General Discussion >> Thinking Globally >> Bush popularity climbs http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1289361831 Message started by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:03pm |
Title: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:03pm
Hate to say I told you so, but when he left office I said the passage of time would show his Presidency a lot better than the loonies were screaming.
History has always been a better judge than any other. ++++++++++++++++++++++ As President George W Bush's memoir hits US bookstores, it seems that the American public is now viewing his presidency in a more favourable light. The BBC's Katie Connolly explores why Americans look so fondly on their former leaders. When George W Bush boarded the presidential helicopter for the final time on a frosty January morning in 2009, the crowds gathered on the Washington Mall for Barack Obama's inauguration booed and yelled colourful epithets as his chopper passed overhead. Mr Bush was deeply unpopular at the time. While his approval rating after the 9/11 attacks was the highest in history, by October 2008, his favourability had tumbled to a low of 25%. Now, less than two years after he left office, Americans appear to be looking upon Mr Bush a little more fondly. According to Gallup polling data, Mr Bush's approval ratings have increased by 10 points - from 35% to 45% - in the 18 months following January 2009. In an October poll, CNN found that only 47% of Americans thought Mr Obama was a better president than Mr Bush, compared to 45% who favoured Mr Bush. In 2009, Mr Obama was preferred by a margin of 23 points. "The perspective of time is already softening the once harsh edges of judgment on the legacy of President George W Bush," former Bush adviser Mark McKinnon recently wrote on The Daily Beast. "Torn by worry, folks long for his steadying hand. They miss his warmth and empathy." Even Maureen Dowd, the New York Times columnist whose rapier pen dripped scorn on the Bush administration at every opportunity, recently expressed a desire to hear Mr Bush speak out against Islamophobia. This week, Mr Bush is embarking on a series of heavily anticipated television interviews - his first since leaving office - to promote his new memoir, which has an enormous first print run of 1.5m, indicating that his publisher expects strong sales. Presidential biographer Doug Brinkley, who has chronicled the presidencies of Jimmy Carter, Gerald Ford and Theodore Roosevelt, says that "a kind of nostalgia for a different time starts settling in" after a president leaves office. "What you remember about these presidents is that you lived with them for a period of time. Partly, you remember that era when you were younger," Doris Kearns Goodwin, a Pulitzer Prize winning presidential historian, told the BBC. "Maybe there is a desire to look more kindly on ex-presidents because it makes you feel better about the country." Mr Brinkley says the tendency to revere presidents once they've left office is part of a peculiarly American "celebrity culture" where presidents are the ultimate celebrity - members of the most elite club of all, their autographs and photographs sought after. "We have a kind of cult of the presidency: their birthplaces, where they lived, any place with presidential associations becomes a national historical site," Mr Brinkley points out He also says that America's defiant individualism works in favour of ex-presidents even as it dogs sitting presidents. "We build up the individual so much that they get all the credit and all the blame," he says. In remembering, Americans tend to subjugate the larger forces of history to the force of the individual. For example, Ronald Reagan is often solely credited with winning the Cold War even though complex political and social dynamics were at play. Similarly, while in the White House, presidents bear the brunt of the nation's woes, as Mr Obama quickly discovered. "When they're in office, we brutalize our presidents," Mr Brinkley says. "We're a very impatient society. We tend to blame presidents if the economy is bad or unemployment is high - it's always the president's fault." "The reality is that we have all sorts of second acts in America," says Mr Brinkley. Mr Bush, who often remarked that history will be his judge, might well agree. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by perceptions_now on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:07pm
Funny you should bring up George W, I just posted a little about him in the Philosophy section -
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1289262936/5#5 |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by vegitamite on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:09pm
Yeh. Im guessing it is a bit like How you like your once hated neighbour- and that is when he moves on.
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:18pm
For presidential historians, Mr Bush's slowly ascending post-presidential approval ratings aren't surprising in the least. Almost every president has had a similar revision.
Presidential biographer Doug Brinkley, who has chronicled the presidencies of Jimmy Carter, Gerald Ford and Theodore Roosevelt, says that "a kind of nostalgia for a different time starts settling in" after a president leaves office. "What you remember about these presidents is that you lived with them for a period of time. Partly, you remember that era when you were younger," Doris Kearns Goodwin, a Pulitzer Prize winning presidential historian, told the BBC. "Maybe there is a desire to look more kindly on ex-presidents because it makes you feel better about the country." Mr Brinkley says the tendency to revere presidents once they've left office is part of a peculiarly American "celebrity culture" where presidents are the ultimate celebrity - members of the most elite club of all, their autographs and photographs sought after. "We have a kind of cult of the presidency: their birthplaces, where they lived, any place with presidential associations becomes a national historical site," Mr Brinkley points out. He also says that America's defiant individualism works in favour of ex-presidents even as it dogs sitting presidents. "We build up the individual so much that they get all the credit and all the blame," he says. In remembering, Americans tend to subjugate the larger forces of history to the force of the individual. For example, Ronald Reagan is often solely credited with winning the Cold War even though complex political and social dynamics were at play. Similarly, while in the White House, presidents bear the brunt of the nation's woes, as Mr Obama quickly discovered. "When they're in office, we brutalize our presidents," Mr Brinkley says. "We're a very impatient society. We tend to blame presidents if the economy is bad or unemployment is high - it's always the president's fault." FULL article ... http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/world-us-canada-11714115 |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Karnal on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:50pm
Is it just me, or do others think it's strange that there are approval polls on FORMER presidents?
Many Bush haters will also be buying Bush's book. I'd love to read it. You can't blame the US's current financial situation entirely on Bush, but you can blame him for creating a huge defecit through the war in Iraq and his subsidies to drug companies - problems left to Obama to solve. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by adelcrow on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:26pm
Bush is popular in the USA after he managed to drag the country into the biggest economic disaster since the Great Depression?..Just shows how dumb some yanks are :)
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:29pm
A president who admits he allowed himself to be misled on the reasons for invading another country - he'll go down in history.
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:40pm adelcrow wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:26pm:
Have a look up the de-regulation of the sub-prime housing market and the easing of restrictions on reporting of multi-facet investment vehicles on US banking balance sheets. Then look at the year this was implemented. Then look at the President in charge in that year. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by adelcrow on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:45pm
The thousands of dead young Americans, the many thousands of mentally and physically crippled war veterans and the increase of suicides, alcohol and drug abuse as well the increase in domestic violence, murders and assaults that will escalate over the next few decades involving the ex service men and women from the Iraq and Afghan invasions.
Lets not forget the worldwide increase in terrorist attacks, deaths and injuries since the invasions. This should ensure that the dimwitted GW Bush is remembered for a very long time :) |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by perceptions_now on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:46pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:40pm:
I agree, that was dumb, at best and was attributable to Clinton! However, at least Clinton did a much better job, relatively speaking, on Deificts & Debt, than did both bush's, Reagan & Obama. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:49pm adelcrow wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:45pm:
The attack on the USS Cole The 9/11 attackers plans and trips to Afghanistan The bombing of the World Trade Center The Oklahoma Bombings The invasion of Kosovo The cruise missile strikes on Iraq All of these under William J Clinton. Bush was placed in an intolerable situation of the USA being attacked my Muslims from outside of the USA on their own soil. He also had a madman left in charge in Iraq sitting on a huge supply of the world's oil, threatening Israel and threatening allies in the region. There was no option but to remove him and invade the country. I care little for the semantics of whether it was legal or not - which I believe it was. As Mr Blair put it, it was 'simply the right thing to do and would I do it again? Yes. Absolutely.'' |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by adelcrow on Nov 10th, 2010 at 3:57pm
Spin it any way you like Andrei, in the 8 yrs GW Bush was president he did nothing to halt the over heating market and corruption in the US financial system. He was to busy destroying a generation of young Americans by getting them to chase Osama Bin Laden around the mountains and implementing his personal vendetta against Saddam Hussein. He was even willing to pour TRILLIONS of BORROWED dollars into propping up corrupt, child raping, warlords and their private armies as well as corrupt pollies in Afghanistan and Iraq while the US economy was collapsing around his ears.
Yep..this dill will be remembered for a very very long time! |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by adelcrow on Nov 10th, 2010 at 4:09pm
GW Bush managed to send in cargo planes that were full to the brim with PALLET loads of BORROWED CASH that was handed out to support these child rapists, drug lords, torturers and murders while the US economy was collapsing and decent hardworking Americans were losing their jobs and houses at record rates.
Much of this cash which the US taxpayer will have to pay back for many decades went to fund and expand the very same terrorist groups the invasion was intended to destroy. Who made sure these terrorist groups had the cash to recruit, buy weapons and bombs that would kill and maim US soldiers?..GW Bush did! Yep..GW Bush was a genius! |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by adelcrow on Nov 10th, 2010 at 4:25pm
Why did GW Bush invade Iraq,? It was no coincidence that not long after Saddam Hussein announced he was signing a deal with France, China and Russia to sell them crude oil in Euros, GW Bush announced he was going to attack Iraq.
The irony is, China, Russia and France are still going to get their hands on the very same oil and all it cost is the lives of thousands of young American soldiers and the US taxpayer trillions of dollars they will have to pay back to...China Yep..G W Bush will be remembered for a very long time. The President who, in 8 yrs, managed to destroy the US economy, destroy countless of US lives for many decades and leave a war and failed economy debt for many generations to come. The terrorist groups, warlords and corrupt pollies in Afghanistan and Iraq will remember GW Bush as a generous financier and friend. Im sure every US citizen including the war dead and the mentally and physically crippled war veterans will thank GW Bush for his legacy :) |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by skippy. on Nov 10th, 2010 at 4:37pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 2:03pm:
Yea Hitler is pretty popular in Germany nowadays too. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by codswal on Nov 10th, 2010 at 5:26pm adelcrow wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 4:09pm:
what on earth are you referring too..you can be more precise than that surely? |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by philperth2010 on Nov 10th, 2010 at 8:45pm
9/11 gave him his chance for swift punishment....
In the defense of our nation, a president must be a clear-eyed realist. There are limits to the smiles and scowls of diplomacy. Armies and missiles are not stopped by stiff notes of condemnation. They are held in check by strength and purpose and the promise of swift punishment. George W. Bush, speech, November 19, 1999 For too long, many nations, including my own, tolerated, even excused, oppression in the Middle East in the name of stability. Oppression became common, but stability never arrived. We must take a different approach. We must help the reformers of the Middle East as they work for freedom, and strive to build a community of peaceful, democratic nations. George W. Bush, Speech to UN General Assembly, September 21, 2004 and the people of Afghanistan and Iraq are still being punished!!! >:( |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by darkhall67 on Nov 10th, 2010 at 8:52pm |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 10th, 2010 at 9:05pm codswal wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 5:26pm:
Crazy eh. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by longweekend58 on Nov 10th, 2010 at 10:03pm
||Now, less than two years after he left office, Americans appear to be looking upon Mr Bush a little more fondly. ||
americans... they hold APPROVAL RATINGS on a leader that left 2 years ago. can we have approval polls on howard and Rudd please? what a ridiculous and truly absurd idea. 'approval' is a subjective and partisan value at the best but when you allow the passage of time to alter the perception of truth it makes the measure truly absurd. Did you know that the soviet leader who has the highest approval is stalin? Does anyone else wonder how a single russian could vote for a man that killed 30million of his people including almost all the officers in his army just as hitler marched on russia? dumb as... bush was a moron and stalin a murderous tyrant. History has judge both of them kindly. But apparently, history is also a moron. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:19am
Hear Hear longweekend.
Let's not forget Reagan either. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by vegitamite on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:28am
Its a worry how easily people forget .
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by philperth2010 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:35am
It would appear as though Andre was a GW Bush fan......please tell us why GW Bush was such a good president Andre???
;) |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by philperth2010 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:37am codswal wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 5:26pm:
WASHINGTON (CNN) -- Nearly $9 billion of money spent on Iraqi reconstruction is unaccounted for because of inefficiencies and bad management, according to a watchdog report published Sunday. http://edition.cnn.com/2005/WORLD/meast/01/30/iraq.audit/ http://forums.macnn.com/95/political-war-lounge/326829/us-12-billion-100-notes-goes/ http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,129489,00.html http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2006/02/09/60minutes/main1302378.shtml :) |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by skippy. on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:40am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:35am:
UMMM he came from Texas? Andre et al probably has a Texas rangers badge. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by aussiefree2ride on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:49am skippy. wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:40am:
Shouldn`t you be getting ready for school? |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by HigherBeam on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:51am aussiefree2ride wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:49am:
Shouldn't you grow a brain before posting |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:15am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:35am:
Because he wasn't a Democrat ? |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:22am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 10th, 2010 at 8:45pm:
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George Bush Jr —Washington, D.C., Aug. 5, 2004 |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by perceptions_now on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:26am buzzanddidj wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:22am:
Buzz, Perhaps this should be in the Philosophy section, under "Freudian Slip"? |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:39am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 7:35am:
I didn't say he was a fantastic President, I said he was nowhere near as bad as people were making out at the end of his term. For example Jimmy Carter was a far worse President. This current clown in the White House is also proving to be pretty average as well, having achieved very little other than to look at raising our taxes to pay for lowlifes to get healthcare and bailing out large corporates at our expense. I am a United States taxpayer now and that rankles with me. Bush was not a poor President. He certainly wasn't as good as Reagan or Eisenhower but he was far from a shambles like Carter. He had a very difficult time to govern, Muslim terrorism and a crisis inherited from Clinton's de-regulation caused it to be a torrid time. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by longweekend58 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:30am perceptions_now wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:26am:
Ive got an entire deskcalendar of 'bushisms' his mangled version of english. He truly was an inarticulate president. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:47am
"For example Jimmy Carter was a far worse President."
The only President to keep the USA out of war, in recent times. But of course, because he wan't re-elected, and because he was a democrat, and because the iranians surrendered the hostages minutes after Reagan was elected, mr hicks decides Carter was a failure. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:49am
Since leaving office, Carter's reputation has much improved. Carter's presidential approval rating, which sat at 31% just prior to the 1980 election, was polled in early 2009 at 64%.[59] Carter's continued post-Presidency activities have also been favorably received. Carter explains that a great deal of this change was owed to Reagan's successor, George H.W. Bush, who actively sought him out and was far more courteous and interested in his advice than Reagan had been.[54] Carter has maintained working relationships with former Presidents Clinton and George H.W. Bush, and despite their political differences the three men all have become good friends over the years while working together in a number of humanitarian and other projects.
Wikipedia |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by longweekend58 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:06pm Please delete wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:49am:
The way ex-presidents get rehabilitated over time is amazing and shows just how truly flawed memories are. Carter was a nice bloke but a hopelessly incompetent president. GWB's improvement is simple because people now start to blam obama for the recession - which GWB delivered. In my view Obama managed to avoid a depression which we would NOT have been able to avoid. If he does nothing else right then he has done more than his predecessor. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:19pm longweekend58 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:06pm:
Obama has been an abject failure on nearly every front. I probably would have preferred the Ice Queen to have won the Presidency instead of him. And that is a long stretch.... We can hope and pray for a Republican candidate to beat him next time. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by longweekend58 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:33pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:19pm:
the only trouble is your objection is and has always been nothing more than that he was a Democrat. That makes it hard to debate your objections since your true reason is unstated. Obama came into power with a economy teetering on the edge of depression - genuine depression. He kept it out of depression. That is an acheivement that history will certianly record. and he is doing that amazingly corrupt and appalling notion of giving health care to the poor. another first. To date, he has failed to acheive what most hoped, but acheived far more than Bush ever could. If Obama was a republican you would be praising him. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:37pm longweekend58 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 12:33pm:
Not true actually. I have some issues with Republican policy as well. I take individuals as I find them. I think the job Clinton did was not bad and it was better he won than Bob Dole. Obama though, is poor. He has done little, unemployment is rising, there is pressure on the dollar, there is pressure on cost of living prices, we're paying close to $3 per gallon for petrol and he is doing little about it. Put simply he has talked a lot of talk and not followed through on hardly any of it. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:33pm
"the only trouble is your objection is and has always been nothing more than that he was a Democrat. That makes it hard to debate your objections since your true reason is unstated. Obama came into power with a economy teetering on the edge of depression - genuine depression. He kept it out of depression. That is an acheivement that history will certianly record. and he is doing that amazingly corrupt and appalling notion of giving health care to the poor. another first. To date, he has failed to acheive what most hoped, but acheived far more than Bush ever could. If Obama was a republican you would be praising him."
Bravo! |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by philperth2010 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 4:58pm buzzanddidj wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:22am:
He was a very funny man Buzz!!! ....it is better to succeed with success than failure. George W. Bush Jan. 21, 2001, Inauguration speech Most of our imports come from other countries. George W. Bush (1946 - ), Robin Williams, Live on Broadway :) |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by philperth2010 on Nov 11th, 2010 at 5:22pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 8:39am:
Sorry Andre.....I cannot agree and I will give you some examples why....the shonky election that got him elected in the first place. 9/11. Iraq, Afghanistan, Katrina, Al Ghareb, Guantanamo Bay and the beginning of the financial crisis.....all happened during the Bush administration.....he otherwise might be a good bloke to have a beer with....cheerz!!! :) |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by codswal on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:08pm
the only trouble is your objection is and has always been nothing more than that he was a Democrat. That makes it hard to debate your objections since your true reason is unstated. Obama came into power with a economy teetering on the edge of depression - genuine depression. He kept it out of depression. That is an acheivement that history will certianly record. and he is doing that amazingly corrupt and appalling notion of giving health care to the poor. another first. To date, he has failed to acheive what most hoped, but acheived far more than Bush ever could. If Obama was a republican you would be praising him.
Back to top xxxxxxxxxxxx I disagree with that assumption Obama well knew of the financial problems America had, Bush was already dealing with them..yet he kept yelling at the top of his voice... YES WE CAN..but I didnt see too much on the HOW CAN WE side of things, he was a good talker he had a way with words. and in America thats what counts.he didnt have too much substance though as far as I could see. he more or less gave them the idea he had a secret formular for fixing everything... and at the end of the day.. he didnt, and it is now begining to show.. he had a lot of gloss.but when that wears off.... what then? at least he hasnt panicked like rudd and Co did chucking money left right and centre..we ar still on the stimulus bandwagon. and I dont think they dare get off it |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 12th, 2010 at 6:43am
Bush was a "lucky" president.
Lucky to have been elected in the first place (though some would argue that it was engineered luck). Lucky that 9/11 happened (I know that sounds awful, but it was the saving of Bush's presidency, and Howard's government, IMO). Lucky to get out before the worst of the GFC hit (again, as was Howard). |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 12th, 2010 at 8:53am codswal wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:08pm:
He WAS ? Any SPECIFICS ? Quote:
The U.S. Senate approved an $838 billion economic stimulus package, clearing the way for negotiations with the House over a compromise plan that President Barack Obama wants lawmakers to send him within days. The Senate today voted 61 to 37 to approve its measure. The bill provides $293 billion in tax cuts and more than $500 billion in new spending that the legislation’s supporters call critical to preventing the economy from sinking deeper into recession. http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=newsarchive&sid=avjaj6bH8g9I If ANYTHING .... Too little, too late The Australian Government was the FIRST to act in confidence with a fast and bold series of stimuli measures that brought home the best result The only OECD member never to have gone into recession The lowest OECD member unemployment |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Ernie on Nov 12th, 2010 at 8:58am
The Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 (Pub.L. 110-185, 122 Stat. 613, enacted February 13, 2008) was an Act of Congress providing for several kinds of economic stimuli intended to boost the United States economy in 2008 and to avert a recession, or ameliorate economic conditions. The stimulus package was passed by the U.S. House of Representatives on January 29, 2008, and in a slightly different version by the U.S. Senate on February 7, 2008. The Senate version was then approved in the House the same day.[1] It was signed into law on February 13, 2008 by President Bush with the support of a majority of Democratic lawmakers, as well as a minority of Republicans. The law provides for tax rebates to low- and middle-income U.S. taxpayers, tax incentives to stimulate business investment, and an increase in the limits imposed on mortgages eligible for purchase by government-sponsored enterprises (e.g., Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac). The total cost of this bill was projected at $152 billion for 2008.[2]
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Dragoneyes on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:19am
Bush was an incredible President and many in the U.S still yearn for his return.
he is mostly critisized by oustiders,non Americans who attack him on the position he took for invading Iraq. ok,one can see and understand this. but,in terms of the average red blooded American,the best years economically,were under Bush. Obama,has done nothing to truly alleviate the economic drudgery the country is currently facing and hopefully he will be removed from office. personally,i would like to see Mitt Romney win.though a Mormon,and not a Christian,he delivers a sweeping set of measures which will make America competitive again. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by darkhall67 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:29am Dragoneyes wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:19am:
Astounding. Really astounding. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by skippy. on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:33am darkhall67 wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:29am:
Americans are not renowned for their high IQs. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by pansi1951 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:53am skippy. wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:33am:
Half of them wouldn't even know who he is. They're the lucky ones. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:54am Quote:
Mormons ARE Christians, you DRONGO ! You're confusing Mormons with Catholics |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 12th, 2010 at 1:47pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 12th, 2010 at 11:53am:
The very same people you are referring to tend to be from your social level though. People with a low education, hold low paying minimum wage jobs who are angry with the world for perceived unfairness. You'll find the United States also has a lot of educated people aware of a lot more than you. Kind of explains why as a country it has more nobel prize winners than the rest of the world added together. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by skippy. on Nov 12th, 2010 at 2:13pm Quote:
I certainly hope you don't count yourself amongst them, as from what I've seen of you even meeelie looks bright. I think my favourite work of yours so far has to be your posts on 'foreigners" clearly a genius,not,lol. |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by pansi1951 on Nov 12th, 2010 at 3:37pm
<<Kind of explains why as a country it has more nobel prize winners than the rest of the world added together.>>
....................................................................................... Barack Obama got the Nobel Peace Prize while fighting two wars. I'm surprised George W didn't pick up the odd peace prize lol. He actually had the audacity to compare himself to Abe Lincoln, who freed the slaves.....what a tossa. "We never stop thinking of ways to harm our people" |
Title: Re: Bush popularity climbs Post by codswal on Nov 12th, 2010 at 5:18pm
andrei I think you may find Mark Latham popularity is on the increase here right now...lol