General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> And This is ONLY NSW http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1293660719 Message started by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:11am |
Title: And This is ONLY NSW Post by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:11am
Does not compute - school laptops stolen or broken Bruce McDougall and Gemma Jones From: The Daily Telegraph December 28, 2010 12:00AM 15 commentsIncrease Text SizeDecrease Text SizePrintEmail Share
Add to DiggAdd to del.icio.usAdd to FacebookAdd to KwoffAdd to MyspaceAdd to NewsvineWhat are these?ALMOST 10,000 warranty claims have been made on public school laptop computers distributed to NSW students and teachers under the Digital Education Revolution. Data provided by the Department of Education and Training also shows 588 laptops were reported lost or stolen by October 26 this year, just 15 months after the laptop rollout began. One student - robbed of his laptop as he walked home from Plumpton High School in November 2009 - was offered counselling. Some schools have had a staggering number of claims: * HENRY Kendall High School in Gosford has sent 109 computers back for repairs; * NEARBY Narara Valley High School has made 78 claims; and * IN Sydney, The Forest High School in Frenchs Forest has had 75 claims while Rooty Hill has had 70. Since the start of the distribution of laptops, almost 130,000 computers have been given to children while about 20,000 have been given to teachers. Start of sidebar. Skip to end of sidebar. .End of sidebar. Return to start of sidebar. A department spokesman said faulty hinges on the 2009 model chosen for students and screen problems with the 2010 model contributed to the claims. "The number of missing laptops is under the expected range of attrition," he said. "A pool of laptops has been provided to ensure there are spare laptops for new enrolments and short-term loans pending repair of broken devices." Another 62,000 computers will be given to Year 9 students next year. Students are required to sign a "user agreement" promising not to misuse or mistreat new laptops and parents must also sign a charter about their child's internet use. The State Government said it planned for up to 13,000 computers being lost or damaged. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:16am
What's the issue
That children are learning on computers? or that less books are being replaced due to loss? |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:22am ____ wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:16am:
BOOKS, BOOKS. You f u c k i n MORON |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:25am
Rather than call names, what is your issue.
Yeah Children lose things ... yeah things get broken. So what is the burning issue here ... explain yourself. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:29am ____ wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:25am:
Explain to you why ? ;D |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:32am FRED. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:29am:
Because there is no sense to this thread. Children and Teachers have been given computers to learn/teach on WOO HOO !!! so where is the politics link? |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by whatsforme on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:35am
so where is the politics link?"
Oh dear and to think we let this p00fsnake come here from NZ. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:37am ____ wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:32am:
It was just an interesting FACT posted for that reason >:( |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:42am FRED. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:37am:
O.k, thanks |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Dnarever on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:32am
et ils vécurent heureusement jusqu'à la fin des temps
And they all lived happily ever after. et ils se marièrent et eurent beaucoup d'enfants. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 30th, 2010 at 12:14pm FRED. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:37am:
I want my 60 seconds backi |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Verge on Dec 30th, 2010 at 12:17pm
13,000 lost or damaged, thats a lot if they were between $1k to $2k each.
$13,000,000 to $26,000,000 down the drain. Oh well, its only money right. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 30th, 2010 at 2:38pm Verge wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 12:17pm:
Gee, wish we had the same outrage from the far right to the waste of tax funds that have/is/will occurred with their illegal/otherwise warmongering invasions. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by gizmo_2655 on Dec 30th, 2010 at 2:45pm ____ wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 2:38pm:
Why?? you can see the results from the money spent in Afghanistan.. Granted you might NOT like the results...but they're there... |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 30th, 2010 at 2:51pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 2:45pm:
So Australians are paying for negotiations for the Taliban to share power with the undemocratic heroin funded government so Al Qadea can move back in ... And Neo Cons don't see this as a waste of tax payers money and Australian Life and Limb? |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Verge on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:42pm ____ wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 2:38pm:
Considering the left also supportered the efforts in Afghanastan, I hope you arent including that. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Greens_Win on Dec 31st, 2010 at 3:32am Verge wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:42pm:
Left of far far right = far right. Labor is as left as my right foot. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by codswal on Dec 31st, 2010 at 7:24am
Another 62,000 computers will be given to Year 9 students next year. Students are required to sign a "user agreement" promising not to misuse or mistreat new laptops and parents must also sign a charter about their child's internet use.
The State Government said it planned for up to 13,000 computers being lost or damaged. talk about a laugh a minute....User Agreement.. from a child.. lol.. now I have heard everything.. kids are out there in the middle of the night stealing cars and they expect these parents to give a sh!t what their kids download on their freebee.. LOL>. its funny to the point of being bizarre. who the hell came up with that enterpriseing piece I wonder.. if by some small smiggin it works.. then maybe they could give the answers to the St Kilda footy club on getting their morons to do what they sign up to do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol now now boys no looking at porn!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Dnarever on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:26am
I worked for a major financial at one time and we had a bit over 2000 laptops in the sydney offices.
The manufacturer of the high profile brand had a repair tech in attendance virtually daily - probably averaged 2 to 3 laptop repairs per day and few related to misues though accidents do occur. Maintenance of these assets is a normal and expected requirement. I would think the school system while a necessary target for laptops is also a higher risk area. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by codswal on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:35am Dnarever wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:26am:
you fail to mention dna.. the high rick of stealing and schools being destroyed.. burnt down, vandalised.. and on and on.much more so than the business sector.. and dont forget anything that is perseved to be FREE, is rarely treated with respect.. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Dnarever on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:43am codswal wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:35am:
What do you think this meant? "the school system while a necessary target for laptops is also a higher risk area". Quote:
Probably explains the corporate failure rate? |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Verge on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:59am Dnarever wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:43am:
The corporate failure rate in Australia is extremly low, so what is your point? |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by nichy on Dec 31st, 2010 at 10:04am
Yeah Children lose things ... yeah things get broken.
So what is the burning issue here ... explain yourself. [quote] I wonder if you would think this way if you had a child and had paid for a laptop and it "just got lost" ? |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:39pm nichy - then, the parent or the child would be responsible for it. one way or another. but when the govt uses my money to buy a laptop for some snotty nosey abbo in outer wabbejabbee who "loses" it ............ then I have lost . |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Dnarever on Dec 31st, 2010 at 10:10pm Verge wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 9:59am:
I was only pointing out the validity of the previous statment. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by beware on Jan 1st, 2011 at 11:34am
My Smartboard projector broke mid 2010.....thanks to the BER 2million dollar COLA....the subcontractor cut the main power supply to the building and hence my projector blew up.
It took 4 months for the new one to be installed.....firstly it had to be reported and than the staff had to follow DET instructions to fix it. After all that failed someone came to look at it and eventually a Dell technician came to fix it......yes it took about 4 months!! |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by vegitamite on Jan 3rd, 2011 at 8:19am FRED. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:11am:
If this is about a big financial concern - then the predicted new Liberal state government will pick up the bill with proceeds from; "...The lung cancer factor. The Liberals are taking money from Big Tobacco whose clear aim is to addict a thousand 13-year-olds a week to this carcinogen with Barry O’Farrell’s assistance (nicer packaging, fewer anti-smoking commercials, more visible cigarettes in corner groceries), and wheezy, pudgy, puffy O’Farrell’s policy of shortening thus the lives of children will be a hard sell against the healthy, bicycling mother of two, Kristina Keneally, and young parents especially will swing their vote to Labor on this alone..." http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/42654.html |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by Katanyavich on Jan 3rd, 2011 at 8:39am codswal wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 7:24am:
Would refuse to sign. I would NOT give schools OR the Govt the right and authority to control what my kids do on the net. Ever. |
Title: Re: And This is ONLY NSW Post by nichy on Jan 3rd, 2011 at 7:20pm wrote on Jan 3rd, 2011 at 8:19am:
Gillard sledges tobacco donations, pockets $2m from pokies giants Ciggies back, but pokie addiction remains Lovely to hear Julia Gillard ripping into the Liberals today for accepting big tobacco donations. This would be the same Julia Gillard who yesterday visited a distribution centre owned by Woolworths, Australia's biggest pokies operator with 12,000 machines. Woolies donated $20,000 to the ALP in 2008-09, but that was just the start of Labor's pokies industry donations. Clubs NSW gave Labor $85,000 in 2008-09 and $203,000 in 2007-08. Then you have the Australian Hotels Association which gave more than $200,000 in 2008-09 alone, not to mention the party's own Canberra Labor Club which handed over more than $1 million in the first two years of the Rudd-Gillard government. Given Australian has the lowest smoking rate in the world and the highest gambling rate in the world, it seems hard to fathom why Labor treats these two “sin industries” so differently when it comes to political donations – Stephen Mayne, independent anti-pokies Senate candidate http://www.maynereport.com/articles/2010/08/03-1057-2600.html |