General Discussion >> General Board >> No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1289421422 Message started by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:37am |
Title: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:37am
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/no-room-for-girlfriends-at-ivanhoe-girls-dance-20101109-17m4g.html
A few weeks earlier, a teacher had told the year 11 student she wasn't allowed to attend the Preston dinner dance with her 15-year-old girlfriend, Savannah Supski. She was asked to bring a male instead. ''It made me very upset. I thought it was unfair so I didn't go,'' she said. ''I put a lot of effort into trying to fix things. I had a meeting with principals, looked through the Equal Opportunity Act, all my friends put posters up around the school and the teachers ripped them down. There was an easy solution; they just needed to let me go with my girlfriend.'' Hannah's father, Peter Williams, lodged a complaint with the Equal Opportunities Commission, alleging the school had discriminated against his daughter because of her sexual orientation. ''The school kept saying because it is an all-girls' school we want to make an event where they can meet boys in a social scenario,'' he said. ''That process is anachronistic and creates feelings of discrimination among girls who are same-sex attracted.'' After lodging the complaint in September, Mr Williams had a mediation session with the school, but the two parties were unable to reach a conclusion. The Williams family did not take matters further because it was becoming too stressful for their teenage daughter, who will complete her VCE next year. Mr Williams said the experience had forced his daughter to move to Swinburne Senior Secondary College, a ''more accepting'' school in Hawthorn. ''We made the decision that the best thing to do was to leave the school. The basis has been the whole sense of institutionalised discrimination,'' he said. ''They had a clear idea of why they ran the event, but the world has moved on. It's not the greatest time in someone's educational life to move schools.'' Savannah, now 16, is also moving schools to be with her girlfriend and was happy to hear that Swinburne Secondary College allows same-sex couples to attend formals together. ''I have been not very happy with private schools all my life and this was pushing it. It was a homophobic issue and I feel extremely discriminated against at the old school,'' she said. Sian Supski supports her daughter's decision to leave the school. ''The idea that there had to be a gender balance at the dinner dance seemed to be discriminatory. It was a very difficult time for Savannah but she's an amazingly strong young person and we are very proud of her.'' Mrs Supski said she was disappointed Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar did not adopt a more progressive approach to same-sex couples. ''It would have been a good thing for other girls who might be in a same-sex relationship and don't feel brave enough to come out, tell their parents and be in a school situation.'' Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar principal Heather Schnagl said the event did not discriminate against same-sex couples and was designed to promote a co-educational experience. ''I don't think it's appropriate they feel discriminated against, and I'm very upset they feel that,'' she said. ''If we opened it up and said girls could bring another female they would all bring females; the policy is trying to create an event where boys are invited. We are a school that has an all-girls environment, and they are meant to invite guests, not partners.'' Dr Schnagl said the event was under review for next year. She said the students' ages had also been an issue. ''It's an event for year 11s and the student's guest was in year 10.'' Hannah said her classmates had taken younger males to the event and she was the only student asked to provide the age of her partner. ''They kept on making up excuses, and said everything was a problem for me.'' Roz Ward, co-ordinator of the Safe Schools Coalition, unveiled by the state government last month to tackle homophobia in schools, said the incident was a blatant example of discrimination. ''It's a big issue for schools to be visibly supportive of same-sex couples and one of the most visible events of the year is the school formal or dinner dance. One of the six recommendations we make to schools is to allow students to take their same-sex partners or friends to their school formal and they should make it obvious that is the case,'' Ms Ward said. The Equal Opportunity Commission said it could not comment on the case. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:44am
Is this the christian philosphy that over the eons condemned Mary Magdalene to be a prostitute just because she was a disciple of Jesus and the early christians did not want women involved in the church so altered the history of the early church to condemn her to be a prostitute.Virgin in olden times actually meant unwed,now it has moved to its modern version.I fail to see any resemblance of early christian values and philosophy coming through to the modern sanitised variant.Jesus was not celibant and had friends and disciples of male and female, so I fail to see a issue of allowing bisexuals, homosexuals or any other variant to attend formals as this is the real world not a sanitised version of the bible.
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by bwood1946 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:46am HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:44am:
HO HUM ;) |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by nichy on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:55am
The (so called) partner was at the SAME school in a year below, so to have allowed her to attend the Year 11 Dance, would have then opened the way for ALL year 10's to go to the Year 11 dance.
They sound like a couple of attention seeking trouble makers aided and abetted by foolish parents. I can't help wondering if any (publicity) money changed hands. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:08am nichy wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:55am:
Year 11 and 12 MALES often take their younger female partners to school formals - some girls end up going to 4 formals in their high school life. I've never heard anything said about that. This issue comes up every year at formal time - and it's generally the religious schools that won't allow it. Some say "well, send your child to a religious school, suck it up" - that misses the point that these schools get government funding - in fact they often get MORE per pupil than state schools! I believe it's discriminatory and schools should not be allowed to discriminate against our kids based on their sexual orientation. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:10am bwood1946 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:46am:
A TRUE FOLLOWER OF THE SANITISED BIBLE,COMPLACANCY |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:29am HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:44am:
What a crock of pedantic pissantry. YAWWWWWWWWWWN.!!! |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:44am aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:29am:
Its good to see trolls here trying to scare of new members who have a different opinion but trolls who have a IQ of a amoeba protoplasm and have no humour what so ever is pathetic.If you have not got anything intelligent to say and I know you have not bugger off and troll some where else or every post of yours I will troll. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:34am
I saw these two little creeps on ACA last night, total waste of oxygen, the pair of them. Good thing they`re lesbians, don`t need trash like them breeding.
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:36am HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:44am:
Whatever helps you to cough up that fur ball dearie. ;D |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Jasignature on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:09am
I don't believe in Homosexuality and as Imp once put it, next we'll be 'forced' to accept Moneghan and his Dog along with all the other Beastiality marriages. Remember the guy in the States who got the Ho-down with a Horse, sent to gaol and then release, went back to the same horse ...because it was 'love'.
If anyone KNOWS the CO-EDUCATIONAL system, then you would know that after spending most of the time next to a girl in class 'studying/working' together - come 'Dancing' time or 'social' time, the boys and girls keep VERY seperate. I even say a female 'school captain' get in trouble and abused by teachers because she refused to get up and dance with one of us very reluctant boys. Go to a night club. The Co-Eds will be in their boy and girl groups while the teenagers who went to Single-Sex schools were on the dance floor with the opposite sex ...you could almost see a Nun there with a ruler between them making sure there was ample room for modesty, etc. Not only is all this 'Homosexuality equality and rights' emerging from a Nation that has too much FREEDOM on its hands, but we are ignoring the act of Celibacy and the greater sacrifice it takes. I think the issue is that people just don't wanna face facts and draw a line. Religion seems an easy target to 'attack' by Gays because it doesn't promote Homosexuals. ...I've also noticed that the regular female contributers on this Forum don't appear as often now, since the Homosexual Threads showed that the majority of Males dissagree with the Gay thing. (like der!) |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:32am Encore: - what_katy_did wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:08am:
It is clear that the school has made a homophobic decision - and that it is unapologetic about doing so... If these girls had been in the same year, then they would have both been automatically allowed to attend the formal... I believe that there are grounds for the HREOC to audit all of the stated bases of the decision and assess the consistency of the application of those bases for 2010 and previous years... The boys only school/s in the same Diocese should also be audited - so as to establish the overall nature and extent of the homophobic discrimination, including any inconsistencies with this case... Either way, if the complainant can establish that she was the only person who was singled out and asked to provide the age of her 'guest', then the school has deliberately targeted (and technically harassed) the complainant in a discriminatory fashion... PS I wonder if any other guests' names were so exotic as to be gender-ambiguous!? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Liifræd on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:11am It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:09am:
Noone will accept beastiality - animals can't even consent. Not to mention everyone finds it disgusting. Quote:
This is not true. I went to a co-ed school and everyone was dancing with everyone at my formal. Of course, when it was dancing lessons as part of PE in front of the teachers, we were quite reluctant. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:20am
From another source....
So even the EOC knows it's all a load of rubbish. nothing to see here folks, save your righteous indignation for where it's warranted. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Verge on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:23am
I for one cant wait for the two girls to turn 18. I love lesbians, but I really love hot ones starting out in the exploration of the wonder that is the female body.
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:48am Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:23am:
I'm sure that someone else will say something to that effect about your own offspring one day... ::) Seriously, tho', how's everything coming along with the wife and the bub? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by locutius on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:53am Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:32am:
Yes regardless of what we personally think of the situation/lifestyle choice. The bottom line is summed up exactly as Thy has stated. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by culldav on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:58am
Besides up-tight religious freaks, who really cares if a lesbian couple attend a high school dance together. It just shows that some religious fanatics are a bunch of morons with their mentality stuck in the 15th Century.
My niece is an 18yo lesbian who came to her parents and family when she was 14. No one with a brain gives a rats about this garbage anymore, as every individual deserves the human right to live their lives as they want. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Liifræd on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:07am culldav wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:58am:
Keep in mind that it's not just religious people who are offended by homosexuals. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:09am ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:20am:
Was the case actually 'dismissed' - or is Dr Schnagl misrepresenting the facts!? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Verge on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:23am Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:48am:
Two and a half weeks to go!!!! All is really good, and the wife is doing really well and is fairly well rested. And if its a girl, she isnt dating until she is 32! |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:23am:
LOL...best wishes to all of you, at this exciting albeit stressful time! ;) PS My first-born came 2 weeks early: just 2 days after my last Uni exam for the year - ouch! |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:09am:
You've got to assume that if it's reported, it's factual. But I guess if you MUST work yourself into a tizz over this childish tanty, knock yourself out! |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Verge on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:27am culldav wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:58am:
I think you will find some religious people are pretty liberal about it. I know plenty that are religious and dont give two hoots about it. Sometimes this place is pretty quick to throw lables to a pretty large section of society. Since when does a few extremists represent the majority. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Verge on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:28am Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am:
Thanks thy, although I have to admit we are pretty cruisy at the moment and no stress. Im sure that will change upon arrival! |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:36am ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am:
Not necessarily so - the father 'reports' a different version of events (and the Principal is doing a shytehouse reactionary PR job)... HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:37am:
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:37am Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:28am:
Glad to hear that - enjoy your peace, quiet, sleep, privacy, autonomy and anonymity whilst it lasts... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by locutius on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:46am Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:28am:
Hey congratulations and good luck mate to you and your wife. The best days of your life are about to begin. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:36pm Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:09am:
From the au.news story... "A complaint by the Year 11 student's father to the Equal Opportunity Commission and has been dismissed, Dr Schnagl said. Victorian Equal Opportunity Commissioner Helen Szoke said she was legally unable to comment on the complaint" If the Commissioner is 'legally unable to comment', then it must still be under investigation.... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:46pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:36pm:
Actually, I've been pondering the ramifications of this case - should not the HREOC have some semblance of an obligation to 'prosecute' clear test cases as an advocate and enforcer of HREO 'principles', rather than force parties with differing levels of power and/or resources into 'mediation'... Nothing that I have seen in the media suggests that the school has acted in anything other than an overtly discriminatory fashion - and the Principal obviously has zero remorse (or insight into the ramifications of her actions)... IM(no-so)HO, the family has acted in the overall best interests of their daughter, by moving her to another school, but the mediation process was inappropriate and they have given up on a war of attrition - but I reckon that the onus of engaging in mediation ought never have been foistered upon them... Either way, this has been a most unsatisfactory outcome because the unrepentant (and unreprimanded) Principal has been able to front the media with a dubious claim that the complaint was 'dismissed'... There have been clear acts of systematic and serial discrimination (and possibly demonisation, vilification, harrassment and/or bullying) - some of which are on the public record via videoed news conferences - for which the offender is flagrantly unrepentant and therefore the HREOC ought to intervene to prosecute of its own volition... I, for one, hope that this case is taken up by some lawyer/s on a probono basis... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:51pm Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:46pm:
Yes ,and I'd be curious to know if any other of the students brought 'non' Year 11 guests.... Most of the kids I went to school with had boyfriends/girlfriends who were either a year ahead or a year behind them... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:54pm
The impression I get is that daddy dearest will jump through hoops at his darling daughters request.
A whole lot of childish foot-stamping, with daddy the drip more interested in being his daughters friend than living upto his role as her parent. But that's just my opinion. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:00pm ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:54pm:
C'mon Wes, I'm sure you can think of a number of equally principled positions, on which you would be prepared to stand up, against a pettily discriminatory regime, for the rights of your own offspring to be proud of who and what they are!? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:04pm ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:54pm:
LOL most father would, and do already Wesley... The only time I saw MY father actually threaten to break someones neck, was when the guy was hassling my sister... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:08pm Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:00pm:
Yes, but that's me. I know there are an awful lot of drips out there, and this guy seems like one of them. For a start, I wouldn't let my daughter change schools just beacsue she wasn't allowed to bring a certain person to the ball. Best she learn you can't always get your own way by throwing a tantrum. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:13pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:04pm:
Oh I know...my daughters not quite 2 and has already got me doing her bidding. But theres limits...the thought is always in the back of my mind - 'if I do this, will it be good for her in the long run? Will this make her spoiled?' |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:15pm ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:08pm:
You wouldn't change your daughter's school because they discriminated against her, for being HERSELF?? You'd rather keep paying several thousand dollars per year and have a miserable, depressed child??? Tell me Wesley, you don't have kids do you?? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:17pm ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:08pm:
If only the School Principal's parents had been so inclined, eh!? ::) Seriously, tho', having seen the Principal interviewed on the news, I don't think that the girl or her father are most at fault here... I wouldn't be surprised if someone took up this case on the family's behalf - nor that the Principal was moved 'aside' or sacked altogether for bringing the school and diocese into such notorious disrepute... Check out their Wiki page - which is dominated by articles on the discrimination... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:21pm Watch a video news report here... http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/blogs/blunt-instrument/private-school-pr-fails-to-excuse-antilesbian-sentiment/20101110-17mmm.html |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:26pm Quote:
The opening line from your link equitist. Don't think I'm gonna get an objective, unbiased account here.... the computer I'm on doesn't have sound though, so won't get much from the interview either... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:33pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:15pm:
It is a religious school, yes? Sooo, it would be discriminatory to force them to compromise their religious beliefs wouldn't it? If she doesn't want to abide by them, theres plenty of godless schools where she can be petulant to her hearts content. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:37pm
Ok wesley, take a step back, and imagine it's 30 or 40 years ago, and your daughter is being punished for being (gasp) left-handed....
How would you react??? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Verge on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:54pm
Okay, Im gonna ask this, but doesnt being a private school give them the right to exclude people for whatever reason they choose, and by joining that school you agree to be bound by the rules of that school?
If this happened in a public school my arms would be high in the air. But as for a private school Im pretty undecided only because since its private when you go there you do agree to their rules, and if you dont like them you are also free to leave. I feel for the kid, but no one made them go there in the first place. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:57pm ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:33pm:
Then WHY did you say you wouldn't let your daughter change schools??? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:06pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 2:57pm:
Because I was talking about the girl in the story, not my own daughter. I wouldn't send mine to a religious school to begin with. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:09pm
How are these precious little brats ever going to deal with real life?
Will their answer to every little problem be neurotic wrist flapping? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:17pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:09pm:
If I want your opinion on this thread I will give it for you amoeba |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:39pm HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:17pm:
The joke museum must be clearing some of it`s old crap out. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:41pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:39pm:
You wanting to play amoeba as you have nothing other than a half witted brain |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:46pm
I saw the segment on the "lesbian" brats last night, a more worthless pair of deadbeats would be hard to find anywhere.
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:49pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:46pm:
Your daughters amoeba |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:50pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:46pm:
Huh!? They seemed like pretty typical 21st century teenage girls to me...judging by the female peers of my sons, nieces, nephews and neighbours... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:53pm HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:49pm:
I`m proud to say, nothing in common at all to these whining lesbian wrist flappers, who need to be wrapped in cotton wool, just to survive. I`m condemning their whining whimpishness, not their sexuality. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:55pm Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:50pm:
Tell your kids to be a bit more selective, discriminatory even. They won`t need to go far to find a role model. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:56pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:55pm:
They wont find it in you amoeba |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:00pm HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:56pm:
Higherbeam is throwing a tanty these girls would be proud of. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:14pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:53pm:
Yeah right - you just keep telling yourself that... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:14pm ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:00pm:
I dont like trolls with no brains and have only negative things to say.and wont participate except to troll.if he wants to stop his trolling I will back off |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Equitist on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:19pm Apparently, the year 11 girl Hannah did not break any documented school rules - and she was not suspended or expelled, rather she is being withdrawn from the school due to parental concern over targeted discrimination... If anything, it would seem that the school's Principal has been making up special discriminatory rules around that particular girl's case as it went along... It has been claimed, that a Yr 10 boy (who cannot be a student at the all-girls school and cannot therefore be a fee-paying student) was ultimately permitted to attend that Formal as a 'guest' of another Yr 11 girl... However, the girl Hannah's Yr 10 girlfriend is/was a fee-paying student at the school... So, if that claim is true, then the school ought to be in deep shyte - especially if girl Hannah was (as has been alleged) the only student who was asked to provide details of the age of her intended Formal 'guest'... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:57pm Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:19pm:
You'd think if that was true, then the EOC would have made a ruling against the school pretty quick smart? But they havent..... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:10pm HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:14pm:
Go your hardest silly, retards don`t bother me. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by jame-e on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:48pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:09am:
When you say gay thing, do you mean a person who is a bit goofy and lame? Or something (anything) that you don't like and/or agree with? Or sexual relations between two members of the same sex? Or do you mean to disagree with the act of penetrative sex between two males? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by bobbythebat1 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:07pm
I feel sorry for the girls but on the other hand -
why couldn't they arrange male dance partners just for the night? Perhaps they would have learnt something & it would have been a rewarding experience for them? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 6:38am Bobby. wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:07pm:
Why should they have had to bobby?? How would you feel if you were told you HAD to take a male partner to a dinner/dance, instead of your wife/girlfriend???? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:18am ... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:57pm:
Wrong. This is the reason it was dismissed: ANTI-DISCRIMINATION ACT 1977 - SECT 49ZO Education 49ZO Education (1) It is unlawful for an educational authority to discriminate against a person on the ground of homosexuality: (a) by refusing or failing to accept the person’s application for admission as a student, or (b) in the terms on which it is prepared to admit the person as a student. (2) It is unlawful for an educational authority to discriminate against a student on the ground of homosexuality: (a) by denying the student access, or limiting the student’s access, to any benefit provided by the educational authority, or (b) by expelling the student or subjecting the student to any other detriment. (3) Nothing in this section applies to or in respect of a private educational authority. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:21am what_katy_did wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:18am:
You see, private schools can do what they want. NONE of the anti-discrimination legislation applies to them - they can refuse a child if they have a disability! And the state funds private schools and allows them to have exemption from basic human rights legislation. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:23am what_katy_did wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:18am:
You see, private schools can do what they want. NONE of the anti-discrimination legislation applies to them - they can refuse a child if they have a disability! And the state funds private schools and allows them to have exemption from basic human rights legislation. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by bobbythebat1 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:40am gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 6:38am:
Why? - I just said why - a rewarding & learning experience. You are supposed to learn something a school. I wouldn't accept having to go to a dance with a guy because I am a guy. Guys don't dance together - what a stupid question. Only poofs dance together. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 8:34am Bobby. wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:40am:
That's my point bobby, you would be angry if you were told to take a man, because YOU prefer girls.... The same thing applies to this girl, she prefers girls, so why should she be forced to go to the dance with someone other than her preference??? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by Verge on Nov 12th, 2010 at 8:39am what_katy_did wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 7:18am:
I feel for the kid, but it wasnt the kid who was denied access, it was their partner. Also, the whole idea of a private school is that. People are free to come and go, but if you come you do so under the rules of that organisation. Its a tough luck situation, but it wasnt a public school. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 9:52am Verge wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 8:39am:
Well whaddya know...there IS a bit of common sense applied to the anti-discrimination act after all! Why should people/organisations be forced to condone things which go against their beliefs? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by bobbythebat1 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:21am gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 8:34am:
Because it is good for her development. It's part of the process of learning. She will have interact with males at some stage & this will prepare her. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:36am Bobby. wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:21am:
And at the risk of sounding cliche, what if she preferred orangutans, but was told to bring a human? eh? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:37am Bobby. wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:21am:
The girl's 16 or something isn't she?? How likely is it that a 16 yr old hasn't interacted with boys for most of her life?? She's only been going out with her girlfriend for 8 months ,so possibly the girl herself had only realised her sexuality in the last couple of years..... 12 or 14 years of 'interacting' with males should be all the practice she needs.... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:43am gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:37am:
LOL...yes, because 16 year old boys or girls are sooo worldly, wise and mature aren't they? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:45am ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:43am:
Funny Wesley, but most children work out the basics of human interaction by the time they start high school, the rest is just fine-tuning.... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:54am gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:45am:
Yes, but similarly, most 6 year olds have learnt the basics of football, but they need *just a bit* of practise before you could say they are competent at it. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:46am
These useless brats will howl at every obsticle that presents itself in their lives. FFS, a middle aged male meets more discrimination than this trivia every day. Time for them to grow up a bit.
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:50am aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:46am:
Fat chance with her nutless daddy pandering to her every whim. I foresee a promising future in frivolous lawsuits a'la kristy fraser-kirk, for this girl, aided and abetted by a limp, emasculated 'man' too afraid to tell his daughter to stop being so precious and get on with it. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by bobbythebat1 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:14pm
This whole thrtead is getting rather silly.
The girls need practice in dealing with males. They will have plenty of time for their carpet munching activities for the rest of their lives. They should have gone to the function & picked a male partner. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by darkhall67 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:24pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:14pm:
Who says they dont have practice in dealing with males? Just because they are lesbians doesnt mean they have never met a male , talked to a male or even had male friends. You seem to be suggesting that if only they would associate with males (by going to a dance with them) their lesbianism would be "cured". |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:31pm darkhall67 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:24pm:
In many cases, it does. Not all, but many. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:40pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:14pm:
Ok so what do you think the girl would have 'learned' by going to the dance with a male??? That she's not attracted to males??? I think she already knows that.... Or could it be she'd learn that other people have the right to dictate her lifestyle choices??? This ban was simply based on the fact that her partner was another girl....it wasn't about 'Year 10 students can't attend', because a Year 10 boy did attend, and from the way the article was written, Hannah was the only one who wanted to bring a girlfriend, so that's unlikely to 'destroy' the balance of boy-vs-girl at the dance.... It was the bias of the Headmistress and, possibly, the school that caused all this ruckus.... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:58pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:40pm:
No, it was the sensationalistic media that caused all this ruckus. Gotta give the army of clapping seals something to get all outraged about - and what fits the bill better than a good spot of christian bashing eh? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:59pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:50am:
Wes, my boy was involved in a horror car accident, broken back, lost one foot, all ribs on left side broken & more. He was in IC for over five days, many months recuperating, isn`t a paraplegic but had to learn to walk again etc. He and his family lost their family home, due to his loss of income and expenses. Apart from going after the idiot who hit his landcruiser on the left hand side at very high speed, the only comment he`s ever made on the event is to say how lucky his wife wasn`t in the car as she would have been but not for freak circumstances. I`m proud of him, I can`t help but compare these whining rsoles. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by bobbythebat1 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:01pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:58pm:
Well it got us writing posts ;D |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:12pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 12:58pm:
And aren't christian schools and churches bound by the same rules as the rest of Australia???? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:17pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:12pm:
Nope. Quote:
And why should they be? They are entitled to their beliefs. What the shrill, screaming lefties need to understand is that forcing everybody to compromise whatever beliefs they may have, so as not to offend some whining jokers, is discrimination too. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:23pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:17pm:
Ok so if the school objected to her lifestyle choice, why didn't they a) expell her, or b) admit that the reason she couldn't bring her girlfriend was, well, because she WAS a girl??? Why go through the song and dance about 'no Year 10 students' and then allow a male Yr 10 student to attend??? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:28pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:23pm:
Because the reaction of the brainless PC clowns is as predictable as clockwork? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:40pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:28pm:
And just as predictable as the reaction of the anti-gay patrol... Let's face it, if the girl's 'boyfriend' had been banned for being the wrong colour, or from the wrong religion or too old.....you'd be complaining about 'discrimination'.. But because the school's bias is in line with yours, you don't see it as 'discrimination'..... Tell me, what are you going to do if your daughter walks up to you ( in 15 or 16 years) and 'comes out'?????? Just remember, there's pretty much a 50/50 chance that she might... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 2:17pm Quote:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 2:46pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 2:17pm:
Laugh way, but it's really true...well maybe 33 1/3 chance then... But think, she's either going to like boys, or girls, or both.... So if your daughter only has 3 choices, then it's a 1/3 bet on which...yes?? That's NOT based on statistics across the population...just on 1 case...LOL |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:20pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 2:46pm:
On the off chance she did, do you think i would expect everyone else to abandon their beliefs to accommodate her? Hopefully she'll be raised with a little more respect than this 'it's all about what I want and stuff the rest of you' girl. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by sprintcyclist on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:20pm the school runs the dance, they decide who can come and who can't. schoolgirl lesbians want to run a dance, fine. go and do it. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:27pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:20pm:
But would you expect a school that you paid $4k or $6k per month to be a little more understanding...or at least a little more 'upfront' about their rules??? It's mostly the idea that they had to 'make up' a bogus rule that annoys me... If they'd at least been honest enough to say, straight out, that same sex couples couldn't attend school dances, that would be acceptable (wrong, for discrimination reasons, but at least honest)....WHY lie about the reason for the refusal??? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:33pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:27pm:
History has demonstarted that the gay lobby aren't too keen on anything or anyone who doesn't immediately fall to their knees, fawning over fhow faaaaabulous they are. Whether unlawful or not, any action that casts homosexuals in anythign less than a positively glowing light is met with shrill protests that would just get on ya bloody nerves. If you could avoid having a busload of screaming queers picketing outside your office, merely for exercising your right to live according to your beliefs, you'd take it, right? I mean, it's not exactly a secret that christianity doesn't condone homosexuality, is it? It wouldn't take a genius to realise they're not exactly going to encourage a student to flout the very foundations of their teachings. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:39pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:33pm:
But would it really have hurt to allow ONE student, from a group of, roughly, 40 or 50 a little slack for ONE function??? What did they expect, that EVERY girl in the 'next' Yr 11 class would want to bring a female partner to the next Yr 11 formal??? Seriously, shouldn't they either bend to current attitudes, or at least state publically they they won't?? It seems to be a fairly isolated case.....what would the school do about a girl who, while being heterosexual, didn't know any boy well enough to invite to the dance?? Ban her too??? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:40pm
It's still an unjustified over reaction....
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:01pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:39pm:
I read in one version of the artcile that 'about half' of the girls didn't bring any partner at all. But that'd be too easy.... |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:34pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 10:43am:
16 year old boys or girls would know if they are gay or not. ask a gay person when they realised they were gay and it's usually before they even hit puberty. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:39pm what_katy_did wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:34pm:
I can't argue with that, but many aren't sure at age 16 either. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:47pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:39pm:
so if a young person 'isn't sure', then they aren't sure. i'm not 'sure' what that actually has to do with this situation, where the girl seems pretty sure to me. But apart from all that, I have to mention that Chris Lily classic 'Summer Heights High' - if any of you haven't seen it, find the 'school formal' episode on U-tube - the main character Jaime decides it would be 'hot' to take a lesbian to the formal... pretty funny even if it is poking fun at a serious topic. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:58pm what_katy_did wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:47pm:
Doesn't matter anyway - this isn't about whether she is or isn't a lezza - this is about children learning that you sometimes have to play by the rules, even if it doesn't go your way. Having a sook might work on daddy dearest, but ya can't win 'em all. |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by what_katy_did on Nov 12th, 2010 at 5:09pm ... wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 4:58pm:
or, it may teach her that it takes courage to stand up and fight when you believe that people are being treated unjustly, even when it's likely that you may be ridiculed for your efforts? |
Title: Re: No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Nov 12th, 2010 at 5:14pm what_katy_did wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 5:09pm: