General Discussion >> General Board >> Aldi getting rid of phosphates http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1301801332 Message started by bogarde73 on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 1:28pm |
Title: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 1:28pm
Aldi aims to go green with laundry detergents Tim Barlass
April 3, 2011 BUDGET supermarket chain Aldi is taking a green lead in phasing out phosphates from laundry detergents. The decision, to be announced today, follows a long campaign by New South Wales Australian of the Year Jon Dee to get supermarkets to clear their shelves of products containing phosphates because of their devastating effect on waterways. All laundry detergents at Aldi's 250 stores in Australia will be phosphate-free by 2013, the chain's buying manager, Stefan Kopp, said. "This initiative will not only benefit the environment but also our customers who are increasingly aware and concerned about the environmental impact of their purchasing decision,'' Mr Kopp said. Mr Dee, founder of Do Something!, said 308 million Americans could only buy phosphate-free laundry powder, ''so why can't 22 million Australians do the same? … Coles and Woolies are in a position to ensure that all leading laundry detergents can go phosphate-free at no extra cost to consumers.'' Phosphates are used in laundry and dishwashing products because they help soften hard water and break down dirt, but once released in waste water they can cause algal blooms that starve aquatic life of oxygen. But the amount released into Australian waterways is ''negligible'', said ACCORD, which represents laundry powder manufacturers such as Unilever and Colgate Palmolive. ''The issue is, quite simply, a furphy,'' said an ACCORD spokesman. Unlike the US and Europe, where big population centres were on rivers, most Australian cities were on the coast, so phosphates could be dispersed in the ocean. Mr Dee, however, cited an algal bloom in 1991, when nearly 1000 kilometres of the Barwon-Darling river system in NSW was described as ''a long ribbon of pea soup''. The CSIRO blamed this partly on high phosphate concentrations, he said. Dishwasher tablets are particularly high in phosphates, some containing more than 30 per cent, but are not included in the Aldi announcement. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 1:29pm
REAL greens shop at Aldi . . .eh buzz?
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Prevailing on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 2:25pm
What about al,l of the poison they put in the foods and drink - are they going to get rid of that too? :-/ :-/
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by muso on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 3:46pm
Most algal blooms are caused by fertiliser runoff, so it is a red herring in a way.
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:22pm
Isn't Aldi for bogans and poor people?!
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:26pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:22pm:
No it's for people who are sick of being ripped off pandering to the needs of greedy shareholders and CEO's ;) |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:28pm Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:26pm:
Think you're wrong mate. If you look at the state of a lot of people who go in there, they are bogans and poor people.... ;D |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Lisa on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:38pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:22pm:
NO! It's for people who are clever shoppers. My routine is as follows: I go to Aldi, Coles and Woolworths once a week and I LOOK well before I buy anything. I always come away KNOWING I've saved heaps of $$$. Oh and I buy in bulk and share my savings with my mother, brothers and sisters (who thus also benefit from my shrewd and thrifty shopping behaviour). NB I NEVER buy meat from these supermarkets .. I go to my wholesale butcher who sells fresher meat and at far cheaper prices. Again .. I then distribute these meats to my family and their families. You need to be clever these days if you're going to effectively manage your domestic budget. And that means you need to look around for the best deal and the freshest produce before giving away your after tax dollar. My mother always taught me that effective domestic budget mgt isn't just about how much money comes INTO the budget .. it's also about managing unnecessary leakages which escape from your budget. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:55pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:28pm:
Is that why there is an Aldis just around the corner from Coles in Chapel St Prahran ?? And there is one right inside Chadstone as well ;) Yep must be all bogans in that one as well ;) LOL |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:57pm Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:55pm:
Not all Chapel St is nice mate. Worst brawl I ever saw was in Burger King, Chapel Street. Groups of wogs bashing the living daylights out of each other. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Lisa on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:59pm
I never knew bogans and poor people drive Mercs and BMW's these days!
Up here on Sydney's North Shore .. you'll find people holding Aldi shopping bags and putting them into brand new European cars. I should know coz I am one of them lol! |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:00pm Lisa Jones wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:38pm:
What it is, is that people like Hicks believes that you should worship shareholders greed along with an inefficient business practice that can't really compete in the real world without gimmicks such as shopper dockets and discounted milk. Anything that challenges the status quo can't be any good !! To bad Hicks because Coles loss is Aldis gain. Money talks and bullshit walks ;) LOL |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:00pm Lisa Jones wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:38pm:
Nice Lisa, very domesticated of you. I'm in England visiting folks this next 2 weeks. Went into Sainsbury yesteday and what a breath of fresh air. Apples from France and Spain, bananas from the West Indies, oranges from Portugal and Spain, cheese from Holland. What a change. I remember Coles and Woolworths - every single thing from Aus. Not a bit of choice in sight!!!! |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:02pm bogarde73 wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 1:29pm:
Not really an issue, for us Hepburn Shire Council has a "silent policy" of keeping out foreign owned multi-nationals Hence - we have NO McDonalds, KFC's or ALDI's in Daylesford And MY outlet goes to the septic tank Coles stock a reasonable range of phosphate free product - "Green Choice" being the most well known A handy guide ... http://www.earthandwater.com.au/pdfs/81detergents.pdf A bit of trivia ... Grey water containing phosphates is GOOD for most exotic flora But equally BAD for indigenous species |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by imcrookonit on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:05pm
Yes Nail, Aldi is a very good supermarket with excellent prices. I also seen a news article a few weeks ago, about supermarket cleanliness. Aldi came out on top, for being the cleanest. The other main supermarkets, did not do to well at all. :)
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:09pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:02pm:
I really must tell you what a huge benefit to my life it is to know all that. Geez, I am so impressed. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:17pm wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:05pm:
I take great pride in denying greedy coles and woolies shareholders their pound of flesh whilst at the same time getting a much better deal at Aldi's ;) LOL |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:18pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:09pm:
well for someone who is used to polluting the crap out of the environment by extracting oil from tar sounds it must be a drop in the ocean for you :( |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:21pm Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:18pm:
We don't extract from tarsands in Asia Pacific. It's done on the Canadian tundra, so stop fretting. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:27pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:21pm:
you still endorse it though :( |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:40pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:09pm:
Believe it, or not, there ARE responsable, environmentally conscious people in this world Not that you would find them in YOUR family, workplace, golf club or behind the walls of America's largest gated community - La Jolla |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by mavisdavis on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:41pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:02pm:
Highly discriminatory, monopolistic, parochial, inbred, immoral, and illegal. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:48pm mavisdavis wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:41pm:
You won't be saying that in 10 years time when everything as been sold off to foreigners :( |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:51pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 5:57pm:
Used to happen in a night club in church st brighton as well ;) |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 7:09pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:40pm:
?? You'll have to explain that one. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by mavisdavis on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 7:13pm Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:48pm:
How many standards have you got? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 8:54pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 7:09pm:
In La Jolla, CA, gated community real estate is always in high demand. Call Babs Fry right away at 866-628-0413 Ext 0063 to explore the the abundance of fabulous properties in gated communities that are currently available for sale. Acquaint yourself with our free database search function, and locate the La Jolla CA gated homes of which you’ve been dreaming. Our listings are updated daily, so you’ll always have the freshest and most pertinent information! We also will never ask for your personal information or insist that you reveal contact information. You’ll enjoy the freedom to review listings at your leisure, and whenever it’s the best time for you. At present, you will find that homes in gated communities are priced at prices as affordable as $259,000, and ranging up to $7,900,000. In general, you’ll find that these gated properties average about $1,253,714 in price. http://www.viewlajollahomesforsale.com/64506-La-Jolla-CA-Gated-RESCity.aspx |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 9:04pm mavisdavis wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:41pm:
' And home to, possibly, Australia's lowest ratio of childhood obesity |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 10:45pm
Thanks for that Buzz - I am sure the description on what a gated community is will be appreciated by someone.
However that wasn't your statement. You said La Jolla was 'America's largest gated community'. La Jolla is a town, open to anyone to visit. It has gated communities but so do near on every nice town. I know your integrity has flown down the sewer with your beloved ALP's support but stick to the facts please. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 11:00pm mavisdavis wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 7:13pm:
what do you mean ?? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:16am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 10:45pm:
You make a god-damned fine American |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Belgarion on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:54am
Now if Aldi would start treating their staff as well as they are supposedly treating the environment I will shop there again. I will not spend a cent in these Dickensian sweatshops until they lift their game.http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/04/17/1082140112750.html?from=storyrhs
http://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/ALDI-Company-Reviews-E7337_P2.htm I know someone who used to work there. After hearing his story I encouraged him to join a union, however he was so fed up he left instead. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Belgarion on Apr 4th, 2011 at 1:02am buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:40pm:
I once spent a very pleasant afternoon and evening in a bar overlooking the ocean at La Jolla. Not a gate did I see. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 7:11am mavisdavis wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:41pm:
And a policy WHOLE-HEARTEDLY supported by ALL of us |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by mavisdavis on Apr 4th, 2011 at 9:25am buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 7:11am:
How did you rid the community of the non bigoted residents? Did you shun them, or just persecute them? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by mavisdavis on Apr 4th, 2011 at 9:26am Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 11:00pm:
I mean that anyone who isn`t open, and fair minded towards everyone, is a prejudiced bigot. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 4th, 2011 at 11:37am mavisdavis wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 9:26am:
I am fair minded to the majority most of which are battlers. Just not to the minority that constitute greed incorporated ;) |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 11:45am mavisdavis wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 9:25am:
Buying Australian - and supporting Australian businesses - is now "bigoted" ? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:02pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 11:45am:
Yep it always has been for the liberals ;) They believe that it's the responsibility of other countries to manufacture the goods that we need :( |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:48pm
I shop at Aldi for the following reasons:
- I find their product quality to be superior to the others. Previously I have shopped at Coles and/or WW and the number of times I had to throw out bad product was astonishing. - Why pay more? - As someone with an accounting background I greatly admire their business model. - They have a policy of sourcing as much product as possible locally. - As someone said, the standard of cleanliness is A1. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by FRED on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:56pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 7:11am:
So you are speaking for everyone dam LIAR ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by FRED on Apr 4th, 2011 at 1:14pm FRED. wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:56pm:
Coles Daylesford Albert St & Bridport St Daylesford, VIC 3460 (03) 5348 2117 Monday - Sunday: 07:00 - 22:00 View map 3460, Daylesford ;D ;D ;D MULTI MULTI MULTI ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 2:33pm
What an IGNORAMUS
Coles are a 100% Australian owned, publicly listed company ALDI are German owned |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 2:46pm bogarde73 wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:48pm:
I paid a visit ONCE - on the suggestion of Yahoo posters - to the Ballarat store I left empty handed Everything looked like it had come out of some "food factory" in eastern europe (possibly somewhere near Chernobyl) I ALWAYS avoid "home brands" for this very reason I like to be ASSURED of the SOURCE |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 4th, 2011 at 3:48pm
I thought you Greens were supposed to be adventurous buzz. Try looking beyond the brand names, open the cans & packets and see the quality. Look at the labelling and find the source of product.
eg tinned salmon from the USA, chocolates from Germany. Now as to Coles being 100% Australian owned, we have been round this before. I think you don't read what I write except when it suits you. I listed who the top shareholders were, from which you can see that vast quantities of the stock are owned overseas. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 4:15pm bogarde73 wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 3:48pm:
So you would feel confident in saying ... "Coles has a higher degree of foreign ownership than ALDI ?" |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Verge on Apr 4th, 2011 at 4:19pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 4:15pm:
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 4th, 2011 at 4:37pm Quote:
YES It IS Call me a "bigot" ... (as was done, earlier on) But I'll give MY dollar to an AUSTRALIAN company ANY day, over a foreign owned one |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 5th, 2011 at 9:52am
So you would feel confident in saying ...
"Coles has a higher degree of foreign ownership than ALDI ?" - buzz That was not the issue. Certainly there is more Aus ownership of Coles, Aldi is totally owned by a German partnership. But you KEEP saying Coles & WW are 100% Aus owned and that IS NOT true. Just because a company is domiciled in Aus doesn't mean it is owned by Aussies. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 5th, 2011 at 10:03am
And might I add this: I would rather pay my money to a German-owned company which is run efficiently and gives value for my $ than to a so-called Australian company which is run inefficiently and seeks to rip its customers off.
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 5th, 2011 at 10:56am
And just one other point buzz. I think you said something about feeling you were in an eastern bloc emporium or such like. I assume you are referrin g to how Aldi shelves its goods directly in their original cardboard boxes etc.
This is part of their efficiency. Why pay people to take things out of cardboard boxes and stack them on shelves (which may hardly ever be cleaned by the way) when the customers are only too happy to take them out and put them in their trolleys. You the customer is avoiding having to pay the cost & profit margin on the shelf stacking and you can see that you are getting goods straight from deliveries instead of from an unknown shelf life. Makes sense, no? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 5th, 2011 at 1:09pm bogarde73 wrote on Apr 5th, 2011 at 9:52am:
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 5th, 2011 at 1:19pm
Did you read my posts on the top twenty shareholders of Coles & WW?
I'm not doing it again. There is a huge amount of stock in these companies held o'seas because 1 low sovereign risk 2 duopoly market. When you criticise Aldi, remember the jobs are here with the wages & tax, the suppliers are largely here with jobs, profits & tax. Now what about my other post as to their efficiency model. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 11:25am buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 12:16am:
BIGOT |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 11:26am buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 4th, 2011 at 4:37pm:
So a bloke who criticises and damns 'gated communities' and exclusive and elitist, then 4 posts later proclaims proudly that where he is shuts out multi-nationals and anyone "not Australian". I know he's not quite the sharpest tool in the box - but bugger me you couldn't make that up! |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 11:28am
Give Coles their credit, they are offering good dollars in the roles.
They have basically removed all their old top executive as poorly performing and Wesfarmers have brought in all the old UK guys who used to run Asda. I saw a role going for $200,000 + Incentives for a Director of Finance role in one of their arms. Not bad, that's a good $20k above market rate. They must be aiming to get in good people and turn it around. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 11:29am
By the way bogarde you'll bang your head against a wall trying to talk economics to Buzz.
The guy proclaims he and I have the same education levels and start in life, then seems to be utterly hopeless understanding any basic economic argument. I have given up. If he is not told it by a Labor party ad, he doesn't know it. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by muso on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:01pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 3rd, 2011 at 6:00pm:
- and Sainsbury is a bit more upmarket than Asda I always thought. On my last visit I found most things a lot cheaper than in Australia and the incredible range of cheeses had me fascinated. On our visit in May / June this year I imagine it will be even better value for money with the elevated AUD. Looking forward to picking up some bargains at antique fairs too. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:03pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 11:29am:
What a PILE of HORSE-SH!T ! I have made NO such claim Why would ANYONE claim they had ANYTHING in common with YOU ? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:06pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:03pm:
"We don't have foreign companies in our village" Damn those gated communities eh? You fking clown. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:09pm bogarde73 wrote on Apr 5th, 2011 at 10:56am:
I have NO problem with THAT The bulk of the small amount of processed food I consume comes from the SPC/Ardmona bulk warehouse in Ballarat - with a top-up from the local Coles I prefer to stick with reputable brand names |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:16pm
"Ooooooh up here in our commune - we don't have all that sort of stuff. Foreign owned and all that"
Buzzanddidj of Jonestown, VIC. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:17pm
Tell me again about how wrong gated communities are - in light of your recent statements of the closed shop community in which you exist.
At least in La Jolla we are open to all nationalities of stores.... |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:17pm
Well you'll soon have trouble doing that (getting brands I mean) even at Coles & WW.
So you do accept the efficiency in the way Aldi shelves its product? And the fact that the cost saving flows through to the consumer? |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:21pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:17pm:
You don't appear to even have a CLUE - to what a "gated community" IS La Jolla Real Estate has become one of the most expensive areas in the nation, boasting some of the country's most wealthy people. Many of the Forbes 400 richest Americans live in La Jolla. Numerous La Jolla homes are considered luxury estate homes. The landscape of La Jolla real estate today, is shaped by its development with palm-lined streets, large estate homes and gated developments. http://www.lajollabeachproperty.com/ gated community (gtd) n. A subdivision or neighborhood, often surrounded by a barrier, to which entry is restricted to residents and their guests http://www.thefreedictionary.com/gated+community |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:23pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:21pm:
Enlighten us. Three pages back you declared La Jolla as America's largest gated community. I live there so go on tell me how the whole place is a gated community. You seem to live your life looking things up. May explain why you are so divorced from the real world and the pressures ordinary families have in their budget. Either that or you simply don't care. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:25pm bogarde73 wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:17pm:
I find it hard to make a price comparison on a can of SPC pears - and a can pakaged in Chechnya |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:28pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:25pm:
Utterly clueless. Never run a family. Never had children. Never run a family budget. About as in touch with an ordinary family's shopping budget as Julia Gillard - also unmarried and never had children. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:43pm
La Jolla Real Estate has become one of the most expensive areas in the nation, boasting some of the country's most wealthy people. Many of the Forbes 400 richest Americans live in La Jolla. Numerous La Jolla homes are considered luxury estate homes.
The landscape of La Jolla real estate today, is shaped by its development with palm-lined streets, large estate homes and gated developments. http://www.lajollabeachproperty.com/ gated community (gtd) n. A subdivision or neighborhood, often surrounded by a barrier, to which entry is restricted to residents and their guests http://www.thefreedictionary.com/gated+community |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by bogarde73 on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:25pm
I find it hard to make a price comparison on a can of SPC pears - and a can pakaged in Chechnya>
No, come on, I thought we were having a sensible discussion here. I always check the source of products I buy and I have yet to see any Chechnya-sourced products in Aldi. I do see Germany, Italy, Spain, Poland, Thailand but ,ostly I see Australia. You do know that SPC were taken over by National Foods (I had shares) who were in turn taken over by some Filipino mob & again & again. In any event they are not Australian owned any more. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:43pm buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:43pm:
I live in a gated community in La Jolla. La Jolla HAS gated communities. La Jolla is NOT a gated community itself you idiot. By the way, how about your commune clubbing together and keeping out foreign-owned businesses. Hypocrite? Yep, but then again when haven't you been a hypocrite. Criticised me for not paying tax - then admitted you pay very little yourself. Same old Buzz, never changes. |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by thelastnail on Apr 6th, 2011 at 3:22pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:43pm:
why is it gated and what are you trying to keep out ?? Foxes and snakes or just destitute people :( |
Title: Re: Aldi getting rid of phosphates Post by Andrei.Hicks on Apr 6th, 2011 at 5:31pm
La Jolla HAS gated communities.
It is NOT gated community. Look up the difference. Plus you're now disputing you agreed we had the same start in life? So is your education worse or better than mine was???? PS - Bigot and hypocrite too. Tsk tsk, you are going downhill fast these days.... Longweekend seems to have lost any ounce of respect he had for you too.... |