General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Health of the budget http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1328056694 Message started by Doctor Jolly on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:38am |
Title: Health of the budget Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:38am Very interesting point regarding the budget was raised on "The drum" last night. Health makes up a massive proportion of the government budget, so any talk of budget cuts MUST include health, yet no politician talks about health budget cuts, and Abbott actually talks about increasing health expenditure in the same breath as budget cuts which is physically impossible. The girl on the show said the biggest hurdle to heath is the lack of doctors in Australia. Absolutely spot on the money if you ask me. Doctors hold the country to ransom, I doubt there is a more protected workforce in Australia. Immediately double the number of university places for doctors, and lower the entry marks required. Fast track foreign doctors into the GP ranks with conversion courses. Why isnt this being done?! |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by PoliticalPuppet on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:46am
Its time to stop talking about money like we have an endless suply.
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by Maqqa on Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:47am Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:38am:
(1) $2.7B Pink Batts was not part of the health budget (2) $16B BER was not part of the health budget (3) The $42B stimulus that did little to nothing to stem the GFC was not part of the health budget (4) $30B cost blow out of NBN was not part of the health budget (5) Billions in interest rates for the current Labor debt close to $250B was not part of the health budget If we are going to criticise the Coalition's plans - then it least start with a common base. This common base is about fixing the Labor stuff ups - PERIOD!! |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 1st, 2012 at 12:05pm
Here's the federal budget breakdown (PER YEAR):
Public service: $20b Defense: $20b Safety (police): $3b Education: $32b Health: $57b Welfare: $111b Plus a few more minor things combines to $336b What exactly do we get for the $57b we spend on health? Doctors who can charge $300/hr ? |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 1st, 2012 at 6:33pm bobbythefap1 wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:46am:
Money comes from resources!! :o :o :o :o :o |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by PoliticalPuppet on Feb 1st, 2012 at 6:34pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 6:33pm:
Yeah but that depends on other nations buying them and if they go bankrupt they cant |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by nairbe on Feb 1st, 2012 at 7:19pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:38am:
AAAR? something to do with professional standards and quality of service. There are doctors and doctors. So i take it you want an american system where if you can afford it you can have good health care. If you are poor you can have backyard abortions and dodgy import doctors. Yep one of those brain explosions, sure you not a mate of Abbotts. |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by salad in on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:16pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:38am:
You're not a very committed altruist are you? Quote:
How deep are your pockets? If you happen to fall victim to TB (introduced by your friendly government after it was almost eradicated) you might have a daily dose of: 2 x 15mg caps of Rifabutin taken in the morning 1 x 400mg tab of Ethambutol taken in the morning 3 x 100mg tab of Ethambutol taken in the morning 1 x 500mg tab of Clarithromycin taken in the morning 1 x 500mg tab of Clarithromycin taken in the arvo. My relative has completed an 8 month course of the above and never had to pay a cent for it. Who pays? It's the good old taxpayer of course. Toss in all the brochures printed in 16 or so languages that deal with STD's, Hep B, Heb C and a host of other medical issues and it all adds up. True story: a friend went to Westmead Dental Hospital to receive treatment. Appointment was for 8am. Sitting in the waiting room was a small elderly Asian woman. At about 8 o'clock 5 women came up the the reception desk and the lady on duty said: "Thank heavens you're here. Cound you ask that lady over there (Asian woman) what she wants." One of the ladies who was an interpreter went over and spoke with the Asian woman in mandarin (?). Who pays for the interpreter? It's the good old taxpayer of course. Reign in the health budget. IMPOSSIBLE! Australia....you're standing in it. |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by salad in on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:24pm
It is never ending:
Your money at work. |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by salad in on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:29pm
This is what you pay tax for:
It's only money. |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by cods on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:32pm
there was something on the local news here tonight in CANBERRA I sort of missed half of it but it was something to do with cutting public service jobs... something like 14000....I am sure that was the number..shock horror... this from a labor govt..
btw all the depts have had their budgets cut...I can tell you it is causing a lot of friction.. but have you noticed its never the top jockeys that go.they just invent new dept for them |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by cods on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:33pm salad in wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:24pm:
dont forget all those interpreters at the detention centres they were going to close. |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by salad in on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:52pm
But wait...there's more:
Getting injured at work might mean a trip to the hospital which means soaking up more health care dollars. What makes it hard to phuking understand is that a person may enter Australia illegally, get a job on a building site, suffer an injury, maybe get hospital treatment, may get a lump sum payout but be a phuking illegal worker. Australia, you've gone phuking nuts. |
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by salad in on Feb 3rd, 2012 at 7:34am
Salad In tells the truth if you can handle the truth.
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by salad in on Feb 5th, 2012 at 8:01pm
Time stamp: 12:15pm, 5th February, 2012. I was at the Bunnings store at Seven Hills when I noticed a sausage sizzle being held in the carpark. The event was being staged by volunteers who were raising funds for the Royal Flying Doctor Service.
Imagine Doctor Jolly what the health budget would be like if the RFDS was properly funded instead of forcing it to hold sausage sizzles and other fundraising activities. Quote:
Title: Re: Health of the budget Post by perceptions_now on Feb 5th, 2012 at 9:15pm
A few observations -
1) Cutting the Health Budget will be very, very difficult. 2) In fact, I would suggest impossible! 3) A large chunk of the Health Costs, go on the elderly and with the largest generation in history, the Baby Boomers, currently starting their "official retirement years", the Health costs can be expected to soar, over the next 20 years or so, as that generation age, then leave us forever! 4) A huge number of Health Professionals, are actually Baby Boomers themselves and something like 40% of Health Professionals are due to retire, in the next 10-15 years or so. 5) Anyone who has been into a large hospital recently will realise that a large number of staff are not Australian, they have been "imported" from other countries, such as Asia, Africa, Europe & elsewhere. 6) As the current Baby Boomer Health Professionals retire over the next 10-20 years, I would suggest that both the & Liberal party's plan is for the majority of replacements to come from overseas, not from Australia. 7) That plan will fail, as many of countries will be bidding for that relatively small number of Global Health Care Professionals and the countries we will be trying to take them from will be in much greater need than us. In short, a few things are likely to happen - 1) Health Costs, as a % of the total Budget, is likely to go up, not down! 2) Health Care, in general, is likely to get worse, not better, as the number of Health Care Professionals, as a % of the total population decreases, not increases. Oh and off topic, which is what she often does, unless Maqqa can be relevant to the topic, instead of just going over the same, boring Political spin, she may as well not bother! |