smith wrote on May 9th, 2014 at 11:47am:
I rather like anchovies.................. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 9th, 2014 at 12:32pm Frances wrote on May 9th, 2014 at 11:54am:
Anchovies are great. Tonight we are apparently having chicken breast stuffed with some kind of nut mixture. I've just found no carb noodles, so we will be able to have stir frys again. I am overly excited by this. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 9th, 2014 at 12:36pm
Eating out tonight, so I don't have to worry about what's for dinner.....
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 9th, 2014 at 12:46pm Frances wrote on May 9th, 2014 at 12:36pm:
Before anyone asks, that was actually a reference to what's for dinner...... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 9th, 2014 at 12:52pm Frances wrote on May 9th, 2014 at 11:54am:
Up until 5 yrs ago, I couldn't/wouldn't eat any fish ... now I'm quite fond of fish but I still can't bring myself to eat anchovy |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 15th, 2014 at 2:33pm
I just finished making some lemon gelato for dessert. It tastes really good, although it's still a bit soft - a few hours in the freezer should take care of that.
I'll be making a quiche Lorraine tonight. It's too early to start on it now, but I have made the pastry and it's resting in the fridge for later. I'll pick a lettuce from the garden later on today for the salad. I might do some chips too, but I haven't decided on that yet..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 15th, 2014 at 2:37pm
been invited to dinner at the residence of a neighbour who who spent most of his working life working in 5 star restaurants in Italy but is now retired ...
'Pasta, aglio, olio e pepperoncini' ... (at my wifes request) expecting it to be good ....even better is his wine collection ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 15th, 2014 at 2:39pm Frances wrote on May 15th, 2014 at 2:33pm:
I'm hoping to get his gelato recepe while I'm there too ..... ;) ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 15th, 2014 at 2:41pm John Smith wrote on May 15th, 2014 at 2:37pm:
Sounds like my sort of food..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 15th, 2014 at 2:44pm Frances wrote on May 15th, 2014 at 2:41pm:
Not my first choice, a bit bland for my tastes ... but my wife absolutely loves it. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 15th, 2014 at 7:07pm Frances wrote on May 15th, 2014 at 2:33pm:
Then I remembered I bought some zucchini flowers (the ones that come with little zucchinis attached and not just the flowers) a couple of days ago - I battered them and then shallow fried them. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 15th, 2014 at 7:52pm
Individual size Beef Wellingtons, accompanied by Garlic Cubed Potato's, Honey Glazed Black Carrots and Ham Sauteed Brussel Sprouts.
Ice-Cream filled Glazed Cinnamon Apples for sweets ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by mattywisk on May 18th, 2014 at 4:18pm
Soup
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 18th, 2014 at 9:25pm
My home-made Pizza, lotsa Chilli and Garlic and other stuff, please observe.....
The toppings, sans Cheese With Parmesan and Mature Cheese added.. And finally, cooked |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 19th, 2014 at 1:05am
Whoa A.S, a work of art ;)
Did you make the base...? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by mantra on May 19th, 2014 at 8:12pm
I buy the lebanese bread for pizza bases. I use barbecue sauce, chicken or steak pieces, jalapenos, chili sauce, onion, capsicum, olives and cheese. They're crisp, crunchy and light and don't leave you with that sick feeling afterwards.
Example. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 12:12am The Mole wrote on May 19th, 2014 at 1:05am:
No, I cheat these days, buy a blank one from the supermarket and fill it myself. Just for full details, the ingredients were: Base sauce: Large heaped tablespoon finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes, 6 cloves of garlic finely chopped, spoonful Sweet Chilli sauce, ground pepper and salt, dash of oregano, thyme, basil, and rosemary, nuke for two minutes and beat together. Toppings: Ham Onion Spring Onion Capsicum(three different colours) Pepperoni Yellow tomatoes Pineapple Mushrooms Black Olives Anchovies Jalapeno Peppers Cheese: One third grated Parmesan, two thirds NZ Vintage Tasty. It tasted just as good as it looked too! :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 12:33am mantra wrote on May 19th, 2014 at 8:12pm:
I've used Lebread too at times, when I'm in the mood for crispy. Prawns and capers, with cucumber, capsicum,olives,anchovies and Jalapenos, yum Or with strips of beef or pork,( just about the only time I use BBQ sauce but bl**dy great way to do so), with onions, mushrooms and etc Lotsa cheese on both the above of course :P I always use the base sauce in my previous post, but I do add a spoonful of tomato paste to it for the meat one makes a nice counter-point to the BBQ sauce. ;) ATT00013_001.gif (35 KB | 90
) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 20th, 2014 at 12:36am
I was asked to make a pizza for tomorrow's dinner, and I was told it had to have prosciutto and mushrooms on it. I guess I'll have to post more information tomorrow.......
Tonight's dinner was baked salmon fillets on a bed of lightly pan fried croutons, parsley and lemon segments, a lettuce and tomato salad, and thinly sliced fennel. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 12:40am Frances wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 12:36am:
Musta been a fish night, I made lemon-pepper calamari with chilli-chips, salad and homemade tartare. :P Try making my base sauce for your pizza? Add a small amount of tomato paste if you prefer a stronger tomato flavour, no recipe is ever carved in stone. ;) It's rather nice, even if I do say so myself ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 20th, 2014 at 1:06am
We'll see what I use tomorrow.
I usually spread some tomato paste on the base and sprinkle on some olive oil and oregano (and then the other toppings of course). I have on occasions, used ajvar instead - it tastes really good but it doesn't stick too well to the base.... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 20th, 2014 at 1:41am mantra wrote on May 19th, 2014 at 8:12pm:
This Pizza looks delicious Mantra and thanks for that tip about the lebanese bread. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 20th, 2014 at 1:42am
I love Calamari..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by cods on May 20th, 2014 at 8:35am Frances wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:06am:
have you tried Basil on your pizza.. yummy.I also have to have pepperoni... I like things hot. ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 20th, 2014 at 9:10am
I normally only use basil if I'm making a Margherita. It seems to work better with tomato than with other toppings - if you use just a little bit maybe, but too much and the flavour can be a bit too strong.
I do sometimes sprinkle some fresh rocket on the pizzas after they come out of the oven. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 20th, 2014 at 9:14am
Some of the things I'd never had before I got married, but have since tried:
- Chicken livers - I'd previously only had them in pate. I don't generally eat pork products, so my husband makes a delicious pate without - he uses duck fat. - Duck - Beef cheeks - Lamb neck - Kangaroo - Tomato jam We also make our own chicken banh mi, which are the yummiest things ever. I can't eat them anymore because I don't eat bread, but they were so good. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 11:22am cods wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 8:35am:
Indeedy, it's an essential ingredient in my base sauce, and an occasional topping, Pizza just wouldn't be the same without it. You're right about the taste too, too much and it overpowers the more subtle ingredients. Thyme is another herb like that, the sweetness and gentility of it enhances many of the other ingredients, it's catalytic in a way. ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 11:32am Lord Herbert wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 9:42am:
Next time you do one, try this? Find a rosemary bush and harvest a few long strands, add fresh thyme and a little bit of fresh mint, tie loosely around the chook and drizzle honey over it all, then cook and baste just as you usually do. Adds a piquancy that's delightful! This is a great tool for chooks, or any bird, it can be a bit hard to find, try professional catering suppliers, it's worth the effort/expense though, produces an evenly cooked and golden bird like nothing else can! Chooky.jpg (53 KB | 82
) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 20th, 2014 at 11:53am
;D ;D ;D
Thanks, Aus. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 3:22pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 11:53am:
Did you use stuffing? There's plenty of good recipes for it around, mostly all good, it's hard to stuff up, if you'll pardon the pun ;D I don't have a particular recipe I use for it any more, I just shred the bread and use whatever I have handy, as I said, it's easy. Grated orange peel is always a nice touch, as is thyme(actually, any herb or combination of herbs you like works well), lots of S&P, bacon/ham, onion, garlic, if you've got it, try it, there's little that doesn't go well, short of a dead cat! ;D (Even that would probably work with enough Garlic added! ;D) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 3:56pm
More years ago than I care to contemplate I saw an unusual Greek recipe/cooking method, for chicken on a TV show.
Across that time since I've asked various other Chefs and quite a few Greeks but have never found anyone that knew of it. It involves KILO'S of Rock Salt. It's very simple, you just pour a heap of the rock salt into a large pan and plonk the chicken on top, then completely cover it with the rest, until it's entirely encased in rock salt! Cook the same as normal, use a hammer to break it free and munch on. So, anyone here ever run across it, or tried it, perhaps tasted it? :o I've never quite got around to trying to do it myself, yet, but I may soon, just out of curiosity if nothing else. :P Anyone? :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 20th, 2014 at 4:06pm austranger wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 3:56pm:
No, but my husband does this weird and wonderful thing with whole chickens. He makes like a stock - I know it has heaps of soy sauce. Then (I think) he brings it to the boil and turns it off, leaving it to sit in the stock for a couple of hours while it cools. I was hesitant about it at first because I wondered if it was cooked through, but it was the most delicious, succulent chicken I've ever eaten. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 20th, 2014 at 5:18pm Annie Anthrax wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 4:06pm:
Ah yes, this is one of my specialties, but I do this with chicken wings. Also pop into the simmering pot some aniseed stars. You just suck the flesh off the bones. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 20th, 2014 at 5:20pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 5:18pm:
Yes! He puts those in too. I'll have to ask him what else is in it when he gets home. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 20th, 2014 at 5:21pm austranger wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 3:22pm:
Nope. Unfortunately there's just lil ol' me here, and so cooking elaborate meals for myself is just way too sad-and-lonely. *sob* But my borscht is to die for. My own recipe. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 20th, 2014 at 5:23pm Annie Anthrax wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 5:20pm:
I'll post my recipe tomorrow ... very simple and easy to do. When cooked, I put the chicken wings into a big bowl and suck the flesh off them while I'm watching a good movie on TV. Strictly hands only, and a damp towel. To die for. I have to lock my cats in the bathroom for 30 ... 40 minutes. Strangely, I haven't made it work with chicken thighs. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 6:19pm
I do what I labelled "Scarborough Wings"
Remember that song Scarborough Fair? I put the wings in a dish with white wine (I prefer Fruity Lexia but any will do), parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme (s&p too), then place in a warm oven to slowly steam off the wine, turning occasionally, they end up black, sticky, and delicious. I've sold them in restaurants as an entree with quite some success. 8-) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 20th, 2014 at 6:47pm
Some great chicken recipe ideas there.Yum
One I learned a few years ago: You cook a whole chicken in a large pot until it is falling off the bone.. let cool in liquid and then de-bone the chicken...put aside and reserve stock. In the bottom of a large deep pan, gently heat 50-100 mls oil ( or more) ..add to that 6 cloves of finely chopped to gently infuse into the oil on a VERY low heat ! Do not burn your garlic, it must never brown !,Add about 2 large tablespoons of plain flour and stir to make a paste on aVERY low heat stir in 1/2- full small jar tomato paste ( has to be Leggos) and then gently and slowly add back the stock to pan/pot. making a thick gravy...when gravy is gently bubbling and thickish,add torn and peices of chicken...and cook gently for about 30 minutes..add salt to taste. Do not use cheap tomato paste in this dish...the flavour will suffer . Serve in a shallow bowl with crusty bread roll and a tomato based salad. This is really good and so easy. I don't what this is called but I call tomato garlic chicken, very original I know ::) Garlic that is burned will spoil your dish. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 20th, 2014 at 6:48pm
Here's what I got up to today:
One pizza ended up a bit more like a focaccia - plain base with sliced heirloom tomatoes and pitted kalamata olives, sprinkled with some olive oil, herbs and salt - when it's almost ready I'm going to put some fresh basil on top. For the other one I spread one sachet of tomato paste on the base, followed by chopped tomato (the irregularly shaped bits from the tomatoes I used in the other one), a sprinkling of olive oil and oregano, sliced mushrooms, prosciutto and some mozzarella on top. I decided to make some biscuits while I was waiting for the dough to rise..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 20th, 2014 at 6:52pm Frances wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 6:48pm:
A big day,everything looks looks delicious ~ :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 8:16pm
Strewth this is fun!
AG, that sounds like a sort of Cacciatore, but different in that you steep the chicken rather than saute it, and I reckon I'll try that one for my Mum, it should go a treat. :) I'd happily scoff Frances's pizzas too, I was despairing of people cooking much these days, you've restored my faith! ;) I was feeling lazy tonight, it was a long day, so I simply saute'd some Scotch Fillet in Garlic with some little tomatoes and did ordinary steamed veg to go with. Still yummy tho', I do love my garlic, lol. DinDins.jpg (205 KB | 55
) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 20th, 2014 at 8:41pm
Nice, Aus. Is that Sweet Potato? I love Sweet Potato but had to give it up because it promotes kidney stones ~ of which I've had a few.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 20th, 2014 at 9:27pm
Love steak Aus. and that looks really good...that is boiled pumpkin I think Lord Herbert
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by ian on May 20th, 2014 at 10:38pm
marinated pork roast cooked on the webber.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 20th, 2014 at 11:00pm
Weber roast pork makes the best crackling in the world...yum!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 21st, 2014 at 8:59am The Mole wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 9:27pm:
Fabulous. Love the stuff. Swede I'm not too keen on, nor parsnip or turnips. Calamari I don't touch with a barge pole. Looks and tastes too much like the last surviving piece of a used condom. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 21st, 2014 at 9:09am Lord Herbert wrote on May 21st, 2014 at 8:59am:
Never having eaten one, I don't know what a used condom tastes like but I would hazard a guess that the calamari you have tried have been overcooked. If calamari is overcooked it goes hard and rubbery very quickly. Cooked properly, calamari is wonderful. Overcooked or undercooked, the only place for it is in the garbage bin. The best calamari I have ever had was from the Rockpool Bar & Grill in Sydney. The second best calamari I have ever had was in Caruso's Italian Restaurant in Gymea. I would recommend both. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 21st, 2014 at 11:21am Frances wrote on May 21st, 2014 at 9:09am:
Careful with your wording here, Frances ... OzPol is a family program. 8-) Frances wrote on May 21st, 2014 at 9:09am:
I believe they're rolled out in all different colours, flavours and textures nowadays to attract the more bohemian type of customer ~ the ones who demand something a little more 'edgy' and exotic. I'm talking about calamari of course. 8-) Frances wrote on May 21st, 2014 at 9:09am:
Okay ~ you've convinced me, I'll try it next time. I've never had it before. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 21st, 2014 at 2:00pm
That was steamed Q'land Blue pumpkin.
Calamari: Whichever way you cook it you should do it for no more than 20-30 SECONDS! Otherwise, low heat and at least 2 hours. I knew a lady that used to use condoms(hopefully fresh from the packet) to pack rice and other ingredients into and steam them, I found that disgusting and never tried them so I can't comment on the results, lol, but they sure looked odd. :o (Yes, she removed the things before serving, lol) Webbers: Gods flamin' gift to BBQ's, I've had and used several over the years, great for just about anything. Pork crackling to die for! :P One thing I did back in my time with the rug-rats. We had a rocky backyard, so I used a rented jack-hammer to dig out a grave-sized pit for Hungies, then used the resultant rubble and re-cycled bricks to build a wood-fired spit-roaster big enough for whole pigs or sheep, or half a cow, the spit was driven by a geared down starter-motor from a HQ, powered through a transformer from mains power. For some strange reason my BBQ parties were very popular after that, both got used often for such events, especially Christmas Day. 8-) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:02am
Last night was spaghetti and meatballs. The meatballs were pretty straightforward - I just used some lean mince and mixed in a bit of egg and breadcrumb to help bind them - but I put a few extra things in with the tomato: sliced shallots, garlic, red chilli, chopped coriander, chick peas and harissa. Served it up with a salad.
I haven't decided what to make for tonight and I haven't had any requests either - maybe an omelette? Haven't done one for a while..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:00pm Frances wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 8:02am:
Mein Gott! You MUST be in love. :-* Google: harissa is a Tunisian hot Chili pepper paste whose main ingredients are roasted red peppers, serrano peppers and other hot chili peppers and ... : The serrano pepper (Capsicum annuum) is a type of chili pepper that originated in the mountainous regions of the Mexican states of Puebla and Hidalgo. Keep up the good work, Frances. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:17pm
Tonight its whatever's in the fridge or starve ;D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Frances on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:17pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:00pm:
Yes, that and I had just been down to DFO at Homebush in the morning and spent $180 on some clothes.... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:23pm Frances wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 3:17pm:
Jesus, Frances ~ STOP making me have to Google every one of your posts to know what you're talking about. Community Announcement on behalf of Frances: 'DFO' : 'With big brands and big savings of up to 70%, DFO (Direct Factory Outlets) is the best place for shopping for shoes, clothes, luggage, sunglasses and other ... ' Direct Factory Outlets. :) I hope you enjoyed your RT. 8-) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by austranger on May 22nd, 2014 at 11:09pm
Tonight I did a traditional Farmhouse Beef Stew.
Cubed and browned Rump cooked slow and low with diced veggies for a couple of hours. Pro-tip: The secret to a truly delicious beef stew is in the veggies, not the meat. Tonight I used the following. Potato Onion Carrot Pumpkin Mushrooms 1 Stick Celery Swede Turnip Parsnip Tiny bits of garlic and capsicum, just for the tincture they add Herbs: Parsley, Thyme, Rosemary, only tiny amounts, avoid using too much. S&P Beef Stock (I prefer the Massel brand these days, far better than most) Use just enough Stock to barely cover the mixture Dash of Worcestershire sauce Halfway through cooking I mix a small spoonful of flour with water and add to the stew, just to thicken it slightly. Brown the meat, add the veg etc and brown some more, then add the stock and set to simmering. Now, many people these days turn up their noses at Turnips, Swedes and even Parsnips, yet it's these that give a stew, (and Pasties) their true flavour, without them such mixtures are just boring. Those "Soup Mix" bundles they often sell in Greengrocers, and supermarkets, are usually just about the right quantity for a home stew or family size Pastie. Make sure they have all those veg' though, or just buy one of each, roughly all the same size. Hope you enjoy, I certainly did. ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 30th, 2014 at 10:46am
We've had salad for dinner every night this week. Last night it had little garfish, tofu, fresh beetroot, cabbage, feta cheese, tomato, baby capsicum with a poached egg on top and a mayonnaise dressing.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 30th, 2014 at 12:15pm Annie Anthrax wrote on May 30th, 2014 at 10:46am:
Sounds delish ~ and that was only Thursday night. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 30th, 2014 at 12:43pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 30th, 2014 at 12:15pm:
It really was. :) I am told tonight will be much the same, but with salt and pepper calamari instead of or in addition to the garfish. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 30th, 2014 at 1:16pm Annie Anthrax wrote on May 30th, 2014 at 12:43pm:
Oh NO! ~ not those rubber rings again?! They're only good for holding up short white socks and making a pony-tail of long hair. Whooa! Didn't you cook/prepare that salad dinner last night? >:( I thought it was you. I was in complimentary mood in my last post ~~ but you cheated. It was a restaurant meal. >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on May 30th, 2014 at 1:41pm
No it wasn't. My husband is the chef. I do the dishes and clean up after him. He has a very artistic flair when cooking so it's by no means an easy task ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 30th, 2014 at 2:28pm Annie Anthrax wrote on May 30th, 2014 at 1:41pm:
Oh. :-? Well okay then. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 30th, 2014 at 8:49pm Annie Anthrax wrote on May 30th, 2014 at 1:41pm:
can you have a chat to my wife please .... why is it when I cook, I still have to do the dishes and clean up? sure, not a lot of artisitc flair when I cook , but still ... I fell like I'm being ripped off! ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 31st, 2014 at 12:03pm
Tonight it's 3 soft-boiled eggs with salt and ground peppercorn ~ followed by a generous helping of Rum 'n Raisin icecream topped of with molten chocolate.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 31st, 2014 at 1:29pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 12:03pm:
The best kind of meal, easy, please yourself and , next to no washing up. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by mantra on May 31st, 2014 at 1:45pm
Yes it's great if you don't have to cook for anyone else. I love it, but feel guilty if I cook a meal for myself knowing that someone might come in later and smell that I've cooked something without considering them. Even the cats look at me sadly as if I should have shared that juicy piece of rump steak with them.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 31st, 2014 at 2:00pm mantra wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 1:45pm:
Mantra you are a softie. I consider myself a good cook and if my kids turn their nose up then they can make their own and sometimes they do. Palates change as we grow so what they liked as very small kids, they might no longer like. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 31st, 2014 at 2:05pm The Mole wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 1:29pm:
Exactly. But to be perfectly honest, the washing-up chores have stopped being a problem ever since my neighbour very kindly bought me a dish-washer. Ever since then my plates and bowls have always been sparkling clean and not even in need of drying. Let me know if you'd like to see a picture of this dish washer. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 31st, 2014 at 2:09pm
If you want to post a pic of your dishwasher Lord Herbet, then I want to see it. I am the dishwasher in my house I'm afraid.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 31st, 2014 at 2:12pm mantra wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 1:45pm:
Oh yes. I get that look occasionally. Gizmo and Muffin are totally trained because I've had them since they were tiny little critters ~ one word: "NO!" ~ and they turn away and don't stare any more. I'm proud of them. But Sooty came to me as an adult ... and sooooooo... in order for me to enjoy my meal it's first necessary that I deposit him outside the house with the cat-flaps temporarily locked. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 31st, 2014 at 2:20pm The Mole wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 2:09pm:
Well, it's very kind of you to let me show you my latest kitchen gadget, even though strictly speaking it's not located inside the kitchen itself. I'm rather proud of my dish-washer as I've never had one before. It's quite a novelty for me to no longer need to splash around in the kitchen sink getting all the gravy and stuff off my plates. Well .... here it is ... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 31st, 2014 at 2:24pm
I just knew you were up to something, very cute Lord Herbet ;) ;D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on May 31st, 2014 at 2:33pm The Mole wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 2:24pm:
Who? Me? Up to something? How DARE YOU?!! His name is 'Luigi', and we love each other. It's quite sickening. Possibly one of the best-natured dogs I've even known in my entire life. But his daughter isn't quite so user-friendly. She nips instead of licks. She yelps with delirious 'joy' whenever I approach the back-fence to give them a pat and some leftovers, but her mouth is a bit 'gnashy' and nibbly at my hand. I wouldn't trust her alone with a small daughter of mine. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 31st, 2014 at 6:25pm
Spinach and Ricotta pasta bake. 8-)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 31st, 2014 at 6:29pm John Smith wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 6:25pm:
That sounds yum and my son would love it...do you have favorite recipe for this one John? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on May 31st, 2014 at 6:31pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 2:33pm:
Maybe she needs a dog obedience training Lord Herbet? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 31st, 2014 at 6:33pm The Mole wrote on May 31st, 2014 at 6:29pm:
yeah, it's pretty easy to remember step 1. add wife to kitchen step 2. padlock chain to her ankle step 3. tell her to cook ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on May 31st, 2014 at 6:34pm
seriously, i't's the wifes recipe .... I wouldn't have a clue how it's done ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 1st, 2014 at 2:49am
Well there are few recipes online, I'm going to try one, they look pretty good.
I just had toast and hot chocolate. Not very satisfying but at this time of night, it will have to do. :-? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 1st, 2014 at 8:53pm
Had a very simple dinner tonight, a plough man's with washed down with fresh squeezed juice....so good. The Chorizo was very nice ! Lots of paprika.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:03pm
stuffed capsicum tonight, one of my favourites ...
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:09pm
A tin of sardines on toast for me tonight. :)
And tomorrow for breakfast I'll be having, well, sardines on toast again. :-? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:11pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:09pm:
Sorry herb, but for me, that's tragic ...... whats the point of living if you can't eat well ?..... doesn't mean you have to eat fancy, but a can of sardines? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:11pm John Smith wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:03pm:
Used to be fave of mine John, cooked in home made tomatoe simmer sauce. Haven't had it for a while. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:12pm John Smith wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:11pm:
It's a lot cheaper than getting married. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:14pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:12pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D touche she doesn't do all the cooking Herb ... we generally split it 50/50 |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:14pm The Mole wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:11pm:
simmer sauce? I just throw in a can of chopped tomatoes ....... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 1st, 2014 at 9:51pm
Ok I used to throw in some tarragon and parsely, maybe some rosemary..but chopped tomatoes, all good.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by ian on Jun 1st, 2014 at 10:57pm
laksa and spicy fried chicken pieces.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:03pm ian wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 10:57pm:
So your pretty good in the kitchen Ian, cos that sound's delicious. ? :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by greggerypeccary on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:04pm Wanton soup and fried squid tentacles. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by ian on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:12pm The Mole wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:03pm:
It was delicious but I didnt cook it although it was freshly home made. Im quite spoilt really. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by ian on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:17pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:04pm:
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 2nd, 2014 at 8:12am greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:04pm:
Is the rest of the squid released back into the water? God, I hope not. ** No one's asked for my borscht recipe yet. :-/ |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 2nd, 2014 at 8:14am ian wrote on Jun 1st, 2014 at 11:17pm:
Northbridge? That's Sydney's richest suburb. You've done all right for a pugilist, Ian. Don't forget your friends in your will .... :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 25th, 2014 at 7:41pm
Very lazy dinner tonight...soup -pea and ham ( Italian soup mix) and an avacado eaten straight from the skin...
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 25th, 2014 at 7:56pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 2nd, 2014 at 8:12am:
Herbert? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by ian on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:00pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 2nd, 2014 at 8:14am:
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:15pm ian wrote on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:00pm:
That sounds mighty tempting. My 85 year old widowed neighbour made me a plastic container of apple sauce. She thought I would eat it up with a spoon, but I had other ideas. I bought some pork chops on Special today, and I'll be cooking them tomorrow to go with the apple sauce. I roasted my first rump steak a couple of days ago. (Yes, I'm a late starter). Rubbed salt into them, then pan-seared them on both sides ... and then popped them in the oven at 200 deg for 12 minutes ... turning them over at 6. Rested them for 30 minutes ... then popped half in the fridge and put the rest on the plate with some nice boiled Desiree potatoes. Next time I think I'll 'rest' all of it overnight in the fridge and heat up what I want to eat next day. That 'resting' step is very important to take the chewiness out of steaks. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:17pm The Mole wrote on Jun 25th, 2014 at 7:56pm:
Yes, A.G. ~ you called? ::) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:30pm
ha ha Herbert, your Borscht recipe , please ?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:33pm The Mole wrote on Jun 25th, 2014 at 8:30pm:
Thanks for asking. I'll post it tomorrow when I have more time. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 25th, 2014 at 9:26pm
Tonight I cooked Scotch fillet with Mascarpone cream mushroom sauce , mash, corn on the cob and a tomatoe, cos lettuce, roasted capsicum salad with and balsamic dressing....
I only used Mascarpone because I hadn't any normal cream, Í've never used it for sauces previously, and I'm happy to say it turned out rather good .... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 25th, 2014 at 9:56pm
Sounds so delicious John... might try that this week
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 25th, 2014 at 9:59pm The Mole wrote on Jun 25th, 2014 at 9:56pm:
it was .... even the kids ate it all up! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 26th, 2014 at 5:47pm John Smith wrote on Jun 25th, 2014 at 9:59pm:
With their spinach? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2014 at 5:50pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 5:47pm:
Spinach tonight ... Spinach and Ricotta pasta bake |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 26th, 2014 at 5:58pm John Smith wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 5:50pm:
Good stuff, John. If only you guys could play football. I feel like biting your shoulder ... :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:42pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 5:58pm:
'we kicked your arse Herb ;D ;D ;D ;D ... or did you miss that one? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:44pm
Ox tail and vegetable soup here. I've never tried ox tail before and I'm a bit apprehensive about the texture of the meat.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:46pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:44pm:
Sounds interesting ..... don't think I've ever tried ox tail ... I'd imagine it tastes like beef. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:47pm John Smith wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:42pm:
'we kicked your arse Herb ;D ;D ;D ;D ... or did you miss that one? [/quote] Don't know what you're talking about. ::) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:48pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:47pm:
selective dementia ... you should have been a politician |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:56pm |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 27th, 2014 at 7:17am John Smith wrote on Jun 26th, 2014 at 7:46pm:
It was really good. The texture and taste were very similar to beef cheeks. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 27th, 2014 at 8:54am Annie Anthrax wrote on Jun 27th, 2014 at 7:17am:
Don't remind me. I lived in lodgings in Enmore ... just down the road from Newtown railway station ... where we had a weirdo American living there who seemed to eat nothing but Ox tongues cooked in a pressure cooker. Stunk the whole three-storey house out. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 30th, 2014 at 7:44pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 27th, 2014 at 8:54am:
Pressure cooker food is delicious.. I have to get me one soon. ;) Had pea and ham soup for dinner... I didn't ruin it this time...ie: I didn't use the smoke alarm as a timer ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 30th, 2014 at 8:00pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Jun 27th, 2014 at 7:17am:
Oxtail is delicious Annie... I love it. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 30th, 2014 at 8:48pm
As promised:
'Borscht' ~ Herbert style. Serves 5. 3lt water in big pot. Add to pot ... (slice and dice the veggies to bite-size proportions) 4 onions/ carrots / and Desiree potatoes (they don't break-up with simmering). ½ bunch of celery. ¼ head of cabbage. Tin of Beetroot. Sliced and diced Stewing Steak ~ fat trimmed off. *** Add to pot ... 1x Dollop of Butter Teaspoon ... ½ ... Hot Chilli paste ½ ... Curry Powder 2 ... salt 2 ... Garlic Paste 2 ... Ginger Paste Tablespoon .. 2 ... Sesame Oil 4 ... Kikkoman Soya Sauce (The best brand) 5 ... Sweet Chilli Sauce 4 cubes of Continental Beef Stock Simmer for 40 minutes with the lid off. Don't add more water. Stir occasionally. Eat with buttered crusty rolls. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 30th, 2014 at 8:55pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 30th, 2014 at 8:48pm:
Sounds delicious Lord Herbert. Collecting soup recipes for winter...that is one I will def make.. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:17pm The Mole wrote on Jun 30th, 2014 at 8:55pm:
That's very kind of you to say so. All I can say is that I love this particular concoction which evolved in my kitchen after a few years of trial and error. I'd very much appreciate any criticism or advice about it. Don't think I'll be 'offended'. Progress comes through receiving honest opinion. :) (My Chinese Chicken wings are to die for ... ) :-* |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:25pm Quote:
So when your ready ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:36pm
Chicken soup tonight
I'm not really a soup kind of guy, I avoid it like the plague ... but given todays weather, even I was glad for it. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:46pm John Smith wrote on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:36pm:
Soup is so easy John and as our winters are so short I love to take advantage of all the comfort fireside foods.. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:53pm The Mole wrote on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:46pm:
it was even easier than normal ... wifes got a new thermal cooker so it took 10 mintues of prep, and then walk away ... you don't even have to turn the thing on and off. ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jun 30th, 2014 at 10:15pm John Smith wrote on Jun 30th, 2014 at 9:53pm:
I want one of those and I wouldn't mind a new pressure cooker either...set and forget, the best way to cook. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:02pm
Very late dinner tonight...2 creamy avocados in a bed of cos lettuce etc- pumpkin soup and croutons-light and cheerful but really good. :P
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2014 at 7:41am
I'm 'going Greek' today: Green olives stuffed with feta for lunch.
:) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 2nd, 2014 at 11:25am
Oh yum, I love olives in all forms.. love Greek food, so healthy I am kind of ticked off that my 2 attempts at Moussakka did not go well...disappointing to say the least. Winter is the perfect time to try again I say ;)
Enjoy the Olives L.H. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 28th, 2014 at 3:56am
I have again sampled quite recently something I had quiet a while ago.. Steak Tartare... It was then just a good quality raw steak fresh and cut into small cubes...then put in a bowl with very finely chopped onion a dash of rum and then Tabasco sauce, so there is just enough liquid to cover the meat.
I somehow think it tasted better then than it does now to me..my palate may have changed because not as nice as I remember :-/ |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2014 at 6:14am The Mole wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 3:56am:
I cooked myself a delicious T-Bone steak. Rubbed salt & pepper in it ... let it sit for 5 minutes ... then under the griller for 3 mins each side ... then let it rest for 10 minutes. Expensive though. You don't get much meat for your $5.50. Had it with Dutch carrots and red Desireé potatoes. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 28th, 2014 at 5:50pm
You get a T-Bone for $5.50 :o ... consider yourself very lucky..we pay on average $10-12 for one steak.. I don't eat much red meat but I have a strapping son who loves steak...
I try a cheaper cut here and there but he is wholly not impressed. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 28th, 2014 at 7:40pm The Mole wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 5:50pm:
the cheaper cuts are often the tastiest ... just more difficult to cook slow cooking works great with the cheaper cuts if done right as it guarantees the meat is tender |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 28th, 2014 at 7:42pm
today terriyaki chicken wings with mash and a mixed salad made up of capsicum, avocado, shredded carrot, lettuce and roma tomatoes with an olive oil and balsamic dressing .... just as I'm writing this I realise I forgot the red onion ::) ::) ... oh well, next time ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2014 at 8:12pm The Mole wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 5:50pm:
It was $11 for two good-sized T-Bone steaks. I actually thought that was expensive. :o I was treating myself. Normally I don't buy meat at all except as the occasional treat. If I won the lottery I would have a great big rump steak every day of the year! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2014 at 8:19pm John Smith wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 7:42pm:
Sounds good. The art of cooking sliced onion rings so they become sweet-tasting is something I only recently discovered. Slow-cook in a pan for 40 minutes in a little olive oil. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lionel Edriess on Jul 28th, 2014 at 8:46pm Crow! I've gotta stop posting! ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:15pm Lionel Edriess wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 8:46pm:
;D oh I don't know so much ..there are recipes for crow that would make your mouth water ... http://bertc.com/subfive/recipes/threecrows.htm |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:16pm The Mole wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:15pm:
I thought you were kidding ... then I clicked on the link :o :o :o :o |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:17pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 8:19pm:
Caramelised onion is delicious...and very full flavoured. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:18pm John Smith wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:16pm:
LOL John, I never joke about crow... ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:21pm The Mole wrote on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:18pm:
Remind me to never accept any offer of dinner at your place .... :o :o nothing personal ;);D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:37pm
Yep it's Crow pie with a red wine au jus and baby Courgettes at my house..7 sharp tomorrow night..bring a doggie bag John. :)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lionel Edriess on Jul 28th, 2014 at 11:40pm
Now look at what I've started - everyone's ravin' about crow.
::) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 29th, 2014 at 7:32am
c1744 ...
Sing a song of sixpence, A pocket full of rye. Four and twenty blackbirds, Baked in a pie. When the pie was opened, The birds began to sing; Wasn't that a dainty dish, To set before the king? The king was in his counting house, Counting out his money; The queen was in the parlour, Eating bread and honey. The maid was in the garden, Hanging out the clothes, When down came a blackbird And pecked off her nose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GzPcGGE-z0 |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 29th, 2014 at 9:50pm
There should be "like" buttons here just like there is in Facebook...cos I like that LH...
:) Tonight I had a weird mix of bits and pieces..just what ever is left in the fridge really. I ate it outside as I watched the first quarter of the new moon...mandarins and cheese is rather delightful eaten under a quarter moon.. :-? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2014 at 9:54pm The Mole wrote on Jul 29th, 2014 at 9:50pm:
sing that to one of my boys every second night (wifey and I alternate between the 2 boys) ..... that and a whole list of other nursery rhymes ::) ::) ::) good thing this forum is anonymous ... if only my mates knew , my reputation would be shot forever ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2014 at 9:55pm
tonight was penne napolitana with garlic bread
just something I whipped up at the last minute ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:04pm
Well now I'm jealous...good thing I am no longer hungry..but well it was good cheese so not all bad..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:10pm The Mole wrote on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:04pm:
I would invite you to try some, but I'm still recovering from that crow .... ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:15pm
ha ha...I happen to think that was a great recipe.. I might even try it one day, maybe when my favourite relatives come to visit..and to prove I am a considerate hostess I will only give them the drumsticks.. ;D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:43pm The Mole wrote on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:15pm:
be sure to wait until after they finish eating before you tell them what it is or you may have an oversupply of leftovers ::) although I will admit, I would at least taste it ... ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 29th, 2014 at 10:57pm
Good for you John...we should taste everything once... ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 30th, 2014 at 1:03pm
A friend of mine used to drink hot water in the morning instead of tea and coffee...I ran out of tea one morning and tried it..a refreshing start to my day esp: when a little lemon squeezed into it..sometimes add honey and ginger, delicious.. I haven't drunk tea since..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 30th, 2014 at 1:06pm The Mole wrote on Jul 30th, 2014 at 1:03pm:
I do the same nowadays .. only it's cold water with a few heart tablets in it ... (shaken, not stirred) ... :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 30th, 2014 at 1:11pm
Your such a smoothie LH...ha ha
I find that the tannin in tea has its own set of problems as well..actually interferes with the absorbtion of some vitamins /iron...well we don't need that do we? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 30th, 2014 at 1:17pm The Mole wrote on Jul 30th, 2014 at 1:11pm:
Black tea helps develop kidney stones. And spinach. Just saying. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Jul 30th, 2014 at 9:38pm
When you eat spinach you can actually feel a layer of "something" that coats your tongue and teeth, same sometimes with tea...its not a nice feel and that it inhibits absorbtion is not surprising...
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 1st, 2014 at 8:30pm
Someone suggested I try lambs brains hello..revolting?
he said they are delicious...eeeww |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2014 at 8:38pm The Mole wrote on Aug 1st, 2014 at 8:30pm:
Baaa humbug! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 1st, 2014 at 8:54pm
ok well that's sounds definitive, so brains gone..so its eggs on toast..missed dinner so a late supper now with a beer.. ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Aussie on Aug 1st, 2014 at 9:42pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 1st, 2014 at 8:38pm:
Crumbed lamb brains....fried in lard...........tomato sauce..........best meal evah. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 2nd, 2014 at 8:23am Aussie wrote on Aug 1st, 2014 at 9:42pm:
Monkey's brains are better ~ and fresher. The Chinese waiter brings the monkey to you for your inspection, holding it in his arms while it chews on a peanut and blinks at you. And then the waiter guillotines the top of its head and hands you a pair of chopsticks and some soya sauce, with a side order of shishkebabed toilet insects gently roasted, and dipped in black bean sauce. To die for. 8-) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 8th, 2014 at 9:14pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 2nd, 2014 at 8:23am:
The first time I heard of the practice, I was absolutely horrified...even now it still deeply disturbs me...who could do that for any reason ? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 8th, 2014 at 9:16pm Aussie wrote on Aug 1st, 2014 at 9:42pm:
Ok and heart stopping I bet ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 8th, 2014 at 9:30pm
farfalle with bolognaise sauce tonight ... something simple to keep the kids happy. They love the little 'butterflies' ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 9th, 2014 at 7:41am The Mole wrote on Aug 8th, 2014 at 9:14pm:
Okay, but then again, have you heard lobsters screaming as they drop them into boiling water ... ?? You're supposed to anaesthetise the lobsters by freezing them overnight in the freezer before boiling them ... but how many restaurants have them swimming in a big tank for the customers to chose from before plunging them into boiling water? ********** Spaghetti ... with a tin of 'Spaghetti Mince Sauce' .... and Parmesan cheese sprinkled liberally over the lot. To die for. I love Chinese food. I always wear a bib while I'm eating this Chinese food because there's a lot of splashing as some of the pasta worms drop back onto the plate or whip up onto my face and stick there if I suck these worms up too hard. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lionel Edriess on Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:55pm
Usual early Sunday routine here. Down to the shopping centre to buy the newspaper, 2 fresh sesame rolls, best sliced ham, a few of slices of jarlsburg cheese, a special tomato and a red onion.
Read the paper with a cuppa, two fresh rolls and a few rays. Heaven! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 10th, 2014 at 6:18pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 9th, 2014 at 7:41am:
what's wrong with you? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 10th, 2014 at 8:24pm Lionel Edriess wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:55pm:
Norwegian Jarlsburg is good 'n tasty. A bit pricey, so I go easy on it. But I've got some delicious 'King Island Dairy Roaring Forties Blue' and some wonderful 'Maasdam' cheese waiting for me in the fridge right now. This 'Blue' stinks like a bad case of trench-foot, but it's beautifully tangy, sharpish, and goes down well mounted on a dry and sugarless wheat biscuit. The Maasdam is almost 'the perfect cheese'. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:31pm John Smith wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 6:18pm:
Wass up John, sounds perfectly normal to me ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:37pm The Mole wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:31pm:
anyone who gets sauce from a tin needs their head read ... sauces are so easy to make, why would you use processed crap? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lionel Edriess on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:42pm The Mole wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:31pm:
Special Saturday breakfast: 1 x TIN of Heinz baked beans, augmented with some diced bacon and champignons, splash of Worcestershire - tipped onto a poached egg on toast. And a beer. Mmmmmmmmmm. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 11th, 2014 at 11:07am John Smith wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:37pm:
You have a point, John. One of the drawbacks of living alone is that you're more inclined to 'make do' with pre-prepared stuff in tins and frozen packets then start a huge mess on the chopping board and the side-boards that will be a chore to clean up. There's no one to impress with your culinary skills. Even when my niece visits me I buy 'vegetarian' from the local Chinese restaurant for her. It's more tasty and interesting than anything I could come up with. Try this: (brand) 'Tom Piper' ~ tinned 'Braised Steak and Onions'. Heat it and pour it over boiled rice or potatoes and carrots. To die for. Besides the Campbell's 'Spaghetti Sauce - With Beef' ~ it's the only tinned meat I buy. Okay ... there's Spam which is delicious sliced thinly and topped with HP Sauce. And speaking of tinned foods ~ there's nothing that pisses me off more than the idiots who still keep packaging their foods in unstackable tins. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 11th, 2014 at 11:22am Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 11th, 2014 at 11:07am:
bullsh1t ... thats just an excuse that the lazy use. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 11th, 2014 at 12:10pm John Smith wrote on Aug 11th, 2014 at 11:22am:
You haven't been watching Master Chef or My Kitchen Rules, have you John? There's not only a mess, but the washing up involves a stack of dirty dishes, pots and pans halfway to the ceiling. I'm having boiled Jasmine rice, sliced grilled beef, and sliced Truss Tomatoes today ... with a liberal splashing of Kikkoman soya sauce. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 11th, 2014 at 2:36pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 11th, 2014 at 12:10pm:
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Redneck on Aug 11th, 2014 at 4:12pm
Must try some of those cheeses Herb.
i actually quite like the Mersey Valley crumbly cheeses Something else I dont mind for a snacky lunch is Sardines in Tomato Sauce on Toasted Helgas Soy-Lin Bread. Sardines is something I cant get anyone else in the family to even try them I think My Missus wasnt brought up poor like my family, as a result our kids have inherited fussyness for food! As a matter of example what real Aussie doesnt like prawns? Yep my wife! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 11th, 2014 at 6:03pm Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 11th, 2014 at 4:12pm:
Tinned sardines mixed in with boiled rice and a splash of soya sauce ... nice little meal. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by SpecialCharacter on Aug 12th, 2014 at 7:22pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 11th, 2014 at 12:10pm:
For some reason I read that as Kardashian... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 12th, 2014 at 8:43pm MumboJumbo wrote on Aug 12th, 2014 at 7:22pm:
A dash of Kim? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 29th, 2014 at 7:16pm
Well I started eating a bag of trail mix at lunch and it has ruined my appetite :-?
It was pretty tasty but I am all trailed mixed out for the next 12 months.. blergh... ** too much stomach ache ** feeling green :-X** |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:30pm
stir fly tonight ... with diced pork spare ribs
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Rhino on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:44pm
tonight i had scopare followed by un pompino, very nice.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:50pm John Smith wrote on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:30pm:
when I am in junk food mode, this my kind of thing.... yum |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:51pm rhino wrote on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:44pm:
That sound's delicious and I don't know what it is. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Rhino on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:56pm
tomorrow I intend to have Wagyu Ribeye Steak, this will be only be the best from Kobe. Also Matsutake mushrooms and Italian White Alba truffle
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 30th, 2014 at 7:25am
For lunch today I'm pulling out all the stops and going gangbusters on sticks of spaghetti simmered for 13 minutes, drained, and poured over with a tin of 'Spaghetti Sauce with mince' ~ and then a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.
To die for. I love Italian. I should sign up for next season's 'Master Chef'. A can opener is pretty much all you need these days. Why do I need to get married when this sort of banquet is available to me straight off the Supermarket shelves ... ? I had this last week as well. Probably next week too. :P In between, I'll eat cold baked bean sandwiches ~~ to die for. Slurpy. Dribbly. Messy. Need-to-wear-a-bib deeeelicious. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Aug 30th, 2014 at 8:29am
We had lamb shanks in a tomato based sauce with sweet potato and brussel sprouts.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 30th, 2014 at 10:42am Annie Anthrax wrote on Aug 30th, 2014 at 8:29am:
Two of those ingredients are off the menu if you suffer from kidney stones. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 30th, 2014 at 10:58am rhino wrote on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:44pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D you may have to have A.G. over for dinner one night. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 30th, 2014 at 11:02am The Mole wrote on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:51pm:
It is delicious ... I could have it every night. ;) ( google is your friend ;D ;D ;D ;D) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 30th, 2014 at 9:31pm
Veal Snitzel tonight ... with home made chips and salad
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:23am MumboJumbo wrote on Aug 12th, 2014 at 7:22pm:
Too much rump ... ::) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:26am John Smith wrote on Aug 30th, 2014 at 9:31pm:
'Home made' ~ my ass! Ready-made frozen chips from the supermarket, no doubt. But! Johnno ... if you should really care to make your own chips ... always, but always use Sebago potatoes. :) *** Toasted 4x pieces of bread ... buttered them. Sliced-&-diced 2x Vine-Grown tomatoes ... salted and ground peppercorn on them. Spread the tomatoes on the toast ... Overlaid the lot with Ready-Sliced Australian Vintage Cheddar "with a deep, rich complex flavour" ... And melted these under the griller until the cheese slices draped themselves closely over the tomato filling like a soft blanket. But WAIT! There's MOOOORE!! Here comes the Master A little splash of Worcester Sauce over the lot ... and .... waaaaaaait for it ..... a drizzle of McIlhenny's Tabasco Pepper Sauce ... The Tabasco Sauce is what transforms this otherwise unexceptional little snack into Ambrosia of the Gods. Enjoy! :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 31st, 2014 at 5:11pm
A meal assembled on top of a piece of bread Lord Herbert.. that gives me a good idea for dinner tonight. I have a few bits and pieces I want to use up..chicken and salad type stuff..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 31st, 2014 at 5:14pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Aug 30th, 2014 at 8:29am:
While there is some cool weather left I have to do lamb shanks too...falling off the bone and gelatinous.. as a time saver I really need to get another pressure cooker. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 31st, 2014 at 5:59pm The Mole wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 5:11pm:
Sounds interesting. I'm also crazy about prawn sandwiches with mayonnaise. To die for. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 31st, 2014 at 7:01pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:26am:
Yes herb, home made, the only frozen chips I eat are wedges ... I even crumb my own snitzel, I refuse to buy ready crumbed ... butchers crumb their old meat because it hides the discolouration in the meat |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:18pm John Smith wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 7:01pm:
Confession is good for the soul. :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lionel Edriess on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:52pm John Smith wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 7:01pm:
Now that comment raises a few questions. I've been in few different situations, stuck in a stock camp or working at sea, and on both occasions I've seen meat either fly struck or green before it's been cooked. With one you give it a few slaps with the knife to dislodge any inhabitants and the other just needs a good scrub under cold water. It all tasted OK and no sickness was forthcoming. So my question is this: Just how old has meat to be before it is not safe for consumption? After all, it's dead already, and meat safes were in no way comparable to refrigeration and they were in use for a long time. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 31st, 2014 at 9:15pm Lionel Edriess wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:52pm:
Salting the meat was always the answer, wasn't it? And in Medieval times King Henry VIII and others peppered and spiced their meat heavily to disguise the rancid stench and taste of game that had been hung too long. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Aug 31st, 2014 at 9:21pm Lionel Edriess wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 8:52pm:
irrelevant ... if I'm going to pay for fresh meat, I expect it to be fresh ... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 31st, 2014 at 9:29pm John Smith wrote on Aug 31st, 2014 at 9:21pm:
Your answer is irrelevant. The question is: How rotten does meat have to be before it's dangerous to consume? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Aug 31st, 2014 at 10:53pm
I think when meat is thoroughly cooked most bacteria is killed...and in times before refidgeration it was hung in meat safes for quiet a long time and still safe to eat.. a meat safe merely hangs in the outdoors and is enclosed with mesh to keep flies away. The longer meat is aged the better it is so we are led to believe ..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 11:16am
I am putting on 4 lamb shanks..to slowly cook for a few hours.. and tonight, we dine on lamb shanks and leeks.
:-* |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 12:51pm The Mole wrote on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 11:16am:
leeks .... covered in salad dressing? :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Neferti on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 1:34pm The Mole wrote on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 11:16am:
Lamb shanks!!! I used to buy those for my Corgi. ;D Actually, done the way you state makes them very tasty ... for humans too ... my little Corgi thought he was human. :'( Take a piccie of the meal and post it! 8-) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 2:07pm Neferti wrote on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 1:34pm:
Nef there are not too many ways you can eat lamb shank..but done like this ( slow cooked ) delicious. Will try to upload a pic. Salad dressing Lord Herbert...recipe..? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:27pm
Had the Lamb shanks tonight...leeks and rice and garlic base..it was so delicious I didn't have a chance to get a photo..it was quickly gone..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:30pm The Mole wrote on Sep 2nd, 2014 at 2:07pm:
Recipe ... ? :-[ *GULP* ... er, give me time to go through my notes. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:40pm
Recipe: 2-3 large lamb shanks simmered until very tender. Not a large volume of water..just enough to cover shanks and add more water, if it stock steams away.
Transfer meat and stock to large bowl and stir fry 2-3 large leeks (cleaned and sliced ) into cooking pot which has been liberally coated with oil..fry down gently and add cup of white rice and saute together..add meat and stock back to pot and simmer until rice and leeks cooked and very soft... add salt and pepper to taste.. Brown onions can be used if you cannot get leek's - 2-3 large. Very simple, just the way cooking should be. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:42pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:30pm:
In your own time Lord Herbert.. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:46pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:30pm:
oh stop pretending Herb ... we both know you are to lazy to make your own, just pick the one you use from the photo |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:54pm The Mole wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:42pm:
:-[ *swallow* ... won't be long! I'm shuffling through my recipe notes right at this very moment as we speak. Please talk among yourselves ... I'll be joining you shortly with my recipe in hand ... *sob* |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:57pm
I'm sure you have something in hand, but my moneys on it not being a recipe ;D ;D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:00pm John Smith wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:46pm:
How DARE you insinuate my kitchen skills are so bereft of culinary virtue that I have to resort to off-the-shelf mass-produced gunk made in vats the size of petrol storage tanks? Ooops! Is that the time?! I'm out of here. ::) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:10pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 8:54pm:
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:14pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 4th, 2014 at 9:00pm:
no? I must have been confused since you're so bereft that you use canned pasta sauces :D :D :D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 5th, 2014 at 12:08am
Off-Topic replies have been moved to this Topic.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 5th, 2014 at 8:34am
Why don't you split this comment too AG? since you are such a fan of splitting conversations that aren't on topic?
rhino wrote on Aug 29th, 2014 at 9:44pm:
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:14am
John, I haven't a clue what that means, but will take a look later...I have a workshop to attend right now so will take a look later.
Have a great day John...I only acted at Aussies urging..it could have stayed, next time it will. Have a great day . |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 2:57pm
As promised ... dah DAAAAH! ... zee recipe!
* 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger root * 1/3 cup minced onion * 1/4 cup minced celery * 1/4 cup soy sauce * 1/2 lime, juiced * 1 tablespoon white sugar * 1 tablespoon ketchup * 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper * 1/2 cup vegetable oil Pulse ginger, onion, and celery in a food processor until thoroughly combined. Scrape down sides of food processor with a spatula. Add soy sauce, lime juice, sugar, ketchup, and pepper; process until combined, 10 to 20 seconds. Stream oil in a thin stream into the mixture with the processor running; process until well blended. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 5th, 2014 at 5:42pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 2:57pm:
you had to phone around for that didn't you ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Neferti on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:25pm |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:35pm
I bought myself a Kenwood Chef Major Titanium, $1499 at Good Guys, negotiated down to $1100. comes with 4 attachments—already planning on buying a few more.
Reason? My right rotator cuff has tears or cracks in it, intensive use causes violent pain. Stuff like cutting a cucumber into batons for Thai fishcakes—OUCH! Last night I made a batch pizza dough using the Kenwood and the dough hook. Dough was very soft, doubled in no time (same recipe as always) so now looking to make own bread! $6.10 for small load multigrain sourdough is SICK! Happy to buy 25Kg spelt wholemeal flour, store in freezer to kill weevils. Now need to find a bun recipe—bought a kilo bun mix 2 weekends ago, time it got used! Made the Kenwood fruitcake. Turned out pretty good, gonna make the next fruitcake soon, different recipe, has to be “fed” with brandy for 3 months—sounds interesting! Bring it to the family christmass lunch, along with a few litres home made custard made with homegrown eggs. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Neferti on Sep 5th, 2014 at 7:05pm St George of the Garden wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 6:35pm:
You should have asked me, I threw out a Kenwood Chef with ALL attachments not so long ago. It was in perfect working order too but nobody I knew wanted it ....... it was just taking up room and I no longer make my own bread or sausages. ;) PS This NOT my kitchen. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 5th, 2014 at 7:19pm
Back in from TAFE...and warmed up leftover lamb shank stew.. even better today. Making another tomorrow.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Aussie on Sep 5th, 2014 at 7:37pm The Mole wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 7:19pm:
Did it stink out the house when you cooked it? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 5th, 2014 at 8:02pm Aussie wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 7:37pm:
Actually no Aussie..I use the range hood and open windows.There are not many things that actually make the house smell but cabbage can I do know that... cabbage rolls mm hungry again. And funny enough even due to all those leeks and garlic, no gas ( pardon my talking about bodily functions in mixed company ha ah) ..I thought it might be a problem today, but not at all.. nothing. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Sep 5th, 2014 at 8:14pm Neferti wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 7:05pm:
Well, the one I got needed neither caustic soda or incantations under the fullmoon to be clean and usueable. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 5th, 2014 at 8:14pm The Mole wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 8:02pm:
Boiled Brussel sprouts leaves a strong metallic odour in the air. As for passing gas ~ statistics show we do that on average 14 times a day. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:02pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 8:14pm:
Maybe , but not me, not today, I'm a lady, let me have that one ? ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:05pm The Mole wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:02pm:
I think that might be why women get so hormonal .... let it out, you'll feel better. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:07pm
take away tonight ... cantonese style steak for me .... not the best i've had but far from the worst. I'd buy it again.
the salt and pepper calamari were to die for ..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:35pm
Love Calamari..didn't have the inclination to go out and get seafood tonight, but def. soon that's for sure.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:00am John Smith wrote on Sep 5th, 2014 at 9:07pm:
I don't know where you are on the Gold Coast, but there is an excellent Chinese place on the North side. PM me if you're up this way and I'll give you the name. We've eaten there lots and its never disappointed. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:03am
I hate seafood. I can handle prawns and calamari if it's done right, but that's it. Almost everything else makes me gag.
Give me a juicy steak over a piece of fish any time. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 6th, 2014 at 10:02am Annie Anthrax wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 7:00am:
central ... I can walk to surfers in about 30 mins. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:16am John Smith wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 10:02am:
Why not take a bus? 8-) Calamari is squid ... and squid in its natural state looks like a large used condom jetting through the water ... I wouldn't touch the stuff ~ with or without the bread crumbs. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:25am Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:16am:
So you have tried it Lord Herbert..? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:29am The Mole wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:25am:
Good Lord, no! I've got better things to eat than sliced-up large used condoms jetting through the water. :P A little confession though: My brothers and I used to love eating dried, flattened, and salted octopus when we lived in HK. You buy it as a 'plate' ... and it's like beef-jerky. You bite and tear ... chew ... bite and tear ... chew. It would keep us quiet in the back of the Oldsmobile for a good half hour or more at a time. And then ... packets of dried and salted red shrimps. Expensive as hell here in Australia. A real treat. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 6th, 2014 at 12:59pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:29am:
I have never heard of either of those delight's..which just goes to show I guess that I really have not lived!!!~ :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 6th, 2014 at 1:01pm The Mole wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:25am:
I thought Calamari rings were jewish boys foreskins :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 6th, 2014 at 1:20pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:16am:
why? you don't object to eating used condoms, why squid? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 6th, 2014 at 1:22pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 11:16am:
bus? I think in the last 20yrs I've only ever been on a bus once, and that was on holidays from airport to city I walk because I want to walk, otherwise I drive |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Redneck on Sep 6th, 2014 at 2:47pm
Have any of you tried Jerusalem Artichokes. Cooked like mashed potato with a bit of butter, milk etc.
Quite a nice vegetable but have a terrible side effect! Hint: Ladies should steer clear AG! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:15pm
Damn Redneck ! and I love Artichokes too..the side effect..why should we stay away.. ?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Black Orchid on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:19pm
Marinated Italian style artichokes are delicious :)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:44pm Black Orchid wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:19pm:
your post sent me looking for this and it sounds delcious... :) http://www.lidiasitaly.com/recipes/detail/715 I am going to try Reds Jerusalem style Artichoke as well... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Redneck on Sep 6th, 2014 at 5:15pm The Mole wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 3:44pm:
Look up some recipes I know bugger all about cooking them, they are a sort of yam like a ginger to look at |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Black Orchid on Sep 6th, 2014 at 5:44pm
The Italian marinated type I meant are Globe Artichokes, which are the heart/flower of a kind of thistle. With Jerusalem Artichokes you eat the rhizome. I have never had a Jerusalem Artichoke.
Handling the thorns on the former aren't much fun so I only eat them if I buy them from the deli or an Italian friend's mother does them and she does them soooooo well. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Redneck on Sep 6th, 2014 at 6:05pm
I am the reverse to you Blackie must try the Globe Artichokes!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:03pm Black Orchid wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 5:44pm:
This is the one I like.. 8-) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 6th, 2014 at 8:06pm Redmond Neck wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 6:05pm:
They look a lot like Ginger Red. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 6th, 2014 at 9:18pm Black Orchid wrote on Sep 6th, 2014 at 5:44pm:
absolutely vile things mum used to make them all the time ... yuuukk |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Sep 9th, 2014 at 4:13pm
We go out on Tuesday nights for Trivia so we eat at the venue. I love trivia nights - my husband and I often win against teams of 6 or 7 people. I refuse to go on my own lest everyone realize that he is the brains of our dynamic little duo. He knows the weirdest things.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 9th, 2014 at 6:08pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 4:13pm:
Thank you for saying "my husband". All too often we hear women making a mystery of their sexuality by using the aggressively feminist terminology of "my partner". |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 9th, 2014 at 10:24pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 4:13pm:
funny, my wife says the same things ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 13th, 2014 at 4:39pm St George of the Garden wrote on Sep 13th, 2014 at 2:44pm:
'Thai fish cakes' ... ? ::) Christ on a crippled donkey. You haven't been reading the above posts, have you? 'Thai fish cakes' .... right ... made from fish farms growing fish at the estuary of Vietnam's biggest sewerage outlet .... The Mekong River. But don't let us put you off your evening meal. Enjoy!! :o |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 13th, 2014 at 8:56pm
Well done George! ;D
You're another artist in the kitchen. We might see you on Master Chef soon ... ? :) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:27pm John Smith wrote on Sep 9th, 2014 at 10:24pm:
I hope you're not my husband ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:29pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:27pm:
Hmm, not that I'm aware off .... but I did spend a lot of Saturday nights in my youth highly intoxicated ... I'm not ruling anything out ::) ::) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:30pm John Smith wrote on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:29pm:
Me too!!! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:35pm John Smith wrote on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:29pm:
She said husband, Johnno ~ not the father of her child ... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Sep 15th, 2014 at 7:25pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 15th, 2014 at 2:35pm:
hey, i spent a weekend in Vegas (I think ;D ;D ;D) ... like I said, I'm not ruling anything out ! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 16th, 2014 at 8:36am John Smith wrote on Sep 15th, 2014 at 7:25pm:
A DNA test will settle the question ... If there are traces of spaghetti in the child's DNA then Natalie will know who to sue for Child Maintenance. :P |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Aussie on Sep 17th, 2014 at 4:25pm St George of the Garden wrote on Sep 17th, 2014 at 9:44am:
Send me a piece of that, and I swear, I'll clear at least a hectare with just one fart. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 17th, 2014 at 6:12pm Aussie wrote on Sep 17th, 2014 at 4:25pm:
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Sep 30th, 2014 at 11:28pm
Eating meat!
Would you still eat meat if you had to kill it yourself ? I couldn't kill an animal for my table if I had to. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Oct 2nd, 2014 at 6:44pm
Yes! I have fished and poo bunnies, and had a good meal of them afterwards.
I love animals, they are TASTY! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Oct 2nd, 2014 at 6:47pm The Mole wrote on Sep 30th, 2014 at 11:28pm:
of course .... hmmm, yummy kitten ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Oct 2nd, 2014 at 8:11pm John Smith wrote on Oct 2nd, 2014 at 6:47pm:
Well maybe if you are into Chinese John..but I am talking about a sharp knife across the jugular..I don't consider fishing or shooting as hands on killing of an animal..I mean looking it in the eye and ending its life. How many could do that? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Oct 2nd, 2014 at 8:55pm The Mole wrote on Oct 2nd, 2014 at 8:11pm:
you kill a cat with a hook? ;D ;D of course i'd eat it if I had to kill it ... the only way I'd kill an animal is if I were starving, if that were the case the eating follows |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 6:03pm
In the hunger winter of 1944-5 in the occupied parts of Holland cats disappeared so did the trees in the streets. Real hunger and cold simplifies the issues tremendously.
Cat meat is sweet :) One of Mum’s brothers and some mates were sawing down this tree at night (breaking curfew.) the Dutch cops were watching them and once the tree was down swooped—and took the tree for themselves :) They would have confiscated the saw as well but the boys told them it was part of a tool set owned by one of their fathers, a carpenter. Mum was starving—literally starving, her MIL drawing Dad’s ration (for his dependents)—so approached Dad’s Dutch work (Dad was away doing forced labor in Spandau for BMW) and got a big bag of brown beans and a paper bag of tulips. Tulips taste horrible, burn the back of the throat Mum told me. She would have used teeth and nails to kill a bunny or whatever. But Mum, her Mum (‘Oma’) and Mum’s siblings living at home survived. This is how elemental it can get: Oma gave Mum the key to the pantry saying “You can say ‘No’ I can’t.” So you can’t answer the question truly unless you put yourself, mentally I mean, where your survival depends on your ability to kill for food. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 6:43pm St George of the Garden wrote on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 6:03pm:
This is true but eating a cat is just the worst thought- I have a very close love for my Kitu and it goes against all my instincts, just as eating dog might be a problem for you George- As to your post, they ate rats and all kinds of things to ward off dying via starvation in the war, thankfully we don't have to do that anymore, well at least not in this country.. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 7:57pm
To keep my feet firmly on the ground 2-3 times a year I buy a few slices of bloodwurst: pigs blood, pig fat, flour and spices. Life at its simplest—in medieval times the closest serfs got to meat was catching the blood flowing out of an animal that had just had its throat cut in a container of oats. That then got baked and eaten, bloodwurst is about that simple.
Tonguewurst aka tongue in blood is another variation on that theme. I like both bloodwurst and tonguewurst: I do not buy pressed tongue, too bland. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 8:16pm
Is that blood sausage.. I had some once and it was rather nice, but like brain's, you cannot think about what it is your eating - :-[
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 10:44pm
Yup, wurst = sausage.
That is the point, to occasionally think about life at its most basic. Keeps your feet on the ground. So does this: |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Nov 23rd, 2014 at 11:08pm
I have read that lamb testicles and fried cockroaches etc top Sydney's scariest food list. Many just reviled by foods like that and that tongue you posted...and in many countries the world over foods that are just too horrible to contemplate- bugs/snakes etc. All great Chinese type ingredients.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 24th, 2014 at 3:58am
I would eat crickets but not cockroaches.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 25th, 2014 at 7:17am
I poached that tongue then skinned it while it was hot. I thought it was so so—but it is a cheap meat.
I bought another one a few months later, added some sliced tongue to a soup. That was terrific—the tongue was creamy and delicious! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 20th, 2014 at 12:40pm
Was at the Central Market earlier today. Bought 1L coconut water. Will use that as the bulk of the hydration for my next batch of bread. Should give it a nice taste!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2014 at 12:43pm
BBQ tonight ... Scotch fillet
sorry george, but the tongue you can keep. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 20th, 2014 at 1:41pm
Ahahahaha tongue is nice tho and nice to show respect to the animal that died to waste none of its substance.
Bolar blade here tonight, chicken tomorrow and roo fillet and corned beef on the smoker Monday. Gonna give the corned beef a nice spicy crust. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2014 at 1:50pm St George of the Garden wrote on Dec 20th, 2014 at 1:41pm:
Whilst I agree with your sentiments and I am not usually turned of by any of the 'yucky' cuts, two things I can't bring myself to eat are eyes and tongue ..... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 20th, 2014 at 3:53pm
ahahahaha while I like eating blutwurst and tonguewurst (tongue in blood.)
My chinese neighbor, when we are at a chinese restaurant and we have steamed fish will, with chopsticks, get the eye out of the fish and eat it as a delicacy. I am not quite strong enough for that ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:27pm
Not any kind of eye could I eat-- I know someone who loved to eat pigs b--errr testicles cooked in a pressure cooker and he would have a go at almost anything :o *feeling green*
Btw the wurst thing sounds ok-- until you point out its blood-- we eat with the eyes the mouth and sometimes the ears as well Monk.. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:31pm The Mole wrote on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:27pm:
I reackon I'd try the testicles if someone knew how to cook them properly |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:34pm
I don't think throwing them in a pressure cooker and blasting the shite out of them as the "right way" LOL. Must admit he was drunk though.. 8-) ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:38pm The Mole wrote on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:34pm:
probably explains why he didn't mind the taste either ;) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:40pm John Smith wrote on Dec 20th, 2014 at 9:38pm:
For all I know John probably were delicious, cant imagine that they would have been though.. I eat some weird stuff too I must admit.. when I'm hungry. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 21st, 2014 at 10:02am
Hehehe just dragged out my cookbook “Odd bits” and looked up testicles.
Three layers of skin to be removed, brine the balls overnight, changing the water a couple of times to remove all blood, put in sauce pan with water to cover and one tbsp vinegar per ball, bring to a boil, simmer 5-7 minutes. Recipes offered are: –Testicles with caramelised onions and double smoked bacon –Crispy testicles with onion, pepper and caper sauce. Balls are available once a year as male lambs and calves are castrated. They do not enhance your sexual prowess :D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 21st, 2014 at 10:29am
Yesterday I cooked the best rump steak I've ever cooked in my entire life.
Normally I'm a rotten cook, but yesterday it was BINGO! Four Aces in a row ... used a bucket to collect the coins. What I did: 1. Bought $17 of Rump Steak from a Halal Butchery. :-[ Okay! I'm a smacking hypocrite ~ so sue me! After the cow had read a confession while on its knees in front of a video camera, someone shouted "Allahu Abkar!" and then beheaded it. I wasn't there to stop it. Not my fault. Now let's move on ... 2. Did NOT hammer it with a pummel ... but removed every bit of fat, gristle, and tendon ... (something the vast majority of mothers and wives woefully and lazily never bother to do). 3. Put a little Virgin Oil in a pan and seared the steak pieces very briefly ... making sure the edges were also sealed against leakage. 4. Placed the pieces into an aluminium baking tray ... rubbed oil, salt, and ground peppercorn into them, both sides. Let this sit for 15 minutes. 5. By this time had my gas oven heated to around 180° ... placed the tray onto the middle rack and turned on the fan. 6. Removed tray from oven after 20 mins. ... covered with foil, and let stand for 15 mins. Served. Maybe it was a fluke. I look forward to seeing if I can repeat this success. **** Reheating the leftovers is a problem. I tried the microwave and it hardened the flesh. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 21st, 2014 at 11:21am
I have seen sheep killed by cutting their throats, not pretty at all so I do not seek out halal.
Don’t remove the fat! Fat is where the flavor is! (You don’t have to eat all of it.) No need to add oil to the pan (on my board got told off by Aussie for doing that, a retired chef (now gone from the board, alas) agreed. I take the meat out the fridge and let it come to room temperature, 20 minutes or so. Then rub in the salt and pepper. What you did I guess is broil the steak, a thing the yanks like to do. Microwaves are fit only to thaw frozen stuff (icecream dethawed for 15-30 seconds (bigger the container the longer the time is much easier to scoop.) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Lord Herbert on Dec 21st, 2014 at 12:14pm St George of the Garden wrote on Dec 21st, 2014 at 11:21am:
**** I always cook the steaks straight from the butchers. I never let crystals destroy the fabric of the flesh inside the fridge. Big no no. What chef's say, doesn't impress me at all. Absolute ZERO. I watched every one of Gordon Ramsay's shows ~ and the message that came through after the 50th episode or so was that most 'chef's' are full of sh*t and haven't a ******** clue. 'Broil' the steak? NO ... I baked it. No grill involved. The best cooked steak I ever ate in my life was at small family restaurants in the countryside of the UK, run by English families. A full inch thick, medium rare, and soft as .. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 21st, 2014 at 1:36pm
Crystals—I assume you mean water crystals—form in the freezer not fridge.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Dec 21st, 2014 at 2:33pm St George of the Garden wrote on Dec 21st, 2014 at 10:02am:
when my sister first moved to Norway, she was invited to dinner at her mother in laws. ... what she thought were normal meatballs turned out to be either reindeer or Moose testicles .... she never again ate any meat at her mother in laws without enquiring what it was first ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 22nd, 2014 at 5:52pm
Wonder what roasted TROLL tastes like?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Dec 24th, 2014 at 5:07am
Got up early today, do a couple of things before heading out to the market.
One of those jobs was separating 14 eggs for the creme brulees (recipe somewhere here.) Got out my new silicone egg separator, cracked an egg into it and. . .nothing. Egg so fresh the white is thick and stays with the yolk. So put the egg into a bowl and fished the yolk out with a spoon, the only way! Love homegrown eggs—the color and flavor of the yolks is wonderful! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 1st, 2015 at 10:36pm
I am thinking not all slow cookers are created equal- I tried a slow cooker meal and it sat there all day and merely warmed up, never actually cooked and yes I adjusted the dial accordingly- I might have to stick to the trusty baking ware and treat myself to succulent slowed cooked meats/pies etc etc-
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 1st, 2015 at 10:38pm St George of the Garden wrote on Dec 24th, 2014 at 5:07am:
I had scrambled eggs at my friends in Adelaide recently and I don't know what she fed her chickens- but so so rich- too rich. :-[ |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 6:43am Agnes wrote on Mar 1st, 2015 at 10:36pm:
I guess there are no worldwide standards for what temperatures each setting produces. . .and most writers of cookbooks are twits who do not give temperatures (and some give recipes in terms of cups of flour, cups of brown sugar and the like—totally unreliable! Recipes must be given in weights! Don’t even trust your measuring jugs—cold milk, water out the cold water tap in winter and summer are not at the standard 20°C temp, convert volumes to weights, there are websites that give conversions, and I will copy one loooooong list of conversions of cups to grams to Fermentations. Give your slowcooker one more go, using a meat or candy thermometer to see what temps you get, under 60°C you are breeding bacteria of course. Also—try the apple butter recipe I will post in a minute, it being the start of apple season. Apple butter recipe: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1425248129 |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 6:48am Agnes wrote on Mar 1st, 2015 at 10:38pm:
I had scrambled eggs at my friends in Adelaide recently and I don't know what she fed her chickens- but so so rich- too rich. :-[/quote] I give mine scratch—a grain mix, the birds really do prefer it to pellets. I give them a good handful of grass, twisting the grass so it tears in half. Any weeds I pull up, if big enough—into the run it goes, the birds decide which ones they like then for the last hour or so of light I let them out the run. The yolk gives the “richness” so reduce the yolk content of your omelettes or scrambled eggs, give the yolks to your kids or substitute some egg with ham or cheese or tomato etc. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 7:10am
Duplicate post.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 11:57am
AS far as eggs go, until I can have my own hen's again- I will have to make do with shop bought- I tend not to like my yolks too rich..anyway- I have to get on and have some lunch- all I have hadtoday is a cornflake cookie and it was delicious- trying the recipe soon. yum. Having ham and mushroom pancakes for tonight's dinner- they are really very good. :)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 7:14pm
Couple recipes be nice. Hint hint.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by silverado6x6 on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 7:39pm
My biggest drool factor comes from fresh baked breads, french and sourdough up at the top, then banana and carrot breads.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 9:10pm
A lady at work is giving me the recipe so watch this space George.. ;)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 9:11pm silverado6x6 wrote on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 7:39pm:
Ooooh me too- sourdough and most breads are a weakness- |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 10:00pm
Fettuccini con Gamberi tonight
yum |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Rhino on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 12:23am
steak sandwich. Had wonton soup for lunch at a food hall. I like to live dangerously. Drinking a good semillon sauvignon blanc atm.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 6:49am silverado6x6 wrote on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 7:39pm:
Do you make your own sourdough bread? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 12:22pm
http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/13559/sultana+cornflake+cookies
Trying these today- they look good- I haven't got that secret recipe yet, until then. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:15pm
tonight is Pork Belly, accompanied with asparagus in vino cotto and broccoli, baked potato pieces and a little salad ...
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:37pm John Smith wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:15pm:
Im not supposed to like Pork Belly- its sinful- but so delicious! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:46pm
I'm sick and haven't eaten anything except a spoon of peanut butter since Sunday. I really felt like soup yesterday, but it's passed and now I can't think of anything that would tempt me.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:50pm Agnes wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:37pm:
it should be considered a sin to not like pork belly :D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:50pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:46pm:
get hubby to make you a nice minestroni ... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Dnarever on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 3:39pm
What's for dinner?
Reminded me that I need to go and make a start on the prep work. Just a simple chicken drum sticks with a satay sauce done in oven with roast vegies served with some standard steamed garden vegies. Maybe a bit simple and boring but pretty nice. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Dnarever on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 3:45pm silverado6x6 wrote on Mar 2nd, 2015 at 7:39pm:
I walked through Woolies about a week ago and happened to look at their fresh bread which is typically not very exciting. I noticed a loaf of their soft bread ($3) that was well over cooked and had a lovely thick crunchy crust. I grabbed it and it was great much better than the typical soft soulless standard they produce. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 4:08pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 3:45pm:
so you finally got bread that was properly cooked, and at a discount ... well done. That doesn't happen very often at Woolworths bakeries :D :D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 5:44pm
"properly cooked" yes I often bought bread that seemed doughy in the middle from Woolies-- and even stuck to itself like glue sometimes - yuk! Cannot be good for the gut.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 6:50pm Agnes wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 12:22pm:
No not good- very ordinary- blerrgh |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 8:21pm
Bummer!
Anzacs are actually a nice biscuit, easy enough to make. Sent some to Annie (American Annie) and she loved them. Might make a batch on Thursday, maybe even tomorrow morning or Thursday. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 8:27pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 3:45pm:
Commercial bread has like one hour to ferment—a problem since the ferment is what gives the flavor. My sourdoughs ferment for 24 hours or even 36 hours, tons of flavor! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 8:30pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 3rd, 2015 at 2:46pm:
A nice easy spinach and ricotta ravioli? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Cofgod on Mar 5th, 2015 at 4:37am
I've just had bangers and mash for my tea.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 5th, 2015 at 9:55am
Lamb shanks tonight (recipe in Fermentations board) and a beef rendang on Saturday, with sour shrimo soup, mangoes and sticky rice for desert, some relishes.
Sunday—maybe alka seltzer after spending a day at Saltram’s winery. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 5th, 2015 at 12:35pm
My husband makes amazing lamb shanks.
I am finally able to eat again and had sausages, cheese and sauerkraut wrapped in baby cos lettuce leaves last night. For lunch I just made a tuna salad with mayo, finely diced sweet and sour pickles and onion. No idea what we're having tonight yet. Probably buffalo chicken wings with a blue cheese dipping sauce. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 5th, 2015 at 12:43pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 5th, 2015 at 12:35pm:
Hubby use anything like the recipe in my board? I have never cooked lamb shanks! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 5th, 2015 at 1:01pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 5th, 2015 at 12:43pm:
I'm not sure. All I know is that he enters the kitchen and magic happens. He then enters the dining room with delicious fare sometime later. In the case of lamb shanks, it feels like about 7 years but is probably only a couple of hours. After we feast, I enter the kitchen to fix stuff. Magic is messy, apparently. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 5th, 2015 at 1:21pm
OK, I can probably muddle along with the recipe I have. Red wine, passata, anchovy, long slow cooking. Garlic and rosemary. Mash and steamed veg on the side.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 5th, 2015 at 3:14pm
Whoa Annie has a gem for a husband ! Shanks are delicious.. and have shot through the roof price wise as well,shame.
I will add my shank recipe here when I get a minute- have posted it before somewhere. :-/ |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 5th, 2015 at 3:17pm
Had lamb shanks at Parlimento on North Terrace- they were done in a tomatoe based sauce as well- very nice, but the walk along the Torrens later was a bit hard going trying to digest that lot.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 5th, 2015 at 10:34pm
The post–prandial stroll has a lot to recommend it, for sure.
Shanks, done to mantra’s recipe just slightly added to, were nice. Need to start 2-3 hours earlier next time, have the slow cooker on high for longer, then finish on low. But tender, falling-of-the-bone, rich sauce ooohhhhhh so goooooooooooood! Got the shanks for $9/Kg. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 5th, 2015 at 10:37pm
One large shank here $16. My recipe does not have one tomatoe in it ! and its yum.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 5th, 2015 at 10:41pm
That from a s/mart or a butcher? should be cheaper than that!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 5th, 2015 at 10:43pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 5th, 2015 at 10:41pm:
S/mart- butcher is a bit cheaper, but not much. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 5th, 2015 at 11:10pm
Got you over a barrel, eh, pricewise there?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 5th, 2015 at 11:16pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 5th, 2015 at 11:10pm:
yep no competition- thieves. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 6th, 2015 at 9:58am
You can’t bulk buy in Pordagudda?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 6th, 2015 at 3:07pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 6th, 2015 at 9:58am:
I rarely go there but i do have do have a dental appt for my boy in a few days soooo.. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 6th, 2015 at 4:11pm
Need a big icebox or portable freezer but could be worth it, you have to go there anyway.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 6th, 2015 at 5:46pm
Totally agree- will take a look around when I go over in a few day's. I will ask about a fish monger as well...
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 6th, 2015 at 6:44pm
Yup, nice bit of salmon, hmmmmmm Ocean [leather] jackets a cheaper fish but delicious for all that—get some of those, some Thai red curry paste, couple limes—make those fish cakes! Ohhh yummmm!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 6th, 2015 at 7:59pm
BBQ pork scotch fillet tonight, with bok choy, brocollini and carrots ... meat has aged in oil for about 6 weeks ... it was soooo tender....
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 6th, 2015 at 8:07pm
Hmmmm, you aged the meat yourself, John?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 6th, 2015 at 8:10pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 6th, 2015 at 8:07pm:
yep ... hadn't planned to , just to a bit longer to get to eating it than I had originally intended |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 6th, 2015 at 8:53pm
Must try that sometime.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 6th, 2015 at 11:56pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 6th, 2015 at 8:53pm:
I don't freeze my steaks ... I keep them covered in olive oil with garlic, sage and rosemary and I leave it in the fridge ... when i want some, no need to defrost or marinade, it's all ready for me. I haven't had a tough steak since I started doing it this way. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Fermenter on Mar 7th, 2015 at 5:50am
Yeah. Must get some porterhouse steaks, cut 25mm thick, and age them like that a couple weeks.
Going to Willunga Farmers Market today, will buy some nice grass fed beef steaks, then go home the back way, call into the Olive Oil Co and buy a 5L jerrycan of EVOO. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 7th, 2015 at 11:31am
I am going to age my steaks next time- but my big hungry son will not leave it there long enough to age- I could try bribes I suppose ::)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by not the other one on Mar 7th, 2015 at 12:12pm
Well I tried the cornflake cookies- they were SHITE! I have found another recipe because I was told they called "weekenders"- so here goes aggaaaiiin.
I will crack this recipe if it kills me! http://www.queen.com.au/kitchen/weekender-cornflake-biscuits/ |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 7th, 2015 at 2:01pm
Maybe the concept of cornflake cookies is shite? Thought of that?
Why not try some anzac biscuits? Easy peasy, stay good for months, were designed for that. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 7th, 2015 at 4:28pm
Ha! that wont put me off :D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 7th, 2015 at 4:49pm
Brave gurl!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 7th, 2015 at 5:51pm
In the oven and they smell great-
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 7th, 2015 at 6:58pm
They out the bloody oven yet? Come on gurl, tell us!
Bet they are shite. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 7th, 2015 at 8:28pm
Not as shite as the last lot, but not the same is the secret recipe- but definitely tasty and great with a cuppa.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 7th, 2015 at 11:08pm Agnes wrote on Mar 7th, 2015 at 8:28pm:
is that to hide the flavour? sure sounds like it ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Rhino on Mar 7th, 2015 at 11:52pm
yummy
65672_productMain_1.jpg (117 KB | 66
) |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 8th, 2015 at 9:39am
liquid dinner Rhino? i like it
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 8th, 2015 at 10:41am John Smith wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 9:39am:
No nutrition in booze. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 8th, 2015 at 11:31am
We had coffee and chilli meatloaf.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 8th, 2015 at 12:43pm
I must get a decent recipe for meatloaf, mine are always so bloody horrible..well I do'nt like them anyway.. have never put chilli in I must admit.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 8th, 2015 at 1:58pm Agnes wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 10:41am:
depends on the sort of 'nutrition' you are referring to ;) ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 8th, 2015 at 1:59pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 11:31am:
hows that taste? it sounds confusing to me |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 8th, 2015 at 3:04pm
It's amazing. Apparently it's based on an old Margaret Fulton recipe, but we just add the chilli because everything is better with chilli.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 8th, 2015 at 3:48pm
I have a friend who would say exactly the same thing- everything he eats is chilli fied. Even chilli cooking make me cough..lol
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 8th, 2015 at 5:22pm
Even my kids like chilli. I didn't really change my diet when pregnant or breastfeeding; I think that has a lot to do with it.
I've said this on here before - I eat a modified Atkins diet to deal with seizures. I go off it periodically so that I can drink alcohol (high in carbs) and I'm having a break at the moment. This means that TONIGHT WE'RE HAVING PASTA!. Not that I'm excited or anything. It's in a sauce that is very creamy and very chilli with chorizo and bacon. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 8th, 2015 at 5:50pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
love pasta with a chorizo sauce .. I too am having pasta tonight, but my sauce is tomatoe based with has diced pork spare ribs and peas .... |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 8th, 2015 at 6:10pm
I have been grazing all day - maybe Ill just have a small tasty salad with chicken...
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 8th, 2015 at 6:12pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
Are you allergic to carbs Annie? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 8th, 2015 at 6:53pm
John - sounds great. Do you have a recipe?
AG, no not allergic. I eat a very low carb diet as much as I can to control very mild epileptic seizures through maintaining ketosis. I also feel much better when following it. I shoot for less than 20g of carbohydrates per day, so no fruit (the hardest part), no bread, rice, pasta, potato, crispbread etc. Small amounts of most vegetables, but lots of leafy greens. A n example of a week's dinners: Buffalo Wings with a Blue Cheese Sauce Lamb Shanks with leek and tomato Soy chicken - it's poached Burritos or burgers wrapped in lettuce leaves Roasts of different kinds Steak and salad Curried sausages with a cheesy cauliflower bake Breakfasts are the hardest because I get tired of bacon and eggs or tuna. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 8th, 2015 at 7:11pm
Breakfast sausages? Grilled tomato with some onion and or/cheese? Kippers and/or rollmops? Sardines? Grilled mushroom?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 8th, 2015 at 7:49pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 6:53pm:
It was actually pretty good although a little sweeter than I like because of the peas I used. My recipe (from watching mum do it a million times) I usually just make it up as I go but I follow some basic guidelines no matter what I add to the sauce. I always brown meat separately, than add white wine (I prefer sweet wine although you can use whatever wine takes your fancy) . Once the wine has reduced to almost nothing I strain the meat into a colander and then start on the sauce .. brown finely diced onion and garlic, add the cooked meat, add 2 cans of diced tomatoes (fresh tomatoes are better if you can be bothered), a little passata, I use about 1/4 bottle, (makes the sauce richer) then mushroom, peas, carrot or whatever other vege's you like .. (great with kidney beans too), add fresh basil, salt and pepper and bring to boil with the lid off ... once it boils reduce temp and let it simmer until sauce has reduced to a nice consistency, then put the lid on. Put temp on lowest setting possible and let it simmer for as long as you can ... mum used to make it in the morning and let it simmer all day, adding a little water every now and then if it started to get too thick .... the longer you cook it the better the flavour .. just don't forget it and let it burn |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 8th, 2015 at 8:32pm
That's why I have a break every now and then. The biggest struggle for me is fruit - especially in summer. I could've killed for grapes a couple of months back. So now I take little breaks every now and then and I eat fruit and drink as much alcohol as I can. I haven't had any seizure activity in about 9 months so it seems to be working. It's great for energy levels and my hair, nails and skin too.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 9th, 2015 at 9:25pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 8th, 2015 at 7:11pm:
Thank you - they sound great. Maybe on the weekends. Weekday mornings usually consist of 3 or 4 coffees and a slice of cheese smeared with vegemite or just a spoon of peanut butter straight out of the jar. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by eagle eyes on Mar 10th, 2015 at 12:19am
Spaghetti Bolognese with Kangaroo mince + zuccini :)
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 10th, 2015 at 8:54pm gone wrote on Mar 10th, 2015 at 12:19am:
Kangaroo mince and zuchinni? your breaking one or two rules here. I have never eaten kangaroo, what's it like.. I just had a bowl of linguini pasta with a simple tomato sauce- very conventional but also hit the spot nicely. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 10th, 2015 at 9:04pm
Kangaroo meat is great. We eat kangaroo sausages, steak, burgers. Give it a go - it's lean and tasty.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 10th, 2015 at 9:10pm
OK next time I'm in the meat section I'll grab a packet and put some in a stir fry, I hear its very game-y so that might disguise it somewhat..
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 10th, 2015 at 10:53pm
Give it a go, AG, ’roo is thick and a tad dry, don’t overcook. Goes well with cracked corn, by Jiminy Cricket!
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 11th, 2015 at 10:18am
I will Monk- just have to get a good strong flavourful recipe to accomodate the strong 'roo flavour- if it seems like I stalling- I kind of am.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 11th, 2015 at 11:40am
It is just meat, doesn’t have an especial “strong flavor.” It is a bit dry, a thick ’roo steak needs to be cooked quickly.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 11th, 2015 at 8:54pm
Just eating on the run all day , getting ready for a trip away- don't feel so great, too much rubbish- so no set dinner time- ?
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 12th, 2015 at 4:28pm
Still want a recipe for cornflake cookies? Found one, no idea who wrote it.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 12th, 2015 at 7:26pm
cheeseburgers tonight ... bought some rissoles, threw them on the BBQ with some onion (onions cooked in beer) tomato, beetroot, lettuce ... yummy.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2015 at 9:11pm John Smith wrote on Mar 12th, 2015 at 7:26pm:
You bought rissoles! WTF. You make rissoles, and you do not buy the crap sausage meat based garbage you get from butchers! |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 12th, 2015 at 11:26pm Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2015 at 9:11pm:
busy day ... couldn't be bothered making them. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 13th, 2015 at 6:25am
Geeze, could have bought polpette and flattened them a bit!
I once weakened and bought a pre–breaded schnitzel, this from the great butcher who was 2 doors down from my shop, yuk! Apart from that have not and will not buy anything pre–made from a butcher. I had farfelle with a meat and tomato sauce for dinner last night. So nice having jars of passata to hand! A beef stock cube bulked up he flavor of the sauce a bit. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:24pm
I have been away for a couple of days- crazy times- mad-
I will not be cooking tonight, no energy- just fresh and light. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:33pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 13th, 2015 at 6:25am:
nah ... I'm so used to great home made ones that I can't eat the crap you buy ... Rissoles I never make so my standards aren't quite so high |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:35pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 13th, 2015 at 6:25am:
I never buy pre crumbed ... their best freshest meat is on display as is, the crap that doesn't look good they cover with sauces and crumbs |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by two minutes hate on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:35pm John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:33pm:
You'll be having blue veined custard chucker for dinner. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:37pm two minutes hate wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:35pm:
no idea what you are on about .... is custard chucker local cuisine where you are? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by two minutes hate on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:40pm John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:37pm:
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:41pm
i was serious .. :D :D
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by two minutes hate on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:42pm John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:41pm:
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Redneck on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:43pm
Is it what we called "Chew and Spew" as young blokes
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:51pm two minutes hate wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:42pm:
John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:37pm:
John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:41pm:
how many times do i have to say it? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Aussie on Mar 14th, 2015 at 4:39pm John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2015 at 3:51pm:
How about blue veined junket pump? |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by A.G on Mar 14th, 2015 at 8:30pm
:-X
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 17th, 2015 at 12:12pm
I am cooking tonight. I know - I can't believe it either.
I'm making some pastries with a curried beef and vegetable filling, with baby potatoes that will be boiled then shallow fried in fresh coriander and garlic. I will serve with a baby spinach salad and some hummus. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Aussie on Mar 17th, 2015 at 2:02pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 17th, 2015 at 12:12pm:
Otherwise known in an Indian kitchen as samosas. Get your hands on some tamarind sauce to go with them. Fantastic. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 17th, 2015 at 2:27pm
They sound delicious and I am going to give them a go this week..I bought some very fresh scnapper today - so juicy and had some for lunch with a fresh salad.
Tonight pork spare ribs slow cooked until falling off the bone on lightly herbed rice. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Mar 17th, 2015 at 3:12pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Mar 17th, 2015 at 12:12pm:
give me a warning next time ... i nearly fell off my chair |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 17th, 2015 at 5:51pm Agnes wrote on Mar 17th, 2015 at 2:27pm:
Shoudda made apple butter—a totally new dimension of flavor. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 17th, 2015 at 6:10pm
They are marinated in parprika and garlic- apples would not have been the best in this instance
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 17th, 2015 at 6:12pm
OK. Tomorrow arvo after library I will get a batch going, leave in slowcooker overnight, will post recipe, description and maybe some piccies.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 19th, 2015 at 4:24pm
I made kefta with potato in a tomato based sauce.
The kefta is lean mince with finely chopped onion and parsley with 5 spice and salt and pepper. Its cooked in the oven with slices of potato and a tomato and garlic based sauce. I tried to be innovative and used the slow cooker. There was too much food in it so I transferred it into a big baking dish that was too big for our new oven, then moved it again into two smaller baking dishes. What a smacking nightmare. Tastes amazing though. I need to buy a baking dish that suits this oven before attempting it again. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:48pm
LOL but you got there in the end- sounds delicious. I had no food in the house so I just put some chicken wings and potatoes and added a few spices- lazy and tasty, with salad.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:58pm Agnes wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:48pm:
Yeah. It tasted nice and the kids and husband ate it all up, so all good in the end :) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 19th, 2015 at 7:05pm
Even lazier.
No bread in the house, no meat not deepfrozen {I know, I suck} so bought muffins, will grill with cheese, ham & tomato. Would add sauerkraut but I doubt the ferment has started let alone finished :) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 19th, 2015 at 7:58pm
Sometimes I just do not feel like cooking a fussy meal so the simpler the better- my girl at Uni now and its only my son and I- he likes to eat "his way" and I feel like I am mainly preparing food for myself anyway- I eat very simply some days- some say its not worthwhile cooking for one but I find myself spoiled for choice when I dont have to cook for diff palates- so long eating things I wasn't really fussed about- that has all changed- and I spoil myself now. If I want a tin of boring baked beans for dinner ( not withstanding the after effects) I can.
Food for one- one pot meals etc- a whole new world- love it. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:00pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 7:05pm:
Sauerkraut on that lot- I just cant imagine you would have a gourmet experience, does not seem like it would go together. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 19th, 2015 at 9:53pm
ahahahahaha no dear, just my little joke. You DID read all about my big sauerkraut making day I trust? :)
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 20th, 2015 at 5:00pm
Dinner tonight
Sashimi Inari Cheese platter with cherry toms and grapes. Botrytis riesling |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:16am
We had a soy whole chicken and baked vegetables last night. It's still the most tender, moist chicken I've ever had.
No idea what we're having tonight. Husband is off night shift and he and my son will be preserving some lemons. I might look online for some dinner recipes. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:45am
I suppose you are sick of chicken ATM, but the poached chicken with sichuan flavorings was magnificent! Juicy, spicy, moist and tasty.
For dinner tonight I will cook the pork rack from MKR—both recipes are on my board. Poached eggs, grilled prosciutto and cherry toms (washed, halved) on multigrain sourdough was breakfast. Think won’t need much lunch. Used to hate poached eggs after being given this watery, shaky blob of white at a school camp but am fond of them now. With really fresh tasty eggs any egg cookery is easy. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:49pm
Feeling fluey and a headache- paracetamol and bed. yum.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:51pm
tonight was penna bolognaise with chick peas ;)
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 21st, 2015 at 9:30pm Agnes wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:49pm:
Dear AG, get better soon, OK? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 24th, 2015 at 7:33am
Probably an omelette tonight. Have some sopressa so will slice some up into little strips and add that once the top of the omelette is slightly firm, then fold the omelette over.
Basil, parsley and mint from the garden chopped fine added to the egg. Will make some chocolate baked custards, have one for breakfast tomorrow. Have couverture chocolate and Dutch cocoa—only ever buy Dutch cocao, it is the best. Droste and Van Houten are two brands pretty easy to buy here. Cadbury’s Bournemouth cocao is a poor substitute With the egg whites will make bokkepootjes, send some to AnnieLaurie. Have a look here. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 24th, 2015 at 2:55pm
Sounds simple and declious- just my style..
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 24th, 2015 at 3:24pm
I wasn’t born in the year of the pig for nothing!
Actually, it will be eggs and chips tonight. Tomorrow it will be alpaca rack roasted with some roasted veges. Thursday will be vegetarian, a pea and potato curry that has been a firm favorite since the first time I cooked it. Don’t even need rice! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 24th, 2015 at 5:42pm
I want a recipe for a leather boot- I bet you have one back there.. ;)
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 24th, 2015 at 6:59pm
Ummmm in Charlie Chaplins Alaskan Gold rush movie two miners cook and eat an old boot.
That boot was really made of licorice. That do? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Mar 24th, 2015 at 8:27pm
Well I do love licorice so yes- bring it on! ;D
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 24th, 2015 at 8:39pm
Can do licorice bootlaces.
Hummmm if I had an old boot I could make a mold, line it with clingwrap, make a licorice jelly, pour into the mold etc. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 29th, 2015 at 5:08pm John Smith wrote on Mar 6th, 2015 at 11:56pm:
had the last of that batch of meat yesterday .. now aged about 3 months. Even though I overcooked it, it was so tender it still melted in my mouth |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Effie on Mar 30th, 2015 at 3:07pm
I do like a good piece of steak...but I am cutting it almost right out- too much meat. I am having a cornish pastie for dinner tonight- easy and very yum, if you like pasties.
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by Effie on Mar 30th, 2015 at 3:13pm John Smith wrote on Mar 29th, 2015 at 5:08pm:
The marinade will have little to do with wether its tough or not- that is all in the choosing of your steak prior. I was told how to get a tender steak every time- ( a butcher)- a simple test you can do. Don't put sage and rosemary on your steak- 8-) Flavour should be added at the table or after the steak is cooked...that is for a simple pan fried. You can add a sauce or condiments after cooking. |
Title: Re: What's for dinner? Post by John Smith on Mar 30th, 2015 at 3:28pm Agnes wrote on Mar 30th, 2015 at 3:13pm:
it's not the marinade that makes it tender, it's the fact that it's aged in oil and NEVER frozen. I only add the sage, rosemary and garlic so that it's ready to use at short notice. I don't need to marinade later. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Effie on Mar 30th, 2015 at 3:39pm
ok- but I would never hinder the flavour of a good streak with anything via a marinade- but that is personal preference- I like my steak as is and only add anything after cooking- usualy just S and P and a good sauce- Dianne or what ever.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 31st, 2015 at 5:09pm
We're going to our local for dinner. It's not really our local local - just our favourite. It's trivia night and we haven't been in weeks because my husband has been on night duty, so tonight we will paint the town red with our interesting but correct answers.
And have a schnitzel. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Mar 31st, 2015 at 5:24pm
wifey dearest is cooking tonight (now there's something you won't hear me say very often) I believe its salmon fillets with mashed spuds ... or at least it's supposed to be. :D :D :D
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 12:47pm John Smith wrote on Mar 31st, 2015 at 5:24pm:
I was right- John does all he cooking- careful to cook that steak just right- ;) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 12:49pm
Whats for dins dins John.? ;D
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 12:55pm
you were wrong ... we share the cooking
it's just that wifey dearest is no gourmet and she knows it |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 12:56pm Agnes wrote on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 12:49pm:
tonight I'm doing spaghetti con gamberi |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm
Never heard of that Jovanni - and I must say the wife is lucky - men do tend to cook a lot because they love food so much - seems to be the one thing all men share.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 1:03pm
I used to love cooking, but for some reason lost interest- the quality of the dishes I produce have suffered as well- now I do simple, tasty and cheerful.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 3:50pm Agnes wrote on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm:
maybe someone should point out to you that there is no J in the Italian alphabet :D :D :D |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 5:01pm John Smith wrote on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 3:50pm:
Maybe someone should point out to you that your a complete stain- :-* |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 6:06pm Agnes wrote on Apr 3rd, 2015 at 5:01pm:
thats still an improvement on who you normally talk to |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by eagle eyes on Apr 21st, 2015 at 2:34pm
Spaghetti Bolognese with kangaroo mince. Yum and healthy. No hormones in kangaroo meat, very low fat. :)
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Neferti on Apr 21st, 2015 at 2:50pm gone wrote on Apr 21st, 2015 at 2:34pm:
You eat Skippy? Apparently, it is not as healthy as you think. ;) http://www.smh.com.au/national/kangaroo-meat-not-as-healthy-as-you-think-20130408-2hgyx.html |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Apr 26th, 2015 at 6:54am
Well all the other red meats haven't done so well- still many plaque induced heart attacks- I say give roo a chance- and I saw Emu sausages the ther day at Adelaide markets..ewww looked awful but could be delicious
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John_Taverner on Apr 30th, 2015 at 6:24pm
Here's a red meat that won't cause atherosclerosis:
Tuna salsa pizza - seared tuna, ginger, wasabi, avocado, mango, strawberry and black sesame. You might have to Google it though. I had this on the weekend. It was to die for. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on May 6th, 2015 at 6:15pm John_Taverner wrote on Apr 30th, 2015 at 6:24pm:
Sounds good John, especially the salsa, great flavours there.. but maybe not the wasabi- me and wasabi will never be friends- it tends to blow my head off. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Antonius on May 9th, 2015 at 11:46am
will you smoke my meat AG??
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on May 10th, 2015 at 9:47am
No- but I would be glad too see a recipe or some food talk though, all recipes from over there would be welcome,shrimp gumbo or clam chowder
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John_Taverner on May 20th, 2015 at 7:56pm Agnes wrote on May 6th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
The wasabi was subtle. There was a small amount blended with kewpie (Japanese Mayonnaise.) Here is the link with a recipe. http://roadahead.com.au/lifestyle/food-recipe/tuna-salsa-pizza/ If you're ever on the Sunshine Coast, it's worth a try. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Oliver Klozoff on May 23rd, 2015 at 7:54pm
Roast chicken and vegetables.
:) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on May 26th, 2015 at 8:28pm Aussie2 wrote on May 23rd, 2015 at 7:54pm:
Well that roast would go down a treat on these chilly nights- I am craving a huge pot of pea and ham soup- seeing to that right now ~~ |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John_Taverner on May 30th, 2015 at 9:15am
I made myself several jars of Kalamata tapenade. I seem to go through it quite quickly, and the jars they sell in the supermarket are too small.
So last weekend, I noticed that the deli section of the supermarket were selling sliced kalamata for about $6 a kilo, and she even drained it for me at that price. So I also got some fresh lemon, a jar of capers and some fresh parsley. I have plenty of EV Olive Oil at home, and garlic in the garden, so I didn't need that. Recipe is easy: For 400 grams of sliced drained Kalamata, add 2 tablespoons of drained capers. 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Half a lemon, skinned and seeded 1/4 cup of chopped parsley. 3 large cloves of fresh garlic, sliced. Salt and pepper to taste. Combine and put into a food processor until it looks right. This stuff is great with fish, meat or just on crostini with goats cheese. Spread it on lamb just before putting it in the oven, or bake some french shallots and stir in some tapenade. Happy food! If you want to keep it for longer, add some olive oil to the top of the jar. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 2nd, 2015 at 5:44pm John_Taverner wrote on May 30th, 2015 at 9:15am:
That looks amazing, John. Like...really amazing. We will be trying it very soon. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 2nd, 2015 at 5:48pm
We had steak sandwiches. They were good. An easy dinner because we have trivia tonight - my favourite night of the week.
We are going away for the weekend to see family, so I might try and make some of John's tapenade to take. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jun 3rd, 2015 at 11:33am
The tapenade sound's delicious-- and I have never been to a trivia night-- I want to do that , so much fun!
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 4th, 2015 at 8:12pm
If you get a chance, trivia nights are awesome. Really fun. The two of us regularly beat teams of 5 or 6 people - I'm very competitive. But...there's a table of bogans with neck tattoos etc and all but one of them were away last week. The guy on his own managed to come second to our third. I was super impressed.
It's a very mixed bag of people, which I like a lot. Give it a go if you have one nearby. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Jun 4th, 2015 at 9:35pm
Japanese at Itoshin tonight, at Mermaid Beach ... best Japanese restaurant on the Gold Coast by far
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jun 5th, 2015 at 9:46pm
yeah well i had toasted cheese and onion..it was delish and no dishes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by The Niftiest Bear on Jun 6th, 2015 at 3:23am
I just had a bowl of Mi Goreng with toast ..... Don't judge me.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John_Taverner on Jun 6th, 2015 at 12:09pm John Smith wrote on Jun 4th, 2015 at 9:35pm:
Have you tried Wagaya in the Valley? I love the concept and have eaten there a few times. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:29pm
I have yet to try Japanese- I am under the delusion they serve everything raw..
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:31pm
I want to do Curried kebabs next- mild not hot.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:46pm John_Taverner wrote on Jun 6th, 2015 at 12:09pm:
I have a 3 and 5 yr old ... driving up to brissie for dinner isn't in the realms of possibilities just yet. I've tried a lot of Japanese and stand by my claim that Itoshin is the best... if you're ever on the GC i highly recommend it |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:47pm Agnes wrote on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:29pm:
One of the people that was with us on Thursday was under the same impression ... she's now a big fan of Japanese food. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:49pm
last nights left overs again tonight ... i don't usually do left overs but it was so good I can't bring myself to throw it out. ... Osso bucco that has spent hours stewing with mushrooms and tomatoes, served with green beans and apple, celery and tomatoe salad
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jun 7th, 2015 at 4:23pm
I just love Osso Bucco- and any meat dish left over night always tastes better next day-
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jun 7th, 2015 at 4:26pm The Niftiest Bear wrote on Jun 6th, 2015 at 3:23am:
I judge noone when it comes to food Nifti- I eat all kind's and the combinations are suspect- I ate a chip sandwich yesterday and I even put cheese crackers between bread. it tasted pretty good- I am adventurous :D Very eclectic palate. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John_Taverner on Jun 7th, 2015 at 7:49pm John Smith wrote on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:47pm:
I love Japanese pancakes (Okonomiyaki) . |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Jun 7th, 2015 at 7:51pm John_Taverner wrote on Jun 7th, 2015 at 7:49pm:
never tried those ... I'll have to remember it for next time. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by John Smith on Jun 7th, 2015 at 7:52pm John Smith wrote on Jun 7th, 2015 at 3:49pm:
changed it around a little, used the osso bucco as a pasta sauce with some aldente penne. tasted great and the osso bucco was even more tender than yesterday. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Rhino on Jun 7th, 2015 at 9:14pm The Niftiest Bear wrote on Jun 6th, 2015 at 3:23am:
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Rhino on Jun 7th, 2015 at 9:16pm
Tried out a little Indian cafe down the road today, dosai masala, very nice.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by The Niftiest Bear on Jun 8th, 2015 at 10:57am rhino wrote on Jun 7th, 2015 at 9:14pm:
The stuff that is actually instant noodles, y'know, with the instructions on the back for how to make instant noodles? You grab a bit of toast and put the noodles in it and eat it like a sandwich --- it's surprisingly tasty. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 8th, 2015 at 11:11am The Niftiest Bear wrote on Jun 8th, 2015 at 10:57am:
You're doing it wrong. Dip the fresh white bread in the soupy bit. Yum. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 8th, 2015 at 2:40pm
We bought a smoker yesterday, so my husband is smoking some fish for himself and the kids. I'll have pasta with a creamy chilli sauce.
We had lunch at Nimbin pub yesterday, which was as nice as it usually is. Husband had tempura vegetables, I had a vegetarian burger that had a delicious pesto and the kids just got chicken nugget kids meals. It was lovely eating out on the deck - such a relaxed atmosphere. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by The Niftiest Bear on Jun 8th, 2015 at 5:47pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Jun 8th, 2015 at 11:11am:
I do that after :3 |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by A.G on Jul 7th, 2015 at 8:46pm
Is it just me- or is it possible to lose cooking skills- always considered myself a good cook but I think I forgot stuff pertaining to having a clue....might start having to use cook books a lot more.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Agnes on Sep 5th, 2015 at 1:38pm
I had a steak last night with salad and chips- in my salad I included rocket- that is growing wild in my back yard- top that one I dare you ! I just pulled that for years before I realsied what it was- Im not dead this morning so it must be good fer ya..well at least not toxic.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 5th, 2015 at 2:01pm
Coorong mullet in light batter and spicy potato wedges.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by The Grappler on Sep 8th, 2015 at 11:15pm
Basic - steak and gravy with carrots, peas and spuds...
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by The Grappler on Sep 8th, 2015 at 11:17pm Agnes wrote on Sep 5th, 2015 at 1:38pm:
Rocket is nice pulled young and sweet... too old and it gets a bit tart... spicy.... (did I just say that?) Planted some tomato seeds today - then it was snow in the Victorian Alps to the SW and the Snowies to the West.. and icy wind again... brrrr... Romas and Truss ... potatoes love to grow behind my back in the compost heap.. bewdiful! Snow peas by the bag..... |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 2:03pm
Well...I've cooked a hearty stew for the family.
Broad beans + potatoes from the garden stewed with diced steak, onion, garlic, tomatoes and carrots. The house smells lovely :) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 2:26pm
Those broadbeans and potatoes didn’t need much cooking I guess? :D
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:30pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 2:26pm:
Not in my ex mum in law's pressure cooker. So what will you be having tonight Monk? The usual quick sandwich for 1? Pkt of 2 min noodles perhaps? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:36pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 2:03pm:
It looks something like this actually. NB I used steak not lamb. http://toriavey.com/toris-kitchen/2013/05/lamb-fava-beans/ |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:42pm
http://thumb7.shutterstock.com/display_pic_with_logo/55194/165745061/stock-photo-braised-beef-with-potatoes-and-green-and-yellow-beans-in-a-mini-casserole-dish-165745061.jpg
A more accurate pic of what it looks like dished up. Thanks to my awesome mummy...I too now make the best home made broad bean/veg/steak stew in Australia! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:42pm
Can of fava beans?
Tonight I will make an omelette. Desert: chocolate creme brulee. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:48pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:42pm:
Translation : I'm throwing an egg in a pan and I'll open a small plastic container of processed mush from the supermarket. Okkkkkay. :o Bottom line? You're not eating properly. And that explains you being large. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:54pm
my creme brulee recipe is in my board, dear lady. The eggs came from my own chickens.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:55pm
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:05pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 3:54pm:
Oh for Christ's sake...you are such a child. So see through.... Forget your copy and paste jobs. Start cooking healthy meals and freeze them if need be. Stop eating rubbish or your obesity issues will worsen and your health will deteriorate even further. What is it with you men? You MUST have a wife or mother on site to cook for you each night otherwise you start eating crap ::) It's very annoying to say the least! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:14pm
So you were wrong about my cooking. And most other things.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:21pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:14pm:
Nope! A mother's instinct is always right. As a mummy's boy, you of all people ought to know that by now. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:24pm
Mummy’s boy? You really are sad.
Live in a 1 bedroom flat, eat canned food, pretend you know stuff about other people, try to act superior as a way of compensating for your poverty in all things. 50cm broadbeans in 3 weeks :D :D :D |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:36pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:24pm:
Yes. You're a confirmed mummy's boy. Still living in Mummy's home even. Mummy's little naughty boy. Fact! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:40pm
Fact? :D :D :D
If you want to get away from tinned food try these: Thai fish cakes: |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:59pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 4:40pm:
WE LOVE THAI FOOD. AND I make awesome fish cakes....it's my mum's recipe actually. Still....I'll have you know that I'm not the slightest bit interested or convinced in the pic you've googled. You definitely need a woman to look after you. That much is clear to me now. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 5:02pm
And what the hell, is that green stuff meant to be?
Some type of cucumber salad? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 5:22pm
You make Thai fish cakes, your Greek mother’s recipe :D :D :D
My god you are a sad case. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:08pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
Bottom line? You're too drunk to read a simple post. Never mind. Sober up....we'll talk after your hangover. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:11pm
The only fish cakes you see are the ones you buy from your fish & chippy. That is clear! Thai fishcakes come with a cucumber relish.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:25pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:11pm:
Lol. Who buys fish cakes from a fish and chips shop? Nope. As stated previously...I make fish cakes as per my mum's awesome recipe. I MAKE FISH CAKES. NB I NEVER STATED THAT I MADE THAI FISH CAKES. Do I need to repeat this again? Or will I come back to read this confused rubbish: Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:28pm
Fish and chippy fish cakes for Lisa.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:32pm
And in future, please read and consider what others around you are kind enough to post in your direction BEFORE responding.
Thank you. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:33pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:28pm:
Aha! So that's what YOU'RE having tonight! You keep mentioning it all the time. Finally....the truth. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:36pm
Omelette and creme brulee.
Do you need creme brulee explained to you? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:39pm
You are being rather silly, I have started food threads about every board I have been on, mentioned the Thai Fish Cakes and posted the recipe with it.
I posted a photo of those, care to post a pic of something you cooked? Come on, a Cordon Bleu cook like you should have something you can post. Oh yeah, fake pics will be tracked down, remember? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:41pm
Monk.
Unlike you, we're having PROPER DINNER FOOD here. Broadbeans/carrots/potatoes/tomatoes/onions/steak stew. And this topic has now revealed to all and sundry .... That you're jealous! :P |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:42pm
So, post a piccy of that fabulous meal!
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:53pm
Guess Lisa will now run away to another board.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:55pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:42pm:
Sheesh...look at the time you blooming fool. Now you ask me? The last of it is being bloody eaten by my 2 teenagers. There's hardly anything left. Also....damn, I'm going to have to ask this question now... how does one post a pic in this topic? I can take pics easily using this tablet (because it looks like a big mobile phone..so that part is cool). But what do I do then? I've asked a few people on Oz Pol via PM about this issue. I wish I could ask my family...but I can't. Why? I'm doing this behind their back (we've got a strict no posting real pics online policy in force here). Monk, if you dare respond to this post by teasing me, I swear to God, you're never seeing ANY pics of my gardens or dinners. Ever. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:00pm
No pic posted, noted.
I posted the pic of my Thai fishcakes. You get your meals from the fish and chippy etc. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Secret Wars on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:02pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 6:55pm:
Easy peasy, Google free hosting site, it will prompt you for the pictures to download, it will then provide you with the links to post pictures on a forum. All anonymous and easy enough for any tard to manage. You can even do some editing to block out faces, license plates etc if you want to use that as an excuse. Best way to verify it is your own photo and not lifted from the net is to include a recent newspaper front page or just include in the photo a bit of paper with bugger you *insert name of interloculater*. Happy piccies. So no excuses now, I suspect you will be getting called out a lot to post photographic evidence of some of your claims. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:02pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:00pm:
Right that's it. You're not getting any pics. Ever! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:08pm Secret Wars wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:02pm:
Great! A fake multi nic comes in to tell me what to do. Don't you just love Oz Pol. Anyway...whilst here can I send these pics to people via PM on Oz Pol? It's just that I don't want Monk to see them. I warned him...he blew it. He misses out. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:08pm
Not cooking dinner yet, making some blood orange marmalade. See skins, juice and the bowl of membranes and pips that will be bagged up in muslim and left to soak with the juice and peel—any idea why sweet Lisa?
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Secret Wars on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:11pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:08pm:
Not telling you what to do, you asked a question and I answered it. Now you have no excuse not to post pictures to prove the veracity of your claims. Happy foruming. ;) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:13pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:08pm:
I've never made marmalade. My mum's got an orchard. Oranges everywhere. Marmalade. My fav. Since forever. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:18pm
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:19pm
So, Lisa. . .?
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Secret Wars on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:21pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:17pm:
Nice one. Over to you Lisa. ;D |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Aussie on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:25pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:17pm:
That's the way Monk. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 8:41pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:17pm:
Hmmmmm. Dreadful handwriting! Let me get back to you on this. In the mean time....I would like to start making my own marmalade. I'm tired of giving away/throwing away mum's oranges and lemons. Her orchard trees produce them by the hundreds. And home made marmalade....has ALWAYS been my fav. Bottom line? I need a step by step recipe off you. Ok? |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 24th, 2015 at 8:42pm
We are waiting a photo from you.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Aussie on Sep 24th, 2015 at 8:50pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 8:41pm:
How about we get back to credentials. Monk has now proven his beyond any doubt. Given the never ending abuse and very personal put downs you have posted about others, it is time (well over time) you made some attempt to prove yours. A photo of your alleged vege patch with the broad beans etc will suffice. Don't forget the essential note addressed to Monk, will you. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 8:56pm Secret Wars wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 7:21pm:
I'm going to give it a go. If I get stuck....I'll come back here and tell you. I think once I get the hang of it.... it will be ok. I've got to get going now. See you all in the morning. I'll take some shots then. I'll also hand write a note saying "Hello to you all at Oz Pol". I suppose I should also date and sign it as "Lisa Jones". Warning to Monk : You're gonna die when you see my broadbeans. They are seriously outta control! I should show you my chokos too...they're growing again. Still small though. I've got heaps of things growing here which I could show you. HEAPS!!!! Anyway....tomorrow morning... I'll be getting out there to take some shots. Hope it doesn't rain. Even if it does, I'll wait til it stops. Ok....night everyone. Sweet dreams :) |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:06pm Aussie wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 8:50pm:
Shut up Aussie. Go to bed. You annoy me. I will address the note in the pics to everyone at Oz Pol. Everyone. I will sign and date the note also. I'll do the note now. Log off time here. Bloody "Predator" is playing on Foxtel. Need to get everyone off to bed before they're completely hypnotized by it lol. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:09pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:04pm:
That's it. Over it. No pics will be posted in this topic. I'll PM them to certain people instead. You won't be one of them. Deal with it. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:10pm Aussie wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:08pm:
That's it. You just blew it! Just like Monk, you won't be getting the pics either. Deal with it! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Johnsmith on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:51pm
tonight was grilled baby octopus as entree with roast duck as main ..... lovely
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Agnes on Sep 24th, 2015 at 10:06pm
Aussie stop that crap and run your mouth on your own board -. One more comment about this crap from you or monk and I lock this thread!!!!!!
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 7:29am Agnes wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 10:06pm:
Thanks Agnes. Those 2 don't know when to stop. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 25th, 2015 at 8:13am Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 7:29am:
:D :D :D |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:16am
Found I had a slice of porchetta left. Quickly grilled that a little bit, added that to the omelette.
No pic of the fabulous vege patch, as I expected. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Aussie on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:22am Agnes wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 10:06pm:
Do you mean crap like this? Quote:
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:40am Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:16am:
Read back. You blew your chance. Twice. Bad luck. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:41am Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:09pm:
Up for Monk! Your memory. Get it checked out. ASAP. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Aussie on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:41am Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:40am:
No Lisa, for the zillionth time, you blew your chance to establish some credibility. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 9:44am Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 24th, 2015 at 9:10pm:
Up for the other loner loser stalker! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 25th, 2015 at 10:06am
Convenient.
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 10:09am Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 10:06am:
Yes. Your memory is indeed convenient. Tough! |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 25th, 2015 at 10:34am
According to Lisa I live on a remote property? Really? 20–25 minutes drive from the Adelaide CBD!
Why do you lie so much, Lisa? My Sig line is a quote, from Frank Hardy, author of Power Without Glory and Outcasts of Foolgarah. It is a sort of joke. Trust you not to get it. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 11:46am
Monk, I don't know wtf you're talking about now....nor do I care.
Now...re dinner tonight. Lentil & vegetable soup stew with heaps of fresh onion, garlic and herbs from my garden through it. It's a fav Greek recipe my mum brought us up with. And it looks exactly like this. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:05pm
Herbs from your garden
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:20pm Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:05pm:
Yep. Herbs from my garden. Got herbs growing everywhere here...both front and back. Neighbours come by all the time to grab mint, parsley, lemon thyme, oregano, rosemary, sage..... also onions, garlic. Got way too much of it. My sister is coming by to grab a kilo of broad beans this afternoon. Will need to get out there before she comes. Just waiting for 2 little naughty toddlers to get to sleep...otherwise they'll follow me. Got my little sign ready here too. It reads : Hello to all my friends at OzPol. Welcome to "Lisa's Garden" Pity you won't be getting any pics Monk. You along with your pathetic abusive co troll buddy Aussie blew your chance...twice. Hopefully you'll both learn a valuable lesson for next time. |
Title: Re: What's for din dins? Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:29pm
:D :D :D
Says the troll who started abusing me as homosexual. . . |