General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Australians asked open their homes to boat people http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1335995955 Message started by BlOoDy RiPpEr on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:59am |
Title: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:59am
ALP now askes Australians to open their homes to boat people for cash.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by cods on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:07am
its already done...try homestay
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:17am cods wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:07am:
homestay was for students, this is now to be used for unknown and possible criminals. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Swagman on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:29am
The bleeding hearters should do it for nothing...?
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by buzzanddidj on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:42am
Now HERE'S an idea with MERIT !
Homestay for asylum seekers sought May 3, 2012 - 7:24AM Australian families will be paid up to $300 a week to temporarily house asylum seekers to make up a shortfall in community housing. The program will begin next month, with the federal government seeking 5000 homes to be registered with the privately run Australia Homestay Network, News Limited reports. Families will host asylum seekers released from detention centres on bridging visas. The move has backing from the Refugee Council of Australia. "Mandatory detention makes people mentally ill and is expensive," spokesman Paul Power told News Limited. Communications Minister Stephen Conroy described the proposal as a possible short term solution to overcrowding in detention centres. "An organisation has come to us and said `here is a possible short term solution' and we're investigating it and seeing if anyone is interested," Senator Conroy said. "If it saves costs to the Australian taxpayer then it's an improvement. It's not any extra money for the budget." http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-national/homestay-for-asylum-seekers-sought-20120503-1xzzt.html GREAT idea, in fact FAMILIES may be difficult, but what a bonus to PENSIONERS - in taking in a single boarder for $300 a week ( ... as opposed to the THOUSANDS per week - to the taxpayer - for the cost of detention) I'd like to see more DETAILSii Potential Host Q. What is Homestay? A. Homestay is a cultural exchange between a local individual or family (called a host) and a visiting student. The student lives for an agreed period of time as a guest in your home. Q. How does it work? A. As a host you would generally be required to provide the student with all their basic needs, including their own room, food and space to study. Over the period of their time together the host assists the student to become familiar with the local area and customs in a relaxed and friendly household setting. The student is also encouraged to share with the host information about their home country and culture. This interaction is what makes homestay ideal for students and hosts looking for a unique cultural experience. Q. How much do I get paid? The student pays a weekly fee to cover management and supervision costs, insurance, 24/7 emergency support services and to also reimburse the host for day to day food and accommodation expenses support. This fee varies from State to State and generally ranges from $ 220 to $300 per week. The host receives approximately 85% of this fee to reimburse them for day to day expenses. This income is tax free (non assessable) for up to 2 students being hosted http://www.homestaynetwork.org |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:48am
Hahahahahaha
Imagine that. They could stay in the treehouse at the back that I have. On condition they wipe their feet when they come in to use the toilet. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:57am
They'd soon get to know the meaning of hard work if I opened my doors to them. They'd be wishing they were back at the detention centre, or even back in kabul. Unlike the traitor class, I expect them to actually earn their keep.
That said, I did have an afghan refugee as a boarder in late 2001 or early 2002 - right when everyone was fretting about afghan tearrrism. He was a nice guy, but definitely not of benefit to society. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:03am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:57am:
Yes tolerator because I am sure cleaning up after your domestic bliss would be a lot harder work then they have ever done |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:08am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:03am:
It's harder than sitting around on the dole, that's for sure. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:08am
Hey, guess what, there would not be any Afghan refugees or Sudanese refugees if Corporate Maggots were not interfering in their countries for their perverted economic piracy reasons. 8-)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:11am
A mate of my dad's in the UK runs a house for Somalian 'refugees' and actually does bloody well out of it.
The Government picks up the tab, he can charge at well over the going rate and they also assist with the additional bills etc. Problem is though the upkeep of the place. He said the way they live they are no better than farmyard animals. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:14am corporate_whitey wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:08am:
Many of them are pakistani just pretending to be Afghan. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:19am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:08am:
There are not many asylum seekers who do that |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:19am:
yeah, only 85% of them. Or is this the part where we play the boring, lame semantic game about the differnce between illegal immigrants, asylum seekrs and refuigees? YAAAAWN. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Maqqa on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am
Does $300/week include food?
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am
Most seem to work in Burger King on Piccadilly Circus.
You try getting what you order in there? "Is chicken no?" I think they have a recruitment policy where you can't be white or speak English. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:22am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am:
Why the bugger are they entitled to welfare when my UK friends go to Australia and get told they can't claim anything for 2 years? We deny people we actually want to be in the country yet dish it out to the sort of people we want to bugger off. Go figure. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:22am
Will the boat people undergo the same police checks and provide references like the current group of people who use home-stay?
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:23am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:22am:
Sorry we gave all the money to that old hag the queen |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:24am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am:
Do you have a link to back that up? Last time I looked they were all human. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:29am
Bludging corrupt Shyte rises to the top in a Nanny state full of suckholes and yes men. 8-)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:29am
Immigration Department insiders reveal exclusively to 7.30 claims of visa application fraud that may even be linked to child trafficking in Australia.
Transcript CHRIS UHLMANN, PRESENTER: Australia's immigration program is always under close scrutiny, but rarely do we get a glimpse from the inside. But we do tonight. Two Immigration Department insiders have broken ranks to reveal to 7.30 serious claims of frequent and widespread fraud in visa applications. The allegations relate to family visa claims from Afghanistan and Pakistan. And while Immigration officials often detect the fraud, in many cases they're over-ruled on appeal. They say it's even led to child trafficking on Australian soil. This exclusive report from Hayden Cooper. HAYDEN COOPER, REPORTER: In the teeming, dusty streets of Islamabad, most Pakistanis scratch out a difficult existence. It's a world away from life in Australia, so the dream of migration keeps Australian officials busy, processing a constant flow of visa applications. FORMER VISA OFFICER, AUST. HIGH COMMISSION, ISLAMABAD: Every single day, five days a week from eight in the morning until five at night, it was - and often with overtime. It was hard work. HAYDEN COOPER: This former Immigration Department employee wants to remain anonymous. She worked at the Australian High Commission in Islamabad. Her job was to process visa claims and now she's speaking out to reveal the extent of visa fraud in the region. How widespread is this as a problem for Immigration officials? FORMER VISA OFFICER: Very widespread. It came into my office on a daily basis. HAYDEN COOPER: One of the most common complaints is of Pakistanis who claim to be Afghans. The method is simple: buy identification documents at the local Afghan consulate in Pakistan, then apply for a visa in Australia. FORMER VISA OFFICER: A large percentage of my case load would have been Pakistanis claiming to be Afghan refugees or Afghan asylum seekers. HAYDEN COOPER: And it's a ploy that sometimes works. MARION LE, MIGRATION AGENT: I'm not sure I would say regularly, but it's certainly something I have come across. I know that there are people living now in Australia as permanent residents and as citizens who are actually citizens of Pakistan, but who pass themselves off as Afghans. HAYDEN COOPER: Migration agent Marion Le says some simply have no ID and must have it made. But she says it's a concern nonetheless. MARION LE: Some people think, "Well, as long as they're here they can stay in the community on their false identities," and that is - I think that's a very big concern for Australia because we have no way of knowing who those people are. HAYDEN COOPER: At Immigration Department headquarters it's an issue that hasn't gone unnoticed. SANDI LOGAN, IMMIGRATION DEPT SPOKESMAN: We have a number of steps in place, not all of which, of course, we can go into, but we are detecting this attempt at defrauding the Immigration visa system. HAYDEN COOPER: On that, there's a level of agreement. Behind a desk in Islamabad, the anonymous staffer says many such visa applications were detected and rejected, but that's when the Migration Review Tribunal, or MRT, would step in. FORMER VISA OFFICER: The sponsor would go to the MRT in Australia and the case would be remitted, and in that case we would have to - we'd have no choice but to grant. HAYDEN COOPER: Figures provided to 7.30 show that in some visa categories more than half of all rejections are later overturned or remitted by the tribunal. It infuriates the decision makers in the department. FORMER VISA OFFICER: I used to dread seeing the male from the MRT in Australia because I knew there would be so many remittances back from them saying that these cases needed to be granted. HAYDEN COOPER: Denis O'Brien is the man in charge of the Migration and Refugee Review tribunals. He has about 100 members constantly processing a backlog of thousands of visa appeals. The workload has exploded. This year it's set to surpass 10,000 decisions. DENIS O'BRIEN, PRINCIPAL MEMBER, MIGRATION REVIEW TRIBUNAL: We're not coping particularly well at the moment. We've got a very large backlog on the Migration Review Tribunal and we've also had a small backlog on the Refugee Review Tribunal. HAYDEN COOPER: So with the added strain, some believe the tribunals too easily approve visa applications, thereby avoiding any chance of further legal appeals. That's the view of one former Immigration minister. PHILIP RUDDOCK, IMMIGRATION MINISTER, 1996-2003: It's an easy decision to take if you know that the Government's not going to appeal your decision. And if you grant it to the applicant, what he or she wants, they won't be appealing the decision either. And so for some decision makers, it's the easiest course. HAYDEN COOPER: The case load from Afghanistan and Pakistan is small, but it still amounts to hundreds of applications approved in the past five years despite an initial rejection. Denis O'Brien says it's usually due to new information presented by the applicant. DENIS O'BRIEN: Our decision making is sound, notwithstanding the fact that we've got a large volume to deal with. When they appeal to us, they will often want to put evidence before us that addresses the deficiency in their case when they lost originally before the department. FORMER VISA OFFICER: There's an endless source of frustration for a number of us and particularly as we'd worked so hard. HAYDEN COOPER: 7.30 can reveal that the claims of visa fraud go much further. One more Immigration Department employee has blown the whistle anonymously on the extent of the problem. (female voiceover): "Illegal facilitation of non-family members, children, child brides and unknown strangers via false documents, false statements and false applications." HAYDEN COOPER: This Department insider says some visa holders already here are sponsoring family members who in fact are no relation at all. (female voiceover): "Afghans in Pakistan are now coached by ever more informed relatives and agents in Australia how to sidestep DIAC's integrity processes. ... When particular visa subclasses are being cracked down on - for instance the 'Orphan Relative' and 'Carer' visas - the fraud simply moves to other caseloads. ... Family reunification visas are now the preferred 'fraud de jour'." FORMER VISA OFFICER: Absolutely. I can wholeheartedly agree. I know that's happening, yes. SANDI LOGAN: This is a concern that this occurs, but fortunately we do have systems in place to detect and to prevent. HAYDEN COOPER: But how many go through undetected? FORMER VISA OFFICER: I know that there are children that have come to Australia that are not related to the people that they have been sponsored by, that they're not part of that person's family. They've just been lost in the system, lost in the world of wherever they are. HAYDEN COOPER: It's a system that many claim is easy to abuse, one in which false documents and identity changes are not uncommon and women and children are sometimes exploited. MARION LE: I often come across women and girls who have been beaten and their families and who don't leave for cultural reasons. You know, I've got four cases on my books at the moment of very, very serious abuse here in Australia. HAYDEN COOPER: It's why this former insider remains to this day frustrated and disillusioned. FORMER VISA OFFICER: It's a policy problem, and we're so concerned with being politically correct and not being seen as racist that we're compromising our own integrity. CHRIS UHLMANN: Hayden Cooper with that report, produced by Nikki Tugwell. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:37am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:24am:
They're all human - as if that's a dam argument. Saddam hussein and george bush are both human, but you wouldn't want them in the same room together. Pol pot was human. Ivan the terrible was human, Karl Marx was human. Being human isn't a guarantee against being a monster. And yes, I do have a link. :) http://www.immi.gov.au/media/publications/research/_pdf/settlement-outcomes-new-arrivals.pdf cue the boring, lame semantic game about it being all centrelink beneifts, not just the dole.... >:( |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:43am
From what I can read most of them are receiving money because they are studying for the first few years.
Which is fair enough, that is an investment by the Australian government. Comparing them to them people shows a lot about what you know. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:47am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:43am:
So are you basing that on anything you read, or just fanciful notions? I'm guessing the latter, but I'd be happy to be suprised. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:51am Quote:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:53am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:51am:
So show me "what you can read" |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Morning Mist on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:53am
I've suggested something similar to this here and on many other forums a few times that the leftists should billet them out (with no government subsidy). If the lefties want them here, then they can pay for them.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:54am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:53am:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:55am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:54am:
Shall I also jump through a flaming hoop? ::) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:58am buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:42am:
Now that is just sadistic and reflects your contempt for our elders, rather than give them (our elders) the $300 you force them into economic hardship to make them take in illegal immigrants. Unfortunately your sense of entitlement outstrips our ability to fund you. :( :-? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:01am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:55am:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:01am:
Dodgy survey by the immigration department? Yeah, they're dodgy mate. Reaaaal dodgy. Quote:
Page 19 of the link I provided. Don't atc liek you didn't already know. So...wheres this stuff that "you can read" that suggests it's because they're studying? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am:
'Asylum seekers', 'refugees', and 'illegal immigrants' are all different. The confusion is widespread though, and the media are partly to blame. http://www.aph.gov.au/binaries/library/pubs/bn/sp/asylumfacts.pdf |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:08am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am:
Commissioned by the immigration dept. Done by Australian Survey Research Group Pty Ltd |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:12am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:37am:
Hardly a "lame semantic game". Just the facts: it includes many Centrelink benefits. Going by your "logic", thousands of Australian citizens with full-time jobs have been on the "dole" for many, many years. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:13am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am:
Who cares though really? None of them are a good thing, they are all liabilities. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:13am BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:59am:
C'mon lefty numpties, open your homes to these deperate children. Or at least take them to Advanced Hair STudio for a humanitarian hair transplant. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:14am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:24am:
How are they our problem though? Why take in strays? Why import problem people? They are nothing to do with us, let them go somewhere else. They get short sympathy in my house. We all have problems in life. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:18am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:13am:
Well, I care. I have no time for illegal immigrants. Send them all home immediately. Asylum seekers and refugees though, are certainly worthy of assistance and I have no problem with them being a "liability". Overall, I consider helping people in genuine need a "good thing". |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:19am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:14am:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:21am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:18am:
The only problem is that most of them are not genuine: HAYDEN COOPER: 7.30 can reveal that the claims of visa fraud go much further. One more Immigration Department employee has blown the whistle anonymously on the extent of the problem. (female voiceover): "Illegal facilitation of non-family members, children, child brides and unknown strangers via false documents, false statements and false applications." HAYDEN COOPER: This Department insider says some visa holders already here are sponsoring family members who in fact are no relation at all. (female voiceover): "Afghans in Pakistan are now coached by ever more informed relatives and agents in Australia how to sidestep DIAC's integrity processes. ... When particular visa subclasses are being cracked down on - for instance the 'Orphan Relative' and 'Carer' visas - the fraud simply moves to other caseloads. ... Family reunification visas are now the preferred 'fraud de jour'." FORMER VISA OFFICER: Absolutely. I can wholeheartedly agree. I know that's happening, yes. http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2012/s3494197.htm Fraud du jour. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:22am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:14am:
"One of the major challenges facing the world today is protecting refugees who have been forced to leave their homes by armed conflict and human rights abuses. "The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) estimates that there were 43.7 million forcibly displaced people worldwide at the end of 2010, the highest number in 15 years. Of these, 27.5 million were internally displaced persons, 15.4 million were refugees and 837 500 asylum seekers. See: www.unhcr.org "As a member of the international community, Australia shares responsibility for protecting these refugees and resolving refugee situations. This commitment is most strongly expressed through the Humanitarian Program." http://www.immi.gov.au/media/fact-sheets/60refugee.htm |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:23am Soren wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:21am:
The majority are granted genuine refugee status. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:23am bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:19am:
Ah from a guy who applauds the deaths of 9/11 civilians and thinks it was a "good thing". A guy who calls another poster "Jew boy" A guy who said the Jews "deserved the holocaust". How are you not permanently banned off here for the above? It's beyond me. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:24am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:22am:
AHA!!! The immigration deparment - they're dodgy dont ya know. Poppet said so, and he knows stuff. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:24am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:22am:
More fool us then. I'd rather we look after our own people first. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:25am ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:24am:
I went in the Immigration office in Melbourne with my sister when she had to re-new her stamp several years back. Talk about a depressing place. Full of urchins. Some of the people who my sister, a British citizen, had to wait behind.... Dear God is all I can say. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:26am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:24am:
We can do both. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Baronvonrort on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:27am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am:
From your link- Quote:
The reality is these people do have passports and visas which they use to fly into Indonesia before disposing of their documents to come to Australia by boat. 3200 out of 3237 asylum seekers surveyed said they flew into Indonesia with a passport The Government says almost 99% of boat people destroy their passports after flying into Indonesia which contradicts the crap fed to us by leftist refugee advocates Here is the link which exposes refugee advoates as liars- http://www.minister.immi.gov.au/media/cb/2012/cb182430.htm Those who rent should check their residential tenancy agreement before taking in these boat people, they could be evicted if they violate the terms of this document. The leftist will probably support those who break residential tenancy agreements when it comes to asylum seekers, they are happy to bend the laws with these people. So how many refugees are you taking in Mr Meat? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:28am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:26am:
No we can't. We're in debt as it is. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:30am
To fund these projects we will have to redirect from the environment budget. ::)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:32am
Some times you just have to say no to idiots. Especially as they will soon be socially irrelevant. :D ;D
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:33am Baronvonrort wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:27am:
None. I also won't be taking in any orphans, injured animals, victims of domestic violence, disabled people, etc. etc. etc. However, I still support all of those causes. Now, do you have a point or were you just trying to suggest that the only way one can support people/animals in need is to let them live in their house? You weren't seriously trying to suggest that were you? ::) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:34am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:28am:
Yep, we can. And we've been doing it for years. We'll continue to do it too. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:35am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:33am:
Classic. In England its called 'Champagne Socialism'. Doffing your cap to a cause but prepared to do bugger all yourself. You'll never tell you work for a Union..... They have perfected that attitude into an artform. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:35am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:34am:
And we're in debt. Yay. Go us. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:36am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:35am:
Excuse me? What makes you think I "do bugger all"? How did you come to that conclusion? Seriously? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:38am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:35am:
Correct. And we'll be in debt again sometime in the future when the Libs are in power. And, we'll still be helping refugees then too. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:38am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:25am:
Are you under some sort of impression that as a British Citizen she should be given red carpet treatment? Perhaps everyone else should move out of her way? or perhaps bow to her and thank her for gracing them with her presence? What a TOSSER !!!!! |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:39am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:36am:
What do you do for them then? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:40am
Australia is part of the Commonwealth.
Great Britain and Australia share the same head of state. I don't think its unreasonable to wonder why the bugger she has to wait behind people who, lets be honest, we'd cross the street if we saw them in groups. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:41am
Sounds like a good idea ... benefits everybody.
the asylum seekers is treated humanely, the homeowner is allowed to supplement their income the governement and the public save money |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:41am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:38am:
Well clearly not all of us. You'll watch from the safety of your lounge tutting and saying what a terrible plight they have. "Is there any more of the champagne in the fridge love?" |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Baronvonrort on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:41am Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:33am:
So you expect others to take in these people? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:45am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:41am:
You don't have a very good idea of how the world works, do you? I will still be paying my taxes, happy in the thought that some of it will be going to their cause. And, if you ever get a job your tax money will be going to them too. It's all good ;) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:46am
Unlike Meathead, I have put a refugee up in my house for over a year and I didn't get no $300 from the Government for it either. People like Meatheads are just obsessed with redirecting and spending other peoples money, usually it comes back to spending it on themselves and making sure those trouble making non yes people don't get any. 8-)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:51am Baronvonrort wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:41am:
Personally, I think it's the Government's responsibility. I don't expect anyone else to do a thing. However, if they want to ... I applaud their effort. So, while we're on your wavelength: Do you support the idea of shelters for women who are victims of domestic violence? I'm sure you do. In that case, how many are living at your house? Do you support the idea of shelters/orphanages for children who have lost their parents? I'm sure you do. In that case, how many are living at your house at the moment? Do you support the idea of nursing homes for elderly people who can no longer look after themselves? I'm sure you do. In that case, how many are living in your house at the moment? I won't go on, as I'm guessing you're starting to see how ridiculous your "argument" is. Seriously, it's like dealing with primary school kids in here sometimes. ::) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:55am
I love the smell of corporate hypocrites roasting in the morning... ::)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by pansi1951 on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:00pm Baronvonrort wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:41am:
Who cares who takes them in and who doesn't. It's free choice at the moment. Why don't you wait until you're forced to do it to winge? What's Alan Jones got to say? I bet he'd like a few refugee boys at his place. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:04pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:45am:
Sorry mate I don't have to live and pay taxes in Australia. But I have paid my way there in the past. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:04pm
Cant we put them back out in the cotton fields or something?
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:07pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:04pm:
No, Expecting them to work for a living, like those who pick up their tab, would violate their "human rights". Aparrently. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:07pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:23am:
Bollocks. The majority, in not all, coming on boats have no IDs because they destroy them the minute they leave Indonesian shores (not before, mind, because if the Indonesians catch them without papers they deport them pronto). If they were genuine, they wouldn't destroy the IDs. It's a colossal rort. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:09pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:04pm:
SOme can be seen in the barren expanses of shopping centre carparks, scavenging for skeletal, rattling beasts of burden. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:12pm
All funding for illegal immigrants should come directly from the environment budget, the corporate bottom line, sponsorship's, bonuses, salaries and taxation of generous superannuation funds...I am sure people like uncle meat agree.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Baronvonrort on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:12pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:51am:
The dopey leftards always deflect the topic to irrelevant sh1t. Is the government asking people to take in the old-disabled-homeless or are they asking people to take in asylum seekers? Yes the refugee advocates stick up for refugees they just expect others to take in people they will not take in. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:12pm Soren wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:07pm:
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/appeals-open-asylum-seeker-floodgates/story-fn7x8me2-1226208525393 Yep, it's a rort alright. Driven by what else but paper pushing busy-work bureaucrats trying to justify their bloated salary and entitlements. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by pansi1951 on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:13pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:04pm:
American's work for $3.15 an hour, they've already got slave labour and it's not helping, they're still a basket case. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:13pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:40am:
The fact that Australia and GB share the same head of state means nothing to most Aussies, it's just history waiting to be corrected. An aussie republis isn't far away. I'm pretty sure that if I go to GB I am treated as every other foreigner. I didn't see mother England run to our rescue during WWII. I'd say it was a good thing you were behind the people in front of you, I would hate for them to have to put up with your stench you pompous ass. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:14pm Baronvonrort wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:12pm:
LOL White flag accepted. And, I've already stated that I don't think private citizens should be asked to do it. You can read, can't you? ;D |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:15pm corporate_whitey wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:12pm:
Absolutely not!!! Why on earth do you want to fund illegal immigrants? I certainly don't. Illegal immigrants should be sent home, immediately. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:24pm Soren wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:07pm:
The majority are granted genuine refugee status. Simple fact, not bollocks. Not sure how you can keep a straight face and say otherwise. "Around 40 per cent of asylum seekers who arrive by plane are granted asylum, compared to 85 to 90 per cent of those who arrive by boat." http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-05-18/understanding-the-asylum-seeker-debate/2718820 "Past figures show that between 70 and 97 per cent of asylum seekers arriving by boat at different times have been found to be refugees and granted protection either in Australia or in another country." http://www.aph.gov.au/binaries/library/pubs/bn/sp/asylumfacts.pdf |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:25pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:24pm:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:26pm
People have ulterior corrupt selfish motives for pouring money into immigration, refugees and foreign aid and it has nothing to do with helping people and everything to do with enriching themselves wealth redistribution and creating more poverty.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:31pm ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:25pm:
Yep. The majority are granted genuine refugee status. Just like I said previously. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Incomptinence on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:31pm
Sounds like a bad idea to me. Boatbrained Australians could chip into it just to engage in their sick fantasies. HOW DOES THE BATHWATER TASTE? WHER JOBS WHERE? YOU UNAUSTRALIAN I WILL SHOW YOU CHILDREN OVERBOARD.
Getting bloody close to this with the disgusting foreign student bashings. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:37pm
Illegal immigrants and open borders = cheap labor costs, no business protection for Australia and mega free welfare for corporate maggots & brown nosers. ::)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:38pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:31pm:
Yep. Indeed they do, but not becasue they ARE genuine, but because leftwad bureaucrats are quite happy to sell the country down the river to justify their jobs. I understand working in your own self interest, but perhaps these wads need to think 2 steps ahead, before it's too late. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Incomptinence on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:43pm ... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:38pm:
Too late for what? Foreignergeddon 2 World Overboard? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by buzzanddidj on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm Maqqa wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am:
Q. How does it work? A. As a host you would generally be required to provide the student with all their basic needs, including their own room, food and space to study. Over the period of their time together the host assists the student to become familiar with the local area and customs in a relaxed and friendly household setting. The student is also encouraged to share with the host information about their home country and culture. This interaction is what makes homestay ideal for students and hosts looking for a unique cultural experience. Q. How much do I get paid? The student pays a weekly fee to cover management and supervision costs, insurance, 24/7 emergency support services and to also reimburse the host for day to day food and accommodation expenses support. This fee varies from State to State and generally ranges from $ 220 to $300 per week. The host receives approximately 85% of this fee to reimburse them for day to day expenses. This income is tax free (non assessable) for up to 2 students being hosted http://www.homestaynetwork.org It's a THREE WAY benefit 1. It gives Australians the opportunity to MEET, KNOW and BEFRIEND a refugee 2. It give a refugee an easier path in fitting in to a culture, alien to them 3. It reduces the MILLIONS spent on prison costs by the taxpayer |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:51pm
Hahahahahaha
I actually find the idea so absurd its quite funny. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:51pm corporate_whitey wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:37pm:
Nobody in this thread is supporting illegal immigrants. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by buzzanddidj on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:52pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:11am:
From your "set" - we'd never expect OTHERWISE |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by The tolerator on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:59pm Incomptinence wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:43pm:
Yeah that. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Incomptinence on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:59pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:51pm:
I would but they aren't illegal enough for me. Pick pockets or bust. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 1:52pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm:
OR for the cost of 4 weeks' of homestay fess you could deport them to whence they came and ask them to apply for settlement in Australia from there (ie Indonesia). |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:10pm
I think we should remove our signature from the refugee convention because the process has been corrupted and abused by people working in the welfare and border security industry and we should stop our foreign aid program because that asswipe Bob Geldoff had the hide to inject himself in our domestic Budget debate and demand we double our budget. Time to batton down hatches and face up to economic realities...we are going broke and we cant spend wealth we have to borrow. 8-)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:19pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:51pm:
You do seem to support third world losers though. Tell them to bugger off and go somewhere else. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Sprintcyclist on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:31pm I thought the title of this thread was a joke, till i opened a newspaper ............. it quite embarassing, how bad our govt is now. Matters not that I voted against them and have always known they were failures, fact is, they are still our govt. To our great detriment. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:34pm
This is one of the worst Governments I have ever seen in my 32 years on this planet.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Armchair_Politician on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:36pm
I heard a refugees advocate on the radio this morning say what a fantastic idea this is. Clearly they have not been reading about the hundreds of Taliban who escaped from an Afghan prison last year with only a handful recaptured. How do we know any of the men who would be housed with families here are not Taliban? This is definitely one of the most absurd ideas to come from Gillard and Bowen on this issue.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Armchair_Politician on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:37pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:34pm:
It's the worst I have ever seen in my nearly 34 years on this planet. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:39pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:19pm:
No. I simply support everyone's right to legally claim asylum. If they turn out to be non-genuine "losers", send them home. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:44pm Armchair_Politician wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:36pm:
How do we know you're not Taliban? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:51pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:39pm:
Well we can agree to disagree then. I do not support allowing in anyone other than skilled migrants. I do not support allowing in any asylum seekers who pass through a third country. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:52pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:51pm:
OK, I agree. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:53pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm:
your quoting from the current system and not the new system for boat people. but as for them learning our culture is not going to happen because of the language barrier the majority of those taking in these people will be others from the same region. buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm:
And again quoting from the student system not the boat people system. but does it say how much food you have to feed them? will bread and water be enough to count as feeding them or is it an all you can eat situation for boat people? buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm:
as i said before the majority of those taking in people will only be those from simular backgrounds buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm:
Not when the people taking them in are from the same background buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 12:47pm:
cost to the people is unknown as the increases in boat people arriving is increasing every day. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:55pm
Can I ask what you people would do if Australia, America, England etc. Were to become uninhabitable for some reason?
Would you expect other nations to help you, give you shelter, food and water? Or would you expect them to let you die? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:55pm:
"for some reason"? Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, Sri Lanka are not suffering from natural disasters but from the disaster called Pakistanis, Afghans, Persians, Sri Lankans. The people are the disaster. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 3rd, 2012 at 4:29pm Soren wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by buzzanddidj on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:29pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 2:34pm:
What PLANET are you on - out of interest ? buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 19th, 2012 at 11:31am:
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by blackadder on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:37pm
Yep OZ is traveling real well.
1000 lost their jobs today when a transport company closed. 750 Optus jobs to go. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by cods on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:43pm blackadder wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:37pm:
mmmm and we are doing so well borrowing at the rate of 1 million a day.... lets not forget the LEVY for a flood for gawds sake..because we didnt have $5bn in reserve.,.. now the, what have we got??? 200 wealthy are going to be driven offshore.. workers are being put off every day of the week... thats new havent seen that before.. when a country is doing as well as we are.should that be happening?.. well we keep being told we are doing well.. so we must be. so maybe all that news about jobs going is all made up by the Murdoch press. :D :D :D :D those very very bad people. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by buzzanddidj on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:58pm BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 3:53pm:
MORE from the LibNat propaganda machine ? Drop in asylum claims defies rising global trend Michael Gordon March 28, 2012. Australia defied the global trend and recorded a 9 per cent drop in asylum seeker claims last year, supporting the United Nations refugee agency's assertion that the numbers coming to this country are modest and ''certainly manageable'' when compared with other industrialised countries. The UNHCR said the drop, from 12,640 arrivals in 2010 to 11,510 last year, was in contrast to an increase in asylum seeker claims in all other industrialised regions - including an 87 per cent jump in southern Europe. While the number of Afghans seeking asylum in the industrialised world was up 34 per cent - with most applications being lodged in Europe - Australia recorded a 45 per cent drop in Afghan applications. The agency said the drop was largely due to a fall in boat arrivals and urged the Gillard government to focus on making asylum seekers feel safer in south-east Asian transit countries so there was less incentive to risk their lives on boat trips to Australia. http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/political-news/drop-in-asylum-claims-defies-rising-global-trend-20120327-1vwhc.html#ixzz1tnZsVB2O |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:15pm
What about the Maggots offer the same incentive for native born housing? :) :) :) :)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by buzzanddidj on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:25pm cods wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:43pm:
The LOWEST unemployment, the LOWEST DEBT/GDP figure, a HIGH standard of living - near the STRONGEST economy in the WORLD Fancy finding a job in the UK - or USA ? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Gist on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:36pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:25pm:
Fancy going to live in the USA cods? A pensioner like you would probably find herself living in a cardboard box over there. They have war veterans doing no less. Wonderfull place, innit? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Avram Horowitz on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:40pm Gist wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:36pm:
Yes it is. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:42pm Gist wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:36pm:
Yeh, but you really have no place taking any credit, because you brown nosers would let Aussie pensioners live in cardboard boxes in a heart beat if we let you. :) :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by adelcrow on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:47pm
Businesses fail and people lose their jobs everyday..this has always been the case.
The question should be..how many new jobs are being created every day and how much help does the govt give in educating and reskilling individuals in this country. Neo cons seem to fail to understand even the basics of the economy and I think this is because its far easier just to mindlessly follow the propaganda the junk media, shock jocks and opposition pollies constantly spew out. For a change the neo cons should look at the whole picture..not just the tiny bits that suit their blinkered view. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:03pm adelcrow wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:47pm:
So you are talking about neo-cons, your fellow open borders, globalists and corporate citizen yes men? 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by adelcrow on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:07pm corporate_whitey wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:03pm:
Name me a time in history when jobs were not lost and new ones created? I can tell you that it has not happened since the existence of mankind. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:19pm adelcrow wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:07pm:
We dont need idiots & bludgers playing god and engineering disadvantage to our own local economic rights. Who do you think you are? :) :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by philperth2010 on May 4th, 2012 at 12:41am
I do not have the room while I am still raising young children.....However once I have the room to support people in need I will accept asylum seekers into my home and help them become worthwhile Australian's.....I think it is a great policy that will give people the chance to help people in need!!!
:) :) :) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 4th, 2012 at 12:51am
You wont live to see the next ALP Government... :) :) :) :) :)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by cods on May 4th, 2012 at 5:59pm philperth2010 wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 12:41am:
I trust that includes our very own homeless as well.. funny havent heard of anyone putting their hands up to do just that.. it shouldnt be hard I am sure the Salvation Army would throw themselves at your feet...well done phil mind you I read in todays paper the $300 is for TWO asylum seekers... mostly young men..$160 dollars each and a bit of argy bargy about the cost of food.. start painting the room phil. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Uncle Meat on May 4th, 2012 at 6:18pm cods wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 5:59pm:
Well, I'm gonna blow my own trumpet on this one. Over the years I've provided accommodation for a few homeless people. I've also bought them the odd sleeping bag when I've seen them shivering in a cold alleyway. On a sad note, one of the homeless guys here in Perth was run over last night in an alley not too far from my office. He was asleep on the road and a garbage truck drove over the top of him. I think I know who it was, and he was a happy sort of a guy. Not good. http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/man-killed-by-rubbish-truck-in-cbd-20120504-1y2lt.html |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Karnal on May 4th, 2012 at 7:07pm BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:14am:
It is true, friends. Many are also pretending to be Pakistani pretending to be Afghan. It is nice little earner. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 4th, 2012 at 8:39pm corporate_whitey wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:19pm:
so you admit Abbot's an idiot then? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by red baron on May 4th, 2012 at 8:45pm
Sure I'll open my home, the crapper out the back where I will flush them all back to sea! ;D
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 4th, 2012 at 8:50pm red baron wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 8:45pm:
lets hope you never need anyones help then ... you may just find yourself in someone else's crapper |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Avram Horowitz on May 4th, 2012 at 8:55pm
You can invite who you want.
I would help a Aussie in my home if you need help. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 4th, 2012 at 9:01pm Avram Horowitz wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 8:55pm:
Is that before or after you try to bomb them? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 4th, 2012 at 9:07pm
These people selling us out to foreign imports better watch their backs, the pendulum inevitably swings and you cant hold back the massive tide of discontent and anger at the Skills Migration, open border big Australia agenda.
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 4th, 2012 at 9:09pm corporate_whitey wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:07pm:
Is this thread about Asylum seekers or the Open borders policy that exist's only in your immagination? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by blackadder on May 4th, 2012 at 9:11pm
lets hope you never need anyones help then ... you may just find yourself in someone else's crapper
So how many are you taking or are you like the rest of the looney left. All p1ss and wind. Pansi has said she will take one or two but seeing as she is a confused old girl I don't think she will remember. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by blackadder on May 4th, 2012 at 9:12pm Johnsmith wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:01pm:
Where you born an idiot or did it take years of study to become one? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by red baron on May 4th, 2012 at 9:18pm
I helped myself up the ladder in life great one, didn't go around with my cap in my hand asking for handouts. Got off my arse and diid it for myself.
They ARE NOT refugees they are cashed up Country Shoppers! |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 4th, 2012 at 9:18pm Johnsmith wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:09pm:
They have removed trade barriers, exposing Australian industry and imports to foreign competition in our own land, forcing industries off shore. They have opened the floodgates to unnecessary skills migration destroying the Australian working class. They plan to make Australia a massive population yet impose environment and sustainability costs onto us. Its time to stop going along with the flow, its time to restore our borders and economic integrity and expose the corrupt butt sniffers selling us out for their own gain. Are you comforted? :) :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Dnarever on May 5th, 2012 at 12:28am red baron wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:18pm:
Others say that they are mostly economic refugees which is the opposite to your opinion. By the way financial status is in no way related to refugee status. People can be in danger irrespective of their financial position. How much do countries cost, I doubt any of them have that much? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 5th, 2012 at 1:16am
Australians are some of the most oppressed, impoverished and endangered people in the world held hostage by corporate maggots and suckholes. 8-)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 5th, 2012 at 8:55am blackadder wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:12pm:
I've been studing the liberal charters for the last week .... not bad for a beginner don't you think? |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 5th, 2012 at 8:58am blackadder wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:11pm:
It's irrelevant if I take one or not, no one HAS to take one, if it suits some people and they are happy to do so, why do you care what they do? I don't take exchange students either but it doesn't mean we should scrap the exchange student programmes does it? In future as kids move on or I move to a larger house, I reserve the right to change my mind, but at the moment its not possible in my situation. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 5th, 2012 at 9:01am corporate_whitey wrote on May 4th, 2012 at 9:18pm:
Weren't the trade barriers removed by Howard? He then spent the next few years telling us how lucky we were that we could buy cheaper plasma screens ..... it's got nothing to do with asylum seekers .... no matter how you try to twist it |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by great one on May 5th, 2012 at 9:08am Dnarever wrote on May 5th, 2012 at 12:28am:
If anything, history shows that anytime there is any civil unrest, the ones with money and property are often the first targetted by the ones with nothing ..... |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Soren on May 5th, 2012 at 3:26pm
This is a perfect snapshot of how skewered the progressive political outlook really is: they are all hot for taking in unidentified people from the other side of the world but would not dream of doing anything like that for homeless Australian families. THAT will always remain a government function in their minds.
Charity begins at home - but only for right-wing churchy losers, to coin a phrase. For progressives, charity towards their own people is an exclusively government function. Progs have only contempt for their own people while talking up foreigners as being practically indistinguishable from 'us' - 'us' being important only to parade their credentials of being unable to discern différance. Every cultural studies subject dealing with 'minorities' is a monomaniacal obsession with and exaggeration of minute différances - yet when it comes to obviously different people, they become instantly deaf, dumb and blind. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by adelcrow on May 5th, 2012 at 3:35pm Soren wrote on May 5th, 2012 at 3:26pm:
Your always welcome to invite homeless alcoholics and druggies into your house if you want to. Personally I think those fleeing persecution and terrorism and are looking for new lives for themselves and their kids are more deserving of my help than intergenerational no hopers that blow their dole cheques on booze and drugs. Refugees always add growth to the country and their kids will be the next doctors, architects and scientists where as homeless drunks and druggies are a drain until they die in the gutter in their own filth. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by Spot of Borg on May 5th, 2012 at 3:50pm Soren wrote on May 5th, 2012 at 3:26pm:
Im not sure what all that means and i missed whatever went on this forum about "progressives" etc and dont know the story. Thing is the govts (any of them) and the media too are always focused on overseas aid not not aiding aussies. BTW where is all that money that was donated to flood victims in qld? SOB |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by adelcrow on May 5th, 2012 at 4:02pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 5th, 2012 at 3:50pm:
The funny thing is the Opposition are talking about taking even more refugees and increasing the over all migration to this country. The only thing they are going to stop is the relatively small amount of asylum seekers coming here by boat so anti refugee and immigration neo cons are going to be very disappointed after the next election. |
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by corporate_whitey on May 5th, 2012 at 4:16pm
I understand the Government is going to leave no stone unturned to ensure Australia's homeless, elderly, impoverished, disabled and needy are well cared for first before they go spending on others in need. Of course they are, and they will make sure the highest standards of justice, accountability and transparency in policy making decisions is adhered to... :) :) :)
Title: Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people Post by adelcrow on May 5th, 2012 at 4:18pm corporate_whitey wrote on May 5th, 2012 at 4:16pm:
Homeless people should put down the bottle..clean themselves up and get a job |