General Discussion >> General Board >> 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1317171010 Message started by Greens_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:50am |
Title: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Greens_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:50am
Just in ... up date soon
Title: Re: Mr Andrew 'Hard Right Racist' Bolt Guilty Post by Greens_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:52am
Andrew Bolt loses racial vilification court case
HERALD Sun columnist Andrew Bolt has lost an action brought in the Federal Court in which the columnist' was accused of breaching the Racial Discrimination Act. Bolt was found to have contravened Section 18C of the Racial Discrimination Act. Nine applicants brought a class-action against Bolt and the Herald and Weekly Times claiming Bolt wrote they sought professional advantage from the colour of their skin. The judges ordered both parties to confer on relief arising from the action. At issue was Bolt's assertion that the nine applicants had chosen to identify themselves as “Aboriginal” and consequently win grants, prizes and career advancement, despite their apparently fair skin and mixed heritage. The nine applicants were led by activist Pat Eatock and included artist Bindi Cole, NSW Australian of the Year Larissa Behrendt, author Anita Heiss and former ATSIC chief Geoff Clark. Four articles published by the Herald Sun columnist in the newspaper and his blog were “a head-on assault on a group of highly successful and high-achieving” Aborigines, Ron Merkel QC told the court during proceedings in late March and early April. The nine people sought an apology from the Herald & Weekly Times and an order against republishing, but no compensation. In an occasionally explosive case, Bolt’s writings about Aboriginal identity were painted as being akin to a “eugenics approach” and similar to writings that led to the Holocaust. Bolt subsequently protested the slurs in court as “an unforgivable travesty.” In concluding the eight day proceedings, counsel for the plaintiffs conceded Bolt's writings did not incite “racial vilification or racial hatred”, rather they “constituted highly personal, highly derogatory and highly offensive attacks” on the nine individuals. http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/media/andrew-bolt-x-racial-vilification-court-case/story-e6frg996-1226148919092 |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:55am
Geoff Clark: professional complainer and racial whinger.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:55am
Not surprising - these kind of bogus kangaroo court cases have about as much chance of delivering a not guilty verdict as the nuremberg show trials.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:56am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:55am:
Don't forget repeat gang-rapist. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:56am
well done Green on removing the racist word from the title. leave the content to make such determinations. Thank you.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Greens_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:58am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:55am:
And he has ground for it ... because the Hard Right Bolt is a Racist Dolt and the court backed this up. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:59am
Another nail in the coffin for free speech.
The waste and dubious distribution of wealth in the Indigenous industry looks set to continue to the detriment of indigenous people that are suffering, whilst people that look as white as me skim cream from top. Well done judge. Geoff Clarke, what a despicable pig of a man. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:59am
Bloody hell, I can't stand Bolt & I cant stand red headed lily white fat bastards calling themselves aboriginal either.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:04am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:56am:
yes, forgot that one. he is not a nice person. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:06am Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:59am:
i too despise people calling themselves aboriginal when they are white people. surely a natural and easy-to understand determination is that to be aboriginal you must be 50% or more indiginous blood. surely, an amount less that half means you are mainly SOMETHING ELSE? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:09am Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:59am:
hahahah, puts you in a tough spot |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:10am
http://anitaheissblog.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-statement-on-todays-in-in-federal.html?spref=tw
Tuesday, September 27, 2011 My statement on today's win in the Federal Court! MEDIA RELEASE: ANITA HEISS’ STATEMENT ON EATOCK VS HWT I published my first piece of journalism in 1992. It was a story about the Aboriginal Housing Company in Redfern. In the last twenty years, I have used my skills across publishing mediums and literary genres to write positive stories about Aboriginal Australia with the aim of building bridges between black and white communities. On April 15, 2009, with a flick of his pen, Andrew Bolt in his article ‘It’s so hip to be black,’ managed to burn down many of those bridges, by writing words about me (and others) that discredited me professionally, while also offending, insulting and humiliating me. People on his blog also made racist remarks, that also offended, insulted and humiliated me. I have always identified and lived as an Aboriginal woman, I’m a Williams from Cowra, a proud member of the Wiradjuri nation. Mr Bolt’s article suggests I made a ‘decision to be Aboriginal…’ which ‘was lucky, given how it's helped her career’ and that I had ‘won plum jobs reserved for Aborigines at Koori Radio, the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board and Macquarie University's Warawara Department of Indigenous Studies’. What Mr Bolt failed to mention is that I am an established writer and highly qualified with a PhD in Media and Communication, and that in fact none of the jobs he mentioned were actually ‘reserved’ or identified Aboriginal positions, and the Koori Radio role was actually voluntary and unpaid. In his witness statement to the court Mr Bolt claimed to have used a photo of my mother on her wedding day as evidence to determine she, therefore I was of mixed-heritage and could not or should not identify as Aboriginal. The photo Bolt submitted was taken directly from my blog and a post I made on February 7, 2011, almost two years after he wrote his article, so his misrepresentations about me continued. Read more @ http://anitaheissblog.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-statement-on-todays-in-in-federal.html?spref=tw ‘Free speech is the cornerstone of genuine democracy, but when writers publish disinformation dressed up as fact, lies as truth, slander as objective evaluation and call it free speech, they are devaluing its very essence and betraying all those who've fought for it.’ Dr Anita Heiss (www.anitaheiss.com) is the author of adult fiction, historical fiction, children’s fiction, non-fiction and social commentary. Her latest novel is Paris Dreaming (Random House, 2011). |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:10am
While I don't know anything about the plaintiffs in this case, all I can say is that it is great that the idiot Bolt has finally been caught out. Speech that spurs racial hatred or defamation against minorities is not FREE SPEECH.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:13am Quote:
In other words, free speech only applies so long as you agree with the message. I hear ya oberfuhrer. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:14am
Free speech is the cornerstone of genuine democracy, but when writers publish disinformation dressed up as fact, lies as truth, slander as objective evaluation and call it free speech, they are devaluing its very essence and betraying all those who've fought for it.’
Lets hope their is a lesson to be learnt here for all journalist . And that they are reminded of this ALSO in their coverage on Politics and Politicans ! |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:18am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:13am:
Free speech is not protected within our constitution. Protection has come about from case law. And as such, different approaches are taken to speech that incites hatred or defamation. Something that Bolt needs to learn. Something that MANY HERE need to learn. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:18am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:10am:
spurs racial hatred? hardly. you over estimate Bolts influence or power. He appears to have stepped over the line in his article froma legal perspective but he was addressing a common complaint that people make that a large number of aboriginal people - espcially activists - seem to be disturbingly WHITE. 1/16 aboriginal may be aboriginal by law but certianly not by common sense. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:20am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:18am:
Actaully the Highh Court has already ruled that freedom of speech is protected within the constitution. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:20am
http://blogs.news.com.au/heraldsun/andrewbolt/index.php/heraldsun/comments/column_white_is_the_new_black/
Put all your prejudices about the author aside, and see if you can find fault with the writing. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:21am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:18am:
So do you not think there are people out there playing on the tiny amount of Indigenous blood in them, to gain financial reward? Really? Bolt was right, IMO. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:24am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:20am:
No. They've ruled that freedom of political speech is protected. But freedom of speech is not protected by the constitution. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:25am FriYAY wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:21am:
Of cousre he is right - but these days, it is more important to be 'non-offensive' than to tell the truth. You see it all the time - Jeff Kennetts comments in the last few days is another case where truth is swept under the carpet becasue some whiny minority group deemed it offensive. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:25am FriYAY wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:21am:
That doesn't really bother me. What bothers me is when people like Bolt take a "moral high ground" by defaming and trying to inspire hatred. I told you, I don't know anything about the plaintiffs. I don't really care for them. I'm simply happy Bolt got spanked finally for being a racist that he has shown to be in many past opinion pieces. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by buzzanddidj on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:26am
"Journalist" and political commentator Andrew Bolt has been found guilty of breaching the Racial Discrimination Act over two articles he wrote in 2009.
Bolt was being sued in the Federal Court by nine Aboriginal people including former ATSIC chairman Geoff Clark, academic Professor Larissa Behrendt, activist Pat Eatock, photographer Bindi Cole, author Anita Heiss, health worker Leeanne Enoch, native title expert Graham Atkinson, academic Wayne Atkinson, and lawyer Mark McMillan. They alleged two articles written by Bolt for his employer, the Herald and Weekly Times, implied light-skinned people who identified as Aboriginal did so for personal gain. Bolt's lawyer, Neil Young, had argued the articles represented his client's genuinely held views on matters of public interest. But barrister Ron Merkel SC, appearing for the applicants, said the articles took a "eugenics approach" that was frozen in history. Federal Court Justice Mordecai Bromberg found Bolt had breached the act because the articles were not written in good faith and contained factual errors. He said the articles would have offended a reasonable member of the Aboriginal community. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-09-28/bolt-found-guilty-of-breaching-discrimination-act/3025918?section=nt |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:27am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:24am:
no, they found that 'freedom of speech is containined within the constitution." |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:29am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:25am:
From one of the 'racist' articles in question: Quote:
It's lon been clear to me that it's not 'racism' as a whole that is verboten, but rather any semblance of white identity. With each case like this, more and more people catch on, until this web of lies finally comes crashing down. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:29am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:27am:
No. They found that "Freedom of political communication is implied in the constitution." |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:30am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:29am:
It's lon been clear to me that it's not 'racism' as a whole that is verboten, but rather any semblance of white identity. With each case like this, more and more people catch on, until this web of lies finally comes crashing down. [/quote] Wes, I'm not going to go through Bolt's articles. I usually enjoy reading them when I'm drunk just to get a good laugh. But as per normal, we can quote all we want to make a point. I'm simply saying that from what I have read from him, I have found him to be more a racist than a protector of human identity. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:34am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:25am:
Well it should bother you. The amount of money going to so called “indigenous” people for awards and grants, whilst the indigenous population stay stuck in the mire, is terrible. If you don’t “let it bother you” then I guess you can be happy to label the man racist and say he tried to inspire hatred (considering the amount of defamation that happens around here, I’ll scoff at any inference of people talking up taking the moral high ground on that!!). |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:36am FriYAY wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:34am:
Interesting. So, how much money is going to the so called "indigenous" people, as a ratio to the money going to the indigenous population? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by chicken_lipsforme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:36am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:55am:
'March in the guilty party' said the judge. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Doctor Jolly on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:38am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:18am:
Since when has the colour of your skin been the one requirement to be considered aboriginal ? If it was, any albino abo would be automatically excluded from the race. Whatever your proportion of abo blood in your body be 1t 100% , 50%, .... 1/16th. Its still in your body. Its in your heritage, and its a defining aspect of who you are. You wear the baggage of that line with you, same as if you were 1/16th Jew or anything else. An activist doesnt even need to below to a race to advocate positivity towards it. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:40am Doctor Jolly wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:38am:
Doctor...to be fair I'd say the proportion of blood is important... I have like... 5% Polish blood, but that doesn't mean I'm out there saying I'm Polish and demand a Polish citizenship. Likewise, I'm 5% French. And while I'd love to get an EU passport, I'd never be able to. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:41am Quote:
Perhaps the differnce betwen you and I is that I investiagte things for myself. My motto in my signature is a good oneto live by - give it a whirl. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:42am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:04am:
and didnt he get off scot free from that case as well???????>. too long ago or something. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:42am buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:26am:
Having read the original article it is hard to find how he could have offended the aboriginal community. they are sometiems offended themselves by people claiming to be aboriginal who clearly are not really. I dont mind bolt or any journo being done for defamation or breach of the law but this seems hard to justify. i can see an appeal coming for sure. the high court might rule differently. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:42am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:41am:
The reason for that is that you go out and find the one instance that can serve your view. I stick to what I have read and form a overall view from that. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:44am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:42am:
And yet you refuse to read the 'slanderous' article in question. I've even posted a link, it's just a click away. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:45am Doctor Jolly wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:38am:
what a bizarre comparison... not surprised though... the glee club is celebrating a win at long last.. ;D ;D ;D ;D 9 people complained... yeah right! I have seen aboriginies say exactly the same thing as Bolt... its a joke.but its on us.. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:47am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:44am:
I've read it before. You want me to read it again? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:48am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:47am:
Not neccessarily - just tell us what part of it is untrue. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:54am
Like everything we do there is a fine line . ' freedom of speech' is one .
Bolt is an example of some one that over steps that line and spoils it for the rest. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:58am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:42am:
Oh look lets cut the poo, I don't like Bolt but he was always going to lose against our downtrodden, oppressed, segregated, ignored, forgotten, villified, etc etc original owners and their 10,000th removed grandchildren. The are VICTIMS no matter what it's always someone/thing else's fault for what or where they find themselves. If the court had ruled in favour of Bolt & you actually had to be Aboriginal/Torres Straight Islander to claim you were & prove it think of all the professional activists who would go from abo pensions to unemployment benefits,we'd be at 10% in 20 minutes. I don't know the rest of the complianents but Geoff Clarke is nothing but & IRA reject who came over here & found a rort & has exploited it. How the rest of the group allowed themselves to be involved with this criminal is beyond me & stains their rep & argument. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:58am wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:54am:
nonsense! hes got a rap over the knuckles for saying something against something that was written a long time ago... when most aboriginies were black or at least brown..I wonder how you tell aboriginal blood from say Lebonese blood..when you only have a drop or two. personally i think this goes against the true aborigine and all they stand for.when I look at a white guy getting credit for being one.. it turns me off to be honest. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:59am ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:48am:
Like I said, I don't really care about the plaintiffs and so on, just happy to see the racist spanked finally by the courts. But if it pleases you, I'll read it when I have some more spare time and come back to you with an opinion on the actual case. :) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:04pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:47am:
were you offended by it? despite a few factual errors, was what he said essentially wrong? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:05pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:59am:
so you dont care about the FACTS of the case, only that Bolt lost? and I guess youthink that entitles you to a credible opinion? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Doctor Jolly on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:16pm I bet we wont see much of this "news" in the News Ltd press. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Grey on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:17pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:05pm:
To tell the truth this is the first time this news has crossed my path and I've read only the last couple of posts . But surely if the courts find you guilty it's exceptional that you're not? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:18pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:16pm:
wrong as usual. http://www.news.com.au/national/andrew-bolt-breached-discrimination-act-court/story-e6frfkvr-1226148978809 |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:22pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:05pm:
I don't know how many times you wish me to repeat this, longie. ;D I've told you FROM THE VERY BEGINNING that I'm just happy that he is finally being spanked for something given all his PAST crap articles. You take that with any grain of salt that you like ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by philperth2010 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:23pm
Bolt lied.....What's new.....Anyone who listens to this bloke is an idiot!!!
::) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:24pm dem white blackfullas |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:27pm
one thing that image reminded me of is something ive tended to notice - almost ALWAYS do these racial hybrids have irish surnames. micks have the distinction of being the white ethny that will mate with ANYTHING. seriously, every single time I come across some x/y/z/white combo, “white” means oyrish.
thank god we aren’t cross-fertile with donkeys or we’d all be saddled with donkey/mick hybrids. if centaurs were real, they’d be mick from the waist up. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:28pm
Who would have thought a court of law would find Bolt was a compulsive liar and racist?
This bloke is a dog pure and simple |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:29pm
a court found somebody to be a compulsive liar and *gasp*, a racist?!?!
convict him!!! throw away the key!!! |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Doctor Jolly on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:29pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:40am:
Thats just a question of where you draw the line. I have English born grandparents. They moved out here when they were young, and so I have been born and bred Australian for 2 generations (more on the other side of the family). Yet I can still get an EU passport. Entitling me to travel and earn a lot more overseas than those without. Bolt, and muppets like him, would have me tainted as an imposter. Am I ? I dont think it should prohibit me from being an activist on british issues either. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:31pm philperth2010 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:23pm:
"In concluding the eight day proceedings, counsel for the plaintiffs conceded Bolt's writings did not incite “racial vilification or racial hatred”, rather they “constituted highly personal, highly derogatory and highly offensive attacks” on the nine individuals" No mention of lies... ;) ;D Perhaps what really offended them was people learning the truth? :P |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:39pm adelcrow wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:28pm:
"In concluding the eight day proceedings, counsel for the plaintiffs conceded Bolt's writings did not incite “racial vilification or racial hatred”, rather they “constituted highly personal, highly derogatory and highly offensive attacks” on the nine individuals" No mention of lies... ;) ;D Perhaps what really offended them was people learning the truth? :P |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:40pm FriYAY wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:39pm:
What truth? That Bolt is a derogatory, highly offensive maniac? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:41pm Grey wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:17pm:
Bolt wasnt found guilty of being a racist. his article was determined to offend people. quite the difference. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by toots on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:43pm
It's a disgraceful verdict, he was making the point that there are a few Aboriginal people who look totally white who insist they are black - so what's wrong with that? He made the mistake of thinking he lives in a free country where we can say what we feel but obviously this is now not the case. These few fools have legally reinforced what we already know - that Aboriginal people are protected and no adverse comments about them will be tolerated. Unfortunately, this will not help their cause. A very bad day for Australia.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:44pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
but you cant genuinelly claim to be english either. you are of english DESCENT - nothing more. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:45pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:40pm:
That he may be. No one said he was racist or a compulsive liar or a maniac. That is all loop supposition. Or made up hysteria. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:45pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:41pm:
He was found to have contravened the Racial Discrimination Act. You say that's not being a racist? :o |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:46pm FriYAY wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:45pm:
And yet he was found to have contravened the racial discrimination act. ... Still just loop suppositon? hysteria? ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:46pm toots wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:43pm:
it does seem a little unfair. what he said wasnt fundamentally inaccurate and reflects a common complaint that a number of 'aboriginals' in fact really arent at all but again only of aboriginal descent - a huge difference. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:50pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:46pm:
And yet he was found to have contravened the racial discrimination [/quote] No time for your selective garbage. I didn't mention the contravention of the act. Just the racist/compulsive liar/maniac comments all the loops are adding to the story.....bye. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Doctor Jolly on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:51pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:44pm:
Plenty of people claim to be "english" and "english decent" at the same time. The terms are generally interchangable. But Aboriginals are different. If you have aboriginal blood you can legitimately claim a lineage of 1000's of generations of Australians spanning 30,000 years. Part of your make up is about as pure as anything in the world. Its significance shouldnt be parodied by muppets like Bolt to sell a few newspapers. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:54pm FriYAY wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:50pm:
No time for your selective garbage. I didn't mention the contravention of the act. Just the racist/compulsive liar/maniac comments all the loops are adding to the story.....bye. [/quote] If you contravene the racial discrimination act, does that not make you a racist? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:55pm Quote:
And 'part' of my piss is pure H20. I still don't reckon you'd drink it and say it's just the same as pure spring water. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:55pm Substitute anything for 'white' - go to court and get convicted for racial something or other. Post colonian PC - aintcha sick of it. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:56pm
anti racist is code for anti white
why havent more people figured this out yet |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:59pm
Because they are preening, Emotionallly Correct morons.
To twig onto this stupid nonsense is 'not noice'' |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:15pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:59pm:
Yep. All the anti-racists are anti-white. ;D ;D ;D WOW |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by GoddyofOz on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:16pm Free Speech is not a get out of Jail free card for Racism. Feel free to say what you like, but don't get sh!tty when you get scrutinized for your comments. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:17pm
if only it were, uh ..
"scrutinisation" that people were complaining about |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:19pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:15pm:
Who said they were dumbo? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:22pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:15pm:
What? ARe you saying you are pro-white?? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:22pm:
I am pro-human. Full stop. ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:19pm:
your dumbo mate. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:26pm GoddyofOz wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:16pm:
his claim was that these people were claiming to be aboriginal while being as white as a scandinavian. with the exampls he used, his point was in fact proven. it is a sad day when being CORRECT is still wrong. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:27pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm:
that sounds like a greens-lose statement. I hope you arent as idiotic as he is. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:29pm
There's not much out there on MSM of course because this will be covered up as much as possible by the lame stream media..I wonder if Dutchy Andrew will be having his Dutch hate speech friend Geert Wilders to dinner at his house? Let's keep this thread going..Call it Bolt Watch. ;)
Justice Mordy Bromberg found Bolt and the Herald and Weekly Times contravened the Racial Discrimination Act by publishing two articles on racial identity which contained "errors in fact, distortions of the truth and inflammatory and provocative language". Justice Bromberg said it was important to note his judgment did not forbid debate or articles on racial identity issues if done "reasonably and in good faith in the making or publishing of a fair comment". "Nothing in the orders I make should suggest that it is unlawful for a publication to deal with racial identification, including by challenging the genuineness of the identification of a group of people," Justice Bromberg said. Ms Eatock and a group of eight other Aboriginals took Bolt and the Herald and Weekly Times to court claiming racial vilifiication over two articles in which he criticised fair-skinned Aborigines for what he argued was a choice they made, as people of mixed racial background, to emphasise their indigenous heritage over their white heritage. In the articles, on April 15 and August 21, 2009, Bolt wrote that some fair-skinned Aboriginal people, whom he called "political Aborigines'', had received prominence or indigenous awards because they chose to identify with their Aboriginality. The Eatock action claimed Bolt's articles - which appeared under the headlines "It's so hip to be black'' and "White fellas in the black'' - had "offended, insulted, humiliated or intimidated'' them and were a breach of racial vilification laws. Read more: http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/andrew-bolt-racial-vilification-court-case/story-e6frfku0-1226149011720#ixzz1ZDKUoxeb |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:29pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm:
SO you can't tell the difference between different people? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:30pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm:
So is andrew bolt: Quote:
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:31pm Gimme Gimme wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:29pm:
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:31pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm:
oooooh incisive. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:32pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:46pm:
"And it wasn’t just racial hatred at stake — Bolt was also a sloppy journalist, Bromberg said, that had cynically penned the pieces in a bald-faced attempt to be “destructive of racial tolerance”. The provocative “manner” in which Bolt bent his keyboard was crucial. “The reasons for that conclusion have to do with the manner in which the articles were written, including that they contained errors of fact, distortions of the truth and inflammatory and provocative language,” he said." http://www.crikey.com.au/2011/09/28/bolt-decision-guilty-of-discrimination-judge-declares/ |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:32pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:30pm:
Hmm...not according to the courts though... ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:32pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:23pm:
Who is his dumbo? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:34pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:32pm:
The courts interpret the law, and that particular law is, for want of a better word, a steaming, stinking pile of crap. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:29pm:
Of course I do. I simply don't see differences between people as something that is horrible or something that impacts my life or something that can't be tolerated or something that can't be accepted. You on the other hand... Sad :( |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm
The courts are only right when they are handing down verdicts against the Labor govt and Green groups ;D
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:34pm:
Ah, well you can have whatever opinion you choose. But in the eyes of the law, Bolt is not pro-human. Right? ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:36pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm:
Well that passage was the closing paragraph of one of the 'slanderous' articles in question soo...... |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by pansi1951 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:38pm
<<If you contravene the racial discrimination act, does that not make you a racist?>>
............................................................................. Apparently not lol |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:41pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:36pm:
I know. You keep quoting it over and over. My point is it doesn't negate the COURTS decision that Bolt is not pro-human, which is what matters in our society and our laws. :) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:45pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm:
Crap. I bet you don't like aryan purity and all that jazz but you are happy to go along with it's mirror image, the 1/8 Aboriginal 'blood' somehow trumping the other 7/8th of a person on emotional and 'dreaming' and bugger knows what other grounds. In other words, you DO support identity politics based on race, provided it's your endorsed, preferred race. The thing about this kind of one-world inclusivity is that it is based on deep and abiding racism KKK man couldn't even fathom. Your racism will not let people make their own way in the world on individual merit. Generations of blacks around the world are buggered not because of some KKK loonies but exclusively by the Emotionally Correct 'we are all the same' bvllshit you trumpet out of the supposed goodness of your heart. Your heart may be good but it is no excuse for being an unthinking do-bader, decade in, decade out. You need to twig to the immense harm you are doing to actual people. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:52pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm:
this isnt racism at all. this is about people claiming to be aboriginal who are not. if the mere existance of a minute genetic ancesrty is all it takes then the vast majority of us can claim to be virtually any race. this renders racial identifation irrelevent - which might have some value!! but this seems to be more ridiculous. surely identifcation to be part of a particular race should be more than exposure to it by someone 4 generations removed. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:55pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:45pm:
;D ;D Oh wow, what the hell are you now talking about? Once again, I have no problem with any person, be they of aryan "purity" or 1/8 aborigine or 7/8s aborigine or wateva. ;D That was a nice attempt to make your view valid though. I liked that spin :) Nice :) PS: When did I say all people are the same? Are you now in the habit of putting words into people's mouth? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:58pm Quote:
you DO support identity politics based on race, provided it's your endorsed, preferred race. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:59pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:52pm:
This particular issue with these 9 aborigine people or so forth? I've already said I tend to agree with you longie that people who are generations removed from past heritage should not really claim it. But then I also said I don't really know much about THIS particular issue or people. All I am saying is I'm glad that Bolt finally got spanked. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:02pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:58pm:
Thanks for telling me what I support. What should I eat for dinner? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:03pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:52pm:
I think it petinent that the cherokee nation in the US has just won the 'right' to deny descendants of their black slaves (yes, american indains kept slaves too) to claim to be part of the cherokee nation, on the grounds that they don't actually have any cherokee blood. Quote:
In other words, they claimed to be something they're not , in order to gain benefits. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:10pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:03pm:
To be correct though, the aborigines in this case actually have blood. The question is whether or not you can associate as an aborigine with aboriginal background if you only have a certain degree of blood. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:11pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:59pm:
That's smacking disgraceful from a grown-up. You feign no understanding of what the Bolt decision involves, you are just glad he was found to be in the wrong for whatever. You have reveled (if more revealing was needed) the lefty group think. The issues at hand do not matter, there is no merit in arguments, as long as the Enemy of The People, Snowball is guilty and Comrades Napoeleon and Squealer are vindicated. Nothing's changed since Animal Farm. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:22pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:11pm:
Take it as someone still being happy someone got put away for manslaughter even though they were guilty of murder. In the end, Bolt has been a racist paracite for many years, (and Wes I promise I'll get you those articles when I get some time), and it's about time things caught up to him. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:25pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:22pm:
Maybe he is racist, but so long as what his "racist" views are based on is the truth, it's nothing for you to worry about. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:39pm
Slow news day???
Let's all play word association, I'll start STICK |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:41pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:22pm:
Hyperbowl, Julia. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:52pm
CHUCKER
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:52pm
Abbott tells party faithful behind closed doors that he feels confident he will be PM by 21st August next year (he even 'knows' the DATE) and applauds lying media for getting his lying message across? Even says he is amazed at how gullible the Australian public are to believe ANYTHING they say for him. >:(
Hey Tony. How stupid do you think WE are? Two years yet..You can't possibly keep up this insane level of lies for two years without becoming a complete basket case. :o |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:59pm
PETROL
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:01pm Gimme Gimme wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:52pm:
As do 58% (and growing) of other Australians, from the rooftops. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:02pm
FOOTY
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:03pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:01pm:
Why the 21st of Aug? Is that his used by date? ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:05pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm:
thats an absurd assessment, normally only expected from Greens_lose. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:08pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 2:11pm:
please avoid the bad language Soren. the F word is not acceptable. thanks. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by alevine on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:10pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:05pm:
I think we are thinking about a different context of pro-human? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:10pm
Why the 21st of Aug?
Is that his used by date? No doubt it came from the voices in his head. ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:19pm Gimme Gimme wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:10pm:
I reckon thats the date Andrew Robb has given him before the knives come out :) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:25pm
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/opinion/white-fellas-in-the-black/story-e6frfifo-1225764532947
And the other 'hateful' article. I won't hold my breath waiting for the leftards to elaborate on what exactly is wrong with it.... |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:27pm adelcrow wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:19pm:
You two talk between yourselves. Two hairy ****s, a Lennon and a Che. Pete and Dud couldn't make a better parody of you. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:28pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:27pm:
Do you need a hug :-* |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:39pm
Apparently a leaked secret closed door meeting where Abbott has told the party dunderheads that her God Cory Bernardi is NOT going to be a front runner in Tony(voices in my head) Abbott's new ministry of lies for the big boys.
That must have rattled her devotion to Tonesy wonesy. :'( |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:42pm |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 4:00pm
The voices in Tony's head are being transmitted via a big cactus!!
Well I never. ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by philperth2010 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 4:08pm
After the verdict, Opposition Leader Tony Abbott warned against restricting "the sacred principle of free speech".
"Free speech means the right of people to say what you don't like, not just the right of people to say what you do like," he said. Tony Abbott is correct.....However.... Today Federal Court Justice Mordecai Bromberg found Bolt had breached the act because the articles were not written in good faith and contained factual errors. He said the articles would have offended a reasonable member of the Aboriginal community. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 4:13pm Quote:
I'd bet london to a brick that these 'factual errors' had absolutely no bearing on the meaning of the article. Anyone and everyone is welcome to point them out to me, in order to help with my education. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Belgarion on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:02pm
As a self identifying aboriginal I hereby demand access to all the benefits to which I am entitled. I will never have to do a days work again once I am aboard the aboriginal benefits gravy train however I do expect all of you to work extra hard to enable me to maintain my new lifestyle.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:08pm Belgarion wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:02pm:
I doubt that many WASPS would want to swap places with an aboriginal person in this country even if you believe they live on easy street. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:10pm
yeah i definitely would never want to be an aborignal ever
i dont want to have an iq close to 63 and look anything like they do |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:11pm
It's called racial hypocrisy...something hard righters like Bolt and his fan club have in spades.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:15pm Gimme Gimme wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:11pm:
Please explain this racial hypocrisy concept to me. Is it something like people claiming that race doesn't exist, but that racism is everywhere? Or is it more like claiming to be 'anti-racist' while supporting any explicitly racial group, so long as they are not white? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:16pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:10pm:
Dont the Libs have the only Aboriginal in federal parliament? If you dont like Abbos you should vote for the all white party..the Greens :D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:17pm adelcrow wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:16pm:
what makes you think i like the libs |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:20pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:17pm:
The Nationals are cuckolded to the Libs so you must support them coz without the Libs the Nats are just a minor party with less than 3% of the Aussie vote ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:22pm adelcrow wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:20pm:
mate i have been posting here for over four years with a consistent political ideology that i am very explicit about why are people here so stupid as not to realise that the nationals_win schtick (as well as the claim i made to get made mod of the nationals forum) isnt just a big gag |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:24pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:22pm:
Because of my undying trust and belief in peoples nick names on here ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:26pm
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:31pm
The Libs always straddle the Nats when they need an extra 3% to get desperately over the line...considering how the Greens are more on the Nats side regarding CSG it's rather surprising they have taken the side of the Liberal Party who want to turn Australian farm land into a gigantic Gina Rinehart mineral pit.. >:(
Oh the hypocrisy of the right. Today Tony's doing the rounds of MSM slush News media 7-9-10, flapping on about how he will not bring back work choices..Yet in a leaked article from his secretive closed door party meeting recently he espoused his intention to bring back work choices ever tougher, saying that Costello's model was not tough enough. :D Can anyone believe anything this horrible liar says? The Murdoch MSM should be charged with offences against humanity with their total lack of truthful journalism. This is the biggest media set up I've ever experienced in all my political life thus far... It only proves how thick and easily lead the australian public are..Oh..Abbott also said at his secretive meeting that he was amazed at how the public believed the media lies..and was very happy about that. Juzus smacking christ. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:39pm Gimme Gimme wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:31pm:
What's that got to do with Andrew Bolt? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by adelcrow on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:43pm
When we consider that Keith Murdoch, Ruperts old man used his newspapers and influence to conspire with Churchill to have the AIF diverted to protect British interests instead of coming home to defend this country against the Japs. The whole Murdoch family was and is a disgrace and we should give thanks everyday that Curtin stood up to these lying bullies and saved this country from the same fate China sucumbed to under Japanese occupation.
The Murdochs should be toppled from power, gaoled and the death penalty should apply to them for treason. Bolt is just one of Murdochs sick jokes on society. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by scotty 1969 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:01pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
gee nationals... i'm offended ..wait your telling the truth i'm with and italian my sisters with a torres strait islander mix so i guess you have point south america has mulatto's and mestizo's, south africa has coloureds. really how can you have an australoid with a caucasoid skull, or vice versa, your either one or the other or mixed. actually a few people in bolts article look genuinely mixed ...a few look totally caucasoid |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:04pm
To sum up my views I quote ' that Bolt supposedly vilified named individuals and in doing so made untrue statements about them? If someone did that about me, I’d want it addressed.'
Wouldn't you? Ps, And if I remember correctly on a similar level of addressing untrue statements. Didnt Abbott sued Bob Ellis for Defamation ? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:04pm scotty 1969 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:01pm:
wat |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by scotty 1969 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:07pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:04pm:
i think i misquoted... i said i was offended when you said us micks would breed with anything but then i conceded that you are correct |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by life_goes_on on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:12pm
I don't see what the fuss is about.
It's not like it was a criminal trial where he stands to get jail time or even a fine. All he will be instructed to do is write an apology. But first will be the unsuccessful appeal, then he will refuse to offer an apology and end up back in court only this time with a jail term as a possible punsihment. And Andrew Bolt will be loving it all. A bucketload of publicity. I think you all take the "Andrew Bolt" character too seriously. He's simply a persona developed to appeal to a certain part of the community - that's his gig, that's how he earns a living. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Belgarion on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:57pm adelcrow wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:08pm:
The ones Bolt was writing about don't seem to be doing it too tough. That was a point he was making. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by astro_surf on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:20pm
Suck a nut, Blot, you racist front bottom! :)
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:23pm philperth2010 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 4:08pm:
members of the WHITE aboriginal community perhaps. and what were the factual errors? if they were peripheral to the message then all it is is a technicality. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:26pm astro_surf wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:20pm:
bye bye astro for yet another stay in the land of the banned. if you cant express yourself better than that after repeated warnings then you ahve no one to blame but yourself. 48 hour ban... |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:28pm Gimme Gimme wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 5:31pm:
absolutely unacceptable language and behaviour. welcome to the land of the banned for 24 hours. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:31pm wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 6:04pm:
he called them white aborginals. the claim to be aboraingal and they are white. it is a bit hard to argue against that. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:39pm
freedom of speech only as long as its within the realms of someones idea of reform... yeah right....
otherwise there is no such thing.. I guess some wont be happy unless Bolt gets 10 years for his crime..its a bit like the Hinch persecution.. how dare he try to protect children.. who every heard of such a wicked crime.. to think something like this can stuff up the court system is more a mystery to me. today a man has been charged with murdering his girlfriends 2 yr old child..I was sick when the policeman said she had sustained many old injuries.. they also buried little Keisha.. RIP.. I cry I really do..we spend money on crap like this court case oh my! someones feelings have been hurt... and we dont have the money to save these babies.. it breaks my heart. are we twisted you betcha we are. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:44pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:28pm:
longy you refer to this person as a she!!! do you know or are you guessing?.. if thats true I trust to go they dont have children. I really do. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Tonysafony on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:51pm
LW you are out of control. The filth coming from the neocon sewer is more Putrid than usual and not a move by you. How can you call yourself an unbiased objective mod. Iit has become such a yawn reading the now one sided debates and watching you ban dissent wherever you detect it. What a hack. You need schoolin.
P.s. Go and talk your racist dribble to a couple black fellas and see how you do. So brave you hide in your bedroom tapping away with impunity. What goes around comes around. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:58pm cods wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:44pm:
their profile claims to be female for all that is worth. but she/he/it has been a disgusting poster and being banned was only a matter of time. if she wants to behave when she returns then fine. but if not, she can do the astro-dance. banned for 2 days, posts twice, banned again. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Belgarion on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:59pm Dr Brown wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:51pm:
Whose sock puppet are you? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:03pm Dr Brown wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:51pm:
feel free to leave. you dont add anything besides abuse anyhow. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:04pm Belgarion wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:59pm:
sounds a bit gimme-like. it will soon reveal its sick underbelly if it is. gimme isnt anywhere near clever enough to have multiple IDs that arent identifiable. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:09pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:28pm:
Which part was unacceptable. The "juzus" the "smacking" or the "christ"? I have no objections to you being a mod (lets see how it works out) but I wouldnt want to be part of a forum where saying "jesus christ" was a bannable offense , or "effing" , "smacking" or "pharking" or anything similar. The more socially unacceptable ones , yes , ban away. But those ones are not obscene in my opinion. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:19pm
This is a marvellous case of the PC brigade setting back their own cause another decade or two. If you're a light skinned blue eyed person who 'identify as an Aboriginal', people will just snigger behind their hands, 'Preferment, know wha' I mean, eh, eh? Aboriginal, eh?' and dismiss you as lacking all personal merit and that you are just on a bandwagon. They have won the battle with Bolt but well and truly lost the war for recognition as equals. This just has made it a lot harder for Aboriginese to claim achievemnet on merit.
Hiding beihind group identity, like group think, is a buggered notion but some buggered people seem to prefer it to being taken at face value as a person, probably because they lack suifficient personal merit so they need to cover themselves in the group's supposed 'positives'. How stupid. The PC brigade is the left wing equivalent of right wing fascists. They are fascists of the 'nice' with claws out. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:26pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:19pm:
For example sorens use of "buggered" is totally ok with me. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by toots on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:28pm
They may have won the battle but they have lost the war, many will see this as proof that Aboriginal people are a protected species which causes huge resentment. And it won't hurt Bolt in any way, it will probably make him more popular.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:30pm toots wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:28pm:
Yep. There are a lot of totally buggered people in this world. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:31pm
You mean unfvcked by group think?
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:37pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:31pm:
The hilarivs thing is that yov actvally think yov are not buggered by "grovpthink". |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:43pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:37pm:
You should have either wit or a sound argument. Having neither, silence is indicated. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:53pm Dr Brown wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:51pm:
Are you implying black fellas have a propensity for violence? I know it's true, but don't you know that's irrelevant if it can be deemed "offensive" by a meeber of a designated victim group? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by salad in on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:07pm ____ wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:50am:
No more anti-Israel and anti-jew blatherings from you Green Boy. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:07pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:43pm:
vh hvh. soren is the only hvman being on earth that is NOT effected by his particvlar grovps "grovpthink". His opinions are ENTIRELY his own with no inflvence or reference to ANYONE elses. Do yov think he gives lessons? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:14pm
This is just lame and lethargic. Come on, show some spirit. Tecnical support sayz: You don't need to alter the spelling of words that are not filtered.
(BTW, I do give lessons, so your lame-o nerdy hint-o is buggered - to speak Danish/Olde Anglese for a moment) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:28pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:14pm:
Just making a point to LW and having some fun at the same time. Not surprised you missed it. Anyway... ironic that a post by gimmee gimmee has resulted in him being banned for a post that "offended" longweekend while longweekend is defending bolt despite bolt setting ; "" out to offend from the word go and in fact he acknowledged that in his evidence."" http://au.news.yahoo.com/vic/latest/a/-/article/10358993/bolt-breached-discrimination-act-court/ |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:34pm
if gimme gimme is your best argument, you are buggered.
Cheers. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:42pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:34pm:
Nice deflecting and ignoring the point. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:44pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:28pm:
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:47pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 3:25pm:
as explained by Anita Heiss (one of bolts examples of white aboriginals) ; "Mr Bolt’s article suggests I made a “decision to be Aboriginal” which “was lucky, given how it’s helped her career” and that I had “won plum jobs reserved for Aborigines at Koori Radio, the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board and Macquarie University’s Warawara Department of Indigenous Studies”. What Mr Bolt failed to mention is that I am an established writer and highly qualified with a PhD in Media and Communication, and that in fact none of the jobs he mentioned were actually “reserved” or identified Aboriginal positions, and the Koori Radio role was actually voluntary and unpaid." How about badly researched journalism designed to get his lapdogs yapping wesley? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:56pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:09pm:
it was the three word combo. Like it or not, I am a Christian and I find that level of blasphemy unacceptable. it is part of who I am and not something I am willign to tolerate. another person would get a warning. gimme has been begging a ban for sometime anyhow. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:58pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:19pm:
that language is unacceptable soren. please tone it down and exclude the F word from future posts. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:01pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:28pm:
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:02pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:56pm:
Yes but you chose the "blasphemy" nonsense excuse. I hope this isnt going to turn out to be a forum controlled and moderated by the religious nutters. Iran , afghanistan and iraq we aint. "Blasphemy" is in no way an acceptable excuse for banning in australia. ESPECIALLY if the thread topic is FREEDOM OF SPEECH. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:04pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:01pm:
I saw a plethora of reasons to ban gimmee over the past week or so (despite him being on my side of politics) The fact that you chose "blasphemy" does not auger well for the future of this forum. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:30pm
Well, go on, put a coupla Mohammed cartoons up on the Islam board if you are so impeccable.
I bet you wouldn't dare. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:34pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:30pm:
more non sequiturs |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:38pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:34pm:
The sequitur is in your hand. Show us how equal opportunity you are. Censoring longy for sometyhing you don't dare censoring or even testing Abu for is a show of cowardice and double standard. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:42pm Soren wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:38pm:
I dont even know who abu is. What are you talking about and what does it have to do with this topic? Who am I censoring? Who is actually doing the censoring here? Come on. Put the beer down and keep it coherent. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:43pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:47pm:
If "badly reserached journalism" was a crime, there wouldn't be any media in australia at all. So that's all you've got? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:47pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:43pm:
Testify brother. No argument from me there. ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:43pm:
it's not about what i've got. It's what the federal court has got. You wanna overturn the laws in our country why dont you go live somewhere else. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:53pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:42pm:
Sorry, my fault. I wasn't prepared for three planks... As you were. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by buzzanddidj on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:14pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 7:28pm:
And HERE is the problem I have with putting religious fundamentalists in positions of power They apply their PERSONAL standards - as LAW - rather thann standards of the demographic The language, in question, is in common use on free to air television |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:31pm buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:14pm:
Where? On the Gaysville Community S&M channel, when the hooded guy in the leather gear approaches from behind with the poker and a picture of Abbott? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by pansi1951 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 6:12am
That's past ridiculous longweekend!
Back to the Bolt saga. I am glad as I'm sure many others are, that we have laws in this country. Laws that have been put in place at some time to protect the citizens of this country. If Bolt, Abbott and others don't like these laws..... TOUGH TITTIES!!!!! |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Armchair_Politician on Sep 29th, 2011 at 7:54am longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 10:55am:
Geoff Clark doesn't even look Aboriginal, for crying out loud! Bolt had a point and it's a shame that what he said can now be found to be illegal. I hope he appeals as it strikes at the heart of our right to free speech. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by toots on Sep 29th, 2011 at 8:35am
I wonder if the judge knows that his decision has badly damaged all the good work done by well-intentioned people striving for reconciliation and the sight of Geoff Clark in that outfit outside court yesterday has set it back even further.
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by pansi1951 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:06am
I hope that the outcome of this case will encourage more ethnic groups to challenge those who will throw racial slurs at them.
Let's hope that the middle east crime unit of NSW will be next on the hit list. We single out certain groups for 'special' treatment or mistreatment. It does nothing to foster good relations between cultures. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:19am
No one should be banned for saying JFC.
A mod's religious beliefs are secondary. Poor form LW. :( |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by toots on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:23am
Bolt needed a slap, he made the mistake of not checking the facts properly and paid the price. Judge Bromberg said it all
“It wasn’t covered by free speech or fair comment provisions because the articles had factual errors, distortions of the truth and inflammatory language." |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:23am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:06am:
oh for gods sake pansi... how about the word POM.,.. will I take everyone to court for calling me a POM..give me strength when are we going to stop babying aboriginies.. if you think this case will foster better relations I think you have lost something in the translation.. racism goes both ways... and we earmark a certain amount of funding for aboriginal affaires.each and every year... its into the billions I believe.. and here you are saying it okay for those with a drop of ethnic blood to draw off the money pot...laughable.. names dont hurt anyway cruel for sure but give as good as you get in most cases..how long do you want the queue at the court houses to be pansi... oh he called me a bad name...come on!!!!.. this gets sillier by the minute.. as for the middle east crime unit.. I do know a little about that... and guess what... there are an awful lot of our ethnic chums part of that group you are villifying.. try to understand those decent upstanding members like aboriginies and middle eastern people are also sick of the disrepute thats brought onto the whole of them by the few. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by mantra on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:33am
I agree with Bolt when he says....
This is a terrible day for free speech in this country," Bolt said outside court. "It is particularly a restriction on the freedom of all Australians to discuss multiculturalism and how people identify themselves." Australia is so diverse now with so many different cultural & genetic heritages that we're all going to be tiptoeing around each other too scared to say a word in case we offend. If we say the wrong thing to the wrong person - we can now be hauled off to Court and fined. Most of the time you don't know whether you're talking to an aborigine or not. Many of them are white and have had the same education and advantages that mainstream society has had. Ethnic & indigenous people are free to say what they want about us - but we can no longer reciprocate. This is carrying political correctness too far. I hope Bolt does appeal the decision. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by philperth2010 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:52am mantra wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:33am:
Bullshit.....If you or anyone else regardless of their heritage tells outright lies and miss represents the truth in an attempt to smear your reputation you can take them to court for slander.....If you make comments about people's race that are not true you are not entitled to be protected by free speech....Bolt had every right to question multiculturalism and how people identify themselves....What he or no one else has the right to do is lie in an attempt to give a false impression of someone.....How anyone can defend this bloke is beyond reason.....Lies are not covered by free speech!!! >:( False words are not only evil in themselves, but they infect the soul with evil. Plato (427 BC - 347 BC), Dialogues, Phaedo |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:00am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 6:12am:
Actually, they're not there for most citizens - They are there for foreigners and members of approved victim groups. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:02am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:06am:
So first off you encourage special treatment, and then in the very next breath you condemn it? Make up your mind would ya? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:06am philperth2010 wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:52am:
can you point to the 'outright lies' contained in the artciles? This is an oft-employed tactic - if you can't refute the message, find some irrelevant technicality, as 99% of people won't bother to find out what those 'factual errors' are. As far as I can see - their interpretation of a 'factual error' was that becasue a position was unpaid, that they didn't 'do very well' out of it, completelky ignoring the connections and prestige that can be gained by taking these positions on, as though money was the ONLY possible reward. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:11am
JulianBurnside julianburnside
#Bolt's case was not about free speech. It was about misuse of journalism to vilify and defame by trashng the truth Bolt has every right to press his case just not in the manner he went about it. The judgment is is NOT a breach of freedom of speech. It is to try a reinforcement of it. Remember with greater power comes greater responsibility, and Bolt should have been more responsible in his wording. So, as I said there is a fine line to cross and people like Bolt over step it and may spoil it for others. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:15am wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:11am:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:19am ... wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:15am:
Remember that , one day it may be you or one of your kids...in the article. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by FriYAY on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:19am
Does any one in the real world really need Bolt to tell them that people use whatever tinny % of aboriginality they have in them to gain advantage as these people have done?
What about Bolts right to be protected from the attack from the opposing barrister? I’m glad the HS is standing by Bolt. I hope they appeal. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:22am wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:19am:
Yep probably - and I'll hold you white sellouts personally responsible. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:33am
As I have just read on a tweet;
@GrogsGamut If Bolt had his facts right he would have written a piece so different there would have been no case |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:37am wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:33am:
Ooh a tweet from "grogsgamut" is THE final word. Still no idea what 'facts' he got wrong? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by longweekend58 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:44am FriYAY wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 9:19am:
it was gimmes 291st offence. that statement was simply the last straw. id do the same if someone was deeply blasphemous about other religions. we can complain, oppose, mock and do all those kinds of things about religion. but there IS a line and that was over it. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by philperth2010 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:58am
Get the facts, or the facts will get you. And when you get them, get them right, or they will get you wrong.
Dr. Thomas Fuller (1654 - 1734), Gnomologia, 1732 Bolt has none to blame but himself!!! :) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by phantomlady on Sep 29th, 2011 at 11:22am
I think Bolt went a little OTT with his article...but still a lot of it is factual.
A friend of mine was interested in a job with the chamber of commerce a couple of years ago, but was told she couldn't apply as the position was reserved for an aborigine person. Imagine the uproar if that was reversed and the position was reserved for a whitey. Sadly, RACISM is the new word for TRUTH. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 11:57am ... wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:06am:
I already gave you one example but you ignored it. That is an oft employed tactic when the facts dont suit your preconceived bias. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:00pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 10:44am:
then ban him anywhere from his first offence to his 290th for 290 reasons but DONT ban him for "blasphemy". Your religious hat should be taken off when you put on the moderator hat. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:02pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 11:57am:
wesley if you want the facts and the lies of Bolts article , they are out there in the news as we type. I have already pasted the link to http://anitaheissblog.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-statement-on-todays-in-in-federal.html?spref=tw 'In his witness statement to the court Mr Bolt claimed to have used a photo of my mother on her wedding day as evidence to determine she, therefore I was of mixed-heritage and could not or should not identify as Aboriginal. The photo Bolt submitted was taken directly from my blog and a post I made on February 7, 2011, almost two years after he wrote his article, so his misrepresentations about me continued. and ; http://www.nationaltimes.com.au/opinion/politics/in-black-and-white-andrew-bolt-trifled-with-the-facts-20110928-1kxba.html 'that Behrendt's father was a black Australian, not a white German. And like all the others, Behrendt was raised black. Judge Bromberg wrote: "She denies Mr Bolt's suggestion that she chose to be Aboriginal and says that she never had a choice, she has always been Aboriginal and has 'identified as Aboriginal since before I can remember'." Bolt didn't contest her evidence. The nine chose not to sue. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by buzzanddidj on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:07pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 7:54am:
Is that "freedom of speech" - or LIBEL ? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:13pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 11:57am:
Did you? I honestly missed it. Which post number? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by ########## on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm
We could all look at the alternative If Bolt had won – he could possibly deride any people he sees fit. It would have given him, and other journalist, an open season tick of approval...
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:19pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rt2LHE3oeks
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:02pm:
and this is central to the case....how? as I said: Quote:
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:28pm ... wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:13pm:
179 and you replied to it at around 190 |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Wesley Pipes on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:33pm darkhall67 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:47pm:
the infernce is that voluntary positions cannot help ones career. Does that sound right? has noone ever taken a voluntary position to gain connections, infleunce and prestige, thus furthering their career? Perhaps 'reserved for' could be disputed, but if it's a toss up between a honky and a 'woman of diverse background' the diverse background will win every time, especially when it's in the aboriginal industry. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Belgarion on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:54pm buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:07pm:
Which brings us to an interesting point. If these alleged aboriginals felt that Bolt had libeled them, why did they not use the libel laws instead of claiming racial vilification. Could it be that under the libel laws there would have been no case to answer, but under the Orwellian racial vilification laws the burden of proof is small to non-existent? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Kytro on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:29pm Belgarion wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:54pm:
It's an interesting question but considering defamation law is fairly strict I think they have had a case. The use of a racial vilification laws seems to have been done to make a point. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Oct 6th, 2011 at 12:41pm longweekend58 wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 9:58pm:
SO, no slot on Q & A for me then? ;) |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Oct 6th, 2011 at 12:57pm Soren wrote on Oct 6th, 2011 at 12:41pm:
Why the Egyptian women used it several times on Monday. If it add's force to the point your trying to make & is not just used to offend I see no problem with it, I use it, we are all adults. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Oct 6th, 2011 at 3:33pm Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:29pm:
They actually adressed this in the after verdict presser. They said they used the racial villification law because it was about race & they did not want to be seen as just suing for money. Even though they won the case no money changes hands(maybe Bolt has to pay their legals but certainly no compo) where as the Libel would have awarded monetary compensation. It was about them not money & that's what they wanted. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Oct 6th, 2011 at 6:43pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Oct 6th, 2011 at 3:33pm:
And now people will only whisper behind their backs. fabbo. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by dsmithy70 on Oct 6th, 2011 at 6:58pm Soren wrote on Oct 6th, 2011 at 6:43pm:
People whisper all sorts of stuff behind peoples backs everyday. Writting and printing those FALSE accusations is another matter. For the 3rd time I believe Bolt is correct about certain people declaring aboriginal hertiage for monetary gain. Bolt just was lazy and tried to pick high profile people to bolster his argument. He and his defenders have no one to blame but Bolt himself. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by gizmo_2655 on Oct 6th, 2011 at 7:06pm Belgarion wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:54pm:
Actually neither.... 'Real Jews', from the Middle East, might have 'Big Honkers'....BUT 'real jews' from Europe wouldn't have the same physical attributes as Middle Eastern people.... The Middle Eastern genotype of dark skin, and big noses doesn't always breed 'true' for people of European backgrounds.....but the religious/cultural background DOES 'breed true'..... |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by gizmo_2655 on Oct 6th, 2011 at 7:23pm ... wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 11:13am:
Yup, pretty much.... |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Oct 6th, 2011 at 9:24pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Oct 6th, 2011 at 6:58pm:
What you are saying is that Bolt is 'guilty' of looking at a woman (Behrendt), looking at her name (Germanic), looking at her dad (bearded Italian looking fella) - and without checking 'Who's who' he said 'hey, you guys don't look like Aboriginese. WHat's with occupying a chair of law set aside for Aboriginese?" Or looking at Ms Cole, brought up by a Jewish mother from England, daddy-o absent - 'hey, what's with the Aboriginality? " So now we need a Federal Court Judge to make a ruling about the extent of fact checking necessary for an opinion piece. Fabbo. Is Gillard Welsh or Australian. Abbott English or Australian? The Governor of NSW Lebanese or Australian? Hockey Lebanese or Australian? Crowe, Phar Lap NZers or Australians? Gibson, American or Australian? Siedler Austrian or Australian? Murdoch American or Australian? |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Oct 8th, 2011 at 10:03am
The Leninists pride themselves on being'progressives', always looking for radical change in the order of things -gay marriage, adoption rights, taxation as a way to prosperity, ramming throuh a carbon tax the majority don't want, changing the constitution to replace the monarchy with a president and so on. In short, they pride themseles on being iconoclasts and radical innovators.
Yet when Bolt says something contrary to the established order of niceness, they are all of a sudden rigidly, loudly, sneeringly (what's new?) for conserving the established Leninist pieties and speech codes. Hypocricy doesn't even begin to describe it. Two-faced, spineless table thumping demagogues is more like it. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by cods on Oct 8th, 2011 at 11:57am Soren wrote on Oct 8th, 2011 at 10:03am:
I see no one wants to get into your debate soren i wonder why??. I am appalled that that creep Geoff Clark was one of the 9..I mean we are meant to feel sorry for this creep.. like hell. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Oct 8th, 2011 at 3:09pm Soren wrote on Oct 8th, 2011 at 10:03am:
What a load of sh1t. Bolt lied. Got caught. People he was lying about took him to court. bolt was found to have lied. bolt was punished. Get over it. You people defending the creep and his behavior ad nauseum really destroys your credibility . |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Dnarever on Oct 8th, 2011 at 3:33pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Oct 6th, 2011 at 7:23pm:
Verbal assult becomes a legal problem if it is not supportable and turns out to be based on lies. Freedom of speech does not and never has included the right to publicly lie about people. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Oct 8th, 2011 at 4:18pm
What was the lie? How is an opinion a lie? Bolt's article wasn'r reportage, it was opinion. The question he raised stnd unanswered even if Behrendt' dad wasn't German, only his dad's dad was English of german descent. Bolt made a mistake of one generation. Is that th big lie?
Or what? Bindi Cole's Jewish mother from England brought her up alone. Bolt didn't mention that Cole's absent father had an Aboriginal mother who was not as absent from her life as her father. How Aboriginal was she? This is Bindi Cole's Aboriginal grandmother and Cole's Aboriginal father. Very clearly, her grandmother was far from Aboriginal. Perhap of Aboriginal descent, somehow, remotely. Would she be entitled to funding as a jewish artist, were such fiunding be available? Having a jewish mother, she is a jew according to jewish law, regardless of what her paternal grandmother was. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYVtGqnjrgs |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by darkhall67 on Oct 8th, 2011 at 5:00pm Soren wrote on Oct 8th, 2011 at 4:18pm:
Well if you are not going to be serious... |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Soren on Oct 8th, 2011 at 5:23pm darkhall67 wrote on Oct 8th, 2011 at 5:00pm:
Ok, so you don't know. No shame in that. I don't know either. Nor anyone else. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Dnarever on Oct 9th, 2011 at 9:33am Soren wrote on Oct 8th, 2011 at 4:18pm:
The opinion piece excuse does not really hold a lot of water when you are specifically naming people and making statments of fact which are untrue. The premise of Mr. Bolt article was that these people had all chosen to be Aboriginal for personal gain. The fact is that all 9 went to court and showed that they had been raised as aboriginal from their youth. Mr. Bolt printed derogatory statements about these people which were untrue. Quote:
A clear derogatory statement differentiating them from real aborigines. Quote:
Born and raised as such – not chosen later in virtually all cases. Quote:
Well once again its not actually true – she had publicly identified as aboriginal at 14 but had been aboriginal all her life. Quote:
Apparently according to Mr Bolt Aboriginals are not allowed to board at Victorian Catholic schools – I don’t really get his point. Maybe he didn't outright lie but it is certainly a terrible oppinion piece when he has made so many accusation and got virtually all of his facts wrong. Actually come to think of it he has had no problem calling Julie Gillard a liar based on a lot less than this. |
Title: Re: 'Hard Right' Bolt Is Guilty Post by Nationals_Win on Oct 9th, 2011 at 9:42am
Scoptic, who have hired him to implement a fiendishly arcane accounting system equipped with artificial intelligence, in an effort to keep the company one step ahead of the government's rapacious tax authorities. Renowned within the catacombs of the scientific community, and with an impressive publishing record in the most prestigious trade and academic journals, he expects to do serious business with a serious organisation. The only problem is that he lives in a hot, overcrowded world where nothing works: hyperinflation, crumbling infrastructure, rampant crime, political correctness, corruption at all levels, and a new world order globalist government, determined to regulate, monitor, and tax every aspect of a person's life; opposed to the forces of totalitarian democracy are occult underground movements, most notably the Esoteric Hitlerists. As a result, nothing goes according to plan, and frustrations mount as things go only from bad to worse... In his first novel, Alex Kurtagic presents a grim and sarcastic depiction of the everyday consequences of living in a world where present social, cultural, economic, political, and demographic trends have been allowed to continue unabated. The novel is replete with obscure information and modern heretics, its elegant prose losing the reader in its bizarre logic, delirious paranoia, and meandering speculations, where nothing - and nobody - is what it seems.