General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> NSW Treasury chief quits http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1303967786 Message started by bogarde73 on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:16pm |
Title: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by bogarde73 on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:16pm
NSW Treasury boss leaves jobAAP
April 28, 2011, 1:35 pm 5 CommentsSend NSW Treasury secretary Michael Schur is leaving his position, the state government says. Treasurer Mike Baird said on Thursday Mr Schur would leave the top public service job immediately, and by mutual agreement. Mr Shur had been on leave since the coalition received a preliminary Treasury report on the budget and state finances a few days after it was elected to government on March 26. "I would like to thank Mr Schur for the very significant contribution he has made serving the NSW public," Mr Baird said in a statement. "He has led Treasury during a very difficult period that included dealing with the consequences of the global financial downturn. "I genuinely wish him all the best for the future." Mr Schur had been expected not to return to his job, after going on leave last month. The government had expressed concerns about the way Treasury had operated under the previous 15-year-old Labor government. It also claimed it had been left with a cumulative budget black hole of up to $5.2 billion over five years, and called in a former NSW Treasury head to audit the department's accounts. That audit, released on Wednesday, found Treasury's budget assumptions for the four years from 2010/11 to 2013/14, as well as a review in December 2010 were based on information available at the time. The audit was conducted by former Treasury secretary and now acting Treasury secretary Michael Lambert. Mr Baird said Mr Lambert would remain in the position until it could be filled permanently. He indicated the job would be advertised and a worldwide search undertaken to identify the best candidate. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by bogarde73 on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:16pm
Interesting. "Mutual consent" - I like that.
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:44pm
Disgracefull behaviour by the employer in this case.
They have made the employee take full responsibility for getting it right just because they wanted for it to be wrong. While I am willing to give the Barrie Barrel government a fair go they have definatly made a substandard Liberal type beginning. Frothing at the mouth getting it wrong then blaming someone else, I hope they can fix this before their term progresses too far or it may be their only term. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by bogarde73 on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:20pm
Given the history of the Labor govt or govts in NSW, I am quite prepared to believe that their budgets were dodgy to an unacceptable degree.
I don't know whether this head of Treasury was complicit in making them so but the new govt appears to think so. It is high time heads of Treasury had the power - in fact I don't know that they do not already - had the power to insist that the public financial statements are honest in substance as well as in fact & form. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Maqqa on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:20pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:44pm:
Someone from the left falls on their sword and it's always assumed they were pushed from the right goes to show there are no honour from the left You got any proof of this or it's just bitter resentment from the left? |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by nairbe on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:54pm Maqqa wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:20pm:
As usual the pot calls the Kettle black. I have no issue with having all the doubts in the world over the state of the budget, after all the truth is that the Costello budgets and accounting were the exception not the rule when it comes to all government. What i find typical is that an independent head of treasury has been incompetently used to try and make political gain by O'Farrell and if the public were not so relieved to be rid of labor they would feel sick that the government they elected with an obscene majority is not performing well in its initial stages and come to think of it got elected with no policy of any consequence. The real worry is that the incompetent labor governments will only make way for unaccountable and arrogant conservative disasters. We really need to get things in perspective and get rid of the low socio "need a drama" attitude we have developed and begin focusing on what the future holds and what to do about it. Can you imagine what the reaction would be if the government wanted to build another Canberra considering the childish rubbish we see over the NBN? |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2011 at 7:09pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:44pm:
woooosh couldnt wait could you dna...no surprises there. so you dont think anyone is responsible for the fiasco thats called NSW.. you honestly think the chief of the treasury who has sat back and let the State get into this mess and not a thing working or going anywhere.. should retain his position and not in anyway be accountable... my god.. I bet there is no way would you be saying that if the boot was on the other foot... if the libs had been in 15 years and left this god forsaken mess you would have wanted the whole lot gone.. you are still calling for heads after the wheat for oil..that went through an investigation.. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2011 at 7:17pm
What i find typical is that an independent head of treasury has been incompetently used to try and make political gain by O'Farrell and if the public were not so relieved to be rid of labor they would feel sick that the government they elected with an obscene majority is not performing well in its initial stages and come to think of it got elected with no policy of any consequence.
xxx this is the trouble they are no longer INDEPENDENT.. Henry was a prime example of that I am thinking.. and its a well known fact that the public service is just another branch of the ALP.. top bureaucrats need to stand up and be counted they get paid a hell of a lot... and they have to accept their share of responsibilty.... they sign off on everything that the govt spends.. I dont object to him going at all... I am sure he saw it coming and any decent person would do so anyway... he worked hand in glove with a bunch of crooks and for all we know encouraged them to sell the Peoples Power for peanuts. because the treasure chest was bleeding to death |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:04pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 7:09pm:
I think the problem is that Barry could not wait - This was his first day on the Job, standing aside (puting on leave) a senior public servant who had got nothing wrong and doing it before he even had any of the facts. You can not really defend this type of bullying behaviour can you? Me not being able to wait has little impact but Barry doing the same thing affects peoples lives fairly dramatically. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:06pm Maqqa wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:20pm:
Who said he is from the left - I would think an unbiased public servant or just as likley a Liberal supporter. (now x liberal supporter). |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:13pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 7:09pm:
What Mess? cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 7:09pm:
Where the people who set up the investigation were the ones who needed to be investigated and had set the terms of the investigation. Yeah thet was going to get the right answers for sure. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:48pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:04pm:
what utter crap... lol find it interesting your are full of sympathy for a treasurer... give him a go a fair go.. like the one you give Abbott you mean...lol |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 28th, 2011 at 11:41pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:48pm:
You mean an employee who has definitively been treated badly by an over zealous employer who had his information wrong. Can you never look at the facts and just say hey that is wrong. cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:48pm:
No not like Abbott or how you have given Labor leaders any latitude either Rudd or Gillard - I mean see how he performs, he has clearly started very badly though and he will not get away with too many more like this rubbish. In Abbotts case it is a lot different - there we have a very much known quantity, we know where he stands on many issues, How he applies his honesty, how poor his past performance has been on occasion. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2011 at 8:04am Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 11:41pm:
sorry mate but the head of treasury is a little more than just another employee.... if you dont understand that then you do have a problem.. I believe the man resigned..maybe he was asked one or two to difficult questions who knows.. maybe he didnt want to work with the new govt... its you that are jumping to conclusions and judging someone from the right of course.. however where you can honestly say the treasurer has nothing to answer for is a mystery to me... he is not running the local Bingo you know.. govt at any level is bigger than that. I mean you even claim NSW isnt in a mess.. my god where have you been...and when books dont balance.. well who do you hold responsible.. believe it or not the Minister doesnt do the accounting. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:10am cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 8:04am:
At the end of the day in that relationship he is just another employee. cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 8:04am:
He was put on indefinate leave which can only be considered a disciplinary measure and then he was completly vindicated by the report. Anyone treated in that manner by the new cowboy in the job (one day) would understand that any trust in a working relationship had been destroyed. Can you not just once stand up and admit the obvious truth that your mate just got it horribly wrong - its not that difficult. cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 8:04am:
Their own report is saying that he got it right, it was barry who was wrong - don't you get it? cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 8:04am:
Yes Barry just showed us what happens when they try. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:32am
To expect the political rhetoric from an incoming leader was no surprise, but to see the way he has dealt with the findings that he has now received has been surprising, and disappointing.
Don't get me wrong, it could just as easily been a Labor pollie doing it, but the fact that pollies, ANY pollies, will drag others down to try and gain some political advantage, is pretty bloody low, and we need to stop just accepting that this is as good as we can expect pollies to behave, because it is not good enough, we deserve better. The Lib fanboys who are here defending this are no surprise, as their combined intelligence is only marginally greater than their combined integrity, and the inability to display either has become their expected reaction to almost any topic. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:42am
Can you not just once stand up and admit the obvious truth that your mate just got it horribly wrong - its not that difficult.
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo you mean like you do with rudd and gillard without bringing the Libs into it...lol.. you are so funny Barry isnt my mate... I am waiting to see if he pulls NSW out of the mier.. I am giving him a fairgo... you have forgotton what that is.. time will tell if this mans job was worthy or not.. and the same with Barry... so far he isnt wasting any time on doing things.. so far so good for me.. you guys are nitpicking..and Henry resigned.. but didnt see you crying buckets over that... but concidering the way rudd ended up treating him I would think he was more than put out... after 340 odd pages they took noticed of 4 things... a bit insulting all round I would think... but neither here nor there.. we shall see how things pan out.. I suggest you give Bazza a go.. it wouldnt hurt and lets just assume Bazza knows more than we do.at least I like to think he does.. but if you and mozz could do better why didnt you throw your hats in the ring. or at least have a protest outside treasury |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:57am cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:42am:
There have been a number of times when I have said that both Rudd and Gillard had got it wrong and their have been other times when they had been criticised and I made no comment because the criticism was justified. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:01pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:10am:
Leave it to us accountants. I can (and have) made a profitable department make a loss on paper and a loss-making entity report a profit. All above board too. We are magicians. I earned $32,500 in Australia in 2008 you know.... ;D |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm Quote:
Yeah, good one Andrei, all Lib supporters know that paying your fair share is only for the suckers, and those too dumb or poor, to have family trusts. Blow, Australia, so what if I don't pay my fair share, I mean what I don't pay would only get wasted anyway. Every tax minimiser in history has claimed his money would have been wasted by incompetent and immoral governments, because none of his money would have gone to schools, or hospitals, or transport, that is the job of the dummies to pay for. Your kids will be so proud. What did you do to make the world a better place daddy? I implemented tax minimisation schemes so rich people could pay less tax than they normally would. Ooooh, you are clever daddy. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Verge on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:17pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:04pm:
There might be more to it DNA? Maybe this is a bit more than just standing aside a now former labor employee, it could well be standing aside someone who made life difficult for them while in opposition? There is always a cleaning out after elections and there always will be. I would find it difficult to work with someone who only a week prior I found unresponsive or uncooperative. In my humble opinion, I think this was personal, and probably some pay back. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Verge on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:
Mozz, please dont fall over the line of calling someone a tax evader when they are a tax minimiser. One is criminal, the other legal. Dont hate the player, hate the game, and its only using the governments very own rules that allow it. Everyone tries to minimise their tax as much as they can. Modified by mozzaok to remove the offensive wording I inaccurately, and inappropriately used. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:29pm mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:
original quote modified by mozzaok to remove the inaccurate, and inappropriate wording I wrongly used. You have my apologies for my mistake. Wrong, wrong and wrong again. I have never, EVER engaged in tax evasion. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:43pm
Fair, points, Verge, and Andrei, that was a mistake on my part, and I will go back and edit the post to use the word which does not imply illegal actions, because I never actually meant too, I wasn't thinking along the lines of legality when I wrote it, I was thinking only of morally responsible and socially responsible behaviour, and apologise again for my mistake in using the wrong terminology.
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:08pm mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:43pm:
not sure where morals or social responsibilty come into paying TAX... I know people in the old days that would claim the full amount allowed for charity yet never gave a dime..in fact I didnt know anyone that didnt..lol.. when it comes to the TAX MAN.. we have to excuse anything as long as its legal.. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by nairbe on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:20pm cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:08pm:
Yes cods we know these are strange and scary concepts to conservatives. Just like the ideas of nation building, infrastructure, environmental responsibility, social justice and on and on. These are the silly ideas that those stupid lefties like to push because those lazy morons don't realise that they are only here to slave their guts out for the multinationals to make billions out of our resources and then complain when asked to take responsibility for their excessive waste and profit. Bloody no good lefty watermelon trouble makers. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:22pm
No surprise there cods, you struggle to understand ethics, and morality, and as far as a broad social contract goes, lol, forget it.
We can add them to the list. BTW, what you described as not knowing anyone who didn't do it, it isn't legal, it is ILLEGAL, so I do not know if you are trying to say everyone you associate with is a tax crook, or just the ones who discuss tax issues with you. :) |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:26pm
A social contract?
;D |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm
Yes, a social contract.
Of course if there were someone who would happily earn hundreds of thousands of dollars FROM Australia, In Australia but would prefer to set up a company in the channel islands, and then pay himself a nominal salary, of less than a trainee factory hand would expect, from that company, so as to ensure that they pay hardly any tax, here in Australia, whilst the profits are going to the channel islands, and not attracting a local tax, then I would not be surprised at all that such a person would have no sense of connection to any society, much less involve themselves to the point where they felt a sense of being part of a broader community to which they contribute. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:49pm mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm:
Just a point of order - the company who employed my nominal company in a NYSE listed company so it was not FROM Australia at all. In fact Australians paid me nothing, they benefited from what I paid. Hope that doesn't ruin your outlook there though..... |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by perceptions_now on Apr 29th, 2011 at 2:12pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:49pm:
There is no reason that anyone should not minimise the tax they pay &/or maximise the benefits they obtain from the government, provided it is done legally. Where I have some problems, is where Politicians (from both major party's) are too "compliant" to their constituentcy's requests and as a result, there are far too many loopholes in the system, which means that government taxes are lower than they should be and government expenditure is higher than it should be. That said, so long as the system remains as it is, then people will minimise their tax & maximise the benefits! Of course, that can have the effect of horribly distorting the system. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 2:47pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:49pm:
So, a Foreign Company just happened to seek out an Australian resident with a company registered in the Channel Islands to do a bit of odd accounting for them? Nothing to do with them doing business in Australia, just wanted someone who could get that "magic" happening for them How did they (Australia) benefit? From the tax you paid on the 30 odd k you declared as income? Would that even cover how much tar you wore off the road driving your SUV around? Well that would be a let down for treasury. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:18pm
I worked for them in the UK.
I moved to Australia for a finite period of time on a re-structuring and APAC streamlining project which enabled me to declare my temporary resident status. There's nothing wrong with it. I declared my Australian income. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by mozzaok on Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:31pm
It still makes your having a dig at another member for not contributing look pretty shallow though, I mean seriously, how much tax would anyone pay on 30k, let alone a savyy accountant?
There'd be buggerall hospitals and schools if everyone played that game. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:34pm mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:31pm:
You're completely ignoring GST I paid in Australia, the fact I purchased a house there, the fact I also paid some tax in Guernsey. $30k was the value of my work in Australia, thats just what it was. A lot of things I did were regional in nature and hence applied to the Channel Islands domicile. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:54pm nairbe wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:20pm:
sorry darling I wasnt pointing nasty fingers at the true blue honest to goodness never take a day off, pays every cent and more in TAX... lefty.. .. I didnt say those I knew where lefties.. believ it or not I knew people from all walks, never got nasty with each other either.. things were different in those days...now you cant say you knew someone without being called a racist a bigot. rabid..anti this anti that...conservative..lol..so please dont get upset and on the defensive... |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:07pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:01pm:
You may have got $32,500 but I find it difficult to believe you would have earned that much silly grin or not. |
Title: Re: NSW Treasury chief quits Post by Dnarever on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:16pm Verge wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:17pm:
You could be right but still does that justify going in boots and all on day one and standing the guy aside based on false accusations. He is not a labor employee - he is a government employee in a non political position. I would hope that our state leader would not be playing pay back in this childish type of manner if that is the case it does not improve the issue he has at all maybe makes it worse. |