General Discussion >> General Board >> Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1327483409 Message started by blackadder on Jan 25th, 2012 at 7:23pm |
Title: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by blackadder on Jan 25th, 2012 at 7:23pm
WTF has he done besides earn millions of dollars for himself to be Australian of the Year??
Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush is urging local writers to tell the stories of asylum seekers who try to make the perilous journey to Australia by boat. The multi-award winning actor on Wednesday was named Australian of the Year at a ceremony outside Parliament House in Canberra in front of a crowd of 10,000, including Prime Minister Julia Gillard http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8408879 |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Kat on Jan 25th, 2012 at 7:40pm
David Hicks.
smack yez! Poofters, pansies, and parasites need NOT apply. NO actors, pollies homos, Abos, immigrants. And if you are a 'doctor' or a 'lawyer', a 'sportsman', or a 'woman', smack OFF! Parasites! |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by cods on Jan 25th, 2012 at 8:06pm blackadder wrote on Jan 25th, 2012 at 7:23pm:
god we are a sorry lot we really are... Geof Rush... OMG.. up against people like Fa Riley and the Morecombs. I could scream.. and we talk about getting rid of the Queen.. LOL.. we are growing up...LOL>. sorry shaking my head in disbelief.. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by cods on Jan 25th, 2012 at 8:07pm
if I was Geoff Rush I would have been embarrassed I was even mentioned..let alone given the honor??
well it isnt an honor anymore is it? its a joke. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Karnal on Jan 25th, 2012 at 9:20pm cods wrote on Jan 25th, 2012 at 8:06pm:
And so you should, dear. Shame Labor Shame. There will be no carbon tax under a government I lead, the most incompetent government in Australia's history, etc, etc, etc. Know anyone who's won an Oscar, Cods? Who does I don't know how many movies a year and still finds time to do plays? By the way, Matty is the youngest Australian ever to be nominated for an Order of Australia, so we're in good company in this thread - if he posted, of course. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by life_goes_on on Jan 25th, 2012 at 9:23pm
Cods, have a scream, have a spit, take a Bex and tell us in the morning how you feel.
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Dnarever on Jan 25th, 2012 at 9:46pm
Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush
He is not a bad actor but I never realised he played cricket. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by MOTR on Jan 25th, 2012 at 10:03pm blackadder wrote on Jan 25th, 2012 at 7:23pm:
The man is an outstanding actor. Great man. Great Australian. What exactly is your problem? |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by matty on Jan 25th, 2012 at 10:22pm
Oh, you must be joking! I was shaking my head in disbelief. This should have definitely gone to Father Riley or the Morcombes. What a disgrace. Also, the young Australian of the year? What has she done to benefit anyone?? AOY has lost all significance in my eyes, an absolute disgrace that they won.
The Aboriginal woman from Arnhem Land definitely deserved to win the Senior award, as did the NSW woman to win the Local Hero. The other two, though? What a joke. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Karnal on Jan 25th, 2012 at 10:25pm
Were you up for Young Australian, Matty?
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by life_goes_on on Jan 25th, 2012 at 10:28pm
Old Troll Of The Year.
Always a bitterly fought award. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by matty on Jan 26th, 2012 at 12:36am Life_goes_on wrote on Jan 25th, 2012 at 10:28pm:
Sorry, Julia Gillard has nothing to do with this. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by cods on Jan 26th, 2012 at 7:05am Life_goes_on wrote on Jan 25th, 2012 at 9:23pm:
didnt work feel worse....grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... sorry sorry sorry if its the best we can do.. how about we forget about this non event Australian of the Year...its embarrassing..we must have a very low IQ in this country..an actor!!!! a person who spends his life doing makebelieve....RIGHT! thats right up there isnt it? |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by cods on Jan 26th, 2012 at 7:06am Life_goes_on wrote on Jan 25th, 2012 at 10:28pm:
I know that isnt funny but... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D this is such a joke... |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Doctor Jolly on Jan 26th, 2012 at 8:15am
Ok choice IMO.
But has there been a more influential Australian than Julian Assange over the past year or two? |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Kat on Jan 26th, 2012 at 8:19am Doctor Jolly wrote on Jan 26th, 2012 at 8:15am:
Probably not. But then, he has been incorrectly branded a criminal by Gillard. I'd go for him as Aussie of the year, no worries. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Jasignature on Jan 26th, 2012 at 8:34pm
Love Geoffrey Rush. But how the hell does he become an Australian of the Year?>
How 'shallow' that we must still judge our 'nationalism' byh the extent of our 'expatriots'. Mind you - if a bunch of 'Televisual' Australians make Rush 'their' Australian of the Year. Good on em. Just waiting for the Australian Internet Community to put up their Australian of the Year ...what, no takers? No wonder the gips still rule this country. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Jasignature on Jan 27th, 2012 at 10:18am
Wonder if we would ever get some dirty dreadlocked Feral (the University type, not the 'dopey' Hippie type from the far north) from the Tall & Old Growth Forests of Tasmania, who has sacrificed much in his/her life to keeping for us something wonderful and appreciative in regards to nature against the villiany of John Howard and his "Just leave the trees along the Roads so everyone will think the Forests are still there." trick.
? I guess, Australia Day and Australian of the Year caters just to a certain type of Australian? (Televisual, UK & USA<Western> affiliated, Commercial, etc) Reminds me of Pinochet in Chile and how he celebrated 'Chile Day' with shallow Flag flying and not much else for good reason, while he played the Enemy to the USA on TV but took their money under the table when the USA was sure no one was looking. Can't wait for the Art Industry (Computer, not TV traditional: paints, etc) to take over this country in the 'Power' stakes ...at least people won't have to grovel to the UK and USA like the GG & PM to earn more. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Uncle Meat on Jan 28th, 2012 at 9:35am It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Jan 26th, 2012 at 8:34pm:
Criteria: #1 - "Demonstrated excellence in their field" #6 - "Contribution in the relevant field (how has the nominee 'put back' into their field to benefit others)" http://www.australianoftheyear.org.au/pages/page560.asp Demonstrated excellence: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001691/awards Not all that hard to figure out really. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 28th, 2012 at 9:40am Uncle Meat wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 9:35am:
A lot strong candidates though. In my last role in Australia in healthcare, I spent a day with a surgeon who worked in the Children's area of healthcare. A single day with that guy and what he had to see, do, explain to parents from children losing arms, to changing their lives with spinal chord surgery etc - that single day for me was exhausting. He has done it everyday for 25 years. Geoffrey Rush - bloody good bloke and a tremendous actor but what lives has he changed in comparison. I know who is more worthy of Australian of the Year in my mind. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Uncle Meat on Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:05am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 9:40am:
The medical field has been well represented in the past (and rightly so). The award is shared around. Sports stars, doctors, scientists, etc. They all get a go. This year is was the arts. That's just how the award works. There'll be another recipient from the medical field in the future. http://www.australianoftheyear.org.au/recipients/?action=list&type=2&cat=0 |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by adelcrow on Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:46am
Geoff seems like a decent bloke and he has done heaps for the arts industry in this country so I can see no reason for all the haters.
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:22am adelcrow wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:46am:
I agree on both counts. I just believe though there are stronger candidates and I don't agree in the "Give the Arts a chance this year". An Australian of the Year should be an Australian of the year whatever. Sports stars just make the thing a laughing stock by the way. And I love sport. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by adelcrow on Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:28am
There will always be better candidates no matter who gets the gong.
Geoff is a good choice for this year and I would have thought choosing him was the least controversial choice outside of the sciences and medicine for awhile. |
Title: Re: Australian of the Year Geoffrey Rush Post by Uncle Meat on Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:31am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:22am:
I don't love sport, but I'm glad sports stars have been selected in the past (maybe not that pugilist though). Nobody would seriously argue that actors are more important than doctors (that's not what the award is about), however, everyone plays an important part in society and recognition of the various fields they participate in is essential. Without sport and the arts, Australia would be a pretty dull place. |