General Discussion >> General Board >> Pink Ribbon gender politics
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1288131402

Message started by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:16am

Title: Pink Ribbon gender politics
Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:16am
Not so long ago, my child's school had it's first pink ribbon day whereby all students were required to present at school wearing a pink shirt, this and were required to make a gold coin donation towards cancer.

The schools intention was to aerial photograph the kids in a heart-shape...'how inventive' needless to say, most boys had the day off...not owning a pink shirt and all.

What's wrong with both a pink and blue ribbon day, prostate and breast cancer awareness for both men and woman?

Must everything have a pink ribbon on it, and why are charities increasingly making their presence felt in our kids schools?

I recall jump-rope for heart, and MS readathons when I was at school, this and I always participated actively, as I enjoyed being active and reading,  heart disease and MS being gender neutral.
I'm tired of pink-ribbon politics in this country.

Bear in mind  Cardiovascular disease (CVD) is still the leading cause of death in Australia, not breast cancer specifically.

::)

Title: Re: Pink Ribbon gender politics
Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:37am
I know what you mean Mellie, it is a bit distastefull tha the most fanatical self interest groups seem to be this way.

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:41am

mellie wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:16am:
Not so long ago, my child's school had it's first pink ribbon day whereby all students were required to present at school wearing a pink shirt, this and were required to make a gold coin donation towards cancer.

The schools intention was to aerial photograph the kids in a heart-shape...'how inventive' needless to say, most boys had the day off...not owning a pink shirt and all.

What's wrong with both a pink and blue ribbon day, prostate and breast cancer awareness for both men and woman?

Must everything have a pink ribbon on it, and why are charities increasingly making their presence felt in our kids schools?

I recall jump-rope for heart, and MS readathons when I was at school, this and I always participated actively, as I enjoyed being active and reading,  heart disease and MS being gender neutral.

Bear in mind  Cardiovascular disease (CVD) is still the leading cause of death in Australia, not breast cancer specifically.

The Cancer foundation does a great job. Next week I'll be growing a Mo again.

I have to agree with you though. Prostate cancer is a biggy, and we men are a bit more squeamish about tests than women. A pink and blue day would be a great idea. I'll mention it to a mate who works for the Cancer foundation.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:44am
It's pink-ribbon socialism ....Obama and Gillard have this in common.

These charities are not required to divulge their CEO's salaries, and or corporate-partnership earnings.

What happened to Rudds promise of making charitable orgs CEO's salaries transparent back in 2007?

Stop funding socialism and the green-left  (ASEM) guys, because this is exactly what you are doing when your bleeding little hearts prescribe to these emotive and lucrative campaigns.

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:46am

mellie wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:44am:
It's pink-ribbon socialism ....Obama and Gillard have this in common.

These charities are not required to divulge their CEO's salaries, and or corporate-partnership earnings.

What happened to Rudds promise of making charitable orgs CEO's salaries transparent back in 2007?

Stop funding socialism and the green-left  (ASEM) guys, because this is exactly what you are doing when your bleeding little hearts prescribe to these emotive and lucrative campaigns.

Uh  :o

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:46am

muso wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:41am:

The Cancer foundation does a great job. Next week I'll be growing a Mo again.

I have to agree with you though. Prostate cancer is a biggy, and we men are a bit more squeamish about tests than women. A pink and blue day would be a great idea. I'll mention it to a mate who works for the Cancer foundation.

Yes, and I'll be chopping off a limb for International leprosy day Muso... ;)

Wake up!

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:51am

mellie wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:46am:
Yes, and I'll be chopping off a limb for International leprosy day Muso... ;)

Wake up!

Do you actually research these things? The Cancer Foundation, like all Australian charities is transparent. You can find details on their overheads etc online.  The Cancer Foundation is not political  ;D

Let me do a quick Google. You can find everything you need here:

http://www.auscharity.org/

As far as CEO's are concerned, if you want an effective one who will deliver more than 10 times his salary in end results, you have to pay him well.

What's this about CEO's salaries anyway? Are you a communist?

(Edit - try this one: )

http://www.enterprisecare.com.au/

Post by Verge on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:57am
Did you stop to think thats its pink ribbon month?  There is girls nights in happening everywhere.

Needless to say, I wear the pink, or a pink ribbon to support such causes.  Just because Im male doesnt mean it wont affect me.  Cancer affects everyone.

If you want to be really critical why dont we all get a picture of an anus and wear it on a shirt for the day.  I read last week that bowel cancer is the number one cancer in Oz.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:00am
Muso, their annual statements only divulge what employees earn as a whole, this and don't divulge CEO's individual salaries/earnings, what they themselves take from the charity itself in the form of a salary.

If it's public funding, then the public have a right to know how their donations are being spent, all of them are guilty of it....most if not all chartable orgs CEO's point-blank refuse to divulge their salaries when confronted by the media. Has been a standing joke for years.

This was a core promise Krudd made pre-2007, when he said he would set about insisting on more transparency re- CEO's salaries.

Pity he didn't get his wife's permission first, given she was head of her own 'Rein' foundation at the time.

And yes, I have done my research. Thanks.

These chartable orgs are highly politicised lucrative money-spinners /entities....just as the churches are, and were more so years ago when they too worked hand in hand with governments of the day generating campaign funding.

What, you don't know this?

:o

And verge, why the emphasis on pink ribbons, not blue?

Because it's currently more 'politically' fashionable to support socialism, the left and feminism, and this is a fact.

Make the most of it, because people are waking up fast.

Are tired of seeing pink ribbons on everything they buy at the supermarket.

Even Ellen DeGeneres has altered her talk-shows slogan and has put a pink ribbon in it... ;D

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:01am
Breast cancer isn't exclusive to women. Men can get it too.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:05am

Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:01am:

Though do we see support like this for men's cancers?

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:10am

We all really fell for that one Annie.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by vegitamite on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:12am
Cant you leave the blue ribbon or blue shirt or blue colour day for other organizations like Beyond Blue , they have a blue ribbon day .Or even the police like to have a blue ribbon day   .

From someone that makes jokes about Kids with Disability  handicaps Mellie how  can anyone  take you seriously on any issue such as this.

Your intention is just for  another slap on Rudds face . why dont you talk up the Charity work that others do . It would serve the purpose better.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:16am
No Muso, I am far from a communist, though think given that it's public money these CEO's are rewarding themselves with willy-nilly, their salaries should be transparent.

What do they have to hide if all is above order and ethical/justified?

So people can ascertain weather or not it's worthwhile donating to one charity or the other, if any at all.

Funny how Kevin Rudd himself announced his intention to blow the whistle with respects to CEO's salary disclosure himself when campaigning 2007, though after it was revealed his own wife was head of a number of her own lucrative charities, he failed to follow through with his promise post election. Funny that.  8-)

Kinda the way Gillard promised no carbon-tax I guess, though has also gone back on her core political promises also.

Seems to be the ALP way.

8-)

Post by culldav on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:16am
Wasn’t there something in the media a few years ago about the massive salary and “kick-backs” Kerry-Anne Kennerley was getting for being a spokes person for Guide dogs Australia.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:21am
Simple, Pink Ribbons are a political campaign $$ spinner.

And Gillards loving every bit of it.

8-)

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:22am
AussieF2R - your ignorance doesn't surprise me.

The American Cancer Society reports that in 2010, approximately 1,970 men will be diagnosed with invasive breast cancer.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:27am

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:27am
And yes Muso, chartable orgs are very political, omg, where have you been living, under a rock?

;D...

Ignorance is bliss I guess, and so long as wearing that little pink feel-good ribbon makes you feel like a lovely person for a day, then it will have been all worth while, yes?

8-) "Look at sanctimonious suck-job me, I  grew a moe to support some CEO's desire to line his wallet and buy his 2nd yacht this summer, aren't I wonderful."

Oh, wonderful chartable me~

8-) Sucker!

Post by Imperium on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:30am
I'd say Mellie has a point. Engaging in charitable behavior is a status marker for many people.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:34am

aikmann4 wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:30am:
I'd say Mellie has a point. Engaging in charitable behavior is a status marker for many people.

And a real chick-puller in predominantly female work-places too... ;)

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:36am
If growing a mo for a month creates awareness which encourages men to get their prostate checked, only good can come from it.

Who cares what motivates people to participate in the campaigns?

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:41am
I call this the subordinate pink-ribbon workplace male syndrome.

Though it's equally apparent among female staff also, who are more or less rated in accordance with how 'compliant' they are with organisational endorsements of this nature.

My mother (a regional manager of a health related service org) was asked by one of her more senior managers why she herself wasn't wearing her pink ribbon last year at a staff meeting.

Needles to say, she didn't get her promotion this year.... ha ha ha see  it pays to have more than one pink strings to your bows these days.

8-)

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:42am

Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:36am:
If growing a mo for a month creates awareness which encourages men to get their prostate checked, only good can come from it.

It's the principle of the thing Ann.

Post by Verge on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:45am
What many seem to forget is cancers such as breast cancer recieve plenty of support for a number of reasons.

1 - Publicity.  There has been numerous sufferers who have taken their personal fight to the public eye to raise awareness.

2 - Women are far more open about such things.  In a society of 'macho men' men hide their illnesses.  Thats why charities like beyond blue have worked so hard in the last decade, trying to smash through the ego.

3 - Men place more value on the lives of the women in their life than the men.  Its the old hunter and gatherer coming out in them.  A son wont make a fuss about fathers day but wont forget mothers day.  And when they see the women in their lives suffer they will always do anything they can to help.
It takes me back to when my mother passed at only 53 to cancer, my us boys were a complete and utter wreck, my father completley devastated, not the man he was.  When only 4 years later my father also had to face his own mortality there was no comparison to the way he faced his own treatment to the way he reacted to my mothers.  He has baffled the doc's and is alive and cancer free now.

Men just dont seem to draw the same focus and attention to health issues of their own.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:55am

Verge wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:45am:
What many seem to forget is cancers such as breast cancer recieve plenty of support for a number of reasons.

1 - Publicity.  There has been numerous sufferers who have taken their personal fight to the public eye to raise awareness.

2 - Women are far more open about such things.  In a society of 'macho men' men hide their illnesses.  Thats why charities like beyond blue have worked so hard in the last decade, trying to smash through the ego.

3 - Men place more value on the lives of the women in their life than the men.  Its the old hunter and gatherer coming out in them.  A son wont make a fuss about fathers day but wont forget mothers day.  And when they see the women in their lives suffer they will always do anything they can to help.
It takes me back to when my mother passed at only 53 to cancer, my us boys were a complete and utter wreck, my father completley devastated, not the man he was.  When only 4 years later my father also had to face his own mortality there was no comparison to the way he faced his own treatment to the way he reacted to my mothers.  He has baffled the doc's and is alive and cancer free now.

Men just dont seem to draw the same focus and attention to health issues of their own.

Ironic, given many of these charitable orgs CEO's are just that..."MEN"

;D Uncanny isn't it.

Furthermore, given most donations are indeed tax-deductible, is it not a fact that we as a society on the whole pay our dues where chartable orgs are concerned, this and for others willingness to decorate their puffed-chests with assorted coloured ribbons, as though they were army stripes?

Wake up!

And see it for what it is. A rort!

Cheers.

8-)

Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:10am
I refuse to give a penny to these campaigns where you get a crappy token to proudly display, to show just how caring and sharing you are to complete strangers.  Make no mistake, this effect is what drives a good percentage of people to donate - that, and the tax deduction.

There does seem to be an abundance of women-only campaigns, but that doesn't suprise me with this whole 'equality' thing is implemented not by elevating the 'marginalised' group, but by tearing everyone else down.  Quite how you'd say women are marginalised, under-represented or anything of the sort is a big call, but it seems to be the prevailing view within the elitist classes.

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:12am

Well it certainly wasn't peer respect in my case. I donate quite a few thousands to charity each year and tell nobody about it.

As far as CEO salaries are concerned, that is a miniscule part. If it takes $200,000 a year to get a CEO who will earn an additional $2 million in fund raising, it's a good investment.  

- and if they raise those extra funds by preying on people's vanity or 'chick magnetism', at least their tactics result in more money going to the charity.

FFS, you lefties (and you're acting like one) [edit - that's directed to Mellie] seem to have an obsession with people who earn a decent salary. If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

- and by the way, it's not Public money. It's the money that comes from those who choose to donate, and we get a lot more details than those who choose not to donate. Who gives a flying bugger if nobody else gets that info?

One of my preferred charities is MSF, and that's because their overheads are so low. I know exactly what percentage of the money I donate goes towards the end users or research in the case of the cancer foundation.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:14am

... wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:10am:
I refuse to give a penny to these campaigns where you get a crappy token to proudly display, to show just how caring and sharing you are to complete strangers.  Make no mistake, this effect is what drives a good percentage of people to donate - that, and the tax deduction.

There does seem to be an abundance of women-only campaigns, but that doesn't suprise me with this whole 'equality' thing is implemented not by elevating the 'marginalised' group, but by tearing everyone else down.  Quite how you'd say women are marginalised, under-represented or anything of the sort is a big call, but it seems to be the prevailing view within the elitist classes.

Spot on!

....  And I couldn't agree more.

:)

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:18am
And muso, when the funds come from the public, this and are indeed tax deductible, yes I think it becomes all of our business.

Here, take a look at this.

http://eprints.qut.edu.au/13517/

And these publications.

http://www.bus.qut.edu.au/research/cpns/publications/#WorkingPapers

Yes it is political.

Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:21am

Well it certainly wasn't peer respect in my case. I donate quite a few thousands to charity each year and tell nobody about it.

Nobody???

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:22am

mellie wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:18am:
And muso, when the funds come from the public, this and are indeed tax deductible, yes I think it becomes all of our business.

Here, take a look at this.

http://eprints.qut.edu.au/13517/

And these publications.

Yes it is political.

Tax deductable just means that you don't pay tax on it, and you shouldn't pay tax on it.  CEO's salaries are taxed anyway, so that part is irrelevant.  

What is all the fuss about?

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:24am

... wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:21am:

Nobody???

Not usually, except in this case just to correct a misconception. Put it this way, I didn't donate so I could boast about it. I donated to help make a difference.

In fact it's usually a private matter. Nobody I work with knows that I do this.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:25am
Now muso is beginning to annoy me with his ineptitude, so I should go, before I state more than I should about the bleeding obvious.

Told noone Muso?

Well, you are chest beating here now...though for what's it's worth, I doubt you donated a cent... would be difficult donating too much on centrelink benefits I would assume?
;)

That's enough..

ta ta..

Take a closer look at your bleeding heart foundations.

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:28am

mellie wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:25am:
Now muso is beginning to annoy me with his ineptitude, so I should go, before I state more than I should about the bleeding obvious.

Told noone Muso?

Well, you are chest beating here now...though for what's it's worth, I doubt you donated a cent... would be difficult donating too much on centrelink benefits I would assume?
;)

That's enough..

ta ta..

The definition of ineptitude in this thread is taking an issue of CEO salaries and making it look as if the bulk of donations go towards that.  It clearly does not. The charity would not be qualified to register as a charity in Australia if it did.

Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:33am
You coudl look at charities, as simply businesses trying to get fundign for their ventures.
They claim your dollar will go towards research into finding a cure for X disease.
So what happens when they find that cure?  Will all the donations be returned?  Will they share the profits with those who funded them?  
Nar....they will market their discovery, generating mega-profits, with no guarantee the discovery will be made available, unless you've got a lazy million $ to spare.
You could argue that the work to find a cure is in the public interest - well sure, but all busineeses working on developing something would argue their product is in the public interest, otherwise it's not going to sell.  So why should I finance their business ventures, when everyone else has to find their own funding?  Usually, investors are rewarded for taking a gamble on the success of the development they invested in - not in this case.  Seems they just want something for nothing - don't we all?

Post by muso on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:44am
I prefer to take the view that if you really want to help people, you should concentrate on providing education and resources to help them to help themselves, and to give them something that will perpetuate and be sustainable.  

In some cases, infrastructure is a sound way to achieve a return on investment.

What I am totally against are those charities who basically give out handouts. You might as well find a drunk on the street who asks you for money for a meal. You think you're doing the right thing by giving him a few dollars and he goes out and spends the money on more booze.

As far as the Cancer Foundation is concerned, most of the men at our workplace participate in Movember or Shave for a cure.  We only end up giving a few dollars each, and it's just a bit of fun.

The ladies have their coffee and cake mornings, which are also very popular. It's never a question of one-upmanship, and I've never seen any clip on pink ribbons in my workplace.  I also participate in Relay for Life because two of our friends are Cancer survivors, and we provide some solidarity to them at those events.

I think the Cancer Foundation have done a very good job of marketing, and a lot comes down to their management team.

The Phamaceutical companies basically want an expensive drug related solution in order to perpetuate their business. There is a gap in research for those looking for less expensive solutions.

The Cancer Foundation is a not for profit organisation, and will never be involved in marketing products.  They also fund education programs like sun safety where the causes of cancer are well known.  

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:44am

... wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:33am:
You coudl look at charities, as simply businesses trying to get fundign for their ventures.
They claim your dollar will go towards research into finding a cure for X disease.
So what happens when they find that cure?  Will all the donations be returned?  Will they share the profits with those who funded them?  
Nar....they will market their discovery, generating mega-profits, with no guarantee the discovery will be made available, unless you've got a lazy million $ to spare.
You could argue that the work to find a cure is in the public interest - well sure, but all busineeses working on developing something would argue their product is in the public interest, otherwise it's not going to sell.  So why should I finance their business ventures, when everyone else has to find their own funding?  Usually, investors are rewarded for taking a gamble on the success of the development they invested in - not in this case.  Seems they just want something for nothing - don't we all?

Exactly, but it's all for a good cause apparently...sigh!~

What's the socialist/commy ASEM  link you wonder...re- the commy-convention/meeting Gillard hawked our fork at recently when she advised how we, a modern-Australia,  now see ourselves as being part of Asia?  

Quickly now, make your donations here...  

http://asem4green.org/donate.php

8-)...It's all entwined.

Brussels - Australia's newly sworn in leader used her maiden visit to Brussels on Monday to propose a cooperation treaty with the European Union, an offer that came just ahead of her country's first- ever participation in an Asia-Europe (ASEM) summit.

....continues

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/news/347057,offers-eu-cooperation-treaty.html

Time to come back down to earth, and see this BS regime for what Howard saw it for... a crock of sh8t.

Worst of all, one way or another, we're funding her commy process.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 10:54am
I think in this ASEM case, we have seen a chartable business, go global...  this and become too powerful.

You might call it a super-charity, or a global charity Inc.

Quite dangerous really, and pink ribbon is going/gone the same way.

Time to pull up the breaks.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 11:59am

Are you being logical??????

And dont let the fact that more men are diagnosed with prostate cancer than that of women with breast cancer interfere with this either!

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:03pm
Muso, I should have been clearer in my post. It was in reply to Imperium's statement about the motivation for engaging in charity.

I'm with you - I donate regularly to charities I think make the most difference. I don't do so to increase my social status.

(It'd take a lot more than charitable donations to do that ;))

Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:04pm
I also wonder why male pursuits are now promoting womens health casues.  I think all the major sports in Australia have had at least one team wearing special pink shirts to 'raise awareness' of breast cancer ( seriously, who the bugger is not aware of breast cancer?)
Seeing as how the viewing audience would be 80% male, wouldn't it make more sense to target this audience?  
I guess it's all part of the drive to outlaw traditionally male pursuits, making them 'family friendly' and in the process, destroying that which made them great to start with.

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:14pm
btw, all those chartable campaign ribbons are made in China ...this and are probably laced with ricin.

;)

Post by Verge on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:14pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 11:59am:

Are you being logical??????

And dont let the fact that more men are diagnosed with prostate cancer than that of women with breast cancer interfere with this either!

According to the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia;
"•Each year in Australia, close to 3,300 men die of prostate cancer - equal to the number of women who die from breast cancer annually. Around 20,000 new cases are diagnosed in Australia every year. "

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:20pm

Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:22am:

The American Cancer Society reports that in 2010, approximately 1,970 men will be diagnosed with invasive breast cancer.

Which equates to two fifths of five eighths of ferk all.

As I said, that one really fooled us all Annie.  ;D ;D ;D ;D

In fact Annie, in the 12 months from July 2009 approx 3780 US men will have died from infected ingrown toenails.

Post by Verge on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:23pm
I find it interesting that in 2005, the following results we new new cases of cancer
                                Cases       Expressed as a percentage
Prostate (C61)      16,349      16.3
Colorectal (C18–C20)      13,076      13.0
Breast (C50)      12,265      12.2
Melanoma of skin (C43)      10,684      10.6
Lung, bronchus & trachea (C33–C34)      9,182      9.1
Lymphoma (C81–C85, C96)      4,430      4.4
Unknown primary site (C26, C39, C76, C80)      3,226      3.2
Leukaemia (C91–C95)      2,591      2.6
Kidney (C64)      2,297      2.3
Bladder (C67)      2,262      2.3

Post by skippy. on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:28pm

Verge wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:23pm:
I find it interesting that in 2005, the following results we new new cases of cancer
                                Cases       Expressed as a percentage
Prostate (C61)      16,349      16.3
Colorectal (C18–C20)      13,076      13.0
Breast (C50)      12,265      12.2
Melanoma of skin (C43)      10,684      10.6
Lung, bronchus & trachea (C33–C34)      9,182      9.1
Lymphoma (C81–C85, C96)      4,430      4.4
Unknown primary site (C26, C39, C76, C80)      3,226      3.2
Leukaemia (C91–C95)      2,591      2.6
Kidney (C64)      2,297      2.3
Bladder (C67)      2,262      2.3

Wow, pretty interesting stats, but maybe not that surprising when you consider men are much less likely to go to the Dr's to have check ups compered to women.
How many men here have had their prostate checked if they're over 50 or there abouts?

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:28pm
And thats with highlighting and encouraging breast cancer examinations.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:26pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:20pm:

In fact Annie, in the 12 months from July 2009 approx 3780 US men will have died from infected ingrown toenails.

Nice. It takes a special kind of guy to joke about men dying from a horrible disease.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:28pm

culldav wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:16am:
Wasn’t there something in the media a few years ago about the massive salary and “kick-backs” Kerry-Anne Kennerley was getting for being a spokes person for Guide dogs Australia.

Kerry-Anne Kennerley ?  I thought she was a yard dog?

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:32pm

Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:26pm:

Nice. It takes a special kind of guy to joke about men dying from a horrible disease.

Ah yes, that one was a winner too Annie.  You cleverly manipulated everyone`s thoughts away from your silly comments, and now we are all in shocked alarm as you have convinced us all what a callous barstard I really am.   :D :D :D

Post by Sappho on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:33pm

Which one? The infected ingrown toenails or the man boobs cancer? More men die of the former than the latter? Where is your sympathy for men and their toes?  

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:35pm
Most people ignore Skippy, so I wouldn't worry too much about that Aussey.

Post by Sappho on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:37pm

Sappho wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:33pm:

Which one? The infected ingrown toenails or the man boobs cancer? More men die of the former than the latter? Where is your sympathy for men and their toes?  

In fact, I think that the reason more men die from toe disease than they do from breast cancer is the lack of information and funding allocated to men, their toes and their nails.

We need a toe drive to raise funds for a toe awareness campaign. We need to inform males on the art of nail clipping and toe jam removal. If we can save one man from toe disease... it's worth it.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:44pm

mellie wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:35pm:

And that includes dippy

bwaaahaaaaa

Post by mellie on Oct 27th, 2010 at 5:54pm
Look, I think everyone is well and truly over these pink ribbon days, weeks, what next, year of the pink ribbon?

.....   Anyone see the results of the Sydney Shonky Awards?

The Pink ribbon foundation should have been among them, because we are no closer to a cure for breast cancer than we are to curing ball-sack cancer, brain cancer, toe cancer, eyeball cancer, all cancer. Cancer is cancer, end of story.

....Note how they have been busily building up peoples hopes, telling people we are so close to a cure?

How ridiculous... and nasty.

Can any of these 'foundations' tell us in scientific terms just how close we are to an alleged breast cancer cure?

No, not at all.

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 6:50pm
I haven't read EVERY comment on this topic, but I am surprised at Mellie and Annie's comments.  You obviously have been very fortunate not to have been touched by breast cancer, and fail to understand the importance of the Breast Care Nurses (which the foundation funds) and the positive impact they have on sufferers' (and their families) lives.  

Also if you bothered to do a little research you would find that the survival rate of cancer sufferers has increased dramatically, partly due to research into new treatments, and partly due to the campaigns to alert people to the early detection methods available.  That applies to men as well, as quite a big campaign is currently running to alert them to the ease of having a PSI test to check for prostate cancer (a simple blood test)  .

How anyone can trivialise cancer and it's effects on the sufferer and their families and friends amazes and disgusts me.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 6:56pm

nichy wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 6:50pm:
How anyone can trivialise cancer and it's effects on the sufferer and their families and friends amazes and disgusts me.

And yet everyone continues to ignore those suffering from prostate cancer.

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 6:57pm
This thread stinks of stupid. Pure and simple.

Granted, there is some validity to the idea that publicity for breast cancer awareness, via the likes of pink-ribbon day, is somewhat disproportionate when compared to the amount of people falling victim to other cancers. However, the theories surrounding why this might be the case are absolutely absurd.

Seriously.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:01pm
Disproportionate????

Now that is the understatement of the decade!

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:06pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 6:56pm:

tickfen,  that is not true.  There is an advertising campaign urging men to have a check for prostate cancer -  and informing them that is as simple as a blood test (Come on - it's only a little prick").   Perhaps you blokes (I am presuming you're a bloke) tune out when it's talked about.    

What do you think the "MOVEMBER" campaign is all about ?     It's the prostate foundation and it's been running for a number of years, and is only one of the intiative the Prostate cancer Foundation has.

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:06pm
Here's an article on the subject.

It's good, because it has less of the 'stupid' that seems to trouble so many of the posts on here.

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/features/less-sexy-cancers-a-rather-sickly-pink-2111162.html

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:06pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:01pm:
Disproportionate????

Now that is the understatement of the decade!

Super, mega, ultra disproportionate?

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:12pm
World adopts Aussie-made Movember campaign
By Anila.Azhar on  1 November 2007

Movember, the national men’s health campaign, developed by a Melbourne creative and a former marketer, has expanded to the US, UK, Canada and Spain.

Now in its fourth year in Australia, Movember, which aims to build awareness of the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia and Beyondblue – the national depression awareness initiative, has already tripled its number of registered participants, from 12,292 last year to 31,381 registrations so far this year.

The campaign in which men around the country spend the month of November raising money by growing moustaches, was created by Movember Foundation pioneers Luke Slattery, a former sales and marketing manager at skateboard footwear distributor S&S Distribution, and Travis Garone, founder and creative director of Melbourne design agency Urchin Associates.

It has built its name primarily through word of mouth and online activity through its website and YouTube, with Maverick Marketing & Communications driving PR. “What we found was a significant number of Aussies beating the Movember drum, so we started to get a lot of interest from other countries,” Slattery said

Last year, New Zealand held Movember events. In Australia, many advertising and media agencies joined the campaign with relish, as did well-known Australian personalities such as The Chasercrew and Andrew G.

Slattery said several countries, including Germany, Israel, South Africa and the Netherlands, have asked the Aussie team to run Movember events.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:13pm

nichy wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:06pm:

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 6:56pm:

tickfen,  that is not true.  There is an advertising campaign urging men to have a check for prostate cancer -  and informing them that is as simple as a blood test (Come on - it's only a little prick").   Perhaps you blokes (I am presuming you're a bloke) tune out when it's talked about.    

What do you think the "MOVEMBER" campaign is all about ?     It's the prostate foundation and it's been running for a number of years, and is only one of the intiative the Prostate cancer Foundation has.

Actually it is true
Certain sections of the media blatantly refuse to promote Movember (ABC) whilst they are forever promoting breast cancer.
Further the promotion of prostate cancer is only a percentile to that of breast cancer!
And moreso is the amount of government funding.....there is a MASSIVE discrepancy and totally out of proportion of male funding to female funding.

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:18pm
Certain sections of the media blatantly refuse to promote Movember (ABC) whilst they are forever promoting breast cancer.
Further the promotion of prostate cancer is only a percentile to that of breast cancer! And moreso is the amount of government funding.....there is a MASSIVE discrepancy and totally out of proportion of male funding to female funding.[/quote]

Blatantly refuse? That's a pretty big criticism to level.

One wonders, is the general male involvement in ensuring prostate cancer awareness equal to that of the women who have pursued and lobbied for breast cancer awareness (publicity and funding)? Could it easily be a case of men being traditionally more reluctant to stress the importance of such matters - something which is thankfully changing?

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:19pm
Grow a mo next month

By Jenn Vanriper, The Leader-Post October 27, 2010 3:17 AM

Men can start November clean-shaven and grow a "mo" as a hairy ribbon, raising awareness of men's health and prostate cancer.

The Movember campaign started in Melbourne, Australia, where mo is slang for moustache. CEO and co-founder Adam Garone, his brother and a few friends were joking about bringing back '80s fashion.

To justify the mo-vement, they used their new looks to raise awareness and money for prostate cancer research. While no money was raised in the first attempt, they realized that growing a moustache sparked conversations about prostate cancer, a subject most people consider off-limits.

Why then, if what you say is true tickfen,  have i seen promotions for it on TV over the last few days ?  

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:24pm
But not on the ABC, nor will you hear about it on the ABC radio.

To repeat: some media outlets blatantly refuse to promote mens cancer issues (ABC have been notorious for this)

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:26pm

Jaykaye_09 wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:18pm:
Blatantly refuse? That's a pretty big criticism to level.

And yet true- ring up your local ABC and ask them to do it, or even raise a question on their talk back radio.
Have fun trying to get some air time!

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:30pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:24pm:

To repeat: some media outlets blatantly refuse to promote mens cancer issues (ABC have been notorious for this)

And yet the ABC News website has a section dedicated to Men's Health, including transcripts from ABC News reports highlighting a series of issues related to prostate cancer.

Again, is it disproportionate? Yes.
Is it perhaps an oversight to not pay as much attention to prostrate cancer awareness? Possibly.
Is it a "blatant refusal" to give prostate cancer awareness the time of day? Not very likely.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:31pm
And yet the ABC itself refuse to promote mens cancers

Oh and let me know when you see some Blue Ribbon products in your supermarket too buddy!

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:34pm

Jaykaye_09 wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:30pm:
Is it a "blatant refusal" to give prostate cancer awareness the time of day? Not very likely.

Yes bloody likely.
Its obvious you dont listen to the ABC.
Try it then you maybe qualified to comment, but at the moment you dont listen to the station and you dont know.

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:35pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:31pm:
And yet the ABC itself refuse to promote mens cancers

Oh and let me know when you see some Blue Ribbon products in your supermarket too buddy!

Again with the 'refuses', as if it's a conspiracy of sorts.

In bold this time (and italics):

The ABC News website has a section dedicated to Men's Health, including transcripts from ABC News reports highlighting a series of issues related to prostate cancer.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:41pm
Some people are just blatantly stupid.
So need to restate  for their benefit.

Some sections of the media like the ABC blatantly refuse to promote mens cancers and especially Movember.
You will not hear any airplay on the subject as they simply refuse to do so.
Try yourself and ring up your local ABC talkback and you will not get any airtime.

Rather than speak about what you do not know JK you will learn if you try this.
Or just listen to the station - no Movember will get promoted!

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:44pm
Type the following into your search engine (Australia)  and just see for yourself the initiatives that are being undertaken for prostate cancer Awareness:

Blue Ribbon for prostate cancer

OR  Google
Searches related to ABC News Prostate Cancer
prostate cancer resources

research profile abc news

abc news prostate cancer coverage

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:45pm
You must have missed the bit about AIRTIME

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:46pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:41pm:
Some people are just blatantly stupid.
So need to restate  for their benefit.

Rather than speak about what you do not know JK you will learn if you try this.

Or just listen to the station - no Movember will get promoted!

But they have spoken of prostate cancer awareness. The ABC HAS specialist reports on their website. ABC's Catalyst HAS had programming on the subject. ABC Radio HAS discussed the topic. ABC HAS spoken of Movember (there's an interview online, from ABC breakfast radio in SA, with Movember founder Luke Slattery).

It has received airtime - just not a lot of it.

Hardly sounds like blatant refusal to cover the issue.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:47pm
I see Im dealing with the brain dead now.

How many times will it take before you understand AIRTIME?????

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:51pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:47pm:

Actually, you only said airtime a few times.

You also said that certain media outlets refuse to discuss the topic, using the ABC as an example. As a MEDIA OUTLET, beyond what you hear on the radio, the ABC HAS discussed the issue.

By the way, those transcripts from ABC News were from ABC News radio segments. The transcripts themselves were available online, but the initial recordings came from RADIO.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:51pm
Still waiting to see some blue ribbon products in the supermarket...and not that blue ribbon ice cream!

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:52pm

Jaykaye_09 wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:51pm:

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:47pm:

Actually, you only said airtime a few times.

Actually you chose not to read posts as you were more interested in mouthing off about a subject you did not know about.
No news there buddy!

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:54pm
Just a small selection of Radio Programs for you - regards - Braindead !

Virus linked to prostate cancer and chronic fatigue syndrome ... It's whether prostate cancer is linked to a viral infection, .... And you're listening to the Health Report here on ABC Radio National with me Norman Swan. ...
www.abc.net.au/rn/healthreport/stories/2010/2867629.htm - Cached

Veteran broadcaster dies from prostate cancer - ABC News ... Former radio and television presenter, Michael Schildberger, has died after ...
www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/06/02/2915998.htm - Cached

Talkback: sex after prostate cancer - Life Matters - 3 September 2010 Thank you for the frank discussion of this issue on Radio National this ...
www.abc.net.au/rn/lifematters/stories/2010/3000337.htm - Cached

Prostate cancer - latest research - Health Report - 23 August 2010 So throughout the spectrum of prostate cancer patients are ...
www.abc.net.au/rn/healthreport/stories/.../2988868.htm - Cached

Show more results from abc.net.auABC Health Report: Virus linked to prostate cancer and chronic ... 12 Apr 2010 ... On the Health Report with Norman Swan on ABC Radio National, ... finding of a virus linked to prostate cancer and a tantalising link to ...
www.mecfs-vic.org.au/abc-health-report-virus-linked-prostate-cancer-and-chronic-fatigue-syndrome - Cached

Research & reports - prostate-cancer-support Diet and prostate cancer - a segment from Dr Norman Swan's ABC radio program 'The Health Report' on 6 September 2010. Dr Swan interviewed Michael Pollak ...
prostate-cancer-support-act.net/06reading/.../066research.html - Cached

Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia Prostate cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed in Australia after nonmelanoma ... ABC 702 Radio National. Nightlife - 30/08/2010 - 10:57 PM Tony Delroy ...
www.prostate.org.au/articleLive/pages/In-the-Media.html - Cached

Lions Australian Prostate Cancer Website 19 Oct 2010 ... Prostate cancer discussion on ABC Radio National · Provenge extends life of prostate cancer patients · Prostate cancer risk increased by ...
www.prostatehealth

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:55pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:13pm:

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 7:24pm:

And you've been shown to be incorrect.

Man up. You were wrong and that's okay.

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:01pm
www.prostate.org.au/.../

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:02pm
Yes Ive been proved correct

So JK its ok that you go mouthing off- its your nature as you like to make out as though youre smart. But as youve yet again been proved that you do not know anything about the topic being discussed this is no real surprise is it. You know this as we all do.

So again JK you try and ring up your local ABC to talk about Movember...oh they wont put you to air.
Well try the subject of prostatae cancer....darn they wont allow that either.
Well try something more general like men's cancers - nope not allowed.

But you keep believing in your tooth fairies and santas oh and the easter bunny buddy that way you'll always be in la-la land

BWAAAAHHAAAAA

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:05pm
Just a small selection of Radio Programs for you - regards - Braindead !Virus linked to prostate cancer and chronic fatigue syndrome ... It's whether prostate cancer is linked to a viral infection, .... And you're listening to the Health Report here on ABC Radio National with me Norman Swan. ...
www.abc.net.au/rn/healthreport/stories/2010/2867629.htm - Cached

Veteran broadcaster dies from prostate cancer - ABC News ... Former radio and television presenter, Michael Schildberger, has died after ...
www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/06/02/2915998.htm - Cached

Talkback: sex after prostate cancer - Life Matters - 3 September 2010 Thank you for the frank discussion of this issue on Radio National this ...www.abc.net.au/rn/lifematters/stories/2010/3000337.htm - Cached

Prostate cancer - latest research - Health Report - 23 August 2010 So throughout the spectrum of prostate cancer patients are ...
www.abc.net.au/rn/healthreport/stories/.../2988868.htm - Cached

Show more results from abc.net.auABC Health Report: Virus linked to prostate cancer and chronic ... 12 Apr 2010 ... On the Health Report with Norman Swan on ABC Radio National, ... finding of a virus linked to prostate cancer and a tantalising link to ...
www.mecfs-vic.org.au/abc-health-report-virus-linked-prostate-cancer-and-chronic-fatigue-syndrome - Cached

Research & reports - prostate-cancer-support Diet and prostate cancer - a segment from Dr Norman Swan's ABC radio program 'The Health Report' on 6 September 2010. Dr Swan interviewed Michael Pollak ...
prostate-cancer-support-act.net/06reading/.../066research.html - Cached

Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia Prostate cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed in Australia after nonmelanoma ... ABC 702 Radio National. Nightlife - 30/08/2010 - 10:57 PM Tony Delroy ...
www.prostate.org.au/articleLive/pages/In-the-Media.html - Cached

Lions Australian Prostate Cancer Website 19 Oct 2010 ... Prostate cancer discussion on ABC Radio National · Provenge extends life of prostate cancer patients · Prostate cancer risk increased by ...
www.prostatehealth  

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:06pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:02pm:
Yes Ive been proved correct. So again JK you try and ring up your local ABC to talk about Movember...oh they wont put you to air.
Well try the subject of prostatae cancer....darn they wont allow that either.
Well try something more general like men's cancers - nope not allowed.

No you haven't.

The subject HAS been discussed on the ABC network, radio included.

There are links above which show as much.

Better luck next time old man. Perhaps you'll do better to keep up.

Anyway, I feel all dirty for bringing myself way down to your level, so I'm done.

Peace.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:09pm
Next time JK try doing some research, maybe even ask your mum or dad about the realities of life.
Or try calling the ABC yourself, but better get someone's permission first.

Then after that you will know that the ABC wont allow the promotion of mens health issues mainly Movember.

Oh and just for your benefit JK let me know when you see a blue ribbon product in the supermarket.
As usual you know Im correct with this as well.

BWAAAHAAAAA

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:11pm
Glads you put thoat up braindead....and as you hvent even read what youve posted Id best let you know taht youre including NEWS BULLETINS!

The subject was the promotion not news bulletins.

How much deader can you get braindead!

Post by nichy on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:13pm

Tickfen, maybe you are listening to the wrong programs -  my last post -  goodnight and go along to your doc. and get checked.   We women are also on your side you know,  but men also have to take some initiative.

The $20 kits from Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia are at the Commonwealth Bank branches of Engadine, Hurstville, Kogarah, Miranda and Rockdale.
The kits include tongs, apron, stubby holder and paper napkins. All money raised will go to the foundation.

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed in Australia after nonmelanoma skin cancers, and according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, it is estimated that this year almost 20,000 Australian males will be diagnosed with prostate cancer and more than 3300 Australian men will lose their lives to the disease.

Downloads

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Published 8/09/2010
ABC 1Midday Report - 08/09/2010 - 12:20 PM
The NT's first mangoes of the season have fetched $30,000 at a charity auction in Sydney. The sale of the tray of 40 mangoes at the Sydney Markets will donate funds to the Prostate Cancer Foundation and the Westmead Children's Hospital.
© Media Monitors 2010

Downloads

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Published 8/09/2010
Channel 10

TEN News - 07/09/2010 - 05:24 PM
The Austn Prostate Cancer Research Centre has a new sensitive test for cancer that can be done through the mail. The test can detect cancer cells in the bloodstream.
© Media Monitors 2010

Downloads

Published 6/09/2010
West Australian

Thursday 2 September 2010, p16
Cancer gender bias alleged

Downloads

Published 6/09/2010
ABC 702 Radio National
Health Report - 06/09/2010 - 08:36 AM

Dr Norman Swan

Interview with Michael Pollak, professor, McGill University, Montreal who conducts research into the link between diet and prostate cancer. Pollak cites a trial in America looking into the effect of supplements on cancer rates, adding that the results were disappointing. Pollak says eating too much is not good for prostate cancer, much like cardiovascular disease and mentions the connection with obesity. Pollak comments on possible connections between those receiving insulin treatment and prostate cancer, mentioning the drug Metformin. © Media Monitors 2010
Downloads

Published 31/08/2010
ABC 702 Radio National
Nightlife - 30/08/2010 - 10:57 PM

Tony Delroy

Professor Phil Stricker, St Vincent's Hospital, and cancer survivor Jim Rogan discuss prostate cancer.
Caller Andy  discusses the importance of not just relying on the PSA test result to know if you have a problem.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:13pm
But braindead your post wasnt entirely useless, you did highlight one aspect...I referred to the ABC you referr to Radio National which is also a smaller station of the ABC.

BUT NOT THE ABC (which is the main station)

pfffft talk about BRAINDEAD!

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:25pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:13pm:
But braindead your post wasnt entirely useless, you did highlight one aspect...I referred to the ABC you refer to Radio National which is also a smaller station of the ABC.

BUT NOT THE ABC (which is the main station)

pfffft talk about BRAINDEAD!

You're an idiot.

ABC Radio National (which is broadcast over the largest single network in Australia) is part of the ABC media outlet, which suggests that there is no refusal by the ABC, as a media outlet, to discuss or promote the issue (as you claim there is).

Regardless, ABC (yes, the "main" station) has given airtime to promoting causes across the country, from ABC Mid West, to ABC in NSW and SA.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:27pm
Give it up JK - you lost!

Radio National yes it is part of the ABC but it is NOT broadcast as the ABC but as Radio National.
I have been saying the ABC ALL ALONG!

So you lost, I won!

Post by Imperium on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:29pm
tickfen you make me crack up laughing

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:30pm
Its easy when have a couple of braindead stooges!

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:31pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:27pm:
Give it up JK - you lost!

Radio National yes it is part of the ABC but it is NOT broadcast as the ABC but as Radio National.
I have been saying the ABC ALL ALONG!

So you lost, I won!

Actually, it's ABC Radio National.

And it's still part of the ABC media outlet.

And in any case, the ABC (as you refer to it) HAS discussed the issue.

Still, better luck next time.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:41pm
Actually it is Radio National try listening to the station broadcast identifications , but keep trying to scrap that bottom of the barrel.

Again, I win you lose.
But we all knew that didnt we

BWAAAAHAAAAAA

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:46pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:41pm:
Actually it is Radio National try listening to the station broadcast identifications , but keep trying to scrap that bottom of the barrel.

Again, I win you lose.
But we all knew that didnt we

BWAAAAHAAAAAA

Oh, so Radio National considers itself an entity independent of the ABC? That's news to me, the ABC and no doubt Radio National. Radio National IS run by the ABC - it's part of the ABC media outlet.

Besides, the point that you conveniently overlook is that the ABC (not Radio National if you so choose on seeing them differently) has spoken of and promoted prostate cancer awareness.

Ouch, eh!

Sorry boss. Better luck next time.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:51pm
At last you admitted you lost - see that didnt hurt you too uch now did it. Maybe next time you'll save tyourself the grief and embarrassment.

Wel I won, and did so with ease.
So better luck next time buddy - oh it would help if you did some research into subjects rather than do the old mouth off tactic (thats really for the kiddies so you gave yourself away there buddy boy)

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:55pm
Radio National doesn't consider itself an entity independent of the ABC. It is run as part of the ABC media outlet.

Regardless, ABC Radio has spoken of prostate cancer awareness (on air).

And I'm aware of what you're doing. You have a child's brain in an old man's body. Its quiet lame, albeit somewhat amusing.

It's fine if you can't hack it. Losing gets to the best of us (and the worst in your case).

Sorry pops.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:57pm
Yeah you lost JK

Better luck next time buddy boyO

Hey surprised youre not stuck in the gay threads like you normally are

BWAAAHAAAAAAA

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:00pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:57pm:
BWAAAHAAAAAAA

I think the term you're looking for is "wahwahwah"

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:03pm
Nup
which means you lose again JK

BWAAAAHAAAAAA

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:05pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:03pm:
Nup
which means you lose again JK
BWAAAAHAAAAAA

Which reads as: "wahwahwah" . . .

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:08pm
Ive met house bricks that arent as thick or as dense as you JK

You lose again

BWAAAAHAAAAAA

Post by Jaykaye_09 on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:09pm
Wait a minute Tick, so you mean to tell me that ABC Radio (not Radio National, but ABC Radio - as you see them differently) has not spoken of or promoted prostate cancer awareness, and is intentionally refusing to do so?

Despite the fact that there are links, on the ABC website, to radio broadcasts from the ABC - talk-back included - across the country that have discussed and promoted prostate cancer awareness?

Jeez, no wonder you're having a cry.

Post by tickfen on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:11pm
the house bricks are smarter too

bwaaaahaaaaa

Post by nichy on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:22am
I really shouldn't demean myself by re-entering this topic,  but I just have to ask - "How old are you tickfen ?  

Check this out boy .

http://www.abc.net.au/radio/

Post by skippy. on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:30am

When they start ignoring me as much as you I'll be concerned,retard bitch.

Post by mellie on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:13am

skippy. wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:30am:

Back in my youth, there was a nutty fruiter who owned the corner store named Frank who would wield a pumpkin knife and chase us kids down the street if we screeched our bike tires on the foot-path out the front of his shop.

He was a classic, a Maltese Catholic who didn't like kids much,  was a love hate relationship you see, as he would call us "Bloody f*ckings, or sh8t bloody c*nts" as we rode down the street laughing our heads off at his inability to swear/insult us in the correct context.

Why a love hate relationship?

Because we loved the fact that he hated us, and would get a huge kick out of watching him try to insult us.

Was absolutely hilarious.

On one occasion, I distinctly recall him using the word 'smacking" no less than 5 times in the one short sentence.

Look Skip, if you must insult me, at least do it in style.

8-) Tard

Post by mellie on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:45am

The primary sponsor and mastermind of the 1985 Breast Cancer Awareness Month idea was Zeneca Pharmaceuticals, now known as AstraZeneca. All tell-lie-vision, radio, and print ads for Breast Cancer Awareness Month are paid for and must be approved by AstraZeneca.

AstraZeneca makes fungicides, herbicides and pesticides. One of its products, Acetochlor, is a pesticide recognized as a cause of breast cancer.  Its Perry, Ohio chemical plant is one of the largest sources of potential cancer-causing pollution in the US. In 1996, it spit 53,000 pounds of known cancer causing agents into the air.

In addition to creating cancer-causing chemicals, AstraZeneca also patented Tamoxifen, the most popular drug used to treat breast cancer. Tamoxifen has gross sales of  $500 million dollars a year. On May 16, 2000, the New York Times reported that the National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences included Tamoxifen on its list of substances that are known to cause cancer.

continues...

http://www.blackherbals.com/no_more_pink_ribbons.htm

Post by skippy. on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:49am

Look Skip, if you must insult me, at least do it in style

You and the word "style" would never have been mentioned in the same sentence in your life. :P

Post by mellie on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:57am

skippy. wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:49am:

Look Skip, if you must insult me, at least do it in style

You and the word like "style" would fully-sick never have been like mentioned in the same sentence in your life and stuff. :P

Retard.

8-)

Post by muso on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:03am

skippy. wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:28pm:
How many men here have had their prostate checked if they're over 50 or there abouts?

You'd be crazy not to, especially if your family has a history of it. I have a PSA blood test once a year and an ultrasound - only because I was too squeamish for the usual test.

I also get a full cholesterol test (ldl, hdl and tg) every year, even though my doctor calls me disgustingly healthy. I write down the results and keep them on a spreadsheet.

If you find out early, they can do a lot more for you.

If you've never been checked and you're over 50, don't be a wuss.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:11am

muso wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:03am:

skippy. wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 12:28pm:

You'd be crazy not to, especially if your family has a history of it. I have a PSA blood test once a year and an ultrasound - only because I was too squeamish for the usual test.

I also get a full cholesterol test (ldl, hdl and tg) every year, even though my doctor calls me disgustingly healthy. I write down the results and keep them on a spreadsheet.

If you find out early, they can do a lot more for you.

If you've never been checked and you're over 50, don't be a wuss.

I can`t stress my agreement strongly enough.  Consult your GP re all tests they recommend, given your family history etc.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:14am

mellie wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:13am:

skippy. wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:30am:

Back in my youth, there was a nutty fruiter who owned the corner store named Frank who would wield a pumpkin knife and chase us kids down the street if we screeched our bike tires on the foot-path out the front of his shop.

He was a classic, a Maltese Catholic who didn't like kids much,  was a love hate relationship you see, as he would call us "Bloody f*ckings, or sh8t bloody c*nts" as we rode down the street laughing our heads off at his inability to swear/insult us in the correct context.

Why a love hate relationship?

Because we loved the fact that he hated us, and would get a huge kick out of watching him try to insult us.

Was absolutely hilarious.

On one occasion, I distinctly recall him using the word 'smacking" no less than 5 times in the one short sentence.

Look Skip, if you must insult me, at least do it in style.

8-) Tard

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D GOT HIM IN ONE ! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by skippy. on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:17am
Aussie, the real one, I think its time to post up those IP addresses. I cant wait to see meeeeeeelie and all her sox cringe.
Hi aussieinthecloset, LOL LOL

Post by muso on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:21am

Jaykaye_09 wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 8:55pm:
Radio National doesn't consider itself an entity independent of the ABC. It is run as part of the ABC media outlet.

Regardless, ABC Radio has spoken of prostate cancer awareness (on air).

And I'm aware of what you're doing. You have a child's brain in an old man's body. Its quiet lame, albeit somewhat amusing.

It's fine if you can't hack it. Losing gets to the best of us (and the worst in your case).

Sorry pops.

Pssst - don't tell anybody but he's Mellie's love child.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 28th, 2010 at 2:54pm

I haven't read EVERY comment on this topic, but I am surprised at Mellie and Annie's comments.

I suggest you read through the comments again.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Oct 28th, 2010 at 3:06pm
I'm actually surprised by Tickfen's continued denial about the ABC Radio network 'not' talking about prostate cancer....

Despite at least 5 or 6 links that show that the ABC Radio DID in fact discuss it...

Post by nichy on Oct 28th, 2010 at 4:55pm

Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 2:54pm:

I haven't read EVERY comment on this topic, but I am surprised at Mellie and Annie's comments.

I suggest you read through the comments again.

Annie,  I have taken your suggestion I do apologise,  I obviously misread a posting and attributed one of mellie's to you -  Sorry !!!

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 4:55pm
Ima ctually surprised by your ignorance
Yet you and your bottom buddies still refuse to try and actually call the air waves

Oh well guess you can stay in your fiddly land

bwaaaahaaaaa

Post by froggie on Oct 28th, 2010 at 6:27pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:10am:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Are you for real, af2r??

http://www.nbocc.org.au/men/symptoms/

Signs and symptoms
The most common symptom of breast cancer in men is a painless lump in the breast close to the nipple. Other possible symptoms include:

•a discharge from the nipple
•a change in the shape or appearance of the nipple
•a change in the shape or appearance of the breast, such as swelling or dimpling
•pain
•swollen lymph nodes (glands) under the arm.
It is important to see a doctor as soon as possible if you notice any new or unusual breast changes. If the changes are due to cancer, finding it early will mean a better chance of effective treatment.

“Cancer is not a death sentence. The trick with cancer is to find it early.”

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:20pm

Lobo wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 6:27pm:

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 27th, 2010 at 9:10am:

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Are you for real, af2r??

http://www.nbocc.org.au/men/symptoms/

Signs and symptoms
The most common symptom of breast cancer in men is a painless lump in the breast close to the nipple. Other possible symptoms include:

•a discharge from the nipple
•a change in the shape or appearance of the nipple
•a change in the shape or appearance of the breast, such as swelling or dimpling
•pain
•swollen lymph nodes (glands) under the arm.
It is important to see a doctor as soon as possible if you notice any new or unusual breast changes. If the changes are due to cancer, finding it early will mean a better chance of effective treatment.

“Cancer is not a death sentence. The trick with cancer is to find it early.”

Yep, I`m for real, breast cancer is nowhere as prominent in men as prostate. In fact, to try to pull a shonk on this one will always back fire.

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:33pm
Were all waiting for froggie to give the stats and symptons on women suffering from prostate cancer

bwaaahaaaa

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:39pm
Breast cancer is a horible thing, but it`s unbelievibly stupid to try to pull off a con portraying it as equally prevelant in men as women.

Post by nichy on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:43pm
Familial predisposition
Epidemiologic studies have shown that men who have several female relatives with breast cancer also have an increased risk for development of the disease. In particular, men who have inherited mutations in the breast cancer-associated BRCA-2 gene have a dramatically increased (about 80-fold) risk for developing breast cancer, with a lifetime risk of about 5%-10% for development of breast cancer. BRCA-2 is a gene on chromosome 13 that normally functions in suppression of cell growth. Mutations in this gene lead to an increased risk for development of breast, ovarian, and prostate cancers. About 15% of breast cancers in men are thought to be attributable to BRCA-2 mutation.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:48pm
Nichy, you are missing the point.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:55pm
"•Each year in Australia, close to 3,300 men die of prostate cancer - equal to the number of women who die from breast cancer annually. Around 20,000 new cases are diagnosed in Australia every year. "

http://www.prostate.org.au/articleLive/pages/Prostate-Cancer-Statistics.html

=============

Prostate cancer is virtually ignored, when we note some of the resistance to / disinterest in recognising this problem in this thread, we don`t need to wonder why.

People here will even lie and twist the truth to subdue discussion of this killer.  Classy?

Post by Equitist on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:19pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:39pm:
Breast cancer is a horible thing, but it`s unbelievibly stupid to try to pull off a con portraying it as equally prevelant in men as women.

What is infinitely more stupid, is to conveniently interpret that the statements made by others have implied equal prevalence when they clearly did not - so as to indirectly make a point about the lack of debate over the prevalence of something else...

Post by qikvtec on Oct 28th, 2010 at 8:55pm

Wouldn't it make sense to make a PSA test a standard inclusion in a blood test post 35 or 40 for a bloke?  Would surely allow for faster treatment.

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:23pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:55pm:

http://www.prostate.org.au/articleLive/pages/Prostate-Cancer-Statistics.html

=============

Prostate cancer is virtually ignored, when we note some of the resistance to / disinterest in recognising this problem in this thread, we don`t need to wonder why.

People here will even lie and twist the truth to subdue discussion of this killer.  Classy?

Well stated- post of the night.

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:25pm
I notice that the Comedy Channel is devoting a night to Breast Cancer.....yawn.

Wonder what business has promoted breast cancer.

And yet most businesses avoid any promotion of prostate cancer - including the media!

Post by philperth2010 on Oct 28th, 2010 at 9:54pm
Both sides of politics have supported breast cancer and worn pink ribbons to signify there support.....trying to use this debilitating disease as a wedge is pathetic to say the least.....those that support this cowardly attack on what is a very serious issue have nothing to be proud of......your comments say more about your own morals than that of the people you are condemning!!!

:(

The only kind of dignity which is genuine is that which is not diminished by the indifference of others.
Dag Hammarskjold (1905 - 1961)

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:02pm
and yet a far more debilitating disease is ignored ....by both sides of politics!!!

Post by philperth2010 on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:09pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:02pm:
and yet a far more debilitating disease is ignored ....by both sides of politics!!!

Maybe so.....but why attack the fact that breast cancer is supported......would other diseases get any more attention if breast cancer was ignored.....I think we should accept that there is no where near enough being done for the sick and dying......doing less will not further anyone’s cause!!!

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:11pm
No maybe about it sunshine

And get your head out of your a-hole, no one is attacking breast cancer at all. But that prostate cancer is ignored!

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:13pm
When will both sides or even one side of politics start advocating for greater funding for prostate cancer! And start wearing a blue ribbon in parliament!!

Guess it is just not the flavour of the month.

Post by philperth2010 on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:17pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:11pm:
No maybe about it sunshine

And get your head out of your a-hole, no one is attacking breast cancer at all. But that prostate cancer is ignored!

He who strikes the first blow admits he's lost the argument.
Chinese Proverb

The OP made a good fist of it....you just have no idea and it shows!!!

Post by tickfen on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:19pm
See youve been using your fist for something else sunshine,
complete with a little face drawn on it with I guess your mums lippy!

bwaaaaahaaaaaa

Post by philperth2010 on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:29pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:19pm:

bwaaaaahaaaaaa

Lol...............

The Argument from Intimidation is a confession of intellectual impotence.
Ayn Rand (1905 - 1982), The Virtue of Selfishness, 1964

I have no intention having a pissing contest with a mental midget like yourself....enjoy!!!

Post by bobbythebat1 on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:30pm
All these homosexual topics should be deleted.
Who wants to know about dirty bum pumpers?

Post by buzzanddidj on Oct 28th, 2010 at 11:15pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:13pm:
When will both sides or even one side of politics start advocating for greater funding for prostate cancer! And start wearing a blue ribbon in parliament!!

Guess it is just not the flavour of the month.

Swan's new fight: beating the test sceptics
By Tom Noble
April 19 2003

Wayne Swan is a cancer survivor and he is angry. The senior Labor frontbencher says there is a secret agenda to deny men access to cancer testing, and he has the medical establishment in his sights.

His primary target is Alan Coates, the chief executive of the Cancer Council Australia, who last week quit the board of a key prostate cancer lobby group after a month of acrimonious public debate.

Professor Coates's perceived misdemeanours were twofold: he disagreed with a proposed media campaign to promote prostate cancer testing, and the sponsor withdrew, taking its $1.5million with it. Then he declared he had not been tested for prostate cancer and would refuse a test if offered one.

His actions sparked anger and disbelief among cancer survivors, doctors and members of the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia, which devised the campaign.

"It doesn't bother me. I am interested in evidence-based medicine," said Professor Coates. "We don't yet know if it does more good than harm."

Cont ...

http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2003/04/18/1050172755521.html

Post by froggie on Oct 29th, 2010 at 5:53pm

Who said it was equally prevalent??

:-?

Post by froggie on Oct 29th, 2010 at 5:55pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 7:33pm:
Were all waiting for froggie to give the stats and symptons on women suffering from prostate cancer

bwaaahaaaa

You forget to take your meds again, tick???

Post by froggie on Oct 29th, 2010 at 5:57pm

philperth2010 wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:29pm:

tickfen wrote on Oct 28th, 2010 at 10:19pm:

bwaaaaahaaaaaa

Lol...............

The Argument from Intimidation is a confession of intellectual impotence.
Ayn Rand (1905 - 1982), The Virtue of Selfishness, 1964

I have no intention having a pissing contest with a mental midget like yourself....enjoy!!!

Should have read your post before MY reply to said 'mental midget'.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:25pm

Lobo wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 5:53pm:

Frogs should be clammy, not slimey.

Post by tickfen on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:37pm

You dont keep up with the thread that much do you sunshine.
But you are right prostate cancer is more frequent to breast cancer.

Post by tickfen on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:37pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:25pm:

bwaaahaaaaaaaaa

Post by froggie on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:38pm

That the best you can do??

Try answering a question, just for a change...

Might be a whole new experience.

;)

Post by tickfen on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:38pm

Lobo wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 5:55pm:

bwaaahaaaa

froggie tampons are not meant to be re-used - remember that!

bwaaahaaaaaa

Post by froggie on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:39pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:37pm:

bwaaahaaaaaaaaa

Meds, tick, meds....

Post by froggie on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:40pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:38pm:

Lobo wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 5:55pm:

bwaaahaaaa

froggie tampons are not meant to be re-used - remember that!

bwaaahaaaaaa

Well, stop sticking used ones in your mouth.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:50pm
Here`s a question for you frog.  Why do you have a problem with men recieving medical support.

Post by tickfen on Oct 30th, 2010 at 6:34am
No prizes for coming sloppy seconds froggie

bwaaahaaaaaa

froggie sounds like a porridge stirrer

bwaaaahaaaaaa

Post by freediver on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:30am

Spare a thought for American students. On school was sponsored by coke and they wanted to do an aerial photo with all the students in coke shirts. One wore a pepsi shirt underneath and pulled the top one off at just the right moment. He was expelled.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:32am
Unbelievible that in this day & age people would oppose the supply of medical medical resources to combat prostate cancer, then slime around to deny it.

Takes all kinds.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:35am

freediver wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:30am:

Spare a thought for American students. On school was sponsored by coke and they wanted to do an aerial photo with all the students in coke shirts. One wore a pepsi shirt underneath and pulled the top one off at just the right moment. He was expelled.

The SCHOOL was sponsered by coke?  That is bad eh.

Post by tickfen on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:39am

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:35am:

freediver wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:30am:

The SCHOOL was sponsered by coke?  That is bad eh.

And bet the Dental association kicked in a rebate to Coke too!

Post by tickfen on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:46am

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:32am:
Unbelievible that in this day & age people would oppose the supply of medical medical resources to combat prostate cancer, then slime around to deny it.

Takes all kinds.

It's covered in warts too.......rippit!

bwaaahaaaa

Post by aussiefree2ride on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:57am
I think from memory there were three or four who tried to ambush the point of the discussion, weird, and a little bit more than a little bit sickening.  Nice to know we`ll never have to look at them in RL.

Post by tickfen on Oct 30th, 2010 at 10:10am

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 9:57am:
I think from memory there were three or four who tried to ambush the point of the discussion, weird, and a little bit more than a little bit sickening.  Nice to know we`ll never have to look at them in RL.

Yes and they strangelyall sounded very very similar to each other.
Maybe they were all joined at the hips....or shoulder!

Post by mellie on Oct 30th, 2010 at 12:27pm
I find it interesting how lively threads which are doing quite well where they are get demoted to other areas of this board....

I guess this thread peeved off the global pink-ribbon  moderators?

;)

Anyway, have a great day people, I'm off ...  I hate shopping on gorgeous days like this, but the pantry's looking a little bare, so I had best fill it up.

:) Cheers

Post by froggie on Oct 30th, 2010 at 8:38pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Oct 29th, 2010 at 8:50pm:
Here`s a question for you frog.  Why do you have a problem with men recieving medical support.

Show me where I said that.....

Post by froggie on Oct 30th, 2010 at 8:40pm

tickfen wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 6:34am:

bwaaahaaaaaa

bwaaaahaaaaaa

You DO have a fixation with that subject, don't you tick??
Tendencies in that direction that you are trying to keep hidden???

Post by philperth2010 on Oct 30th, 2010 at 8:51pm

Lobo wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 8:40pm:

bwaaahaaaaaa

bwaaaahaaaaaa

Perhaps the annoying little parasite should come out of the cupboard....lol???

If you hate a person, you hate something in him that is part of yourself. What isn't part of ourselves doesn't disturb us.
Hermann Hesse (1877 - 1962)

Post by tickfen on Oct 31st, 2010 at 5:36am

philperth2010 wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 8:51pm:

Lobo wrote on Oct 30th, 2010 at 8:40pm:

bwaaahaaaaaa

bwaaaahaaaaaa

Perhaps the annoying little parasite should come out of the cupboard....lol???

If you hate a person, you hate something in him that is part of yourself. What isn't part of ourselves doesn't disturb us.
Hermann Hesse (1877 - 1962)

I just bet phil self serves up his own breakfast, with Carl & Froggie very excited spectators

bwaaaaahaaaaaaa

Post by Jasignature on Oct 31st, 2010 at 5:50am
...I'm really late to this Discussion, but I have a late note. Thats if you wanna unravel the ball of paper covered in dripping dog saliva?  :P

I kinda personally dislike how the Medical Industry is 'emotionally' TAXING everyone with each day being a 'Donation Day' for whatever can be covered.
I remember when I worked in the Hospitals and I was constantly harassed by female staff who had nothing better to do except be fashion experts, because I wore a plain navy blue bandana (matched my navy blue pants with whatever shirt I had to wear.
...wasn't long after the system was doing "Bandana Day" ...for a small price of donation. ::)
When I worked Aged Care, they wanted me to wear a Pink Flower. I told em to *F*-off "Its hard enough being a male nurse as it is!""
9% of Nurses are male and possibly 4.5% or that are Butt Pirates who think that 'caring' is being feminine. ::)

If you want to help Prostate Cancer endeavours - DON'T DRINK BEER.
Oh yeah, most of the "Mo" boys are beer drinkers  ::)

I never give to Charities and my long hair stays ...along with my aggressive-looking Amish beard.