General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Another 108 Australian Jobs To Be Lost.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1284594858

Message started by imcrookonit on Sep 16th, 2010 at 9:54am

Title: Another 108 Australian Jobs To Be Lost.
Post by imcrookonit on Sep 16th, 2010 at 9:54am

Union slams Telstra cuts in Grafton

The Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU) has today strongly condemned Telstra for its proposal to close its Business Call Centre in Grafton, cutting 108 jobs from regional Australia.

Employees were informed of the proposal yesterday and the CPSU received notification by fax.

“This decision is a direct attack upon Telstra workers, their families and the services they provide to the Australian community, particularly in regional Australia,” said CPSU Assistant National Secretary Louise Persse.

“Job losses of this size are very bad news for local economies. The impact on Grafton alone will be massive.

“The decision follows the closure in the past three years of Telstra customer service operations in a number of regional areas including Geelong, Bendigo, Ballarat, Maroochydore and Cairns.

“There is growing community anger about Telstra’s ongoing slashing of Australian jobs and the devastating effect these cuts have on regional areas.”

Telstra says there would be a net reduction of 15 jobs as 93 permanent positions would be added in Brisbane and Melbourne.

“Working in these cities is not a practical option for the staff whose jobs are under threat. They have families and commitments in the local area,” Ms Persse said.

“Is a national disgrace for Telstra to be slashing more jobs in regional Australia and devastating yet more local economies.”

The Page MP Janelle Saffin has launched a petition against the move. The CPSU is urging members and the community in the local area to get involved to overturn this decision.

“Our members are concerned not just about cutting the services they provide but about the effect on the cuts will have on their town,” Ms Persse said.

Title: Re: Another 108 Australian Jobs To Be Lost.
Post by imcrookonit on Sep 16th, 2010 at 9:59am
Yes good on you, thank you for that Telstra.  Another 108 people to be thrown on the scrapheap.  No matter though, as centrelink will be able to look after them now.  

Post by BigOl64 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:06am

wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 9:59am:
Yes good on you, thank you for that Telstra.  Another 108 people to be thrown on the scrapheap.  No matter though, as centrelink will be able to look after them now.  

Going a bit extreme on the emotion aren't you?

Even if they are only semi-skilled they should have no problem getting a job, christ Australia has only 5.1% unemployment. If they can't then they have serious employability issues.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:14am
Thrown on the scrapheap?!

LOL

Post by pansi1951 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:46am
5.1% unemployment in Grafton lol

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:47am
Don't worry -
Centerlink will find them a job licking the road clean.

Post by thelastnail on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:07am

Bobby. wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:47am:
Don't worry -

or scooping up road kill ;) LOL

Post by thelastnail on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:09am

BigOl64 wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:06am:

Even if they are only semi-skilled they should have no problem getting a job, christ Australia has only 5.1% unemployment. If they can't then they have serious employability issues.

if you believe the cooked up ABS unemployment stats then you must be totally inept.

Post by mozzaok on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:17am
Hopefully when the NBN is up and running, more people in regional australia will be able to work and live in these regional areas, and not just add to the strain on the already overly stressed big cities.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:18am

Sir lastnail wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:07am:

Don't worry -

Some of the women could end up in massage parlors
polishing rockets.

Post by Time on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:40am
This will have a large impact on Grafton. It only has a population of 16,000. I lived there for 21 years and employment is not easy to find; hence why I left.

Maybe could Telstra could sack some of those incoherent Indians and employ those who speak fluent Australian English? Nar, too much profit to be made.

Post by culldav on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:06pm
I will bet somewhere along the line these jobs find their way to India or somewhere else besides Australia

Post by BigOl64 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:14pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:46am:
5.1% unemployment in Grafton lol

You know that if you believe that feeding and housing your family is important, you are allowed to move to where the work is, rather thatn stay where it is not.

Post by BigOl64 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:17pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:09am:

if you believe the cooked up ABS unemployment stats then you must be totally inept.

I believe that unless you are a friggen lazy retard, gaining employment in this country isn't that difficult, regardless of the cooked unemployment figures.

Sheesh some of you people need to realise it is not the 1960's anymore, there is NO cradle to grave employment anymore.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:20pm
Bigol

Sheesh some of you people need to realise it is not the 1960's anymore, there is NO cradle to grave employment anymore.

And there isn't a proper unemployment benefit either.
Could you live on $230 per week?
I hope I never lose my job.

Post by aussiefree2ride on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:56pm

BigOl64 wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:17pm:

I believe that unless you are a friggen lazy retard, gaining employment in this country isn't that difficult, regardless of the cooked unemployment figures.

You got that right mate.  Australia is still the land of easy living, if only the lazy whimps realised it and pulled their weight, it might remain the paradise it is today.

Post by Time on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:04pm
Grafton's population hasn't grown in about 30 years. While all close towns have grown, Grafton remains stagnant. Coffs Harbour has gone from about 16,000 30 years ago to about 70,000 today. There's a reason why it hasn't grown, and cutting jobs like Telstra have is a major part of that. How do you employ 108 extra people in a town that never grows? Add to that the 300 odd school leavers each year.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:07pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:40am:
This will have a large impact on Grafton. It only has a population of 16,000. I lived there for 21 years and employment is not easy to find; hence why I left.

Maybe could Telstra could sack some of those incoherent Indians and employ those who speak fluent Australian English? Nar, too much profit to be made.

Hmm is employment hard to find because there are FEW jobs, or because there are few jobs people are willing to take?????

And the incoherent indians are in INDIA...so sacking them makes no differece to jobs in Australia....

Post by Time on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:21pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:07pm:

Hmm is employment hard to find because there are FEW jobs, or because there are few jobs people are willing to take?????

And the incoherent indians are in INDIA...so sacking them makes no differece to jobs in Australia....

See my post above about no growth in Grafton in regards to their chances of re-employment. And, if Telstra was interested in employing Australians it could relocate those Indian call centres here and employ Australians.

Post by BigOl64 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:30pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:21pm:

See my post above about no growth in Grafton in regards to their chances of re-employment. And, if Telstra was interested in employing Australians it could relocate those Indian call centres here and employ Australians.

Yeh like any true Aussie with an option of being on the dole or working in a call centre would waste too much time on the phone.

Why do you think we import workers when theoretically there are unemplyed available. Either they won't do the work or they can't do the work.

Post by Time on Sep 16th, 2010 at 4:32pm

BigOl64 wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:30pm:

Yeh like any true Aussie with an option of being on the dole or working in a call centre would waste too much time on the phone.

Why do you think we import workers when theoretically there are unemplyed available. Either they won't do the work or they can't do the work.

Yet there exists call centres in Australia, which kinda refutes your point.

As someone indicated above, the dole pays very little so if a call centre job became available to someone in dire need of money, then they'd take it.

Post by BigOl64 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 4:47pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 4:32pm:
[quote author=bigol64 link=1284594858/15#19 date=1284615038][quote author=Time link=1284594858/15#18 date=1284614480][quote author=gizmo_2655 link=1284594858/15#17 date=1284613677][quote author=Time link=1284594858/0#10 date=1284601221]

As someone indicated above, the dole pays very little so if a call centre job became available to someone in dire need of money, then they'd take it.

Not really, I do realise that the person at the other end of my phone is sometimes an Aussie, but not always.

If every person on the dole accepted a job within there skill set we would not have to import unskilled, semi-skilled labor from 3rd world countries on 457 visas. Backpackers would not be filling unskilled jobs that the unemployed could do, but while we have unlimited dole that will never happen.

Some people are unemployable and some choose to not work for a miriad of excuses, it is how this country operates.

Post by qikvtec on Sep 16th, 2010 at 8:37pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:18am:

Don't worry -

polishing rockets.

;D  Have you seen the average telstra worker?  

Post by aussiefree2ride on Sep 16th, 2010 at 8:42pm

qikvtec wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 8:37pm:

Bobby. wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 11:18am:

Don't worry -

polishing rockets.

;D  Have you seen the average telstra worker?  

Some of em have just had that one STD too many. :D

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:35pm
Aussie:

Some of em have just had that one STD too many.

I wonder if Centerlink ever sent off any women to
a massage parlor to find work?

Post by thelastnail on Sep 17th, 2010 at 1:09am

BigOl64 wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 12:17pm:

Try and pay off a 500K mortgage on a 2 hour a week job which is a full time job according to the ABS :(

Post by thelastnail on Sep 17th, 2010 at 1:10am

Bobby. wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:35pm:
Aussie:

They just rename the job as a rocket polisher ;) LOL

Post by pansi1951 on Sep 17th, 2010 at 6:24am
<<I wonder if Centerlink ever sent off any women to
a massage parlor to find work? >>

No they don't. No call centre, no door-to-door selling, no fruit picking, no prostitution. Even Centrelink have limits.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Sep 17th, 2010 at 7:43am
Well I think Telstra has made a smart move. Since the ALP got into power the NBN is going too kill Telstra shares. So massive cut backs will be needed for Telstra too stay afloat. More jobs for India is a must and cutting Australian jobs that can be out sourced to cheap labour countries will be more common.
----------------------------
P.S. LOL at all those Union members who's members fee's were spent on ALP advertising to put them self’s out of a job. They paid to lose their own jobs.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 17th, 2010 at 7:52am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 4:32pm:

BigOl64 wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 3:30pm:

Yes I know, I used to work in one a couple of years ago.....
But even then, it was a private company, under contract....and constantly under threat of being 'relocated'.....

Post by aussiefree2ride on Sep 17th, 2010 at 8:13am

Sir lastnail wrote on Sep 17th, 2010 at 1:10am:

Bobby. wrote on Sep 16th, 2010 at 10:35pm:
Aussie:

They just rename the job as a rocket polisher ;) LOL

"Rocket Polisher"  That cracks me up.  ;D

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 17th, 2010 at 9:31am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 17th, 2010 at 6:24am:

No they don't. No call centre, no door-to-door selling, no fruit picking, no prostitution. Even Centrelink have limits.

Really - they actually have jobs on their list which people
don't have to apply for?

Post by pansi1951 on Sep 17th, 2010 at 10:11am

Bobby. wrote on Sep 17th, 2010 at 9:31am:

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 17th, 2010 at 6:24am:

Really - they actually have jobs on their list which people
don't have to apply for?

Yes really. In regional areas Centrelink have a list of companies that have a record of dodgy business practices regarding workers and they are also on the list. You know the places that everyone is talking about, the ones where people say they wouldn't work for them for a million dollars a week, although they probably would for a million ha ha, the businesses that go through employees faster than Anna Bligh sells assets.

Post by Time on Sep 18th, 2010 at 9:03am

Not really, I do realise that the person at the other end of my phone is sometimes an Aussie, but not always.

If every person on the dole accepted a job within there skill set we would not have to import unskilled, semi-skilled labor from 3rd world countries on 457 visas. Backpackers would not be filling unskilled jobs that the unemployed could do, but while we have unlimited dole that will never happen.

Some people are unemployable and some choose to not work for a miriad of excuses, it is how this country operates.

Actually, after 3 months of being unemployed you are obliged to go to an employment agency and search for work on their computers for a number of hours each day. You are required to apply for a number of jobs each day and follow them up until you are employed. Failure to do this results in the dole being cut off.

However, getting back to the point of the thread, how do you see 108 newly unemployed finding work in a non-growth town?

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.