General Discussion >> Technically Speaking >> new laptop http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1383471025 Message started by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 7:30pm |
Title: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 7:30pm
Hi there
I'm looking for a new laptop. Mainly just for photo's, Skype, email, etc although I may in future use it to run my MYOB for the business. Can anyone recommend a good website to find one ? Also, if you have a preference for which laptop you think is better, I'd like to hear your views. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by muso on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 9:38pm
Amazon.com
They are much cheaper ex the US. You just need an Australian charger. Keep it below $1000 and you don't pay import tax. HP Pavilion Touchsmart 11-E004AU Laptop - $379.99 Harvey Norman Online - $527 |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 9:42pm
cheers
Title: Re: new laptop Post by freediver on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:01pm
I run this website off a $300 netbook (not the actual hosting of course). They are good enough for streaming video, so should handle skype OK. Apparently they don't do dual screens. They are very handy if you have a commute on public transport. They are also fairly rugged, probably because they are light.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:18pm muso wrote on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 9:38pm:
I've now tried 3 different laptops and it keeps telling me 'cannot ship to this address'. Do they even ship to Australia? |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by muso on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:21pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:18pm:
Oh, maybe they don't now. I ordered one from there about 5 years ago. I didn't realise that. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:21pm Ah, I have heard from the US they don't ship stuff with batteries in it. I might have misheard. last time I bought one I googled for the most reliable brand, bought one of those. I never buy the cheapest anything. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:22pm muso wrote on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:21pm:
Ok. their loss. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:23pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:21pm:
Makes sense, I suppose. so how do we import batteries? |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:25pm no idea, I bought mine from a real shop in aussie |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:28pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:25pm:
I went to a real shop to buy a laptop today, spent over 10 minutes waiting for the salesman who pretended not to see me, so I went home to find one online. I'll bet I'll save money too. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:49pm the customer service in some shops is terrible. It is as though they want me to NOT buy anything. In one shop this young guy reeled off all his jargon till I left. He did not listen a bit, did not see my eyes rolling or my hands rise to try to make him shut up. Yes, prob be cheaper online. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:56pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 3rd, 2013 at 10:49pm:
then they blame the internet :-/ :-/ |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by muso on Nov 4th, 2013 at 8:29am
There's always Ebay. You can get a new computer from there.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 4th, 2013 at 8:53am muso wrote on Nov 4th, 2013 at 8:29am:
cheers .... I've had a look ....there are also a couple of good deals on the Dell website. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by muso on Nov 4th, 2013 at 11:41am
Dell hmmm ok. Some people have had good experience with Dell.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sappho on Nov 4th, 2013 at 11:49am
I quite like Office Works as they will under cut the cheapest and offer free next day delivery if it's in stock.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 4th, 2013 at 2:49pm
I'm an Acer user myself.
I have four, and they've all been very good. This laptop (Acer AS8951G) is an absolute mind-blower, but was VERY expensive. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sappho on Nov 5th, 2013 at 7:20pm
Yep... Acer here too. Acer Aspire V5 touch screen with Windows 8... but not that expensive.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by John Smith on Nov 5th, 2013 at 7:47pm
I had an acer once, it had 12 months warrantry on it, at 12 months and 2 weeks it completely died on me ... never again
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sappho on Nov 5th, 2013 at 8:00pm
Never had a problem with Acer's. My son is desperate for his to die so he can upgrade, but it refuses to die... dropped it many a time, but it doesn't care... he's had it 4 years now.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by skippy. on Nov 5th, 2013 at 8:32pm
I have had a toshiba satellite for four or five years! still works fine. I bought my son a toshiba for his birthday, he is in to gaming so it was a good for graphics and cost about a grand.
But I actually use my iPad for most things nowadays, though it's a bit of pain posting with it as it's not great for copy and pasting. I was in dick smiths this arvo and I reckon I might get me a MacBook Air, I used to think Macs were for wankers but the iPad had changed my mind I'm about to buy an iPhone too I just love how simple they are. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sappho on Nov 5th, 2013 at 8:46pm
I'm a bit of a Nexus convert myself... Have the tablet and seriously considering the Nexus phone as it's bigger than my mini Samsung. Like apple, android technology is very user friendly.
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 5th, 2013 at 9:03pm John Smith wrote on Nov 5th, 2013 at 7:47pm:
My newest (this one, the AS8951) is 18 months old and running Windows 8.1 like new. My oldest (an SA10 Pentium 4 desktop machine) is around 7 years old, runs Vista/XP, and has never missed a beat. The older laptop (AS5735) is my Windows 7 machine. Obviously, YMMV. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 5th, 2013 at 9:08pm skippy. wrote on Nov 5th, 2013 at 8:32pm:
My Android phone is on its last legs, so am in the market for a replacement. I'm going with a Nokia Lumia 520 with Windows 8. My brother has run Toshiba laptops for years, loves them! |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by True Blue... on Nov 9th, 2013 at 7:20am
I use nothing but DELL
I browse their online website then give them a call for a better deal. don't be scared to push them around a bit. >:( ;D if you are an RACV member you'll usually get a bit more off. I've purchased them for business and personal and only upgrade when something better and faster comes out, not because they have broken down. I saw this all in one 27" apple the other day... the screen was magnificent! but for what you get for the $$$ was pathetic in terms of hardware and speed. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by True Blue... on Nov 9th, 2013 at 7:22am
welfare payments must be good kat...
laptops and internet plans phone and phone plans maybe its time to cut welfare payments |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 10th, 2013 at 9:47am True Blue... wrote on Nov 9th, 2013 at 7:22am:
Why don't you go someplace quiet, and self-immolate? I paid for this, asshole, with MY WAGES. AND the plan. AND the phone (a cheapie basic pre-paid smartphone for $80.00, if you MUST know) YOU ASSHOLES DID NOT! Not ONE penny! You people do NOT pay my way, despite what you may think. I 'owe' you nothing. Offensive prig. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by True Blue... on Nov 10th, 2013 at 7:34pm
Nokia Lumia 520s sell for around $180
did you miss a digit in your last post? |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 11th, 2013 at 6:52am True Blue... wrote on Nov 10th, 2013 at 7:34pm:
Not at all. I'm well aware of the price of a Lumia (actually $149 if you get it from Telstra). But I was referring to my current phone (the one that's dying). The Lumia will be a 'chrissie present' for myself. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by True Blue... on Nov 11th, 2013 at 6:49pm Kat wrote on Nov 11th, 2013 at 6:52am:
the 520 or 525 are an excellent budget iphone... the windows tiles are easy to use and organise... the texting word suggestions are excellent making SMS's a breeze... be careful of data usage... make sure you fire up the wifi... |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 11th, 2013 at 8:18pm
I've got Windows 8.1 on the laptop, so I figured I may as well get a Windows phone. I'm finding
that Android as an operating system leaves a LOT to be desired. A mate has recently bought a Lumia and is very happy with it, and it's well-specced for the price. Bugger paying through the nose for an iPhone... My pre-paid plan gives me 400mb /month of data on a $30 recharge, which I seldom exceed and I have wifi at home so can use my main internet connection when home. I don't tend to 'do' a lot of internet via the phone. That may change with the Lumia. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by True Blue... on Nov 11th, 2013 at 8:31pm
they take mini SD cards for extra storage for pictures etc so if you have an old one of them lying around stick it in when you get it...
I found one in an old mini video camera I don't use anymore when I needed one once... the Telstra ones are locked into Telstra Plans only but if you get one from say - Harvey Norman - they are unlocked.. an Optus $30 plan will give you unlimited SMS and I think 500 MB of data... also check out ebay for "clear" screen covers and leather protectors... http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-Flip-Leather-Case-Cover-Nokia-Lumia-520-521-Free-Screen-Protector-/300925162482?pt=AU_MobilePhoneAccessories&hash=item46108993f2 |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Kat on Nov 12th, 2013 at 7:36am True Blue... wrote on Nov 11th, 2013 at 8:31pm:
Thanks for that link, will do. A cracked screen is just one of the issues with my current phone. The new one will definitely be getting a case/cover. |
Title: Re: new laptop Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 12th, 2013 at 10:33am My last 2 laptops were dells. I thnk they are overrated now, toshibas have good ratings. |