General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Goverments & CBAs http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1293411030 Message started by riverina.jack on Dec 27th, 2010 at 10:50am |
Title: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 27th, 2010 at 10:50am
Should the Goverment of the day do CBA on ALL their Policies from now on?
If so why should they, if not why not? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Oh_Yeah on Dec 27th, 2010 at 11:14am
If the government of the day had to do a Cost Benefits Analysis on every piece of legislation nothing would ever get done. Plus the cost to the tax payer would be enormous.
The opposition are just playing politics by asking for a CBA and the opposition cheer squad are too stupid to realise this. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by James Bluntus on Dec 27th, 2010 at 11:17am
I went not every government because if the government did a CBA on EVERYTHING, we wouldn't have any Centrelink payments that the Libs complain about and when they receive it, they don't say a thing.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:21pm
You lot are such retards. It seems you understand not the least smidgen of the notion of judging the benefit of a policy or decsion. You embarrass yourself with your stupidity. ROADS get a CBA. It might not be called that but EVERY road has a process involved that weighs up the benefit of the proposed road against the cost. this is called a COST BENEFIT ANALYSIS. CBAs dont just apply to commercial operations. they also apply to any large expense of money. when you buy a new car you generally do an alalysis of the cost vs the benefit.
you are all just embarrassing yourselves by showing how little you know about decision making and in the process revealing how few decisions you ever get to make. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by mozzaok on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:28pm
If you look at who is demanding a Cost Benefit Analysis, you will see only two types, the totally disingenuous, and the totally clueless.
I thought Miss could not get sillier, but then another post shows she can, with her current belief that policy costings and Cost Benefit Analyses are the same thing. The sad thing is that it is only the wackiest extremists that oppose the NBN, and they like to create the impression that their position is representative of a wider community feeling of discontent, when it is not. They are like Global Warming denialists that say that huge numbers of scientists do not agree there is Anthropogenic Climate Change, but never quote the statistical fact that 82% of all scientists surveyed do accept it, and 97% of climatologists accept it, but they will never offer those figures, instead preferring to name individual dissenters and try to imply they spearhead significant numbers of like minded scientists, when they do not. The whole point of a CBA is to give an indication of return on investment for company money, which does not take into account any of the human benefits that we demand our governments to provide us with, so a CBA on it's own is almost completely irrelevant when it comes to government infrastructure spending, and any who fail to recognise that simple fact are totally kidding themselves, I just wish they would stop trying to kid me, because I am not buying that line of BS. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:31pm mozzaok wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:28pm:
Well the actual truth is that you are not buying any line except your own. Any government aiming to beuild such a massive CORPORATION (and it is that) without a CBA is asking for trouble - which is exactly what they will get. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:34pm
EVEN a CBA can articulate non-financial benefits. In fact, if any of you retards had ever seen or read one you will know that a CBA doesnt necessarily have to only list FINANCIAL benefits. If Gillard-the-incompetent had any faith in the NBN shoudl would order a CBA to actually articulate its benefits - financial and otherwise. But the benefits are not there as she claims and never have been.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:42pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:34pm:
It can`t be presented any simpler than that. BTW, the poll is entirely useless and biased. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by mozzaok on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:42pm
Did John Howard have a CBA prepared before pouring 15 billion dollars of taxpayers money in to the super accounts of the wealthiest people in Australia?
Didn't think so. In fact many of the rich who felt they were pressured to invest at a very bad time, because of Howard's policy, are still dirty on that too, because they had to pour their own money in as well to qualify for the government handouts, only to see the GFC make it all go up in smoke, or more literally, disappear into the smoke and mirrors of investment banking. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:47pm mozzaok wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:42pm:
yes he did. there was a proper cost and benefit analysis done as there is in almost ALL major policies and infrastructure developments. and it wasnt juist the rich as you well know. it was ANYONE with money to invest which includes a lot of people. What are you SCARED of a CBA on the NBN for? it calims to be a huge benefit and profitable so why not put it to the test? or is your problem that you recognise that it would probably fail? after all, it is proposing to spend tens of billion sof dollars in giving 85% of the population exactly wha they already have! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by James Bluntus on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:04pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:47pm:
Sorry LW. I have to disagree. The NBN would actually make it cheaper for us on the Central Coast. I can't see why we don't do a CBA. It's 93% of us. Not 85%. Did Howard do a CBA on the war? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:08pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:47pm:
Name one infrastructure project that Howard done that had a CBA done on it. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:10pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:42pm:
Why do you think that poll is entirely useless and biased aussie |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:19pm John S wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:10pm:
Because it only caters for a very narrow view of the subject. Jack, it doesn`t allow for the expression of the views that : A CBA is warranted in some cases. or A CBA is warranted in the case of the NBN. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:20pm James Bluntus wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:04pm:
cheaper for one section of the country is not the basis of supporting it. the 85% I referred to were the 85% of people in cities currently with ADLS2+ for whom the NBN offers nothing in its standard form. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:37pm
We expect you to provide the Howard gov CBA on the super accounts longy, or else you'll just look like a liar, AGAIN.There's a good chappy.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by James Bluntus on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:40pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:20pm:
LW, you can be idiotic sometimes. We have ADSL2+ and in the cities it will be cheaper while it is making speed faster. You have to be blind if you can't see the benefits of it. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:49pm Quote:
The silly old bugger can see it James, its just that its not Abbott party policy ATM,so longy being the good little neo con sheeple that he is must condemn it. Once Abbott gets the ass as leader of the Libs, and the Libs embrace it, so will longy. I'll bet he's the first in his street to have it. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by James Bluntus on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:56pm skippy. wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:49pm:
Time will tell if the sheep will follow their master.... |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by FRED on Dec 27th, 2010 at 2:06pm James Bluntus wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:56pm:
like you follow your daddy |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 3:32pm James Bluntus wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:40pm:
speaking of the blind... CAN YOU READ??? even the NBN claims it wil NOT be cheaper than existing ADSL2+ and its standard speed will be no faster (12Mbs). If you want to debate then at least try and understand the flow of the argument! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 27th, 2010 at 3:50pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 1:19pm:
If you look at the opening thread you would of seen I said ALL goverment policies. Do you think the Goverment should of done a CBA on the $30 pension increase? What about the Iraq war should there been a CBA done? What about Howard and his off shore at Nanu should there been a CBA done on that? The Alice Springs to Dawin Railway line is another one without a CBA Or do you liberals just want pick on the NBN cause some liberal said it should be done. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 27th, 2010 at 4:01pm John S wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 3:50pm:
ur an idiot. of COURSE the pension increase had a CBA. how do u think they know what it would cost and woul dit be affordable? Honestly, do you breathe unaided? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 27th, 2010 at 4:33pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 4:01pm:
The pension increase did not have a CBA done it just had costing done which is completly different. Do you even know the diffence between CBA and Costing. If you don't ask our "GREAT ACCOUNTANT" andrei. Don't forget he went to universty so he knows. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2010 at 4:41pm
Bloody hell!! I just wasted time reading another Thread about this, and neither was worth the effort.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by mozzaok on Dec 27th, 2010 at 4:55pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 12:47pm:
Holy crap, you are a blatant outright freaking liar longy, an absolute lying fraud. You know jackshite about anything, so just make up total bullshite to impress maroons like miss, who could not tell shite from shoe polish if she was eating it. Did Howard do a CBA on the handout to the rich, is what I asked, and you pronounce, "Yes he did". LIAR, FRAUD, and a waste of time. I actually learn stuff here from people with opposing views to my own, but nobody can learn anything from you, because they could not trust a word you say. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 27th, 2010 at 7:41pm
What is the big objection to having a CBA on the NBN? What is the problem?
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Aussie on Dec 27th, 2010 at 8:12pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 7:41pm:
Except to the extent it has Mellie, it will not happen. Now.....bugger orf. :) The NBN will happen. Quote:
Well, buggar me. Moz you know as well most of the Board that this person is mellie. Why you, as a Mod, keep accommodating them is a major mystery to me. :) |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Verge on Dec 27th, 2010 at 8:31pm
This is just any infrstructure project, it is the largest single ticket item ever undertaken in Australian history.
If we can get a CBA done on that, then we dont stand a chance getting one done ever again. We do them at work for any new projects over a certain figure, and any refurbishment of existing infrastructure over a certain figure. And for the record, a CBA isnt just about dollars. If the CBA comes back with ticks for the NBN, I will support it. If a government refuses to do one I will never back it because it looks like a government has something to hide, and that scares me more than anything. This isnt putting up a couple of school halls, its a $43billion investment, how could you consider doing that without a CBA. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 27th, 2010 at 10:15pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 7:41pm:
[quote author=buzzanddidj link=1293112081/75#82 date=1293444224] ALL government infrastucture funding is subject to Treasury costing -NBN included As it WAS And as it SHOULD be NO infrastructure investment should be the subject of any CBA or "return on (said) investment" as is the expectation in the private sector This sets a VERY DANGEROUS PRECEDENT for future investment by governments - "if it doesn't show a projected level of sufficient financial return, don't build it" mentality - applying to public hospitals, roads, rail lines and everything inbetween |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 28th, 2010 at 7:18am
If the taxpayer’s money is being spent by the government, then of course a CBA should be done, only the idiot left would think otherwise. They are sh it scared the cost far outweighs the benefit, and it will be made clear to all.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 28th, 2010 at 7:41am viewpoint wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 7:18am:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/12/27/3102222.htm So if O'Farrell wins the NSW state elections in March will he do a CBA on these infrastructure projects. If he does what benefit will I get out of them. He is spending taxpayers money on them. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 28th, 2010 at 7:43am
Repeat for those who can't read or comprehend:
If the taxpayer’s money is being spent by the government, then of course a CBA should be done, only the idiot left would think otherwise. They are sh it scared the cost far outweighs the benefit, and it will be made clear to all. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:25am viewpoint wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 7:43am:
You can cite a previous example ? Without getting CBA's confused with Treasury costings Or is this new standard being demanded by the 'government in exile' one that should apply to Labor Governments - that Coalition governments, past and future, never were and never should be ? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:36am John S wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 3:50pm:
As you openly admit, the poll is totally useless in this instance, just a pre schooler`s WOFTAM. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:53am John S wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 3:50pm:
Don't you think that the NBN is a big government expenditure? Don't you think that the pension increase is insignificant compared to the NBN? Don't you think that Defence & Border protection are intangible issues? Don't you think that issues that occurred decades ago are not relevant? Don't you think that if the ALP demand CBA's of Liberal policies then the ALP should also undergo such CBAs? Don't you think that if the ALP want to get the green light on this MASSIVE expenditure then they should have a CBA? Don't you think? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:54am viewpoint wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 7:18am:
Not only are the ALP scared of the expense being massive and the benefits being minimal the ALP are also scared that all of the costs would be discovered. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:57am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 7:41pm:
The truth being publicised. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:18am longweekend58 wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 4:01pm:
Can we accept the distinction, here, between a TREASURY COSTING and a COST BENEFIT ANALYSIS ? Some seem to think they are one in the same |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:18am buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:25am:
That is the trouble buzz there is at least 3 on here that thinks that treasury costing is the same as a CBA. Here is a example of the diffence between costing and CBA for those that don't know. I make it simple so 3 of you can understand it. 2 people want to buy a car. The first guy want a Commodore so he goes to all the Holden dealerships and get the best price for his car and buys it. That would be class as costing. The second guy doesn't care what type of car he gets. He knows roughly what kind of car he wants so he goes to all different dealerships and gets prices for the type of car he wants. That would be class as the cost. He goes home and weights up all the benefit he can get out of each different cars he has look at. That would be class as the benefit. Then he would see which one would have the best resale value when he wants to sell it. That would be class as analysis. The first guy brought his car on costing the second guy done a cost benefit analysis before he brought his car. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:36am
After the massive rorts that have already been uncovered from the ALP policies (eg BER, pink batts) then EVERY policy from the ALP MUST now undergo a CBA.
Only stupid fools would allow the ALP to spend without a CBA, and that would include just running acrosss to the corner milk bar to get the milk, bread & newspaper. No one trusts the ALP anymore, this is why the CBA is a mandatory requirement. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:07am Aussie wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 8:12pm:
LOL Aussie, she uses proxies, probably hidemyfatass. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by James Bluntus on Dec 28th, 2010 at 12:28pm FRED. wrote on Dec 27th, 2010 at 2:06pm:
What.... and you don't?? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by FRED on Dec 28th, 2010 at 12:35pm James Bluntus wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 12:28pm:
Sorry son back to maccas for you |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by James Bluntus on Dec 28th, 2010 at 12:39pm FRED. wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 12:35pm:
Nah, I'm sure you would feel more at home doing the hard work for a change. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 28th, 2010 at 2:47pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:57am:
Looks that way. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 2:56pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:25am:
do u honestly think the only consideration in any infrastructure project is accurate costing by treasury?? are you seriously that naive/dumb/stupid? EVERY large infrastructure project has to justify itself. there isnt enough mponey for everything to be approved so only the ones with the greatest need/benefit/effectiveness get approved. and then there's the NBN... |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 3:05pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 2:56pm:
Today's logic award winner goes to longweekend. Congratulations longy. :) award_mensa.gif (22 KB | 32
) |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 28th, 2010 at 4:38pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 2:56pm:
That is NOT a Cost Benefit Analysis It's NOT even CLOSE A CBA is a VERY structured, audit process of costing and business plan And the reality is VERY little infrastructure would meet a CBA commercial viability standard Nor should it HAVE to |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 5:52pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 4:38pm:
Of course not because an Analysis of the plan to build a road works out the Costs and the Benefits - CBA. Have you ever had a job that required any independant thought? CBAs are done all the time and nthe bigger the project the bigger and more important the CBA is. and of COURSE infrastructure meets a CBA standard you uninformed moron. do u see any mention of PROFIT in the words COST/BENEFIT ANALYSIS, hmm? Profit CAN be a benefit in a CBA but it it not an essential element. Benefits for infrastructure that have no income of course do not include profit. serious, you should get out more. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 28th, 2010 at 6:28pm Quote:
Not on national infrastucture CBA's were unheard in the government realm till the opposition attempted to "demand" one on the NBN Quote:
(note the resort to personal abuse when ALL else fails) |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:37pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 6:28pm:
(note the resort to personal abuse when ALL else fails) [/quote] as usual VERY wrong. CBAs are part and parcel of ALL major infrastructure. no govt is ever going to agree to a massive spend on a rod or a bridge or a hospital without some analysis of the costs and the benefits. Honestly, Buzz are you REALLY that silly that you cant see that a CBA is a little more than just a profit and loss statement? I dont value your opinion that much but i never really thought you were a fool. but Im starting to wonder whether Ive granted you more than you deserve. What exactly do you think forms the decision making process in building a road or hospital? It isnt Sim City. People actually need to define the costs and benefits. and in a COMMERCIAL operation, operating expenses and income is one of the benefits that needs to be quantified. Im not going to say it again. If you fail to see that a CBA doesnt apply in much of govt decision making then I wil just put u inthe same box i place people like Green_loses: the place of fools. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:25pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 6:28pm:
Worryingly, I think he is serious. I genuinely think the guy would want to go ahead with a national project with no cost-benefit analysis and no payback return.... Still, pretty easy when somebody else is footing the bill I suppose. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Equitist on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:30pm If CBAs are so routine and crucial for public infrastructure projects in Australia, then why is it that there appears to be no legislated protocol for undertaking and publishing them on a bipartisan basis - and scant evidence of CBAs being done as a matter of course in the past!? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:36pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:37pm:
as usual VERY wrong. CBAs are part and parcel of ALL major infrastructure. no govt is ever going to agree to a massive spend on a rod or a bridge or a hospital without some analysis of the costs and the benefits. Honestly, Buzz are you REALLY that silly that you cant see that a CBA is a little more than just a profit and loss statement? I dont value your opinion that much but i never really thought you were a fool. but Im starting to wonder whether Ive granted you more than you deserve. What exactly do you think forms the decision making process in building a road or hospital? It isnt Sim City. People actually need to define the costs and benefits. and in a COMMERCIAL operation, operating expenses and income is one of the benefits that needs to be quantified. Im not going to say it again. If you fail to see that a CBA doesnt apply in much of govt decision making then I wil just put u inthe same box i place people like Green_loses: the place of fools.[/quote] longy name one policy or infrastructure that has had a cost benefit analysis that any federal or state goverment has ever done. They might have done a cost benefit but not a cost benefit analysis. I bet my bottom dollar that O'Farrell won't do any cost benefit analysis on any infrastructure he starts if he come Premier of NSW. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:38pm
If people want to shoot for this pie-in-the-sky social equality and social advancement and 'good of the people' bollox then let it pass a CBA.
Because if it doesn't and you lead policy based on social goals only - well, ladies and gentlemen, you have the Soviet Union, which went bankrupt. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:42pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:38pm:
And, then you will get the Julia Gillard outburst demanding that her policy pass through both houses, unchallenged, unquestioned and done immediately. Yes, the Kremlin will be recruiting Julia very very soon. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:53pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:38pm:
The USA has gone bankrupt under a Republican goverment if they haven't why are they printing more money. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:55pm John S wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:53pm:
LOL |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by life_goes_on on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:01pm
A CBA has probably been done on every single govt infrastructure project.
That's if you consider a CBA to be somebody getting an idea, doing a bit of research then kicking that idea around a meeting full of pollies and public servants supplied with lashings of assorted sandwiches and muffins. But if you're thinking of a CBA as something more formal and extensive, then forget it. At best you'll get a funding proposal which is little better than a prettily bound and colourfully illustrated advertising brochure. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:04pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 8:37pm:
as usual VERY wrong. CBAs are part and parcel of ALL major infrastructure. no govt is ever going to agree to a massive spend on a rod or a bridge or a hospital without some analysis of the costs and the benefits. Honestly, Buzz are you REALLY that silly that you cant see that a CBA is a little more than just a profit and loss statement? I dont value your opinion that much but i never really thought you were a fool. [/quote] I never thought YOU were, either A P&L is a record on past business, not a projection or prediction for the future |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:10pm John S wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:36pm:
longy name one policy or infrastructure that has had a cost benefit analysis that any federal or state goverment has ever done. They might have done a cost benefit but not a cost benefit analysis. I bet my bottom dollar that O'Farrell won't do any cost benefit analysis on any infrastructure he starts if he come Premier of NSW.[/quote] 'cost benefit' vs 'cost benefit analysis'?? how do u think the two differ? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:12pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:04pm:
I never thought YOU were, either A P&L is a record on past business, not a projection or prediction for the future [/quote] profit and loss PROJECTION was what I meant to say. and still u maintain that govt infrastruture is built without any analysis as to what it wil cost and what its benefits are. Truly, you are remarkable. Stupid and stubborn yet REMARKABLY so. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:13pm Equitist wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 9:30pm:
I don't expect Longweekend, Andrei_Hicks or the "political blonde" to be jumping in too fast on THAT challenge |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:27pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:10pm:
'cost benefit' vs 'cost benefit analysis'?? how do u think the two differ?[/quote] Look at this exmple Quote:
Now if three guys brought a car and the third guy did what the second guy did but didn't worry about the resale value. That would be a cost benefit. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:30pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:13pm:
Im sure you think you are smart Buzz, but be assured that the more you try and maintain this fiction that govts never do analysis on the costs and benfits of infrastructure projectsm the more posters like me wil hold you in utter contempt. I dont expect you to agree with me on politics or policy. I dont expect us to have much common ground on pretty much anything But I had hoped that intelligence and logic and the like might be the narrow thread we shared. You seem to think that government is like sim city where you build a bridge or a road or a hospital because it 'looks nice'. Yet I cant beleive you are actually that stupid despite your ever-present attempts to do just that. As we've seen with your truly embarrassing and desperate attempts to smear the new Lib govt, it appears you have had to choose between your party and your personal integrity. And you chose wrong. the party is all that matters. You are clearly an intelligent person and unlike Green -who is obviously dumber than snot - you have no excuse to behave in the blatantly and obviously partisan manner you have been. It would be partisan to say the NBN doesnt need a CBA and to toe the party line you clearly love so much. I could accept that. To say that CBAs are never done merely puts you in with the rest of the idiots and morons who infest this place. Welcome to the irrelevance you asked for. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:35pm John S wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:27pm:
Look at this exmple Quote:
Now if three guys brought a car and the third guy did what the second guy did but didn't worry about the resale value. That would be a cost benefit.[/quote] look at the english you uneducated MORON. CBA is actually Cost/Benefit Analysis. Cost and Benefit are two columns of a spreadsheet that are LINKED by the analysis. without the analysis cost and benefit are pointless. Oh why do I bother, you and Buzz can join Green-goober is the dumber-than-snot bucket. Honestly, if someone asked you if 1+1=2 You'd have to consult the ALPs policy platform to decide. It makes me wonder if any of you have ever had a job anywhere higher than BOTTOM of the pile where no decisions and no thinking are involved. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:38pm
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:45pm John S wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:27pm:
Look at this exmple Quote:
Now if three guys brought a car and the third guy did what the second guy did but didn't worry about the resale value. That would be a cost benefit.[/quote] Amazing! This helps to explain how one can bring one`s self to vote for the the ALP, or the "party for daydreams & decor". |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Equitist on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:51pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:30pm:
Due credit to Longy, for jumping in - blubber 'n' all! It's a shame that his half-baked deflection wasn't up to the challenge, tho'... |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:55pm
longy I ask in another thread that was started by sprintcyclist that is about 7 pages and I ask a heaps of times
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1293112081/0 What goverment has ever done a CBA? Now you are so bloody smart answer that or are you an idiot and you can't answer. None of you liberals can answer a simple question. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:58pm
With the greatest respect Jack, you're as thick as two short planks sideways.
It'd be like trying to explain advanced algebra to a monkey. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 12:37am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:58pm:
so andrei tell me what wrong with my example of CBA |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 6:49am
Exerpt ...
The NBN was costed, and it seems to be either $43b or $27b depending on your accountant, but she can hardly complain that it wasn’t costed. Tony Abbott must have said $43b a hundred times, and The Australian surely reported it, at least every other paper did. However no cost-benefit analysis was done, which is what she might be talking about, but that is also true of every other government and opposition policy. Quote:
http://www.crikey.com.au/2010/09/13/the-australians-election-coverage/ If ANYONE can find evidence to DISPUTE the claim in this quote, I'd be prepared to listen Otherwise, might I suggest a new strategy in trashing a National Broadband Network, new technology - and the Government's determination to deliver on 2007 and 2010 election policy (Admittedly, finding a major infrastructure project started by the Howard Government may be quite a chore in itself) |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 7:22am
LW you can’t teach a pig to play the piano…….
Be careful, they're shouting again and the colouring book is out. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:20am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 28th, 2010 at 10:58pm:
My monies on the monkey. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by codswal on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:20am viewpoint wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 7:22am:
dont forget the c& p.. ha.ha.. what are those little wires called that they put across the roads from time to time.. sometimes only on one way traffic lanes.. costing. benefit. or analysis. or maybe just for the hell of it and keeping someone in a job. I find this topic somewhat irrelevant.. it wouldnt matter how much was spent on CBA.. it wouldnt make any difference to the outcome to the tax payer..they would still get stuck with paying for white-elephants. stop start tunnels to nowhere.CBDs that never get off the plans. yet all manage to cost fortunes.. that would be better spent on hospitals.or even police stations..instead they close them to pay for white-elephants.. andddddddddddddddddddddd. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:23am buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 6:49am:
Well ... THAT was certainly a "conversation stopper" |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by codswal on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:37am
(Admittedly, finding a major infrastructure project started by the Howard Government may be quite a chore in itself
paying off a bloody HUGE DEBT... was a CHORE they were pretty proud of. and by golly I bet the rudd/gillard mob were glad they did..not that they have ever said so!!... but just think what crap we would be in if the Libs hadnt bothered and just added to the bloody HUGE DEBT instead. and built monuments to nowhere.or green loans. plaques on schools. or waste watch oopp.. grocery watch .fuel watch NBN watch. hospital watch. ETS watch,... so much they could have spent our hard earned money on.. silly billies. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:43am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:20am:
You think a CBA is the same as Treasury costing so you must be the monkey. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:49am buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:23am:
Buzz it is no good arguing with LW he won't admitted that he is wrong. You beat him on Yahoo with a argument and he still didn't admitt he was wrong. Look back at the last two and half pages he is the only one saying there should be a CBA done on the NBN. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:53am codswal wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:37am:
That "huge debt" was FAR less than the revenue raised by the sale of Australia's airports, gold reserves and national telco But BACK "on topic" ... Where is the evidence of ANY Howard Government policy being held accountable by a Cost Benefit Analysis ? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:01am
and the shrill little 'girl' continues to trumpet her complete lack of knowledge on how major decisions are made in govt.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:14am longweekend58 wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:01am:
No goverment has ever done a CBA on any policy, infrastructure or project. They have done costing which is completing different to CBAs. Can't you get that through you thick head. If you think they have done a CBA lets see it don't keep us in the dark. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:18am longweekend58 wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:01am:
You can come on with all the gay jibes you LIKE, as an attempt at diversion It ALL washes over me And it DOESN'T answer the question ...i Quote:
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:21am John S wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:49am:
Indeed ! It's all a bit "deja vu" |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:29am buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:18am:
Where is the gay jibe? Just a tad precious aren't we? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:34am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:29am:
And the English bigot can't answer the question EITHER |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 11:34am buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:34am:
He can't tell me what's wrong with my example of CBA. He must be a "GREAT ACCOUNTANT" then buzz ever notice the pommy bigot has never said what university he went to. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 11:37am
You never asked.
The University of Durham in the UK. What the bugger has that got to do with anything? It's pretty obvious you are as thick as mince though. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 11:50am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 11:37am:
"Our Business, Marketing, Accounting and Finance programmes are based at Queen's Campus" http://www.dur.ac.uk/dbs/degrees/undergrad/business/ HA ...HAAAH ! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 29th, 2010 at 12:04pm John S wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:43am:
Knew the monkey was a better bet than Jack. Matter of fact the two short planks are as well. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 29th, 2010 at 12:08pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:01am:
Don't worry he's also wondering why we weren't using metric in the 1960s! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 12:27pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 11:50am:
Buzz you are an idiot......a bent one at that! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 12:55pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 11:50am:
We have a Queen in England you know. In fact she's the same head of state for both of us - by choice of the people too. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 1:04pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 12:55pm:
Don't mean we have to like her |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 1:13pm
Now I'm sure she'd lose sleep over that!
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:20pm
The point I`d like to make is. Whether CBA`s have been done before or not is totally irrelevant, and to harp on about prior Government projects in this vein is nothing more than declared stupidity. The use of this "tactic" in debate is exactly equal to declaring that one is too stupid to continue the debate, and needs to stall all inteligent discourse.
To request a CBA ofr a project of the magnitude of the proposed MBN is reasonable and sensible. To oppose a CBA on this project is an admission of shonky practice. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:34pm Quote:
Well, at least SOMEONE'S prepared to admit it The double standard practice of the Abbott Liberals is it's "demand" (funny term, when you're in no position to) a whole new standard and hurdle to a Government it never applied to itself - and never willi |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:43pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:34pm:
WTF are you on about Buzz? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:58pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:43pm:
That CBA's have NEVER applied to government infrastructure projects - before Turnbull had this brainwave of a delaying tactic First "demand" was the Treasury costings ... DONE Second "demand" was the Business Plan ... DONE Then they pulled THIS one - to stall things a little further - try and scuttle it - all so they could use "Labor's failed broadband" along with such cliches as "great big new tax" ENOUGH was ENOUGH |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:00pm
Why on earth would you spend money on a national project that wasn't going to make you any return?
The economic reasoning of a project is the number one driver, always. I really couldn't care less for social factors. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:04pm
I also have no intention of showing any kind of support to this broadband plan.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:07pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:00pm:
That's probably why you never fitted into Australia We're more "socially orientated" than South African and British cultures |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:09pm
Yeah I saw that in Cronulla in 2005.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:11pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:04pm:
Oh that means sooooooooo much. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:15pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:09pm:
I don't class Alan Jones and his rabble of devotees as being mainstream Australian society |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:18pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:15pm:
That was quite a lot of people to be dismissed as 'just a rabble of devotees'. Then of course there are the numerous race attacks in Melbourne on Indians. The ethnic gang violence from the Chinese in the city. Yep, it's just a hotbed of 'social awareness' down there eh? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by codswal on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:19pm
hands up anyone that has actually worked in govt costings dept.even treasury will do. because its stupid to think you know how govts work if you havent... btw andrei did you hear the Poms won the cricket>LOL
that will upset the righteous! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:21pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:18pm:
I find its the poms and those white South Afrikans who cant hold their piss that course the most trouble . |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:25pm skippy. wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:21pm:
Ah the Cultural Cringe rears its ugly head again…… a terrible affliction to feel inferior………..lol Never mind, feel content in the fact that you are...... ;D |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:31pm viewpoint wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:25pm:
I didn't think your head was that ugly ,biased view. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:33pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:09pm:
What did the Prime Minister of the day, do or say at the time of the riots SFA That how racist he is |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:33pm
Surely you can improve on that..... ;D
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:35pm viewpoint wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:33pm:
Well you didn't give me much to work on to begin with,spermy. ::) |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:37pm
;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:39pm
In Britain we learn French at 11 and German at 12. We also travel outside our own country from an early age.
Aussies do neither. By teenage years, everyone my mother knew could speak two languages fluently Afikaans and English and also had a considerable appreciation of the differing cultures that made up the country. Namely British and Afrikaner. You can say a few things about the differences between Australia and the two nations you mentioned - more culturally advanced are not two. PS - as regards holding drinking. It isn't us that serves beer in milk beaker sizes instead of pints. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:44pm Quote:
Wow, yea well I'll leave that to you, jungle jim, I'm not into French from blokes. Not that there's anything wrong with that. :P |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by unbiased_view on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:45pm
Being a country lass, you probably enjoy pigs.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:47pm viewpoint wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:45pm:
I think he'd prefer boers. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:49pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:39pm:
While I am not going to suggest skippy is correct in his opinion that Aussies are more culturally aware than the Brits and South Africans, I will say that Australia has not had a national curriculum but the MAJORITY of our public schools make it compulsory to learn a language, be it Koren, Japanese, German, French, etc in Year 7 and 8. You can then continue in Years 9 and 10, 11 and 12. As for travelling, Aussies travel just as much as the rest of the western world and your assertion is incorrect. As for us being more culturally advanced...debatable. Do we have less crime per capita than England and the US? Yes. Have we become more acceptive of multiculturalism? With the debate around refugees AND the past issues such as the muslim mosque, cronulla, etc, probably not. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:53pm Quote:
Skippy didn't say that, only a pompous ass would assert his heritage was more cultured than another, Hi Andrei. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 29th, 2010 at 4:02pm
notice how the Liberals turn the debate around when they can't answer the question or they are losing the debate.
So I will ask again |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 29th, 2010 at 4:08pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 3:39pm:
must all your references refer to your mother or father? dont you have any unrelated friends? and visiting other countries is a tad easier when you can literally SWIM to them and a plane flight is under an hour. And if Europe is so 'advanced' how come it is bankrupt from coast to coast while we are not? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 29th, 2010 at 4:10pm John S wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 4:02pm:
EVERY SINGLE ONE HAS - labor and liberal. the problem is you have absolutely no idea of cost benefit analysis or even what it is. everytime you repeat this rubbish you look stupider and stupider. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 29th, 2010 at 5:46pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 4:10pm:
BULLSHIT ! They do TREASURY COSTINGS That's IT Do you think all the "pork barrelling" that goes on before elections (by ALL parties) is run by any CBA ? For Christ's sake - they throw in freeways 10 minutes before the booths open If this were the case, there would be evidence in Hansard - or Senate inquiries transcripts i |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:17pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 2:20pm:
exactly. Especially given the ALP's pathetic history in the last 3 years of shonkiness and rorts. Together with the ALP's massive over spending (eg BER, pink batts) Only a complete twit would give Julia Gillard's NBN the green light without a CBA. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:18pm
Soooo, what is to fear so much from a CBA?
The truth? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by codswal on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:31pm
tell you one govt that wouldnt have ever done a CBA NSW Labor Govt..
they are now digging up the Victoria Road in Sydney only one of the main arteries.for the second time because the first time they didnt lay the correct heavy duty bitumen so it all get done over again...lol.. typical Labor everything gets done twice... only another $1million dollars to be spent as well as instead of six lanes only two for weeks on end..btw Keanelly says it was all costed in they new the first road they resealed wouldnt hold the skips that they use to move the concrete blocks they use to open up and divide the lanes..lol.. how she can stand there and say this stuff is amazing. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by life_goes_on on Dec 29th, 2010 at 9:15pm Quote:
I'll agree with that for most cases. BUt neither did the previous NSW State Govt - again in most cases. I saw them spend tens of millions on education infrastructure which started off as lobbying by one particular group within a department and progressed with nothing more than rough costings and an effective sales pitch followed by a collective nodding of heads. The end result was a bunch of big new buildings (all of whom have been put to excellent use ever since), lots of new equipment and a photoi op for the premier at the time. But was any kind of unbiased or detailed CBA done? no. But in your example, a cost benefit analysis wouldn't have made any difference. The fault with that is with the acceptance of an improperly spec'd out project. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:03am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 29th, 2010 at 8:17pm:
Let's pretend the CBA was done. Considering how subjective CBA's actually are, what would it need to say for you to get over it and accept this is a good project? And the whole point as to why the question of other CBAs performed by other governments has been arked on so much about was because Miss Anne decided she would point out all other governments did one, without offering a source. Then she hid. Bravo. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:05am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:03am:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:07am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:05am:
got nothing I see? Now there is a great "tactic" |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:11am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:07am:
I'd be interested to know if you even know how a CBA is conducted. Please, oh please, do tell us. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:13am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:03am:
LOL Let's play pretendies huh. LOL Oh nice new nick too there greeny LOL |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:16am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:13am:
Darling, check my profile to see just how new my nick is. And not pretendies... let's hypothesise because I am really curious as to what you'd like to see in the CBA to give you rest of mind that this is a good project. You continue to harp on about it. Surely you're not just singing the liberal tune here? Surely you want a CBA because you want some specific issues being played around in your mind resolved? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:26am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:07am:
I think it`s fair to reply to nothing with nothing. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:28am
the Federal Goverment gave $1 million to Queesland flood appeal yesterday.
All you liberals are saying that all goverment project has had a CBA done. I wonder if this one did as well? ;D |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:29am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:26am:
Didn't realise we were in 5th grade ;) I hope that 2011 brings you a little growth and enables you to express your own opinions rather than follow Abbott like a little white sheep. Perhaps he'll release a statement with what he wants to see in a CBA, and then you'll have yourself something to say. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:30am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:16am:
Awww so you got found out there with your new nick. Never mind, you can always go back to playing pretendies. Like pretend that no one found you out. LOL |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:31am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:29am:
5th Grade? Or as Australians say, grade 5. Most children have grown out of "pretendies" games by grade 5. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:33am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:31am:
Hence I ask you if you are in 5th grade. Are you? Or have I gone too high in my guess? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:34am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:30am:
So, do you have an answer yet? Or are you going to hide again until someone comes up with an opinion for you? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:35am John S wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:28am:
Are you suggesting that donations should be analysed? Do you understand what a donation is? Do you understand what flood relief is? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:36am
goldfish doesn't give answers to questions which show up her lack of understanding.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:37am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:31am:
It really is a sad pathetic loser who has to create a new nick to support their own opinion. I wonder if pretendy boy also has invisible friends. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:37am skippy. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:36am:
She should just hide then. Perhaps we should buy her a nice rock as a late christmas present :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:38am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:37am:
Hey BTW, what would you like to see in the CBA that will put your mind at ease in regard to the NBN? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:40am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:35am:
Do YOU know what a donation is? Do YOU know what flood relief is? Do YOU know what a CBA is? Do YOU know what 5x5 is? Ooh..let's try something easier: Do YOU know what 1x5 is? PS: Donations and the amount of donation are analysed. Not a CBA, but an analysis to determine how much. Der. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:48am
Would one of you neo cons post up a CBA, from either party.
goldfish is very confused,so whats new, with a COST BENIFIT ANALYSIS and party policies which are always put up for analysis. We all remember the Liberal party policy costings from the last election, it is the main reason they are not in gov today, the independents could not support something that was out by so many billions of dollars. But that was not a CBA, goldfish, post up a CBA, mel lies,then you wont look like such a lying sock. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:52am skippy. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:48am:
Think she is still googling what a CBA actually is. Or what 5x1 is. Might take a while... |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:53am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:35am:
All the liberals are saying that any money the goverment spends is subject to a CBA not matter what. Someone said that the $30 that the pensioners got had a CBA done. So was a CBA done on the $1 million? Just a simple yes or no will do. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:55am John S wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:53am:
So you don't understand what a donation is. And you don't understand what flood relief is. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:59am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:55am:
Think someone's gone a little loopy :'( |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:03am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 8:55am:
I know what a donation is. I know what flood relief is. I am not knocking it I think the goverment should of gave more You liberals are saying when the goverment spends and money anywhere it should have a CBA done. Like I said one of you liberals said that there was a CBA done on the $30 increase the penisoners got. So was there a CBA done on the $1 million donation then? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:08am
"So was there a CBA done on the $1 milloin donation then?"
Can you spot a differance between $1 "milloin" and 43 billion? Or is it all the same to you if it`s not your money? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:14am John S wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:03am:
It looks like you don't know what a donation is, nor what flood relief is. As if you did you would not be even asking such a question. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:15am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:08am:
The Liberals cheer squad are saying there should be a CBA done on any taxpayers money the goverment spends. I just pointing out how stupid you all look by saying it. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:15am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:08am:
... and if the government gave away $1,000,000 over and over again, 43,000 times? Is that ok then? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:18am
When i spend $80,000 on a car i do an effective CBA - at least in my head or on paper.
when i spend $5 on a burger i dont give it a second thought. SCALE does affect things. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:20am
"when i spend $5 on a burger i dont give it a second thought."
I do if there`s much onion involved, & pending board meetings. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:22am aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:20am:
given that i have high cholesterol i give it a LOT of thought. it was illustrative however! LOL |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:22am Quote:
Well we know you dont know what a CBA is, goldfish, otherwise you wouldn't be writing such sh it. Post up a CBA, goldfish, go on, I dare you. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:23am longweekend58 wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:18am:
You spend $80,000 on a car? OMG...you're not one of those 65 year old mid-life crisis 30km/hr Mercedes drivers are you? Help. I'm happy you mentioned that you do a CBA in your head or on paper. I'm sure most of us do the same thing: where we can appreciate in our heads the benefits of new infrastructure, especially when it has to do with technology. Like you said, not all CBA's should be done on paper, and some are just common sense. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by skippy. on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:26am Quote:
LOL, while the age may be close, he is much more likely to drive a second hand Hyundai. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by mozzaok on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:55am
The major point of contention in this thread is about what actually constitutes a CBA?
As many here have already said, a treasury costing is not a CBA, and nor are policy costings commissioned by a private accounting firm, which was the method of accountability chosen by the coalition, prior to the last election, which proved to be unacceptable to all but the die hard coalition supporters, who never honestly question any policy or action that emanates from the side of politics that they support. The opposition failed to get a CBA provided by the Productivity commission, and at the time the head of the consumer watchdog, the ACCC made this comment, "What happens is you have a cost-benefit analysis done by whoever it might be, but then someone says 'yes, but we don't agree with that assumption', and therefore that makes that cost-benefit analysis somewhat worthless." So, that undoubtedly being the case, one has to ask just what benefits do opponents of the NBN expect to arise from spending even more money on a report that would for all intents and purpose, be pretty useless? If you were going to do any enquiry into the NBN, you would want a SROI, (Social Return On Investment), because the NBN is not a strictly commercial enterprise, but rather a National Infrastructure project that has goals outside of merely providing the highest financial return on investment. Now the plain truth is that nobody knows what all the benefits that may emerge from having a truly National High Speed Internet Network, will be, as none of us have crystal balls. The benefits for both Health and Education are areas where benefits have been speculated upon, and the ability for those benefits to be shared by people in communities where no "Commercially" only viable internet network would ever get off the ground. That is why the government decided to undertake the NBN project in the way they have, so that these people do not get overlooked and ignored, as being commercially unworthy to be included in our National Network, and that is why the only benefit to come from imposing guidelines derived solely on financial returns, would be to continue to exclude these people from being able to access high speed broadband. That is all this whole debate is really over, whether it is wrong for a government to spend money to ensure that people outside of high density urban environments, should also have the chance to access modern communication services? I think they should, so support the NBN, and I think that those who oppose it should at least be upfront and admit that their attitude is "bugger the bush", and openly announce their opposition to all government subsidised services, including health, and education, and promote their user pays philosophy for every aspect of society, because that appears to be the only argument they uniformly support. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 30th, 2010 at 10:21am Quote:
It's a bit like a movie review It just takes a lot longer to write - and costs a lot more And "thumbs up" ... Or "thumbs down" ... It REALLY depends on the reviewer |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 30th, 2010 at 10:27am
What about a Cost Benefit Analysis on importing petrol instead of using gas?
I don't know of any Aussie Govt. that has ever done one. Why do we use petrol & then sell gas to the Chinese for 4 cents per litre? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:14am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:23am:
hardly... a 46yo (when i got my FPV-GT) and i am the other end of the 30km/hr brigade. when u r spending $43B... doing a CBA in ur head is unacceptable. plus when i am spending $80,000 on a car i am spening my money, and my money alone. if i was spending my company's money - ie not ALL my own money - a proper CBA woudl be done. and in this case the car would not be bought. How you can compare $80K and $43B is beyond me! |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by riverina.jack on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:23am longweekend58 wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:14am:
longweekend58 wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:15am:
What do you mean both both of these is it your $43 billion or not |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Equitist on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:34am Bobby. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 10:27am:
Good question - and there are so many other things done and/or supported by our Govts (at all levels) that ought to be scrutinised by mandatory CBAs... With most of the States expected to become Lib/Nat Govts, we should be demanding that their party will ensure that they urgently pass State legislation for: the production and publication of standardised mandatory CBAs for all infrastructure and budget measures - before passing any legislation for any new or increased expenditures, incentives and tax deductions, concessions, offsets, rebates, etc.! Heck, they will also be in a position to ensure that all existing budget items (including incentives and tax deductions, concessions, offsets, rebates, etc.) pass the CBA test. Meantime, the Federal Libs are in a position now, to introduce a private members bill to do the same at the Federal level! So, why haven't we seen the Libs/Nats' draft Federal legislation on Mandatory CBAs yet!? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:44am Equitist wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:34am:
I havent seen one from the soft c o c k greens either |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Equitist on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:49am FRED. wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:44am:
LOL...the petty flock of squawking Libs have paved the way for such legislation to be introduced by the Greens or one of several Independents - but will the Libs support same when the time inevitably comes!? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by FRED on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:54am Equitist wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:49am:
More pissing in the wind from you ;D |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 30th, 2010 at 12:01pm mozzaok wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 9:55am:
Very well put |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 30th, 2010 at 1:12pm
There would be no objection to a CBA, if there`s nothing to hide?
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 30th, 2010 at 1:50pm longweekend58 wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 11:14am:
because money's worth is relative. For me, $80,000 is is 1.14 my income. It's a LOT of money for me. For a government, $37,400,000,000 is 0.17 their annual revenue (taking 05/06 listing from a quick google search). Now..I'm not 100% sure but it isn't a one lump sum. If we are to spread it over the lifetime of the project... 4.16 billion per year over 9 years. Hence it's 0.02 of annual revenue per year for 9 years. Now, comparing that back to me... that's $1400. $26 per week. What were you saying about not caring for paying for a burger? Relative. ;) PS: Take this as light humour, obviously. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 4:33pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 1:12pm:
That's just it. Julia Gillard doesn't want all the costs to be revealed, and Julai Gillard wants a cost-centre for Wayne Swan to dump some other costs in. That way Wayne Swan will be able to 'cover up' other unrelated costs and pass them off as NBN related. Wayne Swan & Julia Gillard know full well that when the BER costs blew through the roof of which they have not explained, and the costs of the pink batts, the cash for clunkers and the boat people, costs are driving Australia further into the red. Wayne Swan is continuing his charade that the ALP will have the Australian economy back in the black in 2-3 years times. Wayen Swan knows he cannot deliver that. Wayne Swan needs that cost centre to write off excess costs, and that is why Wayne Swan wants to stop the release of any CBA. The benefits just do not exceed the costs, as the costs are not yet defined, and are growing all the time. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 4:40pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 1:50pm:
LOL It is of course a joke your post. The give away was when you mislaid your decomal point, with your calcualtion of $37.4 billion being only 0.17 of annual revenue of around $295 billion. You meant to say 17% (actually it's closer to 13%), but you tried to downplay the real percentage. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 30th, 2010 at 4:43pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 1:50pm:
And the IT in year 1 is already out of date, so why on earth would anyone want to spend $4.16 billion for year 2 and onwards? And you're suggesting pay $4.16 billion for another 7 years!!!!!!!! A complete white elephant. white_elephant_003.jpg (9 KB | 39
) |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:04pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 30th, 2010 at 4:40pm:
I won't dignify this with an actual response. Go back to year 9 maths pls. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:10pm
It certainly is a white elephant.
Anyone remember we said this about Fuelwatch? How did that go? Great guns - real value for our money wasn't it. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:12pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:10pm:
Not your money. :) I'm enjoying the fact you are comparing Australia's largest infrastructure project with a website. Bravo. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:19pm
It was my money actually - in 2008 my wife and I were paying an obscene combined amount of $8k per month in tax.
Pissed against a wall by a terrible one-term Government. Now they want to build an NBN which has far too many non-dollar benefits. Too many of the 'benefits' are social policy - I couldn't give a bugger about social policy. Dollars - that is what counts. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:21pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:19pm:
Thank you for the $8k. But being you're not a citizen of your country once it entered our coffers it ceased being your money :) Really appreciate the investment you made. Would you like a gold sticker? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:21pm
Do you not understand WHY we pay so much less in tax in the United States??
Does it not compute that the Government doesn't go out of its way for social projects?? hence we dont need the money to pay for it. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:22pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:21pm:
I also understand why your country has so many entrenched issues socially. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:29pm
It's not my country.
But my point still stands, the United States is the closest nation to the free market economy we have in this world. Hence CBA's would be the rule and in the USA we do not embark upon social large scale spending. Hence why have lower sales tax, lower income tax and a higher standard of living. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:35pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:29pm:
Actually, you don't have a higher standard of living. http://hdr.undp.org/en/media/HDR_2010_EN_Table1.pdf |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:38pm
Looks like the dodgy tards are still afraid of the truth coming out in a CBA.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:39pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:38pm:
Good of you to post some utter rubbish aussie :) Always entertaining. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:41pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:39pm:
Well, don`t run & hide from the CBA, if you aren`t afraid. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:42pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:41pm:
Oh? Would you like for me to personally go and write one up for you? I can if you like? You'll need to learn how to read first, of course. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:42pm
Which reminds me, this "poll" is totally pissant BS, and wet.
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:50pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:42pm:
Seems to share similar attributes to anything that comes out of you. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:51pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:35pm:
I'm talking about everyday Americans. Those figures are weighed down by people we never even see. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:52pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:51pm:
Oh you mean those that sleep in gutters and live in subway passageways? Yeh I suppose if you were to take poverty out of the equation America would...still be fourth. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:59pm
If you judge a country on its base level people you are hardly judging how the vast majority live are you?
That's like going to New York city, seeing a drunk tramp on a park bench and declaring New Yorkers to be living in squalor and destitute. I am talking here about everyday Americans out in the outer suburbs of all the major cities across the country. Not inner city, destitute areas - we never even see those people. We, on average, have a higher standard of living and lower taxes. Why? Well to come full circle, in the United States the Federal Government doesn't embark on absurd social programs which do not offer pay back in capital spend. Like this NBN idiocy. This Obama-Care madness is an example of the uproar caused when anything akin to that is suggested. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by alevine on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:01pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:59pm:
Actually New York has a very good living standard and quite a nice place. It's the outer suburbs of the US where the loonies are. Most probably without places like Manhattan the US would fall to 100 on the HDI. BTW, HDI includes the entirety of the population and doesn't pick and choose. And Australia is above the US. Awww :( poor you. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:10pm
But the point is, why would your everyday person care about the base level folk who we never even see??
You never mix with them, you never interact with them. Sure they are there, but so what? To include them as some kind of level on standard of living is just silly. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:25pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:10pm:
It was SABOTAGED, by a hostile Senate, with the Rev. Fielding tipping the balance As has been the case with MUCH of Labor's reform package, it took to the 2007 Federal Election It was never given a CHANCE to "fail" - as a few tossers would have it However, FuelWatch W.A. (introduced by the previous state Labor government) has been found to be such "real value for our money" it has been retained as a consumer service by the present Liberal government http://www.fuelwatch.wa.gov.au/ |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:47pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:25pm:
"value for money" is such an interesting turn of phrase. Since it didnt reduce the price of petrol at all the value was what? information on the chepest price of fuel - info that was 24 hours old? the WA people I know are barely aware it even exists. my biggest gripe with FuelWatch is that it had a $100M budget!! to set up a website!!! it it was $2M then fine, but just as in the case of the NBN, someone, soemwhere has to ask the question 'is it worth it'? |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:50pm buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:25pm:
One consistent trait of bad losers is their blindess to hypocrisy. Howard battled a hostile senate for 9 of his 12 years. but unlike Rudd, he know how to compromise and negotiate, plus he had a lot more proper policies to implement unlike Rudds legacy of stunts, symbolism and failures. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by longweekend58 on Dec 31st, 2010 at 2:54pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:59pm:
My goodness you fail in that most basic of tests of humanity - compassion. Contrary to what you say, THE LITMUS test on any society is how it treats its poor and its vulnerable - not how wealthy it is. I agree with little that Buzz says and I find his attitudes childish at times. But in the humanity stakes, he ranks well above you. Right or wrong, at least he cares for his community. You care for yourself and your mother. beyond that I doubt you even KNOW, nevermind give a toss. |
Title: Re: Goverments & CBAs Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 31st, 2010 at 5:16pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 31st, 2010 at 1:10pm:
The ALP have a propensity for white elephants. white_elephant_party_001.jpg (112 KB | 36
) |