General Discussion >> General Board >> Droves Of Workers Would Leave The Industry.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1368996645

Message started by imcrookonit on May 20th, 2013 at 6:50am

Title: Droves Of Workers Would Leave The Industry.
Post by imcrookonit on May 20th, 2013 at 6:50am
No penalties, no work'      :(

Date
    May 20, 2013

Heather Thomas says she would not work in hospitality if weekend penalties were taken away.      :-?

Heather Thomas spends her weekdays at university and her weekends waiting on tables at an inner-city Sydney restaurant.

But the 21-year-old says that, if a push by restaurants across Australia to end extra pay for working weekends and at night is successful, she will be among droves of workers to leave the industry.

''If I wasn't being paid adequately for a weekend I definitely wouldn't go in,'' Ms Thomas said.      ;)

Her evidence has helped form part of union United Voice's argument over penalty rates, which will be heard before the Fair Work Commission on Monday.

The union is responding to a request to the commission by Restaurant and Catering, which represents owners and managers in the industry, to review the award covering restaurant staff.

The association last week argued before the Industrial Relations Commission in Sydney that hospitality employees who now get extra penalty payments for working weekends and nights should lose them.      

Under its application, which the association has said is ''unprecedented'', only those who worked more than five days in a row would be eligible for the extra payments.

The association argues that, ''given the opportunity'', workers will accept weekend work at ordinary rates, without extra payment - thereby helping small business operators to stay afloat.

It also argues that, due to the dramatic change in working hours across society, Australia is now a ''24/7'' economy, and that many who work in the restaurant industry are not disadvantaged by working on weekends or at night.

Ms Thomas disagreed, and said she could work only at weekends due to study commitments. ''Because I work evenings, I don't get to see my family or a lot of my friends who work office jobs,'' the international studies student said.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/political-news/no-penalties-no-work-20130519-2juvf.html#ixzz2Tm114vW7

Title: Re: Droves Of Workers Would Leave The Industry.
Post by imcrookonit on May 20th, 2013 at 6:55am
Well said Heather, you should not have to work weekends, if they don't pay you the penalty rates.      ;) 

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 20th, 2013 at 7:51am

If Heather doesn't want to work, there are plenty who do...

Post by imcrookonit on May 20th, 2013 at 8:00am
Yes Heather does want to work.  She also wants her penalty rates, and rightly so.     :) 

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 20th, 2013 at 8:15am

She wants to work two days per week. Why should she be paid excessively for that?

Post by imcrookonit on May 20th, 2013 at 8:18am
Why shouldn't she be paid more.  You want people to work weekends and public holidays.  Then you pay your penalty rates.     ;)   

Post by John Smith on May 20th, 2013 at 8:46am
Heartless is going to work Saturday night and Sunday serving ungrateful slobs for $15 /hr.

Post by Kat on May 20th, 2013 at 8:47am

The Heartless Felon wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 7:51am:

It has NOTHING to do with 'not wanting to work'.

It's about wanting a fair wage for doing so, a concept
totally foreign to conservatives.

These 'bludger' slurs against anyone who won't work
for peanuts are getting beyond tiresome.

Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 8:59am
almost up to 100 threads about penalty rates.  with the amount of whining you do IMFULLOFIT, I am pretty sure there are less people supporting penalty rates than there were at the start. you are a whiner and a bludger

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 20th, 2013 at 9:06am
So she works, say two twelve hour shifts on the weekend and gets up to 48 hours pay, why the hell would anyone do anything else?

Throw in the odd public holiday and she's laughing...

Post by Swagman on May 20th, 2013 at 9:55am

wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 6:55am:
Well said Heather, you should not have to work weekends, if they don't pay you the penalty rates.      ;) 

Then don't.  There would be plenty of unemployed people that would like a job.  If the employers can't get the numbers then they will pay penalty rates or higher hourly rates as an incentive.

That's an example of true Labour market Mr Crook and not one wharped by regulation and collusion. That's the way it should happen, not collusion by labour cartels to fix wages prices.......that's anti-competitive behaviour, and for business anti-competitive behaviour is outlawed, but for unions, anti-competitive behaviour is the status quo....

Post by Rider on May 20th, 2013 at 10:05am
Go Heather!!!!!!!!!! No I mean go, p1ss off, I'll take your work haha

You wanted unregulated shopping hours, the upside is unregulated hourly rates.

Its fair, you know it is.

Post by John Smith on May 20th, 2013 at 10:44am

Rider wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 10:05am:

wrong, it was th eindustry that wanted unregulated shopping hours, now the same industry is complaining they cannot afford to staff those hours ... they should have thought of that before asking for the extra hours.

Post by Kat on May 20th, 2013 at 10:47am

longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 8:59am:
almost up to 100 threads about penalty rates.  with the amount of whining you do IMFULLOFIT, I am pretty sure there are less people supporting penalty rates than there were at the start. you are a whiner and a bludger

You really do need to stop shooting the messenger just because you don't like the message.

Post by Kat on May 20th, 2013 at 10:58am

Swagman wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 9:55am:

wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 6:55am:

Then don't.  There would be plenty of unemployed people that would like a job.  If the employers can't get the numbers then they will pay penalty rates or higher hourly rates as an incentive.

That's an example of true Labour market Mr Crook and not one wharped by regulation and collusion. That's the way it should happen, not collusion by labour cartels to fix wages prices.......that's anti-competitive behaviour, and for business anti-competitive behaviour is outlawed, but for unions, anti-competitive behaviour is the status quo....

It's nothing of the kind, and you well know it.

Don't try to tell me business doesn't collude to lower wages and remove conditions. You cannot
condemn one, and approve the other.

Small business is over-regulated, but big business isn't regulated anywhere near harshly enough.

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 20th, 2013 at 11:07am
"Heather Thomas spends her weekdays at university and her weekends waiting on tables at an inner-city Sydney restaurant."

''Because I work evenings, I don't get to see my family or a lot of my friends who work office jobs,'' the international studies student said.

How many jobs has she got? She works weekends and evenings?

And she only works for penalty rates...

Post by mantra on May 20th, 2013 at 11:17am

Most of those who work in the restaurant industry are young. Their friends are out on a Friday and Saturday night having a good time, but a hospitality worker who works weekends sacrifices his/her late nights and weekend social activities.

Weekends are usually a lot busier than weekdays - so restaurants who are demanding cheap weekend labour will end up with sub-standard staff - that's if they can even find staff.

No doubt Abbott will change the workplace laws enabling employers to do away with penalty rates altogether - which Howard did also.

Post by Rider on May 20th, 2013 at 11:22am

John Smith wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 10:44am:

wrong, it was th eindustry that wanted unregulated shopping hours, now the same industry is complaining they cannot afford to staff those hours ... they should have thought of that before asking for the extra hours.

chicken meet egg. egg, meet chicken  :) 

society evolves, sunday was once reserved for church.......sat and sunday are equal to mon thru fri.

Post by warrigal on May 20th, 2013 at 11:28am
And what was that all that about, a minor bitch fest because you miss read what imcrook posted.

Post by John Smith on May 20th, 2013 at 11:31am

Rider wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 11:22am:

John Smith wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 10:44am:

chicken meet egg. egg, meet chicken  :) 

society evolves, sunday was once reserved for church.......sat and sunday are equal to mon thru fri.

not in my world ... Sat. evenings and Sunday a reserved for my family time.

Post by Swagman on May 20th, 2013 at 12:07pm

mantra wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 11:17am:

Most of those who work in the restaurant industry are young. Their friends are out on a Friday and Saturday night having a good time, but a hospitality worker who works weekends sacrifices his/her late nights and weekend social activities.

Weekends are usually a lot busier than weekdays - so restaurants who are demanding cheap weekend labour will end up with sub-standard staff - that's if they can even find staff.

No doubt Abbott will change the workplace laws enabling employers to do away with penalty rates altogether - which Howard did also.

Is there a point there? :-?

Why is it bad for a restaurant to employ someone that is happy to work for no penalty rate on weekends? :-?

It's their choice.  They may be long term unemployed and a wage, any wage is better than the dole.

If the restaurant can't get "experienced staff" then it will pay more to attract them.  Supply and demand.  Why does it have to be an across the board law that weekend work must attract penalty rates?  It's stupid and inefficient.

Post by John Smith on May 20th, 2013 at 12:21pm

Swagman wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 12:07pm:

Why is it bad for a restaurant to employ someone that is happy to work for no penalty rate on weekends? :-?

It's their choice.  They may be long term unemployed and a wage, any wage is better than the dole.

If the restaurant can't get "experienced staff" then it will pay more to attract them.  Supply and demand.  Why does it have to be an across the board law that weekend work must attract penalty rates?  It's stupid and inefficient.

there is no incentive for long term unemployed to work a shift on sat. or sunday if thats all they are going to work. .... work a shift, make $150 aand then have $150 taken off your dole, not to mention all the loops you have to jump through weith centrelink ....  in the end you go through a lot of bullsh1t to end up in the same position you were if you'd not worked that shift.

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2013 at 12:47pm

The Heartless Felon wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 9:06am:
So she works, say two twelve hour shifts on the weekend and gets up to 48 hours pay, why the hell would anyone do anything else?

She would not be getting 2 X 12 hr shifts and the penalties are not 100%.

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2013 at 12:51pm

Why is it bad for a restaurant to employ someone that is happy to work for no penalty rate on weekends?

There are always a few scabs willing to undermine everyones conditions.

What will happen is that the work will be done by people desperate for any money who hate the job.

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 20th, 2013 at 1:11pm

Dnarever wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 12:47pm:

The Heartless Felon wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 9:06am:

She would not be getting 2 X 12 hr shifts and the penalties are not 100%.

I wondered which idiot would be first to jump in with this.

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 20th, 2013 at 1:12pm

Dnarever wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 12:51pm:

Why is it bad for a restaurant to employ someone that is happy to work for no penalty rate on weekends?

What will happen is that the work will be done by people desperate for any money who hate the job.

Free enterprise vs freeloaders...

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2013 at 1:17pm

The Heartless Felon wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 1:12pm:

Dnarever wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 12:51pm:

Free enterprise vs freeloaders...

A fair days work for a fair days (or night or weekends) pay.

After hour and week end shifts have a higher market value it is as simple as that.

Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 1:17pm

Kat wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 10:47am:

longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 8:59am:

You really do need to stop shooting the messenger just because you don't like the message.

the messenger however is a lazy dole-bludging moron. THAT is why nobody listens to him.

Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 1:20pm
this thread might have a point if ANYONE was proposing the end of penalty rates outside of the predictable ones (employers).

IMFULLOFIT posts plenty of these types of threads and has yet to start a thread on a workers responsibility to
A) turn up for work
B) work when there
C) show loyalty.

He has only one string in his fiddle... PAY ME MORE.

Post by imcrookonit on May 20th, 2013 at 2:05pm
Is that the same as whats on the employers fiddle.  PAY THEM LESS.     :(

Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 5:25pm

wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 2:05pm:
Is that the same as whats on the employers fiddle.  PAY THEM LESS.     :(

you'd get more respect if you actually had a job or intended to get one.

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2013 at 6:02pm

longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 1:20pm:
this thread might have a point if ANYONE was proposing the end of penalty rates outside of the predictable ones (employers).

IMFULLOFIT posts plenty of these types of threads and has yet to start a thread on a workers responsibility to
A) turn up for work
B) work when there
C) show loyalty.

He has only one string in his fiddle... PAY ME MORE.

C) show loyalty.

D) Get none in return.

Post by warrigal on May 21st, 2013 at 9:01am
So penalty rates paid to some out there, but not to others, particully a woman doing full time university studies.

That is just LOW.

Post by The Heartless Felon on May 21st, 2013 at 9:27am

warrigal wrote on May 21st, 2013 at 9:01am:
So penalty rates paid to some out there, but not to others, particully a woman doing full time university studies.

That is just LOW.

Wozza! Finally we agree on something!

She doesn't work overtime but gets paid overtime rates...

Post by Swagman on May 21st, 2013 at 3:59pm

That is just LOW.

Why?

Post by Dnarever on May 21st, 2013 at 5:25pm

The Heartless Felon wrote on May 21st, 2013 at 9:27am:

That is just LOW.

Wozza! Finally we agree on something!

She doesn't work overtime but gets paid overtime rates...

You really have no understanding of the difference between overtime and penalty rates?