General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1331495410 Message started by Armchair_Politician on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am |
Title: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am
Illegal Immigrants are costing us at least $60m every year on legal fees to provide them with free legal advice. That number is surely going to rise as more and more boats come prior to Tony Abbott becoming PM. It is just disgraceful that this ALP government continues to to take the low road by playing politics with this issue when they have a clear, proven solution right in front of them but won't use it - because it is a Coalition policy.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/taxpayers-will-fork-out-at-least-60-million-in-free-legal-advice-for-asylum-seekers-this-year/story-e6freuy9-1226296395878 |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:01am
total cost is billions... when you add up all costs
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by olde.sault on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:03am Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am:
Yes, and one soon picks Labor voters - criminal lawyers who are making a killing helping illegal arrivals get permanent visas while our poor are knocked back by Legal Aid. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Gist on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:03pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am:
Which solution is that? As far as I know both government and the Noalition are as one on their policies for asylum seekers. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:06pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am:
Boat people seeking asylum are not illegal immigrants. The majority are granted refugee status. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:08pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:06pm:
They are - they skip over perfectly safe countries during their journey here. If they just wanted somewhere to seek asylum, they would find the closest safe country and that would do. But noooo - they want Australia only and no other country will do. I noticed a picture of a kid on a boat holding up a cardboard sign asking, "where will we go?" and the answer to that is another question - "why come here instead of somewhere closer to home?"... |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:10pm
$60M? That's bugger all.
Legal immigration however - importing 200,000 people every year - that's gonna be costly, and not just in $$$ terms. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by bomen_guy on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:21pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:08pm:
what other countries are safe between Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq and Australia and have those countries sign the Refugees Convention |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:32pm bomen_guy wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:21pm:
Indonesia is safe, for one, and has one of the largest Muslim populations in the world! |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by bomen_guy on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:39pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:32pm:
Indonesia has not sign the Refugee Convention so it is not a safe place for Refugees. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:40pm bomen_guy wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:39pm:
Really? I was not aware of the civil war, terrorist strikes and general lawlessness that apparently exists in Indonesia... |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by skippy. on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:58pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am:
Besides the fact they're not illegal immigrants,they're ASYLUM SEEKERS, 5th grader, even the Liberal gazette didn't call them that. The overwhelming majority are also being accepted. Another one of your lies exposed, tony's office girl. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:01pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:08pm:
That's right, they are. The majority are granted refugee status. Therefore, you calling them "Illegal Immigrants" is incorrect. They are not illegal immigrants. What part of that is so hard to understand? Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:08pm:
Yes, they want the best for themselves and their families. :o Just like I do. What about you: do you want the best you can possibly get? I'm sure you do. Not sure why you would have an issue with people striving for the best in life. :-/ |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by skippy. on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:03pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:40pm:
Tony's office girl is still in remedial reading classes.I've highlighted the bit that counts but doubt she'll understand the words with more than three letters in them. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:23pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:40pm:
"Australia-bound asylum seekers tortured in Indonesia" http://www.abc.net.au/worldtoday/content/2012/s3448627.htm "A 28-year-old Afghan asylum seeker was allegedly beaten to death by guards in an Indonesian detention center Monday night." http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/news/afghan-asylum-seeker-allegedly-beaten-to-death-in-indonesia-detention-center/502002 |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:28pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:01pm:
If you think "the best" in life is bludging offa the dole, you really need to lift your aspirations a touch. It might suprise you to learn that what is "the best" for them isn't necessarily "the best" for us. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by FriYAY on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:34pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:23pm:
And they thought home was dangerous!! |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:49pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:28pm:
I'm not talking about the dole. Try to stay on topic, ok? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:52pm FriYAY wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:34pm:
Well, Armchair_Politician seems to think "Indonesia is safe ...". Certainly not my idea of safe. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Deathridesahorse on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:00pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am:
THIS IS A RACIST COUNTRY! RACIST PROPAGANDA PREPARES 'THE WEST' FOR WAR AND THAT IS WHAT BRED TERRORISM! ENDLESSLY PREPARING FOR WAR IS AN UNSUSTAINABLE THING AS,..... poo HAPPENS! ENDLESSLY PREPARING FOR WAR BY MEANS OF RACIST PROPGANDA IS A DEATHWISH!! :o :o |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:01pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 1:49pm:
You are, actually. You can't separate that "inconvenient" facet just because it doesn't fit your narrative. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:23pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:01pm:
No I'm not, actually. I'm talking about the destination country: Australia. I have no idea what they'll do when they get here. To suggest that they will all be "bludging offa the dole" is quite ridiculous. Furthermore, suggesting that all Australia has to offer is welfare is extremely ignorant. Try to stay on topic old man. Diversions like that do nothing to help your (ahem ::)) "argument". |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:29pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:23pm:
I didn't say all australia had to offer was the dole - but the 85% who are still bludging 5 years on seem to think so. You claim to have "no idea" what they do when they get here? Puh-lease...you know very well, but again, it doesn't fit the narrative, so will be ignored in true leftist fashion. Besides, shouldn't we be thinking about what is "best" for us - not what is best for urchins who have already ruined their own countries? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:43pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:29pm:
Don't you think everyone thinks that way? Asylum seekers are thinking "what's best for us?". And the answer is Australia. I'm talking about what the asylum seekers are thinking, not what Australians are thinking. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by olde.sault on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:55pm Gist wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 12:03pm:
Aren't you forgetting something, Gist? Forgot Howard's Pacific Solution, Nauru, temporary visas? Howard stopped the boats but that was the Coalition's dodge that KRudd would not wear. So he opened the gates, a littler wider this time, happy in the thought that it would help bankrupt Australia - Gillard is happy continuing this stupidity and Labor supporters (a dim lot) still give her thumbs up. I wonder if Graham Richardson and Bob Carr (a pair who use their brains) are happy seeing all this money going to accommodate parasites while our own sleep in tents, motor vehicles or under a bridge. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Baronvonrort on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:06pm olde.sault wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:55pm:
It was labor who allowed non citizens to get legal aid while a white man with a job probably wont qualify for legal aid. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:11pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:43pm:
But who cares what they think? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:17pm Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:06pm:
1. Why do you feel the need to mention skin colour? 2. Having a job does not automatically disqualify one from obtaining legal aid. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:21pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:11pm:
Well educated, compassionate people who are not selfish, ignorant bigots. I can understand if you don't care what they think. Seriously. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Gist on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:22pm olde.sault wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:55pm:
Why? Do I seem the forgetful kind of guy? I know you're kinda slow so I'll explain that to you in simple terms - No, I don't think so. olde.sault wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:55pm:
Definitely didn't forget these. Please outline to me precisely how Labor's detestable Malaysia solution differs from Nauru aside from location. olde.sault wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:55pm:
No Howard didn't. Only you loonie righties seem to think so, probably from spending too much time listening to twats like Abbott and criminals like Howard. It seems you're all incapable of understanding simple facts. olde.sault wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:55pm:
Blah blah... typical tiny minded bigotry from you. I want a number from you - how many people have YOU seen living under a bridge in the past ... say 4 years since Kevin07? Not your imaginary friends, I'm talking about real live flesh and blood people. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by FriYAY on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:24pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:21pm:
Hmmmm, only well educated people can think like this!! interesting comment from someone calling another a bigot. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:39pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:21pm:
lol. As I posted an another topic this morning: Quote:
Besides, I fit the bill. It's just that your "thinking" has a vast, gaping, hole in it. I think it would be "best" if I were given kuwaiti citizenship, so I too could enjoy $50,000+ per annum, without working a day for it. But I wonder what the kuwaitis - The REAL kuwaitis would think about bludgers rolling in to serve their own desires at Kuwaits expense? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by chicken_lipsforme on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:08pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 2:23pm:
Abdul Nacer Benbrika the Algerian asylum seeker, feels that the $1 million plus in 19 years of unemployment benefits and baby bonus payments etc for his wife and seven children he received from the Australian taxpayer in the time he had lived here is a very poor substitute for the welcome freedom has he been given in this country. Freedom enough not to find any employment in that time, but to plan with his 17 Jihadi mates to set bombs off at the MCG during last years Grand Final as a big thank you to all the left wing dumb Australians who bent over backwards for him in the last 19 years. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Maqqa on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:15pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:08pm:
And while in jail we also spend money feeding his family and protecting his rights - the inmates in Australian jails probably don't like terrorists too much |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:36pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:08pm:
If you seriously think that the actions of one man (and his 17 mates) are indicative of every asylum seeker coming to this country, you are seriously deluded. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:37pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:36pm:
What about 85% of asylum seekers? Is that indicative enough for ya? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:37pm Maqqa wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:15pm:
Nobody likes terrorists "too much". ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:39pm FriYAY wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 3:24pm:
I didn't call anyone a bigot. You need to read my post more carefully. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:46pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:37pm:
Absolutely! Can you show me that 85% of asylum seekers are getting "$1 million plus in 19 years of unemployment benefits and baby bonus payments etc" and planned "to set bombs off at the MCG during last years Grand Final"? I look forward to seeing your stats. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:50pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:46pm:
Hmmm well that I can't do - How about 85% being in receipt of benefits after 5 years? That should give some indication as to the attraction of australia. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:54pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:50pm:
Of course they're attracted to Australia: they want the best that life can offer them. Can't blame anyone for wanting the best out of life. However, 85% of them are not terrorists and 85% of them have not been receiving unemployment benefits for 19 years. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:00pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:54pm:
Got a link to those figures cobber? ;D |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:03pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:00pm:
Nope. You got a link that says I'm wrong? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:07pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:03pm:
Oh so that's the way it works now is it? ;D |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by FriYAY on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:12pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 4:39pm:
So who are the selfish ignorant bigots to which you refer? No, you like the word bigot, you just fail see how much of a one you can be. ;) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:14pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:07pm:
Absolutely. If you have stats that show 85% of asylum seekers are terrorists, I'll be glad to look at them. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:17pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:14pm:
Terorists? Nar mate, that's not my argument. I'm saying 85% are sponges, not terrorists. Which is a sentiment you tacitly agreed to just now: Quote:
So since we're in agreement that they ARE sponges, the only sticking point is why you think they have a right to come and sponge off Australians? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:19pm FriYAY wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:12pm:
Read my post carefully, please. ::) I'm not referring to "selfish ignorant bigots". I'm referring to people who are "not selfish, ignorant bigots". Thus, I reiterate: I didn't call anyone a bigot. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:20pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:19pm:
Weak back-pedalling. Just own it man. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:24pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:17pm:
That's easy: Article 14 of The Universal Declaration of Human Rights ... "Everyone has the right to seek and to enjoy in other countries asylum from persecution". (I don't consider them all sponges by the way: your 85% figure refers to those on benefits for UP TO 5 years, and the benefits are not only unemployment benefits.) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:25pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:20pm:
No back pedalling at all. Show me in my post exactly where I called someone a bigot, and I will glady concede. Waiting ... |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:27pm
When your country is struggling and needs everyone to pitch in.
Is there anything more cowardly than shooting through and turning up to a country which is better off than you and live off their backs?? What heroes they are. Plus they are sh*t at driving cabs too. :) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:29pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:24pm:
No it doesn't. read it again. http://www.immi.gov.au/media/publications/research/_pdf/settlement-outcomes-new-arrivals.pdf |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:30pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:25pm:
weak as piss |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:29pm:
Yes it most certainly does. I suggest you read it again. "... how Humanitarian Program entrants are faring during their first five years in Australia". Look at the graph on page 20. 83.5% for "4 - <5 years". Do you know what this symbol means: "<" ? It means less than. The study is looking at the first 5 years. Not more than 5 years. You need to read these reports carefully. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:57pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50pm:
Lol. It does not behoove one of your calibre to be so condescending. In one way, you are correct, the table is for upto 5 years. As you pointe dout 4-5 years has a figure of 83.5% - but the way you worded it "upto 5 " years suggests anywhere between 0 - 5 years. What's the figure for, say 1 -2 years? Up around 90% innit? Gradually (very gradually) declining...We could extrapolate from that - if it takes 5 years to decline from 90 - 83.5, we could figure that after 19 years, it'd still be somewhere around the 70% mark. No? Well put up a link that proves otherwise! ;D |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:02pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:57pm:
Correct, it could be taken that way. That wasn't my intention though (as my subsequent post shows). My intention was to demonstrate that the report doesn't talk about stats for more than 5 years. "After 5 years", in this case, doesn't mean more than 5 years, it means after a 5 year period. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:06pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:02pm:
fair enough, my mistake in part too. So now we'll just have to rely on the "fact" that 70% of "humanitarian entrants" are still on benefits after 19 years. damn sponges. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:14pm ... wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:06pm:
:-/ |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by salad in on Mar 12th, 2012 at 6:33pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:50am:
Don't you love the altruistic nature of Australians? Quote:
Rather than equip our hospitals with state-of-the-art diagnostic machines we spend taxpayers' dollars on asylum shoppers. Gotta love those Aussies. May Halla the Merciful smile on them. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:48pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:24pm:
Asylum from persecution is NOT permanent settlement. These asylum seekers are not seeking asylum, which would be temporary protection. No. They are seeking permanent settlement. Not the same thing. They are not entitled to permanent settlement under any international law. But you tell them that there will be only asylum, nothing more- and watch them riot and burn down wherever they are housed. They are not seeking mere asylum. They want nothing short of permanent settlement. Therefore they are are illegal immigrants, pretending to be asylum seekers. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:58pm Soren wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:48pm:
Exactly. Asylum seekers are precisely that - people who seek asylum elsewhere until it is safe for them to return home. What we have are people determined to stay here permanently under the guise of seeking asylum. They have the money to come through legal channels - they are simply impatient, unwilling to wait in line. What we have in our detention centres (and now in our community, thanks to Gillard's incompetence and petulance) are queue-jumping country shoppers, NOT asylum seekers. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 12th, 2012 at 9:20pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:58pm:
Their money is no good for migration purposes. They could not get any kind of visa, not even a tourist visa, to come to Australia, let alone meet the entry requirements as legal immigrants. That is why they are travelling legally only as far as Indonesia and then ditch their IDs and come as undocumented illegal entranst. Think about that. They could save themselves from a perilous sea voyage plus thousands of dollars in people smugglers' fees if they spent another few hundred dollars to fly to Darwin, rather than get out at Jakarta. But they couldn't get a tourist visa. Why wouldn't they meet the requirements for a tourist visa under their own names - but meet the refugee requirements without ID? Because it is a racket. Offer them asylum only and they will stop coming, these 'asylum seekers'. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 9:52pm Soren wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:48pm:
Your ignorance on this matter is truly astounding. Seriously. "Each year however, several thousands of people already in Australia make applications for protection (refugee status). These include people who arrived lawfully and who have been staying in the Australian community, and people who have arrived unlawfully in Australia by sea or air. If found to be owed protection through an assessment of their claims for asylum, these applicants will be granted a permanent protection visa, provided they meet health and character requirements." http://www.immi.gov.au/media/fact-sheets/61asylum.htm "'In countries with discrete refugee assessment procedures, an asylum seeker is someone whose claim for protection has not been decided by the country in which she or he has submitted their claim. Not every asylum seeker will ultimately be recognised as a refugee, but every refugee is initially an asylum seeker.' " http://www.immi.gov.au/media/fact-sheets/62assistance.htm "An asylum seeker is a person who has fled their own country and applied for protection as a refugee." "As a party to the Refugee Convention, Australia has agreed to ensure that people who meet the United Nations definition of refugee are not sent back to a country where their life or freedom would be threatened. This is known as the principle of non-refoulement." http://www.hreoc.gov.au/human_rights/immigration/asylum_seekers.html#who Maybe you should do some research on this topic before you make another ridiculous post. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:07pm Soren wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 9:20pm:
It's not illegal to arrive without documentation, or unannounced. You have absolutely no idea what you're talking about. "It is not illegal under any Australian domestic law, including the Migration Act 1958 which recognises entry without a visa for the purpose of seeking asylum. There simply is no such crime." http://www.ajustaustralia.com/downloads/Illegals_complaints_guide.pdf Stop listening to Andrew Bolt, and read a book or two. You might actually learn something. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:08pm
Let's give them temporary protection (ie asylum), by all means. But not permanent settlement (which is called immigration).
And miraculously, they will stop coming. They are not interested in asylum (temporay protection). Asylum is not worth $10,000 plus a dangeroud sea voyage. They can have asylum in their neighbouring countries for nothing. They want permannet settlement. THAT is not asylum. So illegal immigrant is precisely the correct term for them, NOT asylum seekers. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Imperium on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:09pm
thank f*ck we don't have contiguous borders with third world countries. i count my lucky stars australia is an island continent.
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:17pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:58pm:
Incorrect. Would you like to try again? "asylum seeker n (Government, Politics & Diplomacy) (Law) a person who, from fear of persecution for reasons of race, religion, social group, or political opinion, has crossed an international frontier into a country in which he or she hopes to be granted refugee status" http://www.thefreedictionary.com/asylum+seeker "refugee A person who, by reason of real or imagined danger, has left their home country or country of their nationality and is unwilling or unable to return." http://www.thefreedictionary.com/refugee http://www.refugeecouncil.org.au/arp/faqs.html#dif-rm |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:21pm Soren wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:08pm:
Nope. "Australia's Immigration Program has two components: *Migration Program for skilled and family migrants *Humanitarian Program for refugees and others in refugee-like situations." http://www.immi.gov.au/media/fact-sheets/60refugee.htm Legal asylum seekers, who are eventually granted refugee status and accepted as immigrants under the Humanitarian Program. Please do some research before you post more lies. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by bomen_guy on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:22pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 5:27pm:
Same as you andrei shooting through from England so you don't have to paid back your university tuition fees. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:37pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:21pm:
But the boat people are competing for re-settlemnt with the guys sitting in camps. The refugee resttlement numbers are limited (14,000 pa). All boat arrival 'asylum seekers' want resettlement in Australia - none of them are applying for other countries. So they are jumping the asylum queue by getting here. What would happen if Australia said it would give all illegal arrivals asylum (what they ostensibly want) but not permanent settlement, as it reserves those places for people in camps. Australia wouldbe entirely within its rights and would meet the terms every international convention. And yet - the boats would stop instantly. Even plane arrivals claiming asylum would slow to a trickle. The racket is to pay $10,000 to the smugglers to avoid waiting in camps for permanent settlement. That's queue jumping. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:38pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 8:58pm:
Nope. You're not even close. "Australia's Immigration Program has two components: *Migration Program for skilled and family migrants *Humanitarian Program for refugees and others in refugee-like situations." " ... the onshore protection/asylum component fulfils Australia's international obligations by offering protection to people already in Australia who are found to be refugees according to the Refugees Convention" http://www.immi.gov.au/media/fact-sheets/60refugee.htm "Disappointingly, the term “queue jumper” is now so deeply entrenched in our nation’s vernacular that some Australian politicians use it interchangeably with the term “asylum seeker”. Let me be clear and point out that two are not synonymous. In fact, the queue is a myth." http://www.amnesty.org.au/refugees/comments/22616/ Let's just stick to the facts, and avoid the ignorant bigotry. OK? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:40pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:38pm:
the queue is the annual refuge resettlement quota (14,000) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:47pm Soren wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:40pm:
A quota is not a queue. Two completely different things. One can't jump a quota |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:55pm
These are the illegal immigrants:
"THERE are enough illegal immigrants living in Australia to fill a large regional city, and nearly all of these 58,400 people arrive by plane." "There are 13 times more illegal immigrants than there are asylum seekers in detention who have arrived by boat. Figures obtained by The Advertiser from the Immigration Department and under the Freedom of Information Act show plane arrivals from the United States (5080) and Britain (3610) are near the top of the list of those in the country without a valid visa. China (8070), and Malaysia (4200) round out the top four." http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/illegal-immigrants-arrive-by-plane/story-e6frea6u-1226200568050 |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Karnal on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:01pm Soren wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:37pm:
Good point, but where are you going to send them whe they stop being temporary? If they are found to be legitimate refugees, their country of origin is still a risk. Also, people tend to marry and have kids. The kids are Australian citizens. The temps might even marry a nice Aussie lass. Why not? Tourists do it all the time. My parents met when my father jumped ship - illegally I might add. And how did you get here, old boy? You've always been cagey about that one. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Maqqa on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:05pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 10:55pm:
So what sort of paperwork do they have if they "arrive by plane" And what sort of paperwork if the overstayed their time? Answer in both cases is a PASSPORT and in alot of cases a VISA Those arriving by boats - they don't have anything. So to compare the two scenario is naive on your part |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:15pm Maqqa wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:05pm:
Asylum seekers do not need a passport or visa. It's perfectly legal to arrive in Australia and claim asylum without documentation. Thus, boat people are not illegal immigrants. People who arrive by plane, with passports and visas, and then do not return home once their visa has expired (or have an invalid visa) are illegal immigrants. What part of this don't you understand? You seem to be the naive one. I'm just stating facts. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Baronvonrort on Mar 13th, 2012 at 8:40am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:15pm:
Asylum seekers will need a visa and passport if they fly in. The migration act has penalties for airline companies that bring people into Australia without a valid passport or visa so they dont ler people board international flights who do not have a passport with a valid visa. Australia does promote tourism so we cannot be too harsh with visa overstayers. 3200 out of 3237 boat people surveyed,almost 99% of them disposed of their passports before coming to Australia by boat after flying into Indonesia with a passport. So why do these people dispose of their passports to come in on an expensive unseaworthy people smugglers boat when they could fly in at a tenth of the cost? Why would a genuine refugee dispose of their passport before claiming asylum if they had nothing to hide? I think a genuine refugee would have no reason to dispose of documents like passports that can clearly indentify who they are and where they are from. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by bomen_guy on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:03am Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 8:40am:
A couple of weeks ago all you right wingers was going on about a boat sinking going from Malaysia to Indonesia that had Aslyum Seekers on board and you were saying it was Labor fault. Now you are saying they fly into Indonesia. If aslyum seeker fly into Indonesia can you put a link up to show they do and not something from the liberal party hand book. I have look everywhere and I can't find anything to say they do fly in, so if you say so it must be true so where did you get your information |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Baronvonrort on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:28am bomen_guy wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:03am:
They fly into Malaysia as well as Indonesia. This information about 3200 out of 3237 (Almost 99% of them)) boat people throwing away their passports before coming to Australia by boat after flying into Indonesia comes from a Labor party website. I have posted the link numerous times you will find this information on this page- http://www.minister.immi.gov.au/media/cb/2012/cb182430.htm |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by chicken_lipsforme on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:06am bomen_guy wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:03am:
This was reported in the media some months ago on information received from government immigration sources on interviewing these people, that many country shoppers have taken not one international plane flight from their home country, but two to get to Jakarta via Malaysia. All done before meeting up with criminal people smugglers in Indonesia and ditching their passports etc before arriving in Australian waters. And Navy personnel have previously reported to the media that many of these country shoppers turn up on the deck of their patrol boat with a bum bag stuffed with money. In some cases up to $10K. One does not need a Liberal party handbook to find this practice extremely suspicious. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:02am chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:06am:
Wealth has nothing to do with asylum seeking. "An asylum seeker is a person who has fled their own country and applied for protection as a refugee. According to the United Nations Convention relating to the Status of Refugees, as amended by its 1967 Protocol (the Refugee Convention), a refugee is a person who is outside their own country and is unable or unwilling to return due to a well-founded fear of being persecuted because of their: *race *religion *nationality *membership of a particular social group or *political opinion." http://www.hreoc.gov.au/human_rights/immigration/asylum_seekers.html The amount of money one has (or doesn't have) has nothing to do with granting refugee status. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:12am
You have a frighteningly naive view and ignorance of what mass migration can do to a country.
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:18am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:12am:
"mass" ? ;D Let me guess: "we're being swamped!" ::) Please, ... do a little research and learn something about this subject (and that doesn't mean listening to Andrew Bolt or Pauline Hanson). |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:22am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:18am:
I come from Great Britain where mass uncontrolled migration has turned parts of our cities into places which no longer resemble England. Soon there will be more Muslim voters in Leicester and Bradford than British voters. Peckham, Brixton, Edgware Rd - look more like the West Indies or Pakistan. You are more likely to see a mosque than a church in these places. In Australia walk through Springvale and play spot the white person. Go through Noble Park and see groups of menacing looking Africans on street corners. They huddle together in enclaves, they don't mix and the country's culture is diluted. No. It is a bad way for us to go. Let Europe be a warning. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by buzzanddidj on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:25am
Asylum seekers facing court without help
Kirsty Needham March 13, 2012. Aslyum seekers are representing themselves in court as legal fees are not funded by the government. Asylum seekers are resorting to going to court without legal representation because there is no government funding for lawyers, despite the high rate at which courts are overturning refugee rejections. The Federal Magistrates Court had to abandon a hearing in Sydney this month after a man detained in Pontville, Tasmania, filed an unintelligible application by fax and appeared by telephone. Federal Magistrate Matthew Smith directed a lawyer be found for the asylum seeker, but even pro-bono agencies were unable to locate a barrister in Sydney to take the case. The legal firm paid for by the immigration department to prepare the man's initial refugee claim routinely drops its clients once they receive a rejection after the first review, because government funding ends at this point. A humanitarian campaign by New South Wales and Victorian commercial law firms to fill the gap saw 40 asylum seekers last month accepted as pro-bono cases to be taken to the Federal Magistrate Court. Katrina Ironside, principal solicitor of the Public Interest Law Clearing House, which is co-ordinating the campaign, said: "We are incredibly frustrated by this. We are asking the NSW and Victorian legal profession to do this on a pro-bono basis — but it's a government responsibility. We don't have any substantial funding for the project and our concern is we may have to stop." The clearing house is industry-funded. The High Court ruled in December 2010 that boat arrivals are entitled to access Australian courts when the immigration department rejects a claim for refugee status. An independent report on the impact of the High Court decision warned the federal government last year that the Federal Magistrates Court may become flooded with applications from detainees in remote locations who are legally unrepresented and therefore disadvantaged, or the lack of legal advice may deter applications. The report, by former Commonwealth Ombudsman John McMillan, advised the government against introducing a new legal assistance scheme to cover the asylum seekers' court costs, and instead monitor the situation. Ms Ironside said 95 barristers and 22 law firms had said they would donate their time to help asylum seekers reach court. "It is clearly seen by the legal profession as an access to justice issue," she said. Magistrate Smith transferred the Pontville detainee's case to Adelaide, where he now lives on a bridging visa, saying he was "hopeful that there may be an opportunity to find a lawyer in Adelaide". The federal government will scrap the immigration department's separate system for assessing boat arrivals later this year, with the Refugee Review Tribunal to assess all cases instead. The Greens, meanwhile, said yesterday they wouldn't support a private member's bill from NSW independent MP Rob Oakeshott to allow offshore processing in countries that have signed the Bali Process. "Australia must continue assessing claims on shore because it's the cheapest and only legally sound means of fulfilling our international obligations to guarantee the wellbeing and safety of people fleeing persecution," said Greens Senator Sarah Hanson-Young. The Coalition also opposes the bill. http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/political-news/asylum-seekers-facing-court-without-help-20120312-1uwkg.html#ixzz1oxIsBG7i |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:28am
The effect of mass migration on France for example.
France_001.jpg (147 KB | 32
) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:28am Quote:
Oh the horror of it all! We are not funding bogus appeal after bogus appeal! It's so unfair!!!! |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by buzzanddidj on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:33am Maqqa wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:05pm:
On DISINGENUOUS "tourist" or "business" visas Who then claim "asylum" - on the back of FRAUDULENT visa application declarations |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:40am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:22am:
I'm not scared of Muslims or people who aren't white. If I was the only white person in my street, I couldn't care less. I guess some people have irrational fears, and others don't. :-/ |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:42am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:28am:
Do you object to the colour photography, or the colour of the players' skin? Surely not skin colour? Give me a break. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:43am Quote:
LOL. Your naivete betrays the fact you haven't personally expereinced the 'joys' of diversity. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:44am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:42am:
No, its not a racism comment. It's something that slaps you in the face without saying anything and highlights what has happened to France culturally as a result of mass migration. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:48am ... wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:43am:
Your assumption is incorrect. Try again. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:49am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:44am:
Do you object to the players being black? Seriously? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:49am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:48am:
Your protestations are as empty as your head. I nailed it. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:50am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:49am:
Don't be ridiculous. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:54am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:50am:
Hardly representative of a FRENCH national team though is it? France for the french Senegal for the senegalese. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:55am ... wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:49am:
LOL, not even close. I've lived in very diverse areas (all around the country, and in Europe) and currently live in a suburb where Asians outnumber me by about 10 to 1. However, none of this has anything to do with the topic. Asylum seekers are not "illegal immigrants", and we're not "being swamped". Say hello to Bolty for me ;) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:56am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:50am:
So what's your problem? |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:59am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:55am:
Exactly - Asians. They call asians 'the model minority' ya know. I have a lot of dealings with Asians, I'm not quite an orientophile, but pretty close to it. Now if you were the only white in a street full of lebs, or coons, then you'd care. And then you'd move away. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:02pm ... wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:59am:
I've lived in other areas with "Lebs", Muslims, black people etc. I actually moved away from those areas because of the bogan, white Australians. Go figure! The others didn't bother me in the slightest. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by chicken_lipsforme on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:02pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 11:02am:
Never said it did. But if one is to be a new age globe trotting country shopper, then wealth is what one needs old boy. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:03pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:02pm:
Agreed. I can't see what point you're trying to make though. They still are not "illegal immigrants". |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:14pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:02pm:
Ahh youve lived in areas where there is a leb or a "black person" (african? abo? or are all blacks the same?) - not the same thing as being "the only white person" is it? But it doesn't matter - I don't believe you anyway. It sounds a bit too much like justification after the fact - a bit revisionist, like you're carefully reconstructing feelings and events to fit your ideological narrative. That narrative fitting the hackneyed mold of "white australians = bad, anybody else = good." |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:21pm ... wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:14pm:
You will, of course, understand that I am devastated! :'( |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:40pm Paki gob on a stick wrote on Mar 12th, 2012 at 11:01pm:
Legally. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by chicken_lipsforme on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:47pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:03pm:
No, it makes them wealthy country shoppers looking for a nice wealthy stupid Western nation to support them for life. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Karnal on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:53pm Soren wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:40pm:
I see. Were you a cheese rep here on business, old boy? I, for one, am grateful that we're able to attract such marvellous cheese-selling talent to this country. The more cheese diversity, the better, I say. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:59pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:47pm:
Correct. And it also makes them perfectly legal asylum seekers. So, just for those who missed it: they are not "illegal immigrants", as the title of this thread wrongly suggests. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by salad in on Mar 13th, 2012 at 5:29pm
It might be best if we get a more educated person to rule on what is legal and what is illegal.
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 5:34pm salad in wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 5:29pm:
Well whaddya know - looks like the open borders advocates will have to find another argument. Good thing too - I was getting sick of "they're not illegal immigrants, they're asylum seekers" being spouted every day, as though it was an all-conquering argument in itself. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 6:04pm ... wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 5:34pm:
Well, prepare to get sicker. Boat people are asylum seekers, and they are not illegal immigrants. Do a little research on that letter and see what you come up with ;) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 13th, 2012 at 6:09pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 6:04pm:
Why bother? I don't even care, I should have let my first foray into this thread be my last: Quote:
But still, you should know that quibbling over terminology isn't a complete argument in itself. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 6:14pm
Actually, seeing as I'm such a nice guy I'll save you some time.
This guy (poiuytrewq) explains it fairly well: http://www.austech.info/general-chat/29162-boat-people-really-illegal-immigrants.html |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 6:18pm ... wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 6:09pm:
True, however, in this case the terminology is very important. If these people were illegal immigrants, I wouldn't be too happy about the $60m per year. However, seeing as they are legal asylum seekers, I have no problem with that figure. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by salad in on Mar 13th, 2012 at 8:19pm
Let's leave aside spin doctors at DIMIA and the Einsteins beavering away at Australian think-tank Austech. Let's get the wording from the convention:
I see the word "illegal". The thread title "Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year" is correct. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 8:24pm salad in wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 8:19pm:
The title is 100% wrong, as are you. An illegal entry does not make one an illegal immigrant. You saw the word illegal, you jumped at it (without understanding the issue), and you subsequently failed. Maybe you'll have better luck next time. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Baronvonrort on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:42pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 8:24pm:
If they fly in they need a visa and a passport so those who fly in cannot be illegal. 3200 out of 3237 boat people surveyed almost 99% of them said they disposed of their passports before coming to Australia by boat after flying into Indonesia. A genuine refugee would have no reason to dispose of their passport. This $60 million a year means over $1 million dollars per week just on legal fees,the free smokes,internet,mobile phones with international calls will add to this billion dollar debacle by labor and the greens. 4 boat people in detention when labor came to power |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:00pm Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 9:42pm:
Wrong, sorry. If they overstay their visas, they are illegal immigrants. http://www.news.com.au/national/no-detention-for-visa-dodgers/story-e6frfkvr-1225708050188 "MOST illegal immigrants arrive on tourist or temporary work visas." http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/most-illegal-aliens-overstay-visitor-visas/story-fn7x8me2-1226200619857 "13 Times More Illegal Immigrants Arrive By Plane Than By Boat" "Three in four of the 58,400 visa over stayers came on tourist or holiday-working visas; one in seven arrived as students and one in 15 disappeared after being granted temporary residency." http://www.gettingdownunder.com/2011/11/21/13-times-more-illegal-immigrants-arrive-by-plane-than-by-boat/ If someone arrives by plane, with a passport and visa, and they subsequently overstay their visa they are illegal immigrants. If someone comes by boat, with no passport and no visa, and they claim asylum they are legal asylum seekers. The majority of these people are granted refugee status and then become legal immigrants. Boat people are not illegal immigrants. People arriving by plane, overstaying their visas, are illegal immigrants. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Baronvonrort on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:23pm Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:00pm:
Where did say those who fly in are immigrants, i said they have a visa and passport therefore they are not illegal. The migration act does say it is an offence to enter Australia without a valid visa so airlines dont let people board who dont have a visa. Someone who overstays their visa is a visa overstayer, they should not be confused with country shopping economic migrants. The Migration act says they cannot claim asylum after their visa has expired so you are comparing apples to peanuts. Australia is promoted as a tourist destination so we cannot be too hard on tourists who overstay. Its pathetic how leftists deceive people by suggesting tourists who come here with a visa legally can somehow be compared to a boat person who chucks their passport away to hide their dubious past. We dont give handouts to those who overstay their visa they dont even qualify for medicare. 3200 out of 3237 boat people threw away their passports before illegally entering Australia by boat, a genuine refugee would have no reason to dispose of their passport. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Avram Horowitz on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:25pm
i like australia very much and is my host country -- they does make mistakes on refugees too as well as all people though.
You do know uncle meat,, that Israel before has asked Australian Government for details and to inspect refugees in camps because of belief of former Palestinian terror suspects wanted by security forces,, sometimes Australia is not cooperate on this though which i dont believe is correct. This is my only say on this topic other though as is not my position to make criticism of host nation. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:38pm Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:23pm:
Yes, we all know that, however, if they overstay their visa they are then illegal immigrants. "58,000 illegal immigrants in Australia have arrived by plane" http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/illegal-immigrants-arrive-by-plane/story-e6frea6u-1226200568050 Plus, "The Migration Act 1958 allows for entry to Australia without a visa for the purpose of seeking asylum." http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/opinion/boatpeople-not-illegal/story-fn558imw-1225857158897 |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Baronvonrort on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:01am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:38pm:
The Migration act says it is an offence for the captain of a ship to bring people to Australia who do not have a valid visa. The ship is confiscated and forfeited. If it is not illegal why does the captain lose his ship? The leftist are idiots in comparing visa overstayers to those boat people who throw away their passports to hire a people smuggler to come to Australia. A visa overstayer is a visa overstayer they are not immigrants. The migration act is clear that a visa overstayer cannot claim asylum once their visa has expired. The visa overstayer cannot claim asylum,they are not immigrants they get deported if they dont leave voluntarily. Quote:
The leftist try to deceive people by claiming a tourist who overstays his visa is somehow comparable to a country shopping economic migrant while ignoring the fact that 3200 out of 3237 boat people surveyed said they disposed of their passports before coming to Australia by boat after flying into Indonesia. A genuine refugee has no reason to dispose of his passport the leftist cannot accept this fact. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by chicken_lipsforme on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:30am Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:01am:
The Left are playing with semantics and are trying to cloud the issue. Doesn't work I'm afraid. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by skippy. on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:14am Avram Horowitz wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 10:25pm:
I hope they screen for Israeli terrorists too. ::) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:36am chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:30am:
Incorrect (yet again). Just presenting the facts (nothing to do with semantics). Asylum seekers coming by boat, with no visa, are not illegal immigrants. Fact. People who arrive by plane, with a visa, and then overstay their visa and continue to work in Australia are illegal immigrants. Fact. Please learn something about the subjest before you make these ridiculous comments. You're just making a fool of yourself and filling the thread with incorrect information. And, just for those who missed it, the title of this thread is incorrect: asylum seekers are not illegal immigrants. Fact. No semantics, just facts. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by The honky tonk man on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:50am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:36am:
*Yaaaaaaaaawn* OK then, |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:53am Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 10:01am:
Incorrect. It's not about comparing, it's about getting the facts straight. Fact #1: Asylum seekers are not illegal immigrants (as the title suggests). Fact #2: Visa overstayers (who arrived by plane) who continue to work in Australia are illegal immigrants. Fact. Read the stories from the links I've provided. |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:59am Uncle Meat wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:53am:
You aren't half a soft touch for these urchins you know... |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Uncle Meat on Mar 14th, 2012 at 12:15pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:59am:
1. I'm merely presenting the facts. The title of this thread is incorrect. Why don't people in this forum like facts? 2. I'm certainly not a 'soft touch' for illegal immigrants. Send them home. 3. However, when it comes to asylum seekers claiming their legal entitlements, I have no problem (however, if they're not granted refugee status - send them home). |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by chicken_lipsforme on Mar 14th, 2012 at 12:23pm skippy. wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:14am:
Yep, along with the tooth fairy skip. :) |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by skippy. on Mar 14th, 2012 at 12:48pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 12:23pm:
I hope you aren't suggesting Israel has no terrorists, chook? . |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Soren on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:13pm Paki gob on a stick wrote on Mar 13th, 2012 at 12:53pm:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jralrUt5gu8 |
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 16th, 2012 at 8:39pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3KBuQHHKx0
Title: Re: Illegal Immigrants costing us $60m per year Post by Armchair_Politician on Mar 17th, 2012 at 6:02am skippy. wrote on Mar 14th, 2012 at 11:14am:
MORON ALERT!!! MORON ALERT!!! ::) |