General Discussion >> General Board >> Inquiry To Examine Newstart Allowance To Go Ahead.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1340743421

Message started by imcrookonit on Jun 27th, 2012 at 6:43am

Title: Inquiry To Examine Newstart Allowance To Go Ahead.
Post by imcrookonit on Jun 27th, 2012 at 6:43am
Inquiry to examine Newstart allowance
Peter Martin
June 27, 2012

GOVERNMENT and opposition senators have sided with the Greens to bring on an inquiry into Australia's $35 a day Newstart unemployment allowance, one of the lowest in the developed world.   

To report by November, the inquiry will examine the adequacy of the allowance as an income support payment and as means of funding job searches.

It will also examine the gap between Newstart and the pension, which has swelled to the point where Newstart is just 70 per cent of the pension and is on track to slide to 50 per cent.    :(

Newstart is increased twice-yearly in line with the consumer price index whereas the pension is increased in line with average male earnings. Each pension increase is now more than twice each Newstart increase.    :(

''The review is long overdue,'' said Greens senator Rachel Siewert, who herself attempted to live on $17.15 a day earlier this year, her calculation of the Newstart allowance after rent.    ;)

''We haven't had anything like this since the Henderson poverty review in the 1970s …

''We need to identify the failings of a system that sees around two-thirds of people on Newstart stay on it for more than a year. Central to this is the adequacy of the payment itself.''

The move for an inquiry was carried on the voices, with neither Labor nor Coalition senators prepared to object. In the past Labor has taken a hard line on Newstart, arguing it is a temporary payment with a low rate designed to encourage people to get off it.

The five-month inquiry will also examine allowances tied to Newstart including those for students and carers.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/political-news/inquiry-to-examine-newstart-allowance-20120626-210ir.html#ixzz1yvwaVc9m

Title: Re: Inquiry To Examine Newstart Allowance To Go Ahead.
Post by pansi1951 on Jun 27th, 2012 at 6:53am
The inquiry will make recommendations, it doesn't mean the government will honour them. It's really past a joke expecting the unemployed and students to have a reasonable existence on the money they currently get.

We constantly boast the best economy in the world, the bottom 50% wouldn't believe it.

No wonder we have a lack of skilled workers duh! they're expected to live on $110 a week for four years.

Post by imcrookonit on Jun 27th, 2012 at 7:17am
Yes pansi, one wonders why we need an inquiry.  The new start ( no start ) allowance is far too low, and should be increased by $50 a week.   ;) 

Post by Dnarever on Jun 27th, 2012 at 10:51am
This is well overdue.

Post by Kat on Jun 27th, 2012 at 11:25am
No-Start needs to be raised drastically, it's true.

But there are other issues that they need to address as well.....

a/ No-Start needs to be indexed to wages like the pension is, and NOT to the CPI. This is
what's causing, and aggravating, the widening gap between the pension and the dole.

b/ WfD needs to have a valid training component installed. This will help stop WfD being
used as, and seen as, nothing but a punishment.

c/ The WfD 'bonus ($20 per f/n approx) is no-where near adequate, and usually won't even
cover the cost of attending and buying lunch. Those doing WfD OR volunteer work should be
receiving SIGNIFICANTLY more than those who are not. This needs to be done whether the
dole is raised or not.

d/ Income quarantining MUST be rejected, once and for all. People can ALREADY choose to
VOLUNTARILY 'quarantine' important payments such as rent, power etc, and have tham paid
automatically through Centrelink's 'CentrePay' scheme. This should be encouraged, by all
means. But to make it COMPULSORY is simply obscene. The idea of food-stamps and/or
vouchers MUST also be rejected.

e/ There must be more, and easier access to training. And NOT just the entry-level, menial
jobs. While they are fine for the young, they are useless to the mature-aged unemployed.

There's a few issues.

Anyone think of any others?

Post by pansi1951 on Jun 27th, 2012 at 1:39pm
I know when I was growing up, older people used to talk about the Depression and how hard it was for those who lost their jobs and had to live on the dole.
I remember they had a sense of pity and sorrow but never any blame.

Being unemployed now carries a certain stigma. I wonder how this has come about. It is obvious that there are not enough jobs to go around for everyone that wants one, so why the put-down?

Unemployment benefits are paid for by the tax payers, as are the wages of public servants. If they can spend their money on whatever they want so can the unemployed.

Now, now, don't tell me it's different because public servants are working hard. We know they don't.

If someone can find one unemployed person who is living comfortably with money for drugs, alcohol and tobacco and a little for emergencies, please grab them and make them treasurer.

Post by Kat on Jun 27th, 2012 at 9:11pm

Wot? No takers?

I'd have thought some of you would have been all over this one........

Post by thelastnail on Jun 28th, 2012 at 1:21am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jun 27th, 2012 at 6:53am:
The inquiry will make recommendations, it doesn't mean the government will honour them. It's really past a joke expecting the unemployed and students to have a reasonable existence on the money they currently get.

We constantly boast the best economy in the world, the bottom 50% wouldn't believe it.

No wonder we have a lack of skilled workers duh! they're expected to live on $110 a week for four years.

yes what happened to the ditching of negative gearing on property as recommended in the Henry review of the tax system ? That one was skipped over of course :(

f.cking wankers these governments we keep voting in :(

Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:29am

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 1:21am:

yes what happened to the ditching of negative gearing on property as recommended in the Henry review of the tax system ? That one was skipped over of course :(

What has negative gearing got to do with the dole?

Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:30am

d/ Income quarantining MUST be rejected, once and for all. People can ALREADY choose to
VOLUNTARILY 'quarantine' important payments such as rent, power etc, and have tham paid
automatically through Centrelink's 'CentrePay' scheme. This should be encouraged, by all
means. But to make it COMPULSORY is simply obscene. The idea of food-stamps and/or
vouchers MUST also be rejected.

I hadnt heard they were trying to introduce food-stamps and/or vouchers. More americanisation. America isnt doing so well with it why would we want to implement it?

Post by Kat on Jun 28th, 2012 at 6:52am

AFAIK, it's not an official policy YET, but there have been quite a few retards from both
sides of politics, both in and out of govt, who do support this mad scheme.

Post by warrigal on Jun 28th, 2012 at 8:40am
[quote
c/ The WfD 'bonus ($20 per f/n approx) is no-where near adequate, and usually won't even
cover the cost of attending and buying lunch. Those doing WfD OR volunteer work should be
receiving SIGNIFICANTLY more than those who are not. This needs to be done whether the
dole is raised or not.

I find the remark offensive.
no one should be forced to do WFD under any circumstances.

so those that do agree to do shouldn't get more money.

Post by thelastnail on Jun 28th, 2012 at 11:06am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:29am:

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 1:21am:

What has negative gearing got to do with the dole?

the review that helps out the battler always gets over looked :(

Post by Baronvonrort on Jun 28th, 2012 at 1:44pm

Kat wrote on Jun 27th, 2012 at 11:25am:

a/ No-Start needs to be indexed to wages like the pension is, and NOT to the CPI. This is
what's causing, and aggravating, the widening gap between the pension and the dole.

The pensioners get CPI increases the pension is not indexed to wages why are you misleading people with your lies?

The dole was never meant to be a lifestyle choice, if you want more money get a job the minimum wage is over $15 per hour.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 28th, 2012 at 2:26pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 1:44pm:

The pensioners get CPI increases the pension is not indexed to wages why are you misleading people with your lies?

The dole was never meant to be a lifestyle choice, if you want more money get a job the minimum wage is over $15 per hour.

you know better. You have to. you must be trolling.

Post by Kat on Jun 28th, 2012 at 3:50pm

From the ACOSS website:-....

""This is because Allowances such as Newstart have been falling further behind pensions for over a decade due to the fact that they are indexed to the CPI and not to wages. This simply must be fixed because we know it's driving people into worsening poverty.""

See.

Not a lie at all.

Some of you 'antis' would do well to go there occasionally.

You might even pick up some facts to replace your bias, misinformation and ignorance.

Post by Baronvonrort on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:46pm

Kat wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 3:50pm:

""This is because Allowances such as Newstart have been falling further behind pensions for over a decade due to the fact that they are indexed to the CPI and not to wages. This simply must be fixed because we know it's driving people into worsening poverty.""

See.

Not a lie at all.

You might even pick up some facts to replace your bias, misinformation and ignorance.

The Pensions are irrelevant when it comes to the dole they are separate issues which is something the dole bludgers do not accept.

The Pension should always be higher than the dole, i dont expect the aged or disabled to work yet there is nothing stopping an unemployed person from getting a job and working.
Should a person on the dole get the same money as a person in a wheelchair?

If unemployed people want to break the cycle of poverty then getting a job would be the best way out of poverty

Pensioners do get CPI increases according to the centrelink website

Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:51pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:46pm:

See.

Not a lie at all.

The Pensions are irrelevant when it comes to the dole they are separate issues which is something the dole bludgers do not accept.

The Pension should always be higher than the dole, i dont expect the aged or disabled to work yet there is nothing stopping an unemployed person from getting a job and working.

If unemployed people want to break the cycle of poverty then getting a job would be the best way out of poverty

I almost hope you get retrenched or something and find out what its like to not have a job and none on the horizon but i wouldn't wish that on anyone not even a bigot like you.

Post by pansi1951 on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:52pm

See.

Not a lie at all.

Why were there so many unemployed during the Great Depression?

Did they want to work?

Were they bludgers?

Post by Baronvonrort on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:58pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:51pm:

See.

Not a lie at all.

I almost hope you get retrenched or something and find out what its like to not have a job and none on the horizon but i wouldn't wish that on anyone not even a bigot like you.

I would not qualify for the dole they only give it to unemployed losers.

I have shares that pay good dividends, i have term deposits collecting interest so if i lose my job i dont qualify for the dole.

The dole was never meant to be a lifetyle choice, if you want more money get a job the minimum wage is over $15 per hour.

Post by Baronvonrort on Jun 28th, 2012 at 6:00pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 5:52pm:

See.

Not a lie at all.

Did they want to work?

Were they bludgers?

Are we in the equivalent of the great depression?

Do you think that is a piss poor comparison?

A friend of mine moved his family to Blackwater in Qld to get a job in the mines,hr now owns his own home which was something he could never afford before moving.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 28th, 2012 at 6:07pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 6:00pm:

See.

Not a lie at all.

Did they want to work?

Were they bludgers?

A friend of mine moved his family to Blackwater in Qld to get a job in the mines,hr now owns his own home which was something he could never afford before moving.

So? There arent as many jobs out there as you pretend to think.

Post by longweekend58 on Jun 28th, 2012 at 7:51pm

See.

Not a lie at all.

by indexing the dole to the CPI - like almost ALL welfarae payments it means that the dole retains its value. the comparison witht he pension is disingenuous. whyshould the dole be increased FASTER than the cost of living when wages generally dont. why should NON-workers be treated the same way as pensioners? yes, the dole is lo, but so it should be. it is not an alternative to work and never should or will be. it is a supplement and yes it sucks to be unemployed, but if you want to blame anyone, blame the minority that refuse to work (liek greens_lose and IMFULLOFIT) who make sure that no govt will ever make the dole a livable amount. those two lazy buggers are why the dole has to remain low. blame them.

Post by thelastnail on Jun 28th, 2012 at 8:31pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 6:07pm:
So? There arent as many jobs out there as you pretend to think.

5% unemployment is needed to keep the capitalist system ticking along !! When demand for a job exceeds supply this keeps wages low which means there will always be people out of work :( If you don't pay those people the dole then they will turn ferrel and come and rob you :(

Post by Kat on Jun 29th, 2012 at 12:27am

longweekend58 wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 7:51pm:

See.

Not a lie at all.

by indexing the dole to the CPI - like almost ALL welfarae payments it means that the dole retains its value. the comparison witht he pension is disingenuous. whyshould the dole be increased FASTER than the cost of living when wages generally dont. why should NON-workers be treated the same way as pensioners? yes, the dole is lo, but so it should be. it is not an alternative to work and never should or will be. it is a supplement and yes it sucks to be unemployed, but if you want to blame anyone, blame the minority that refuse to work (liek greens_lose and IMFULLOFIT) who make sure that no govt will ever make the dole a livable amount. those two lazy buggers are why the dole has to remain low. blame them.

Ah, no, sorry mate.

The pension and many other welfare payments are indexed to the basic wage.

No-Start is indexed to the CPI (much lower), which caused, and is aggravating
the ever-increasing gap between the dole and the pension.

Post by Kat on Jun 29th, 2012 at 12:32am
Keeping them down to encourage them to find work is one thing.

The way they're being treated currently goes WAY beyond that.

It's punishment, nothing more.

Australia should be ashamed of the way it treats its unemployed.

Especially when it is unnecessary, and when we CAN, and can
AFFORD to do so much better.

Post by thelastnail on Jun 29th, 2012 at 10:46am

Baronvonrort wrote on Jun 28th, 2012 at 6:00pm:

See.

Not a lie at all.

Did they want to work?

Were they bludgers?

why should anyone move from one state to another just to get a job ?

what happened to australia being the enviable economy of the world ? there should be good jobs everywhere !! where are all of these enviable jobs ?

a career down a stinking mineshaft :( what a load of bullshit !