General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> The left is gwrne
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1292854173

Message started by sprintcyclist on Dec 21st, 2010 at 12:09am

Title: The left is gwrne
Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 21st, 2010 at 12:09am

judas is dropping faster than an anchor from a ship full of illegals in a storm facing rocks .......

LABOR in NSW is headed for annihilation in March, according to the latest Newspoll.
Labor has 24 per cent primary support, according to the poll, which was conducted exclusively for The Australian in November and this month.

The result means Kristina Keneally's government remains the most unpopular Labor government since Newspoll began taking state polls in 1984 and has clawed back just one percentage point since the poll conducted in September and October.

The NSW Coalition has 45 per cent primary support, and leads Labor 61 per cent to 39 per cent in two-party-preferred terms. This represents a four-point narrowing of the gap since the previous poll but would still result in Labor losing about 30 of the 50 seats it holds in the 93-seat lower house..............

LOSER LOSER LOSER

Title: Re: The left is gwrne
Post by Greens_Win on Dec 21st, 2010 at 2:19am
So Labor is on the nose and the coalition can only manage 45% primary. So the majority of NSW Voters would prefer someone else besides Brian O'Ferals.

O'Feral's satisafaction rate dropped 6 points to 42

and Liberal's Primary down 1 to 40%

Post by codswal on Dec 21st, 2010 at 4:27am
what is scary is that 24% will still vote for the worst govt in our history.

I tell you mickey mouse could have done a better job and 24% will still vote for them its incredible!!!!!!

a govt is only as good as the people that vote for them. after being voted in so many times after doing so much harm.. they have given the govt free range to do absolutely nothing... and thats what they have got and thats what they are satisfied with..

look at the number of rats leaving the titanic.. yet even that isnt a wake up call..I bet all those leaving will also get nice fat jobs from the next labor govt.. or at least the ALP..some like Tripode will still be pulling strings and getting paid for it.. and still they will vote for them!!!!!!!!.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 4:53am
Roll on 26th March 2011
Finally get rid of this incompetent """"government"""

Post by Infarction on Dec 21st, 2010 at 5:30am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 12:09am:
judas is dropping faster than an anchor from a ship full of illegals in a storm facing rocks .......

LABOR in NSW is headed for annihilation in March, according to the latest Newspoll.
Labor has 24 per cent primary support, according to the poll, which was conducted exclusively for The Australian in November and this month.

The result means Kristina Keneally's government remains the most unpopular Labor government since Newspoll began taking state polls in 1984 and has clawed back just one percentage point since the poll conducted in September and October.

The NSW Coalition has 45 per cent primary support, and leads Labor 61 per cent to 39 per cent in two-party-preferred terms. This represents a four-point narrowing of the gap since the previous poll but would still result in Labor losing about 30 of the 50 seats it holds in the 93-seat lower house..............

LOSER LOSER LOSER

Are you 10?

NSW will change government without doubt, i doubt anyone disputes this.

Doesn't appear the public there are keen on the Libs either looking at the figures. Unfortunately it is the same here in QLD. Bligh is rubbish but the opposition manages to get it wrong time after time.

Like in NSW the only ones capable of stopping them from winning is themselves.

Post by codswal on Dec 21st, 2010 at 5:36am

Infarction wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 5:30am:

LOSER LOSER LOSER

Are you 10?

Doesn't appear the public there are keen on the Libs either looking at the figures. Unfortunately it is the same here in QLD. Bligh is rubbish but the opposition manages to get it wrong time after time.

this does seem to be the case... but its lies that seem to get some elected... now thats wrong..and the GG should step up and do something about it..

when they get elected on promises then short of something like the GFC. they should be held accountable... it fair dinkum stinks they can promise hospitals all over the country.. highways. dams. you name it.. then nothing.

and get away with it.for 3/4.years

Post by Infarction on Dec 21st, 2010 at 5:45am
That's the nature of the game unfortunately isn't it.

Post by pansi1951 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:29am

LOSER LOSER LOSER

Are you 10?

It could be true to say that 99.9% of Queenslanders hate Bligh with a passion, why wouldn't they? She's sold our precious assets from under our feet, and had the nerve to do it with a sleezy smile, but she will most likely get voted in again.

There is NO alternative.

Personally, I didn't vote in the last qld election, and unless someone comes up with something that even half convinces me that they care about the state and the people, I will be forced to forego my vote again.

Get that right whingers, your state of Qld party are pathetic.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:56am

codswal wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 4:27am:

I tell you mickey mouse could have done a better job and 24% will still vote for them its incredible!!!!!!

a govt is only as good as the people that vote for them. after being voted in so many times after doing so much harm.. they have given the govt free range to do absolutely nothing... and thats what they have got and thats what they are satisfied with..

look at the number of rats leaving the titanic.. yet even that isnt a wake up call..I bet all those leaving will also get nice fat jobs from the next labor govt.. or at least the ALP..some like Tripode will still be pulling strings and getting paid for it.. and still they will vote for them!!!!!!!!.

And thanks to the incompetent ALP federal government the costs of power will rise unnecessarily for NSW using AGL as from 1st January 2011 to recover the tech certificates for renewable energy (setting a precedent). The other power retailers would also be expected to jump on this in July 2011. And then the other states are also expected to follow suit.

Just in time for the election in March, not that voters would need reminder of just how bad the ALP is.

Post by pansi1951 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:25am
<<Just in time for the election in March, not that voters would need reminder of just how bad the ALP is. >>
................................................................................

That's right, no reminder needed, they just look at the LNP and see that it's worse. Bad and badder!!!!!!! People will stop voting altogether if all pollies don't pick up their game.

Post by adelcrow on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:39am
Given the fact that the only truely left wing party still around is the Socialist Workers Party and I doubt they get votes from anyone other than a few communist inclined uni students I would have to agree..the left is gone  :)
As for all the progressive parties out there such as the Greens and the "Wet" factions in the Liberal Party to name but a few..they are doing quite well   :)

Post by codswal on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:44am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:29am:

LOSER LOSER LOSER

Are you 10?

It could be true to say that 99.9% of Queenslanders hate Bligh with a passion, why wouldn't they? She's sold our precious assets from under our feet, and had the nerve to do it with a sleezy smile, but she will most likely get voted in again.

There is NO alternative.

Personally, I didn't vote in the last qld election, and unless someone comes up with something that even half convinces me that they care about the state and the people, I will be forced to forego my vote again.

Get that right whingers, your state of Qld party are pathetic.

pansi not being up to scratch with State politics.. whats wrong with the Libs in Qld..I kn ow they seem to self destruct, but what is stopping them getting elected when the Labs are so awful..why are they the worst of the two evils so to speak?

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:44am

adelcrow wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:39am:
Given the fact that the only truely left wing party still around is the Socialist Workers Party and I doubt they get votes from anyone other than a few communist inclined uni students I would have to agree..the left is gone  :)
As for all the progressive parties out there such as the Greens and the "Wet" factions in the Liberal Party to name but a few..they are doing quite well   :)

Not in Europe.
There we have seen a considerable swing to the Right.

As regards parties such as the Greens, I am still waiting to see how they intend to move forward.
To gain a more sure footing, they need to start to appeal to people like me to have a chance of office.

How exactly would they get my vote?

Post by codswal on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:47am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:25am:
<<Just in time for the election in March, not that voters would need reminder of just how bad the ALP is. >>
................................................................................

That's right, no reminder needed, they just look at the LNP and see that it's worse. Bad and badder!!!!!!! People will stop voting altogether if all pollies don't pick up their game.

we keep making the same points... but what do we want????.

what are our expectation from politians.. and how do we get a better say in what they do...aka NSW..totally damaging it will take years to recover from what this mob have done.. yet there seems no power for the electorate to stop them... they are still there untill March 2011..

doing even more damage..

Post by Verge on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:48am
If a popular government like Brumby's can suffer a shock defeat, I would hate to think what kind of blood bath its going to be in NSW for Labor.

With the amount of them not contesting the next election it appears they already know.

Post by riverina.jack on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:51am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:44am:

adelcrow wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:39am:

Not in Europe.
There we have seen a considerable swing to the Right.

As regards parties such as the Greens, I am still waiting to see how they intend to move forward.
To gain a more sure footing, they need to start to appeal to people like me to have a chance of office.

How exactly would they get my vote?

The only way they would get you vote is if they were far right wing conservative racist party

Post by adelcrow on Dec 21st, 2010 at 9:07am
As for Socialist leaning political parties the coalition partner the National Party has protectionist and economic policies that are so far to the left they would make the old Soviet Block leaders blush.
If the Nats were not cuckolded by the Libs they would ruin this country under a sea of taxpayer funded tarrifs and a nationalised banking system..hey maybe thats where Hockey got the idea of his Communist era financial system  :P

Post by adelcrow on Dec 21st, 2010 at 9:26am
As for NSW voters, they are sick to death of the incompetence and corruption in both the Labor and Liberal Parties. Why else would the Labor Party have got back into power at the last election even though every living soul in NSW hated them with a passion?
Whats next, an exodus of refugees flooding into Victoria and Queensland?  :)

Post by dsmithy70 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 9:37am
Hey Sprint,
Calling the NSW Government a Government of the left is boarding on gross stupidity
Labor = left - Liberal = right, it's no longer that simple

http://www.themonthly.com.au/right-new-left-2876

The ideas of Left and Right have long dominated politics. This Festival of Dangerous Ideas panel discusses whether these notions are still relevant in modern society. Luke Malpass (chair), Waleed Aly, Tom Switzer and David Hetherington each mount convincing arguments that many of the orthodoxies of contemporary political discourse better belong in the past, and that we need to re-think the application of terms Left and Right - and the politics that go with them.

http://www.themonthly.com.au/whats-right-waleed-aly-conservatism-shaun-carney-2393

Where did the Right go wrong? With the departure of George W. Bush and John Howard, conservative parties in the US and Australia entered a period of turmoil. How might conservatism renew itself? Discussing his illuminating Quarterly Essay with Age journalist Shaun Carney, Waleed Aly discusses what a better conservatism might look like. He draws on the work of conservative thinkers, past and present, to outline the weakness of the 'Left versus Right' paradigm and to examine the current state of conservatism. Contending that conservative parties have backed themselves into a corner by embracing free-market extremism, he predicts that the key issues of the day, such as climate change and the financial crisis, mean a reactionary brand of politics is unlikely to work.

We have right/far right & Fred Nile
There's has been no left leaning government state or federal in this country for over 30 years.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 21st, 2010 at 9:56am

dsmothy - yes, the left and right are peas in a pod.

mores the pity

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 21st, 2010 at 9:59am
Mate its a good thing not to have a Left Government.

The reason there hasn't been one is because the world has moved on.

We need market capitalism, we need incentives to achieve, we need lower taxes, we need strong military deterrents.

All of these things fly in the face of Leftist thought.

My issue with the Left really is that a lot of the time they ignore rational economic argument in favor of social advancement ideology.

Post by Infarction on Dec 21st, 2010 at 10:06am

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:56am:

And thanks to the incompetent ALP federal government the costs of power will rise unnecessarily for NSW using AGL as from 1st January 2011 to recover the tech certificates for renewable energy (setting a precedent). The other power retailers would also be expected to jump on this in July 2011. And then the other states are also expected to follow suit.

Just in time for the election in March, not that voters would need reminder of just how bad the ALP is.

So you say, although i am yet to see any confirmation that this is the reason prices are increasing. Industry themselves seem to be saying it's infrastructure that is causing most of the rises, you on the other hand know more than they do apparently.

Post by dsmithy70 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 10:15am
We need:

market capitalism - yes agreed

incentives to achieve - some, not all but still not a bad thing

lower taxes - really I get sick of hearing about lower taxes. You know all the bitching about public hospitials, public education,not enough police, Ambo's taking too long, the state of our roads, well all that stuff does not magically appear WE PAY FOR IT THRU OUR TAXES, you want to pay less tax fine but don't bitch when you break your front axle in a pot hole on the National Highway.
Also you understand the overwhelming advantages to social polices like unemployment benefits & pensions don't you(rhetorical I know you do Andrei) imagine 10,000 unemployed starving people with no money or hope, where's their next $ coming from to survive YOU that's where & they'll probably kill you as they take it to make identifaction of themselves harder.

strong military deterrents.- I wish I could say cr@p here but we are still a tribal bunch of beings with a strong streak of jealousy towards what others may have & are still happy to take things by force.
Maybe after the enlightenment(whatever that is) :)

Post by codswal on Dec 21st, 2010 at 10:34am
dont you think its TIME  we asked more from our govts.??

like stop the WASTE  for instance .....stop the CONSULTANTS.. we elect YOU guys. you tell us you can run the show.. thats what we pay you to do. yet they run out and hire, at enormous cost. so called nameless consultants.. who make up the package that ends up getting dustbinned after its cost millions... the CBD METRO SOMES TO MIND.. AND THATS JUST ONE

we have to demand more accountability.

.they the [feds] are putting more and more accountability on CEOs.. and Banks..what about themselves the biggest wasters of all?

Post by Oh_Yeah on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:45pm

The left is gwrne

What the hell is "gwrne"?

A NSW state election doesn't matter a lot to those outside of NSW

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:51pm

Verge wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 8:48am:
If a popular government like Brumby's can suffer a shock defeat, I would hate to think what kind of blood bath its going to be in NSW for Labor.

With the amount of them not contesting the next election it appears they already know.

We may actually getting the greens doing better than the ALP, and that'd be a real shock.
But most likely the Indies will outdo the ALP and the Greens - combined.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:52pm

The_Barnacle wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:45pm:

The left is gwrne

You do realise that Australia revolves around NSW.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:55pm

Infarction wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 10:06am:

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:56am:

So you say, although i am yet to see any confirmation that this is the reason prices are increasing. Industry themselves seem to be saying it's infrastructure that is causing most of the rises, you on the other hand know more than they do apparently.

Do you understand what infrastructure is being built?

I have already explained this earlier, but the infrastructure is a direct result of the ALP pushing for the greens policy on alternative energies. Basically it is the R&D costs being put onto the consumer.
Totally unnecessary as coal is our cheapest alternative.

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:09pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 6:52pm:

The left is gwrne

You do realise that Australia revolves around NSW

Sure it does.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:11pm

Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:09pm:

The left is gwrne

Sure it does.

LOL
Sarchasm is so unappreciated!

Post by Prevailing on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:14pm
<b>
codswal wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 10:34am:
dont you think its TIME  we asked more from our govts.??
</b>

The state needs to be made accountable to its domestic obligations and responsibilities to the citizens of this country.  It needs to be more inward looking, people oriented and compassionate. 8-)

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:27pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:11pm:

The left is gwrne

Sure it does.

LOL

Fair call. Hard to tell these days.

Hell, I don't even know when I'm being serious anymore.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:31pm

The left is gwrne

Sure it does.

LOL

Especially if it's a yawning sarchasm.

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:34pm
I missed that. Nice.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 21st, 2010 at 9:09pm

darkhall67 wrote on Dec 21st, 2010 at 7:31pm:

The left is gwrne

Sure it does.

LOL

Especially if it's a yawning sarchasm.

It is so sad when sarchasm has to be explained.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 10:24pm
Or even spelled correctly.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 21st, 2010 at 11:05pm

And then when the sarcasm   ridiculing the sarchasm has to be explained...

now that's REALLY sad.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 4:49am
But, it is really very funny when someone tries to correct someone else's writing and their very own grammar & punctuation is wrong.

Now THAT'S funny!

LOL

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 8:35am

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 4:49am:
But, it is really very funny when someone tries to correct someone else's writing and their very own grammar & punctuation is wrong.

Now THAT'S funny!

LOL

Wasn't trying to correct anyone.

Making a pun with "chasm" and "yawning".

It was doubly funny because "yawning" is a reaction your posts provoke in a lot of posters.

But you didnt pick that up either did you?

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 8:39am

.......The extent and rapidity of Labor's core vote decline is stark.
At the 2007 election Kevin Rudd won 43.4 per cent of the primary vote. At this year's election under Gillard this fell to 38 per cent.
Newspoll shows the average Labor primary vote during the past four months at 34.3 per cent. Welcome to the new paradigm.

This fall in an exact three-year period is 9.1 points, a defection of one in five voters.
It has damaged Labor's brand on a scale never considered possible at the time of Rudd's stunning victory over John Howard.
This is accentuated by Labor's attrition in state politics where it has lost office in Victoria, remains unpopular in Queensland, and in NSW, with 24 per cent of the primary vote, faces a wipeout of unprecedented dimensions next March..........

............. Fourth, the party's left voting constituency of young voters, teachers, academics, gays, culture industry and inner-city professionals is defecting to the Greens..........

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/opinion/labors-fall-from-grace/story-e6frg6zo-1225974666362

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 8:55am
I thought the yawning in reference to chasm was quite funny.

Reminded me of a time at work where a guy continued referred to items that were 'pecific'.

"We need to identify pecific items" etc etc

The Fin Controller replied with "Trouble is, I think we're oceans apart here"

It flew about 10,000 feet over the poor guy's head.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 12:23pm

darkhall67 wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 8:35am:

Now THAT'S funny!

LOL

It was doubly funny because "yawning" is a reaction your posts provoke in a lot of posters.

But you were.
You needn't worry as you indeed are "funny", but not in a humerous way.
And, "a lot of posters"? Oh, you must mean those other nicks of yours.

And, once again if you wish to be a pedant and be pedantic about other poster's grammar, spelling and/or punctuation, then you better make sure you do it right yourself.
With your above post it is obvious that you still need lessons.
Now that IS funny.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 12:31pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 12:23pm:

darkhall67 wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 8:35am:

Now THAT'S funny!

LOL

But you were.
You needn't worry as you indeed are "funny", but not in a humerous way.
And, "a lot of posters"? Oh, you must mean those other nicks of yours.

And, once again if you wish to be a pedant and be pedantic about other poster's grammar, spelling and/or punctuation, then you better make sure you do it right yourself.
With your above post it is obvious that you still need lessons.
Now that IS funny.

Oh dear Miss Anne

Not got a great sense of "humer" have you.

Perhaps you should SHOULDER arms.

Add some ELBOW grease.

Now THAT would be "humerous".

heh heh heh

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 12:46pm

freedom of speech under the left

The state government has today taken the extraordinary step of officially closing the formal business of parliament, ensuring the Opposition will be blocked from holding its inquiry into the electricity sale.

In a statement released by the Premier's office this morning, Kristina Keneally said the NSW Governor, Marie Bashir, had prorogued the parliament, effective immediately.

This means that committees cannot hold hearings before the March election, including the planned upper house inquiry into the government's controversial $5.3 billion sale of the state's electricity assets.

In a bid to stave off expected criticism of its timing, the government's statement highlighted other occasions when parliament was prorouged so early before an election, including on December 7, 1994 before the 1995 election and January 31 before the 2003 election.

The Opposition had planned to reveal the details of the inquiry today, including the proposed terms of reference and the expected start date, which could have been as early as January 10.

The inquiry had the support of the Greens and the Christian Democrat MP Fred Nile which meant the inquiry could have started as soon the procedural issues had been resolved.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/turn-off-keneally-blocks-probe-into-power-sale-by-closing-parliament-20101222-194z7.html

Post by dsmithy70 on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 1:27pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 12:46pm:
freedom of speech under the left

The state government has today taken the extraordinary step of officially closing the formal business of parliament, ensuring the Opposition will be blocked from holding its inquiry into the electricity sale.

In a statement released by the Premier's office this morning, Kristina Keneally said the NSW Governor, Marie Bashir, had prorogued the parliament, effective immediately.

This means that committees cannot hold hearings before the March election, including the planned upper house inquiry into the government's controversial $5.3 billion sale of the state's electricity assets.

In a bid to stave off expected criticism of its timing, the government's statement highlighted other occasions when parliament was prorouged so early before an election, including on December 7, 1994 before the 1995 election and January 31 before the 2003 election.

The Opposition had planned to reveal the details of the inquiry today, including the proposed terms of reference and the expected start date, which could have been as early as January 10.

The inquiry had the support of the Greens and the Christian Democrat MP Fred Nile which meant the inquiry could have started as soon the procedural issues had been resolved.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/turn-off-keneally-blocks-probe-into-power-sale-by-closing-parliament-20101222-194z7.html

Sprint, stop calling neo-conservative governments left.
They are right so all your doing is putting your own supposed beliefs down.
That's "Classic right wing"

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 1:40pm

they run under a left flag, and are quite central

Post by dsmithy70 on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 2:00pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 1:40pm:
they run under a left flag, and are quite central

No people like to assume because they are Labor they are Left, which if you look at their record since Carr at the very start is laughable.
This government has done everything from crush the right of workers injured ON THE JOB from receiving just compensation to selling just about everything of value into private hands with contracts that say if said asset doesn't make expected profit for PRIVATE owner the tax payer is liable for compensation to make up the shortfall, Cross city tunnel anyone.
FFS the Republican party looks to this government for ideas on how to screw the masses for the benefit of the few & you want to assert they are Left, commies, socialists????
Get Real, besides no one not even those from within will even whisper support for this morally corrupt arm of the Australian Labor Party.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 6:19pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 1:27pm:

Do you know what neo-conservative governments are?

Post by dsmithy70 on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 9:31pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 6:19pm:

You are correct got my neo's confused :o
Neo Liberalism would be the correct discription
Unfortunately for us virtually all state and to a certain extent the federal government(on both sides) have become fixated on only the 1st part of the theory.

Neoliberalism seeks to transfer control of the economy from public to the private sector,[3] under the belief that it will produce a more efficient government and improve the economic health of the nation.[4] The definitive statement of the concrete policies advocated by neoliberalism is often taken to be John Williamson's[5] "Washington Consensus", a list of policy proposals that appeared to have gained consensus approval among the Washington-based international economic organizations (like the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank). Williamson's list included ten points:

* Fiscal policy Governments should not run large deficits that have to be paid back by future citizens, and such deficits can only have a short term effect on the level of employment in the economy. Constant deficits will lead to higher inflation and lower productivity, and should be avoided. Deficits should only be used for occasional stabilization purposes.
   * Redirection of public spending from subsidies (especially what neoliberals call "indiscriminate subsidies") and other spending neoliberals deem wasteful toward broad-based provision of key pro-growth, pro-poor services like primary education, primary health care and infrastructure investment
   * Tax reform– broadening the tax base and adopting moderate marginal tax rates to encourage innovation and efficiency;
   * Interest rates that are market determined and positive (but moderate) in real terms;
   * Floating exchange rates;
   * Trade liberalisation – liberalization of imports, with particular emphasis on elimination of quantitative restrictions (licensing, etc.); any trade protection to be provided by law and relatively uniform tariffs; thus encouraging competition and long term growth
   * Liberalisation of the "capital account" of the balance of payments, that is, allowing people the opportunity to invest funds overseas and allowing foreign funds to be invested in the home country
   * Privatisation of state enterprises; Promoting market provision of goods and services which the government can not provide as effectively or efficiently, such as telecommunications, where having many service providers promotes choice and competition.
   * Deregulation – abolition of regulations that impede market entry or restrict competition, except for those justified on safety, environmental and consumer protection grounds, and prudent oversight of financial institutions;
   * Legal security for property rights; and,
   * Financialisation of capital.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neoliberalism

The holy grail of surpluses and a AAA credit rating has lead us to the state partically NSW finds itself in.
State assets were sold NOT for the reasons stated but basicaly to post surpluses and fund tax cuts and social policies partically the feds(baby Bonus) that actually goes agianst the theory(point 2).
Debt is not nessarily a bad thing as we all know some debt is unavoidable but the debt creates or inhances an asset.
Keating is a neo liberalist but one that embraced the whole theory and therefore we have the economy we do.
Imagine how much better off we'd be if he was allowed to continue or if Costello(personally I think he would have followed Keatings lead) had not been under Howards infuence.
Here's a theory for you & a back handed compliment to Howard,
Howard was so embrassed by the budget blackhole he left Keating(Howard actually wanted it known but Fraser canned him)

The incoming Hawke Labor government only learned about the extent of the deficit when briefed by Treasury officials after the election. According to Bob Hawke, the historically large $9.6 billion budget deficit left by the Coalition ‘became a stick with which we were justifiably able to beat the Liberal National Party Opposition for many years’.[7] Although, as the former treasurer, Howard was ‘discredited’[8] by the budget blowout, he had argued unsuccessfully against Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser, that the revised figures should be disclosed before the election.[9]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Keating

Keating did this in the Parliament, Howard was much more vocal and in the publics face about it(remember the debt truck) and was so sucessful at totally turning Keating's critism back onto the Labor party that poltics is still under his influence today.

Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 9:34pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 9:31pm:

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 22nd, 2010 at 6:19pm:

You are correct got my neo's confused :o
Neo Liberalism would be the correct discription
Unfortunately for us virtually all state and to a certain extent the federal government(on both sides) have become fixated on only the 1st part of the theory.

Neoliberalism seeks to transfer control of the economy from public to the private sector,[3] under the belief that it will produce a more efficient government and improve the economic health of the nation.[4] The definitive statement of the concrete policies advocated by neoliberalism is often taken to be John Williamson's[5] "Washington Consensus", a list of policy proposals that appeared to have gained consensus approval among the Washington-based international economic organizations (like the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank). Williamson's list included ten points:

* Fiscal policy Governments should not run large deficits that have to be paid back by future citizens, and such deficits can only have a short term effect on the level of employment in the economy. Constant deficits will lead to higher inflation and lower productivity, and should be avoided. Deficits should only be used for occasional stabilization purposes.
   * Redirection of public spending from subsidies (especially what neoliberals call "indiscriminate subsidies") and other spending neoliberals deem wasteful toward broad-based provision of key pro-growth, pro-poor services like primary education, primary health care and infrastructure investment
   * Tax reform– broadening the tax base and adopting moderate marginal tax rates to encourage innovation and efficiency;
   * Interest rates that are market determined and positive (but moderate) in real terms;
   * Floating exchange rates;
   * Trade liberalisation – liberalization of imports, with particular emphasis on elimination of quantitative restrictions (licensing, etc.); any trade protection to be provided by law and relatively uniform tariffs; thus encouraging competition and long term growth
   * Liberalisation of the "capital account" of the balance of payments, that is, allowing people the opportunity to invest funds overseas and allowing foreign funds to be invested in the home country
   * Privatisation of state enterprises; Promoting market provision of goods and services which the government can not provide as effectively or efficiently, such as telecommunications, where having many service providers promotes choice and competition.
   * Deregulation – abolition of regulations that impede market entry or restrict competition, except for those justified on safety, environmental and consumer protection grounds, and prudent oversight of financial institutions;
   * Legal security for property rights; and,
   * Financialisation of capital.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neoliberalism

The holy grail of surpluses and a AAA credit rating has lead us to the state partically NSW finds itself in.
State assets were sold NOT for the reasons stated but basicaly to post surpluses and fund tax cuts and social policies partically the feds(baby Bonus) that actually goes agianst the theory(point 2).
Debt is not nessarily a bad thing as we all know some debt is unavoidable but the debt creates or inhances an asset.
Keating is a neo liberalist but one that embraced the whole theory and therefore we have the economy we do.
Imagine how much better off we'd be if he was allowed to continue or if Costello(personally I think he would have followed Keatings lead) had not been under Howards infuence.
Here's a theory for you & a back handed compliment to Howard,
Howard was so embrassed by the budget blackhole he left Keating(Howard actually wanted it known but Fraser canned him)

[quote]The incoming Hawke Labor government only learned about the extent of the deficit when briefed by Treasury officials after the election. According to Bob Hawke, the historically large $9.6 billion budget deficit left by the Coalition ‘became a stick with which we were justifiably able to beat the Liberal National Party Opposition for many years’.[7] Although, as the former treasurer, Howard was ‘discredited’[8] by the budget blowout, he had argued unsuccessfully against Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser, that the revised figures should be disclosed before the election.[9]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Keating

Keating did this in the Parliament, Howard was much more vocal and in the publics face about it(remember the debt truck) and was so sucessful at totally turning Keating's critism back onto the Labor party that poltics is still under his influence today.
[/quote]

It's ok, cause otherwise I guess the Liberal party whilst in opposition had the defence on high alert and patrolling all our major streets & highways.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.