Member Run Boards >> Finance and Economics >> Perpetual Growth means.... http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1343113506 Message started by Deathridesahorse on Jul 24th, 2012 at 5:05pm |
Title: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 24th, 2012 at 5:05pm
?? ::)
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Saul Goodman on Jul 24th, 2012 at 6:19pm
Thermodynamics is bunk?
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Elvis Wesley on Jul 24th, 2012 at 6:23pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xy0UBpagsu8
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Saul Goodman on Jul 24th, 2012 at 6:33pm
Well he does work in a nuclear power plant
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALJ1ddBfoNg |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by pansi1951 on Jul 24th, 2012 at 7:02pm |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Mnemonic on Jul 24th, 2012 at 7:16pm
A rational-minded economist wouldn't believe in perpetual growth.
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:09pm
Solutions?
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:15pm
A sensible regime of Tariffs and subsidy's to provide fertile ground for sustainable manufacturing and agriculture for Australias natural native population growth - the end of unsustainable free trade and mass skills migration is the solution to the growth problem. 8-) 8-)
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:21pm
That might work for a while, but there's problems in predicting demand. It's not easy to predicted equal manufacturing in line with equal demand and then make sure there is the equal re-growth/renewability of resources.
The old Soviet Union had this problem of predicting demand. They couldn't predict with any certainty how much and what to produce. The market works better in that respect. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:25pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:09pm:
It does mean solutions will have to be found to the predicaments we have put ourselves in, yes! But, then, that is evolution so.... ;D ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:27pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:15pm:
Care to define 'sensible'? ;) ;) It all sounds good on paper until you have to try and sell it.... |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:28pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:21pm:
The old soviet union worked on the same principles of the free market. Free trade cased the last great depression and the current global financial crisis so why be addicted to failure? 8-) 8-) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:28pm Mnemonic wrote on Jul 24th, 2012 at 7:16pm:
enter GROUPTHINK!! ::) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:33pm
Corporatism, economic rationalism, Free Trade, Globalization, Deregulation, Open Borders, Mass Skills Migration, 30 years of epic fail and destruction of a nation that was once a prospering, reforming protectionist country... ::) ::)
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:38pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:33pm:
I think you're off topic mate. Try putting down the crackpipe! ;D ;D :D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:42pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:28pm:
To an extent they were built on the same principles but the organization of production and consumption was very different. Still, I don't follow how tariffs, subsidies, and ending excess migration solves 'perpetual growth.' People 'demand' things, therefore how do you stop demand turning into growth? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:44pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:25pm:
Well, it might be trendy and cool to 'rally against the system, man,' but pragmatic solutions are required when problems are identified. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by FriYAY on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:45pm
Be prepared for your $$ to be worth nothing. :)
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:49pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:44pm:
gO FOR IT THEN! ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:55pm
Perpetual Growth or the Exponential Function IS
The Definition of IMPOSSIBLE! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0G5c672Uak&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO_Z31YGjFA&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YjDmkWu92A&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GfP4HBfbyWQ&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAfzEHVTHW4&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPLm5kl71v8&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqIAt59FTlE&feature=relmfu http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mb_mem_F_u0&feature=relmfu |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:00pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:49pm:
The only solution (that I can come up with at this stage) is to encourage recycling further, and hope in the future technology can help firms to manufacture products from recyclable material. Because, the way business and money operates, it cannot but 'grow.' Growth is rooted in the very fundamentals of business. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:13pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:00pm:
That has been the way it has been presented, BUT IT IS AN IMPOSSIBILITY, IN REALITY, OVER TIME, as we are now finding out! |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:14pm FriYAY wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 4:45pm:
Be ready to loose Pokies, credit and other forms of usury and exploitation.... ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:14pm perceptions_now wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:13pm:
How can you operate a business without having 'growth'? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:43pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:14pm:
Before we get into that question, watch Albert Bartlett's Exponential Function video's 1-8, then come back and you may find the question has changed to - How can we continue to operate business Globally AND have exponential 'growth'? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by John Smith on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:46pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:14pm:
why must you have growth? If the banks make $3 billion profit a year, why is that not enough? why must they screw everything and everyone to try and make that 3 become 6 become 16 ...... |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 6:17pm perceptions_now wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:43pm:
I am not watching 80 minutes of video. Just sum it up for me in a few paragraphs. If I am getting the context of that question right, all you're doing is putting the cart before the horse. It's not a question of 'how can we continue to have growth because of ... (insert horror story here),' it's more of 'how do you operate a business that works with no growth?' In other words, how do you change the fundamentals of business and still make sure everyone is fed, clothed, sheltered, and have the extras they want? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 6:22pm John Smith wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 5:46pm:
Regardless of the profit margins of banks or any company for that matter, businesses must make a profit from their sales. They must receive more money from their sales than they spend on their expenditures. Otherwise, they'll eventually go bankrupt and there won't be anything to sell. That means drastically reduced supplies of all necessary (and desired) commodities. Which then means death for millions. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:25pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 6:22pm:
Sadly you don't make profits from creaming off the top, downsizing, abolishing sensible tariffs, sending business off shore, outsourcing ect you just wreck businesses, undermine the economy and destroy nations. People and business require stability, security and certainty to prosper that only parties like the Rise Up Australia Party can deliver.... 8-) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:35pm
I had a look at that Rise Up party and they have some good ideas. I think if they tone down the religious element they'll gain more votes.
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:35pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 6:17pm:
Now that's funny! Those video's were put together by a very, very smart professor and what he needed to say took about 80 minutes. And, you think I should be able to do it in a couple of paragraphs. Let me put it this way, watch the first 3 & you should start to get the idea. Then, if you are starting to get the idea, you will want to look at it all, too get the full picture! If you don't get a reasonable picture after watching the first 3, then you wasted 30 minutes of your life. So what, all of us do that & more, much more. Of course, if your mind is already made up, then no amount of information will convince you of anything! |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:50pm
If you know it so well then a few paragraphs should be no problem. Did you do a Bachelor degree at all? If you did, one of the main skills you should have learnt is to summarize large amounts of information in a few paragraphs.
I know the dangers associated with over use of resources, I am just not convinced of any proposed solution thus far. In fact, for all the critiques of growth and capitalism out there, I've never heard of any workable solution. It might be 'cool' and 'hip' to criticize capitalism, but it's pointless if you have no alternative. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:59pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 6:22pm:
Let me say, there are competing interests here! For starters, individual businesses need more income than expenditure, in order to make a Profit & therefore stay in business. However, that does not mean & nor are there any guarantees that all businesses &/or countries will continue & not go bankrupt. If you &/or anyone else takes the time to review the information in Professor Bartlett's video's, you would conclude that many of the desired (in fact essential) commodities (particularly in Energy) are now facing drastic reductions to the Supply lines, over the next 2-3 decades. And, the more we try to retain the Population Growth Status Quo, the quicker these commodities will Deplete. Those Supply Declines will be permanent and resulting from that & the retirement, then death of 2 Billion Baby Boomers, the Global Economy will change forever, as the Globally supportable Population Declines to around 2-3 Billion, by 2050. I don't care, which Political Party anyone supports, these future facts mean that Business, Economics & Politics must change & change quickly, IF our future generations are to have any chance at a reasonable life! |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 8:03pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:50pm:
In fact Capitalism is still the best Economic model, so far generated, but it will have to be refined, some of the excesses removed & the same will have to happen with Politics & Democracy! |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 9:40pm
The First Law of Sustainability
Population Growth &/or Growth in the rates of Consumption of Resources CAN NOT BE SUSTAINED! Per Professor Albert Bartlett |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Shane B on Jul 25th, 2012 at 10:00pm
Paul Ehrlich, The Limits to Growth (1972).
Still hasn't happened. :D :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 25th, 2012 at 10:52pm Shane B wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 10:00pm:
Try keeping up Shane & try watching the Professors video's, they would help. To put it as simply as possible, there are limits to Growth & we are now living thru those times! |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 25th, 2012 at 11:18pm Shane B wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 10:00pm:
Its insanity to pursue an ideology that can only end in catastrophe - especially the way we are doing by accelerating growth with mass immigration - if we do not reign the stupidity of the major parties, corporations and unions in fast the country is in deep shite. 8-) 8-) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Soren on Jul 25th, 2012 at 11:56pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 11:18pm:
What will the pursuit of your ideology end in? What is your progressive ideology about? What are we progressing to? How and when will we know we are there? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Jul 26th, 2012 at 12:06am Soren wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 11:56pm:
If you plan on living another 10-20 years, you'll live thru it, with the rest of us! |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 26th, 2012 at 12:06am Soren wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 11:56pm:
The pursuit of the spirit our freedom and law is founded in by which we can never truly be slaves is our constitution and law founded in the Great magna Carta & Bill of Rights 1689. Our prosperity, our freedom, our security. our rights are all declared there in statutes. 8-) 8-) 8-) Bill of Rights 1689 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_of_Rights_1689 |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2012 at 10:41am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 6:22pm:
Sure, but why do they need growth? Businesses existed before capitalism - back when lending money with interest (or ursury) carried a penalty, in some places, of death. Only the financial sector needs growth - without compound interest, the incentive to loan money disappears. This is why earlier economic thinkers placed their focus on the state as central lender/planner, but as you've pointed out, this is inefficient as well. Or just plain corrupt. Without capital, the markets would be stuffed. But without checks and balances, capital will be stuffed. This is why the post-war institutions of the IMF, World Bank, etc, were created: to protect money. If you protect money, you protect states and their debt. If a state's interest bill goes sky-high, everyone is stuffed - even, as we've seen in Ireland and Greece, the system as a whole. And that's when you get revolutions and wars. The solution has to involve the global financial system. The Friedmanite Washington Consensus of the past 40 years - the focus on supply (free trade and market rule) - has been a dangerous experiment, but clearly, it's not over yet. Prevailing's solution of protectionism can't work in the current economic setting. Protectionism worked in the post-war era because the global financial system used a gold standard for currency. This placed limits on the borrowing and spending of states. Also, for what it was, there was a General Agreement on Trade and Tariffs (GATT). As a multilateral framework, GATT was ineffective, but countries did negotiate tariffs bilaterally. That was the point. On their own, tariffs do nothing except tax imports. With agreements in place, states produce what they're good at. They sell what they've got a surplus of and buy what they need. This did leave the developing, cash crop economies at a loss, and that was the problem with the old model. Developing states borrowed money from developed (and oil rich) states to develop. This led to the loans crisis of the early 1980s, and the system came crashing down - again, a problem of capital. In a global economy, only very powerful states can determine their own economies. Mind you, this always involves their satelite states and dependants. US economic policy has always relied heavily on Latin America, Europe, and now, China. Therefore, the solution can only be transnational. The problem is, capitalism is steered by hegemonic states who will always resist - with force - anyone else grabbing their market share. The Dutch did it, Britain did it, Amerika does it, and China will do it before long. It's called gunship diplomacy, and ultimately, this is where all growth leads - to the systemic imbalances that lead to war. This is why any attempt at a solution - even if you could get all the world's leaders sitting down at a table - is doomed to failure. If even minute taxes on transnational financial speculation are scoffed at, we're doomed. Remember how Bob Brown was howled down for suggesting some form of international decision-making body? We're buggered. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Shane B on Jul 26th, 2012 at 12:47pm Good ol Malthus is still getting a red hot run around here. ;D ;D ;D I see professor Bartlett is a physicist, not an economist. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Soren on Jul 26th, 2012 at 1:55pm
Yeah, we can stop growth. These guys should be content with what they have. It could worse, it could be a shoe box.
:D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Doctor Jolly on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:02pm perceptions_now wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 9:40pm:
You can have growth without population growth, or more consumption of resources. Technological growth and wealth growth can occur without comsuming more resources, and deliver higher and higher quality of life. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Shane B on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:07pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:02pm:
But technological advancements have seen us using resources more and more efficiently. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:12pm Shane B wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:07pm:
Do you mean like the shift from burning wood to coal? Or whale blubber to oil? Please explain. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:14pm Soren wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 1:55pm:
That's right, old boy. These hideous tinted consumers should clean up their act. I like the addition of terracotta tiles to the roof - a nice little aspirational touch, that. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Shane B on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:21pm Big Donger wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:12pm:
I'm talking about technical efficiency. More crop yields per acre, more mileage per gallon etc. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Soren on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:36pm Big Donger wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:14pm:
Exactly. They seem to have plenty of clothes (I wonder how many pairs of shoes are inside). Would their halos fall of if they picked up their own rubbish, rather than just tossing it under the humpy? Do we need to send them a coupla million to teach them how to not to smacking litter?? Do we need to run a 'Do the Right Thing' campaign across the Third World, otherwise they wouldn't know? Or I am mistaken and not living in your own filth is just some peculiar Western contruct? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:46pm Soren wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:36pm:
Let me get this straight. Your beef with the tinted races is that they are litterbugs. Do the Right Thing - Put it in the Bin. You really are a bin-straightener, aren't you, old chap? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:56pm Shane B wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:21pm:
Maybe. What are you doing to the soil to produce more crop yields per acre? How much fuel are you using to crop dust, and what are you adding to the food chain? Equally importantly, how much actual nutrition are you producing from high sugar crops like corn, the crops that are prioritised by agribusiness and sold to multinational giants like Nestle and Coca Cola? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Doctor Jolly on Jul 26th, 2012 at 3:03pm Big Donger wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:56pm:
Sugar is yummy. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2012 at 3:26pm
That's what Soren's malnourished, morbidly obese litterbugs are saying.
Meanwhile, he goes about his business selling cheese. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:28pm Shane B wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 2:07pm:
shane b has never heard of jevons paradox! Good luck with life Shane!! DO YOU FIND PEOPLE AVOIDING YOU OFTEN OR DO YOU SIMPLY NOT NOTICE BECAUSE THEY JUST MOVED FAR AWAY INEXPLICABLY!!???!! :-* :o :'( :D :D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:33pm Shane B wrote on Jul 25th, 2012 at 10:00pm:
Americans stopped growing their attitude 2 seconds after they saw 9-11 on global tv! Lol, that was pretty funny how fast they stopped growing that shite!! All of a sudden, "...nah, like,...that's not allowed... nah, biolgoical weapons are not fair y'all,... nah nah nah that's like against the rules man of decency and apple-pie and shite!!! :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* ;D Yeh, the limits to growth haven't been reached..................... ::) .....................says shane the crack smokin' liberal voter!! :-[ |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:44pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:33pm:
Americans stopped growing their attitude 2 seconds after they saw 9-11 on global tv! Lol, that was pretty funny how fast they stopped growing that shite!! All of a sudden, "...nah, like,...that's not allowed... nah, biolgoical weapons are not fair y'all,... nah nah nah that's like against the rules man of decency and apple-pie and shite!!! :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* ;D Yeh, the limits to growth haven't been reached..................... ::) .....................says shane the crack smokin' liberal voter!! :-[/quote] Unlike you we realize that only when we stop subsidizing and protecting unsustainable economies and populations like china India and Africa and stop our insane immigration program can we start moving in a sustainable direction...ready to abandon the dark and embrace the light yet...::):D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:59pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:44pm:
Sure you're not a racist prevailing? :o :o |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 26th, 2012 at 5:09pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 4:59pm:
Yeh...thats why we believe in the same legal rights for All Australian citizens not just the White ones...redundant argument from an admitted racist free trade advocate and supporter of anti environment policies..,. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 26th, 2012 at 5:13pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 5:09pm:
Lol, prevailing is talking about 'redundant' arguments now! How many members in your RISE UP PARTY nowadays dood???? ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Prevailing on Jul 26th, 2012 at 5:15pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 5:13pm:
A little more than you might suspect... |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by pansi1951 on Jul 26th, 2012 at 6:11pm
When asked if he could imagine another Lehman Brothers-style event, he responded: 'It's just a matter of time. This financial system is completely unsustainable... The ability of governments to sustain the unsustainable ultimately rests on their ability to maintain faith in their creditworthiness...
http://www.moneymorning.com.au/20120726/stick-with-gold-through-the-eurozone-crisis.html |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 26th, 2012 at 6:13pm
If they took over the mining industry they would have an income again (like the days when they had telstra and transport and electricity etc). These things got sold off by non-forward thinking govts that wanted a quick injection of cash and bugger the next govt.
SOB |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Soren on Jul 26th, 2012 at 7:08pm perceptions_now wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 12:06am:
Ah, I see, you mean an Abbott government. Phew. I thought for a moment that you were one of those brainless progs who just want whetever they can't have. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 26th, 2012 at 7:18pm Prevailing wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 5:15pm:
too afraid to tell arya?? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ::) ::) :D |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Morning Mist on Jul 31st, 2012 at 11:23am Big Donger wrote on Jul 26th, 2012 at 10:41am:
Critique of growth and capitalism number 50,000,000,000. Proposed solutions to growth and capitalism 0. |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Deathridesahorse on Jul 31st, 2012 at 5:36pm
Karnal, the financial sector gave us modern medicine: a continuing evolution!!
You might say this was taxpayer money but taxpayer money is invented by the concept of a tax base.... and where does that come from??? For bugger all gain why would you bother investigating the secrets of life to eventually make medicines and technolgies that allow the exploitation of such secrets?? |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by Soren on Aug 1st, 2012 at 9:42pm |
Title: Re: Perpetual Growth means.... Post by perceptions_now on Aug 1st, 2012 at 10:03pm Soren wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 9:42pm: Chuckle, Chuckle, Chuckle! I'll pay that one! How power outage affects world's image of India http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/how-power-outage-affects-world-s-image-of-india-250088 |