General Discussion >> General Board >> ULP up at 145.9 & Premium at 161.9 !!!
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1298717059

Message started by thelastnail on Feb 26th, 2011 at 8:44pm

Title: ULP up at 145.9 & Premium at 161.9 !!!
Post by thelastnail on Feb 26th, 2011 at 8:44pm
The local BP (British Pollution) servo had ULP at $145.9, and 95 Premium at 156.9 and 98 Premium at 161.9 !!!

any dipsticks still want to argue the merits of electric cars versus fossil fool clunkers ??

maybe when you have to fill up at those prices you'll start to have second thoughts about spending over 100 bucks each time you fill up your old clunker :) LOL

Title: Re: ULP up at 145.9 & Premium at 161.9 !!!
Post by laborfornever on Feb 26th, 2011 at 10:42pm
How much does it cost to power an electric car to get 200Kms???

Today BP at Tugun was 147.9 unleaded and 164.9 premium, I run on LPG which is about 67.9 on The Gold Coast.

I agree that yes petrol is getting too expensive for those on lower incomes, I''d hate to be married with kids paying rent and filling up a car every 4-5 days

How do ppl manage????

Post by cods on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:02am

laborfornever wrote on Feb 26th, 2011 at 10:42pm:

Today BP at Tugun was 147.9 unleaded and 164.9 premium, I run on LPG which is about 67.9 on The Gold Coast.

I agree that yes petrol is getting too expensive for those on lower incomes, I''d hate to be married with kids paying rent and filling up a car every 4-5 days

How do ppl manage????

ask a peron on less than $15000 per year..

trouble is eletricity is coal powered unless they charge electric cars. without using electricity.. havent seen too many electric car power stations going up.. I am sure rusty has.. but shouldnt they be preparing for this evolution of the car industry.

I mean I have this vision of everyone carrying extention cords and I am sure its not like that at all..lol.. gawd I hope not.

as it is us pensioners wont be able to afford either.. and bikes...ummmmmmm I dont think so..lol.. fast wheelchairs maybe.

Post by pansi1951 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:11am

get some mags on that baby and we're off!

Post by imcrookonit on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:18am
Have you paid for the registration, and insurance?.   :)  

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:22am

cods wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:02am:

laborfornever wrote on Feb 26th, 2011 at 10:42pm:

How do ppl manage????

ask a peron on less than $15000 per year..

trouble is eletricity is coal powered unless they charge electric cars. without using electricity.. havent seen too many electric car power stations going up.. I am sure rusty has.. but shouldnt they be preparing for this evolution of the car industry.

I mean I have this vision of everyone carrying extention cords and I am sure its not like that at all..lol.. gawd I hope not.

as it is us pensioners wont be able to afford either.. and bikes...ummmmmmm I dont think so..lol.. fast wheelchairs maybe.

you charge the car up at home when you are a sleep and you don't have to pay anywhere near the ripoff pump prices even with electricity going up in price. Install public charging stations and charge the car up while you at work. Install a rooftop PV solar array in your house and you can bring your total costs down to next to nothing, otherwise keep paying through the nose at pump if that's what you like to do so much.

But where are the electric cars ?? Nowhere to be seen of course :(

This dude can build an EV in his own garage but Holden and Ford can't !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nh8LYhz7W7Q

Post by pansi1951 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:23am

wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:18am:
Have you paid for the registration, and insurance?.   :)  

no rego, no insurance, I'll ride it on the footpath so watch out....try and stop me and I'll poke your eyes out with my walking stick that has a flick knife attached to it.

Post by imcrookonit on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:33am
It sounds a little bit like James Bonds car in Goldfinger.   :)

Post by imcrookonit on Feb 27th, 2011 at 9:37am
Does it come with the Liberal ejector seat?.    ;D

Post by bobbythebat1 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:11am
The Govt. loves petrol.
Look at all the tax they get from petroleum.

Appendix_G_1_002.gif (26 KB | 44 )

Post by Verge on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:13am
My wife uses more petrol than me running errands for our house and both our parents businesses, but gee Im glad a tank of fuel lasts about 6 or so weeks in my car.  Im glad my days of 40,000kms a year a gone as we continue to get raped by petrol prices.

The sooner we start turning our coal into fuel the better.

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:26am

Verge wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:13am:
My wife uses more petrol than me running errands for our house and both our parents businesses, but gee Im glad a tank of fuel lasts about 6 or so weeks in my car.  Im glad my days of 40,000kms a year a gone as we continue to get raped by petrol prices.

The sooner we start turning our coal into fuel the better.

a dirt filthy and inefficient process. it's right up there with steam locomotives :(

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:28am

Bobby. wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:11am:
The Govt. loves petrol.
Look at all the tax they get from petroleum.

it's why they don't want to talk about electric cars because it would shrink their pie considerably ;)

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:43am
WORLDS FASTEST street legal ELECTRIC CAR

fastest street legal ELECTRIC CAR 1972 Datsun 1200 Whtie Zombie. Only about 15% of the energy from the fuel you put in your tank gets used to move your car down the road or run useful accessories, such as air conditioning. The rest of the energy is lost to engine and driveline inefficiencies and idling. Therefore, the potential to improve fuel efficiency with advanced technologies is enormous. With an Electric Car it costs just $1.00 per 100kms with MUCH more performance than with petrol at $20.00 per 100kms.@@@EVs use between 1/6th and 1/10th the energy of a comparable ICE powered car.This car is based in Oregon... there are something like 18 hydro electric power plants in that state!Datsun 1200 EV Specs:Motor - Hi Torque Electric 'Siamese 8' Series Wound DC Dual Armature 8 inchController - Zilla Z2K EHV 2000 AmpBattery - 60x 16 Ah Hawker Enersys 'Genesis' Lead-Acid 360 VoltsFinal Drive ratio - 4.11 : 1Weight - 2,450 Pounds (1,113 Kilograms)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=369h-SEBXd8

Post by bobbythebat1 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:56am
Great video Nail.
Let Longweekend put that in his pipe & smoke it.   ;D

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 11:05am

Bobby. wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:56am:
Great video Nail.
Let Longweekend put that in his pipe & smoke it.   ;D

badweekend couldn't even get into the starting gate :) LOL

Post by muso on Feb 27th, 2011 at 11:28am

Exactly. Maybe in the future.

Of course electric cars will be a long of fun. They have that get up and go that other technology can't offer.

I know that from my hybrid Camry and the Prius I used to drive.  

Post by bobbythebat1 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 11:31am

muso wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 11:28am:

Exactly. Maybe in the future.

Muso - we never will until petrol runs out.
The Govt. makes too much tax out of petrol.
The graph of last years tax take again.

Appendix_G_1_003.gif (26 KB | 39 )

Post by muso on Feb 27th, 2011 at 11:40am
You don't have to tell me that. There are a lot of parties interested in maintaining things as they are.

It was quite funny, but when I still had the Prius, there was a guy at a party talking about his V8. I told him that the Prius would give him a run for his money because of the very high torque at zero revs. He was not convinced until  we decided to put it to the test. He was totally flabbergasted.  

I don't know if the Camry delivers more low end torque than the Prius or not. It has a 2.4 litre ICE engine alone of course, which is great for overtaking. It doesn't have the dead spot that the Prius suffered from at high revs.

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 12:12pm

muso wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 11:40am:
You don't have to tell me that. There are a lot of parties interested in maintaining things as they are.

It was quite funny, but when I still had the Prius, there was a guy at a party talking about his V8. I told him that the Prius would give him a run for his money because of the very high torque at zero revs. He was not convinced until  we decided to put it to the test. He was totally flabbergasted.  

I don't know if the Camry delivers more low end torque than the Prius or not. It has a 2.4 litre ICE engine alone of course, which is great for overtaking. It doesn't have the dead spot that the Prius suffered from at high revs.

But you are still addicted to the pump with this type of hybrid design :(

Is there any reason why Toyota won't build a plugin hybrid like GM is doing in the states ??

There is no reason except for a secret handshake with the Government and the fossil fool corporations :( I believe that Chevron owns the battery IP used in the Prius ;)

Post by bobbythebat1 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 12:24pm
Repeat of my constant reminder to everyone:

We sell gas to the Chinese for 4 cents per litre.
We could have been using only cheap gas for the last 40 years in all our cars.
Instead we chose to import petrol at a cost to our balance of payments.
This is an example of bad governments from both sides of politcis
for a very long time.
Guess what?
It still happens today & will continue untill petrol runs out.
Hopefully we'll still have some gas left by then.

In the meantime maybe electric powered vehicles will take over
run by solar cells which charge the national grid up during the day
& recharge the batteries from the grid by night.

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 2:56pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 12:24pm:
Repeat of my constant reminder to everyone:

We sell gas to the Chinese for 4 cents per litre.
We could have been using only cheap gas for the last 40 years in all our cars.
Instead we chose to import petrol at a cost to our balance of payments.
This is an example of bad governments from both sides of politcis
for a very long time.
Guess what?
It still happens today & will continue untill petrol runs out.
Hopefully we'll still have some gas left by then.

In the meantime maybe electric powered vehicles will take over
run by solar cells which charge the national grid up during the day
& recharge the batteries from the grid by night.

we need a government with technical qualifications and vision. What we don't need is more lawyer spin merchant politicians pissing down our backs with lawyer spin :(

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 3:45pm
ULP around here is 136.9 today....didn't look at the premium price....

And I'll probably fill up at Young tomorrow for about 0.10 cpl less when I go shopping...

Post by adelcrow on Feb 27th, 2011 at 3:58pm
I quite like higher fuel prices, it pegs back the economy and makes people think twice before wasting fuel.
Time to drag out the bicycles, catch public transport and put on the walking shoes.
You will save money and become much healthier  :)
With every petrol price increase the world is a healthier place and what the heck..lower carbon emissions helps the planet breathe easier  :)

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:06pm

adelcrow wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 3:58pm:
I quite like higher fuel prices, it pegs back the economy and makes people think twice before wasting fuel.
Time to drag out the bicycles, catch public transport and put on the walking shoes.
With every petrol price increase the world is a healthier place and what the heck..lower carbon emissions helps the planet breathe easier  :)

Ok Adel....anytime you're prepared to ride a bicycle or walk 180kms (round trip) to see the dentist, doctor or get a CT scan.....I'll cheer you on...

Post by beware on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:13pm

ypur joking aren't you????

the nearest bus stop from my place is 20kms. so I should ride a bike 20kms and than catch the school bus to do my shopping at the closest town which is another 25kms from the bus stop. than I should catch the school bus back to the closest bus stop and than peddle home with my bags.

Well at least JULIAR will get rid of most people over 50 years old....they will be dead all over the sides of the roads beside their push bikes!!!

Post by Verge on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:17pm

Actually the first thing it knocks a whole in is tourism, espically to areas which are not accessible by air, or air for a reasonable price.

The next thing it knocks a hole in is people who have to commute to work.  These people have no option, espically regional people who have little, poor or no public transport.  What does the person living in Tumut and travels to Wagga daily for work supposed to do?

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:18pm
Yes I agree Beware...

I think Adel is one of those sad greenies we used to see in the 80's and 90's.....You know, the ones driving the 15 yr old car (billowing black smoke out the exhaust pipe) with the bumper sticker, saying "Burn fat, not oil.....Ride a bike".....all the while spewing more black smoke than a diesel bus....

It's all very well to talk about 'public transport' and 'walking/riding a bike'....when you live in the middle of a capital city.....but it completel ignores ALL the people who live regionally....

Post by adelcrow on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:23pm
Na Im one of those sad greenies from the 60's  :)
Oh and I drive a desiel Hilux 4wd (mainly for work) and I cycle and I walk and I use public transport  :)

Lets face facts, petrol is a finite, highly polluting fuel and it has a long way to go before it is at a realistic price.
Just because people are used to wasting it does not mean it should always be that way.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:25pm

adelcrow wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:23pm:
Na Im one of those sad greenies from the 60's  :)
Oh and I drive a desiel Hilux 4wd (mainly for work) and I cycle and I walk and I use public transport  :)

Lets face facts, petrol is a finite, highly polluting fuel and it has a long way to go before it is at a realistic price.
Just because people are used to wasting it does not mean it should always be that way.

Good adel....but what do people who live 50-100kms from basic services do for transport, under your idea of a litre of petrol costing as much as a 20pk of cigarettes??????

Post by adelcrow on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:29pm
The Hilux is leased and gets replaced every 12 mths (120,000kms) so it never gets to the billowing smoke stage, well, while I have it anyway  :P
Mmmm..I must get some flower power stickers though  :D

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:32pm
which STILL doesn't answer the question...

Post by adelcrow on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:35pm
20 pack of ciggies? I reckon around $2 a litre should do it for now.
Crikey I was paying around $2 a litre (and more) for fuel in some areas of central oz at christmas.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:43pm

adelcrow wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 4:35pm:
20 pack of ciggies? I reckon around $2 a litre should do it for now.
Crikey I was paying around $2 a litre (and more) for fuel in some areas of central oz at christmas.

Yeah, but do you think that adding $40.00 per ton to the cost of petrol 'won't' take the price above $8 or $10 dollars????

Given that the price is close to $2 a litre NOW???

Post by adelcrow on Feb 27th, 2011 at 5:01pm
Fuel prices will only ever go as high as the economy can stand.
No one is going to crash the economy over a carbon tax and the further it is spread (like the gst) the lesser the burden on individual sectors of the economy.
In my defence I have always said on this forum (and yahoo) that petrol is way to cheap for a finite, dirty, polluting fuel.
One of my passions is, why are we wasting resources like there will never be future generations?
Being in my 50's I see my grandkids and their grandkids as worthy of a clean planet with abundant resourses, as we are, and as our grandparents were.
All this complaining about a few dollars here and there when as far as history goes we are the most economically wealthiest people that ever trod on this planet as selfish and shortsighted.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 5:07pm

adelcrow wrote on Feb 27th, 2011 at 5:01pm:
Fuel prices will only ever go as high as the economy can stand.
No one is going to crash the economy over a carbon tax and the further it is spread (like the gst) the lesser the burden on individual sectors of the economy.
In my defence I have always said on this forum (and yahoo) that petrol is way to cheap for a finite, dirty, polluting fuel.
One of my passions is, why are we wasting resources like there will never be future generations?
Being in my 50's I see my grandkids and their grandkids as worthy of a clean planet with abundant resourses, as we are, and as our grandparents were.
All this complaining about a few dollars here and there when as far as history goes we are the most economically wealthiest people that ever trod on this planet as selfish and shortsighted.

Yeah, right....When I first started work, it cost about 0.60c per litre for petrol...It's more than doubled in 30 years.....just by inflation and the GST....add a Carbon Tax of an equal amount to inflation AND GST...and what will happen???

hint: Doubled AGAIN....

Post by adelcrow on Feb 27th, 2011 at 5:21pm
Crikey when I first started working it was under 10c a litre..a few yrs later Mal Fraser then decided to peg it to the Singapore price to encourage investment in the industry and it almost doubled overnight!
You can imagine all the cries that the world was coming to an end and guess what...things went on as normal  :)

Post by thelastnail on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:11pm

WORLD'S FASTEST ELECTRIC DRAGSTER World record ET for an Electric Car Current Eliminator V 7.956 @ 159.85 MPH. Powered by Altairnano batteries. Record since beaten by Killacycle but still the fastest EV car.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2_ukLgsGEzs&NR=1

Post by bobbythebat1 on Feb 27th, 2011 at 10:33pm
Hi Nail,
Great post - let Longweekend put that in his pipe & smoke that one too.  ;D

Post by bobbythebat1 on Feb 28th, 2011 at 12:21pm
The cat has got Longweekend's tongue.  ;D

Post by life_goes_on on Feb 28th, 2011 at 12:35pm

Yeah, but do you think that adding $40.00 per ton to the cost of petrol 'won't' take the price above $8 or $10 dollars????

$40.00 per ton of what? fuel or emissions?

If it's a ton of petrol then that's around 1350 litres or about $0.03 per litre.

If it's a ton of emissions then it's a tiny fraction of those 3 cents.

So where does the $8 or $10 cost come from?