General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Welfare ban on Grog, Smokes, Porn & Punting
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1341292396

Message started by Swagman on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:13pm

Title: Welfare ban on Grog, Smokes, Porn & Punting
Post by Swagman on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:13pm
Centrelink begin welfare ban on booze, tobacco
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/centrelink-begin-welfare-ban-on-booze-tobacco/story-e6freuy9-1226415044967

RENT, bills and food are in but alcohol, cigarettes and gambling are out.
A federal government trial in which Centrelink manages the money of welfare recipients began yesterday amid an angry protest.

Bankstown, in Sydney's southwest, is one of five areas where the trial is being conducted.

It is designed to help allocate Centrelink benefits so that expenses are paid.

Under the government's Stronger Futures legislation, the trials will direct money from some welfare recipients to pay for "priority items" such as food, housing, clothing and utilities.

The remainder of the money can be used as they wish - but with strict exclusions.

Recipients are forbidden to spend their welfare on alcohol, tobacco, pornography and gambling.

Hey, its taken almost 5 years but the Govt has finally got something right................ :D

Title: Re: Welfare ban on Grog, Smokes, Porn & Punting
Post by Uncle Meat on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:17pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:13pm:
Recipients are forbidden to spend their welfare on alcohol, tobacco, pornography and gambling.

I should certainly hope that they aren't spending their money on pornography.

They can get all they want on the internet for free.

Post by FriYAY on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:19pm
The dole bludgers won't be happy.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:22pm

Doesn't say anything about whores and heroin though.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:24pm

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/centrelink-begin-welfare-ban-on-booze-tobacco/story-e6freuy9-1226415044967

A federal government trial in which Centrelink manages the money of welfare recipients began yesterday amid an angry protest.

Bankstown, in Sydney's southwest, is one of five areas where the trial is being conducted.

Under the government's Stronger Futures legislation, the trials will direct money from some welfare recipients to pay for "priority items" such as food, housing, clothing and utilities.

The remainder of the money can be used as they wish - but with strict exclusions.

Hey, its taken almost 5 years but the Govt has finally got something right................ :D

'
That is ridiculous. How would you like to be retrenched and told how to spend your money?

Post by Kat on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:24pm

A disgusting, discriminatory plan.

Should never have gotten this far.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:26pm

The Crown is pushing well outside the limitations of its powers to disadvantage Australian citizens economically and will certainly face class action and massive compensation claims.

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:59pm
None of you Abbottites has a problem with the intervention, so good to see you are supporting this move.
I don't have a problem with it, perhaps they should target long term, multiple recipients in 1 house, than just a suburb approach.
If it's a good enough excuse to try & help Abo's it's good enough to help Bogans.

Don't like it get a job.
Simple I know Kat, but sometimes KISS instead of finding excuses works better.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:05pm
This is an abuse of the power of the Crown, expect massive claims for any attempt to manage my income - just try it, I am itching for a fight - wanna have a go?

Post by Frances on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:07pm
But, judging from this part of the article, it sounds like it will only be done where people request it or where people are unable to manage their finances properly:

The scheme is voluntary, but it can be made compulsory for people who are falling behind in rent and bill payments or because of child protection issues.

There can't be any argument about the conditions being applied to someone who has asked for it.  As for the other option, I suppose the issue there is where is the line between those people who are falling behind in rent and bill payments and those who are not is going to be drawn.

Post by FriYAY on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm
I’m all for cracking down on the obvious bludgers.

But this……hmmmmm.

My rule would be presenting at centerlink/employment provider in a clean, neat and tidy state – fit for work.

When I was forced onto unemployment benefits I had a mortgage. 1st thing i did was give up the choof.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:18pm
Any attempt to forcibly manage incomes of Australian citizens will cost the Crown dearly and if you are a well off beneficiary of the crowns benevolence expect to pay dearly for this action.  Don't want to pay?  Don't mess with the limitations of the law for your own greed or you will pay for it through the nose.  Believe me you will pay for it.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:21pm

FriYAY wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm:

But this……hmmmmm.

My rule would be presenting at centerlink/employment provider in a clean, neat and tidy state – fit for work.

When I was forced onto unemployment benefits I had a mortgage. 1st thing i did was give up the choof.

What you want does not matter, its the limitations placed on the crown and how it can use its power.  What I want is to make the crown pay through the nose if it seeks to mess with my legal rights through abuse of its power and by default make you pay for the crowns liability to me.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:33pm

But this……hmmmmm.

Well that explains a lot - drug addict dole bludger huh?

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:34pm
With a bit of luck they'll cut you off fat boy!

Post by FriYAY on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:37pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:33pm:

But this……hmmmmm.

Well that explains a lot - drug addict dole bludger huh?

Gainfully employed Quality Manager.

But hey, most people on here are used to owning you.

Which, in retrospect, is nothing to be proud of; most of what you write is bollocks.

Post by Kat on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:50pm
You can already VOLUNTARILY 'quarantine' your payments by getting Centrelink
to automatically deduct rent, power, gas and a number of other things.

This option has been available for quite some time. I know several pensioners
and unemployed who use it, and they think it's great.

I'd encourage this, but to make it compulsory, THEN try to tell them what
they can spend the REMAINDER on, is simply obscene.

I would make a tentative exception in cases where it is PROVEN that kids
are at risk. No other exceptions.

Post by Frances on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:57pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:18pm:
Believe me you will pay for it.

We already do.  Where do you think Centrelink's money comes from....

Post by cods on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 5:06pm

Kat wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:50pm:
ou can already VOLUNTARILY 'quarantine' your payments by getting Centrelink

This option has been available fo

how does this work for the alcoholics and druggies kat they make up a huge amount of our unemployed and homeless..

I know you believe in free living for everyone.. but in my book there is no such thing as FREE

I am on a pension and with me its always bills paid first.with others its bills never paid at all.

Post by Kat on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 5:14pm

cods wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 5:06pm:

how does this work for the alcoholics and druggies kat they make up a huge amount of our unemployed and homeless..

I know you believe in free living for everyone.. but in my book there is no such thing as FREE

I am on a pension and with me its always bills paid first.with others its bills never paid at all.

I'm the same, whether I'm working or not.

And when I'm not, I've found that the voluntary CentrePay system
works well, and I know the bills are always paid.

Pensioners can use CentrePay, too, if they wish.

No, it won't work if you/they don't use it.

But compulsory?

No, thanks! I'm more than capable of managing my money myself.

As are most people, the unemployed included.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 5:25pm

Why do you say that? Can you back it with anything? A huge amount huh? So all those ppl we have heard about on the news losing their jobs recently are all going out to become drug addicts now? I guess snow they can afford it with no jobs and lots of money.

Post by falah on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 5:37pm

Kat wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:24pm:
A disgusting, discriminatory plan.

Absolutely. Ban it for everyone. Why should rich people be allowed vices that are denied to the poor?

Post by Frances on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 6:34pm

the alcoholics and druggies kat they make up a huge amount of our unemployed and homeless...

Can you tell us roughly what percentage that would be?

Post by Grey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:05pm

Frances wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 6:34pm:

the alcoholics and druggies kat they make up a huge amount of our unemployed and homeless...

Can you tell us roughly what percentage that would be?

With 1 in 20 unemployed it must be around 1 in 25 are homeless drug addicts. It doesn't look like that in my working class area, so things must be terrible where cods lives.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:22pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:24pm:

'
That is ridiculous. How would you like to be retrenched and told how to spend your money?

It's not something everyone will be on. It's voluntary, with only certain people forced to comply.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:25pm
Wise people know the limits.....a fool stumbles on to destruction...

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:27pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:25pm:
Wise people know the limits.....a fool stumbles on to destruction...

Perhaps you'll be made to go on this scheme?

Post by freediver on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:28pm

'

Whose money?

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:30pm

freediver wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:28pm:

'

Whose money?

Exactly. I'd love to tell you how to spend my money, corporate_bludger...

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:33pm

'

Whose money?

The Crown needs to be asking itself that question bforeit makes a big mistake....

Post by Frances on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 10:44pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:05pm:
I am itching

Try some of this:

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 10:49pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 9:30pm:

'

Whose money?

Exactly. I'd love to tell you how to spend my money, corporate_bludger...

It only seems to you that my money is your money...do not make the mistake of acting out on your delusions you you will pay dearly financially for your trouble....and I would love to see justice done believe me...

Post by wonderwoman on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 10:50pm

I agree.

Still, it's sad to see people on limited incomes (such as those described above) requiring assistance in prioritizing their weekly budgets so as to exclude unnecessary splurges on items such as alcohol, tobacco, pornography and gambling.

Basic budgeting falls under independent living skills and these ought to be learned and mastered before leaving school IMO.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 10:53pm
Personally, I think you are all talk, the Carbon tax is dead and you are getting desperate for your next free meal...what to do?

"To no one will We sell, to no one will We deny or delay, right or justice."

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 10:57pm
If you ask me there is a lot of Cognitive dissonance going on in society today, people are asking questions, the Corporate worlds machismo is going limp...

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 11:29pm
Citizens have, lawful economic expectations out of life...I think you know what I mean with all of those Australian citizens shut out of secure employment and being replaced with foreign labor....

Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 4th, 2012 at 4:53am

'

Whose money?

Are you trying to say that if its the dole it isnt your own money?

Post by warrigal on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:02am

So what exactly is Right about this , If the australain government provided unemployed people with JOBs and a worthwhile income to live on they wouldn't need to quantine any welfare payments, because they  we wouldn;t be on wealfare, we would be wealthy and not need welfare.

Post by warrigal on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:12am

You can already VOLUNTARILY 'quarantine' your payments by getting Centrelink

This option has been available for quite some time. I know several pensioners
and unemployed who use it, and they think it's great.

I'd encourage this, but to make it compulsory, THEN try to tell them what
they can spend the REMAINDER on, is simply obscene.

I would make a tentative exception in cases where it is PROVEN that kids
are at risk. No other exceptions.

Their is only one problem with this. there is not sufficent money in a unemployment payment to put aside this money for , rent etc to pay, what do you live on after this is payed out

eg dole $477 per ft/n Standard rent $400 per week/

Unemployed beniefs should be paid at a rate to which what your trained occupation is, there fore you are a unemployed worker in a trade so you get the equivelent of what a worker gets.

example I am a qualified diasbilility care work so i should get money to the same amount as a disbility care worker that works 30 hours a week.

Post by MOTR on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:21am
If the scheme is voluntary what is all the fuss. I have a problem with it being applied to those who fall behind in their rent, but not for those who neglect their children.

Not really sure how the system who work. How can you stop people buying a beer or having a punt with the money that is in their pocket.

Post by warrigal on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:24am
Correct , but we just have to make that money more pactical for the purpose, no one can live on under $500 per ft.n,

Post by MOTR on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:27am
We had a poll here not long ago where the vast majority of posters supported an increase in the dole. I think most people realise it is falling too far behind.

Post by Kat on Jul 4th, 2012 at 7:48am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 4:53am:

'

Whose money?

Are you trying to say that if its the dole it isnt your own money?

Yes, they are.

They do, regularly. They think it's THEIR money.

This is why they THINK they should have the right to
tell people how they can spend the dole.

That's a right NO-ONE should have.

ESPECIALLY the Govt.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 4th, 2012 at 8:14am

MOTR wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:27am:
We had a poll here not long ago where the vast majority of posters supported an increase in the dole. I think most people realise it is falling too far behind.

I support a rise in the dole. I just don't see how THIS government can afford it. It spends money quicker than it gets any.

Post by MOTR on Jul 4th, 2012 at 8:19am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 8:14am:

I support a rise in the dole. I just don't see how THIS government can afford it. It spends money quicker than it gets any.

What about this massive new tax that everyone is talking about?

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 4th, 2012 at 8:21am

MOTR wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 8:19am:

What about this massive new tax that everyone is talking about?

A large portion of it is going back to some of us as a pre-election bribe under the guise of "compensation". Only the Labor Party could force a new tax upon you and then pay you compensation with its proceeds.

Post by Kat on Jul 4th, 2012 at 8:22am

The Senate enquiry into the No-Start rate is calling for submissions.

I'll be lodging one.

Any other takers?

Details HERE.....

http://www.acoss.org.au/take_action/allowances_statement_2012-02/

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:30pm
The Welfare sector demands better outcomes from the Crown consistent with their legal entitlements.  Pensioners have a right to a fair go,  Just get on with it that is all.

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:32pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:30pm:
The Welfare sector demands better outcomes from the Crown consistent with their legal entitlements.  Pensioners have a right to a fair go,  Just get on with it that is all.

Too right CW

GET A JOB

You lazy pensioners!

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:34pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:32pm:

Too right CW

GET A JOB

You lazy pensioners!

Two words...High Court...

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:41pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:34pm:

Too right CW

GET A JOB

You lazy pensioners!

Haiku?

Corporate Whitey sitting at home
Whining Whining Whining
Lollypop

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:44pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:41pm:

Too right CW

GET A JOB

You lazy pensioners!

Haiku?

Whining Whining Whining
Lollypop

Pensioners demand parity with minimum wage and super.

We will sell to no man, we will not deny or defer to any man either Justice or Right.[43]

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:47pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:44pm:

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:41pm:

Too right CW

GET A JOB

You lazy pensioners!

Haiku?

Whining Whining Whining
Lollypop

Pensioners demand parity with minimum wage a,d super.

What do pensioners want super for????
Their already retired.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 1:50pm
The Crown  outsource jobs or down size Australian citizens they are still required by law to deliver their economic rights under that law....

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:01pm
Flexibility 'eh....:D

Australian citizens who have been robbed of their economic life by Crown Policy are entitled to the same expectation of quality of life as everyone else and that includes housing, car, travel, normal household items, the expectation of a normal family and social life that that level of income provides,...

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:08pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:01pm:

Australian citizens who have been robbed of their economic life by Crown Policy are entitled to the same expectation of quality of life as everyone else and that includes housing, car, travel, normal household items, the expectation of a normal family and social life that that level of income provides,...

Christ now you want us to buy you a car, pay for holidays, plasma tellies & to top it off force a woman to live & breed with you & pretend to enjoy it?

Your not a socialist rebel, your a smacking monarchist who thinks his KING in the style of Henry the Eighth.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:17pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:08pm:

Christ now you want us to buy you a car, pay for holidays, plasma tellies & to top it off force a woman to live & breed with you & pretend to enjoy it?

Your not a socialist rebel, your a smacking monarchist who thinks his KING in the style of Henry the Eighth.

These are all the normal expectations which the Government has denied Australian citizens by unlawfully interfering in and removing their economic rights, you bet your life I want what my hard work should have given me and instead was stolen.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:18pm
Efficiency 'eh...:D

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:19pm
Skills Migration 'eh...:D

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:22pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 4th, 2012 at 2:08pm:

You are the only one here advocating for the Crowns abuse of power loony tunes.,.,.

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 5:25pm
All Australian citizens denied natural legal and economic justice under the law by Illegal abuse of crown power should have their incomes raised at least to the average weekly wage level pending a full Royal commission into corruption and criminal charges....

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 6:06pm
What to do....:D

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 6:07pm
Come on...have a go...where is your Mojo for "Reform"...:D

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 6:09pm
Make the Disabled do flood reconstruction Gillard...have a go....:D

Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 4th, 2012 at 6:13pm
You gutless corrupt piece of steaming turd...I am standing here - bring it...the full power of the Crown, I want to see it...:D

Post by alevine on Jul 4th, 2012 at 10:37pm
it always surprises me when conservatives lurch towards more regulation of something.  Aren't you meant to be about LESS government in people's lives?

This is nothing more than an attempt to curb some of the conservative vote, and pretend like the government is trying to fix a problem.  From my opinion, the majority of unemployed are like FriYay was at one stage: Honest people who have fallen on hard times and need assistance.  You're always going to have a minority of bludgers, but you don't go about looking at ways to punish everyone because of a minority. Instead, the government could look towards ways of further encouraging people to get back to work in a positive way and a way that helps to strengthen the economy.