General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Newmans Wife Abused Over His Job Cuts.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1346289714

Message started by imcrookonit on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:21am

Title: Newmans Wife Abused Over His Job Cuts.
Post by imcrookonit on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:21am
Newman's wife abused over his job cuts

Date
    August 30, 2012

Queensland Premier Campbell Newman says his wife has been accosted in public over his job cutting program.     :-?

The cost-cutting state government has axed 4000 public sector jobs and is expected to shed another 15,000 more in the September 11 budget.     :(

Mr Newman says his wife, Lisa, was abused three weeks ago in a sandwich shop.

"Some guy took her on and was getting stuck in to her about me," Mr Newman told Brisbane's 97.3 FM.

"The bloke at the Subway intervened and said lay off her."

Mrs Newman came under heavy public scrutiny during the March election, both for her family's business links and her displays of public affection towards her husband.

Mr Newman's popularity has nosedived in three recent polls, with analysts putting it down to his lack of compassion about the job losses.     :)

AAP

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/national/newmans-wife-abused-over-his-job-cuts-20120830-251zm.html#ixzz24zJzFSwu

Title: Re: Newmans Wife Abused Over His Job Cuts.
Post by imcrookonit on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:25am
Well Mr Newman, we are sorry about your wife.  However people that have, or are about to be made unemployed, are not exactly going to be in love with you, are they Mr Newman.     :(

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:29am
Well what do you expect when we have a system where the people have such limited say in it all.

Post by Dnarever on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:58am
She could divorce the grub

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:01pm
Thats the problem when you create thousands of busy-work positions.  Sooner or later the fact they are superfluous and add nothing of value is found out, and they have to be done away with, leaving the parasites who have grown accustomed to their cushy life shuffling papers, without anywhere to go, nor any transferable skills.   

Post by Verge on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:16pm
Pollies other halves, all of them unless they are in politics themselves, are off limits.

Said it many times.

Post by skippy. on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:25pm
All we have is cant do Newmans word for it. The loony fringe dont accept Gillards word, why should we accept cant do's word ?

Post by Gist on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:52pm

... wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:01pm:
Thats the problem when you create thousands of busy-work positions.  Sooner or later the fact they are superfluous and add nothing of value is found out, and they have to be done away with, leaving the parasites who have grown accustomed to their cushy life shuffling papers, without anywhere to go, nor any transferable skills.   

So I take it you have done some kind of research or analysis that you can show us demonstrating these people are filling busy-work positions? Or are you just shooting your mouth off as usual?

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:53pm
So which government department do you work in Gist?  Or is it a family member who is the beneficiary of this busy work?

Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:55pm

skippy. wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:25pm:
All we have is cant do Newmans word for it. The loony fringe dont accept Gillards word, why should we accept cant do's word ?

Because we are not the loony fringe.
They wish to debase themselves fine, but I've got more self respect than that.
Leave the mans wife out of it.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:58pm

The cost-cutting state government has axed 4000 public sector jobs and is expected to shed another 15,000 more in the September 11 budget.

19,000 positions axed, yet the bureaucracy rolls on.  Can't have been that important then can they?

Busy work - and only those who benefit can deny it.

Post by Gist on Aug 30th, 2012 at 4:07pm

... wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:53pm:
So which government department do you work in Gist?  Or is it a family member who is the beneficiary of this busy work?

I have to assume that you choosing option B in my list. The mouth shooting option.

Post by Gist on Aug 30th, 2012 at 4:08pm

... wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:58pm:

The cost-cutting state government has axed 4000 public sector jobs and is expected to shed another 15,000 more in the September 11 budget.

19,000 positions axed, yet the bureaucracy rolls on.  Can't have been that important then can they?

Busy work - and only those who benefit can deny it.

More mouth shooting off.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 30th, 2012 at 4:18pm
*SHRUGS*

So? 

Post by Aussie on Aug 30th, 2012 at 4:57pm

Verge wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:16pm:
Pollies other halves, all of them unless they are in politics themselves, are off limits.

Said it many times.

If they want to be off limits, they stay out of the picture.  This woman has been up to her eye-balls feeding the chooks.

Post by Verge on Aug 30th, 2012 at 5:12pm

Aussie wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 4:57pm:

Verge wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:16pm:

Said it many times.

If they want to be off limits, they stay out of the picture.  This woman has been up to her eye-balls feeding the chooks.

Thats crap.

Partners/Wives/Husbands and kids are off limits, no question.

Anyone who thinks they deserve to be attacked in the street needs their head read.

You dont make a pollie accountable by attacking their significant other.

Post by Aussie on Aug 30th, 2012 at 5:13pm
I agree generally....except in her case.  She stepped into the ring, she now has to box.

Post by rabbitoh07 on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:22pm

Aussie wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 5:13pm:
I agree generally....except in her case.  She stepped into the ring, she now has to box.

Yep.  If it was Tony Abbott's wife - that would be appalling.  For all his faults, he rarely pushes his family into the spotlight.

Madam Premier is a different matter.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/elections/lisa-newman-tells-tv-show-of-her-love-for-campbell/story-fnc6854w-1226296963908

And since Campbell claimed that he spent 7 hours a the Ekka and only one person criticised him - I guess the abuser thought that maybe the missus could pass on the message Campbell tries to ignore.

Post by Lynn on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:27pm
No doubt that man was some oafish bogan.

I always ensure that I avoid situations where you either have to mix with the lower classes, unless of course its the gardeners or domestics.

Lynn

Post by rabbitoh07 on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:29pm

Lynn wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:27pm:
No doubt that man was some oafish bogan.

I always ensure that I avoid situations where you either have to mix with the lower classes, unless of course its the gardeners or domestics.

Lynn

Yeah.  I don't know why she married him in the first place.

Post by perceptions_now on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:37pm

wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:21am:

Date
    August 30, 2012

Queensland Premier Campbell Newman says his wife has been accosted in public over his job cutting program.     :-?

The cost-cutting state government has axed 4000 public sector jobs and is expected to shed another 15,000 more in the September 11 budget.     :(

"Some guy took her on and was getting stuck in to her about me,"
Mr Newman told Brisbane's 97.3 FM.

Mrs Newman came under heavy public scrutiny during the March election, both for her family's business links and her displays of public affection towards her husband.

Mr Newman's popularity has nosedived in three recent polls, with analysts putting it down to his lack of compassion about the job losses.     :)

AAP

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/national/newmans-wife-abused-over-his-job-cuts-20120830-251zm.html#ixzz24zJzFSwu

If you disagree with a Politican, then do so.

That said, abusing the Politicians partner, any Politicians partner, IS NOT ON!

Post by Aussie on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:41pm
No need to shout.  Have you bothered to read ^^^^^^^?

Post by perceptions_now on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:48pm

Aussie wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:41pm:
No need to shout.  Have you bothered to read ^^^^^^^?

What did you say?

Who are you talking to?

Post by Aussie on Aug 30th, 2012 at 9:53pm
Ummmm.....apparently, a bugger wit Administrator who gives them a very bad name?

:D

Post by skippy. on Aug 30th, 2012 at 9:56pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 3:55pm:

skippy. wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 12:25pm:

Because we are not the loony fringe.
They wish to debase themselves fine, but I've got more self respect than that.
Leave the mans wife out of it.

Not my point. I agree people's families should be off limits. My point is we only have Newmans word for it.It  sounds good to go on radio with  the whiny little bitch routine about the bullies Picking on my wife, FFS, how many pollies pull that stunt?  Newman is a bitch for trying it on.

Post by Verge on Aug 31st, 2012 at 10:17am

Aussie wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 5:13pm:

Thats crap, she has been merely a support person to her husband.

She doesnt do a running commentary on his politics.

If she was out there making comment on his policies, I could nearly forgive someone for taking her to task on it, but she isnt.  She is merely a supportive wife and thats it.

She is allowed to be at her partners side for public engagements.  His chief of staff wouldnt cop that kind of abuse would he.

Post by Dnarever on Aug 31st, 2012 at 10:21am
There seems to be a lot more outrage than we seen over the treatment Thompsons wife got.

Post by Dnarever on Aug 31st, 2012 at 10:23am

perceptions_now wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 7:37pm:

wrote on Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:21am:

Date
    August 30, 2012

"Some guy took her on and was getting stuck in to her about me,"
Mr Newman told Brisbane's 97.3 FM.

AAP

If you disagree with a Politican, then do so.

That said, abusing the Politicians partner, any Politicians partner, IS NOT ON!

Mr Newman's popularity has nosedived in three recent polls

Wonder how this relates to the story?

Post by Dnarever on Aug 31st, 2012 at 10:25am
Wonder how the wives of those sacked who will feel the real pain feel about this.

Bet they would like to kick the grubs wife in the gutz.

Post by Verge on Aug 31st, 2012 at 11:10am

Dnarever wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 10:25am:
Wonder how the wives of those sacked who will feel the real pain feel about this.

Like I said, if you have a problem, take it up with him but not his wife.

Its gutless and pathetic.

I have held a long standing position that partners have to be off limits, and I have only critisied one's partner once, and that was Tim meeting international asian delegates dressed in jeans and a shirt while meeting men in suits.  On that occassion he needed to dress for the occasion, but that was as far as it went.

I dont think its unreasonable to make the people accountable, but you dont do it by attacking their families. 

Post by Dnarever on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:00pm

Verge wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 11:10am:

I have held a long standing position that partners have to be off limits, and I have only critisied one's partner once, and that was Tim meeting international asian delegates dressed in jeans and a shirt while meeting men in suits.  On that occassion he needed to dress for the occasion, but that was as far as it went.

I dont think its unreasonable to make the people accountable, but you dont do it by attacking their families. 

I have held a long standing position that partners have to be off limits

I have always agreed with this position.

However the fact is that he is in fact not held to the same standard, his decisions obviously greatly impact his targets families drastically.

I almost think it is fair enough in a case like this.

Post by progressiveslol on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:05pm

Dnarever wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:00pm:

Verge wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 11:10am:

I have held a long standing position that partners have to be off limits

I have always agreed with this position.

However the fact is that he is in fact not held to the same standard, his decisions obviously greatly impact his targets families drastically.

I almost think it is fair enough in a case like this.

Always a however, a but.

Lets see if we can make up our own 'howevers and buts'. Brilliant idea.

Now we are at anything goes.

Post by Dnarever on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:11pm
The guy is a grub - his wife should renounce him.

Post by progressiveslol on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:14pm

Dnarever wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:11pm:

That may be so in some peoples eyes, but that is as far as it should go.

You do have the option to vote him out next election, just like we who think the same about gillard/labor will have that option.

Do we really want to become thug nation.

Post by Verge on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:53pm

Dnarever wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 12:11pm:

Still no excuse to attack his wife.

There is X number of LNP members in the house they can take the issue up with.

Going after families is a cowards way out.

If I terminate a staff member its not right for them to attack my wife.

Put yourself in that position.

Post by Dnarever on Aug 31st, 2012 at 5:03pm
Newmans Wife Abused Over His Job Cuts.

Is there any evidence that this actually happened or are we jusat taking the word of an unpopular politician looking for help in the polls?

Post by Gist on Aug 31st, 2012 at 5:23pm

Dnarever wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 5:03pm:

Is there any evidence that this actually happened or are we jusat taking the word of an unpopular politician looking for help in the polls?

I gather its the second one.

Post by rabbitoh07 on Aug 31st, 2012 at 6:12pm

No.  I don't think there is any evidence that this actually happened.  We are just taking the word of an unpopular politician.  One who told us he spent 7 hours at the Ekka and only saw one person who disagreed with him.  One who said public service jobs would be safe. 

Post by John Smith on Aug 31st, 2012 at 6:14pm

rabbitoh07 wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 6:12pm:

No.  I don't think there is any evidence that this actually happened.  We are just taking the word of an unpopular politician.  One who told us he spent 7 hours at the Ekka and only saw one person who disagreed with him.  One who said public service jobs would be safe. 

was he wearing a mask from one of the showbags?

Post by adelcrow on Aug 31st, 2012 at 6:14pm

rabbitoh07 wrote on Aug 31st, 2012 at 6:12pm:

Newman deceived the Queensland people so its no wonder they are a tad angry at him.
He might end up like Mussolini  ;D

Post by Morning Mist on Aug 31st, 2012 at 6:20pm
Go 'Can Do.' Woo hoo.

Post by Dnarever on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:11pm
Amazing how the same people outraged over the Gillard barely a lie and are happy with this guy breaking blatent election promises.

Before the state election this year Premier Campbell Newman promised there would be no forced redundancies in the public sector.

Well looks like for 40,000 government employess that key election promise meant nothing.

Post by Aussie on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:17pm

Dnarever wrote on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:11pm:
Amazing how the same people outraged over the Gillard barely a lie and are happy with this guy breaking blatent election promises.

Before the state election this year Premier Campbell Newman promised there would be no forced redundancies in the public sector.

Well looks like for 40,000 government employess that key election promise meant nothing.

40,000??????????

Dick-head.

Post by Dnarever on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:27pm

Aussie wrote on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:17pm:

Dnarever wrote on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:11pm:

40,000??????????

Dick-head.

Its probably wrong but the number came from here.

Does it really matter another article is saying that it was 20,000 may be revised down to 15,000 for political reasons.

Still a lot of people that he promised he would not sack.

http://newsbytes.com.au/2012/06/newman-accused-of-twisting-election-promise-on-jobs/

Post by Aussie on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:37pm

Yes it does matter unless you want to be accused of being a liar like The Can't.

;)

Post by Dnarever on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:57pm

Aussie wrote on Sep 1st, 2012 at 5:37pm:

Yes it does matter unless you want to be accused of being a liar like The Can't.

Is Newman the can't he seems to be the genuine liar?

Post by Aussie on Sep 1st, 2012 at 6:00pm

Is Newman the can't he seems to be the genuine liar?

Translation?

:-[