Member Run Boards >> Sport >> India V Aust
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1361399410

Message started by Swagman on Feb 21st, 2013 at 8:30am

Title: India V Aust
Post by Swagman on Feb 21st, 2013 at 8:30am
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-australia-2013/content/story/605563.html

OZ Team for First Test

David Warner, Ed Cowan, Phillip Hughes, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (capt), Matthew Wade (wk), Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon.

Selectors have gone with Henriques after he had some good performances in lead up games getting the ball to reverse.

Thought they'd go with Maxwell or Steve Smith myself for that extra (batting all rounder) spin option.  It would be interesting to see Smith bowl on a wicket that actually takes spin although I guess they have Warner as a leggy and Clark as additional spin options if needed.

:)

Title: Re: India V Aust
Post by FriYAY on Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:16am
Interesting selection that.

If fit I hope Clarke bowls a bit more and Warner to change things up.

Feel I bit for Bird, but his day will come.

I think we’re gunna get pumped…the Indians will prepare the pitches with round-up.

Post by Swagman on Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:53am

FriYAY wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:16am:
the Indians will prepare the pitches with round-up.

...they did that with the Poms and it back fired on them.  Monty took lots of wickets.

Monty and Lyon are similar type bowlers

Post by FriYAY on Feb 21st, 2013 at 11:28am

Swagman wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:53am:

FriYAY wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:16am:
the Indians will prepare the pitches with round-up.

...they did that with the Poms and it back fired on them.  Monty took lots of wickets.

Monty and Lyon are similar type bowlers

The key difference being Monty is a left hander and spins the ball away from the right hander.

That's why Clarke needs to bowl a bit more on this tour and Warner as well.

Post by Swagman on Feb 21st, 2013 at 1:07pm

FriYAY wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 11:28am:
The key difference being Monty is a left hander and spins the ball away from the right hander.

Oops right U R, I stand corrected. :)

Post by Aussie on Feb 21st, 2013 at 5:03pm
Wade cannot keep against spin.  He will be one of the reasons we get pantsed over there.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRU-mFek_XhlGyovvwVVlyoxVsPq6BWNwNMt-F00dxFSjrKUqdT

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 12:24pm
Radio magic gone, as India’s bullies shut down Jim Maxwell

Is there a more insufferable administration than the BCCI? With the Australia-India Test series underway, the most significant exclusion of a Maxwell is not Australian all-rounder Glenn by Mickey Arthur, but Australian commentator Jim by Indian cricket’s bosses.

Let me put this on the record with maximum clarity. Dissing Jim Maxwell is the most grievous insult you can deliver to the land of the stolen pavlova.

Jim Maxwell is so Australian he makes Phar Lap look like an itinerant taco vendor from Vladivostok.

The number 2013 at the top of your newspaper means that Maxwell has now been covering cricket for 40 years. For some, that would be a life sentence.

For Jim, it has been a joy. He has broadcast something like 250 Tests, and smashed more ODIs than Garfield.

Summer officially starts when you snap on the wireless and hear Maxwell’s unmistakeable tones, like sinking back into a vintage leather armchair. Those under a certain age have never known anyone else, those over it can’t remember that far back anyway.

His voice is so rich it seems to be dripping out the speaker grilles and pooling on the floor.

Imagine Harsha Bhogle were denied the right to commentate in Australia. Imagine the uproar, the ludicrousness of the decision. Yet Maxwell, with his wealth of experience, has been denied accreditation to cover the upcoming series for ABC radio.

I just want to repeat that, so you can chew over each word like a Werther’s Original: Jim Maxwell has been barred from covering a Test series for radio.

This is like telling Rudolf Nureyev that he’s not allowed to dance. Telling Phillipe Petit to get off that high wire. Telling James Brayshaw not to talk like he’s at schoolies week on a construction site.

Where no media application should have been more of a formality, the BCCI have treated the voice of Australian cricket like some hopeful work experience kid from a WordPress.com sports forum.

It would have been less disrespectful if they had rolled Richie Benaud in flour and tied him up to a coconut shy.

On what basis has India’s esteemed administration decided to exclude Australia’s most dedicated broadcaster?

Money. The BCCI have a great big pile of it, and like most people with a great big pile of it, they think that pile would be best complemented by smaller piles thrown on top.

The ABC has broadcast five previous tours, yet when they tried to arrange coverage this time, were quoted a vastly higher fee. They reluctantly declined, deciding instead to send Maxwell solo to phone in match reports.

But the BCCI, deeply miffed at missing out on those few extra dollars, channelled a kid with a new Fisher-Price gadget and declined to share. Maxwell could come, they said, but not in a press capacity, and if he wanted to report he’d have to do it from outside the stadium.

The ABC, quite rightly, told them to jam a fig in it.

The result is symptomatic of the short-sighted nature of the BCCI’s decision-making, the impulsive greed of their modus operandi, and the petulant bullying approach they take to satisfy that greed.

They’ve set new heights for financial acquisitiveness over the past few years. Look at the bidding process for the IPL franchises. Or the tie-breaker payments at the player auction, in which secret amounts were paid to the board while the player in demand got nary a cent.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 12:25pm

These days, the greed-first mantra is beyond blatant. It’s beyond unapologetic. It’s pretty much written across N Srinivasan’s naked chest in peanut butter as he urinates in your letterbox at 3am while screaming at your kids’ bedroom windows.

The big earner for all cricket boards is selling broadcast rights. The BCCI jack these up as high as they possibly can. This isn’t such a problem with TV stations – by all means get the best price they’re willing to lay down.

But it’s not like there are other radio broadcasters queuing to devote 20 days of coverage to an event best described as niche in its appeal. Australia’s summer of cricket is a big deal, but those like me who want ball-by-ball coverage of every away tour would be markedly fewer. Getting radio to resume coverage will be much harder than having it continue.

Add to that the fact that most Australian households still don’t have cable, and radio has always been the best way to connect them with Indian tours. Exposure is key. If no-one knows your product exists, it’s doesn’t help its value.

But the BCCI doesn’t seem to know or care. Their dismissive treatment of the ABC is part of a broader campaign to dominate all media around their matches.

They also banned photo agency Getty Images, in an attempt to make Australian outlets buy and use BCCI-supplied photographs. Those outlets have instead chosen a boycott, and will not include any images in their coverage.

“The industry recognises the BCCI media policy is an attack on the news supply network and there is potential other governing bodies would follow suit unless publishers demonstrate their discontent,” said Tony Hale, chief executive of the newspaper industry’s peak body.

I owe my love for cricket to India, to radio, and to the likes of Jim Maxwell. The series that converted me from occasional watcher to adherent was the tour by Steve Waugh’s Invincibles.

It was 2001. I had just started university. Through evening tutorials, I kept one earbud of an honest-to-god radio Walkman surreptitiously plugged in, listening in astonishment as VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid batted and batted and batted throughout that entire fourth day.

The next evening I was at home, unable to help cheering India because of the impossible nature of the comeback.

Staring at the green light of my AM/FM stereo, I sat on the couch transfixed, as Harbhajan Singh and the unlikely Sachin Tendulkar worked their way down the order, were held up by Glenn McGrath for nine equally unlikely overs, then claimed the wicket with Australia in touching distance of safety.

After eight unremarkable Tests that had led to 18 months in exile, the young Harbhajan was recalled for that series when Anil Kumble went down injured. He proceeded to tear the Australians apart, with 32 wickets in his five innings.

The third and deciding Test was as gripping as the second. I listened to every ball, India just got home, and I was hooked for life.

In brushing off ABC radio, Srinivasan’s men are losing the chance to capture the imaginations of a new generation of devotees. However exceptional the play this series, it will be lost on most of the Australian viewing public.

We’ll be stuck with the same uncomfortable options, whether that be forking out for cable, living in the pub for four weeks, or hunching over some graphics-crammed illegal web-stream of a shonky Indian broadcast that squeezes three Bollywood-dancing shampoo ads in between every drop-out.

What’s good for cricket inevitably comes a distant last behind what’s good for the BCCI’s coffers. What they don’t seem to realise is that their earnings are only built on the game that they now neglect.

Of all the things that could happen this series, I had been looking forward to the chance of hearing about Parvez Rasool. The off-spinning all-rounder ripped out 7/45 against Australia for the Chairman’s XI only last week.

He has been a revelation in this season’s Ranji Trophy, never more so than against Assam, when he top-scored with 67, took 7/41 to gain a substantial lead, scored 120 not out to extend it, then added 2/70 in helping wrap up the win.

It’s not beyond the realm of possibility that Rasool will get a run during this series, which would make him the first player from struggling Jammu and Kashmir state to play for India.

The last time that an Indian bolter came from nowhere to shock an Australian touring side, his name was Harbhajan Singh, and every ripping off-break was brought to us in verbal pictures from Eden Gardens and the Chidambaram Stadium.

It’s a damn shame that if a new generation’s talent gets his chance to do the same, Jim Maxwell won’t be there to carry the story home.

http://www.theroar.com.au/2013/02/22/radio-magic-gone-as-indias-bullies-shut-down-jim-maxwell/

Post by FriYAY on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 1:24pm
Is there a more insufferable administration than the BCCI?

No.

Thanks for that Smithy, what a dam disgrace.

Post by FriYAY on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 1:54pm
Oz wins toss and bats...

Pitch is as dry as a wooden tit.

Post by FriYAY on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 2:24pm
Run a ball for the 1st 5 overs - and they are calling for spin already.....

:(

Post by FriYAY on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 3:25pm
2-70 odd

Cowan out for 29

Hughes out for SFA

Post by Aussie on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 9:04pm
7-316 end of the day.  Great result, given the state of the pitch on just day one.  Do those get better as time passes?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 9:19pm

hhmmm. warner did pretty well, new kid moises did well, captian continued his form , watson and cowan got a start.

'nother 50 runs would be good, nother 90 would be great.

Post by FriYAY on Feb 23rd, 2013 at 9:54am

Aussie wrote on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 9:04pm:
7-316 end of the day.  Great result, given the state of the pitch on just day one.  Do those get better as time passes?

Top partnership Clarke and Henriques. I admit i would have played Smith/Doherty. But glad to see the bloke take his chance and guts it out when the team was in trouble, well done.

The pitches usually don't deteriorate at the same pace over the next days of the tests as the 1st day, but by bugger this sucker is so dry, who knows!

Post by FriYAY on Feb 25th, 2013 at 9:14am
What a pathetic performance last night, not being able to remove the #10.

Kudos to Dhoni and Kumar (?) on an incredible 10th wicket stand….

Doherty MUST play the next test.

Why TF did we play 4 pace-men – dam daft.

We’ll be lucky to make them bat again.

>:(

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 25th, 2013 at 10:46am

yep, no good for us .

Post by Aussie on Mar 2nd, 2013 at 7:41pm
Ya know....if you are at 62 and not stumped when you should have been, ya'd reckon you would take a few overs and settle down.  Not Wade.  He is a better batsman than he ever will be as a 'keeper.'

Bloody tosser!

Post by FriYAY on Mar 4th, 2013 at 9:55am

Aussie wrote on Mar 2nd, 2013 at 7:41pm:
Ya know....if you are at 62 and not stumped when you should have been, ya'd reckon you would take a few overs and settle down.  Not Wade.  He is a better batsman than he ever will be as a 'keeper.'

Bloody tosser!

Out of all the failures, lack of patience and crap shots, you have a go at Wade.

Bloody tosser indeed!!

::)

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 4th, 2013 at 10:44am

what's happened to us ?

Post by Swagman on Mar 4th, 2013 at 12:22pm
not enough runs and spinners that can turn the ball

Post by Aussie on Mar 5th, 2013 at 8:48am

FriYAY wrote on Mar 4th, 2013 at 9:55am:

Bloody tosser!

Out of all the failures, lack of patience and crap shots, you have a go at Wade.

Bloody tosser indeed!!

Yeah.....he is Number One on my target list.  Further, when in India, do what the Indians do.  Give the ball some bloody air!  Doherty was bowling dart pies and got the outcome he deserved.

Post by FriYAY on Mar 5th, 2013 at 9:17am

Aussie wrote on Mar 5th, 2013 at 8:48am:

FriYAY wrote on Mar 4th, 2013 at 9:55am:

Bloody tosser!

Bloody tosser indeed!!

Yeah.....he is Number One on my target list.  Further, when in India, do what the Indians do.  Give the ball some bloody air!  Doherty was bowling dart pies and got the outcome he deserved.

I'm sure he's shaking in his boots. With a current average of 37.8 we’ll let him do the talking and ignore you, ok?

As for Hughes - he just puts the bat out in front of his pads and is waiting to go out.

His and Warners so called sweep shots shows again they have no patience for the test arena.

Our spinning stocks have not been nurtured nearly enough and we are seeing the results of that now.

Post by Aussie on Mar 5th, 2013 at 1:06pm

I'm sure he's shaking in his boots. With a current average of 37.8 we’ll let him do the talking and ignore you, ok?

In fact he is because it ain't just me on his case.  There is a growing group, especially within the ABC Commentary Team who share my view.  Ian Healy has also been very critical, as well as doing his best to turn a sow's ear into a silk purse.

And.....now he runs out Henriques!

And is out for 10, thrusting out.....shyte, needless 'shot.'  I guess that is him 'doing the talking.'

;)

Nah.  The dude is a dud.

Post by FriYAY on Mar 6th, 2013 at 9:31am

Aussie wrote on Mar 5th, 2013 at 1:06pm:

In fact he is because it ain't just me on his case.  There is a growing group, especially within the ABC Commentary Team who share my view.  Ian Healy has also been very critical, as well as doing his best to turn a sow's ear into a silk purse.

And.....now he runs out Henriques!

And is out for 10, thrusting out.....shyte, needless 'shot.'  I guess that is him 'doing the talking.'

;)

Nah.  The dude is a dud.

Ian Healey could have offered some help, rather than talk in the media - he won no applause.

A runout means bugger all and you know it. Attacking just the keeper in a team of shite really is obtuse.

That said Tim Paine is the forgotten man here and should play in the Ashes series. Much better kepper and batsman than Wade

I really can't see this team progessing.

Warner - will always be hit and miss and not an opener IMO.

Cowan – I think he at least has the temperament to play at test level

Hughes – Ugly, ugly batsman

Watson – the great enigma – should open the batting

Clarke – must bat 3

Wade – Out Paine must come back in

Henriques – Showed enough to keep him in as a batting all-rounder

Maxwell – Who knows

Pattinson – Excellent

Siddle – OK

Doherty – No good at test level

This would be my starting 12 for the 1st Ashes test

1. Cowan
2. Watson
3. Clarke
4. Ferguson
5. Warner
6. Paine
7. Henriques
8. Pattinson
9. Siddle
10. Starc
11. Lyon
12. ???

Post by Aussie on Mar 6th, 2013 at 12:54pm
Here is an interesting comment, along the lines of better not to be playing and your credentials get better!

;)

Post by FriYAY on Mar 6th, 2013 at 1:54pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 6th, 2013 at 12:54pm:
Here is an interesting comment, along the lines of better not to be playing and your credentials get better!

;)

Interesting.

We do seem to place stocks on some with less than great 1st class stats.

That said both Bailey and Voges have been very good in the Australian team and Lyon's stats were comparable to most off spinners going around before this series.

Post by Aussie on Mar 11th, 2013 at 6:06pm
Yay.....we have discipline issues.....except for Wade.  He is broken, so Hadden is on the way over.

Bizarre!

:D

Post by philperth2010 on Mar 11th, 2013 at 9:46pm
4 players sacked from the 3rd Test because they did not do a homework assignment.....WTF is going on with the Australian Cricket Team.....No wonder Mike Hussey quit and refuses to return???

>:( >:( >:(

Post by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2013 at 4:12pm

philperth2010 wrote on Mar 11th, 2013 at 9:46pm:
4 players sacked from the 3rd Test because they did not do a homework assignment.....WTF is going on with the Australian Cricket Team.....No wonder Mike Hussey quit and refuses to return???

Arthur has not been a success.  Lehmann (sp) is The Man.

Fair dinkum, the Coach of a National Team of Test cricketers reckons the way to get them to achieve is to demand of them intellectual homework.  What a wanker!

I know what I would have told him, and I can easily imagine what DKL et al would also have told him.

Wrong management style, Dude.  Back to South Africa for you.

;)

Post by philperth2010 on Mar 12th, 2013 at 7:52pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2013 at 4:12pm:

Fair dinkum, the Coach of a National Team of Test cricketers reckons the way to get them to achieve is to demand of them intellectual homework.  What a wanker!

I know what I would have told him, and I can easily imagine what DKL et al would also have told him.

;)

Arthur will be feeling the pressure over the performance of the team.....Team unity will come from playing good cricket and winning matches.....Blaming individuals and placing undue importance on feel good bullshit is really quite pathetic.....Watson should have told Arthur if he did not know what was wrong with the team then he should resign from his position as coach!!!

Post by FriYAY on Mar 15th, 2013 at 2:32pm

;)

Agree with all that

Post by FriYAY on Mar 15th, 2013 at 2:34pm
0/43

Post by FriYAY on Mar 15th, 2013 at 2:38pm
I remember when I gave cricket up after many years.

I was captain of our 2nd division side and cricket was fun. Train hard, play hard and have a bloody good social time after it all.

Then the new coach arrived and all of a sudden we are doing all this crap at training and having these meeting and blaa blaa blaa

I realised I was praying for rain every Friday night. So it was my last year.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 15th, 2013 at 4:30pm

FriYAY wrote on Mar 15th, 2013 at 2:32pm:

;)

Agree with all that

yes, he is not an aussie.

Post by Swagman on Mar 16th, 2013 at 8:04pm
India 0 - 219

bowlers getting smashed  :(

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 16th, 2013 at 10:51pm

0-283

dump the coaches and selectors

Post by Swagman on Mar 16th, 2013 at 11:02pm
The wicket is an absolute road, mind you Aust should have got 700......

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 16th, 2013 at 11:14pm

Swagman wrote on Mar 16th, 2013 at 11:02pm:
The wicket is an absolute road, mind you Aust should have got 700......

aside from having an idiotic rotation system, dumping 1/3 the team for not doing homework we might have .

not happy jan

Post by FriYAY on Mar 19th, 2013 at 11:23am
How embarrassing if Watson comes back into the team to take over the captaincy if Clarke is unfit.

:-[ :-[

Post by Aussie on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 5:23pm
[quote author=Rosco link=1361399410/39#39 date=1363656226]How embarrassing if Watson comes back into the team to take over the captaincy if Clarke is unfit.

:-[ :-[/quote]

Even more embarrassing if they bring back Wade to fail again.

Post by FriYAY on Mar 23rd, 2013 at 3:26pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 5:23pm:
[quote author=Rosco link=1361399410/39#39 date=1363656226]How embarrassing if Watson comes back into the team to take over the captaincy if Clarke is unfit.

:-[ :-[/quote]

Even more embarrassing if they bring back Wade to fail again.

Like i dog with a bone or an obtuse wanker, can't work it out.

Don't see why Clarke had to come home? Surely he should be there with the team?

WTF?

Post by Swagman on Mar 23rd, 2013 at 3:32pm
More embarassment, another batting fail.  Pete Siddle top scorer 51.

Next test match is the first of the Ashes series....... :(

Post by Aussie on Mar 23rd, 2013 at 4:12pm

Go with pit-bull.  Once I latch on, nothing will make me let go.  Years of practice at PA.  Did Wade score any runs in our First Innings, after his 'thunderous' return?

;)

Post by Swagman on Mar 23rd, 2013 at 10:40pm
Hope he some in the 2nd.  The Aussies did well today.  Lyon's got 5 and was looking dangerous for once.  Of course that probably means that the Indian spinners will knock us over cheaply the way things have gone to date. :(

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 24th, 2013 at 2:07am

Can these games just not count, please ?

Post by FriYAY on Mar 24th, 2013 at 3:05pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 23rd, 2013 at 4:12pm:

Go with pit-bull.  Once I latch on, nothing will make me let go.  Years of practice at PA.  Did Wade score any runs in our First Innings, after his 'thunderous' return?

;)

No one did very much did they though? And you target the keeper, hence the obtuse reference. ;)

And then you make your point by using a brain dead Karnalism...... ::) FFS.....

It just won't do, it just won't do.

Post by FriYAY on Mar 24th, 2013 at 3:08pm
Well done Lyon 7-96.

Maxwell opening...

3/41...

It's gunna be dam nasty i think.....

Post by Aussie on Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:05pm

And then you make your point by using a brain dead Karnalism...... Roll Eyes FFS.....

It was irresistible.  Yeah, I do pick on Wade.....and I have my reasons.  He is an edge Test player.....close, but really not good enough.  The aged Hadden is a better 'keeper, even Chris Hartley is.  They both, while aged, are better than Wade will ever be.  When we are next in the field, spend an hour at least just watching him and no-one else.  You'll soon see why I say he is a show pony, all tip and no ice-berg.  Throws himself everywhere instead of good foot-work, exaggerated glove movement when he already has the ball, or it is disappearing into or over the boundary, and his eyes do not stay on the ball assuming the batsman does not hit it.

Hang on.....there is breaking news!

Did we win?

Post by Swagman on Mar 25th, 2013 at 9:59am
Well the poms now know that our batsmen are basket cases against spin although the fast bowlers went ok (Stac & Siddle with the bat that is  :D)

There'll be no seaming wickets in Eng this Ashes series I reckon. :( Bland dust bowls. :-?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 25th, 2013 at 10:35am

Swagman wrote on Mar 25th, 2013 at 9:59am:
Well the poms now know that our batsmen are basket cases against spin although the fast bowlers went ok (Stac & Siddle with the bat that is  :D)

There'll be no seaming wickets in Eng this Ashes series I reckon. :( Bland dust bowls. :-?

poms are prob setting up some sort of mega heat gun to suspend over a few pitches for 3 weeks prior to a test match.

this is so bad

Post by FriYAY on Mar 25th, 2013 at 11:38am

Aussie wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:05pm:

And then you make your point by using a brain dead Karnalism...... Roll Eyes FFS.....

It was irresistible.  Yeah, I do pick on Wade.....and I have my reasons.  He is an edge Test player.....close, but really not good enough.  The aged Hadden is a better 'keeper, even Chris Hartley is.  They both, while aged, are better than Wade will ever be.  When we are next in the field, spend an hour at least just watching him and no-one else.  You'll soon see why I say he is a show pony, all tip and no ice-berg.  Throws himself everywhere instead of good foot-work, exaggerated glove movement when he already has the ball, or it is disappearing into or over the boundary, and his eyes do not stay on the ball assuming the batsman does not hit it.

Hang on.....there is breaking news!

Did we win?

Fair enough, not disagreeing either.

He just looks so wound up with gloves and bat – needs to relax. I still think Paine is the man (but I think his batting has dropped off a bit) I liked Haddin and thought he had more to offer.

Post by FriYAY on Mar 25th, 2013 at 11:43am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Mar 25th, 2013 at 10:35am:

Swagman wrote on Mar 25th, 2013 at 9:59am:

poms are prob setting up some sort of mega heat gun to suspend over a few pitches for 3 weeks prior to a test match.

this is so bad

I don't think too many of 'em will go well against swing and seam either.

Lack of technique and ticker.

Hughes, Watson are in deep trouble. Warner has just kept his head above water, Cowan at least occupies the crease for a while.

Smith was probably the only batsman that enhanced his reputation.

Starc, Siddle and to a lesser extent Pattison all looked more comfortable than the top order.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.