General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Gillard rolls out the welcome mat for illegals!!!
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1329423899

Message started by Armchair_Politician on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:24am

Title: Gillard rolls out the welcome mat for illegals!!!
Post by Armchair_Politician on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:24am
Not only does Gillard and Labor make a good business case for people smugglers to ply their trade, this incompetent government is also providing $10,000 as a welcome gift to those who leave detention while their claims are processed. Wish I could get that!!!

http://bigpondnews.com/articles/TopStories/2012/02/17/Asylum_seekers_receive_10k_gift_packs_719288.html

Title: Re: Gillard rolls out the welcome mat for illegals!!!
Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:33am
Australians are now second class.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:36am
Not "now" - we were the moment the Greens and Labor formed a minority government.

Post by Infarction on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:39am
You would have to be a family of 9 to get anywhere near that, and not that they actually get that anyhow, the furnishings, provided by the red cross, are part of the house which they leave behind when they leave.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:47am
They shouldn't be living in the community when we have so many of our own people who are homeless. Time to put homeless Australians before illegal immigrant country shoppers!

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:52am
Tell you what, Many Australians are in just as much in need for basic items, even I went though hell the last 12 months, replacing stuff after my ex cleaned me out. Skipping meals, not going out, saving every cent just to put some furniture back in my home... Ive never collected hand outs from the Government in my life, from the age of 15 I've been in the work force working full time. Is it any wonder migrants have a feel of entitlement over Australians. what are we telling them with this hand out? "Here you go mate, here is 10 grand in cold hard cash that not even Australians get, we will even put you to the head of the line above all the Aussie Homeless for public housing and if we cant find you a house strait away we will put you up in a nice hotel."

Post by Armchair_Politician on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:55am
Not much of a deterrent either. Once people smugglers read this story on the net today, they'll be telling illegal immigrants that not only do they get to live in Australia, they get free stuff to make life more comfy for them - they'll never have to work again!

Post by salad in on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:57am

Infarction wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:39am:
You would have to be a family of 9 to get anywhere near that, and not that they actually get that anyhow, the furnishings, provided by the red cross, are part of the house which they leave behind when they leave.

Eight-year housing wait for family in tent
Reid Sexton
February 14, 2012

A MELBOURNE family of five has been living in a tent for four months because of a lack of low-cost housing.

Shocked welfare campaigners say it illustrates the profound challenges facing many Victorian families trying to secure safe accommodation.

The Baillieu government last night said it was working closely with the family and that they had been offered emergency accommodation. The family say they turned down the space in a city refuge over safety concerns.

[...]

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/eightyear-housing-wait-for-family-in-tent-20120213-1t26e.html

We live in interesting times.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:58am
It always made me wonder why every time i see a BMW on the road its being driven by a migrant.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:59am
It's well past time that this government was shown the door. They've simply lost the plot and are out of touch with the Australian people.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 7:20am
I understand once the 'family' leaves the house, the furniture stays behind for the next family, so this cannot be classified as a gift from the government to individual country shoppers.
And to be honest, the government cant exactly let these people out of detention to go to nothing.
Either they put them in a furnished house, or they are left to their own devices and the crime rate skyrockets.
Take your pick.
It's not as if these people who barely if at all speak English, no schooling, no trade or skills are going to go out and get a job.
Lets be real about this.
85% are on benefits after 5+ years in the country, Abdul Benbrika the would be terrorist now in prison was on benefits for 19 years and never worked a day in his life in this country.  And if the Today Tonight report is correct, he's managed to leech nearly $1Million for him, wife and seven kids in that 19 years.
Now I don't blame the government for carrying out this latest Labor exercise in mismanagement, I don't even blame the country shoppers for having a go at getting here to live a full life curtesy of the Australian taxpayer.
I place the full blame at the feet of this inept, incompetent and totally wasteful Labor government for the removal of a working policy and subsituting it with a dismally failed one.
And despite all the rhetoric, compound the failure by continuing to allow the situation to remain out of control.
The Government needs to go.

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 7:52am

In a Right Wing Lead  Country  Aid should only go to the wealthy.

Be aware of the Heartless !

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 7:57am
In the UK Disabled people face unlimited unpaid work or cuts in benefit!They are lead by A Similar Political Party as The Australian Opposition will lead.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:07am
Maybe we should move our poor outside detention centres. They could beg money from the boat people.

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:16am

So All in favour of helping Australia's poor, disbled and unemployed then?  Well Do NOT  vote for Mr Abbott.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:22am
You idiots get sucked every time.
Have you noticed how these sort of stories appear in the Tele on 1 of 2 days.
1) slow news
2) when faced with news that may cast a positive light on the government.

So instead of today's front page declaring that our unemployment fell & the economy is chugging away nicely we get this tripe.
And you bogans fall upon it with wailing and gnashing of teeth that make an Islamic funeral look like a quite book club.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:24am
who the hell are you telling me who not vote for? i will vote for who ever i like.....and i dont have to tell anyone who i vote for either so kiss my white arse..

Post by cods on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:26am

wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:16am:
So All in favour of helping Australia's poor, disbled and unemployed then?  Well Do NOT  vote for Mr Abbott.

well if you say so... me I am in favour of helping oneself I am afraid..

I was brought up poor..lived in a house not far from a bombsite...never got a cent from the govt.. never expected one either..

now adays its every man and his dog has his hand out...

the disabled can work... most of them would like too...a lot of employers would employ them but the usual Workercomp kills it for them.

the POOR what poor??? I dont see anyone scavenging on tips for food, like we see happening in India..

we have more welfare handouts than any nation I can think of.. I am over it sorry..

I know what its like to be poor having the toes cut out of my shoes always had big feet.socks with huge holes in them.. we didnt have op shops either.we just went without.

and got on with it.

Post by cods on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:30am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:22am:
1) slow news

So instead of today's front page declaring that our unemployment fell & the economy is chugging away nicely we get this tripe.
And you bogans fall upon it with wailing and gnashing of teeth that make an Islamic funeral look like a quite book club.

and you fall for the unemployment figures... you must be one of two thats all I can say..

on a day when more companies are shedding staff heaps of them.

we get swan crowing over what i can only call smoke an d mirrors unemployment figures...

talk about slight of hand...he talks about creating 14000 job but never tells us where..

in what industry????? :D :D

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:24am

cods wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:30am:

1) slow news

and you fall for the unemployment figures... you must be one of two thats all I can say..

we get swan crowing over what i can only call smoke an d mirrors unemployment figures...

talk about slight of hand...he talks about creating 14000 job but never tells us where..

I don't know Cods
I don't care
I am however sick to death of the endless drip  fed crap regarding asylum seekers from this rag.

Mondays - Asylum seekers get...
Tuesdays - ALP leadership
Wednesdays - Find someone on 250K to tell us how tough life is now
Thursdays - Asylum seekers get...
Friday - Gillards dress clashes with her shoes

Endless crap

Post by cods on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:33am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:24am:

1) slow news

I don't know Cods
I don't care
I am however sick to death of the endless drip  fed crap regarding asylum seekers from this rag.

Endless crap

whos to say its CRAP??.. I mean if its is why isnt the govt saying its crap????

you dont have to read it btw..

and lets be honest here.. if one of your own was living in the back of a car.. and had been for months.. dont tell me you wouldnt resent knowing newcomers were being taken care of?? because I dont believe it..

of course we are nor simpletons and we know the moment these are released into the burbs they have to live somewhere..

I think most are saying how come we can find houses all of a sudden for so many... yet we have our own being told there is nothing available..get in the queue..

no offence here smithy you are entitled to call it CRAP.. but really have you ever been there????

and before you start no I havent either I have never asked the govt for anything..

I dont think most want to see these asylum seekers punished.. its just how come they are asking thats all  how come they are so well taken care of?? I mean they arrive with nothing... not a thing..and suddenly out of the blue we can provide everything free. clothes school shoes. food hospitals.there seem no end to this..

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:54am

1) slow news

They are 'creating' nothing but fanciful figures on colourful pieces of paper Cods.
Because public servants counting job ads in the paper is not creating anything, but a false impression.
As for employment figures, does the government still count people who work just 5 hours a week as being on the 'employed' side of the ledger?

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:05am

cods wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:33am:

1) slow news

I don't know Cods
I don't care

Endless crap

and lets be honest here.. if one of your own was living in the back of a car.. and had been for months.. dont tell me you wouldnt resent knowing newcomers were being taken care of?? because I dont believe it..

of course we are nor simpletons and we know the moment these are released into the burbs they have to live somewhere..

I think most are saying how come we can find houses all of a sudden for so many... yet we have our own being told there is nothing available..get in the queue..

no offence here smithy you are entitled to call it CRAP.. but really have you ever been there????

and before you start no I havent either I have never asked the govt for anything..

I dont think most want to see these asylum seekers punished.. its just how come they are asking thats all  how come they are so well taken care of?? I mean they arrive with nothing... not a thing..and suddenly out of the blue we can provide everything free. clothes school shoes. food hospitals.there seem no end to this..

I don't read it, I see the front page whilst I get my morning coffee & that's enough to get my blood pressure up ;D

I agree it seems odd, maybe we should just classify everyone without a home a reffo, problem solved.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:10am
to make it worse these people coming by boat have pockets loaded with cash...

Post by The honky tonk man on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:18am
While I disapprove of the ease with which our 'border protection' (LOL) laws are circumvented by illegals, they do number just a few thousand.  Meanwhile, close to 200,000 are legally migrating here every year.  No, we don't 'need' them as big business lobbies keep telling us we do - Congestion, infrastructure, affordability, employment etc are all significantly affected. 
While we're all being distracted by a handful of country shoppers, we're being quietly replaced, with the blessing of both corporate australia nd the australian government. 

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:37am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:05am:

cods wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:33am:

1) slow news

I don't know Cods
I don't care

Endless crap

I don't read it, I see the front page whilst I get my morning coffee & that's enough to get my blood pressure up ;D

I agree it seems odd, maybe we should just classify everyone without a home a reffo, problem solved.
You have a wonderful way of simplifying things smithy. :)

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:09am
Just so you know all the facts.....

Asylum seekers are not allowed to work!!!

People do not get to keep the goods. They remain in a house when a family moves out and are used by the next people who move in!!!

The Red Cross provides the packages!!!

This is still vastly cheaper than off shore processing which costs tens of thousands for each applicant....If it is the cost you are concerned about then this policy is actually cheaper!!!

::) ::) ::)

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:19am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:24am:
Not only does Gillard and Labor make a good business case for people smugglers to ply their trade, this incompetent government is also providing $10,000 as a welcome gift to those who leave detention while their claims are processed. Wish I could get that!!!

http://bigpondnews.com/articles/TopStories/2012/02/17/Asylum_seekers_receive_10k_gift_packs_719288.html

The title of this thread is inaccurate.

Asylum seekers are not "illegals".

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:26am

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:09am:

People do not get to keep the goods. They remain in a house when a family moves out and are used by the next people who move in!!!

This is still vastly cheaper than off shore processing which costs tens of thousands for each applicant....If it is the cost you are concerned about then this policy is actually cheaper!!!

Yet they have pockets full of cash... often in the amounts of ten of thousands of dollars... and this is when they get here, i'm not talking about their expences getting here. This is what they have on them when they are processed, some how they have no papers but have plenty of cash. then get a free ride..

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:28am

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:19am:

True, they call them irregular boat people now.
But they have only been called this since these boats became regular..

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:36am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:28am:

They were never illegal.

The Migration Act 1958 allows for entry into Australia without a visa for the purpose of seeking asylum.

"The Immigration Minister Senator Chris Evans last year acknowledged this by ordering that the term
‘unauthorised arrivals’ and ‘suspected illegal entry vessels’ be replaced with ‘irregular maritime arrivals’ in all
official government documents."

http://www.ajustaustralia.com/downloads/Illegals_complaints_guide.pdf

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:02pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:28am:

However they have never been illegal!!!

Illegal infers they have committed an offence under Australian law and as such can be prosecuted as a criminal......This is not the case so using the term illegal is completely wrong when referring to asylum seekers who have broken no laws in this country!!!

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:03pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:26am:

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:09am:

Yet they have pockets full of cash... often in the amounts of ten of thousands of dollars... and this is when they get here, i'm not talking about their expences getting here. This is what they have on them when they are processed, some how they have no papers but have plenty of cash. then get a free ride..

Then provide evidence to support this claim???

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:07pm
when a minister is on radio admitting it. no need for me to prove it, heard it on 2GB radio this morning. want proof call the station.

Post by cods on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:08pm
I am a bit over the word Illegal as well...

yes they are illegal they come in the back door they have paid a criminal to get here by sneaking in..

as far as I am concerned it is illegal to enter my home uninvited...so why not my country..

people chose to jump on the word illegal because it saves them facing the real truth..

why are we protecting our borders?? if its not to stop illegals people coming in???????????

get over yourself.. they are illegal until they have proved they are seeking asylum not the other way round..

otherwise we wouldnt have all these detention centres that seem to be multiplying off aof a sudden...

stop twisting things.

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:18pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:07pm:
when a minister is on radio admitting it. no need for me to prove it, heard it on 2GB radio this morning. want proof call the station.

I live in Perth.....No thank's.....As you cannot provide proof it is rubbish and can be ignored.....2GB lol!!!

[smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif]

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:19pm

cods wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:08pm:
get over yourself.. they are illegal until they have proved they are seeking asylum not the other way round..

That's incorrect.

[list bull-redball]
  • The Migration Act 1958
    [list bull-redball]
  • The 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    [list bull-redball]
  • The UN Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (1951)

These all make it legal.

• Title: Re: Gillard rolls out the welcome mat for illegals!!!
    Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:27pm

Whole journalistic article by Gemma Jones is full of Misinformation. Beware of the Heartless. Shame her article didnt include that Surely it’s better value for money to invest on a once-off basis less than $10,000 per family  housing asylum seekers in the community- than to spend each year a minimum of $70,00 as a detainee !

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:28pm

cods wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:08pm:
    I am a bit over the word Illegal as well...

yes they are illegal they come in the back door they have paid a criminal to get here by sneaking in..

as far as I am concerned it is illegal to enter my home uninvited...so why not my country..

people chose to jump on the word illegal because it saves them facing the real truth..

why are we protecting our borders?? if its not to stop illegals people coming in???????????

otherwise we wouldn't have all these detention centres that seem to be multiplying all of the sudden...

stop twisting things.

Asylum seekers have broken no laws and are not illegal.....What you think has no basis in law or fact....It is you who is twisting things to suit your completely wrong opinion.....I did not make the laws I just understand them a lot better than you.....opinions prove nothing and are what twists the truth into something foul and irrelevant.....It is better to stick to the truth in all things and debate the facts not irrelevant distortions IMO!!!

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:29pm

PS The Television sets were no more than 53cm. And ALL furniture doesnt NOT belong to the famlies it stays for other families. And comes prepacked to you - so  need to pay wages to assemble. Factless Telegraph not good for wiping your windows clean.

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:32pm

Australia Worse Journalism than 3rd World Countries- On purpose .  Beware.

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:34pm
    Cods wrote....

As far as I am concerned it is illegal to enter my home uninvited...so why not my country?

Do you have the right to issue visa's Cods.....Then you have no right to decide who comes into this country.....It is a stupid argument!!!

Post by juliar on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:45pm
    Only a brainless incompetent product of the union chookhouse like Miss Gillard could have any trouble quickly stopping the flood of illegal middle eastern bludgers invading Australia via Indonesia to get their welfare for life paid for by the few Australian tax payers left.

If ALP has the numbers in the lower house and Prime Minister Bob Brown of the Communist Greens has the numbers in the upper house then what is stopping the ALP and Uncle Bob from putting through whatever stop the boats scheme they choose to ?

Why don't the ALP get Uncle Bob to agree to pass their dream scheme through the upper house ?

Uncle Bob is the ALP's partner in crime so surely Uncle Bob is the one to blame for the ALP not being able to get their ideas through ?

So Prime Minister Bob Brown of the Communist Greens is the GUILTY PARTY responsible for NOT STOPPING the flood of unwanted illegal middle eastern bludgers invading Australia - shame on you Uncle Bob !!!

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:50pm

Australia should DEMAND accountability in JOURALISM. Important to not lose sight . Do NOT let the Heartless win.
    Those that aspire to reading this rubbish will be sorry. The Facts at http://www.refugeecouncil.org.au/news/releases/120217%20-%20Daily_Telegraph.pdf

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:53pm

juliar wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:45pm:
    Only a brainless incompetent product of the union chookhouse like Miss Gillard could have any trouble quickly stopping the flood of illegal middle eastern bludgers invading Australia via Indonesia to get their welfare for life paid for by the few Australian tax payers left.

1. There's no flood.
    2. They're not illegal.

Stop listening to Bolty.

Post by darkhall67 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:59pm

wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:27pm:
    Whole journalistic article by Gemma Jones is full of Misinformation. Beware of the Heartless. Shame her article didnt include that Surely it’s better value for money to invest on a once-off basis less than $10,000 per family  housing asylum seekers in the community- than to spend each year a minimum of $70,00 as a detainee !

"Here’s Gemma’s list of complaints, with retorts that should be obvious but apparently (based on the gullible readers in the comments) aren’t. (The Tele of course publishes nothing but the most generic responses from the Government, leaving readers guessing as to the explanations.)

“Food hampers… of bread, butter, milk, eggs, other “essentials” and cleaning products.” – you mean that when they arrive there’s food for the first night since they are starting with nothing and might arrive too late to buy food or might not have received any monetary assistance yet? What else are they supposed to do?
        “Everything from beds” – is that even considered optional in a dwelling fit for human habitation? I suppose we could make the refugees buy their own beds and then move them in, rather than the beds being fixtures of the accommodation for future tenants as well, but I doubt that would be cheaper.
        “fridges” – what are they supposed to use? An ice-chest?
        “mattresses” – I love that this is listed separately from “beds”
        “and lounges” – THERE ARE PLACES FOR SITTING?!?!
        “to an alarm clock radio” – Wow.
        “clothes hangers” – Good thing this one was buried in the middle of the list, eh Gemma?
        “and containers for biscuits” – if these are the best examples of “luxury” and “waste”, Gemma’s really reaching. It only works as a long list in the hope that the reader will want at least one of the items on it and therefore feel envy at it being GIVEN to someone else.
        “It includes a television at a minimum size of 53cm.” A big TV is 52 inches. 53 cm is less than 21 inches, and can you even buy them smaller than that? Meanwhile, what homes don’t have a television? Even if you were to go bankrupt, you would be allowed to keep a television set.
        “Families with a baby can access a $750 pack of basic supplies.” How’s that made up? From Gemma’s efforts so far, I don’t think she’s earned any kind of suspension of disbelief.
        “Phone and electricity connections are also paid for.” Like at any rental property.
        “free doctors’ visits” – they’ve got no money, what exactly are you suggesting? That if they get sick they shouldn’t get medical care? And every DT reader is also entitled to free doctors’ visits.
        “dental care” – as above, except that in this country we still haven’t managed a national dental care scheme, and if DT readers keep voting for the Liberals, it doesn’t look like we ever will. Not “aspirational” enough.
        “pharmaceuticals” – you mean like anyone else with a healthcare card who needs medicine but has no money?
        “education” – is Gemma suggesting that we should stop educating poor children?
        “payments of up to $433.25 a fortnight” – “up to”. So $216 a week, maximum. I’m not sure which Centrelink payment that is, but (a) it’s available to Australians, and (b) it’s less than the already below-subsistence NewStart.

Basically, a list of basic items beaten up to sound luxurious in order to provoke envy and resentment from people who haven’t thought how their own lives could be misrepresented in exactly the same way, if the tabloid wanted to smear them.

You might hope that any reasonably intelligent adult with a modicum of common sense would be able to see through the manipulation.

If you have managed to maintain this hope, this confidence in the good sense of your fellow Australians, I’d suggest not reading the Daily Telegraph comment thread to Gemma’s beatup. Retain your faith a little longer."

http://blogs.crikey.com.au/purepoison/2012/02/17/dt-exclusive-government-providing-refugees-with-beds-and-coathangers/

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:00pm

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:18pm:

I live in Perth.....No thank's.....As you cannot provide proof it is rubbish and can be ignored.....2GB lol!!!

This has been reported before Phil, this news is not new.
    Would you have preferred if it was reported on ABC radio though?
    What difference does it make which station the minister attends when the minister speaks live on air?

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:07pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:00pm:

What difference does it make which station the minister attends when the minister speaks live on air?

I have no problem accepting you are telling the truth if you can provide some proof.....What Minister for instance and where did he get his or her information.....Surely this must be reported somewhere besides 2GB???

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:16pm

Government ?

The Red Cross provides the packages.

"They are basic supplies. We are not talking about luxury here," the Red Cross's spokesman, Michael Raper, said.

"People do not get to keep the goods. They remain in a house when a family moves out and are used by the next people who move in"

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/asylum-seekers-made-to-feel-at-home-thanks-to-a-10000-welcome-pack/story-fn7x8me2-1226273251317

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:18pm

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:07pm:

I have no problem accepting you are telling the truth if you can provide some proof.....What Minister for instance and where did he get his or her information.....Surely this must be reported somewhere besides 2GB???

Didn't hear the program myself Phil.
    I knew that this was old news because 6 months ago I saw a program on the ABC where they were interviewing sailors from Border Protection Command in Darwin, who spoke about the money belts wrapped around the waists of boat arrivals when they come aboard the patrol boats.
    The money is counted, logged and handed back.
    I have no reason to believe naval personnel were lying to the cameras.

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:18pm

Hadley says "..But this is True" . LIAR ! Beware of those that insinuate  fear in the  Helpless  while Excusing  Managers, Owners &   CEO'S that make huge profit whilst  Cutting jobs. The have No Soul. Those that Jump and  Imply that This is "Rolling out the red carpet" - Souless.

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:21pm

Mistake- $137.317  a detainee.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:25pm
    i don't have enough interest in you to go looking for something i know is true. but on the other hand i do have an interest to let you know these are not genuine reffo's.. the people coming in are well off.. better then the common Aussie or Abo.. there is no means testing in place.

This help?????

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:30pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:18pm:

I knew that this was old news because 6 months ago I saw a program on the ABC where they were interviewing sailors from Border Protection Command in Darwin, who spoke about the money belts wrapped around the waists of boat arrivals when they come aboard the patrol boats.

Surely the Daily Telegraph the Australian or the Bolt would be all over a story like this if it was true.....If asylum seekers are coming to Australia with tens of thousands of dollars strapped to their bodies I am sure it would be reported somewhere!!!

I will have a search.......i

No nothing???

:-? :-? :-?

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:32pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:25pm:
    i don't have enough interest in you to go looking for something i know is true. but on the other hand i do have an interest to let you know these are not genuine reffo's.. the people coming in are well off.. better then the common Aussie or Abo.. there is no means testing in place.

This help?????

No!!!

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:41pm

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:32pm:

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:25pm:

This help?????

No!!!

OK, just sit back in the corner then... i'll get you cookies and milk.

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:50pm

Opposition immigration spokesman Scott Morrison said people struggling with cost of living rises would be disappointed, but Immigration Minister Chris Bowen said the government was acting responsibly while asylum seeker claims were being assessed.

A government spokesman said families would not keep the goods, which would remain in a house for the next people who moved in.

The Red Cross has been contracted to provide the packages for more than five years and spokesman Michael Raper described the packages as basic, rather than luxury, supplies.

Pre February, 2007 ?

So, under what Federal Government was this program COMMENCED ?
    i

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:12pm
    Yes the Libs started the project, back when we had border protection. Pacific solution.. the boats stopped coming. But that's not the case now is it? the government has grown the people smuggling industry into a multi billion dollar industry. All at Australia's expense.. Yet we do not even look after our own.
    You know we have supplied more new beds to boat people then we have our own public hospitals??

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:20pm

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:30pm:

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 1:18pm:

Surely the Daily Telegraph the Australian or the Bolt would be all over a story like this if it was true.....If asylum seekers are coming to Australia with tens of thousands of dollars strapped to their bodies I am sure it would be reported somewhere!!!

I will have a search.......i

No nothing???

:-? :-? :-?

I couldn't tell you Phil, I don't have access to a Sydney paper.

Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:20pm
    Criticism should be based on fact !

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:24pm

wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:20pm:

A lot of shithouse boatpeople are being allowed into Australia. FACT.

Boatpeople are entitled to welfare from day 1 following processing in Australia. FACT.

Friends of mine from England on a skilled worker visa were told they could claim no welfare for the first 2 years. FACT.

So people we want to attract we deny any claims of welfare and people we want to keep out we give welfare.

Go figure that one. Smart aren't we???

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:35pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:24pm:
    Boatpeople are entitled to welfare from day 1 following processing in Australia. FACT.

Yes, after processing and they've been granted refugee status.

What do you have against genuine refugees?

Why do you want to keep genuine refugees out?

"Asylum seekers are not eligible to receive Centrelink benefits
    while their asylum claims are being processed, ... "

http://www.asrc.org.au/media/documents/welfare-entitlements.pdf

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:37pm

Yes, and the majority are genuine refugees.

Why do you use the term "shithouse"?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:40pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:37pm:

Because for the most part they are fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society.

We basically process other people's trash.

A Sri Lankan work colleage works with me in the USA and he said he was happy for Australia and Canada to accept those on the boats as "they were sh*t Lankans anyway, we don't want them."

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:45pm

Friends of mine from England on a skilled worker visa were told they could claim no welfare for the first 2 years. FACT.

So people we want to attract we deny any claims of welfare and people we want to keep out we give welfare.

Go figure that one. Smart aren't we???

No, dumb as dog sh!t actually Andrei.
    If Abdul Benbrika wasn't locked away for planning to set off bombs at the MCG during the Grand Final last year, the maggot would have been on unemployment benefits for another 19 years past the 19 years he has already been leeching the system for.
    Filling the country with unemployable 3rd world people doesn't come cheap you know.

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:49pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:40pm:

Because for the most part they are fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society.

For the most part?  Really?

Any stats to back up these racist views?

Anything at all besides your bigoted rantings?

Post by Karnal on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:33pm

That's right, mate.

Post by The honky tonk man on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:34pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 2:49pm:

For the most part?  Really?

Any stats to back up these racist views?

Anything at all besides your bigoted rantings?

Here's a stat.  Make of it what you will.

Humanitarian migrant
    households are far
    more likely to be in
    receipt of Centrelink
    payments than other
    streams. Around 85%
    of Humanitarian
    entrants’ households
    are in receipt of
    Centrelink payments

http://www.immi.gov.au/media/publications/research/_pdf/settlement-outcomes-new-arrivals.pdf

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:42pm
    www.immi.gov.au

Two years following acceptance into Australia, percentage of males granted refugee status in full employment in Australia -

9% - Afghans
    12% - Iranian

Total number of males granted refugee status in full employment after FIVE YEARS - 31%.

Number of Refugees on Centrelink welfare assistance following 5 years in Australia - 85%.

Real bonuses to our society eh?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:46pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:42pm:
    www.immi.gov.au

Two years following acceptance into Australia, percentage of males granted refugee status in full employment in Australia -

9% - Afghans
    12% - Iranian

Total number of males granted refugee status in full employment after FIVE YEARS - 31%.

Number of Refugees on Centrelink welfare assistance following 5 years in Australia - 85%.

Real bonuses to our society eh?

But let me guess these statistics are bigotted and racist right????

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:46pm

... wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:34pm:

Humanitarian migrant
    households are far
    more likely to be in
    receipt of Centrelink
    payments than other
    streams. Around 85%
    of Humanitarian
    entrants’ households
    are in receipt of
    Centrelink payments

http://www.immi.gov.au/media/publications/research/_pdf/settlement-outcomes-new-arrivals.pdf

Are you suggesting that households in receipt of Centrelink payments are "fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society"?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:47pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:46pm:

Humanitarian migrant
    households are far
    more likely to be in
    receipt of Centrelink
    payments than other
    streams. Around 85%
    of Humanitarian
    entrants’ households
    are in receipt of
    Centrelink payments

Are you suggesting that households in receipt of Centrelink payments are "fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society"?

Why are almost 90% of Iranians and Afghans without a fking job 2 years later??

Yeah I am suggesting they must be fking useless.

Post by The honky tonk man on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:47pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:46pm:

Humanitarian migrant
    households are far
    more likely to be in
    receipt of Centrelink
    payments than other
    streams. Around 85%
    of Humanitarian
    entrants’ households
    are in receipt of
    Centrelink payments

*shrugs*

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:51pm
    Now if these boat people are found by another boat while in transit in international waters and robbed of large amounts of cash, would it be theft?

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:54pm

Are you suggesting that people who are not in full employment, and people on Centrelink welfare assistance are "fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society."

Seriously?

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:56pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:47pm:
    Why are almost 90% of Iranians and Afghans without a fking job 2 years later??

The stats don't say that.

Read them again.

Post by The honky tonk man on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:56pm

Crime and justice
    There are considerable data gaps with respect to migrants and the criminal
    justice system. Recorded Crime Statistics in most Australian jurisdictions do
    not record ethnicity, migrant status or country or birth. The annual National
    Prison Census records country of birth of prisoners but does not publish this
    information. Furthermore, imprisonment rates do not capture the length of
    sentences and therefore do not reflect severity of offences (Mukherjee 1999a;
    Jarasuriya & Kee 1999). Another problem with this census is that the migrant
    status of prisoners is not adequately differentiated: it does not distinguish
    between those who are visitors to Australia or illegal entrants.

http://www.immi.gov.au/media/publications/research/social-costs-benefits/appendix_1b.pdf

How convenient.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:56pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:54pm:

Are you suggesting that people who are not in full employment, and people on Centrelink welfare assistance are "fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society."

Seriously?

does it make you wanna put a gun to your head?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:57pm

Seriously?

Why are the number of males in full time employment so fking low!!!!

Come on, if you are taking the route they are a huge benefit to us - what is so good about these awful statistics I showed you?

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:01pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 3:57pm:

Seriously?

Come on, if you are taking the route they are a huge benefit to us - what is so good about these awful statistics I showed you?

What that does show that boat people are over represented in unemployment stats, didn't the government just give a 5.1% unemployment stat for Australia?

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:03pm

Come on, if you are taking the route they are a huge benefit to us -

I didn't say that.  You need to read things properly.

I asked you to provide evidence in support of your claim that:

"for the most part they are fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society."

And so far your argument revolves around not working 38 hours per week.

Do you honestly think that people who work less than 35 hours per week are "fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society"?

You do realise, many white Australians are not in full employment?  Are they "fking useless and bereft of any kind of value to our society?"

Post by The honky tonk man on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:03pm

Afghans are quite different from other cultural backgrounds on a number of key items.
    They have amongst the poorest English skills, are the least educated before arrival and
    the least likely to obtain a qualification after arrival. However, they are more likely to
    borrow larger amounts of money, more likely to be paying a mortgage or housing loan
    (26% compared with the average of 8% and therefore least likely to be paying rent) and
    more likely to be finding it difficult to do so. In contrast to the relatively high proportion
    that have home loans, they are less likely to be employed and 94% of Afghan households
    are in receipt of Centrelink payments.
    Afghans are least likely to have a driver licence compared with most other groups.
    Generally Afghanis find it hardest to use services and are far less likely to use help from a
    religious group or a migrant resource centre but they are most likely to use interpreter /
    translator services. Afghans are least likely to learn about life in Australia from English
    classes. Along with a few other groups, they have the poorest mental and physical health.

Our afghan friends don't seem to 'enrich' us so much.

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:07pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:01pm:

Seriously?

What that does show that boat people are over represented in unemployment stats, didn't the government just give a 5.1% unemployment stat for Australia?

No, not unemployment.

Underemployment.

Two different things.

Post by Karnal on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:28pm
    This obsession with employment is getting rather tedious. Just because Andre doesn't work in this country does not make him any less worthy as a productive citizen.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:28pm
    The stats are 5% unemployed.

Yet 90% of boat people males are not fully employed.

Useless, lazy, dirty b@stards in my book.

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:32pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:28pm:

Working 34 hours per week, every week, is not fully employed.

You do realise that, don't you?

Are you saying that all people who work less than 35 hours per week are "useless, lazy, dirty b@stards"?

Post by Karnal on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:35pm
    What do the statistics say about their hygeine, Andrei?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:36pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:32pm:

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:28pm:

Working 34 hours per week, every week, is not fully employed.

You do realise that, don't you?

Are you saying that all people who work less than 35 hours per week are "useless, lazy, dirty b@stards"?

The statistics of Australian males of working age not in a full time job is nowhere near 90%.

Why are boat people of the same age so poorly represented in full time employment?

Why do so many of them receive centrelink payments?

Why do we help them from day 1 after processing but do not help our skilled worker immigrants?

Think right - when they start receiving welfare payments - how much have they paid into the country for the welfare pool?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:37pm
    You do realize that under the UN Refugee Convention articles we are under no legal obligation to accept a single refugee right?

People often don't understand that.

We can turn away every single application if we like - there is no legal obligation whatsoever to let them in.

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:55pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:37pm:
    You do realize that under the UN Refugee Convention articles we are under no legal obligation to accept a single refugee right?

We can turn away every single application if we like - there is no legal obligation whatsoever to let them in.

Why would we turn away refugees?

No decent country would deny help to a genuine refugee.

The majority of boat people are granted refugee status.  They are shown to be people in genuine need of assistance.

Your callous attitude is appalling.

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:02pm

Are you familiar with the term "moral obligation" - on becoming  signatories to such conventions ?

Post by beware on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:02pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 4:55pm:

The majority of boat people are granted refugee status.  They are shown to be people in genuine need of assistance.

You don't think we should look after our own first???

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:10pm

beware wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:02pm:

I think we can do both.

Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:11pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:02pm:

Are you familiar with the term "moral obligation" - on becoming  signatories to such conventions ?

I doubt that's a term he's ever come across before.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:20pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:10pm:

I think we can do both.

Given the country is in debt and the Australian pensioners got a $30 increase - with the Government stating they couldn't afford more - clearly that isnt the case.

Who would I rather see the money go to?

An Australian pensioner who has paid into the country all his life?

Or some Iranian who has turned up on a boat and wants to bring his 23 children with him?

Notice how they all head to enclaves of their own kind as well?

Real minglers aren't they?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:22pm

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:11pm:

Morality is subjective.

I find it immoral Buzz lectures people on how the country should spend its money whilst paying so little into the country himself.

Legality is definitive.

There is no legal obligation for Australia to even process a refugee application.

The Convention is a set of guiding principles, they have no legal standing and they are not enforced.

France has ignored the Convention for near on a decade without issue.

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:27pm

I think we can do both.

As we did with refugees in the late 1970's - post, the end of the VIETNAMESE war

And there were MANY more of them
    Vietnam being much closer than Afghanistan, Iraq or Sri Lanka

Back then the view was BI-PARTISAN

Coalition policy only changed under John "We will decide who comes to this country and the circumstances in which they come" Howard's self declared role of himself and his government

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:34pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:22pm:

Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:11pm:

Morality is subjective.

I find it immoral Buzz lectures people on how the country should spend its money whilst paying so little into the country himself.

Aged pensioners pay NO income tax

On Andrei's "reasoning" THEY shouldn't even get the right to VOTE

Post by matty on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:18pm
    I listened to David Oldfield this morning, and this woman called up and said that she bought a television from an illegal immigrant. He put it up on ebay, and she bought it. When asked whee he attained it, he answered "The government".

Where are OUR, the legal, fair dinkum Australians, televisions?

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 18th, 2012 at 1:08am

matty wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:18pm:
    I listened to David Oldfield this morning, and this woman called up and said that she bought a television from an illegal immigrant. He put it up on ebay, and she bought it. When asked whee he attained it, he answered "The government".

I was talking to some bloke the other day and he told me the Liberal party phoned him and asked him if he would call his local radio station and complain about refugees and make up some bullshit story to stir up the stupid bigots that swallow this crap about asylum seekers......He declined until he received his refugee status!!!

Post by matty on Feb 18th, 2012 at 1:27am

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 1:08am:

I was talking to some bloke the other day and he told me the Liberal party phoned him and asked him if he would call his local radio station and complain about refugees and make up some bullshit story to stir up the stupid bigots that swallow this crap about asylum seekers......He declined until he received his refugee status!!!

Evidence that this woman lied??????????????????

Post by philperth2010 on Feb 18th, 2012 at 1:37am

matty wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 1:27am:

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 1:08am:

Evidence that this woman lied??????????????????

She is telling the truth as I spoke to her about it on Skype....She said it was 5 years ago when Howard was PM!!!

Post by olde.sault on Feb 18th, 2012 at 3:14am

I think we can do both.

-------

Tell that to Gillard & Co.

Every day we hear of job losses so, why should we welcome those without documents to prove their refugee status, who can only be a burden to the country?

Have you heard of the recent submission by the Islam Women's Welfare Association?

They want taxpayers'-funded trips to their homeland from which they had fled in terror of their lives.

Yep, while many families have had their mortgages foreclosed and live on the street,

while our own are dying because there are not enough beds in hospital.

Who are we serving - our country or Islam?

Post by salad in on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:45pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 7:20am:
    It's not as if these people who barely if at all speak English, no schooling, no trade or skills are going to go out and get a job.

[...]

Most of them end up working at Blacktown hospital. It is refreshing to find a staff member at Blacktown hospital who speaks English.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:47pm

salad in wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:45pm:

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 7:20am:

[...]

Most of them end up working at Blacktown hospital. It is refreshing to find a staff member at Blacktown hospital who speaks English.

It's like Burger King in Piccadilly Circus.

Try finding someone in there who is

a) white
    b) speaks English

You win a prize if you can!
    By the way don't expect to get what you order.

A whopper will usually get you a chicken burger dished up by some boat person.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:55pm
    So you people whine if migrants 'bludge' off the system and you whine if they work.

You're difficult to please, aren't you? What on earth would you have them do?

Post by matty on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:57pm
    What about the Indians who can't even speak Englsih properly, at Dominos and Pizza Hut?? Luckily, there are less up in the NT than the other states.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:59pm

matty wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:57pm:
    What about the Indians who can't even speak Englsih properly, at Dominos and Pizza Hut?? Luckily, there are less up in the NT than the other states.

At uni in England, when one of the Indians used to call up trying to sell some telephone plan, my mate used to start ordering a takeaway.
    Chicken korma, basmati rice, onion bhajis etc

Keep it going and they hang up eventually.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:59pm

Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:55pm:
    So you people whine if migrants 'bludge' off the system and you whine if they work.

Stay in their own country and not be a pack of cowards and run away?

Post by Annie Anthrax on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:02pm
    Tell it to your Mama.

Post by Karnal on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:13pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:59pm:

matty wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 5:57pm:

At uni in England, when one of the Indians used to call up trying to sell some telephone plan, my mate used to start ordering a takeaway.
    Chicken korma, basmati rice, onion bhajis etc

Keep it going and they hang up eventually.

And you don't like it when they stay at home either!

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:15pm

Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:02pm:
    Tell it to your Mama.

Hardly the same.
    Her country was being overrun.

Post by Karnal on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:23pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:15pm:

Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 6:02pm:
    Tell it to your Mama.

Hardly the same.
    Her country was being overrun.

By the whites, wasn't it?

Post by Gist on Feb 19th, 2012 at 9:08am

So why didn't you stay in your country instead of running away, coward?

Post by beware on Feb 19th, 2012 at 9:22am

Go back to their own country and fight for their own freedoms......
    Better still never come here in the first place and fight for freedom in their own countries.   :D

I wonder how many aussies would jump on a boat wreck and sail to a different place for a better life!!!!

Post by beware on Feb 19th, 2012 at 9:28am

beware wrote on Feb 19th, 2012 at 9:22am:

Better still never come here in the first place and fight for freedom in their own countries.   :D

I wonder how many aussies would jump on a boat wreck and sail to a different place for a better life!!!!

And don't tell me its already happened in early Australia because I will tell you to join Ancestry or go to your Archives Center and look at the original ship lists and documents that go with them.... you will be had pressed to find someone that did not provide the necessary documents and/or sponsorship necessary to get into our country.

99.9% of people came here legally with all documents provided and payments made!!!!

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 19th, 2012 at 9:44am

Gist wrote on Feb 19th, 2012 at 9:08am:

So why didn't you stay in your country instead of running away, coward?

I never ran from anything.
    I was invited to the countries I have lived in by companies who wanted me to move there.

I didn't turn up on some rickety old boat, unwelcome and with nothing because I was a coward and left my families to face this supposed terror.

Post by it_is_the_light on Feb 19th, 2012 at 10:03am
    THE British government has paid out just over STG1 million ($A1.48 million) in compensation to dozens of child asylum seekers wrongly held in detention centers before 2005, lawyers said on Saturday.
    London law firm Bhatt Murphy said in a statement that the government made the payments to 40 former teenage detainees between 2009 and 2010 after the government acknowledged it had been wrong to keep them in custody.

Bhatt Murphy said that nonspecialist immigration officials had incorrectly classified the teens as adults "purely on the basis of their appearance", forcing them to prove that they were underage. The government's age-verification procedures have since been reformed.

Immigrants' rights groups have long campaigned against the British practice of holding hundreds of child asylum seekers in immigration detention centers for weeks or longer, calling it inhuman.
    In 2010 British Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg vowed to put a stop to it, but a small number of children are still kept in custody, generally for much shorter periods of time.

Britain's Border Agency said on Saturday that it takes the welfare of young people seriously.

The Guardian newspaper, which first reported the payout, said that children came from Afghanistan, Iran, Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Eritrea, Uganda, Somalia and China. The newspaper says 25 of the children were aged 14 to 16.

The paper said some were survivors of torture or sexual abuse, and quoted two of them as saying they'd been traumatised by their experiences.

Legal restrictions mean none of the children can be identified.

http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/uk-pays-15m-for-wrongly-detaining-kids/story-e6frfku0-1226274837004#ixzz1mmVUXJ30

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 19th, 2012 at 10:06am
    That is embarrassing.

Some of the things done in Britain these days are not right.

Why we pander to these scum turning up at our door beats me.

And they wonder why decent people like us, start to vote for the BNP?
    I voted for them for the first time 2 years ago.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Feb 19th, 2012 at 10:22am

People jumping on boats to get to Australia for a better life - that's petty much the First Fleet, isn't it? And all the settlers that came after.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 19th, 2012 at 10:30am

Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 19th, 2012 at 10:22am:
    People jumping on boats to get to Australia for a better life - that's petty much the First Fleet, isn't it? And all the settlers that came after.

Hardly.
    You'll find love that there was no country when we arrived.
    It was an uninhabited wasteland with weird-ass animals.

The country was then built by the settlers and fleet arrivals.

They didn't turn up and demand welfare.

The put the toil and graft in and built the place - these dropkicks these days wouldn't know hard work if it smacked them in the head.

Post by Kat on Feb 19th, 2012 at 10:47am

More like people being forced onto boats and sent to Australia in the
    confident expectation that their lives would become much worse.

Post by beware on Feb 19th, 2012 at 11:01am

I noticed you left the last of my comment off so I will add it again..... 

And don't tell me its already happened in early Australia because I will tell you to join Ancestry or go to your Archives Center and look at the original ship lists and documents that go with them.... you will be hard pressed to find someone that did not provide the necessary documents and/or sponsorship necessary to get into our country.
    99.9% of people came here legally with all documents provided and payments made!!!!   

As it said..... join Ancestry and look at the original documents!!!

Surely you have convicts in your family line.

There is NO comparison to the early settlers....NONE!!!!!!

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 19th, 2012 at 11:05am
    Yeah!

People like me, my family are real died in the wool Aussies!!!

They came to the country in....... 1977!  :)