General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Labor's lack of leaders http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1338173821 Message started by Doctor Jolly on May 28th, 2012 at 12:57pm |
Title: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Doctor Jolly on May 28th, 2012 at 12:57pm Labor has had a problem ever since Hawke of not being able to produce a leader to galvanise their factions, and inspirational enough to be a true statemen for the country. The reason Howard lasted so long was because all they could put up was Bomber beazily and Simon Crean (Latham I'll ignore for now). Both fine ministers, but not leaders. Rudd has the statemanship, but most of the party hate him. Gillard is an excellent minister, but a hopeless leader. No one else springs to mind as an obvious replacement.. How can a party lack the ability (or is it the structure) to get a strong leader in over 16 years ? |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by progressiveslol on May 28th, 2012 at 1:09pm Doctor Jolly wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 12:57pm:
Because you dont get leaders from unions, you get blood sucking leachers. They need to get their people from outside of unions. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Gist on May 28th, 2012 at 1:59pm progressiveslol wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 1:09pm:
Oh! You mean they should follow the Lieberal example and get them from places like from law firms? No blood sucking leeches there! :D |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by olive on May 28th, 2012 at 4:30pm Gist wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 1:59pm:
Julia Gillard was in a law firm, wasn't she? Even if it WAS an ambulance chasing law firm. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by adelcrow on May 28th, 2012 at 4:33pm
Nick X is an ambo chaser from way back and hes the best and most honest pollie we have
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 4:34pm Gist wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 1:59pm:
huhum you seem to forget your precious PM is a lawyer. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 4:36pm adelcrow wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 4:33pm:
mm what has he done exactly????????????. its okay voting for or against... but really I expect a little more.Scientology was his go a short while ago what happened to that??? not enough votes in it????? |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by adelcrow on May 28th, 2012 at 4:41pm
http://www.nickxenophon.com.au/
Ask Nick any questions and you will find he will answer them promptly..its much better than hearing it from me |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by olive on May 28th, 2012 at 4:48pm
Getting back to the title....Labor's Lack of Leaders....it really DOES seem remarkable that there is such a paucity of people to choose from on the left. If they REALLY have to go back to Kevin Rudd, then they will have to face up to all the names they called him at the last little ding dong they had about who should lead. Then there is Smith...who never seems to put himself forward...I think he has had some issues in Defence. Then there is Billy Shorten....GG's son in law and very ambitious for himself....hmmm? Greg Combet? Don't think so. Crean....a good minister but the left don't want him. Maybe they SHOULD bring back Hawke. :-) Funny how no-one even mentions Swan, isn't it......and everyone can see why.
Or maybe they should ask the Leader of the House, Mr. Albanese, the Minister for Infastwucture.....oh dear. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 4:57pm adelcrow wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 4:41pm:
thanks adel you have answered my very point bugger all.. words words words.. has he changed anything ??? did he dig in with Wilkie on pokie reform???? not that I saw.. look I can put my hand up.. and talk about the things that seem to be in the headlines... yep I agree and go along with everything.. but but but...well I guess it wasnt his fault if it didnt lead anywhere..hummmmmmmm you are the one that made the statement the most honest man in parliament......of course. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 5:01pm olive wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 4:48pm:
I have often wondered about swanny.. I wonder if he sits their thinking... WHY NOT MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Ive always wanted to be PM>>and no one nominates me.. I think with the way they are all walking on a very thin balancing line...no one will ever get the numbers to be leader.. the best they can do is have an election and clear the whole place out and get new blood in. it will of course take a while but really if they hang on to this bunch who in my opinion are all soiled one way or another..then they will be in the wilderness for a long long time. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 5:01pm
Neither major party are flushed with talent. Abbott is the worst alternative PM in my life time.
Turnbull is the only person in parliament from any party worthy of the PMship.But the far right hate him because they hate moderates. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by olive on May 28th, 2012 at 5:06pm cods wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 5:01pm:
..... Remember when Rudd said that Swan was the "cool" one and he (Rudd) was the "nerd"? Seems such a long while ago now when they were at the top of the opinion polls.....sigh. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Gist on May 28th, 2012 at 8:01pm olive wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 4:30pm:
Why thank you cods and olive. I needed no reminding but assumed that you had already lumped her into the blood sucking leech basket simply by virtue of her Labor leadership status. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by angeleyes on May 28th, 2012 at 8:37pm
Oh! You mean they should follow the Lieberal example and get them from places like from law firms? No blood sucking leeches there!
Oh Gist you've done it again. Sorry to prick your balloon Gist. In 2010 the ALP had twenty lawyers in Parliament, Nicola Roxon Daryl Melham, Penny Wong, Shayne Neumann, Tony Burke Mark Butler, Simon Crean amongst them. The Liberals had THIRTEEN. :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 8:41pm Lawyers and 'Doctors' should be automatically excluded from being eligible to stand for parliament. As should 'economists' or those with 'Arts' degrees or similar. If you have ties to 'Big business', the Copyright lobby, or support censorship/regulation of the internet, then sorry, ineligible to stand. Single-issue? smack RIGHT off! Hard-liner? Law-and Order? Authoritarian? Likewise. If you fit this bill, you'll NEVER get a vote from me. This was ONCE a free country. I'll fight to the death to return Australia to those days. And they will never come under a pack of ass-kissing, greedy, selfish, self-serving parasites like the current Opposition. Or their supporters. Just LOOK at their front-bench. All the Howardites, just waiting for us to be STUPID enough to vote the maggots back into power. If they're waiting for MY vote, they'll be waiting till Hell freezes. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 8:46pm A consolation prize for the 'righties', though.... I will NOT be voting Labor OR Greens. Or independent. No, I'll be voting for one of the minor parties, and aiming my prefs as far away as I can from EITHER of the maor parties. They cannot betray me year after year, and expect my vote. FUGGEM!!!! FUGGEM ALL!!!!!!! |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 8:47pm Kat wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 8:41pm:
Who does that leave to vote for?? I'm a watch maker by trade. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by angeleyes on May 28th, 2012 at 8:48pm
Yeah, lets have a front bench full of trade unionists.
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 8:54pm angeleyes wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 8:48pm:
An idiotic post, by an idiot. Why am I not surprised? |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 8:58pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 8:47pm:
You'll do, mate. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 9:14pm Kat wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 8:58pm:
so you would prefer people who think of nothing but themselves. then how about a front bench made up of homeless people... or all those who failed school and probably sign with an X.. we are a laughing stock round the world now.. that should really fix it.. I dont think anyone particularly cares who you vote for or dont vote for to be honest...sounds like you are chewing on a huge sour grape.. this country is having a rough time of it right now..but we are not alone.. look at Italy and Greece and Spain.. besides if you think its just the pollies that run the country I suspect the bureaucrats might have something to do with it as well. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 9:25pm
Cods wrote=
Your link, madam???? ;D |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 9:32pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:25pm:
WHY?... |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 28th, 2012 at 9:35pm olive wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 4:48pm:
Terrific post, Olive. Absolutely true. I've been thinking that about Swan for some time now. He's the deputy, yet about 6 others are considered as replacements before him. He's an absolute moron, and a dithering idiot. Much like JuLIAR. Albanese is an absolute joke. He can't even talk, the other week, for example, he said "It's not APPROPIATE". |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 9:36pm cods wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:32pm:
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?action=post;num=1338196890;virboard=;quote=0;title=PostReply ;D Quote:
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 28th, 2012 at 9:37pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 5:01pm:
Desperation from the left again. Turnbull is basically a centrist. He's not even right-wing. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 9:39pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:36pm:
guess what .... that was something out of my own mind.. i didnt plagiarize it..or pinch it or copy it..I just said it..I talk to people you know.. and guess what I am not afraid of mozz.. THREATS.. are you? |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 9:40pm matty wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:37pm:
So he represents the very essence of the party Menzies formed. Your stupidity knows no bounds, mel. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 9:41pm matty wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:37pm:
DO YOU HAVE A LINK TO THAT OR DID YOU JUST HAVE A PERSONAL THOUGHT matty.. as for Turnbull I now read where Mrs Rudd has more money than he does... where does that leave him>??? worried.? hes been very quiet of late as well. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 9:42pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:40pm:
gotta watch those oneliners.. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 28th, 2012 at 9:44pm cods wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:41pm:
More of a personal note, cods. I am not responding to roo-girl as she won't stop with the ad hominem attacks. The Coalition is a centre-right party, not a centrist party. I want someone with good, strong and conservative ideals. I can't think of anyone as good as Tony Abbott to lead the party. I can't wait for him to become PM. Turnbull is craving back the leadership, but his views aren't in line with the party. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 9:46pm cods wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:42pm:
It only takes one line to highlight matty's stupidity. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by angeleyes on May 28th, 2012 at 9:50pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:46pm:
Takes nothing to highlight yours. Yours stupidity is self inflicted. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 28th, 2012 at 9:50pm skippy. wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:46pm:
have you got a link for that? |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 9:52pm matty wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:37pm:
Exactly! That's why we'd vote Coalition if he was the leader. We WON'T vote for the far-right smack-knuckles like Tony that YOU and a few others so rabidly support. Especially while all those Howardian-era retreads are sitting on the Coalition front-benches. Vote for them? In your (wet) dreams, Matty-boy. NEVER gonna happen. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 28th, 2012 at 10:06pm Kat wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:52pm:
1. How is he (and supporters like me) far-right? You've said this thousands upon thousands of times, but have never once given any evidence. 2. Nice, classy language, too, by the way, Kat. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 28th, 2012 at 10:07pm
Conservatism is good, conservatism is great, conservatism is non-interfering.
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 28th, 2012 at 10:13pm angeleyes wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 9:50pm:
Yet you just used two,and failed. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by angeleyes on May 28th, 2012 at 10:16pm matty wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 10:06pm:
It is the way of the left Mat. Skippy, Gist, Kat, Narbie Political Puppet, Valley Boy, Who am I. Inbred, uneducated gutter slime. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 10:46pm angeleyes wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 10:16pm:
Yes, great come-back. Not! You people are the 'Enemy Within'. You are a THREAT to this country and to freedom. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by Kat on May 28th, 2012 at 10:50pm matty wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 10:06pm:
Like it? I can do better. But, it's nothing compared to what I cop. If/when the mods ping me, I'll ease-off. Not before. And there'd be heaps in line before they ever got to me, I'd reckon. Mostly your mob. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 29th, 2012 at 9:16am angeleyes wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 10:16pm:
I total agree, angel. Just look at the answer (total lack therein) that he gave me in his last post. That's all that they have - all spin, no substance. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by matty on May 29th, 2012 at 9:18am Kat wrote on May 28th, 2012 at 10:50pm:
Really? That's funny, all of the vile comments seem to come clearly from those on the left, like Gist, skippy, Valley boy, and now it would appear you, Kat. And thanks for proving my point in part 1, you have nothing to say about how he is far-right. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by skippy. on May 29th, 2012 at 9:27am matty wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 9:16am:
Here it is Quote:
Even half the rightards agree, you're a fool, sock mistress. |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by cods on May 29th, 2012 at 9:30am matty wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 9:18am:
personally matty when either side stoops to these levels I look on it as a bad dose of sourgrapes.. and a big dose of sulking.. its hard but you have to try and take no notice..childish in the extreme.. I can see them throwing themselves on the ground at the supermarket because they want they want they want.. in the end they didnt want it really |
Title: Re: Labor's lack of leaders Post by PolitcalReality on May 29th, 2012 at 4:16pm
My wife and I were commenting the other day how great it is to have Bob Carr back in politics - he was Premier for much of the time our political views were being formed as young adults and to hear him talk gives any true blue blooded Labor people shivers.
This man is a true leader. |