General Discussion >> Feedback >> A suggestion
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1283387221

Message started by sprintcyclist on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 10:27am

Title: A suggestion
Post by sprintcyclist on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 10:27am

Since it has been the tightest election ever, perhaps this calls for a "variation" on normal considerations here ?

When One party is named/sworn in as the duly elected govt shall we allow a 48 hr period of ........ looser moderating ?

ie, no holds barred ?

Title: Re: A suggestion
Post by Amadd on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 10:52am
I hope the libs win 'cause it means much more to you than it does to me.

Post by locutius on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 11:38am

Since it has been the tightest election ever, perhaps this calls for a "variation" on normal considerations here ?

When One party is named/sworn in as the duly elected govt shall we allow a 48 hr period of ........ looser moderating ?

ie, no holds barred ?

Why? There is already too much stupidity, duplicate topics (that add nothing new other than to waste time), and foul mouth temper tantrums as it is.

A lot of it needs to be reigned in more than anything. We are all adults and most of us are far from delicate little petals. Nor do I want a site full of precious sooks but the substanceless and prolonged vileness of some posters can be done without for a better more mature forum.

I'm here to discuss things in a genuine and meaningful manner. I expect that if I get in a ideological debate and the other person presents overtime a series of better and rational arguments then something of value has come out of it. I expect that I may well change my position or at the very least challenge my position.

I generally try, and consider myself quite successful in not having emotional attachments to information. My point is why hold onto a belief if I have come to the conclusion that it is a wrong belief. The illuminated change of a personal stance is not a retreat in my opinion.

Moderation will continue in it's unbiased manner that we are used to here at OzPol. And the ones that have been gaged or banned have bought it upon themselves as low brow internet thugs generally.

Post by sprintcyclist on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 12:21pm
Locu - Why ?
Because some of us like it.
For a limited period only.

Who knows, maybe it would "well change my position or at the very least challenge my position"

Post by mozzaok on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 5:50pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 10:27am:

ie, no holds barred ?

NO!

Post by perceptions_now on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 8:49pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 10:27am:

ie, no holds barred ?

Is that an admission that you think your party (the Liberals), has lost?

Post by perceptions_now on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 8:50pm

locutius wrote on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 11:38am:

ie, no holds barred ?

Why? There is already too much stupidity, duplicate topics (that add nothing new other than to waste time), and foul mouth temper tantrums as it is.

A lot of it needs to be reigned in more than anything.
We are all adults and most of us are far from delicate little petals. Nor do I want a site full of precious sooks but the substanceless and prolonged vileness of some posters can be done without for a better more mature forum.

I'm here to discuss things in a genuine and meaningful manner. I expect that if I get in a ideological debate and the other person presents overtime a series of better and rational arguments then something of value has come out of it. I expect that I may well change my position or at the very least challenge my position.

I generally try, and consider myself quite successful in not having emotional attachments to information. My point is why hold onto a belief if I have come to the conclusion that it is a wrong belief. The illuminated change of a personal stance is not a retreat in my opinion.

Moderation will continue in it's unbiased manner that we are used to here at OzPol. And the ones that have been gaged or banned have bought it upon themselves as low brow internet thugs generally.

Agreed!

Post by freediver on Sep 2nd, 2010 at 10:03pm
I'm getting sick of all the BS posts too.

Post by Amadd on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 10:34am
Good for you FD. It's nice to have an opinion sometimes.  ;D ;D ;D

Post by Equitist on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 10:48am

I expect that things will become a lot quieter around here soon, after another influx of post-mortem triumphs and tribulations - and predictions...

I, for one, promise that: after the initial post-election flurry I will be restoring a bit more balance to my own life...

That said, I've enjoyed being here and I will probably miss the banter - so: although you'll see a lot less of my rants I can't be gotten rid of too easily...

I will probably drop in regularly - with a view to debating less political issues and more philosophical topics...

Meantime, I would like to reiterate the sentiments of my pre-poll truce with the resident right whingers: I don't take myself too seriously and I don't harbour any particularly hard feelings toward anyone...

Cheers

::)

Post by Amadd on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:35am
Nice to hear your input Equitist. I wish I could maintain such an impartial view, but I can't.
When labor pull this thing off, I'm goin' to town. I'm gonna make sure that these pre-emptive idiots never inhabit this part of town ever again.
Much to the dislike of FD of course, who is not allowed any passion or opinion.

I'm gonna run those frikin' charlatans outta town. Those snivelling frikin' losers.

Post by Equitist on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:53am

Amadd wrote on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:35am:
Nice to hear your input Equitist. I wish I could maintain such an impartial view, but I can't.
When labor pull this thing off, I'm goin' to town. I'm gonna make sure that these pre-emptive idiots never inhabit this part of town ever again.

I'm gonna run those frikin' charlatans outta town. Those snivelling frikin' losers.

LOL...if the situation at the Yahoo boards in the wake of the 2007 election is anything to go by: many of the rabid right whingers will feel too ashamed, embarrassed and depressed to hang around for a post mortem anyway...

There will likely be an initial flurry of angry any vicious outburts - but all but the most pragmatic and arrogant of them will probably slink away fairly quickly to lick their wounds...

From what I've seen on here (and Yahoo) to date and regardless of the impending outcome, I expect that the majority of the Lefties and genuine Centrists will be interested in hanging around for a bit longer, to constructively and altruistically discuss the pros, cons and possibilities of the new political and socio-economic paradigm...

;)

Post by perceptions_now on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 12:53pm

Equitist wrote on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:53am:

Amadd wrote on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:35am:

LOL...if the situation at the Yahoo boards in the wake of the 2007 election is anything to go by: many of the rabid right whingers will feel too ashamed, embarrassed and depressed to hang around for a post mortem anyway...

There will likely be an initial flurry of angry any vicious outburts - but all but the most pragmatic and arrogant of them will probably slink away fairly quickly to lick their wounds...

From what I've seen on here (and Yahoo) to date and regardless of the impending outcome, I expect that the majority of the Lefties and genuine Centrists will be interested in hanging around for a bit longer, to constructively and altruistically discuss the pros, cons and possibilities of the new political and socio-economic paradigm...

;)

History seldom repeats exactly, as we are currently seeing.

Post by freediver on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 9:56pm
There will be no new paradigm. Not sure what makes makes people think this is anything but temporary. The pollies will just put up with the situation till they can once again get the upper hand on the voters.

I always thought it was thoe who oppose the party in power that spend the most time on these sorts of forums. They have the most motivation.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:01pm

I always thought it was thoe who oppose the party in power that spend the most time on these sorts of forums.

You will find that it is mostly the left

1. They are either unemployed
2. Work in unionised jobs where unproductive work and browsing the web are a god given right
3. Professional university students

Post by Amadd on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:34pm

You will find that it is mostly the left

1. They are either unemployed
2. Work in unionised jobs where unproductive work and browsing the web are a god given right
3. Professional university students

That's what it's all about isn't it?
You will leave this earth in the very same birthday suit as when you entered it won't you?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNG158itZiA&feature=related

Post by Yahoon on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:39pm

I wish I could maintain such an impartial view, but I can't.

You hold much anger for a eunuch

Post by Amadd on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:47pm
Yep. I'm goin' to town on you too bozo whilst I am alive.
You just don't get it do you?

Can't you see the lies that the libs are incapable of hiding yet again?

They (you) will lose in this life because they cannot fathom that truth is more important than money.

The end game is not about money by any stretch.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 3rd, 2010 at 11:55pm

Yep. I'm goin' to town on you too bozo whilst I am alive.

It's a shame you won't live too long, what with all that anger and being sackless too

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 12:11am

It's a shame you won't live too long, what with all that anger and being sackless too

Outta debt here buddy. I own my house via hard work.
Do you want to rent from me so that I may enjoy a nice holiday?

I could use a few of your dollars to invest directly opposite to the crap which you purport.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 4th, 2010 at 12:16am

Outta debt here buddy. I own my house via hard work.
Do you want to rent from me so that I may enjoy a nice holiday?

I could use a few of your dollars to invest directly opposite to the crap which you purport.

they cannot fathom that truth is more important than money.

The end game is not about money by any stretch

Hypocrite much? Sounds like you are a wannabe
lulz  :D

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 12:26am

Hypocrite much? Sounds like you are a wannabe
lulz  

Whatever...enjoy.
I ain't really interested unless you want to offer me a good price. Then again, I doubt that you are an acceptable risk, so I'll pass on this one OK?

Post by Yahoon on Sep 4th, 2010 at 12:43am
Yep, a definite wannabe  ;D

A leftard that wishes he was a righty. Sorry to say, it's your lack of sack that lets you down.

Maybe you should give your rental to one of the illegal immigrants. You could kill kill three birds with one stone. House your illegal love children, satiate your misguided guilt and save the rest of us from it.

Or you could continue voting the way you do and when your choices wreck the country, I'll be there to buy your white elephant at a bargain price and add it to my stable. Of course I'll be generous enough to let you rent it back from me at more than it costs me for the mortgage and revel in the generous tax deduction that you will afford me.

The market needs lightweights like you. You keep the real players fat and giggly. Thank you for your service and money, n00b
:D

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 12:56am

The market needs lightweights like you. You keep the real players fat and giggly. Thank you for your service and money, n00b

Thanx mate. You should be honoured that I engage myself in a discussion with you.
So do you want to pay me money or not? The only decision that I have at the fore is if I see you as an acceptable risk or not.

I'm not a dumbass bank, I like to weigh up the options.
Prove to me that you are worthy and we may be able to do some real business.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 4th, 2010 at 12:59am

they cannot fathom that truth is more important than money.

The end game is not about money by any stretch

A lefty n00b with aspirations.

How cute.  ;D

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:12am

How cute.  

Get over yourself.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:17am

Amadd wrote on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:12am:

How cute.  

Get over yourself.

n00by doesn't like being shown how much of a n00b he is  ;D

I guess having an empty rental and touting for business here shows just how much of a n00b he is.

Your 'investment' must have been in a piss poor area, n00b  ;D

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:25am

Your 'investment' must have been in a piss poor area, n00b  

Yep. Somewhere between "Old Kent road" and "Malborough".
But guess what? It's mine, I own it and people want it.

Do you wish to own property? I'll bet that you do.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:31am
I already do, but even my commercial properties (diversification and all that) are all tenanted and have been for the last 12 years, unlike a n00bs  ;D

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:50am
So WTF is your ambition here clown?
Is it to tell everybody what a Noob they are? What's your angle dude?

Do you have an angle that is readily apparent, or are you just making up things as you go along?

Post by Yahoon on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:59am
My only 'angle' is to show how much of a dickwad you are.

Mission accomplished.
;)

Post by Amadd on Sep 4th, 2010 at 9:30am
Fair enough. All in good fun I suppose  ;D

Post by mozzaok on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:38pm
lol, you guys could take that routine on the road, it reminded me a bit of Crosby and Hope, but in this case it may be Bong Crosby, and No Hope.

There once was a dill called Yahoon,
an obvious right wing loon,
he was so full of it,
the absolute twit,
that they rated him sharp as a spoon.
;) ;)
Have fun boys, and play nice, lol.

Post by Amadd on Sep 5th, 2010 at 7:51am
;D Good one.
I hope I get to be Bong Crosby.

I can feel a limerick thread coming on in the not too distant future  :D

Post by mozzaok on Sep 5th, 2010 at 9:22am
lol, I knew you would get it Ammadd.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 5th, 2010 at 11:17am
How sweet

Post by Katanyavich on Sep 5th, 2010 at 11:59am
FWIW, I reckon Yahoon is naught but a troll.

Haven't seen him contribute anything of value yet, just likes to denigrate others.

Still, let him have his fun, I guess.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 5th, 2010 at 1:10pm
Oh look, a troll trying to troll a troll  ::)

Post by Katanyavich on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:01pm
You think so?

Oops! Sorry.

Forgot that option isn't available to you.

Post by Yahoon on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:04pm
That's correct.

You don't have the intelligence to troll...or make a point. That pretty much makes you just background noise as evidenced by your contribution to this thread

Post by Aussie on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:31pm

mozzaok wrote on Sep 4th, 2010 at 1:38pm:
lol, you guys could take that routine on the road, it reminded me a bit of Crosby and Hope, but in this case it may be Bong Crosby, and No Hope.

There once was a dill called Yahoon,
an obvious right wing loon,
he was so full of it,
the absolute twit,
that they rated him sharp as a spoon.
;) ;)
Have fun boys, and play nice, lol.

Does not help, Moz.  The message you send is that it is okay to lampoon on an ad hom basis.

8-)

Post by Yahoon on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:43pm
Backseat modding from someone who has been already thrown from a moving car?  ;D

Post by Aussie on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:45pm

Yahoon wrote on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:43pm:
Backseat modding from someone who has been already thrown from a moving car?  ;D

Are you asking me, Yahoon?

Post by Yahoon on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:50pm
Rhetorical
R-H-E-T-O-R-I-C-A-L
Rhetorical

;)

Post by Aussie on Sep 5th, 2010 at 9:50pm

Yahoon wrote on Sep 5th, 2010 at 8:50pm:
Rhetorical
R-H-E-T-O-R-I-C-A-L
Rhetorical

;)

Nah.

Stupid.
S-T-U-P-I-D
Stupid

Post by Yahoon on Sep 5th, 2010 at 10:15pm
Yes, your backseat moderating is particularly stupid. Understandable though, stupid seems to be something you are overly familiar with