General Discussion >> General Board >> Child killed by Pitbull. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1313729790 Message started by Deborahmac09 on Aug 19th, 2011 at 2:56pm |
Title: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 19th, 2011 at 2:56pm
http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/pitbull-owners-stood-back-and-watched-it-attack-ayen-chol-claim-family/story-e6frg12c-1226117913308
Did you guys already post this somewhere, if so, sorry This dog escaped its own yard, and entered someone elses home, where this child was killed and another injured. The dog responsable has since been destroyed. I have heard the cry for pitbulls to be banned, I have heard how people get around it by calling them something else. I am not sure what my opinion is about banning pitbulls. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:18pm I am sure about my opinion on it. Not only are pitbull dogs bred to kill, their owners are strange too. Never let a pitbull owner in your house, never have anything to do with them. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:37pm
geez I can't think of many things more heartbreaking than this.
I don't think you can blame the breed as a whole as they are not all killers and are largely a product of their upbringing. There is also the problem of defining the breed. But that said, they are the dog of choice for deadshits who need a tuff dog to help them act tuff and for this reason they will continue to be overrepresented in dog attacks. A licensing system could be feasible, but there will always be some that slip throught the cracks. Yeah, ban 'em. Not outright, but phase them out I guess. There's plenty of other breeds of dogs out there and nobody really needs a pitbull - about the only legitimate thing theyre good for is pig hunting, and theres plenty of other breeds that are just as good if not better for the job. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:42pm
The other question I am wondering about is.
If your dog is attacking someone and won't come when called, do you keep calling it or do you go and pull it off ? What were they thinking? |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:42pm Deborahmac09 wrote on Aug 19th, 2011 at 2:56pm:
Don't ban the breed, ban the idiots who own them...Like Wesley said, there's a certain type of person who either mistreats the dog, doesn't train it at all, or trains it to be aggressive... A friend of mine had a pure breed American Pitbull, and two small children.....the kids used to climb all over the dog, pull on his ears and tail, and the dog just stood there and took it......because that's how he'd trained it... |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:46pm Deborahmac09 wrote on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:42pm:
In this case, you grab a gun, a knife or whatever you can get that will kill the beast. That's the problem with them - hitting it or kicking it won't do anything. Nobody wants their dog to die, but if it's going to kill a child, there's no contest - you've gotta do it. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Lisa on Aug 19th, 2011 at 10:39pm
A dreadful story. Poor little girl.
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Belgarion on Aug 20th, 2011 at 12:25am ... wrote on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:37pm:
That's the crux of the matter, although the breed is highly strung and aggressive compared to most others, its the training (or lack of) that brings this to the fore. The fact that the dropkicks who owned the dog in this case were too afraid to try to physically restrain it shows exactly what sort of training this dog had. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by thelastnail on Aug 20th, 2011 at 1:08am Belgarion wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 12:25am:
Don't make excuses, the RSPCA terminates dogs like this without any questions asked ;) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Grey on Aug 20th, 2011 at 3:58am
You can bring out the aggression in any number of dog breeds, bull arabs, mastiffs, dobermanns, Alsatians, so the answer is to exterminate bogans. ;D
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 20th, 2011 at 5:52am gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:42pm:
i have heard that poo. and also how suddenly one day out of the blue that same dog flips and attacks some kid. kill all the pitbull dogs |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Kat on Aug 20th, 2011 at 7:29am Grey wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 3:58am:
Couldn't agree more, Grey. It is NOT the fault of the breed, I've owned them, and have been around them for years. The problem lies with aggressive, macho, poorly-educated people (usually men) who use these breeds as some kind of penis-extension (a bit like some others use their cars). Banning the breed is not the answer (banning NEVER is) but some restriction is inevitable, given the shrill and ignorant calls for bans. De-sexed and properly trained, these dogs are NO MORE aggressive or dangerous than any other breed. The trouble is, this sort of 'banning' BS has gone on forever, when I was a kid it was Alsatians they were trying to ban, then Dobermanns, then Rotties. Now it's Pit-bulls. The world turns.........nothing new. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:08am
So you have to chop their balls off and train them in order to make them safe enough to have around other people?
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Kat on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:15am freediver wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:08am:
Seems like plain common-sense to me, Freediver. For ANY dog. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:18am
I would not fear being mauled to death by a chihuahua unless it had surgical intervention and special training on not killing people.
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:28am
No futher breeding should be allowed of Pit Bulls.
The problem is that most owners love their Pit Bulls & the majority of them are alright. To destroy everyone of them because a few were killers is not really fair & would leave many owners heart broken - like an inncocent member of their family was killed for the crimes of someone else. I personally wouldn't own one. Just remember - any big dog can be dangerous - a vet told me that the worst bite he ever had was from a big male Labrador - a breed known for being o.k. with kids. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:14am Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:28am:
My thoughts really are summed up by my man Bobby here. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:25am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:14am:
Thanks Andrei - but " my man " That's getting very chummy! :o |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Oh_Yeah on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:55am gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:42pm:
No, ban the breed. You never hear any stories of poodles, Jack Russel's or Chihuahuas mauling and killing children. Children (and adults) should not be put at risk purely on the "punt" that owners will properly train these dogs. These dogs are not suitable in a suburban environment. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 1:17pm
Do you think it would be possible and or effective, if there was a law passed that all dogs were to be muzzled in public?
*edit I know in this instance the dog escaped and would not have been muzzled even if the law was as stated above. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 1:39pm Deborahmac09 wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 1:17pm:
A silly idea. If a dog can't be trusted it should be put down. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 5:56pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 1:39pm:
Bobby, it should never be taken completely for granted that any dog can be fully trusted. Many dogs involved with attacking people do not have a history of aggression. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Aussie on Aug 20th, 2011 at 6:09pm
What is a Mastiff?
::) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 6:14pm Aussie wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 6:09pm:
The Boss :o |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Aussie on Aug 20th, 2011 at 6:51pm
Was the dog under scrutiny.......The Boss? Is The Boss giving a Pit Bull a bad name?
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 7:00pm Aussie wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 6:51pm:
The mastiff is the mastiff. I have known nasty and gentle mastiffs, but I do not think you can ever completely trust any dog. As for the Pit Bull, owners have to take responsability. If you must have any dog, keep it in, and train it. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 20th, 2011 at 8:23pm
With a chihuahua it does not matter whether you trust it or not. Those breeds with the big frames and strong jaws are a different matter entirely.
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 8:42pm freediver wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 8:23pm:
It matters, as far as you would not leave any dog and an infant alone. yes it is easier to control them, and physically pull them off. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:43pm
Has a chihuahua ever mauled a child to death?
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Lisa on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:50pm
Could someone please kindly explain to me why on earth people buy, own and keep such savage and ugly looking dogs (as pitbulls) in their suburban homes?
What's the rationale behind the decision to buy such an animal? I'm only asking because there are so many other wonderful, nicer, better looking and safer pet options out there. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:01pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:50pm:
Same reason some people buy Ferraris.....They're a status symbol in some types of societies |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by mantra on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:04pm ... wrote on Aug 19th, 2011 at 3:37pm:
They need to be banned. Even the most mild manner of pitbulls is genetically inclined to kill. Hundreds of years of selective breeding for fighting and hunting has created an unpredictable breed. Unlike other dogs, their jaws lock and it's almost impossible to prise them apart. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Lisa on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:52pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:01pm:
You're kidding me .. right? |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:56pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:52pm:
I wish I was......but I'm not. Some social groups, demographics (call them what you will) work on the idea that you're not 'tough' unless you own a 'big tough' dog.. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by life_goes_on on Aug 20th, 2011 at 11:02pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 10:56pm:
Around here, it's the thing to own a staffi or pit bull..... well amongst the ute driving, winnie blues tucked in your t-shirt crowd it is. The type who think Khe Sanh is the real national anthem. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 20th, 2011 at 11:05pm Life_goes_on wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 11:02pm:
Yep, that's one of the groupings... Around here, the ute drivers generally have a blue heeler or kelpie though.... Mind you, depending on whereabouts in QLD you live, they may be pig or roo hunting dogs (some at least) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by life_goes_on on Aug 20th, 2011 at 11:27pm
Thousands of roos around here, but I'm yet to meet anybody that hunts them.
Plenty of pigs too around the cane. But they are usually trapped. The only person I've met who actively hunts them, does it with a bow (through choice.... he owns rifles). He drives a ute and owns a couple of pit bulls. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Lisa on Aug 21st, 2011 at 12:21am gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 11:05pm:
Gosh .. I'm bloody speechless. I reckon I've heard it all now. Thanks for the heads up guys. Incidentally .. I'm 100% in favour of a complete ban on all pitbulls. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 21st, 2011 at 12:17pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 20th, 2011 at 9:50pm:
They are handy for hunting pigs. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 10:40am
Seems some gutless (explicit name) have defaced her facebook tribute page.
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 11:41am really ?? Might be a court case coming from that. Prob a pitbull owner did it |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 11:50am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 11:41am:
Whatever it was, they are saying it was racist. Personally, I don't care what colour she was, she was a child. Four years old and as innocent as they come. How can people hate a child because of the colour of their skin. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Verge on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 12:19pm
I own some placid labs, lovable. There is no way I would leave my daughter with them unattended.
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 1:31pm Verge wrote on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 12:19pm:
THankyou Verge! |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by FriYAY on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 2:08pm
OMFG.
I have never read so much generalization and seen so many sweeping tar brushes in my life. Some of you people seriously need to get out more. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 9:14pm
You should see some of the hysterical posts from pitbull apologists in a dog forum online. It's always the owners' fault, or the victims' fault or something else. It's never the dogs' fault. Or it wasn't a pitbull, it was some obscure crossbreed that miraculously resembles a pitbull. These people need their heads examined because they just can't wrap their heads around the simple fact that these are fighting dogs - not cute, cuddly, playful family dogs - and that they have no place in modern society!
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 9:58pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 2:08pm:
Should there be a separate law for each dog owner? |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by FriYAY on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 9:56am freediver wrote on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 9:58pm:
No that would be stupid. (ps Big Green Tim lives by the water shhhhhhhh) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by freediver on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:13pm
So how can you make one law for all without tarring everyone with the same brush and taking their shirt of their back without giving them a fair go mate?
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Deborahmac09 on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:44pm freediver wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:13pm:
Perhaps you need to explain in what context you believe there should be a seperate law for each dog owner. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by FriYAY on Aug 24th, 2011 at 9:22am freediver wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:13pm:
So....hard...makes...no...sense.... Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggghhhhhhhh Sorry don't understand. People were making sweeping generalisations about what type of people own pit-bulls. Who is taking shirts off backs? I'm too sober to understand.... :( |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Sun Tzu on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 12:43pm
UK man killed by his girlfriend's pit bull:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3381368/Man-22-died-attacked-dog.html [quote]'My baby boy always & forever,' she wrote under the images. Paramedics and police were called to the scene in Dundonald Street following the horrific attack. Mr Hewitson was treated at his house before being rushed to Royal Preston Hospital. But despite frantic efforts to save his life, he passed away just before 6pm. The dog was subsequently taken away by handlers and put down by a local vet. At first, it was thought that the pitbull was owned by the victim himself, but police later said they thought it belonged to his girlfriend. However, reports on the dog's ownership remain divided. Neighbours say the the animal went by the name of Tiger. DI Jane Webb, from Preston CID, described the New Year's Day incident as 'tragic'. 'This is a tragic incident in which a man has sadly died,' she said. She added: 'Enquiries are on-going to establish the exact circumstances and my thoughts very much remain with his family who are being supported by specially trained officers at this time.' This evening, Mr Hewitson's family and friends were taking to social media to pay tribute to him. Tributes outside house in Preston where Liam Hewitson died It is thought that Mr Hewitson was suffering from an epileptic fit at the time of the mauling +13 'I'm too devastated to speak,' Miss Hill told MailOnline this evening. 'I just love and miss him so much' +13 Tragedy: 'I'm too devastated to speak,' Miss Hill (right) told MailOnline this evening. 'I just love and miss him so much.' It is thought that Mr Hewitson (left) was suffering from an epileptic fit at the time of the mauling Happier times: At first it was thought that the pitbull was owned by the victim himself, but police later said they thought it belonged to his girlfriend. The dog was reportedly called Tiger. Above, Mr Hewitson and Miss Hill +13 Happier times: At first it was thought that the pitbull was owned by the victim himself, but police later said they thought it belonged to his girlfriend. The dog was reportedly called Tiger. Above, Mr Hewitson and Miss Hill One of his relatives, Robert Hewitson, wrote on Facebook: 'Wow cant believe it R.I.P liam hewitson always take the best! Least ur with ur mum now smiling more rest in peace bro. 'Love n gunna miss you! Never forgetten! R.I.P!!!' His brother, Craig Hewitson, who also owns pitbulls, added: 'Love you always my brother.' Stacey Hewitson said: ‘Love you Craig. We will get through this together as a family’ And Chantelle Hewitson, the victim's cousin, wrote: 'Rest In peace little cousin so heartbreaking you with your beautiful mum now Liam rest in paradise love you always xxxx.' Neighbours also spoke of their shock as relatives gathered at the scene tonight. Slav Skow, 32, a car mechanic, lived opposite Mr Hewitson and has been friends for five years. He added: ‘He was a good person – I really liked him. It’s a great tragedy. I just can’t believe what’s happened today, it’s just such a shock for me. Attack: The pitbull terrier (file picture) was taken away by handlers and put down by a local vet this afternoon +13 Attack: The pitbull terrier (file picture) was taken away by handlers and put down by a local vet this afternoon Popular: Tributes to Mr Hewitson (pictured, third right, with friends) also poured in on community Facebook groups. Mizzy Saeed, 40, a neighbour, said: ‘He was a lovely person. Lived 2 doors away.. Heartbreaking’ +13 Popular: Tributes to Mr Hewitson (pictured, third right, with friends) also poured in on community Facebook groups. Mizzy Saeed, 40, a neighbour, said: ‘He was a lovely person. Lived 2 doors away.. Heartbreaking’ Victim: Some suggested Mr Hewitson (pictured) was suffering from a fit at the time – triggering the attack +13 Victim: Some suggested Mr Hewitson (pictured) was suffering from a fit at the time – triggering the attack ‘It’s a very sad time for me, and for his family. I only got home this morning, and then I hear this - I was so shocked. I’m so sorry for his girlfriend and his family. ‘He was just a neighbour but we are like family. They were kind to me at a very hard time. ‘He helped me a lot when I needed jobs done at home. ‘That dog, six months ago his personality changed – he used to be no problem, but then he started barking very loudly, and not being very nice.’ Tributes to Mr Hewitson also poured in on community Facebook groups. Mizzy Saeed, 40, a neighbour, said: ‘He was a lovely person. Lived 2 doors away.. Heartbreaking’. John Rawcliffe said: ‘Thought go out to his family and friends sleep tight mate.’ Others suggested that he was suffering from a fit at the time of the incident – triggering the attack. Emergency response: DI Jane Webb, from Preston CID, described the New Year's Day incident as 'tragic' Mourning: Tonight, around 50 friends and family gathered around Mr Hewitson’ |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by The Mechanic on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 12:45pm
really??
did you really go back around 4 years to find this thread?? if only you'd put this much effort into finding a job ::) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Sun Tzu on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 12:50pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 12:45pm:
If you spent more on your human capital you would find that it takes but a few seconds to find such a thread. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Gnads on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 2:37pm
They ought put a ban on all the noddies calling for bans.
Any dog can be made aggressive & prepared to fight Yes even woolly woofter Shitzus like Shitzus' So all you w/ankers feel safe all dogs larger than a Foxy should be banned. Try living in countries where they have bears, lions, tigers, leopards, mountain lions .....etc There are more tigers kept in US backyards than there are in the wild ..... ban motor cars , motor bikes, quads, ATV's they kill more people ::) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Kat on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:05pm Gnads wrote on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 2:37pm:
I've had both Shih Tzus and pit-bulls, also a pair of Rotties. None were aggressive, and none ever attacked anything or anyone. it's all in how they're brought-up, trained, and treated. My Shih-Tzu.. Jenna_being_cute_1a_001.jpg (59 KB | 13
) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Kat on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:09pm
My Rotties...
Conan___Flip_002.jpg (92 KB | 14
) |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:14pm
Pitbulls have a thread in their D.N.A. they are inherently an attack dog.
They have no place amongst civilised society. They need to be banned out of existence. They don't belong in the Jungle and they sure as hell don't belong in suburban backyards. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by Kat on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:17pm red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:14pm:
No, they don't belong in the backyards of the brain-dead, or those who think having one makes them 'tough'... In MY backyard, they were never a problem. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by red baron on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:23pm
It's alright until it goes wrong Kat and pitbulls are attack dogs.
Just how many times have you picked up a paper and read about the family rottie turning on the family's kids. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by ian on Jan 3rd, 2016 at 12:22am Kat wrote on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:09pm:
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by The_Barnacle on Jan 3rd, 2016 at 9:55am Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 9:14pm:
red baron wrote on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:14pm:
Never thought that I would find myself agreeing with Armchair and Red Baron. Many dogs including pitbulls have no place in a suburban environment. I don't care if they blame the owners, the victims or the phase of the moon. Human lives take precedence over the rights of dog owners |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by cods on Jan 3rd, 2016 at 10:06am Kat wrote on Jan 2nd, 2016 at 4:09pm:
they are a beautiful animal.. but not meant for a back yard.... look at the power of them to me it is cruel to keep a large working type dog in a backyard..... these animals are/were bred for a certain duty....they were never meant to be family pets.... just a wrong smell can set them off..... would you trust these animals if you were not home and someone maybe the kid next door came in to find his ball or frisby??... the world we live in now is not BIG dog conducive... think of the dog or dogs.....sometimes on a chain all day long..... cruel. |
Title: Re: Child killed by Pitbull. Post by cods on Jan 3rd, 2016 at 10:07am ian wrote on Jan 3rd, 2016 at 12:22am:
for some it does.....why would you keep a big animal in a backyard... whilst you are out all day....it never makes any sense to me.. |