General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> 3 yrs old mental health screening
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1339366616

Message started by Maqqa on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:16am

Title: 3 yrs old mental health screening
Post by Maqqa on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:16am
http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/national/13916737/govt-stands-by-child-mental-health-tests/

Mental Health Minister Mark Butler is concerned about possible over-reaction to clinical experts' advice after three-year-olds are screened under the new Healthy Kids Check program.

The program, which starts on July 1, will be predominantly managed by GPs who will refer children with troubling behaviour to psychologists or paediatricians.

Mr Butler admits there is always the danger of misdiagnosis or oversubscribing and says that's why child care experts have been spending months getting the program "precisely right".

"Parents can be confident that when they go to a GP or a practice nurse in a GP surgery to check that just before their child starts pre-school or steps into primary school, that they're developing in a way that we all hope and expect that they will be," Mr Butler told journalists in Adelaide.

He said the program was aimed at picking up problems early so they can be dealt with and allow the child to enter preschool and primary school in the best position possible.

He said this $11 million program is the latest addition to the government's $2.2 billion mental health reform package where children are checked for heart, eyesight and other physical health issues.

The mental health check itself will be mostly done by GPs under the Medicare system.

"The experts who have been designing this tool have made it very clear that their overriding objective has been to do no harm ... to provide a positive opportunity to families to take their children at that critical time of three years of age," Mr Butler said.

"Obviously, we need to make sure through the advice of the clinical experts that it's conducted in the best way possible and that there's not an overreaction.

"I'm very confident that the people we have around the table designing this piece of work have that absolutely at the front of their mind."
The government experts more than 27,000 children will benefit from additional support after being tested.

Title: Re: 3 yrs old mental health screening
Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:26am
do you even look to see if theres already a thread? you dont do you

Post by cods on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:42am
havent we already got a problem with children being overdosed with PILLS...

dont they realize most of these diagnoses are done by opinion and not by actual medical tests.

Post by PoliticalPuppet on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:41am

cods wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:42am:

dont they realize most of these diagnoses are done by opinion and not by actual medical tests.

All of them. And even if they wern't it wouldn't really make it much better.
Pills will just and probably already are increasing the rates of 'mental illness'. The only thing that can properly eradicate it is diet and lifestyle.

Post by Maqqa on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:50am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:41am:

Pills will just and probably already are increasing the rates of 'mental illness'. The only thing that can properly eradicate it is diet and lifestyle.

And parental responsibility

Post by PoliticalPuppet on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:52am

Maqqa wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:50am:

The best responsibility they can have is to feed them right and keep them active both mentally and physically.
It really is the key.

Post by Maqqa on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:59am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:52am:

Maqqa wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:50am:

The best responsibility they can have is to feed them right and keep them active both mentally and physically.
It really is the key.

Discipline is also key to their mental development

This does not include a whack across the head without any explanation

Post by cods on Jun 11th, 2012 at 10:39am
how about Meals on Wheels for kids???

it makes sense.. more sense than more pills..

lets face it. if a 3 yr old is diagnosed with a problem what are they going to treat it with???????

thats right another PILL>

Post by longweekend58 on Jun 11th, 2012 at 11:25am
The program may have its faults but it is compensating for the growing weaknesses in parenting that seems to think that every behaviour short of stabbing  is acceptable. Early identification of serious mental illness can put in place programs that can greatly minimise the effects or even effect cures. The longer you wait, the harder it gets.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 11th, 2012 at 4:57pm

Vitamin D wouldn't hurt!

Vitamin D deficiency is a global phenomenon don't ya know!!

But, hang on, let's try flogging a tax base instead!

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Post by pansi1951 on Jun 11th, 2012 at 5:22pm
It's a brand new industry. Lets hit the toddlers.

Does your toddler need legal advice? It's never too early to have them sit down and take the law test. They could be well on the way to breaking the rules.

Does your three year old love his tricycle, that could mean he wants to join a bikie gang later in life, or stolen a lolly from another child. The signs of criminal intentions are there. Early intervention is crucial.

This kid needs psychological and legal help for the next fifteen years.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 11th, 2012 at 5:26pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 5:22pm:
It's a brand new industry. Lets hit the toddlers.

Does your toddler need legal advice? It's never too early to have them sit down and take the law test. They could be well on the way to breaking the rules.

Does your three year old love his tricycle, that could mean he wants to join a bikie gang later in life, or stolen a lolly from another child. The signs of criminal intentions are there. Early intervention is crucial.

This kid needs psychological and legal help for the next fifteen years.

DOES YOUR CHILD HAVE A HEART CONDITION??

We all know that is what they are working towards...

Oh, lol, give them all heart conditions and then act on the fact for commercial gain: oh, lol, that aint even funny dood!

Post by Frances on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:54pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 8:26am:
do you even look to see if theres already a thread? you dont do you

Maybe he hasn't been screened yet.....

Post by mozzaok on Jun 12th, 2012 at 12:10am
Great to see at least one issue receiving bi-partisan support from our members.
IGNORANCE.

Your son is autistuc.
No worries, I will make sure he never eats fast food or soft drinks, problem solved, thanks mate.
Or, from some righties, I will make sure he is very severely disciplined, I remember my school days, a bit of beating and buggery, made me the man I am today, did me the world of good.

Post by PoliticalPuppet on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:10am

longweekend58 wrote on Jun 11th, 2012 at 11:25am:
The program may have its faults but it is compensating for the growing weaknesses in parenting that seems to think that every behaviour short of stabbing  is acceptable. Early identification of serious mental illness can put in place programs that can greatly minimise the effects or even effect cures. The longer you wait, the harder it gets.

We are a long way away from being able to do this thing successfully. The idea is good, but maybe 50 years down the track.

There are hundreds of different mental illness all almost exactly the same when it comes to symptoms and we cannot even diagnose adults successfully.

Its really just compensating for doubt, its not going to fix any problems.
Mental illness usually develops over many years if not decades and you cannot aim a treatment at specific children you need to make sure every child has the means to fend of these illnesses. The only way you can dramatically bring down the numbers is to have children eating healthy and exercising their mind and body regularly.

Their is no real weakness in individual parenting, its a social thing. Rates of mental illness raise uniformly throughout.

Early identification at this stage is dangerous and misguided.

Post by PoliticalPuppet on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:14am

mozzaok wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 12:10am:
IGNORANCE.

Your son is autistuc.
No worries, I will make sure he never eats fast food or soft drinks, problem solved, thanks mate.
Or, from some righties, I will make sure he is very severely disciplined, I remember my school days, a bit of beating and buggery, made me the man I am today, did me the world of good.

Autism is not a mental illness, completely different thing. Mental illness is caused by environmental factors and can severity can be dramatically decreased if not eradicated with a long term healthy lifestyle. Problem is this can be hard after someone has begun to take medication, which most do.

Discipline has its strengths and is an area that should be developed and researched but I don't think anyone is condoning beating. We are primitive animals and without discipline we would have got killed back in the days, it is probably a key among many to development.

Post by mozzaok on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:18am

Mental illness is caused by environmental factors
-Political Puppet

If that is the case, you should move, immediately.

Post by PoliticalPuppet on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:24am

mozzaok wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:18am:

-Political Puppet

Yes I just cant stop ignoring the facts

Post by mozzaok on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:29am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:24am:

-Political Puppet

Misgivings about how a program could be misdelivered are not facts, merely questions which you have supplied your own negative answers too.

Post by PoliticalPuppet on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:35am

mozzaok wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:29am:

-Political Puppet

Misgivings about how a program could be misdelivered are not facts, merely questions which you have supplied your own negative answers too.

Not about the program but about the field of diagnosing mental illness in general.
The 'professionals' will admit to you that they don't know what they are doing and how inaccurate and dangerous it can be, and that is in adults let alone 3 year olds.
There is no knowledge available to deliver this program successfully and without the risk of damaging children's lives forever where medication is concerned.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 13th, 2012 at 3:32pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:14am:

mozzaok wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 12:10am:
IGNORANCE.

Your son is autistuc.

Autism is not a mental illness, completely different thing. Mental illness is caused by environmental factors and can severity can be dramatically decreased if not eradicated with a long term healthy lifestyle. Problem is this can be hard after someone has begun to take medication, which most do.

Discipline has its strengths and is an area that should be developed and researched but I don't think anyone is condoning beating. We are primitive animals and without discipline we would have got killed back in the days, it is probably a key among many to development.

HOW CAN ANYONE SAY MENTAL ILLNESS IS CAUSED SOLEY BY ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS?

WHAT IS A MUTATION?

NOT ALL MUTATIONS ARE HEALTHY YA KNOW!! THEY MAY INFACT BE PASSED ON FOR MANY MANY MANY GENERATIONS AND YET STILL BE CLASSED AS A MENTAL ILLNESS!!

:D :D :D :D :D  ;)

I MEAN, WHERE DID THE PENCHANT FOR SPENDING HOURS AND HOURS AND HOURS AND HOURS COUNTING COIN COME FROM???

;D ;D

TO BE HEALTHY OR NOT TO BE HEALTHY IS THE QUESTION!

IT'S ALL DEFINITIONS  ::)

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 13th, 2012 at 3:37pm
WHAT IS A HEALTHY CONDITION?

Many argue mental illnesses are genetically passed on as they are infact a healthy gene for the social group to include even if not for the specific individual!!

SPECULATION ON WHERE THE ABILITY TO PERCEIVE OF, AND THEREFORE CREATE, TOOLS CAME FROM HOVERS ENDLESSLY AROUND MENTALL ILLNESS.

IT'S ALL DEFINITONS AND IS WHY SUCH SHYSTERS AS JEFF KENNET ARE JUSTLY CLOSELY WATCHED AND JUDGED!!

OVERDIAGNOSIS IS AN INDUSTRY!!!

WE ALL KNOW, BUT LET ME SAY IT AGAIN ANYWAY: OVERDIAGNOSIS IS AN INDUSTRY!!

::) ::)  ;)

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 13th, 2012 at 3:43pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:35am:

mozzaok wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:29am:

-Political Puppet

Not about the program but about the field of diagnosing mental illness in general.
The 'professionals' will admit to you that they don't know what they are doing and how inaccurate and dangerous it can be, and that is in adults let alone 3 year olds.
There is no knowledge available to deliver this program successfully and without the risk of damaging children's lives forever where medication is concerned.

hERE i CAN TELL YOU i WHOLEHEARTEDLY AGREE HOWEVER!

These pill sellign psychos honestly think 1/3 of the world is undiagnosed bipolar.

THAT'S A BIG MARKET TO SELL DRUGS MAN!

IT IS AN INDUSTRY!!

NOW, FOR THE BENEFIT OF OTHERS WHO HAVE YET TO LET THE PENNY DROP, I'LL REPEAT IT ONE LAST TIME: it is an industry!!

:D :D

i EXPECT NO ONE DISAGREES!!

Post by PoliticalReality on Jun 13th, 2012 at 4:23pm
There are a few people on this board who could have used some early intervention ...

Anything that gives a focus to mental health is a good thing.

As a parent you should be focused on your kids enough to pick this up but many don't have the skills, that's what GPs are for and having someone to refer them to specifically for kids is great

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 13th, 2012 at 5:04pm

PoliticalReality wrote on Jun 13th, 2012 at 4:23pm:
There are a few people on this board who could have used some early intervention ...

Anything that gives a focus to mental health is a good thing.

As a parent you should be focused on your kids enough to pick this up but many don't have the skills, that's what GPs are for and having someone to refer them to specifically for kids is great

It's all a balancing act!

Are you denying the overdiagnosis and/or oversubscription of medicines.

IT'S ALMOST AN INDUSTRY IN IT'S OWN RIGHT!

IT'S ALMOST WHAT YOU'D CALL A TAXBASE IN IT'S OWN RIGHT!!

::) ::)  :D

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jun 13th, 2012 at 5:07pm
PARENTS ARE TIME POOR and to deny this as being a major part of the business model would simply be an unsustainable argument.

LIKE I SAID: IT'S AN INDUSTRY looking to flog product!