General Discussion >> General Board >> How should Pokies be Legislated?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1336974311

Message started by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 3:45pm

Title: How should Pokies be Legislated?
Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 3:45pm
The problem is that they are treating EVERYONE like a "problem gambler" and it isn't going to work anyway. Gamblers will just nominate a higher limit. It doesn't address the big money games like roulette and blackjack @ all. It inconveniences one-off gamblers. Its just a stupid idea.

Its coming up again.

Title: Re: How should Pokies be Legislated?
Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 3:50pm
Im about as anti pokies as you can get so I would just ban the bloody things.
That being impossible, $1 max bets will have to do.

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 3:55pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 3:50pm:

Why are you so anti-pokies? Had a problem or someone close to you had a problem? My flatmate has a problem i think. So far he pays his rent though so i cant really say anything. Sometimes he will spend 12 hours @ the casino. If there was mandatory pre-commitment he would just commit to some really high number he would never reach anyway.

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 4:02pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 3:55pm:

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 3:50pm:

Why are you so anti-pokies? Had a problem or someone close to you had a problem? My flatmate has a problem i think. So far he pays his rent though so i cant really say anything. Sometimes he will spend 12 hours @ the casino. If there was mandatory pre-commitment he would just commit to some really high number he would never reach anyway.

I know people that have had their lives ruined by the introduction of pokies in SA but apart from that they have stuffed many live music venues, pubs and sports clubs all over the country.
On top of that I cant see the point of the bloody things except to part people from their hard earned money as quickly as possible without providing anything in return.

Post by corporate_whitey on May 14th, 2012 at 4:19pm
The Greens and the ALP force Gambling, drugs, pornography ect on us to destroy our families, our people and our culture while they invade our country and sell it, then they have the gall to say "we" have a problem...the drug pusher says the adict has the problem...The Greens and ALP are lovely people aren't they...

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 4:23pm

corporate_whitey wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:19pm:
The Greens and the ALP force Gambling, drugs, pornography ect on us to destroy our families, our people and our culture while they invade our country and sell it, then they have the gall to say "we" have a problem...the drug pusher says the adict has the problem...The Greens and ALP are lovely people aren't they...

Really mate? I thought it was obama that forced all this immorality on us poor aussies with his pro-gay stance.

Post by cods on May 14th, 2012 at 4:24pm
how about seat belts and crash helmets.??

what about no phones whilst driving them...

what about no smoking,drinking,eating,walking on the grass,

gosh there is all sorts of things they can do.. to make life not worthwhile..

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 4:26pm

cods wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:24pm:

They are all separate issues

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 4:28pm
Why not bring back asbestos mining and thalidomide for morning sickness?

Post by cods on May 14th, 2012 at 4:29pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:26pm:

cods wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:24pm:

They are all separate issues

dill I was referring them to being legislated to the pokermachines.. the more rules maybe will put people off... you have no sense of humour..

strewth!!!

Post by cods on May 14th, 2012 at 4:29pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:28pm:

would that work with poker machines???????DUH!

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 4:30pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:28pm:

Well wouldn't have to worry about another generation of problem gamblers.

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 4:31pm
Condom machines, injection rooms and free Gunja in all primary schools?

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 5:02pm
They reckon counseling for gamblers is a waste of money. Dunno what they want to replace it with.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-05-14/counselling-for-gamblers-a-27waste-of-money27/4010122/?site=melbourne

Post by Doctor Jolly on May 14th, 2012 at 5:23pm
Pokies have no upside, and plenty of downside.

Get rid of them.  WA gets along just fine without them.
Victoria used to as well.

Post by beware on May 14th, 2012 at 5:24pm
It should be like WA....... no pokies or gambling in pubs and clubs. You have to go to the casino to have a night of gambling over there!!!

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 5:32pm

beware wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 5:24pm:
It should be like WA....... no pokies or gambling in pubs and clubs. You have to go to the casino to have a night of gambling over there!!!

Heh. I bet theres underground casinos. There used to be in QLD before it became legal.

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 5:38pm
The 12 billion dollars that goes into pokies comes out of the rest of the economy..that's 12 billion dollars a year that could be going into businesses that don't rely on addiction for their profits.

Post by cods on May 14th, 2012 at 5:53pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 5:23pm:
Pokies have no upside, and plenty of downside.

Get rid of them.  WA gets along just fine without them.
Victoria used to as well.

you dont get it do you???

WA has a massive mining industry that will keep it rolling along just right for many moons to come..

these other STATES the ones with the gambling problems.. do not have that security blanket..

the govts are now addicted to gambling dollars.... boy they even love those $20million state lottos..

can you see the states living without this TAX?... can you really I notice no one ever tells them what to replace that TAX with...

are you guys prepared to pay lets say double your tax to keep the state running????...MMMMMMMMMMM..

I guess not..

you see we have opened Pandoras Box and to my knowledge  there is no closing it once opened..

good on WA lets hope they never have the scourge of pokermachines...

however it is still the person that plays them that is too blame at the end of the day..

we are all responsible for our actions I dont buy all this... its someone elses fault..sorry.

Post by cods on May 14th, 2012 at 5:55pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 5:38pm:
The 12 billion dollars that goes into pokies comes out of the rest of the economy..that's 12 billion dollars a year that could be going into businesses that don't rely on addiction for their profits.

like where did you have in mind adel.. dont forget pokies are entertainment..

they are there.. lets just say there is a mint of things out there for the addict.. he chooses not to use them.. tough..

yes i do feel for their families.. but no more so than the alcoholics or drug addicts families..

its all cruel but as we know.. they can all get help.

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 6:00pm
I agree..no business should profit from addicts not just the poker machine industry.

Post by corporate_whitey on May 14th, 2012 at 6:46pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:23pm:

corporate_whitey wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:19pm:

Really mate? I thought it was obama that forced all this immorality on us poor aussies with his pro-gay stance.

Well mate...the democrats are the party of slavery and the Ku Klux Klan, not to mention the party of native reservations, treaty busting and alcohol distribution...these parties do know all about morally destroying people, cultures and families and nations whilst making themselves super rich...they just think we do not notice what they are doing and why...The Greens and the ALP don't like it when thier motives are bought under the micro scope.  They suddenly look anything but nice... :)

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 6:51pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:00pm:
I agree..no business should profit from addicts not just the poker machine industry.

Heh. Well. Goodbye soft drinks, cakes, biscuits, alcohol, prescription meds, internet, anything some ppl can get addicted to. Why should everyone cop it because some are addicts? Abbott reckons all those ppl getting the "bonus" are gunna put it in the pokies.

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 6:53pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:51pm:

Heh. Well. Goodbye soft drinks, cakes, biscuits, alcohol, prescription meds, internet, anything some ppl can get addicted to. Why should everyone cop it because some are addicts? Abbott reckons all those ppl getting the "bonus" are gunna put it in the pokies.

You dont wanna get me started on junk food  :P

Post by bobbythebat1 on May 14th, 2012 at 6:54pm
I have voted to make pokies illegal.

The pubs & clubs were better in the 80s when there were live bands.

Now they are full of people with long faces
who have lost too much money.

Post by gizmo_2655 on May 14th, 2012 at 6:55pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:53pm:

OH hell YES, go for it adel....

Post by gizmo_2655 on May 14th, 2012 at 6:57pm

Bobby. wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:54pm:

Nope bobby....
Move pokies out of pubs/nighclubs and put 'em back in RSL/Bowling clubs would be enough...

Post by adelcrow on May 14th, 2012 at 6:58pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:55pm:

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:53pm:

OH hell YES, go for it adel....

One soap box per session is enough  :D

Post by Spot of Borg on May 14th, 2012 at 6:59pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:57pm:

Nope bobby....
Move pokies out of pubs/nighclubs and put 'em back in RSL/Bowling clubs would be enough...

There are pokies in nightclubs? Geez - do ppl play them?

Post by bobbythebat1 on May 14th, 2012 at 7:00pm

Nope bobby....

No - just get rid of the evil machines.

Post by thelastnail on May 14th, 2012 at 7:10pm
put super glue down the coin slots :D LOL

Post by corporate_whitey on May 14th, 2012 at 7:12pm
The Greens and the ALP desperately want to portray them selves as nice people fighting the good fight - remember last week when they didn't give a rats 'rse what we thought - now reality is dawning they want to pretend they have a social conscience and all of the right motives.  But the truth is they are sick, they do awful things to people with their abuse of power, they destroy lives, families, cultures, communities, nations and they do it in a heartbeat without pausing for thought.   8-)

Post by longweekend58 on May 14th, 2012 at 7:22pm

cods wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 5:55pm:

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 5:38pm:

like where did you have in mind adel.. dont forget pokies are entertainment..

they are there.. lets just say there is a mint of things out there for the addict.. he chooses not to use them.. tough..

yes i do feel for their families.. but no more so than the alcoholics or drug addicts families..

its all cruel but as we know.. they can all get help.

cods... are you PRO-pokies??? it certainly sounds like it. For someone who has bitten the head off anyone over anythign relationed to children, I find it hard to reconcile that with your support of pokies. Sio I gues you go to the pokies then?

Post by bobbythebat1 on May 14th, 2012 at 7:37pm
Pokies are useless.

The payout is only 89%.

The payout on roulette & blackjack is about  97%.

Post by gizmo_2655 on May 14th, 2012 at 7:38pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 6:59pm:

Nope bobby....

There are pokies in nightclubs? Geez - do ppl play them?

Yes, and yes they do...
most pubs and clubs (other than the RSL/Bowling clubs) have them in NSW....

Post by Baronvonrort on May 14th, 2012 at 11:06pm
Only fools play with poker machines.

You are playing against a computer chip that is programmed to take your money.

Legislate? how about educate on the stupidity of gambling against a machine that is designed to take your money.

Post by nairbe on May 15th, 2012 at 7:11am

Baronvonrort wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 11:06pm:
Only fools play with poker machines.

You are playing against a computer chip that is programmed to take your money.

Legislate? how about educate on the stupidity of gambling against a machine that is designed to take your money.

Sounds good but as is the norm with humans it won't work. You can explain what heroin does to you but people still use it, you can show what smoking does to you but people still smoke.

Post by Spot of Borg on May 15th, 2012 at 8:35am
Article in todays news

Thing is there seems to be a kinda subliminal (for now) push to get rid of "counselors" in different fields.

Post by metal_j on May 15th, 2012 at 10:31am
The one arm bandits should be ban...but unfortunately there's too many people making a lot of money from it...the family's that are directly  devastated by this is mealy collateral damage to the power of the dollar.

Post by Spot of Borg on May 15th, 2012 at 10:57am

metal_j wrote on May 15th, 2012 at 10:31am:
The one arm bandits should be ban...but unfortunately there's too many people making a lot of money from it...the family's that are directly  devastated by this is mealy collateral damage to the power of the dollar.

A lot of pubs would be out of business now if they didnt have any pokies apparently. Its where the bulk of their revenue comes from.

Post by metal_j on May 15th, 2012 at 11:31am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 15th, 2012 at 10:57am:

metal_j wrote on May 15th, 2012 at 10:31am:

A lot of pubs would be out of business now if they didnt have any pokies apparently. Its where the bulk of their revenue comes from.

That's exactly my point...Do we take the moral high ground and help people / family's or let business prosper?

Post by Spot of Borg on May 22nd, 2012 at 1:55pm
They seem to be bringing in the pre-commitment thing.;

Post by angeleyes on May 22nd, 2012 at 5:23pm
apart from that they have stuffed many live music venues, pubs and sports clubs all over the country.

That is your claim, now where is the evidence?

Post by angeleyes on May 22nd, 2012 at 5:24pm

Again, where is the evidence?

Post by Spot of Borg on May 22nd, 2012 at 5:44pm

angeleyes wrote on May 22nd, 2012 at 5:24pm:

Again, where is the evidence?

I said apparently because I am not sure the information is correct. My source was a publican. He told me that he couldn't compete with the other pubs in a small town where he was if he didnt get pokies. It is obviously true for some pubs.