General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1329268672 Message started by imcrookonit on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:17am |
Title: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by imcrookonit on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:17am
Mark Metherell
February 15, 2012 - About 2 million people face higher health insurance premiums after the Gillard government finally secured passage through the House of Representatives of its plan to means test the health insurance rebate. :) The measure, which has still to pass the Senate — expected to be a formality — will mean that single people on incomes above $83,000 a year and families above $166,000 a year will begin to lose the rebate, typically worth $1000 a year to families. Under the measures, to take effect next financial year, the rebate cuts out altogether for singles on $129,000, and families on $258,000. :) Opposition Leader Tony Abbott this morning committed to restoring the full rebate for all, when financial circumstances permit a Coalition government to do so. "Private health insurance is in our DNA," he told Macquarie Radio. ;D "It is our raison d'etre, that is why we exist as a political movement, to give more support and encourage for people who want to get ahead." Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/political-news/means-test-on-private-health-rebate-finally-passes-lower-house-20120215-1t557.html#ixzz1mPPIXOaL |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by chicken_lipsforme on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:19am
There's one good policy from the Gillard government.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:19am
All govt handouts should be means tested and anyone that disagrees is just addicted to middle class welfare.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by imcrookonit on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:20am
Congratulations labor and the Australian Greens. Good news. Well done. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by skippy. on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:21am Quote:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Maqqa on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:22am
The ALP and Greens have just re-ignited the class wars
Don't get me wrong - I am all for it. But it could have been handled alot better |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:24am Maqqa wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:22am:
A war on welfare leeches more like it. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:42am adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:19am:
Couldnt agree more. This is not a view I get because I am in the "lower" classes. I'm well into middle to upper in terms of income. But this middle class welfare brought about by the howard government is the biggest hurdle this country faces. Billions of tax payer money is wasted. Health is just the start. Excessive tax payer financing of elitist private schools, and limitless negative gearing are the other "reverse" taxation issues which distribute tax dollars to the rich. It will take decades to unravel the mess Howard made by buying votes over the decade of his tenure. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Verge on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:58am
Im getting a sick and tired of Abbott promising to recind everything the Greens put in place, even if its a good idea.
I have no problems recinding poor policy, but you shouldnt recind bad. This, and the mining tax are good policy. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by progressiveslol on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:58am
Cant believe labor policies at all.
The opposition launched an attack yesterday on the means test, saying it was in breach of Julia Gillard's ''ironclad'' promise before the 2007 election not to touch the insurance rebate. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Verge on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:00pm adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:24am:
Macca, made a good point, but nice work to smear there crowy. Like he said, its a good policy handled poorly. Macca deserves a pat on the back for bipartisanship for the first time in a while, and you make a sly backhander. No wonder this board turns into a right versus left as opposed to good policy versus bad. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:01pm progressiveslol wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:58am:
got a link ? You do realize, even if true, that is 2 elections ago. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:02pm Verge wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:00pm:
How is it handled poorly ? The only way it could be handled better would be by bipartisan approval. That seems to be an impossibility in the present term. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:04pm
As a doctor said on tv yesterday...I pay more to insure my car than it costs for my health insurance and the govt doesnt subsidise me to do that so why should they subsidise my health insurance.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by FriYAY on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:05pm
A familiy 4 on 168,000.....
Yeah, sock it to that middle calss leech. ::) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:05pm Verge wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:58am:
Agreed. Was just thinking along similar lines myself. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:15pm Kat wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:05pm:
He is going to spend 3 yrs wiping the previous 6 yrs off the face of the earth instead of getting on with the job and governing without explaining what he is going to replace everything with. Expensive, wastefull and time consuming comes to mind. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:18pm
Any Policy that redirects money from the Mining sector to the welfare of the Political class or other corporate welfare sectors should be rescinded. If this revenue is to be used for the common good, then I am all for it, but no corporate welfare scams at the tax payers expense. 8-)
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:18pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:01pm:
yet you claim the 2007 election was a mandate for an ETS. yu cant haev it both ways. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:21pm Quote:
Groovy man - chew on that Longweakend you bitter small minded person. 8-) ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:22pm
Well in his first opportunity to show what kind of backbone he had, Andrew Wilkie showed why both sides of politics think he has the spine of a jellyfish. Fresh from having his own legislation torpedoed and the raison d etre for support Gillard in the first place, broken, his first act is to support her in legislation he previously opposed.
The man is a wimp, with no apparent policy position. But then what do you expect from a man who finished in third place in his electorate on primaries yet has the audacity to make demands. He is in the Rob Oakeshott mold of independant. WORTHLESS |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:25pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:22pm:
Yet they are having more of an affect on policy than Tony Abbott who is opposing everything even good policies....Abbott has nothing to offer the Australian people!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:26pm corporate_whitey wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:21pm:
firstly, it doesnt apply to me and secondly, I can leave my own house without a double axle trailer to carry me - unlike you. AND i dont have to get committed twice a year as you do. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:28pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:25pm:
how about we leave such assessments to the next electio where the voters will finally be able to cast THEIR judgment. do you expect ANY of those independents to survive? no one else does. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:29pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:22pm:
Why is it a surprise that Wilkie would support the beginning of the dismantling of middle class welfare? Good on him..he's one of the few decent honest pollies in our federal parliament. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:32pm buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 14th, 2012 at 8:24pm:
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:37pm
I wonder if Abbott is going to help Australias wealthy insure their new Mercs and BMWs because if he doesnt they might drop their insurance.
Abbott reckons Australias wealthy are going to drop their health insurance simply because they cant suck at the teat of the poorest in our community..thats another blatent lie from Abbott. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:38pm
Abbott has already said he will wind back the policy if he wins Government and restore the rebate to high income earners.....The hole is getting bigger for the Mad Monk......Pretty soon budget revenue will be solely for the purpose of supporting the wealthy if Abbott keeps going the way he is.....Australia cannot afford Tony Abbott!!!
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:40pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:28pm:
Shouldnt you wait until we see Abbotts policies and costings before you predict the make up of the next parliament? So far he has to find more than 100 billion just to wind back all of Labors policies before he even starts on his own. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by progressiveslol on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:43pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:25pm:
I wish they were more like Tony Abbott. Maybe we would not be in so much debt. I so look forward to having to pay labor incompetency back. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:45pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:28pm:
I fail to see what argument you are trying to make as usual.....The Independents are having an affect on policy NOW which is what I said.....You are trying to deflect to the next election which is irrelevant to the context of the how much influence the Independents are having on policies now......Abbott has to convince Australians the wealthy deserve more taxpayer funds to support their lifestyles...I think he will find his support will start to decline when he puts forward that argument!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:48pm
Sooner or later Abbott is going to have to make some tough decisions..he cant be a popularist forever. Turnbull will run against Rudd at the next election
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:52pm progressiveslol wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:43pm:
So do I. But not by simply replacing it with Coalition incompetence. And I fear that's what an Abbott govt would be. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:54pm adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:48pm:
Amen to that. Hopefully with a Turnbull victory. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by FRED. on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:54pm Kat wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:52pm:
And how would you know that ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:56pm
How do we know Abbott wont get us into more debt?
After all the only Liberal Treasurer I know of thats ever had a surplus was Costello and hes long gone. Judging from Abbott and Hockeys wierd comments on economics I reckon they will be even worse than Julia and Wayne. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by blackadder on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:59pm Yet they are having more of an affect on policy than Tony Abbott who is opposing everything even good policies.... And who is the arbiter of good policy? YOU? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by FRED. on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:00pm adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:56pm:
Thats not possible ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:00pm FRED. wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:54pm:
Because I've seen and heard it ALL before. Two words.......Fraser/Howard. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:00pm adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:48pm:
This is a very real possibility. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:03pm
Looking at the legislation its quite interesting - I would have got the full amount back.
They are using gross income post taxable adjustment allowances. My last year in Australia my taxable income was under $37,000 as I had been able to knock out well over $150k. If it was gross pre adjustments I'd not pass. An interesting route they have taken. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by blackadder on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:06pm Kat wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:00pm:
Whitlam/Cairns/Connor/ |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:07pm
Next step: private school funding.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Verge on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:08pm adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:04pm:
It costs me $520 to insure my car, it was costing me $2,340 for health insurance, AFTER the rebate, and we are only a young couple, and didnt have our child on it. No wonder we dropped it. Dont know what kind of car the Doc drives, but I would like to take it for a spin. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Maqqa on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:09pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:38pm:
"..budget revenue will be solely for the purpose of supporting the wealthy..." solely means 100% of the Budget revenue You've not looked at the Budget spending then Lets say the Medicare and other Health items compared to the $2.5B rebate savings over 4 years |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:10pm Verge wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:08pm:
Like most doctors and like most wealthy Aussies..a top of the range BMW |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Verge on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:10pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:03pm:
Its always on taxable income. You cant exclude someone if they have allowable deductions, unless the deductions are for things like rental properties. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:10pm Verge wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:08pm:
I have private healthcare in the US. You know what though Verge - I pay $10,000 less in tax than Aussies on the same wage do. Australia - Land of the Rip off and the targetting of middle incomes. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:11pm adelcrow wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:10pm:
And that BMW costs you 3 times more in Australia than it does in San Diego. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:11pm
Why bother with private health insurance at all?
You always end up in public hospitals, and you always have to pay on top for everything. The doctors I've spoken to recommend you just stick with Medicare. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by adelcrow on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:12pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:10pm:
We have far less national debt because we pay higher taxes..I see no problem with it as long as its spent wisely. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Verge on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:15pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:10pm:
And yet look at how much better our economy is than that of the US. Look at our housing market, our financial services markets, our employment markets. Oh nevermind, go the US. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Gist on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:16pm
Well, all I can say is congratulations to Labor for getting yet another sensible policy through. Despite the interminable dummy spits and obstructionism from the coalition, the government continues to do its job even in the most difficult of parliaments.
Also to say well done to a couple of the otherwise righties (esp. chook and maqqa) for their bipartisanship in this case. Never thought I'd be complimenting maqqa... :) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:16pm
The only people who pay less in the US are those on high incomes who can afford it: Bush/Rumsfeld economics.
Middle income earners pay about the same as Australians. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:18pm Verge wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:15pm:
Unless you want to live in south central LA or downtown Detroit, work in financial services or recruiting what's your point? Where I live in a gated community in La Jolla, CA the houses have appreciated, I am paid more here than in AUS and we have private healthcare and private schooling because we have much greater net wealth from lower taxes. Add the fact that our cost of living is 60% of that in Australia and my personal situation has never been better. We look after ourselves in this world verge, if you go around worrying about everyone else you'd have a bad life. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:22pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:18pm:
The US is in massive debt because it does not collect enough taxes to support its economy....It might help get elected to keep taxes low but sometime the piper will want to be paid his money....There is no such thing as a free lunch Andre and the USA will suffer for short term policy over long term fiscal responsibility!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:24pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:22pm:
Then I would just leave Phil. ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:24pm
I bet you have lovely lawns inside that gated community, A.H - golf carts to drive around on, stairmasters in the gym.
Keeps the blacks out too. What would you rather have - subsidised public housing or gated communities? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:27pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:24pm:
No need to bring race into it. It's not 1961 Johannesburg. It's just a regular community where house prices have appreciated and life is good. Despite what some would have you believe. To bring it back to the topic - we have no need for a private health rebate in the US BECAUSE we are able to fund our own healthcare due to lower taxation. Why would I get my own healthcare but also have to fund some deadbeat who pays in nothing? How is that fair on me? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:31pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:24pm:
And no doubt you will return to Australia where the economy is stable and the lifestyle is comparable.....Fair enough for an opportunist to seek opportunity in other people's stupidity I guess....It still beggars belief that the United States thinks that China will not bring their economy to its knees if they fail to address the debt they are incurring!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Maqqa on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:34pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:31pm:
Why bring the economy to its knees when you can buy it cheap? The Chinese can aggregate all its US Bond holdings into one company and leverage it 5 to 6 times. The Banks have been doing it for years With the money they can buy whatever they want |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:35pm
Dunno about returning to Australia Phil.
The country's nice enough but I am not so sure about its people..... ;) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:43pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:35pm:
Macca is not that bad Andre.....some of his mates are a bit shallow though!!! ;) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:46pm Maqqa wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:34pm:
When they own it all they will come knocking to get their money back....Anything can happen but rest assured the piper will come calling one day wont he Macca??? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 2:17pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:27pm:
Well, they have this thing called epidemiology and public health, A.H. It became popular after the Spanish Influenza of 1911. The theory is that many diseases are contageous. If you don't treat the deadbeats, the rest of the population gets sick. Yes, you and I know it's just the doctors trying to create a nanny state and gain control, but try telling them that. They give you all these reasons why you shouldn't let the deadbeats drop dead, their corpses left to attract the flies. The politicians give in to them every time. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 15th, 2012 at 3:12pm
I say well done to Labor; f*ck these greedy pricks who leave their savings untouched while benefiting from taxpayers money that on ANY other occasion, they'd be calling Socialism in sheeps clothing.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 15th, 2012 at 3:14pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:43pm:
I'm not surprised you aren't keen on coming back, you're in a country that is infamous for sucking up the a*se of high income earners. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:12pm
Well that's totally fair. I will be making over $200,000. How dare I? Shame on me!
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:21pm matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:12pm:
Sock!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:25pm matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:12pm:
Yes, but that's when you get elected, Matty. We still need to get past the preselection. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:43pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:21pm:
No thanks, Phil. I am not cold. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:44pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:25pm:
I am talking about when I am a specialist, Karnal. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:48pm matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:44pm:
Yes, but you'll need a stint in parliament before you can get into the lucrative consulting work, Matty. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:50pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:48pm:
No, I will be earning over $200,000 from what I am studying now. It has nothing at all to do with Parliament. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:54pm
Do they teach specializing at uni these days, Matty?
Which course are you taking for that? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:58pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:54pm:
I believe he is studying becoming an artist in bovine excrement!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by FriYAY on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:02pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:58pm:
Hands down the 2 most boring wankers on here. Get a life haters. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by nairbe on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:02pm Maqqa wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:22am:
Toni Abbott ignited the class wars by continually dragging up the subject. Now what is required is some cutting of the unaffordable bonuses like FTB and baby bonus. They are far too costly. These sorts of cash payouts must go so intelligent reforms such as disability insurance and dental care can be introduced. Such reforms will improve quality of life for the disadvantaged and help improve health care outcomes without handing out cash so that Gerry Harvey can sell more wide screens. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:08pm FriYAY wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:02pm:
How rude!!! [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:15pm FriYAY wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:02pm:
Thanks fri. If it's anyone's business, I am studying medica science, and am going to be a specialist. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:28pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 4:58pm:
Phil, Matty said he isn't going into politics now. Anyway, he stopped going to Greens meetings when he fell out with Toni Wright-Turner of the Hornsby Greens. I think it was an animal welfare issue. Matty, what career will you be doing instead? Life after politics is really hard for most. Which course are you doing? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Gist on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:31pm matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:15pm:
Medica? That a some kind of US health insurance company isn't it? I'm sure insurance sales can be lucrative but I didn't realise they could make that much. Good on you Mathew. If they have cheap rates I'm sure Andrei would love to pick up a policy. Just ignore the sign about deadbeats on the way in, I'm sure it isn't aimed at you. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:36pm matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:15pm:
Have you thought of what to specialise in yet, Matty? They make you do a degree in medicine and then more post-grad study before they let you become a specialist. You could make a lot more in politics, I reckon. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Soren on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:49pm Gist wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:31pm:
Don't heckle, Gits, you can't even spell your own name. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 6:05pm Soren wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:49pm:
Is Today Tonight over already, old boy? Or is it the anti-climax where they promise you a great story after the break and when it comes back on they tell you it's on tomorrow night? I never understand how people can fall for it every single night. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Gist on Feb 15th, 2012 at 6:22pm Soren wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 5:49pm:
;D Don't heckle, Sorell, you can't even come up with a good name to heckle with. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 7:37pm Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 1:00pm:
id be prepared to stake my house on that being totally ludicrous. Turnball is a better bet for the next leader of the LABOR party rather thant the libs and Rudd is hated by almost everyone in his party. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Phallic Baldwin on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:43pm
Only just caught onto this whole thing now, but why is removing the rebate a good thing? Given the current state of the public health system I would have thought anything to relieve the pressure off public hospitals would be a good thing?
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Annie Anthrax on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:48pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 12:54pm:
Yes. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:49pm Phallic Baldwin wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:43pm:
Exactly. This has NOTHING to do with helping the public health system. It has EVERYTHING to do with Labor's burning hatred of the middle income bracket. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:59pm
How does diverting funds from the cash strapped public sector to the most wealthy in our society be considered good policy......If the wealthy want to drop out of private health insurance and pay a higher medicare levy and be penalised if they want to rejoin then the public system will still be stronger.....We have 18 months to see if the wealthy dump their private health insurance and go onto public waiting lists behind everyone else....My guess is most people will understand the gravy train has left the station and it is still better to have private health insurance if you can afford it!!!
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:05pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:49pm:
In the words of the late Eric Morecombe.... "Rubbish!" |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:11pm Kat wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:05pm:
*Private healthcare rebate *Superannuations offset cut *Baby bonus means tested *First Homebuyer grant restriction * Giving out $1,000 to the lower people and excluding those over $100k Notice which demographic are hit by all this?? Yep those of us in the middle. The people who pay tax to support the likes of the welfare bludgers that Labor love to help so much. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:20pm Quote:
A true accomplishment the Government can put in the tick column.... 8-) ::) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:22pm corporate_whitey wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:20pm:
And bang another nail into the coffin that is their re-election hope. This has been a disastrous Government led by a very unpopular Prime Minister. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:24pm
Abbott has basically cooked his own goose committing himself against this policy - he is giving people the reason not to vote for him. ::) 8-)
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:27pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:22pm:
Lol - working families that were conned and forced onto Private healthcover by Howard are cheering from the rafters at this reform. 8-) ::) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:35pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:11pm:
And EVERY BIT of it is WEALTHFARE. YOU are rich enough to not NEED it, so YOU shouldn't GET it. And if it hadn't been for Howard buying votes, you would never have HAD nit in the first place. ALL wealthfare should be means-tested, and the cutoff point should be well below what you claim to earn. And the money saved should go to the WELfare recipients that you despise so much. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:42pm
Tony Abbott will have to argue why high income earners deserve a taxpayer funded hand out for their private health insurance and tell taxpayers what he will cut to provide this necessity.....I doubt he will convince the majority of people he is correct!!!
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:42pm You're pretty much correct Kat. All this is is undoing the unfairness Howards reforms swept into the Healthcare system. Why should the taxpayer pay to keep others rich? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:42pm
Here is my point though Kat.
What have these people done to deserve to get all this and the rest of us should get nothing? What help did I get from the Government in my life? My schooling was paid for by my parents, so the Government provided nothing there. My university was paid by my parents - so again nothing from the Government there. My professional qualifications were paid for by my employer - no Government help. What have the Labor Government ever done for me?? Nothing but take things off me. Then give to people who, with the greatest respect, are not more than scum. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:44pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:42pm:
Keep peddling that sweeping generalisation if it lets you sleep well at night. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:44pm Phallic Baldwin wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 9:43pm:
But Matty, you were talking to us just a minute ago. What happened? You were going to give up politics and become a specialist, remember? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:45pm GoddyofOz wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:44pm:
I sleep soundly thanks young man. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:48pm
Most people on here who support do not reflect the majority out there in Australia.
When you look at it - you have lower echelon folk, youngsters who have never really lived or run a family and dropouts like Buzz. Real everyday families who will be excluded with this stupid decision will not be happy. In short this Government has not a cat's chance in hell of re-election. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:51pm
Of course. You have a uniformed security guard on the gate.
What time is it in America right now, A.H? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:53pm
We do not have gates with uniformed guards.
Learn a bit more about the communities. Right now it would be about 5am or so. I look forward to returning home next week. This visit has again opened my eyes to what a basket case of a country this is. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:03pm
You can't have had too much sleep then, A.H, but you sound a bit confused about which country you're in.
If you did grow up in Australia, your schooling and university would have been paid for by the government. Yes, even private schooling. Generous, un-means tested family payments for your parents too. If you didn't, why are you posting all this from a gated community with a naked security guard at five am? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:05pm
I didn't grow up in Australia, but that is not relevant.
I post as an Australia (currently in Australia until Monday) but always wanting the best for my country of citizenship and birth. It's principle. It drives who I am. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:11pm
Do you? The country's a basket case under the current socialist government sounds a bit like - well...
Class war. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:11pm
Don't accept this rubbish from Andrei as the truth of it. He goes to wherever the Government will bend over to suit his own interests the most.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:16pm
Yes, an international model of class warfare based on principle alone.
A class without timezones, but rich parents and security guards without uniforms. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:17pm GoddyofOz wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:11pm:
Shock as person takes a role in a different country in order to provide a higher income to look after his family. Shock, horror!!!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:22pm
Maybe you had an Australian nanny.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:23pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:17pm:
So you and your family are like Locusts. Fair enough, a fair comparison. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:25pm
Don't get him started on immigration.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:25pm
Products of global market capitalism.
Highly skilled workers, utilizing the supply and demand curve to provide the highest revenue and quality of life for our family unit. I obviously want what is best for Australia - I just don't necessarily want to live there whilst my demographic seems so poorly treated compared to in the United States. The USA provides us a better life, that's not in doubt. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:27pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:25pm:
I don't hold an opinion on immigration in the USA. The United States is not my country, I am a mere guest - hence I do not involve in the politics of it. As for Australia, I am merely in favour of skilled migration from culturally suitable nations. Hardly an extreme position. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:33pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:27pm:
Just as long as you get to engage in elitist corporate class war eh... :-X |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:38pm
Try and get some sleep, A.H. Should be a busy day at the office today.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:40pm
REPOST ...
buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 14th, 2012 at 7:40pm:
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:53pm Kat wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:35pm:
Kat, why should people who don't earn as much be more deserving? It's their own fault. Why punish people for actually studying and being in the middle/upper class? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by matty on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:54pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:42pm:
Maybe that upper and middle should not have to pay more tax, and not be deserving of the health care rebate, just because we earn more? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:15am matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:54pm:
Prolly upper incomes need to be slashed to sustainable levels... 8-) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 16th, 2012 at 5:46am matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:53pm:
You're NOT being punished. You're merely being required to pay YOUR FAIR SHARE. Which, thanks to Howard, has NOT been the case. Oh, BTW, it is NOT a 'fault' to not earn as much as someone else. That comment was offensive and stupid. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by mozzaok on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:20am
All welfare payments should be means tested, end of story.
The taxation system being too erratic and fragmented to properly oversee the collection of fair and proper amount of Tax from far too many of the wealthy, is the reason that we see so much of the Tax burden unfairly imposed on the Middle Classes with dual salaries. I would also like to see the age pension means tested again, despite the Labor Party argument that those at the top end have contributed so much that they deserve to get the pension, even if they do not need it. Labor were wrong to have removed that means testing, and because of the GFC, lots of those magnanimous type gestures from yesteryear, need to be revisited. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:33am mozzaok wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:20am:
Actually, Mozzaok, WELfare payments ARE means-tested. Savagely, in the case of no-Start recips, less-so for other types. This system where the neediest get the least, while elitists like Andrei pocket a motza while screaming for more, is totally skewed the wrong way. As i said earlier, I'm MUCH more comfortable with MY tax-dollars going to a pensioner or someone who's on the dole, than I am with it going to the well-to-do as Howard-era bribes. And it sickens me that the right continue to view this as a legitimate entitlement, while begrudging the neediest a modest $50/week increase in the criminally-inadequate No-Start payment. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by olde.sault on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:40am Kat wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:33am:
------- There is a saying "Poor men don't pay wages". Don't have to like your employers but they are a necessary evil while we could do without drunks, drug addicts, gamblers, the bone lazy and those who arrive on boats without documents. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:46am olde.sault wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:40am:
I didn't mention employers, or whether I liked them or not. And I have been known to pay wages in my time. I stand by my wish to see MY tax-dollars go to someone on $13,000 a year rather than to someone on $200,000 a year. And for someone on $200,000 a year to claim that they should be MORE entitled to that money is simply obscene. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by mozzaok on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:55am Kat wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:33am:
Not all welfare payments are means tested Kat. my argument is that I think they ALL should be. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 16th, 2012 at 7:00am mozzaok wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 6:55am:
I'm not arguing that they shouldn't be, Mozzaok. But I AM arguing that, if WELfare payments are means-tested, then so, too, should WEALTHfare payments be means-tested, as Labor have done with the health rebate. It seems only logical, to me, and I applaud Labor for finally getting something right.. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by cods on Feb 16th, 2012 at 7:18am
CAN ANYONE TELL ME IF THE POOR PEOPLE WILL GET CHEAPER HEALTH CARE OUT OF THIS...
OR IS IT JUST TO BALANCE SWANS BUDGET AND HELP HIS SURPLUS? WE KEEP BEING TOLD... THE POOR HAVE BEEN SUBSIDISING THE RICH... SO SHOULDNT THEY BE GETTING IT CHEAPER NOW? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by imcrookonit on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:05am
By chief political correspondent Emma Griffiths
Updated February 14, 2012. The Federal Government and the Greens have hailed a deal over private health insurance as a "win for fairness". :) Health Minister Tanya Plibersek has secured Greens support for the Government's health legislation with a $165 million package to provide dental services to low-income earners. :) The legislation will allow means-testing of the private health insurance rebate and an increase in the Medicare Levy surcharge. The Government still needs the votes of cross-bench MPs, but Ms Plibersek believes the bill could pass the House of Representatives as early as tonight. "It means that low-income Australians won't be subsidising the private health insurance rebates of much higher-paid Australians," she said. ;) "I'm going to let the other crossbenchers speak for themselves, but what I can say is that I feel confident that this legislation will now pass in an unamended form." The money for dental care will be funded by an increase in the Medicare Levy surcharge for people on higher wages who do not hold private hospital cover. But the main plank of the legislation will means-test the private health insurance rebate, with reductions beginning for a single person earning more than $80,000 and families on $160,000. The rebate will cut out completely for singles who earn more than $124,000 and families on more than $248,000. Labor has been trying to means-test the private health insurance rebate for nearly three years. It represents a $2.4 billion boon to the budget. Ms Plibersek says the changes are fair. "Instead of subsidising the private health insurance of people on $250,000 a year, $500,000 a year, $1 million a year, it will instead be used on the sort of things that we're talking about today - the dental health needs of some of our most disadvantaged Australians," she said. :) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:20am matty wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:54pm:
Yes, Matty, that's pretty much what this new member said a page or so back. Piggy Baldwin? Sounds like he's been to boarding school, doesn't it? When we upper classes get into medicine, pass all the exams, do ten more years of study and medical residency, and are then admitted to the specialist college to become a specialist, we can start earning the big bucks and learn to avoid paying tax. Until then, we're just grunts like everbody else. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by skippy. on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:26am
I see the screeching from the right is still at fever pitch, "how dare those socialists take away our welfare". ::)
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:41am buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 11:40pm:
when a person like reinhardt whose personal income tax is more than the welfare bill of a small city, isnt entitled to a small and trivial rebate, then something is wrong. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:59am skippy. wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:26am:
It's class warfare. Andre has taken to calling his international tax-avoiding class his "demographic." And Matty is madly creating socks to agree. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by LDiorenderjustcallmeLD on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:17am
Expect to see a huge increase in company directors resigning from their boards to go and live on the dole at $16 a day. Instead of paying a few dollars extra for their premium healthcare coverage.
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by LDiorenderjustcallmeLD on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:21am
It is in the Liberal Party's DNA- say's Mr Abbott . Extra taxpayer money for the rich to maintain their privileges over everyone else. American healthcare.
Be aware. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:24am wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:21am:
Totally, totally not understanding people's point as usual. It is not the 'rich' who suffer with this. No Director is going to resign etc as your hysterical response notes. It is those of us in the middle incomes, those of us struggling with a family, high interest rates, mortgages, children to send to school etc. Those of us in the middle bracket of between $180,000 and $250,000 per annum single wage earner. The Rich will not suffer. Those like my boss on $450k + 50% bonus are not going to give a monkey's toss about this change. He can afford it. Those of us on the middle bracket - this is a big change. Stop looking at it as "The Rich" - they will escape fine. We will not. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by imcrookonit on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:28am
Those of us on the middle bracket - this is a big change.
Stop looking at it as "The Rich" - they will escape fine. We will not. Yes and start thinking about the poor. :( |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:29am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:24am:
! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:30am
Longy wrote
It is small and trivial to Gina Rinehart but it costs the budget billions of dollars a year.....I fail to see why you have any sympathy for people like her mate.....When some kid is waiting for an operation to save his life but must wait because the public system cannot cope I have no problem seeing the system changed to support people who NEED the help??? http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/newshome/12805697/son-breaks-his-silence-in-rinehart-battle/ Mr Hancock said he was prompted to speak after his mother used a security consultancy report- code-named Project Tara - to argue that her four children and five grandchildren faced heightened security risks, including kidnapping, murder and terrorism as a result of publicity surrounding the case. "I can support my wife and children in a modest manner from the work I do but I can't provide the level of funds required to deal with security issues - real or imagined - associated with being the son of a woman worth more than $20 billion," he said in a statement. "When my mother buys a few hundred million dollars worth of Fairfax, it's going to draw some attention. "But she won't share a penny to help protect her grandchildren from the risks she - the trustee of our family trust - is creating by her own actions. "Even the production of this expensive report causes more problems - her very conduct puts us in more jeopardy. "What more can I do than communicate to any kidnappers out there - over my dead body and you will be wasting your time anyway. If you think you're going to get anything from my mother, good luck." |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:30am wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:28am:
People are poor for a reason mate, usually their own doing. I wasn't given any extra help by the Government in my life yet I knuckled down and attained the qualifications needed not to be a toilet cleaner. There is too much "something for nothing" in today's society. Look after yourself and then look to others. I get sick and tired of sob stories from losers. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:31am
And upper class specialist, Matty, is currently getting youth allowance of -
How much are you getting, Matty? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:32am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:29am:
You add it up. When living in Melbourne our mortgage was over $4,500 per month. Add on school fees, health insurance, energy bills to run that home, petrol, two cars etc etc. You would be surprised (well you shouldn't be) that it is NOT plain sailing on that wage by any means. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:33am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:31am:
It's not about class. I am a working class kid. It's about fairness. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:37am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:33am:
What about your current "demographic"? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:41am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:32am:
When you live beyond your means do not expect taxpayers to support your lifestyle.....I heard a couple in Sydney crying poor when the GFC hit because they could not afford to keep up the payments on their $750 000 dollar investment property.....I have no sympathy for people who think they are entitled because they are wealthy.....Pay for your own extravagant lifestyle or live within your means like the rest of us FFS!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by imcrookonit on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:41am
You add it up.
When living in Melbourne our mortgage was over $4,500 per month. Add on school fees, health insurance, energy bills to run that home, petrol, two cars etc etc. You would be surprised (well you shouldn't be) that it is NOT plain sailing on that wage by any means. Is it plain sailing for someone on the minimum wage of $15.51 an hour?. I think you would be surprised also. :( |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:46am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:37am:
Single wage, family of 4, middle income with a house and 2 cars? Doing it pretty hard - particularly when you consider a Government with a burning hatred of said demographic seem determined to remove our entitlements from us with each passing week. The overall view I have - why would you deny people who pay into the country and hand it to deadbeats who pay in such little?? Then throw in the fking boat people into the mix who we seem to have to support and you have one basket case of a country system. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by imcrookonit on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:51am
The well off don't need a rebate for private health insurance. You are among the top 10 percent of income earners, therefore don't need the rebate. Having said that though, what I would suggest is that you should try and make a budget. I think it would be good for you, and you might be pleasantly surprised if you do. :)
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 10:55am philperth2010 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:30am:
There is an old proverb - since you seem to like them. "Don't muzzle the ox as he is treading out the grain" Gina reinhardt's mining companies pay enough tax to almost pay the entire australian health bill, yet you think she is therefore not entitled to the rebate? I understand that she doesnt need it, but since when was that a satisfactory reason for anything? so of you here will have high mortgages and this rebate is an important component of your lives. there are others of you who have no mortagages and lower incomes who are in a better state but will keep the rebate. THATS the problem with means testing. it defines 'means' rather poorly. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:03am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 9:46am:
Thanks, A.H. You raise some very interesting points. You have said many times that people don't have "entitlements". You've worked hard all your life without government assistance and expect others to do the same. You've also said you don't "pay in" through the tax system. You've made a point of this in many threads. And given you're based in the US, how could you? The deadbeats who are let into this country are let in, on the whole, to become wage earners. They pay income tax, and the business lobbies fight the government hard to let them all in. One hand washes the other: businesses get workers, and the government gets tax. Political parties are kept happy too, and often put their support behind certain groups of immigrants who they think will vote for them: a key reason Malcolm Fraser supported anti-communist Vietnamese refugees in the 1980s, but not related to this argument. Still, on the whole, these people have done it pretty hard. You've never had to flee with your life, leave everything behind, and start again in another country. You went to university, got a job, and settled in a gated community in a country with historically low tax rates for upper income earners. Vietnamese workers and businesses pay income and business tax. You don't. On the face of it, which "demographic" is turning this country into a basket case? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:10am From my perspective, I don't really care that I'm losing the rebate. It was just a scam to have self reliant people become dependant of government hand outs. The less I get from the government, the less I need the government. The less I need the government, the less I care what the government does. Kinda fits nicely with my aversion to voting for those self serving scumbags. The rest of you suckers can spend the rest of your days worrying about when it is your turn to lose your 'entitlements'. ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:20am BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:10am:
Why would you? The rebate was designed purely as a reward to the health insurers for their support of the Liberal Party. Having private health insurance does not take people out of the public hospital system, even if they do claim. Doctors still need to treat you in public hospitals. Emergency care is still given in public hospitals. And given the out-of-pocket expense of private health care, many go with the public system anyway. On a cost-benefit analysis, public health is the best way to go. Australian medical care is reliant on public hospitals. Without them, the private system would cease to function. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:29am
I don't speak here from a personal point of view, I am thinking of others.
Others who would be in the same bracket as I would be, had I be living in Australia and paying tax solely within AUS and declaring all income in AUS. Personally - I don't live in AUS so don't have to worry plus my time in Aus my grossed up income was less than $40k because of the double taxation offset relief where the rest of my salary was declared elsewhere. My view here is of the demographic - not me personally. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:30am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:20am:
Well karnal, the rebate subsidised my health insurance costs when the insurers jacked up their prices. Now that I'm about to lose it, the prices will remain the same or higher and i will no longer be subsidised. See how that would normally have a financially adverse effect on myself. So now it is no longer a reward for the insurers, it is a punishment for the financially self reliant. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:32am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:29am:
Very generous of you, A.H. We know your views on the demographic. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:34am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:32am:
Yes that they get utterly shafted by a Government that hates them in a time when they are struggling to get by. High interest rates, high cost of living, salary downward pressure, high energy prices. I know let's reduce their tax rebate further..... Fking arseholes, I have always hated Labor for this reason. Support scum but leave decent people high and dry. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:41am BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:30am:
Sure, but would you call it a punishment? Whether we like it or not, tax is about the redistribution of wealth. What's the point of taxing people and giving the money back to them? There is only one benefit, and that's political. Financial self-reliance means just that. If you're too young or too old or too sick to work, you can't be self reliant, no matter how hard you try. Babies are not self-reliant. The elderly are not self-reliant. If all goes perfectly, the average human being has less than 50 years of self-reliance. The reason we form communities (and pay taxes) is to manage the lack of self-reliance inherent in the human condition. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:44am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:34am:
Now now, we don't want to start a class war here, A.H. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:44am longweekend58 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 10:55am:
Yet you failed to respond to the fact the health system cannot afford to support people who really need the health system to save their lives let alone support people who are so well off they do not need the rebate....Should people die on waiting lists so people like Gina Rinehart can get a rebate??? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:48am
The health system just cannot afford to pay people to have private health insurance (that makes billions of dollars profit) while the public system is broken.....Trying to spew the line that thousands of people will suddenly swamp emergency wards or hospitals will suddenly not be able to cope is just scare mongering bullshit!!!
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:50am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:44am:
Class has nothing to do with it. I am working class. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:51am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:34am:
And yet I'm sure I've seen the words "Swinging Voter" used as self description. ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:59am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:50am:
Ah - so that's what you meant by your demographic: the international proletariat. I'm sorry, A.H, I completely misunderstood. That explains all the talk about struggle and class war. No wonder you hate the Labor Party - they're a bourgeouise distraction from the historical telos of class struggle: placing the means of production into the hands of the working class. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:00pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:41am:
Taxes have always been a punishment for working hard / smart / making money, most of which is wasted by the government anyway. Everybody gets taxed and everybody gets some of it back, it's how our tax system works. The poor pay bugger all tax and get the dole / subsidies with most of their income from taxpayer funded handouts, the rich pay huge amounts of tax and get rebates and refunds. Actually I intend to be self reliant when I'm 'elderly' too; there is no way I want to be reliant on government 'services' at any point in my life, not public health and definitely not the pension. Most people are born with their hand out, from cradle to grave, that's just not me; I don't want anything from the government. It's usually of poor quality and of insufficient quantity to be of any use anyway. All I ask of the government is to p1ss off and leave me alone to live my life as I see fit; with our current nanny state mentality that ain't working out so well either. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:07pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:00pm:
Here.....Here.....Australia needs hard workers who pay their due don't expect anything for nothing.....If money is not wasted on hand outs their is more to do the things that are required and taxes can be reduced for all hard workers!!! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:12pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:00pm:
The problem is that the tax system is so inefficient. For every $1 taken in tax, only about 60 to 70c is able to be spent or refunded. Far better to limit the amount of refunds and rebates, and reduce the taxation. If a high income earner pays $50,000 and tax and gets $10,000 back in rebates. Overall, the country would be better off with him paying $35,000 in tax and getting not rebates. Government would be neutral. Bloke would be $5000 extra in his pocket, and the only loser would be a few bean counters at the tax department whose servcies are no longer required. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:15pm
BigOl64:
Never caught a train? Used electricity or water? Been to a public school? University? Let's hope you don't need an ambulance or an emergency ward. I agree it would be nice if we could get rid of government services and let the private sector do everything, but I just don't see how we can. Australia has a small population and doesn't have a a big enough demand for various essential services. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:19pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:59am:
karnal vs Hicks. Two fictitious trolls, trolling each other. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:22pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:19pm:
You think he's a troll? If he is, he gets my full respect. He's managed to out-troll me. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:33pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:15pm:
Why do you always revert to a reductio argument, it's just friggen annoying and childish. NEVER said that I wanted everything privatised or shut down, did I? I JUST said ,the less government assistance in MY life the happier I am. Look if you want to live a life of government handouts that's your business, I personally do not. I thought you could have worked out I don't give a flying rats @rse what the rest of you people do. I'm losing my insurance rebate and I don't particularly care; I do my utmost to not have any need for government assistance; not too difficult to comprehend is it? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:37pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:33pm:
C'mon Biggo get with the program, that's the argument for when Tony's PM not Gillard. It's "I work hard yet I'm penalised" ATM ;) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:41pm :) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:21pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:20am:
i cant believe just how wrong you are in that assessment. almost every single statement is wrong. a cost-benefit analysis needs to include waiting 3 years for an operation that you 'need but wont kill you if you dont have it' which the private system wil give you in 3 days. almost NO private insured patients choose the public system when they have an alternative. AND the public system depends on the private system for its survival. if there were no private system, the public system would collapse under a 50% higher demand, not to mention the doctors who supplement the lousy publci system pay with private health work. Ever hear of 'waiting lists'?? there arent any inthe private system. build THAT into your cost-benefit analysis! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:24pm
Private healthcare of the wealthy should not be tax payer subsidized in principle.... :)
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:24pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:41am:
and finally someone is silly enough to say this. the tax system is NOT a means of wealth re-distribution. thats the socialist in you talking. taxes are for the paying of government and society's services and needs including looking after the poor. it is NOT to be an instrument of penalising the rich as was in the UK and Europe in the 70s and 80s. All that did was drive the acheivers out elsewhere. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:25pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:24pm:
Sometimes LW, you can make very valid and correct points. This is one such occasion where I agree with you. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:26pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 12:07pm:
so you are saying that we shoudl greatly reduce welfare across the board or (predictably) only for middle classes? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:28pm
The Wealthy are quite happy to have the tax payers money distributed illegitimately to them, but for some reason it must not be distributed to people who most need it --ohhh no you mustn't do that thats evil socialism...idiots. ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:29pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:25pm:
'welath redistribution' has been tried before. the USSR tried and and ended up with equality of poverty. the UK and Europe tried it and got a brain drain and a failing economy. It hasnt yet occured to many except perhaps here and the USA that tax is essentially a punishment imposed for the experience of earning income. at low levels, it is just an annoyance. at high levels it IS a punishment. and having any govt benefits denied you because you are a major contributor to tax revenue is obscene. Gina Rinehardt should have her health subsidy delivered to her in person by the PM. after all, she is paying almost teh entire national health budget out of her profits. a little bit of thanks every now and then wouldnt go astray! |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by longweekend58 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm corporate_whitey wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:28pm:
perhaps they object to giving money to lazy nohoper layabouts like you who contribute NOTHING whatsoever to the nation. You even use up air and water that you dnot deserve. and as for food... you eat the same as any 4 other people. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm corporate_whitey wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:24pm:
The wealthy are the 'taxpayers' you clown. ;D The poor don't make ANY meaningful contribution to the tax kitty, they like you, only take from it. If it wasn't for the wealthy taxpayers there would be no welfare for you to sponge off. If you want a say in how taxes are distributed, try paying some. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm
What a load of fictitious crap, LW... ;D ;D
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:33pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm:
I would not classify the wealthy as legitimate tax payers, they just manipulate the levers of political and economic power for their benefit... 8-) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:35pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm:
I definitely object to the wealth distribution to the wealthfare class - its an outrage, they have the global economy on the brink of collapse - the proof is in the fruits.... ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:44pm corporate_whitey wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:33pm:
If you PAY more in taxes than you get in rebates, subsidies and other welfare handouts, then you are a TAXPAYER, doesn't matter what friggen 'class' you are. And the wealthy pay vast sums on taxes, either as personal or company taxes. In this debate you are a nobody, just another whinging welfare recipient. ;D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:45pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:31pm:
True. Kerry Packer was a great donor to the public purse. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:47pm longweekend58 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:21pm:
Your usual drivel. Firstly Doctors dont give you an alternative. They say "do you have health insurance", As soon as you say "yes", you dont get a choice. You have to forcibly say "I wish to go public". And the waiting lists arent long. A year or so back I had an elective surgery. Had to wrangle with the specialist for ages to get him to take me as public (one of the few that actually would), and was in hospital within 3 weeks. Saved myself a motsa. the doctor was spewing. He could only charge Medicare a lousy $100/hour, instead of my health fund $600/hour. That $600 is funded, indirectly, through the rebate, and what would be my gap. Why would we allow that ? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:57pm
True. I needed to wait 6 weeks for an appointment after a referral to a private specialist.
I got into the public clinic in 2 weeks. Anyway, you could do a simple comparison on the number of private versus public hospital beds. Very few patients actually get treated in private hospitals, insurance or not. They just don't have the beds. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:58pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:47pm:
I don't get that you have private health insurance, but deliberately took a public health surgery slot from someone who could not afford to go 'private'. Man that is mean. The ONLY reason I have private health cover is so i don't have to go public, you for some unknown reason pay for health cover and then bludge off the public system anyway. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:00pm
If you can do that, what's the point of subsidising private health insurance?
And why even have private health insurance? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:01pm
Yeah bit surprised Jolly posted that.
More of a Andrei post :D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:10pm Jeee-Zus!! Four pages of the well-off bitching about losing the wealthfare they should NEVER have been given in the first place......and that's just while I was at work..... And you THINK that the unemployed are bludgers with a welfare mentality? They have NOTHING on you lot when it comes to bludging and rorting. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:15pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 3:58pm:
Rubish, the only people I was hurting was the greedy doctor. And I was helping myself by avoiding the gap, and the government from excessive rebate charges. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:20pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:15pm:
No actually you took a bed from someone who could not afford private health; that's what the public health system is for. You still haven't answered why you are paying for private health but are bludging off the public system; it seems you are wasting money not saving it. BTW, I bet your doctor would be happy to know what you think of him; these posts say a lot about you as a person and none of it is good. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:25pm
So public hospitals are a form of charity?
Have you heard of the Medicare levy? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by BigOl64 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:35pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:25pm:
What the hell are you on about. Haven't I spoken to you about deliberately 'misrepresenting' my posts, it doesn't become less annoying with repetition. If I meant to say that public hospitals were a form of charity then that's is what i would have written. Present your own argument instead of trying (poorly) to misrepresent that of others or I will start treating you like nails, greens, booby and corpulent whitey instead of an adult. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by JustcallmeLD on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:42pm
Why is it in Australia many mixing up Cost of living with cost of luxury !
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by GoddyofOz on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:55pm
I would like to thank LW for saying EXACTLY what I predicted he would and as a result, bolstering my ego.
I knew it was only a matter of time before the high-income earners gave up flinging s*it around like Monkeys on crack, and brought out the old copout chestnut "Socialism" boogeyman. That crap stopped being relevant when the Iron Curtain fell, so get with the times and come up with something original. If you want to rort the system to suit yourselves and f*ck everybody else, there are nations that have built themselves for you, such as ther United States. Make like Andrei and go there if you don't like it. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 5:18pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:35pm:
How would you like me to put it? If you pay the Medicare levy, you're as entitled to a public bed as anyone else. Private hospitals are often not much more than sterilized hotels attached to public teaching hospitals. They usually use the same theatres, anaethetists and theatre nursing staff. The private "system" is not a lot more than an add on to the public hospital system, and it was designed that way by people who saw a buck in it. The health lobbies are the biggest in the world, and political parties need their donations. This is why we even have private health insurance following the creation of Medicare. The industry were worried the business model would collapse and furiously lobbied the government to offer rebates. They called this "consumer choice." They then marketed themselves with a few free acupuncture sessions thrown in as a bonus. They don't fully cover you unless you pay them more in premiums than what it would cost a healthy person to pay a doctor or dentist anyway, and if you aren't healthy, they don't give you full coverage either. It's not an efficient form of public health, and it's not cheap. The profits go to shareholders rather than doctors and nurses. You can't syphon funds into non profit services like mental health. You end up with flashy patient rooms with plush carpet and nice pictures on the walls but effectively the same treatment as the public system. It works in the US because they have an ailing public health system. There, there is no choice, and it's kept that way by healthy campaign donations. In Australia, we have an entirely different model, and we should never cease to be grateful for it. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 5:31pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:48am:
::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 16th, 2012 at 5:35pm Kat wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 4:10pm:
The bludgers you will always have with you!! :D :D |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 16th, 2012 at 5:45pm
There you go. Death agrees.
And he has a vested interest in seeing the health system perish. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by beware on Feb 16th, 2012 at 7:57pm
Let's see - who bludges off whom: The Australian Bureau of Statistics reports that the highest 20% of income earners pay nearly 50% of tax & receive just 9% of the benefits of those taxes. On the other hand, the lowest 20% of income earners pay only 5% of taxes & receive more than 40% of the benefits. I'd advise all Labor stooges to get their facts right before they attack all those filthy rich people....
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 8:08pm beware wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 7:57pm:
Congratulations, you understand the basics of the Australian sliding taxation system that we've had for many decades. Anytime you wish to take advantage of these benefits you seem to desire just give away your wealth and apply. Really what has happened to this place over the last 20 years. No one spoke of entitlement, no one bragged about accepting welfare, that was kept as a dirty secret. No one wanted it but were glad it was there if needed and refused often actually too early as a matter of pride. Have we all suddenly become Greek? How's their tax avoiding entitlement mentality working out? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 16th, 2012 at 10:17pm
2008 I was paid over $235,000 for my role including bonuses etc for the 12 months in Australia.
My gross income according to the ATO - A$44,250. Private health rebate, first home buyers grant, baby bonus all of it claimed in full. I have been critical many times of Australia and its system so I will level it up by saying thank you on this occasion. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:50pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 10:17pm:
If this is true which I doubt.....That is what you told the ATO your gross income was not what they said it was.....You have nothing to be proud of and have proven that every taxpayer hand out should be means tested!!! When there is an income tax, the just man will pay more and the unjust less on the same amount of income. Plato (427 BC - 347 BC), The Republic |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:18am philperth2010 wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 11:50pm:
Means testing is exactly my point Phil. My gross incomes are perfectly correct. The ATO figure is post adjustment for Double Tax Offset Relief. Therefore you can means test all you like, the only way you would prevent me getting that in 2008 would be to stop everyone on $44k getting it, and being a rabid Socialist I am sure you wouldn't want that? I have also been ATO audited on it mate. It's perfectly correct. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:16am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 16th, 2012 at 10:17pm:
First home owners grant? What about the gated community in the US, A.H? |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:34am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:18am:
To be entitled to a foreign income tax offset: •you must have actually paid, or be deemed to have paid, an amount of foreign income tax •the income or gain on which you paid foreign income tax must be included in your assessable income for Australian income tax purposes. So you still paid tax on your total income you just did not pay it all in Australia!!! *first home buyers grant is now done so you cannot get it again!!! *if you have another child in Australia you will be entitled to the baby bonus!!! *if you work a full year in Australia and your income takes you over the threshold you will now have the health care rebate means tested!!! :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Kat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:59am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:18am:
Legally correct, it may be. But it is socially and morally abhorrent. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:13pm Kat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:59am:
If it is true then Andre is not telling the whole truth......he must have actually paid, or be deemed to have paid, an amount of foreign income tax to be entitled to a foreign income tax offset.....Plus he would not be eligible for the first home buyers grant again.....He would only get the baby bonus if he has another child in Australia and has been a resident for more than 12 months and he would be means tested on his income to determine his eligibility for tax offsets and the health care rebate......Never believe anything is true when it sounds like crap!!! ;) ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Phallic Baldwin on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:42pm
The middle class will suffer as well, it is not the mega wealthy who utilise private health insurance.
i'd be less cynical of this if I knew the savings would actually go towards improving the public health system. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Phallic Baldwin on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:45pm Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Feb 15th, 2012 at 10:44pm:
Not Matty. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Karnal on Feb 17th, 2012 at 9:49pm
Oh, Matty! Only Matty would say that!
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:26pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 12:13pm:
Without going too in depth Phil. I had a set up company in the UK Channel Islands, the multinational contracts to my company to perform the project work in Australia for a period of 2 years. The contracted job is paid as contracting fees at $200k per annum. I work as an employee for the company I set up for a salary of $50,000 per year and declare this in Australia as my income. The tax paid by my company in the Channel Islands is offset to get down to $44k - which is my income in total. The tax paid in the Channel Islands is the Corporation tax - which is 0% on the first $400,000. It's actually a practice that works quite well for medium term projects - but I had to be a non domiciled British citizen to be able to do it. Anyways, that's all beside the point, what I am trying to say is that means testing doesn't resolve everything. I would pass for all of those benefits again - with the means test. Karnal - I rent in San Diego, I don't own. I don't intend to live in the United States all my life. I have kept my house in Australia. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by corporate_whitey on Feb 17th, 2012 at 10:59pm
A positive step forward in cutting corporate wealthfare...more of it. 8-)
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:17pm
Not all Australian's are driven by self interest like you Andre!!!
>:( >:( |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:20pm philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:17pm:
Although I could debate about the affect this would have on the majority of taxpayers in Australia who are subject to means testing....I fail to see what you are trying to prove apart from the fact if the tax system allows the wealthy to avoid paying what is due they will do all they can to avoid there fair share and still suck up the benefits....Thank you for proving why means testing is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the greed of the those who do not need welfare and see no problem with taking everything that is offered whilst giving as little as possible in return!!! >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by philperth2010 on Feb 18th, 2012 at 11:48am
So the wealthy can set up a company in the UK Channel Islands and pay little or no tax on their income....Yet they cry poor about having their taxpayer subsidy means tested.....How do the Liberal faithful justify this???
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 18th, 2012 at 11:49am philperth2010 wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 11:48am:
If you are on about me Phil, and I assume you are, I am not, and never have been, a member of the Australian Liberal Party. They don't have to justify anything I do. |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Maqqa on Feb 18th, 2012 at 11:53am philperth2010 wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 11:48am:
If you are going to set this structure up then your income would not be high enough for the means test to have an impact Therefore your statement is simply rhetoric |
Title: Re: Private Health Means Test - Its PASSED Post by Maqqa on Feb 18th, 2012 at 11:57am philperth2010 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 11:20pm:
what is due and what is a fair share are listed out on the ATO website and not by anyone's personal envious opinion if you don't pay it then you have committed a crime and will be arrested |