General Discussion >> General Board >> House Prices Crash http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1331593317 Message started by pansi1951 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:01am |
Title: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:01am
HOME, CHEAP HOME: The suburbs where prices have dropped by half
Would that be 50%? longweekend Wait another year and you'll pick up a bargain, back to pre-boom prices. .......................................................... HOME prices have been slashed almost in half in some parts of Australia, with vendors forced into heavy discounting as properties languish for months in a skittish market. Luxury suburbs, coastal strips and flood regions have been hardest hit as median values plummeted by up to 46 per cent in 2011, according to RP Data figures. Even Australia’s most expensive suburb Point Piper has fallen victim to the squeeze, with the median price of units sliding 37 per cent to $1.17 million. Vendors were also forced to cut prices by almost a quarter in premium postcodes including Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast and Western Australia’s millionaire’s row Peppermint Grove. Scroll down for top 10 worst hit areas RP Data senior research analyst Cameron Kusher said buyers were still smarting from the 2008 global financial crisis, with share market hits and other personal financial losses weighing heavily on wealthy Australians and retirees. “Since the GFC people aren’t moving around as much to those once popular sea change and tree change areas,” Mr Kusher said. “They’ve lost a lot of money and are rebuilding their wealth.” The areas with the top 10 price falls of the year feature four tree and sea change spots including Mittagong in the New South Wales Southern Highlands and Golden Beach in Queensland. But it is homeowners in flood-affected North Booval – a suburb of Ipswich near Brisbane – who have suffered the country’s worst falls, with houses dropping by 46.3 per cent to $154,000. Mr Kusher conceded some homes in Ipswich’s flood-hit areas were unsaleable but said buyers had “short memories” when it came to natural disasters. “If you cut the price enough, any property will sell and if it doesn’t flood for another five years buying activity will return to those areas,” he said. While prices dipped in the towns affected by the Victoria bushfires and Cyclone Larry in North Queensland, sales volume and prices picked up within 12 months, he said. Mr Kusher said property prices had also been reined-in by slower interstate migration, particularly in Queensland, NSW and Victoria. However, Australian Property Monitors senior economist Dr Andrew Wilson said in the capital cities the property gloom was lifting. Dr Wilson pointed to higher auction clearance rates, and an improvement in finance commitments, particularly in Queensland, NSW and WA. “Perth and Brisbane remain on track for a recovery in median house prices this year with healthy increases in buyer activity from the low levels of 2011,” he said. “Sydney and Canberra should provide the usual solid results over the year reflecting the chronic underlying shortage of accommodation in those centres.” He believes buyers may remain cautious in Melbourne – with the local economy set to struggle in 2012 - while sales are expected to lift in Adelaide. Although somewhat volatile, Darwin should also finish 2012 with encouraging housing market results, Dr Wilson says. Resources would continue to help some regions – particularly in central Queensland. “The Gold Coast may also surprise while Newcastle and Orange in New South Wales and the Macedon Ranges region of Victoria should continue to attract significant buyer interest. Top 10 median price drops in percentage terms for 2011 1. North Booval (QLD) -46.3% (houses) to $154,000 2. Mittaggong (NSW) -45.1% (units) to $225,000 3. Joliment (WA) -44.4% (units) to $342,000 4. Carey Bay (NSW) -42.6% (houses) to $266,001 5. St Kilda West (VIC) -41.8% (houses) to $1,455,000 6. Port Augusta (SA) -41.5% (units) to $120,000 7. Golden Beach (QLD) -40.9% (houses) to $85,750 8. Rainbow Beach (QLD) -40.8% (units) to $219,750 9. Acacia Ridge (QLD) -40.8% (units) to $298,500 10. Eagle Farm (QLD) -40.4% (units) to $786,500 http://www.news.com.au/money/property/property-prices-battered-in-parts-of-australia-amid-heavy-discounting/story-e6frfmd0-1226297242759#ixzz1p0rT2FiQ |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:06am
Longweekend will never apologise for his errors.
He said that property was a good investment - he still does. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:23am
Did anyone see 4 corners last night ?
It's what happened in Ireland during the GFC when the property bubble burst spectacularly. For example there was a 55 bedroom beach side hotel that went for 650,000 Euros at auction with only two bidders ;) I can just hear Lisa and madweekend still telling us that Australia is different ;) LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:34am Quote:
flood regions???? and you expect to be taken seriously??? in a three year period of recod-breaking floods you find it extraordinary that housing in flood-prone regions have dropped??? in the meantime, the great 'price-crash' predicted by the local loons turned out to be a one year drop of less than 10% on average and has now been replaced by steady RISES in the price of housing across the country. you and your idiot friends will always be able to come up with suburbs with large drops for reasons you dont understand while the rest of the country just keeps on rising. while you keep renting and repeatedly predicting price crashes that NEVER HAPPEN. enjoy rent-day losers! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:36am
Longweekend,
I don't pay rent - I own my place. You lose again. Now apologise. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:47am longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:34am:
So you reckon it's a two speed housing market eh ?? And the huge price increases are happening where ?????? :D LOL And remember when you were saying that NO joint would drop by more than 10%. Well a lot has happened since that time ;) LOL Quote:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:51am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:01am:
This is terrible news, I think we should all take pansi, nail and bobby's advice and go into a sh1t panic, sell our houses, empty our bank accounts and hide in our closets, because this is the worse financial news I have ever heard. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:55am BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:51am:
I think you should buy a house now because the spruikers say it has bottomed and prices can only rise. Best time is to buy now !! You can't lose :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:57am Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:36am:
madweekend should appologise to Steve Keen who said that house prices could fall by up to 40% !! Steve Keen's prediction has now been vindicated ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:01am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:55am:
Here's a little secret for the brain-dead. Now IS the best time to buy, the market is soft and prices are falling / bottomed. Now is NOT the best time to sell as the market is soft and prices are falling or bottomed. This is something you'll never have to worry about as you can barely afford fuel for your car. ;D |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:13am
I am sure Pansi and Lastnail will be popping champagne.
Nothing like seeing ordinary families go under to please this pair. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:17am BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:01am:
2 years ago - Buy now because it's the best time to buy ! 1 year ago - Buy now because it's the best time to buy ! 6 months ago - Buy now because it's the best time to buy ! 3 months ago - Buy now because it's the best time to buy ! 1 month ago - Buy now because it's the best time to buy ! Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy !! :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:19am
In the last 2 years you have spent money on rent which has helped someone to pay off for an asset and you have nothing to show for it.
In the last 2 years, I have paid off a mortgage with my redundancy payment and now own an asset in Australia worth over $1m which is also getting me rent revenue. My parents have 4 properties which they own outright and which have appreciated in value. Mate, you'll excuse me for thinking your advice is a crock of sh*t. I am a battler yet have done perfectly well in the housing market. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:20am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:13am:
What about the banks getting employees to train up their replacements from India before they boot them out on the street ? What do you think about that Hicks ? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:21am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:57am:
if you are that stupid to say that because a handful of houses dropped significantly that there has bene a price crash then you deserve all the mocking you get. you morons come on here repeatedly telling us first that housing is going to crash and now that it has crashed and you are even stupid enough to quote people that say the very opposite. you trully are dumb as a bag of hammers, living in rented accomodation.... losers. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:22am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:19am:
Buy now because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:23am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:17am:
and every time it was good advice. and why?? because the vast number of owners now live in properties that are worth more than what they paid for them and in some case as much as 50% higher. the only losers are those that rent when they could be buying. so is your problem toenail, that your servo job is so poorly paid that shared rental accomodation is the best you can do? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:25am longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:21am:
So when house prices drop then it's only a handful that have dropped eh ;) Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:26am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:17am:
i have no idea what you're LOLing about, Ive never made any of those statements. Please reply only to things I have actually said and not what you need me to say to prop up your feeble arguments It just makes you look more retarded than usual. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:30am BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:26am:
:D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:30am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:22am:
I pay no rent or mortgage and have an asset worth $1m. My parents have 4. So hard isn't it? ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:34am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:30am:
That's right Hicks. Nobody can lose on property ;) http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/stories/2012/03/08/3448633.htm Quote:
Buy now because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:38am
Longweekend,
Just man up & apologise. You know you've been spruiking property prices since 2007 on Yahoo politics. I know you Longweekend - I know where the skeletons are in your closet! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:41am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:30am:
Still can't see where I said it 2 years ago, or 1 year ago, or 6 months ago, or 3 months ago, or 1 month ago, friggen moron. Trying to support a p1ss poor argument with lies, again. I reiterated a basic understanding of purchasing buy when the market is soft and avoid selling when the market is soft; it was a very basic explanation i thought even an idiot like you could understand. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:43am BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:41am:
Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy !! :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:44am Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:38am:
madweekends famous last words ;) Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy !! :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Grey on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:48am Quote:
Well the Real Estate business would say that wouldn't they? What do you expect them to say? The gloom is getting gloomier, the gravy train has left the track and prices SHOULD plummet? The fact is the people with the most space on the planet have been paying house prices comparable to Manhattan and London for no accountable reason other than the greed of the profiteers. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:52am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:44am:
Hi Nail, I hope that no one on this forum has listened to his irresponsible advice & lost money. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:58am BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:41am:
In two years time you will have said that but it obviously went over the top of your narrow arse. I can't help it if you are slow off the mark. Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:00pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:52am:
Like I always say, free advice is worth what you pay for it. Can you imagine borrowing 600K to buy something that is now worth only 400K and landing up in negative equity !! Well that is exactly the advice that madweekend was doling out here just a few years ago :( |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:06pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:52am:
Didn't you say you owned a house? You must be p1ssed off that you did, having NOT listened to nail and pansi, now you have lost your life savings. Well in fact unless you have sold your house you have lost NOTHING? Unless of course you do listen to pansi and nail then you would have offed your house as the market was bottoming out and you definitely would have lost money, so good on you for ignoring nail and pansi and treating their advice with the contempt it deserves. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:10pm
I bought mine in 2003 -
it is worth 80% more than what I paid for it. I was one of the lucky ones. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:11pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:58am:
So your pitiful excuse for making sh1t up is that I would have said it in 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 1 yr and 2 years time. You are truly friggen retarded. Stop trying to be semi-intelligent and stick to the basics. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:15pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:10pm:
Well you just learned something that has escaped nail and pansi, buying a house and living in it for a decade or so doesn't lose you money; selling it at the bottom of the market cycle may very well do. You may speak the same sh1t as those pair of retards, but you still do what is 'normal'. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:26pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:11pm:
Free financial advice is worth exactly what you pay for it and yours is worth no more than the "Buy now" advice given two years ago by the same brain dead spruikers so suck it up wanker because nobody is listening to your sh.t ! Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:28pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:15pm:
And if you'd bought at the top of the bubble a couple of years ago how long would it take to get your money back. Maybe another 10 years ;) LOL Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:39pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:26pm:
I wasn't giving you financial advice clown, i was trying to dumb down a basic concept so you might possible understand; I see I was wrong and that is my fault. I apologise for assuming that you could comprehend basic information and be able to participate in a robust conversation without having to resort to childish antics. From this day forth I promise to revert back to treating you like the barely functioning retard that you try so hard to project in public. Yes we all agree, that to own your own home is foolish and you should NEVER buy any real estate in a soft or falling market, because it will NEVER appreciate in value. (This is NOT financial advice, this IS a reductio reply to a moron) (Yes, you nail) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:39pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:15pm:
Big, No - I was lucky. I know someone on the Gold Coast who has the highest offer for their appartment by the sea of 60% of what they paid for it. They owe money & so can't sell it. They are stuck with it & it costs them heaps every month to service the loan. Tenants stop paying rent & they can't kick them out. You're full of poo big mouth. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:49pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:39pm:
back peddling are you now mucus ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:49pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:39pm:
No one cares about your made up 'friend' on the gold coast; anyone who buys there is asking for trouble. You still own a house, you did not sell it when you learned that nail and pansi were against anyone who owned a home; they are angry renters who despise homeowners. Why do you think they derive so much joy from a falling market and the possibility of ordinary home owners doing the @rse. That sh1t isn't normal. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:54pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:49pm:
From what? I thought I was pretty straight forward in using sarcasm and derision to point out you're a friggen idiot. Mind you I did underestimate your ability to employ childish behaviour to try and win a feeble argument, so now it's straight up sarcasm and abuse. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:56pm
Big Mouth,
Big Mouth, It's not made up - it's a real person in distress caused by a property real estate maggott who got them to buy a place at too high a price - with a deal where "you can't lose". They paid over $800,000 for a property that is worth $480,000. The real estate agent was crying all the way to the bank. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:08pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:56pm:
So your friend is a RE investor, a speculator if you will and he go stung by a spruiker, I'm surprised nail hasn't posted an LOL reply telling you your friend deserves everything he's getting. As you well know the only people nail hates worst than home owners are investors. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:19pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:08pm:
And you don't care about that person. You only care about number 1. A typical Libbo. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:20pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:08pm:
when did I ever say that dickhead ? If the investment was made in a value added product then I'm all for investments but if its part of denying genuine home owners a home because of someone else's insatiable desire to hoard as many properties as they can then I don't have much sympathy for them if they do their money. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:28pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:19pm:
libbos only care about the value of their house even if it is at great expense to other people who can't afford to fuel the bubble. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:45pm
Nail,
Hi Nail, In this case it was a little old lady who's super was losing money so the bright idea was to buy real estate with that super money on a deal where you couldn't lose because property was always going up. If the super schemes had done their job properly she wouldn't have bought the place. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:45pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:19pm:
You're right I don't care about your friend; along with the billions of other people outside of my immediate family and friends; doesn't mean I'm a 'libbo'. The difference is, I don't hate your friend because he was trying to get ahead in life by investing in real estate, I don't find pleasure in his predicament, unlike some on this board. You have to ask yourself why does someone hate people just because they are trying to get ahead in life, that they may end up with more due to more effort and higher risk? If you think the worst insult is to call someone a 'libbo', then I can think of worse to call the type of person that finds pleasure in the misfortune of others; I would never 'LOL' at someone else's misfortune. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:23pm
It's the property spruikers we hate for sprouting lies about real estate never losing value.
It hasn't bottomed yet, nowhere near. Myself, bobby and nails give people advice not to buy real estate because it is bound to lose value and we don't like to see ordinary family people ripped off by unscrupulous real estate agents that would rob their own grandma's. Where were the floods in St Kilda? I didn't hear about that, hope everyone is ok. Real estate is going the same way as manufacturing and retail.....south. But never fear, other industries will take their place, renewable energy and sustainable cottage industries. Anyone have any innovative ideas? I know you do lastnail with your non fossil fool cars. Anyone else? Buying and selling houses to at an ever increased price is finished :) :) :) pity for the last ones to buy before the crash...... sh*t happens! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:35pm
Big,
Nail just gets annoyed at people who buy 10 properties while there are so many families caught in the rental trap. He doesn't hate a little old lady who got conned out of her super by a real estate maggot. Big, You need to take a good look at yourself in the mirror. You're not the full quid. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:36pm
Pansi,
That's very true Pansi. Also there was no flood in St Kilda. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:01pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:35pm:
Actually if you read his posts he has never specified 10 houses, he just laughs at anyone who is about to do there @rse in the RE market, I bet he is having a quiet LOL at your friend now. He is a a hateful and envious person with an extremely limited intellect, resorting in personal abuse and childish arguiments when caught out. It's just who he is as a person, and I just don't respect morons. Read the first page of this thread it's just him laughing about the fact that he believes the market is crashing; this would affect everyone who owns a home. I find that attitude to be pretty offensive. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by BigOl64 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:15pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:23pm:
Interesting that you admit that you, nail and bobby are giving financial advice, something none of you are qualified or licenced to do. What are going to say to the people that took your advice and missed buying a home when the market corrects as it will inevitably do, just like it has for the previous 4 or 5 centuries? My advice to you three is don't give advice about things that you know less than nothing about; someone might follow it. You might want to point out to people who want to follow your advice that in 2008 you took out all your money from the bank and put it under your mattress and was still storing your money in the Bank of Sealy Posturepedic some years later still believing the banks would crash. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:31pm
Sorry - the capital guaranteed fund is where my money is.
I was proven right on that too! Also - people should seek professional financial advice - not listen to anyone on a forum - including me. I have only provided anecdotal evidence that you can get ripped off. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:39pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:15pm:
That would be friendly advice, like you would give to your children, as opposed to financial advice that you would pay a financial adviser big bucks for. Where are we bigole? A political forum, that's right. Do we not discuss the pro's and cons of a wide variety of issues on here? Yes, we have a diverse array of opinions and we choose to either agree or disagree with them, but I hardly think anyone is stupid enough to take the advice of an anonymous poster on a political forum too seriously, do you? It's mostly the speculators who will lose out in the crash anyway and serves them right. They should have gambled on the stock exchange. The others who will lose out is those who took advantage of the governments first home owners grant. They will be paying a rather large mortgage when it should never have been like that. The government should leave their beaks out of housing instead of trying to create an industry whereby people artificially increase prices. Our housing is extremely over valued and it's about time we got back to reality. As for the market correcting. No way, not in your life time. Have you heard of the end of growth? It's here. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:43pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:00pm:
I borrowed $600k Paid $500k It's valued now at $1.3m and I own it with no mortgage. You paying rent this month Lastnail? I will pay no rent, no mortgage and the Asians in my house will give me $2k+ for their rent. Tell you what, it's a hard life mate? And if you think people are fools to own property why did you get so angry that my parents bought several to rent out to students??? They are helping you man, providing quality accommodation at affordable prices... |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:49pm BigOl64 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 1:45pm:
where does hate come into it ? Why do you libbos hate it when prices come down so that it is more affordable for battlers on struggle street ? Wouldn't you be happy for them ? You only seem to be happy when everyone is being ripped off. The problem with the system in Australia is that property hoarders and speculators get tax concessions that first home buyers don't get. As a result people who just want to own one home for themselves have to compete with others who have an advantage when it comes to owning more than one home as an investment. If you think that is a fair system then you need get your priorities right. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:52pm
Andrei,
Well done Andrei if it's true. Could you please stop gloating. Gloating: definition Quote:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:56pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:43pm:
I couldn't give a flying bugger about your supposed accomplishments. Nobody in their right mind would believe a word you say Walter Mitty. Why don't you take a trip to Germany and see some real accomplishments. A lot of people rent in Germany because unlike the low achievers in Australia they don't see property as a major achievement in life. They are too busy running real export businesses rather than ripping each other off on property deals in a ponzi scheme :( Go there some time Hicks. I bet you'd feel out of place because they wouldn't consider you as a high achiever. You'd be an unemployable nobody who knows how to push a few beans on a bean counter :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:05pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:23pm:
Sounds like our advice is falling on deaf ears. http://www.moneymorning.com.au/20120306/the-australian-property-market-and-the-conversation-nobody-wants-to-hear.html#more-8309 Quote:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:11pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 3:56pm:
Hey mate would this be the Germany that you said never gets above 30C in summer?? Difference between you and I my friend is that I have been to Germany. We used to go there on school trips - its only an hour and a bit away from my hometown. You know very little about Germany in fact. Did you know they pay well above what we do in income tax though???? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:18pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:11pm:
I have German friends who tell me all about it and I have dealt with Germans in my business. Have you ever created something and sold it to a customer in Germany ? Of course you haven't because it is so far removed from someone who thinks a little hovel of a house in Australia is a major achievement in life. What could you possibly offer Germany :D LOL Yes and Germans do pay a lot of tax but their Government looks after them in their twilight years unlike this joint where you get ripped off on super scammers and put in a nursing home run by a scammer who gives you a kerosene bath :( |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:23pm
Hi Nail,
Andrei employs a fallacy called "the exception proves the rule" Because he says he was successful that somehow proves that property is a good investment. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:27pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:23pm:
It's even worse because he cannot substantiate any of his claims whilst he hides behind an anonymous name so his claims are totally irrelevant to this thread. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:29pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:52am:
if they listened to me they'd be in a house worth as amuch as 50% more than what they paid for it. if they'd listened to you two blowahrds, they'd still be living in rental accomodation and $100,000 or more worse off. enjoying the housemates and the rent, losernail? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:30pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:00pm:
except of course that on average that $600K property is worth $800K or more. pity your facts are as dodgy as your intelligence. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:31pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:10pm:
thus proving MY point and demolishing your lover's point. well done. even an idiot can occasionally say something worthwhile even if only by accident! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:33pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:39pm:
700,000 house sales per year and you base your beliefes on ONE property in a known problem area. and you wonder why we call you a fool. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:38pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 2:23pm:
you've been saying this for five years now while property has DOUBLED in price. dont you ever get sick of being wrong in the Flannery-mold? You ahve bene LITERALLY 100% wrong. you predicted a 70% crash in prices and instead saw a 100% INCREASE. that makes you wrong by the HUGEST of margins. yet here you are sprouting the same old crap and the same old lies whiel the rest of us ar going on ahead. enjoy rent -day losers. you wil lbe experiencing it til the day you die and nthen pass on absolutely nothing to your kids. what a wonderful example of loser-dom. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:43pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 4:27pm:
says the loser who claims to be an international businessman and in R&D yet cannot supply even the tiniest bit of evidence to support it. not even an outragious claim. nothing at all. Andrei's knoweldege of accounting is quite obvious. but when you talk on virtually ANY topic all you display is your ignorance and your arrogance. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:49pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:31pm:
Longweekend, Firstly - I am not now nor have I ever been a homosexual. Secondly - I bought mine in 2003. I got away with it but many people who bought soon afterwards didn't. Who did well buying in say 2008? All the ones I know lost equity. I know another person who's in a hell of a lot of financial trouble after getting involved in 3 houses. Thirdly - apologise to any readers who may have listened to your rubbish advice and lost money. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:07pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:29pm:
It's funny how you never took your own advice and bought 10 houses at the time and made a quick million bucks. Surely that would be more lucrative than training people how to turn taps on and off :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:10pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:49pm:
badweekend was still telling people to buy at the top of the bubble and he is still telling people to buy now ;) Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Avram Horowitz on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:15pm
I think from what i see here house prices in Australia is good time to buy and make the profit.
Many older Aussie students in some of my classes is has many houses --more than 1 house-- you know is much harder to do this in Israel. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:15pm
Longweekend,
Just man up & apologise. You know you've been spruiking property prices since 2007 on Yahoo politics. I know you Longweekend - I know where the skeletons are in your closet! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:19pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:43pm:
Like yourself Andrei doesn't even understand the reserve banking system and he reckons he has studied economics. What a pair of fools trying to give other people financial advice :D LOL The other point is you have never engaged on any technical depth on any topic that I have presented to you. You talk about cars but I bet you don't even know where the dipstick is, probably because you are one. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:23pm Avram Horowitz wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:15pm:
Even better time to buy in Ireland and Spain. How about this for a bargain in Ireland. An ocean front hotel with 55 rooms going for a cool 650,000 Euros ;) Get in quick so you don't miss out. It could be the bargain of a life time ;) And you are right. Israel probably doesn't encourage property speculation simply because it wants to encourage academic excellence and technical innovation rather than engage in another property ponzi scam that has crippled other economies ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:46pm
Longweekend,
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Avram Horowitz on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:50pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:23pm:
650,000 EUR? No thank you,, i must pass this request to somebodys who can pay this,, i do not own home as yet and has been rental in Tel Aviv for some years,, property price is come down next 1.5 year so i may come to buy is then. But property tax and law in Israel make it harder to buy the many propertys like my classmate here in australia have done. Maybe i buy in australia when i can have the AUD? ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:54pm Avram Horowitz wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:50pm:
Well that's how much you will have to pay in Australia here for a 2 bedroom hovel in Sydney :( |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 14th, 2012 at 1:03am
Its better to live on the border in Israel next to some Lebanese neighbours ...just watching the missiles going 'over'. ;D
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 3:16pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:49pm:
virtually everyone who bought houses in the last 5 years has shown a good profit on the purchases. all your wanking on is just that. you know ONE person while the 750,000 other buyers dont havea problem. its remarkable talking with you. your idiocy and obstinate foolisheness is something to behold. formal statistics show a 100% price increase in ten years but no... you and toenail and pansi know better. you three - renters and morons - think everything that teh rest of the country knows and experiences is wrong. and you wonder why we mock you three so often and so easily. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 5:55pm
Longweekend refuses to read the truth:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 14th, 2012 at 6:16pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 3:16pm:
Warren Buffet only owns the one joint he lives in and look how much more successful he is than you are :D LOL What went wrong with your great financial wisdom ?? Got anymore great financial advice to offer us Mr Waterman ?? :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 6:47pm
Longweekend,
Longweekend, Please provide a link to prove this statement - or apologise. Things are just not true because you say so. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by blackadder on Mar 14th, 2012 at 6:59pm
Longweekend,
Please provide a link to prove this statement - or apologise. You married batpoo? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:01pm blackadder wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 6:59pm:
Why - are you looking for a bum chum? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by blackadder on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:09pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:01pm:
No way batpoo. I would never try to break up a happy couple like you and nails. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:15pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 6:47pm:
like your typical libbo madweekend is so full of himself he always thinks he speaks for the majority !! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:16pm blackadder wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:09pm:
you're just pissed off because you keep getting rejected because of your personal hygiene problem ;) LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:21pm
As soon as you win an argument out comes the old homo accusation.
Black idiot - get a life & a new joke. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by blackadder on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:29pm
All I did batpoo was to ask if you were married. It was you that offered me your @rse.
bobbythebat1 Online Gold Member Australian Politics Melbourne Gender: male Posts: 5960 ***** blackadder wrote Today at 6:59pm: Longweekend, Please provide a link to prove this statement - or apologise. You married batpoo? Why - are you looking for a bum chum? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:03pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 7:38pm:
http://www.livingin-australia.com/australian-house-prices/ I don't know what part of the planet you come from LW or even if you live on the same planet, but clearly YOU ARE LIVING IN A PAST ERA! Due to basic Demographics and other Macro Economic factors, the next 5-10 years will see - 1) Existing house Prices continue their recent trends, with further declines! 2) New Housing Construction will continue to decline, in line with the current trends! Both of which are consistent with trends in the USA & Europe. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:04pm blackadder wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 7:29pm:
Sorry Black but after your constant homosexual comments I thought you were trolling for a like minded person. I'm not one of them. Go & join a gay forum. There must be some on the internet. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:18pm
From the diagram perceptions_now posted, I gather that prices dropped for almost a year, but have been back on the way up for the last few months. Perhaps I am simplifying it too much, but it seems to me that you would only have lost money if you sold during that period.
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Gist on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:23pm
What I want to know is how the hell bobby got his outline on that chart.
Or is Sydney calling for help from batman? :-? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:26pm
I noticed that too - rather odd, isn't it?
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:34pm
The Bat rules!
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:38pm |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:15pm
The job of Bobbythebat is to go into bat for the battlers.
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:18pm Gist wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:23pm:
Yeah, I noticed the Sydney Pricing too, from around June 2009 to June 2011! It seems that Sydney may be a batman follower? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:30pm Frances wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:18pm:
I would suspect the more likely outcome is that we (OZ) will follow a similar pattern to the USA & Europe, as indicated by the following chart. This reflects the Demographic influence of the Baby Boomers BOOM from the mid 1990's to around 2006 and then the BUST that has since followed! In Australia, this effect was postponed temporarily, primarily by government input into the new home buyers market, but also by virtue that the Economic impact of the GFC on Australia was also largely postponed by virtue of the continuing positive impact on the OZ Economy by the Chinese Economy, which is only now starting to falter. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:36pm
CRASH CRASH CRASH !!!
Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy :) Buy right, shouldn't a 'crash' bring back prices to the point of the 1970's ? :-? The Great Depression crashed things x3 times what they were. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:01pm
Should I sell that spare house I have on the Upper North Shore now or later?
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 9:36am Frances wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:18pm:
With the lowest growth rate in bank lending in 35 years it's probably just a dead cat bounce caused by spruikers trying to pump up the markets in the media ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:03pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 6:47pm:
you're not seriously suggesting that it ISNT true despite the plethora of articles that you and your girlfriend frequently post about rapidly riding housing prices??? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:07pm perceptions_now wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 8:03pm:
your ability to incorectly interpret everything is legendary. your own graph proves my point that housing has doubled in price since 04/05. it slso shows that housing prices remain pretty much stationery - also exactly what I ahve said and best of all... you say this mirrors the US and Europe example. well lets see. in those cases houses HALVED in value. that is absolutely and nothing at all liek the australian situation or do the tersm 'half price' and 'full price' mean the same to you? you see whatever you want to see and are consistently and perennially WRONG. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:08pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:03pm:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:09pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:15pm:
trouble is, all you go into bat for is nail... and if you removed a couple words it is STILL true, |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:10pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:08pm:
excepet of coure that wages are going UP in real terms and unemployment remains pretty much steady. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:11pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:10pm:
Link? And these unemployment rates are not accurate. Regardless it doesnt matter when cost of living is increasing much more rapidly |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:13pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:11pm:
why would i bother with a link to a moron like you? You'd only say it was wrong - just as you say unemployment stats are wrong. you believe only in your own opinions and that is the major reason you are such a loser. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:15pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:13pm:
Yes much like everybody on this planet I believe my own opinions. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:21pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:03pm:
How's the South Australian economy going lately ?? I hear it's in recession along with Tasmania and you may as well throw Victoria into the mix as well :D LOL You didn't see that one coming did you :D LOL Buy NOW - because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:25pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:15pm:
the difference is thet you ONLY believe your own opinions. facts scarcely get a look-in. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:26pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:25pm:
Hmm once again sounds like every single person on this planet. And I always evaluate facts. Your problem is that you let emotion and social commitment gets in the way of properly evaluating facts and/or reality. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:28pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:21pm:
actually its NOT in recession moron enjoying your rented accomodations still? My house is now worth $600,000 for an initial purchase of $35000. and 5 years ago it was worth $350,000. Imagine my sadness at the amount of money I've lost - NEGATIVE $0.25M!!!!! all in the last 5 years. must suck being you. it certainly sucks just listening to you! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:38pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:28pm:
It is certainly in the beginning progressive stages of recession. Investment unsteady, business profits down, inflation increasing, Employment down, bankruptcies increasing rapidly, income going down, government increasing taxation, public spending down... What more do you need to think we are going into recession? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:40pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:28pm:
Your only achievement in life is a borer infested old dump in South Australia with a way over inflated price tag that only an idiot would pay you for. How come Warren Buffet did so much better than you did in life ?? And according to this article, South Australia is in recession. So much for your overinflated old dump and property ponzi scheme which was holding up the economy until it all fizzled out :D LOL Quote:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:42pm
and for the morons who repeatedly post atypical data on house prices...
http://www.businessspectator.com.au/bs.nsf/Article/property-housing-suburbs-millionaires-pd20120315-SDTBH?opendocument&src=idp&utm_source=exact&utm_medium=email&utm_content=22407&utm_campaign=kgb&modapt=commentary Property Observer For years I’ve encouraged analysts and commentators to avoid using the performance of property in the unique areas in which they live – e.g. Mosman, Toorak, Whale Beach, or the Mornington Peninsula – as a proxy for Australia's diverse, $4 trillion housing asset-class. The behavioural tendency to extrapolate out from our immediate environs to the 8.5 million homes not located in our street leads to what psychologists might call an ‘anchoring bias’. It is no different to taking a micro-cap listed on the ASX, and assuming that its returns are a good guide for the ASX All Ordinaries Index. If anything, individual homes, and specific suburbs, are even more heterogeneous. This anchoring bias is arguably exacerbated by the fact that media organisations tend to focus the bulk of their efforts on covering $1 million plus properties. But as my first chart below shows, these homes are irrelevant to 95 per cent of all Australian property buyers. In particular, this diagram depicts the distribution of all sales over the last 12 months sorted by price. You can see that homes worth more than $1 million accounted for just 5.7 per cent of total sales. For what it is worth, 90 per cent of all Australian homes sales were for dwellings worth less than $800,000. click the image to enlarge Anyone familiar with Australia’s housing market will intuit that this makes sense. The median dwelling price across all regions and property types was only $400,000 in December 2011. As I reported earlier in the week, Australia’s dwelling price-to-disposable household income ratio has now fallen 12 per cent from a peak of 5.2 times to its current level of around 4.5 times. Notwithstanding these facts, the property liftouts in most newspapers and magazines dedicate an inordinate amount of space to the tiny minority of homes that trade for more than the magical million-dollar mark. We also know that by dint of their incomes, many of the analysts, economists, retail bankers, fund managers, investment bankers, accountants and financial planners who are called on to proffer comment on Australian house prices live in its more salubrious suburbs. In this respect, they are especially ill-placed to make inferences about the broader market. This is likely why during downturns, such as in 2008 or 2011, one frequently finds investment bankers amongst the most ‘bearish’ on conditions, with shrill claims they are down 10 to 30 per cent. Ironically, the bankers are probably right if they are talking about Bellevue Hill, Bondi, or Point Piper. But these statements are meaningless when it comes to the 450,000 homes that sell each year that are not located in these areas. Of course, if the bankers’ communities were representative of the national market there would be no bias. But they are not. In fact, they have systematically underperformed during these corrections. My next chart shows the change in the value of homes situated in Australia’s ‘cheap’, ‘expensive’, and ‘mid-priced’ suburbs since the housing market started flat-lining in April 2010. The chart beneath it presents the same data in a slightly different way by comparing Australia’s most expensive suburbs with all others. click the image to enlarge click the image to enlarge If you happen to live in the most affordable 20 per cent of suburbs, the value of your dwelling drifted by only a trivial 1.5 per cent over the last 1.5 years. If you inhabited the price cohort above, which we classify as the ‘middle 60 per cent’ of suburbs ranked by price, your home’s value declined, on average, by a still fairly modest 3.7 per cent. It is, by way of contrast, the affluent who have suffered the worst. The most expensive 20 per cent of suburbs across Australia have registered much more substantial price falls of about 6.5 per cent over this period. And you can bet that if you broke this group down further, into, say, the dearest 10 per cent of suburbs, you would find steeper losses again. So what explains the inferior performance of Australia’s most expensive localities over the last year or two? I would argue one candidate is post-GFC structural adjustment. The financial services industry, which was one of the principal drivers of demand in the dearest suburbs in Australia’s non-resources states, has now quite radically altered its future growth expectations. The retail banks, investment banks, and stockbroking firms are not shelling out anything like the pay-packets that were prevalent in the period preceding 2007. The abysmal performance of the sharemarket more generally has weighed heavily on the portfolios of wealthier individuals, who were often loaded up with equities by their advisors. If only they had more cash and fixed-income. I would venture that this new ‘air-pocket’ in housing demand is most relevant to non-resources states, and to homes valued at between, say, $3 million and $10 million. Australia is still creating extraordinary wealth with the list of billionaires now numbering in excess of 20. And private sector wages growth, and total disposable household income growth, have been expanding at normal rates. In the last one to two years, home buyers have received a tremendous affordability dividend, with the circa 4 per cent decline in house prices accompanied by healthy disposable income growth of around 5 per cent per annum. And now due to the RBA’s benevolence, mortgage rates are 0.40 percentage points lower than they were in October 2011. So I suspect the housing market will remain healthy for most Australians. RP Data-Rismark’s new ‘daily’ house price index, which is quoted by the ASX, has reported small capital gains over February and March. There is nevertheless likely to be a fundamental downward adjustment in that specialised $3 million to $10 million segment that was once dominated by financial services professionals. On the other hand, it is questionable whether demand at the extreme heights of the market, where estates trade for more than $20 million, and buyers typically have little debt, will be much affected. Australia will keep on producing individuals worth hundreds of millions, if not billions, of dollars. For the time being, however, fewer will do so in financial services. Christopher Joye is a leading financial economist and a director of Yellow Brick Road Funds Management and Rismark International. The above article is not investment advice. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:43pm
you will need to go to the article to see the graphs.
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:44pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:38pm:
Plus the lowest bank lending growth in 35 years !! Forget about madweekend. He has always been in denial of reality. He lives in a fantasy world of Alice in Wonderland. No wonder he has a paranormal friend called Jesus :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:50pm
well Id rather enjoy my level of 'failure' than your level of 'success'!!!
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:55pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:50pm:
Its people like you that make the oncoming financial collapse seem very palatable |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 1:00pm Quote:
;D |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 1:04pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:50pm:
The problem is with a lot of people in Australia including yourself is that they measure the level of success by how many houses they can deny other people from owning. It's never about creating or manufacturing and exporting a new invention of some kind. It's always about ripping off the punters on housing. Compare that with Germany. Do you think the topic of conversation in Germany at the moment is about a property ponzi scheme and how some greedy idiot has half a dozen houses to his name with a taxation system that encourages it ? Why would Germany manufacture anything and make premium quality cars that they export all around the world when all they have to do is engage in a property ponzi scheme and chisel money out of suckers who have no way of paying it back. Why bother manufacturing anything because aussies have the secret of eternal wealth without making any effort. It's called a property ponzi scheme :D LOL This is why Germany is an industrial power house and Australia is just a glorified quarry with lots of idiots that pull themselves over it !! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 1:43pm
Quite right Nail,
It's not fair that one person can own 10 houses while the taxpayer is expected to build state housing for other struggling families. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:05pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 1:04pm:
defining success is always difficult, but it is not difficult to compare a home owner with an already highly appreciated asset against a loser in rented accomodation. you will ALWAYS be a loser in that comparison. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:07pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 1:43pm:
of course that person with the 10 houses is actually the one mainly paying the tax that builds public housing which mainly exists for losers like lastnail who refuse to save and study and work hard to buy a house themselves. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:15pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 12:55pm:
its people like you that give 'idiots' such a bad name. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:34pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:15pm:
An international businessman means WINNER. A water trainer means LOSER. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:46pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:15pm:
Says the guy who literally believes in fairy tales |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:59pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:34pm:
we all alreday know that lastnail is not an international businessman. he is a servo operator. you just look sillier (as if that is possible) by repeating this nonsense. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:05pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:59pm:
That may make you feel better to write that but it's not true & you know it. Loser! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:08pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:59pm:
Says the grown adult who believes in fairy tales |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:18pm
Longweekend needs a trial:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=929ceD32uVo |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:30pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 2:05pm:
So why do Germans bother to manufacture anything when all they have to do is hoard property and create a bubble ?? Forget about manufacturing and exports !! Learn from aussies and their property ponzi scam :D LOL Buy NOW because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:54pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:30pm:
and you still dont understand that even in the worlds' best economy (ours) we make room for failures (you) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:09pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 3:54pm:
Strip away the ponzi property scam and what do you have left in South Australia ? madweekends water training business teaching people how to turn taps on and off :D LOL Buy NOW - because it's the best time to buy :D :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:16pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:09pm:
you really are nothing but a fool. there is a good reason why the only people that agree with you are pansi and booby - generally derided by one and all as pretty short on brain power. oh and BTW ever heard of Olympic dam?? worlds BIGGEST mine with a $100B investment and where is it?? yes SA, thats where. And I am attending a BHP suppliers conference in adelaide April 4. why dont you drop in and take a look at how REAL businessmen operate? in real industries? enjoy rent-day losernail! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:51pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:16pm:
Yes you're attending the conference as a door man or security guard :D LOL Keep on pissing down your own back Mr Waterman because one day Centerlink will come up with the ideal job for you :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:58pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:51pm:
feel free to attend. I can give you the URL to get a ticket if you wish? I know you'd feel out of place with REAL businessmen, but id look after you. so forgetting the $150B project in SA still? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 5:00pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 4:58pm:
Don't worry Mr Waterman you've got a great career ahead of you teaching people how to turn taps on and off. Centerlink must be proud of you :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 5:07pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 5:00pm:
im stil doing better than anything you do by running my own business. and I am getting business from such useless companies like: CSIRO BoM Rio Tinto BHP in fact, some of these places have contacted me direct to create training for them. hows that servo job looking? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 6:01pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 5:07pm:
What business ?? Turning taps on and off !! F.cken bullshit business :D LOL If they only knew the sh.t you post on this forum anyone would run a mile from you. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 6:05pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 5:07pm:
Explains why the CSIRO is always doing gay studies on weight loss, why weatherman always gets his forecasts wrong And why psychopathic corporations like tinto and british are some of the most hated scum on the earth. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 6:45pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 6:05pm:
the dumbest person in these organisations when drunk would still be brighter than you on a good day. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 8:17pm
<<the dumbest person in these organisations when drunk would still be brighter than you on a good day. >>
............................................................... You're on a roll today longy. Did you learn that from the good pastor? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 9:17pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 8:17pm:
doesn't madweekend get pissed off when his great predictions turn to custard :D LOL The great property boom that goes on for ever in Australia and nowhere else, as well South Australia will never go into recession :D LOL Now did anyone see the 7:30 report tonight ?? Looks like retail is going to the dogs whilst Westfield wants to increase rent because of the carbon tax :D LOL Never any mention of the landlords greeds though. That subject is always taboo. Blame it on the GST exemption on imported online goods :D Of course the playing field can never be equal for bricks and mortar stores simply because of the landlords greed and not because of a measly GST ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 15th, 2012 at 9:43pm Quote:
Coming from the guy who believes in fairy tales, talk about dumb. A 2 year old who believes in the bogey man has as much legitimacy as you. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 9:57pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 9:43pm:
madweekend's best friend is jesus except he has never met him because he is both invisible and mute :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2012 at 10:12pm
Nail,
Don't be so hard on Longweekend. Even Richard Dawkins admitted that there was a small chance that an invisible man was watching every thing you do. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 15th, 2012 at 10:18pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 10:12pm:
what even when I have a crap !! Is nothing sacred :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:32am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 15th, 2012 at 8:17pm:
idiocy inspires me... |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:40am longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:32am:
I thought as much.... |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 9:13am Frances wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:40am:
and there is a LOT of inspiration here. pansi, lastnail, booby and now political puppet has turned the Three Stooges into a quartet of morons. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 9:54am longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 9:13am:
What will they do in South Australia now that the property bubble has burst :D LOL Water training :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 10:35am
LW,
And Longweekend believes that there is an invisible man who answers his prayers. Nail & I are building up a following on here unlike you - you're still stuck with the miserable political carthorse of Howard - his miserable politics. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=roIeVEf5alk |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:09am Bobby. wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 10:35am:
Howard massacred keating.... it was a joy to behold! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:37am longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:09am:
And Rudd the Dudd massacred Howard :D :D :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:38am
If I had not bought a house though - the last 4 years I would have paid rent straight into a landlord's pocket and tell me Lastnail - what would I have to show for it??
I'd own nothing still wouldn't I? How is that good? :o |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:59am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:38am:
Jees everyone who runs a business and rents out a shop or office musn't have much to show for it either :D LOL Hicks you need to take some risks in your life and run a business instead of being a wage slave. You don't become successful like Steve Jobs or Bill Gates by sucking up to the boss all of your life ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 1:20pm
Actually Andrei.
I pay RENT and I save more towards a house than I would if I was making Home Loan Repayments. ...and I still have more than just $3 dollars to spend at the end of the week. So - I rent for 10 years and then buy a house and own it in a year. As my grand-pappy used to say: If you ain't got the money for it - don't buy it. Thats where all the Economic trouble started - too much money 'borrowed' - and look at what it has cost :-? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:34pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 1:20pm:
You miss the point. your rent might be less than mortage repayments but at the end of your ten years of rent you ahve nothing beyond next weeks rent to pay while the mortgagee now owns half his house and his equity has risen from $50,000 to $300,000. and you dont think that the later is a better outcome? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:38pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:34pm:
So what happens if you lose your job in that 10 years ? When they kick you out you are lucky to get back any of what you have paid and the you are out on your arse :( There is no such thing as long term job security anymore. Why not just wait till it crashes and buy in at the right price rather than follow all of the lemmings which is what you advocate :( |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:46pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:38pm:
are you stupid naturally or do you train for it? on what basis do you think a person cant sell their house and get paid for it? you are stupider than booby - and thats a challenge. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:46pm
<<What will they do in South Australia now that the property bubble has burst Cheesy LOL
Water training Cheesy LOL>> ................................................................. He's got the market lastnail, there's only one water training company in the entire country. Look it up and check it out, that's if you want some water training. That's the worst pie chart that I've ever seen :o |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:11pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:46pm:
who do you think holds the title when you are paying it off you nitwit ?? It's in the bank vault and they make the rules. Once they foreclose on you, you have to take it up the arse and are guaranteed to get back less than what you have put into it after the flog it off at auction on the cheap !! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:12pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 2:46pm:
I'm still trying to work out what it is that a water trainer does !! Any ideas ?? :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by muso on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:20pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:12pm:
I think it's Environmentally related. I wonder if it involves these? wyland-arm-float.jpg (79 KB | 50
) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:26pm
I see your point LW and it would seem the more orthodox approach in most of the world - But Australian Housing is like USA Economics - defunct!
Job security around the country is in crises. I got screwed out of my job after I was used as an excuse to get rid of Contractors. Once they were gone - I was replaced by Koreans who use Backpacker visas to drive flashy cars and not stay in Backpacker Hostels. Most people are not making a profit on their houses. All around the South Coast of NSW hardly any of those houses are being sold at a profit - more loss and many are not sold at all. Suddenly that house and extra houses have become an 'anchor' that is stuck at the bottom in a rough 6 metre swell. I'm in a [For Sale] house and like 5 other houses in this Rural town street - none are being sold. Everyone knows the Real Estate agents aren't making a boom rip-off surge like around the year 2000AD so they just potter along now on Agent fees for 'trying' to sell. When the USA Economy crashes (because Obama's finger in the dyke won't work this time) - Australian Housing will crash. Housing in the USA is relatively cheap. The house I'm in via a similar town in the USA I could buy for 75% less. 3 doors down there is a similar 3 bedroom house selling for just $100,000, unlike the one I'm in for $180,000. I bet you when everything does 'Crash' - the 1970's will be back !!! ;) |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:29pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:12pm:
Something to do with toilet training perhaps? |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:30pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:09am:
But what a put down by Keating! The best on the internet. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm
Saying that - there are a lot of 'other' industries doing quite well.
...just like National Parks in the USA during the Great Depression. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:12pm:
According to this water training company, they do cert II and cert III in ah! water training. The CEO (lol) or what I would call the proprietor is looking for some qualified staff, anyone looking for a job down there in country Vic? Check out the pie chart, the CEO must have St. Vitus's Dance. http://watertrainingaustralia.com.au/ Now you know what water trainers do, it's brilliant! pie chart LOL http://www.wioa.org.au/conference_papers/1998/pdf/06_Mike_Rankin.pdf |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:34pm
I remember me and my mate lived in a boarding house just down the road from the Lodge in Kirribilli. One night we went up to the Lodge, noticed the security guards were asleep and walked in and took a nice look around. We couldn't find Anita though - but I'm sure if we did, she wouldn't have minded our visit at all ;) ;).
The following week on the front page of the Daily Telegraph the Security were grilled for being asleep. ;) ...alas, we should have had a swim in the Lodge pool like that fella did a year or so ago. ;D |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:35pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm:
That's right Jas, prostitution and liquor sales always flourish in bad times too. Maybe we need another great depression to get the pothole problems fixed. Or they could always take on a massive infrastructure project, like build 300,000 government houses for the homeless. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:41pm
Well just goes to show how 'stupid' people can be. No money - but enough for alcohol ::).
Sums up the Housing situation and the Banks lending money out doesn't it ...people buying stuff they can't afford. I hear the Farming Industry in Australia is booming besides the floods. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:42pm
...and maybe its just a 'city' thing? ;)
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:50pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm:
Sounds like a work for the dole scam :( |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:14pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:26pm:
you may learn one day that the entire housing market is not like your street in your rural town. there are certainly depressed areas and also the exact reverse. Im living in what was a cheap area when i bough and is now very sought after and no house for sale remains unsold - period. and im not alone. you need to take the ENTIRE market into account and the result there is that after a flat couple years where prices drops have been on average 5-7%, prices are on the move upward again. just because it isnt happening in your street dont mean it isnt happening. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:19pm
<<Sounds like a work for the dole scam>> Sad
................................................................ About as practical too. Maybe that's where the engineers at Wivenhoe dam got their certificates from. "THREE dam engineers will be referred to the Crimes and Misconduct Commission regarding their handling of the Wivenhoe Dam following the release of the flood inquiry's final report." Read more: http://www.news.com.au/national/dam-engineers-referred-to-cmc-as-flood-report-handed-down/story-e6frfkvr-1226301558213#ixzz1pKBNPMvm |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:27pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 3:26pm:
Some people don't take into account that growth has departed, not to be seen for decades if ever. We are coming into a giant financial tsunami and those places that are selling for $100,000 today will be a lot less in a couple of years time. Hoping the government in all their wisdom (NOT) will have run out of available funds to prop up the already dead real estate market. Investors won't bother because the rent returns won't be worth the trouble, so there should be plenty of cheapies on the market soon. CRASH *^#!* BUST *#!<* BANG *>#!* |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:29pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:14pm:
wait till the recession kicks in. It won't seem like the streets are paved with gold anymore ;) Sentiment changes over time you know ;) Remember the dot com bubble before it burst. Even the posty was giving advice on what shares to buy as though it was always going to go up indefinitely ;) Remember what happened next !! :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:42pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:27pm:
What madweekend conveniently ignores is that we have the lowest bank lending growth rate in 35 years. It is credit that fuels the property bubble. Without easy access to credit the bubble will deflate because there is no longer any money to pay the ridiculous prices that they have been asking. The people who have bought recently will be the ones who suffer as the ponzi scheme collapses and there is no money to pay the higher and higher prices. Steve Keen was warning of this scenario happening. Had it not been for Dudds stimulus package reinflating the bubble what we are seeing now would have occurred three years ago when all other property markets around the world were collapsing because of the GST. Dudd just bought some time whilst making the bubble worse :( |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:57pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:27pm:
so you keep saying yada yada. and been wrong for years and years now... not only wrong but MASSIVELY wrong - the only thing you specialise in. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by hawil on Mar 16th, 2012 at 5:09pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:21am:
Too many insults flying around this post, gentleman. But when the property boom master becomes bearish, there are worrying signs ahead. But owning just my place of living, it does not affect me that much. Bursting a millionaire's housing bubble 15 Mar 2012 | 10:44 AM | Christopher Joye The top end of the housing market is barely representative of the rest, despite what some commentators suggest. And the recent GFC has seen the most expensive homes suffer the biggest losses. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 5:28pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 4:57pm:
And your predictions are just like a stuck clock where you only get the time right twice each day :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:36pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 5:28pm:
except I ahve been right for 20 years all 24 hours of each day whil you have never yet been correct. all we have ever seen in price drops has been market corrections. the rest of the time we have seen capital appreciation - soemthing you seem unwilling or unable to comprehend. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:41pm
Longweekend,
You've been spruiking house prices since 2007 on Yahoo Politics. Sometimes I thought you were a real estate agent. If you were so sure then why didn't you borrow money against your house & buy up a couple of units? If you had done so you would most likely have negative equity yet you were telling others at least once a week to buy buy buy. You're a hypocrite & you should apologise. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Jasignature on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:44pm
Just getting some pizza for dinner and the shop TV had (W.I.N) A Current Affair showing how there is big bargains to be made on the flood of Reposessed Homes.
... :-? I personally would still hold out. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by PoliticalPuppet on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:46pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:44pm:
If you really want to make money you would start a current affairs show and let the highest bidder buy a 'news' segment. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 16th, 2012 at 7:50pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:36pm:
"Oh Magoo, you've done it again!"! LW, you are still living in an era that has ended and you wouldn't see a trend, if it bit you on the ass! Try looking, IF YOU CAN, at what is already happening in the US & Europe & that will show you where OZ will head! But, you won't, because you are what you say everyone else is! In short, YOU ARE AN IDIOT! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:58pm
Thanks Perceptions,
Finally Longweekend has been told by a moderator that he's an idiot. I'm sick of this guy. He owns his own home. He could have easily got a loan to buy & then rent out 2 units but he didn't. (the tenants pay the rent which covers the mortgage scheme ) At the same time he was spruiking property from as far back as the Yahoo days in 2007. He just wants to talk big on Ozpolitics but doesn't believe his own fantasies. For God's sake - the Govt. had to cover the Banks in 2008 to stop a run on funds. What a great time to invest :D but Longweekend sat tight on his house & got a job as water trainer. Gimme a break. ;D |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 16th, 2012 at 10:34pm perceptions_now wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 7:50pm:
I woudl say let's see how it all pans out and see who is right but that only works with people of intelligence and integrity. you are neither. you are the same idiot that has been predicting economic doom and gloom for many many years while being repeatedly wrong. and even when there is economic trouble you are STILL wrong about how it plays out. Your eceopnomic predicttive skills are on a par with Flannerys climate predictions. you were a fool when you were nedwin and reinventing yourslef fidnt help because the name changed but the fool remained. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 10:54pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:36pm:
so how come you didn't predict the GFC ?? Steve Keen did ;) Major oversight on your behalf wouldn't you say ;) As each day goes by you and your predictions are looking rather foolish. You remind me of Robert Deniro on Cape Fear where he is talking in tongues as he slowly drowns in the river. That's exactly how you sound now :D LOL scroll to 3:15 and you will see madweekend :D LOL http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUX5DqFLExk |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 16th, 2012 at 11:02pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 6:41pm:
Yeh madweekend missed out on making a quick million bucks by not taking his own advice :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by longweekend58 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 7:12am Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 10:54pm:
and here is the problem with arging with you. i DID predict the GFC and of my 5 specific predictions, I gopt 4 right. but let's not mention that right? and your record on those 5 predictions??? you got 4 wrong. and steve keen is STILL wrong on house prices. just like you he has been predicting a 50% drop in house prices for the last 5 years while being totally wrong. and he is only doing so because he got dudded out of his house by his wife in the divorce and he wants its value to plummet. u r an idiot. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 8:57am
Hi Longweekend,
You always insulted Steve Keen & all his ideas. Have a read: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Keen |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by muso on Mar 17th, 2012 at 9:06am Bobby. wrote on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:58pm:
Ahem. I might be wrong, but I don't think PN intended to be wearing his moderator's hat for that post. That's one of the reasons I quit as a global moderator. I would have cringed at that remark BB. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 9:21am
Hi Muso,
I think I'll copy & paste it for future reference. ;D Perceptions about Longweekend: Quote:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:23am longweekend58 wrote on Mar 17th, 2012 at 7:12am:
Where is the evidence of you predicting the GFC ?? You never predicted it at all and if you were so sure of your silly predictions why didn't you go out an buy up property ?? In your own words you could have made easy money but you didn't do a thing !! It's one thing making predictions with the same chance outcome as flipping a coin it's another standing by them which you don't do !! And with bank lending growth rate at a 35 year low there is no longer any easy credit to fuel the bubble and maintain the ponzi scheme so there is only one way for house prices to go and that is DOWN ! DOWN DOWN PRICES ARE DOWN :D LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 12:28pm
Hi Nail,
At last a moderator has said to Longweekend: Quote:
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 17th, 2012 at 12:58pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 17th, 2012 at 12:28pm:
I don't know why madweekend is so worried about the property market collapsing. He reckons he owns his own home which he only paid 35K for and I doubt very much that property is going to fall that far that he has lost. He also never took his own financial advice and speculated on the property market so a collapsing property market shouldn't effect him in the slightest but he still barks the loudest on these forums. Why ?? Perhaps he gave other people bad financial advice and now somebody he knows is about to get burnt badly !! Maybe he gave financial advice to people from his own church ;) LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 5:20pm
Here is an interesting take on the housing market, incidentally from a person who's predictions have been proven true, Steve Keen. Spruikers take note!
We managed to buy time, just like Greece and the European debt crises. Just like America and their money printing fiasco. The best chart was this one: It shows that, adjusted for the time at which house prices peaked, the Australian housing bubble is in lockstep with house price declines in Japan... And not far behind the US. We're on track for trouble, even if you don't think we'll get there. So why is Australia suffering now and not last year and the year before? Part of the answer, according to Keen, is that we managed to buy time with what he calls the 'first-home vendors grant' (because it benefitted home sellers rather than first-home buyers). But buying time just makes the pain worse when the crash does come, especially for the first-home buyers tricked into the market by their government. The question is whether they will deserve a bailout when things turn sour. So how much does debt really matter to an economy as a whole? Keen seems to think it's the unseen elephant in the room. At least the conventional economists can't spot it. And he's very persuasive. You might think the world of debt-based economics is difficult or complicated. But if you're on the side of the person consuming the information, it's actually very intuitive. Keen has done the hard yards for you. Think of it in terms of your own household. If you borrow money to buy a house, has your income increased in that year? If you asked your accountant, they would say no. But an economist measuring the GDP of your household would say yes - you've got money and spent it - that's economic activity. So borrowing adds to GDP. And if you separate the change in GDP out from the rest of GDP, you discover that a lot of our world's growth has been debt funded. The last time that happened it ended badly. Here's another chart featured in Keen's presentation that he kindly allowed your editor to use. It shows that aggregate private debt has a habit of raging out of control and then plummeting back to earth at precisely the moments when booms and busts are particularly severe. The Great Depression and the current economic debacle feature prominently. http://www.dailyreckoning.com.au/debt-onomics-and-the-coming-debt-ocalypse/2012/03/17/ |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 17th, 2012 at 8:49pm muso wrote on Mar 17th, 2012 at 9:06am:
Well Muso, I would suggest if it's good for the Goose (Longweakend) to go around calling everyone he disagrees with a Moron, an IDIOT or something similar on nearly every post, then perhaps the Gander (being me) can make it clear (every so often), that LW is what he accuses others of being, namely he is an IDIOT &/or a MORON! If for no other reasons, than to balance the ledger a little & expose him (LW), for what he is, which is wrong in many of his assertions and a decidedly anti social person into the bargain. Otherwise, I'm sure his mother still loves him & I look forward to many more of his posts, where he doesn't run down other members, just because that is his personality. Btw, I have no problem making these remarks, global moderator or not, I still have a right to rebuke a fool and I don't cringe, just never learned how! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:19pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 17th, 2012 at 5:20pm:
You mean this one, Pansi. Given that we are really only at the start of the Great Boomer Bust and the current GFC, I would suggest the current downard trend on private Debt has a long way to run! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:27pm
Hi Pansi & Perceptions,
What I don't understand is how the USA & Europe can print all that money & not cause hyperinflation? If you think about it - the $A should worth US $2 now. I don't think that printing money will have a nice ending. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by Frances on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:40pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:27pm:
It certainly didn't for the Weimar Republic.... |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:41pm Frances wrote on Mar 17th, 2012 at 10:40pm:
Yes & it led to the rise of Hitler. |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by perceptions_now on Mar 22nd, 2012 at 9:48pm http://seekingalpha.com/article/444681-international-housing-bubble-update-less-frothy-but-europe-is-behind?source=email_macro_view&ifp=0 ================================= The same trend is inevitable in OZ and for the similar reasons! |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by pansi1951 on Mar 23rd, 2012 at 6:19am
Yep, there's some cheapies on the market right now. But be very careful when buying that your new house has not been a victim of the recent floods. And don't rush in, the housing market has not bottomed out by a long shot.
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 23rd, 2012 at 9:28am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 23rd, 2012 at 6:19am:
painting over the mould and flood line ;) LOL |
Title: Re: House Prices Crash Post by thelastnail on Mar 23rd, 2012 at 9:30am perceptions_now wrote on Mar 22nd, 2012 at 9:48pm:
The graph will be skewed to the right for OZ because of dudds stimulus package distorting the market but no doubt it will fall off a lot quicker. |