General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> HILARIOUS!
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1317262419

Message started by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:13pm

Title: HILARIOUS!
Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:13pm
THE crew of a boat carrying 75 asylum seekers phoned West Australian police to warn authorities they were about to arrive at Christmas Island yesterday.
The boat had slipped unnoticed into Australian waters and was five nautical miles northeast of Christmas Island when the crew made three triple-0 calls and were put through to WA police. The caller did not say the boat was in distress.

The vessel was intercepted by the patrol boat HMAS Albany.

Home Affairs Minister Brendan O'Connor said those on board were being taken to the Christmas Island detention centre for initial checks.

"Border Protection Command boarded the vessel after being advised by the Australian Federal Police Operations Centre of calls being made to the triple-0 emergency number in Western Australia," Mr O'Connor said. "Initial indications suggest 75 passengers and two crew on board."

It is the fourth boat to be intercepted since the High Court quashed the federal government's Malaysia people-swap deal on August 21. Since the deal was signed in July, 658 people and 22 crew have been picked up.

It is understood it is not the first time a boat crewman has alerted WA police of an impending arrival and in the past calls have been put through to a range of agencies including customs, the immigration department and the Australian Maritime Safety Authority.

by now I am surprised they are not carrying Australian passports.. ;D ;D

Title: Re: HILARIOUS!
Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm
So clearly they aren't attempting to invade and there is no danger.

What's next on your agenda?

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:18pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:

its not my agenda you want to worry about comrade.. its gillards shes got one that says she stopping the boats or have you forgotton..

btw you arent not all that worried about our border protection I see.. they were probably all at lunch funny how the people smugglers have no trouble finding Christmas Island but we cant find them.... maybe we need to send our specialists to Java for a few lessons.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:18pm:

its not my agenda you want to worry about comrade.. its gillards shes got one that says she stopping the boats or have you forgotton..

btw you arent not all that worried about our border protection I see.. they were probably all at lunch funny how the people smugglers have no trouble finding Christmas Island but we cant find them.... maybe we need to send our specialists to Java for a few lessons.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

The fact is, obviously we aren't under threat when the boat arrived and TOLD the police it was coming.

Post by Kytro on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:25pm
It is pretty amusing. There isn't much Gillard can really do at the moment, being a minority government.

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:27pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm:

The fact is, obviously we aren't under threat when the boat arrived and TOLD the police it was coming.

huhummmmmmmmmmm so what are we protecting then why is gillard scared sh1tless about people smugglers. whom she gave permission to to restart up the industry..........why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????...comrade I know you have the answer.... did any of these pass through Russia on the way here??? I see where Putin is back to bring back austerity. we might need to get ready for the invasion from Russia.. next!

I can only guess if people were just marching through your home uninvited you wouldnt bat and eyelid. good to know.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm

Radar is not too good at picking up small wooden boats cods, never has been particularly if the weather and sea conditions are rough.

Perhaps the foreign criminal people smugglers can give Juliar a call on the batphone from Indonesia, and she can cut to the chase and send a troopship to pick up these prospective dole queue fodder and take them straight to a Centrelink office on the wharf at Christmas Island.
This would speed the process up some.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:27pm:

huhummmmmmmmmmm so what are we protecting then why is gillard scared sh1tless about people smugglers. whom she gave permission to to restart up the industry..........why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????...comrade I know you have the answer.... did any of these pass through Russia on the way here??? I see where Putin is back to bring back austerity. we might need to get ready for the invasion from Russia.. next!

I can only guess if people were just marching through your home uninvited you wouldnt bat and eyelid. good to know.

If a person knocked on my door and requested assistance because they were in danger, of course I would help them. Like any civilised and normal human being would.

As for Gillard, on some level I agree with you. She is engaging in this ridiculous political argument regarding boat people and is aiming to reach the bottom before Abbott.  That's pretty disgusting. But then what would I expect from Gillard and Abbott at the helm?

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm

Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:25pm:
It is pretty amusing. There isn't much Gillard can really do at the moment, being a minority government.

And being a dithering blithering incompetent doesn't help at all either.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:

Radar is not too good at picking up small wooden boats cods, never has been particularly if the weather and sea conditions are rough.

Perhaps the foreign criminal people smugglers can give Juliar a call on the batphone from Indonesia, and she can cut to the chase and send a troopship to pick up these prospective dole queue fodder and take them straight to a Centrelink office on the wharf at Christmas Island.

So, the current 23,000 and ALL past refugees are still dole bludgers are they?

Post by buzzanddidj on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:35pm
Make way for jetset asylum seekers
September 22, 2011

About 9000 applications were lodged by air arrivals in the past 18 months - more than triple the number of refugee claims made by boat people.

ASYLUM claims by people who fly to Australia have doubled in the past five years, figures show.

About 9000 applications were lodged by air arrivals in the past 18 months - more than triple the number of refugee claims made by boat people

China was the biggest source of applicants, followed by Fiji, Pakistan and Iran, according to an Immigration Department report.

Monash University associate researcher Adrienne Millbank said it was virtually impossible for genuine asylum seekers to come by plane because of strict vetting of visa applicants by immigration authorities.

Ms Millbank said most people who arrived by air and then made refugee claims were manipulating the system to extend their stay in Australia.

"You can certainly say that these people are untruthful because they have to declare when they get a visa that they're not intending to apply for asylum," she said.

"They are no more deserving than the people who pay for people smugglers because in one case they are manipulating the system and in the other case they are trying to break in illegally"

About 6000 air arrivals lodged claims last year, compared with 3190 in 2005-06, said the report Asylum Statistics Australia 2010-11.

More than 90 per cent of Iranians, Afghanis and Iraqis were successful in 2009-10, while Chinese had a 42 per cent success rate, Lebanese (33.7 per cent), Fijians (16 per cent) and Indians (12.9 per cent).

Asylum Seeker Resource Centre spokesman Pamela Curr said the department did not publish figures on the number of people turned around at Australian airports before they had a chance to make refugee claims.

Ms Curr said some people on visitor and student visas made asylum claims in a bid to prolong their stay in Australia, but many air arrivals had genuine reasons for seeking refugee status.

"With the recent trouble in North Africa and the Arab world, we are seeing applicants from countries like Syria, Egypt and Bahrain," she said.

"We are also seeing more Iranians because of the unrest in Iran two years ago."

The report said there were 2172 asylum claims lodged by boat people last year, compared with 228 in 2008-09 and 21 in 2007-08.

In the first six months of 2010-11, the biggest number of refugee claims came from Afghanistan (1118). Then followed Iran (809), stateless persons (655), Iraq (405) and Sri Lanka (251).

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/make-way-for-jetset-asylum-seekers/story-fn7x8me2-1226143002905

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:37pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:

If a person knocked on my door and requested assistance because they were in danger, of course I would help them. Like any civilised and normal human being would.

As for Gillard, on some level I agree with you. She is engaging in this ridiculous political argument regarding boat people and is aiming to reach the bottom before Abbott.  That's pretty disgusting. But then what would I expect from Gillard and Abbott at the helm?

no comrade... they are not knocking on your door asking for assistance they are marching straight in... if they were knocking on your door they would do so before they arrived and not after..sorry but all the fussy nicey doesnt work...

the people smugglers are choosing who comes here.. no one else.

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm

well surely they have figures out a way to get round that... my god these guys have mobil phones..does that mean they have battery chargers on board... come on....

I am amazed someone hasnt already lined up P.&O to do a stop in Java and save us all this bloody trouble..hey they could take them straight to Malaysia.. now theres a thought???... Julia are you paying attention?

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:37pm:
no comrade... they are not knocking on your door asking for assistance they are marching straight in... if they were knocking on your door they would do so before they arrived and not after..sorry but all the fussy nicey doesnt work...

But they are knocking on the door when they call the WA police.  If they didn't, then I'd agree that they are marching in.

Post by buzzanddidj on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:47pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:23am:
THIS will be one to keep an eye on ...

Smuggling challenge sent to higher court
September 12, 2011

A CHALLENGE to Australia's people smuggling laws based on the rights of asylum seekers to enter the country will be referred to Victoria's highest court.

Lawyers for an accused people smuggler had asked the Victorian County Court to halt his case while a challenge to the law was heard by a higher court.
Today, Victorian County Court chief judge Michael Rozenes ruled the questions of law should be considered by the Victorian Court of Appeal.
The court heard similar questions have been referred to the Northern Territory's highest court for consideration.
Judge Rozenes joked it would be a race between the courts to see who could decide the matter first.
He said the Victorian Court of Appeal may decide it does not want to hear the case given the question of law is already before a Northern Territory court.

Last month, a lawyer for accused people smuggler Jeky Payara, 20, argued under international law, asylum seekers are permitted to come to Australia and make a claim for asylum

To prove a charge of people-smuggling, prosecutors must argue a person had no right to come to Australia, the lawyer Saul Holt said.

Mr Payara has pleaded not guilty to aggravated people-smuggling, a new criminal offence created last year that carries a mandatory five-year jail sentence

A ruling on the question of law would set a precedent that could affect 33 trials in Victoria and many more across Australia.

http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/smuggling-challenge-sent-to-higher-court/story-e6frfku0-1226134697339#ixzz1ZC5VBdS7

Post by Kytro on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:55pm

Gillard isn't so much scared as she has engaged in a political spitting match with the opposition over keeping out the nasty boat people (while ignoring the larger issue of visa over-stayers etc). I highly doubt people smugglers need permission, considering they are smugglers and all.

Australia isn't a house so the analogy does not make much sense, but if you were to extend it would be like having your 20 people come to your house and refuse to leave via the front door while you vehemently complain about the 2 than snuck in the back.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:07pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm:

the unemployment rate among refugees is close to 80%. you make your own determination!

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:10pm

Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:55pm:

Gillard isn't so much scared as she has engaged in a political spitting match with the opposition over keeping out the nasty boat people (while ignoring the larger issue of visa over-stayers etc). I highly doubt people smugglers need permission, considering they are smugglers and all.

I'm not sure what the government can do about visa overstayers even though they are a much larger issue.
I suspect they aren't hanging around at the address they would have given the department.
Perhaps electronic tracking devices could be inserted into the body when they get here?

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:14pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:07pm:

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm:

the unemployment rate among refugees is close to 80%. you make your own determination!

Talk about trying to misinterpreting statistics.  That figure refers to refugees who have been in the "system" for the past 5 years.  I'm talkin gabout ALL the refugees that have gone through the system. Still want to keep the claim to your 80%?

Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:16pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:

Blindly trusting people can backfire.....

Police are investigating a violent home invasion in which a 61- year-old woman was restrained for more than an hour while her home was ransacked.

Senior Constable Naomi Smith says a man knocked on the woman's door in Amarillo Drive in Karnup last night saying his car had broken down and he needed to use a telephone.

"As soon as the victim let him inside, two additional offenders armed with screwdrivers, a hammer and a wooden pole also forced their way in," she said.

"The three offenders detained the woman for almost an hour while they searched the home for valuables.

"They also forced open a firearms cabinet, stealing firearms and ammunition."

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:23pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm:

well surely they have figures out a way to get round that... my god these guys have mobil phones..does that mean they have battery chargers on board... come on....

I am amazed someone hasnt already lined up P.&O to do a stop in Java and save us all this bloody trouble..hey they could take them straight to Malaysia.. now theres a thought???... Julia are you paying attention?

Unfortunately, nothing has yet replaced the good old Mark 1 eyeball cods, unfortunately few advances have been made with radar since the old chrystal sets of the thirties.
Wood is simply a material that doesn't reflect well for radar to get a signal back from, particularly old rotten porous worm eaten wood.
And unfortunately our good old Mark 1 eyeball can only see as far as the horizon which is approximately 20 km give or take.
A search plane would have greater sighting range being higher in the air than a ships bridge, but still the eyes can only see to the horizon albeit in a 360 degree fashion.
The governments not quite ready to have ships stationed 20km apart between Christmas Island and Indonesia, we wouldn't have enough anyway for a 24/7 arrangement.

Post by Kytro on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:10pm:
I'm not sure what the government can do about visa overstayers even though they are a much larger issue.
I suspect they aren't hanging around at the address they would have given the department.
Perhaps electronic tracking devices could be inserted into the body when they get here?

The point was that in general people don't really care about the overstayers as much because it isn't high profile. All people who come here / stay here without a valid visa are small numbers compared to legitimate migration.  

I'm not saying we ignore the problem, but I am saying as a nation we have bigger fish to fry and other priorities that will affect our quality of life.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:47pm

... Would you accept an electronic tracking device be inserted into you if you went travelling?

Post by culldav on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:56pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm:

But they are knocking on the door when they call the WA police.  If they didn't, then I'd agree that they are marching in.

Good to see you finally admit that all the other asylum seekers/refugees that didn’t tell any one they were coming to Australia “ARE JUST MARCHING IN”.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:08pm

culldav wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:56pm:

Good to see you finally admit that all the other asylum seekers/refugees that didn’t tell any one they were coming to Australia “ARE JUST MARCHING IN”.

;D ;D I must admit, you did a nice play on word there.

Too bad it means nothing considering it's all coming from a person who is so void of reality that it actually believes there are no problems being faced by refugees and children in danger in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.

;D  What a nuff.  

This is why travelling is so important for the bogans. So they can get a bit of education. Just a tad. And not become a cullnuff, who is advocating for keeping children in danger for its own selfish purpose of keeping its xenophobia at bay.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:41pm
aww nuffy ran off.  Perhaps because it can't face reality.

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:00pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:08pm:

Too bad it means nothing considering it's all coming from a person who is so void of reality that it actually believes there are no problems being faced by refugees and children in danger in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.

;D  What a nuff.  

This is why travelling is so important for the bogans. So they can get a bit of education. Just a tad. And not become a cullnuff, who is advocating for keeping children in danger for its own selfish purpose of keeping its xenophobia at bay.

I dont think you are void of reality. Dont be so hard on yourself. You were probably dropped on your head as a kid is all. Chin up.

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:28pm

split hairs comrade split hairs its all youve got.and I am not interested in debating crap.

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:31pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:47pm:

buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:23am:
THIS will be one to keep an eye on ...

Smuggling challenge sent to higher court
September 12, 2011

A CHALLENGE to Australia's people smuggling laws based on the rights of asylum seekers to enter the country will be referred to Victoria's highest court.

Lawyers for an accused people smuggler had asked the Victorian County Court to halt his case while a challenge to the law was heard by a higher court.
Today, Victorian County Court chief judge Michael Rozenes ruled the questions of law should be considered by the Victorian Court of Appeal.
The court heard similar questions have been referred to the Northern Territory's highest court for consideration.
Judge Rozenes joked it would be a race between the courts to see who could decide the matter first.
He said the Victorian Court of Appeal may decide it does not want to hear the case given the question of law is already before a Northern Territory court.

Last month, a lawyer for accused people smuggler Jeky Payara, 20, argued under international law, asylum seekers are permitted to come to Australia and make a claim for asylum

To prove a charge of people-smuggling, prosecutors must argue a person had no right to come to Australia, the lawyer Saul Holt said.

Mr Payara has pleaded not guilty to aggravated people-smuggling, a new criminal offence created last year that carries a mandatory five-year jail sentence

A ruling on the question of law would set a precedent that could affect 33 trials in Victoria and many more across Australia.

http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/smuggling-challenge-sent-to-higher-court/story-e6frfku0-1226134697339#ixzz1ZC5VBdS7

are they going to take into account who can pay the most for a place on the boat?????...its got nothing to do with asylum rights and we all know that..I could go over there and pay top dollar and get a spot on the next boat whos kidding whom?

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:36pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:28pm:

split hairs comrade split hairs its all youve got.and I am not interested in debating crap.

You're not interested in debating crap, and YET you are happy to keep talking about this nonsense issue that has been hyped up specifically for political reasons only to make governments look like they are acting on sommmeethingg?  

Ok... Looks like you have no idea. But I guess I should've guessed. After all, it's cods. What's new?

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:37pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:00pm:

;D  What a nuff.  

I dont think you are void of reality. Dont be so hard on yourself. You were probably dropped on your head as a kid is all. Chin up.

Gotta love 60 year old conservative grumps trying to go back to their youth and acting like 5 year olds.  Well done to ya progressives! that's the spirit! :)

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:41pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:37pm:

;D  What a nuff.  

Gotta love 60 year old conservative grumps trying to go back to their youth and acting like 5 year olds.  Well done to ya progressives! that's the spirit! :)

We do like you alevine, just not love you.

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:42pm

Australia isn't a house so the analogy does not make much sense, but if you were to extend it would be like having your 20 people come to your house and refuse to leave via the front door while you vehemently complain about the 2 than snuck in the back.

the question wasnt aimed at you that probably why you dont understand it...... no its not that at all... its about coming in the right way.. being allowed to come in if that makes sense to you...

for instance someone comes in by plane.. they have a passport in most cases a visa that have have obtained from some Australian office in a foreign land..run by Australians..and by Australian rules... now the fact they overstay is something else entirely it does in fact cover every nationality that comes here.. not just Asians..

my daughter worked for years in Sydney immigration where she was often on night duty going out till after midnight raiding cafes and brothels.. where illegals were in general working..and rounding them up to send them home..... yes it still goes on.. it is done all over the country where people are employed in low grade work.. like fruit picking..so dont kid yourself its ignored its just spread further and takes longer..

thats why the dept is always blowing its budget..people have to travel miles to track these overstayers down..

we have no knowledge of these people that come in the back way... none whatever.. it is surely our right to find out about these people before we let them in...as its your right to find out and know the people you allow to come into your home..

this might not be your home.. but to a lot of us it is..and whilst we do welcome all comers... we also like it to be in charge ... thank you very much

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:42pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:41pm:

Awww, shucks. Would you like some candy?

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:44pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:42pm:

Awww, shucks. Would you like some candy?

Not if it is boiled.

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:45pm

;D  What a nuff.  

you know they have lost the argument when they start with the personal attacks.. dont you prog?... or even do the twist again... extradinary!

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:47pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:45pm:

;D  What a nuff.  

you know they have lost the argument when they start with the personal attacks.. dont you prog?... or even do the twist again... extradinary!

Well to be fair, I did suggest he got dropped on his head as a kid. But I am a little sick of the name calling 'what a nuff' ect. But yes you are quite right. The name calling and logic twister seems the order of the day.

Post by pansi1951 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:47pm
<<why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????..>>

Now that's HILARIOUS!

Are they tying their boats up in Lake Burley Griffin now cods. Why are you floundering?

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:48pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:45pm:

lol, and you know a person is not worth arguing with when they are so delusional to not recognise how hypocritical they are being when they talk about others and personal attacks.

I'm still waiting to understand from you however exactly what you're upset about - is it that a boat came? Or that it wasn't detected? If it wasnt detected, it seems the issue is with our defense, and not asylum seekers. In fact, LUCKILY it was asylum seekers who have teh decency to advise they have arrived.  LUCKILY it wasn't some rightard gang of loons.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:51pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:47pm:
Well to be fair, I did suggest he got dropped on his head as a kid. But I am a little sick of the name calling 'what a nuff' ect. But yes you are quite right. The name calling and logic twister seems the order of the day.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

WOW, it seems the rightards are seriously becoming more and more delusional as the days past. You are sick of the name calling and yet you have no problem suggesting I got dropped on my head.

;D ;D ;D ;D  

Poor 60 year old grump :(   Take some candy, and be happy, will ya?  Life's not worth living in such misery as you put yourself through.  

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:53pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:47pm:

Now that's HILARIOUS!

Are they tying their boats up in Lake Burley Griffin now cods. Why are you floundering?

hey pansi I didnt write that..lol..no like most from the left I think you will find they turn this into a farce.. one cant have a decent chat about anything really before the reds under the beds rear their ugly heads..

this was about a boat coming in under our radar.. thats all..and before you know the racist have reared their ugly little minds and made it into a libs torture these people..

like I say HILARIOUS...

comprehension isnt a big point on here is it?

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:54pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:51pm:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

WOW, it seems the rightards are seriously becoming more and more delusional as the days past. You are sick of the name calling and yet you have no problem suggesting I got dropped on my head.

;D ;D ;D ;D  

Poor 60 year old grump :(   Take some candy, and be happy, will ya?  Life's not worth living in such misery as you put yourself through.  

I have a tendancy to get drawn into the gutter talk. It is a problem I have, but am able to recognise it and stay off the wagon for a while.

BTW the dropped on the head thing was due to you calling people names like 'what a nuff', but still, I will stay off the wagon as much as I can.

Post by Kytro on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:54pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:42pm:
the question wasnt aimed at you that probably why you dont understand it...... no its not that at all... its about coming in the right way.. being allowed to come in if that makes sense to you...

for instance someone comes in by plane.. they have a passport in most cases a visa that have have obtained from some Australian office in a foreign land..run by Australians..and by Australian rules... now the fact they overstay is something else entirely it does in fact cover every nationality that comes here.. not just Asians..

I wasn't disputing the fact that boat people don't use official channels. I was simply arguing about the impact in numbers.

my daughter worked for years in Sydney immigration where she was often on night duty going out till after midnight raiding cafes and brothels.. where illegals were in general working..and rounding them up to send them home..... yes it still goes on.. it is done all over the country where people are employed in low grade work.. like fruit picking..so dont kid yourself its ignored its just spread further and takes longer..

I'm sure that is does. There always someone willing to exploit people in tough situations, which is exactly what the smugglers do.

thats why the dept is always blowing its budget..people have to travel miles to track these overstayers down..

we have no knowledge of these people that come in the back way... none whatever.. it is surely our right to find out about these people before we let them in...as its your right to find out and know the people you allow to come into your home..

this might not be your home.. but to a lot of us it is..and whilst we do welcome all comers... we also like it to be in charge ... thank you very much

We should find out what we can, I was simply saying it is not a significant problem for the vast majority of Australians and there are in fact problems that affect us all that I'd consider a higher priority in terms of resource use.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:54pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:53pm:
thats all..and before you know the racist have reared their ugly little minds and made it into a libs torture these people..

I'd love to see you explain with quotes how you've come to this conclusion.

See, your delusional.  Case rested.  And I don't mean that to be offensive. But if you're going to be talking about others here and their manners, I'd strongly encourage you to look at your own first.

Not to mention if you wish to debate, at least formulate appropriate conclusions. Not some imaginary nonsense.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:01pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:54pm:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D  

I have a tendancy to get drawn into the gutter talk. It is a problem I have, but am able to recognise it and stay off the wagon for a while.

BTW the dropped on the head thing was due to you calling people names like 'what a nuff', but still, I will get on stay off the wagon as much as I can.

Well good to see you have some level of reflection.  Care to reflect on where you went wrong in drawing only on my comments?

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:02pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:01pm:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D  

BTW the dropped on the head thing was due to you calling people names like 'what a nuff', but still, I will get on stay off the wagon as much as I can.

Well good to see you have some level of reflection.  Care to reflect on where you went wrong in drawing only on my comments?

Already stated where you went wrong.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:03pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:02pm:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D  

Already stated.

That's not what I asked.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:04pm

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D  

Back to being a 5 year old I see?

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:05pm
We should find out what we can, I was simply saying it is not a significant problem for the vast majority of Australians and there are in fact problems that affect us all that I'd consider a higher priority in terms of resource use

yeah weve done that with vandals...and petty thieves... see where its got us....

we often think if we ignore it it will go away...

having been around for a while I have long learned that is not the case... like topsy it just gorws and grows.. untill it then gets so far out of hand.. [drugs is a good one] that we kind of capitulate...

we have to prtect our borders.. thats my opinion.. maybe its not worth much but thats what I believ in.the thought of any old boat or plane even pulling up anywhere along our shore.. is not on for me.

its got nothing to do with quantity.

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:06pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:04pm:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D  

Back to being a 5 year old I see?

lol you are too easy, but back to what you asked, I couldn't be bothered as I don't need to nor want to go into a logic twister again with you.

It is fun/funny from time to time, but it gets old real quick.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:15pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:06pm:
lol you are too easy, but back to what you asked, I couldn't be bothered as I don't need to nor want to go into a logic twister again with you.

;D  Once again showing yourself up to be quite delusional I see.  

It's okay, for the record, it's never funny with you. It's always sad :(

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:16pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:05pm:
We should find out what we can, I was simply saying it is not a significant problem for the vast majority of Australians and there are in fact problems that affect us all that I'd consider a higher priority in terms of resource use

yeah weve done that with vandals...and petty thieves... see where its got us....

having been around for a while I have long learned that is not the case... like topsy it just gorws and grows.. untill it then gets so far out of hand.. [drugs is a good one] that we kind of capitulate...

we have to prtect our borders.. thats my opinion.. maybe its not worth much but thats what I believ in.the thought of any old boat or plane even pulling up anywhere along our shore.. is not on for me.

are you suggesting that if we got on top of drugs instantly it wouldn't off escalated to the point its at today?

Isn't that the similar thing the US tried with prohibition, and miserably failed?

Post by progressiveslol on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:18pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:15pm:

Wow, do you act like that for real. lol now that is funny.

Post by alevine on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:20pm

progressiveslol wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:18pm:

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:15pm:

Wow, do you act like that for real. lol now that is funny.

It's always upsetting to see how delusional some people become as they grow older :(.   :'( :'(  

Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 5:45pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:16pm:

are you suggesting that if we got on top of drugs instantly it wouldn't off escalated to the point its at today?

Isn't that the similar thing the US tried with prohibition, and miserably failed?

oh gawd....back almost 100 years are you insane???.. I do think the world has moved on just a wee bit..well mine has..

as it is.. we did and still do turn a blind eye to it..

we dish out sentences that are laughable.. same with vandals.. they laugh at the law and the rules of society..because they are piddling weak.thats why..

we are not a poor nation we dont need to sell drugs on every corner to put food on the table they do it because its easy because the punishment doesnt fit the crime..

just because its tough doesnt mean we should give up... or is that what you think?

take a look at Sydney at night especially Friday and Sat night its a blood bath... all because of grog and drugs.. decent people cant go there and police spend their time fighting with people off their heads.. and getting no thanks for it..

yes we did take our eye off the ball.. and let it run riot..now try to reel it in!!!!!!.. lets see how they go... you do realise dont you that things only get worse...you think the street are not bad now.. well we shall see in another 10 years... I dont envy you.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:13am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:47pm:

Now that's HILARIOUS!

The government is $2 Billion per annum and rising floundering with no answer to the problem they created.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:15am

Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm:

The point was that in general people don't really care about the overstayers as much because it isn't high profile. All people who come here / stay here without a valid visa are small numbers compared to legitimate migration.  

I'm not saying we ignore the problem, but I am saying as a nation we have bigger fish to fry and other priorities that will affect our quality of life.

It's a question of media profile.
Visa overstayers don't rate very well on our TV's.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:18am

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:47pm:

... Would you accept an electronic tracking device be inserted into you if you went travelling?

Is there a choice?

Post by cods on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:54am

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:15am:

do not understand the point you are making..the overstayers   are just  that they didnt make illegal entry.. it is illegal to arrive by the back door with out papers or any form of identification..

they could be prisoners escaped for a prison damaged in an earthquake.... we do have some rights surely.

we are taking people word for it.... where as overstayers do have papers they do have identification..they are just doing the  wrong thing by staying longer..why the need to put them in the same basket as the boat people I dont understand...take a look at Villawood.. almost all overstayers.... dont they get a free trip home as well???

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 8:19am

cods wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:54am:

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 7:15am:

do not understand the point you are making..the overstayers   are just  that they didnt make illegal entry.. it is illegal to arrive by the back door with out papers or any form of identification..

they could be prisoners escaped for a prison damaged in an earthquake.... we do have some rights surely.

we are taking people word for it.... where as overstayers do have papers they do have identification..they are just doing the  wrong thing by staying longer..why the need to put them in the same basket as the boat people I dont understand...take a look at Villawood.. almost all overstayers.... dont they get a free trip home as well???

Kytro was making a point that too much emphasis is being placed on boat people rather than a bigger issue such as visa overstayers represent.
I said it is a question of media profile.

Post by cods on Sep 30th, 2011 at 8:46am
Kytro was making a point that too much emphasis is being placed on boat people rather than a bigger issue such as visa overstayers represent.

I said in my reply they are two differnt things... and overstayers are not illegal entrants.,..

I am not saying boat people are illegals... just their method of entering the country..its wrong..and therefore we have to find an answer thats why they get the media coverage.. they are costing us billions..just quietly.

Post by scope on Sep 30th, 2011 at 8:53am

cods wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 8:46am:

I said in my reply they are two differnt things... and overstayers are not illegal entrants.,..

I am not saying boat people are illegals... just their method of entering the country..its wrong..and therefore we have to find an answer thats why they get the media coverage.. they are costing us billions..just quietly.

First Cods it depends if they planned on overstaying before they get the visa.If they did then they are illegal entrants.

second,
Australian law and international law says different. There is no right way or wrong way to enter Australia to claim asylum.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 9:45am

cods wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 8:46am:

I agree, they are two different things.

Post by Soren on Sep 30th, 2011 at 10:24am
But the overstay rate for visitor visas granted by DIAC is very low.
The percentage of visitor visa holders failing to leave Australia before their visas
expired was 0.75 per cent in 2009–10 (that is only 3 in every 400). For the same
period the rate of visitor visa holders who applied for a protection visa after arriving
in Australia was 0.07 per cent (2680 people).

http://www.immi.gov.au/students/_pdf/2011-knight-review.pdf

Year   Number of Boats   Number of people (includes crew)

2009      61                                       2849*

2010     134                                      6879**

http://www.aph.gov.au/library/pubs/bn/sp/boatarrivals.htm

From this it seems to me that the there are far more illegal entries (boat arrivals) than refugees coming by plane: 9728 illegals vs 2680 visa holders.

Post by alevine on Sep 30th, 2011 at 11:14am

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 5:45pm:

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 4:16pm:

oh gawd....back almost 100 years are you insane???.. I do think the world has moved on just a wee bit..well mine has..

as it is.. we did and still do turn a blind eye to it..

we dish out sentences that are laughable.. same with vandals.. they laugh at the law and the rules of society..because they are piddling weak.thats why..

we are not a poor nation we dont need to sell drugs on every corner to put food on the table they do it because its easy because the punishment doesnt fit the crime..

just because its tough doesnt mean we should give up... or is that what you think?

take a look at Sydney at night especially Friday and Sat night its a blood bath... all because of grog and drugs.. decent people cant go there and police spend their time fighting with people off their heads.. and getting no thanks for it..

yes we did take our eye off the ball.. and let it run riot..now try to reel it in!!!!!!.. lets see how they go... you do realise dont you that things only get worse...you think the street are not bad now.. well we shall see in another 10 years... I dont envy you.

100 years, 1500 years, it doesn't matter.  One thing we can learn as humans is that regulation is not always the fix.  As it shown, time and time again.  You think it's tough action. I think it's stupid action that is simply made use of by governemtns to show constituents that they are at least doing something. Even though it doesn't actually work. Instead, proactive action through education and awareness raising is what works. Which again, has been shown to be the case time and time again.

As shown quite evidently by the drugs wars in the US which has done absolutely nothing other than intensify the situation in Mexico with the cartel wars and cases of kidnappings - especially of US citizens.

Post by adelcrow on Sep 30th, 2011 at 11:59am

Soren wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 10:24am:
The percentage of visitor visa holders failing to leave Australia before their visas
expired was 0.75 per cent in 2009–10 (that is only 3 in every 400). For the same
period the rate of visitor visa holders who applied for a protection visa after arriving

From this it seems to me that the there are far more illegal entries (boat arrivals) than refugees coming by plane: 9728 illegals vs 2680 visa holders.

Either way the figures are minuscule and are of little consequence. The asylum seeker issue is only important as political oneupmanship and nothing more.
New arrivals to this country stimulate economic activity and still dont go anywhere near replacing those that have died or become incapacitated by diseases caused by alcohol and tobacco. So to say these people are a drain on our economy or population growth is a lie.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 12:07pm

Well then back to the boat people.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 12:09pm

adelcrow wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 11:59am:

Either way the figures are minuscule and are of little consequence. The asylum seeker issue is only important as political oneupmanship and nothing more.
New arrivals to this country stimulate economic activity and still dont go anywhere near replacing those that have died or become incapacitated by diseases caused by alcohol and tobacco. So to say these people are a drain on our economy or population growth is a lie.

$2 Billion per annum and rising is the current cost to the taxpayer.
85% still on government benefits after more than 5 years.
Now, that's a drain on the economy eh.

Post by alevine on Sep 30th, 2011 at 12:56pm

Good to see you failed to mention that you are happy with the 26500 overstayers in 1 year, which is the real problem that Kytro was referring to.

Especially when there is no reason for these 26500 overstayers staying in Australia and they are the illegal immigrants you like to refer to - not the "boat people "who are asylum seekers.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 30th, 2011 at 12:58pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 30th, 2011 at 12:56pm:

Good to see you failed to mention that you are happy with the 26500 overstayers in 1 year, which is the real problem that Kytro was referring to.

Especially when there is no reason for these 26500 overstayers staying in Australia and they are the illegal immigrants you like to refer to - not the "boat people "who are asylum seekers.

Well then, back to the visa overstayers.

Post by Soren on Oct 12th, 2011 at 12:07pm
What do you call the first Afghan off the boat?
Am’ere!

What do you call the second Afghan off the boat?
Am’ere Azwell

What do you call the third Afghan off the boat?
Am’ere Azwell Az’im!