General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> I give up http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1363845149 Message started by alevine on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:52pm |
Title: I give up Post by alevine on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:52pm
This whole parliament is beyond f***ed.
Title: Re: I give up Post by Maqqa on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:53pm
awwww
come one ale this farce is so funny though |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Deathridesahorse on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:53pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:52pm:
iT'S THE MEDIA AND MINING GIANTS THAT TOOK DOWN RUDD.... 8-) 8-) |
Title: Re: I give up Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:54pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:52pm:
on that we agree. the ALP are just ruining the place. Cant even run a proper leadership struggle correctly... |
Title: Re: I give up Post by progressiveslol on Mar 21st, 2013 at 3:56pm
Woo hoo. Australians get a win win. Labor are tearing themselves apart and we also get to kick gillard up the arse and to the curb at the election.
Title: Re: I give up Post by alevine on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:15pm
I'm seriously over it. On one side with a have donkeys with no policy. On another side we have donkeys in a farce who just can't get it together.
Can't be f***ed anymore. Waste of time, the lot of 'em. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by john_g on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:21pm
Labor just seems to want to lose.
Why they stick with Gillard is beyond me. My theory is that she was asked to step down, wouldn't go quietly, and nobody wanted to challenge her in a nasty and divisive spill. This won't be the last we hear of this. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by progressiveslol on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:23pm
Maybe gillard (miss AWU) has too much on a lot of people within the corrupt side of labor.
Title: Re: I give up Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:37pm progressiveslol wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:23pm:
there's a NON-corrupt side??? |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:44pm
The entire episode now is an utter shambles.
Title: Re: I give up Post by Deathridesahorse on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:45pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:44pm:
Title: Re: I give up Post by progressiveslol on Mar 21st, 2013 at 5:43pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:37pm:
I have hope. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 21st, 2013 at 7:46pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:15pm:
Actually, the Liberals released a BOOK full of policies. You just don't happen to like any of them. Too bad! |
Title: Re: I give up Post by John Smith on Mar 21st, 2013 at 7:49pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 7:46pm:
really? care to share? |
Title: Re: I give up Post by red baron on Mar 21st, 2013 at 7:59pm
I sent Tony Abbott an email the other day. I said, "please don't do anything. Keep your own counsel, Julia Gillard is doing such a rip tear job of disintegrating Labor you don't have to do a single thing except turn up on Election Day."
Title: Re: I give up Post by aquascoot on Mar 21st, 2013 at 8:25pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:15pm:
i think what it reflects is that politicians are wrong to claim that THEY are the drivers of economic prosperity.when wayne swan starts bragging again about how he has brought australia to be the envy of the world , i hope he reflects on the fact that this is everything to do with small, medium and large business getting on with the job often DESPITE fools like our parliament and certainly not BECAUSE of them. just think how great this country could be if we had real intelligent leadership not focussed on clinging to power at all costs. call an election, dont call an election, it matters not a jot to the wealth creators. it does get up my goat though when gillard says she cares about the future of australia, jesus c, thats just deluded. she has contributed nothing but chaos. she will go down in history as australias worst prime minister. congratulations julia |
Title: Re: I give up Post by alevine on Mar 21st, 2013 at 10:40pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 7:46pm:
Yes a book of nice pictures of tony and marggie and a lot of policies to not have policies. One example: the policy for education is to index expenditure. Brilliant minds! Took them a whole 2 years to come up with that one. Face it, our politics is going to be uninspiring dribble for the next 3 years as a minimum that will no doubt set us back a decade if not more. Thanks gillard and the labor team for allowing the imbecile to actually look like an alternative. Absolute nonsense. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by alevine on Mar 21st, 2013 at 10:41pm aquascoot wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 8:25pm:
To say economics has little to do with government is very naive, especially if we took europe as an example. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Emma Peel on Mar 21st, 2013 at 10:54pm
yeas...
economics and government ... = politics. trouble is no press seem to be willing to print.... the good news about our economy... except in passing.... cos they are too busy .. doing other stuff... makes me realise ..that Brisbane and surrounds are a definite promise of things to come. Apart from the one major Newspaper... ::) C-M... we have no other major investment in News.. in Qld, exception being the smaller Regionals. the only Capital in Aus . shrugs .. the only capital city in the world ????????? for all I know..?? with one newspaper. Something to think about.... :( Will you?? |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Emma Peel on Mar 21st, 2013 at 10:56pm
oh yeah also
what book of Policies??? :) ;D |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Innocent bystander on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 1:54am
Go Tony, it will be great to have someone of outstanding moral character running the country instead of a lying thieving scheming back stabbing hoe.
Title: Re: I give up Post by Emma Peel on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 3:10am
foff !!
Title: Re: I give up Post by bambu on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 4:04am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:15pm:
Best not to announce one's policies too early, or people are likely to 'steal' them and use them as their own. ...as has been done in times past. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 4:12am
The thing is gillard was right. He had all that time in parliament yesterday to talk about his goals and dreams for australia but instead he bitched about her.
SOB |
Title: Re: I give up Post by The Heartless Felon on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 5:46am
Back in the eighties there was an actress named Pia Zadora; she was one of those small yet buxom types (in the Brigette Bardot mold) who made some truly horrible films. But Pia wanted to be taken as a serious actress, so she appeared in an off Broadway production of "The Diary of Anne Frank".
On opening night things seemed to be going well until that time in the play when the Gestapo knocked on the front door and the audience yelled, " SHE'S IN THE ATTIC!" Yesterday, the nasties just ran away... |
Title: Re: I give up Post by bambu on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 5:57am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 4:12am:
Just returning serve for all the times she's done that to him. It was the last day of parliament for 7 weeks...might as well let her have it. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 6:34am bambu wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 5:57am:
Yeah. Might as well show the public what a dick he is so they can vote accordingly. SOB |
Title: Re: I give up Post by KJT1981 on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:17am Quote:
Title: Re: I give up Post by Innocent bystander on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:42am Emma wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 3:10am:
You wouldn't be saying that if he came to put out a fire at your house ;) |
Title: Re: I give up Post by olde.sault on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:43am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 21st, 2013 at 4:15pm:
The Coalition will state its policies when they are good and ready - at a guess, at a time when it'll be too late for Labor to thieve. What policies, anyway? The country is billions in debt. Labor had not achieved one surplus to pay anything back so, going to lenders cap in hand, is just not on. Vacant promises are JuLiar's way, not Abbott's. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by bigvicfella on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:46am olde.sault wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:43am:
"its policies" ownership of policies? ;D ;D |
Title: Re: I give up Post by The Heartless Felon on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:59am Vic wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 7:46am:
If you're going to correct language, make sure your corrections are correct. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Emma Peel on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:24am
The PM did what she had to do to get people back on track....I have had enough of the useless, divisive speculation that has been largely promulgated by media, .............NOT their role.
Lets get real... Craig Emerson on the teev last night said it. In my words..... Government should not be run on the basis of public polling... the government is required to act effectively , not react to agitation by vested interests. Elections are the deliverer of government, not sensational populist vocal garbage ..like the crap that Joe Hockey was happy to continue with, this morning. Primarily... government is required to act for the benefit of its citizens ,... all this white-anting is destructive to our whole society and it must cease. The government needs to get on with running the country, without this continual effort on the part of the coalition to destabilise our country... It will be interesting to see how the LNP coalition responds. Thank goodness there will be a break for a while.... uh oh ..I better not talk too soon. ::) |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:38am
"I've been in the Labor Party since I was 17 years old. Now I'm an old b*stard now so that's a pretty long time.
Let me tell you, I don't think I can recall a worst day than this one, it was a shambles from front to back. Now you had Crean who came out and forced it, I thought it was part of a big Rudd plan, but it can't have been, so he's gone and done this on his own. Then you had Rudd who I can tell you, because I know, has had his team leaking crap left right and centre about the Government, then he doesn't run because he doesn't have the numbers. It's a shambles, a bloody shambles. We're walking straight over the cliff edge and right into a new Government led by a right-wing nut-job and we're gifting it to him, bloody gifting it to him. It's embarrassing mate and if this is the best we've got in regards to running the Labor party then we should shut up shop and just start again. The coming election, if it stays like this is going to be a massacre, everyone can see it" Graham Richardson. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by iceyone on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:45am
Couldn't agree with Richo more - they've alienated all but the rusted on's (myself included)
If the p.m thinks this is over she's deluded - she'll either get tapped on the shoulder or lose in a landslide at the election (more likely!) |
Title: Re: I give up Post by skippy. on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:48am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:38am:
The coming election was run and lost yesterday, we may as well just get over it and let the right wing nut job take control. Problem is, anyone with half a brain knows he will bugger the place over even whose, the country is buggered. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:52am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:38am:
It's comments like that from so called 'labor people' that have helped cause the circus that we see .... Richo is a sell out ... if he really cares for the labor party he needs to shut up and stop undermining them publicly ... If I have a disagreement with my wife I don't solve it by bitching publicly about it to the whole neighbourhood. ohh wait, he gets paid for that doesn't he :-X |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:57am John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:52am:
Where is he wrong in any of that summary? |
Title: Re: I give up Post by alevine on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:05am John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:52am:
But John what's left? The problem is there is no saving it now. They have royally bugger*ed it. He is right 100%. And Richardson isn't the problem, his frustration shows his love for his party. The problem are the buffoons currently running the party. It's like they don't know politics 101. Or they know it too well and have gone over the edge. Either way, they are letting a man with more hindsight than all of China become our PM. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by dsmithy70 on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:50am
Sorry to see you've caught my pessimism :(
I gave up months ago, Labor couldn't give out condoms in a brothel let alone sell any of it's success. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Karnal on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:58am Innocent bystander wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 1:54am:
I agree, Innocent bystander. However, the only politician with real moral conviction is the one who went to New Zealand to avoid the carbon tax. Thoughts? |
Title: Re: I give up Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:08am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:05am:
Richardson and every other so called labor member with there own agenda is the problem. In that I include Rudd ..... Privately, they can and should discuss whatever they like, but publicly they need to put on a united front. This constant leaking to the media and criticism from former members is what led to this shambles. How often do you hear the liberal party leaks? Do you really think Turenbull doesn't want his job back? But he is smart enough to bide his time and not run to the media with leaks at every opportunity. You do not advance your position by sinking your own ship. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by progressiveslol on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:12am John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:08am:
Problem with that is that Abbott is doing a fine job. His party is popular. Gillard is doing a pathetic job, her party is as popular as a turd in the middle of the lounge room. There is a need for a leader change in labor, there is no such need in the liberal party. In that situation, you will always get talk. Nature of the beast. So the chicken (pathetic gillard) came before the egg(the whispers) |
Title: Re: I give up Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:17am progressiveslol wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:12am:
Wrong ... Abbott isn't doing anything. You hardly ever see him except when he has a slogn. He never does unscripted interviews .. it's not because Abbot is doing something right (other than shutting up) it's because labor is doing it to themselves ... all they need to do is shut the bugger up and put up an united front . It's not a difficult thing to do for most people. Instead for 5 yrs it has been constant leaks and 'opinions'from so called party faithful ... keep your bl00dy opions to yourself or become an independant. You can not claim to care about the party if your are constantly undermining it. |
Title: Re: I give up Post by Maqqa on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:18am
Lefties keep wanting to replace Abbott citing that if the LIBs had replaced him then the poll lead would be larger.
You forget: (1) The LIBs are leading (2) A larger lead would achieve what (3) The LIBs have this lead thanks to Abbott (4) Remember the polls under Turnbull? |
Title: Re: I give up Post by aquascoot on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:32am
you cant have a party whose primary members are
1 rusted on old penalty rate sprouting shop steward bludging unionists (like crook) 2 chattering class capacino sipping poofs and quasi intelectual inner city carbon phobes and refo-lovers. its like trying to form an alliance between the nazi party and the quakers. these 2 groups are at opposite ends of the spectrum and cannot talk to each other. sit them down at a dinner party in alternating seats and watch the conversation flow ;) ;) johnny howard stole the middle ground. labor need to royally kick the bludgers at the bottom and the intelectual hippies at the top out of their party. they need to reshape themselves in the image of the liberal party. imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. and why all the hate and fear etc etc. as grey said, theres barely a cigarette paper between them in terms of policy. labor just suck up to the extremes. go to any backyard bbq and talk to NORMAL people about waht they hate 1 bludgers and union thugs 2 intellectual know it alls. ;) ;) |