Political Parties >> Australian Labor Party >> NBN to give Labor minority govt.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1282439836

Message started by DARWIN on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:17am

Title: NBN to give Labor minority govt.
Post by DARWIN on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:17am
I always did think the NBN would win labor the election, didn’t think it would do it this way tho!

The NBN which will really be starting to be rolled out in 2012 will be creating jobs just as the Long Depression rolls in, so just as well it wil go ahead.

Title: Re: NBN to give Labor minority govt.
Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:19am
Bob Katter Jnr is on record as saying he would never side in a million years with a party that suggests carbon trading.

He is a proud climate change sceptic.

So you reckon he'll drop that because of a broadband network??

Post by Bob Hunter LDP on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:26am
The ex-Nats wont waver all their previously-held views and principles so that they can wait 10 years for an incompetent government to build a national broadband network.

Post by mozzaok on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:29am
I cannot see katter ever being able to work with Labor, let alone Labor AND the Greens, so I think it is pretty safe to rule him out of anything other than possibly siding with the coalition.

Post by mantra on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:43am
I think the Bush wants an NBN. Katter appears to be all for it.

He might not like the Greens and Labor, but he appears to hate the Nats.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:49am

mantra wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:43am:
I think the Bush wants an NBN. Katter appears to be all for it.

He might not like the Greens and Labor, but he appears to hate the Nats.

Katter is in favour of a broadband network and he has issues with some of the Nationals.

However the Greens/Labor's position on climate change is completely against anything Katter stands for on the subject.

If you think Abbott is a sceptic, he not even halfway to Katter's position.

Post by DARWIN on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 5:50pm
Katter is scathing of the coalition. Neither Windsor nor Oakeshott like the coalition. All want an NBN, Katter could vote for an ETS that helped farmers in his electorate, e.g. soil carbon sequestration.

And minority governments can be stable: we had one in SA for 6 years.

Wilkie will either win or Labor wins that seat. One or two other seats given to the Libs on narrow margins will end up in the ALP column.

So an ETS and the NBN will be in Australia’s future: the ETS will still be negotiated with the coalition because the Greens will block any sensible one. If an ETS does get put in place I think the Greens will go backwards in terms of support (which is why they will never pass any decent ETS.)

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:02pm
I was waiting for you to come out of the woodwork Darwin. Remember the way you mercilessly mocked Galaxy POlls prediction of 17 marginal seats to go from labor to liberal. you were furious in denial and Id like to now take the opportunity to point out that 16 of those 17 seats DID go to the coalition and the 17th may still do so.

So... you were wrong and woefully so.

and while you crap on about the NBN remember that the Libs are going to be in government withint the week.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:09pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 5:50pm:
Katter is scathing of the coalition. Neither Windsor nor Oakeshott like the coalition. All want an NBN, Katter could vote for an ETS that helped farmers in his electorate, e.g. soil carbon sequestration.

Wilkie will either win or Labor wins that seat. One or two other seats given to the Libs on narrow margins will end up in the ALP column.

So an ETS and the NBN will be in Australia’s future: the ETS will still be negotiated with the coalition because the Greens will block any sensible one. If an ETS does get put in place I think the Greens will go backwards in terms of support (which is why they will never pass any decent ETS.)

You looney laborites honestly believe the 3 independants will support labor??? Take a look at the labor vote in their seats. they start at a 'huge' 8% and works its way up to 20%. these seats are so stridently anti-labor that even these disaffected members know that to support labor would be political suicide. and in some sectors of FNQ it could be LITERAL suicide.

Post by DARWIN on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:15pm
The Galaxy poll didn’t show Labor losing 17 marginals.

Those seats returning indy members have been doing so for ages: if they were so red hot coalition they would have returned to the coalition years ago. clinging to a straw there old so. Opposition isn’t that bad: well it is but you will have lots of time to get used to it  ;D

Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:17pm

idiotic darwin - go back to your lonely site.
go and spam it as you always do

do you still get off on selfspamming?

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:21pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:15pm:
The Galaxy poll didn’t show Labor losing 17 marginals.

Those seats returning indy members have been doing so for ages: if they were so red hot coalition they would have returned to the coalition years ago. clinging to a straw there old so. Opposition isn’t that bad: well it is but you will have lots of time to get used to it  ;D

oh you are SO precious...  now you are trying to rewrite history?? in HEASLINES around the country, galaxy predicted the loss of 17 marginal seats and nthey were virtually 100% accurate. now you keep on trying to change history but the fact is that you LOST and Galaxy were near perfect in their prediction.

growup and accept the defeat.

Post by DARWIN on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:22pm
Do you have something useful to say Sprint? Still the adoration  of Abbott?

Anyone that heard the interviews with the 3 indies last night must know they will support Labor?

BTW the WA Nat that booted Tuckey out is sitting on the cross benches, complicating poor old endorphin addict Abbott’s life. He could probably be bought by Labor by say the next NBN rollout starting in his electorate or something

Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:25pm

selfspammer

go buy some tissues

Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:25pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 5:50pm:

Darwin, the NBN won't help the farmers in Katter's electorate, neither will carbon sequestration.....
Carbon sequestration will HURT the farmers....Having 100 acre paddocks removed from use for sequestration hurts farmers, it doesn't help them...

Post by DARWIN on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:32pm
soil carbon sequestration doesn’t preclude normal use of that soil.

substandard ground could be used to grow trees tho

Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:41pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 6:32pm:
soil carbon sequestration doesn’t preclude normal use of that soil.

substandard ground could be used to grow trees tho

But it DOES preclude cropping on that ground...

And THAT is the point..

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:20pm
Time for the Darwin awards...

and Darwin definately deserves it! the sight of a (preumably) grown man desperately trying to make-beleive that his labor heroes won...

jerk.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:24pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:20pm:

and Darwin definately deserves it! the sight of a (preumably) grown man desperately trying to make-beleive that his labor heroes won...

jerk.

I am stunned that ANYONE - even the lunatics like buzz or thy - could see the wiping out of a majority and the loss of the primary vote after ONE TERM as anything other than a humiliation.

We have been saying for some time that out there in Australia people are angry with the debt, the boat people and the arrogance of this Government.

Now maybe they will actually realise it was all true?

Then again, probably not.....

We'll still probably hear of a conspiracy and that in reality people want to be taxed more and the key issues of our times are gay marriage and electric cars.....

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:32pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:24pm:

jerk.

I am stunned that ANYONE - even the lunatics like buzz or thy - could see the wiping out of a majority and the loss of the primary vote after ONE TERM as anything other than a humiliation.

We have been saying for some time that out there in Australia people are angry with the debt, the boat people and the arrogance of this Government.

Now maybe they will actually realise it was all true?

Then again, probably not.....

We'll still probably hear of a conspiracy and that in reality people want to be taxed more and the key issues of our times are gay marriage and electric cars.....

Im with you on this andrei. The sad thing is that these labor-jerks on here are no different from the labro jerks out ther in parliament. Have you heard a SINGLE acknowledgment that they have stuffed up? not one. they JUST DONT GET IT. and it s that stubborn denial of reality which wil condemn them to the opposition benches just as it condemned Whitlam to opposition after his defeat in 1975. Back then they refused to acknowledge their failures and weaknessses and we punished by a further electoral thrashing in 1977. If labor dont want to lose more seats in 3012 they better get used to the idea that they did some things wrong. Until they do they wil NEVER regain govt.

Post by Vanessa on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:36pm
Katter was on Sunday Night just now.

What a total jerkface he is.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:36pm
Interestingly I think the one person who probably said it right about the Labor campaign was Maxine McKew!

Post by Vanessa on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:36pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:36pm:
Interestingly I think the one person who probably said it right about the Labor campaign was Maxine McKew!

I can't believe she lost to a frigging tennis player. I am still getting over that one.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:38pm

Vanessa wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:36pm:

I can't believe she lost to a frigging tennis player. I am still getting over that one.

Oh he is a little more than than. And Maxine McClueless was just a journo - not a profession for the super bright.

Post by White Dove on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:38pm

and Darwin definitely deserves it! the sight of a (presumably) grown man desperately trying to make-believe that his labor heroes won...

jerk.

Darwin is better known as Jovial Monk on other Political Forums.  ::)

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:39pm

White Dove wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:38pm:

and Darwin definitely deserves it! the sight of a (presumably) grown man desperately trying to make-believe that his labor heroes won...

jerk.

So far he just sounds like a complete nutter and jerk.

Darwin is better known as Jovial Monk on other Political Forums.  ::)

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:40pm

Had an awful lot more to do with the fact she is completely clueless and inept.

For me though, the best bit of the night was Joyce, Costello and Kroger laying into a stunned Wayne Swan who had finished second in his seat.

Priceless. Made my whole trip to Australia worthwhile if I do nothing else for the next week.

Post by Vanessa on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:41pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:38pm:

Oh he is a little more than than. And Maxine McClueless was just a journo - not a profession for the super bright.

I would have preferred her over the tennis guy.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:42pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:40pm:

Had an awful lot more to do with the fact she is completely clueless and inept.

For me though, the best bit of the night was Joyce, Costello and Kroger laying into a stunned Wayne Swan who had finished second in his seat.

Priceless. Made my whole trip to Australia worthwhile if I do nothing else for the next week.

And wasnt it a classic!! Swan showed what an arrogant fool he was. With an 11% swing AGAINST him it would be obviousl to anyone that he should be subdued and accept that the people had asom issues with the govt. But not swan, the perennial idiot. He took on the panel and was comprehensively eaten alive by better pollies and particularly a far better treasurer (Costello).

Labor just DONT GET IT!

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:43pm

Vanessa wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:41pm:

why? can you articulate a policy reason or simple you dont liek tennis players? I dont expect much depth from labor supporters but supporting McClueless fot that reason is silly.

Post by White Dove on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:47pm
Maxine.  God, who would name a kid that.

Tough luck, Maxine.  You gave away your so-called "career" for  "their' ABC to run for the ALP.  So. Good riddance.   :-*

Post by Vanessa on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:48pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:43pm:

why? can you articulate a policy reason or simple you dont liek tennis players? I dont expect much depth from labor supporters but supporting McClueless fot that reason is silly.

He wasn't my local member so it doesn't bother me, but I find myself a little concerned as to whether people voted for him on his policies, or whether they were star struck.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:56pm

Vanessa wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:48pm:

He wasn't my local member so it doesn't bother me, but I find myself a little concerned as to whether people voted for him on his policies, or whether they were star struck.

by John Alexander??? he is a tennis COMMENTATOR now - not a player. he is not really a star anything but if you want to complain about 'star candidates' then you need to look at the labor party which brings them on often and almost always as enormous failures. Cheryl Kernot, Nicole Cornes, Garret and now McClueless.

Post by Vanessa on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:00pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 7:56pm:

by John Alexander??? he is a tennis COMMENTATOR now - not a player. he is not really a star anything but if you want to complain about 'star candidates' then you need to look at the labor party which brings them on often and almost always as enormous failures. Cheryl Kernot, Nicole Cornes, Garret and now McClueless.

And that's why they lose. They have nothing, it is assumed they will get in based on star power only but that isn't always the case.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:03pm

Vanessa wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:00pm:

And that's why they lose. They have nothing, it is assumed they will get in based on star power only but that isn't always the case.

they also lose because they have crap policies. and crap MPs and a backstabbign PM.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:54pm

During an ATP tour career spanning the late 1960s to mid 1980s, Alexander won 7 singles titles and 27 doubles titles. He achieved a career best singles ranking of World No. 8 in December 1975. Alexander is the youngest player to represent Australia in the Davis Cup. He was also one of Australia's longest serving Davis Cup players, playing from 1968 to 1980.

Post by DARWIN on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:51pm
France is building a NBN:

http://www.lightreading.com/document.asp?doc_id=132899&f_src=lightreading_gnews

Google is doing the same in the US.

Now Australia will build a national one thanks to the ex-Nats indies.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:54pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:51pm:

France also brought in some decent legislation on Muslim headwear - can we follow them in that one too?
Here's hoping anyway.....

Post by Cyberman on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:55pm
Good on them. Built by private industry as they should be.

Not by a quasi-govt company overseen by a useless incompetent labor govt

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:58pm
"Businesses run businesses best. They tend to build things on time and in budget otherwise they lose out.

The job of Government should be merely to oil the cogs and get out of the way"

Margaret Thatcher, 1986.

Post by deepthought on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:59pm

How much are the taxpayers going to pay for the one in France and the Google one?

Post by skippy. on Aug 25th, 2010 at 2:06pm

deepthought wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:59pm:

How much are the taxpayers going to pay for the one in France and the Google one?

I think its 43 billion deepy. ;)

Post by riverina.jack on Aug 25th, 2010 at 2:08pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 1:58pm:
"Businesses run businesses best. They tend to build things on time and in budget otherwise they lose out.

The job of Government should be merely to oil the cogs and get out of the way"

Margaret Thatcher, 1986.

Why listen to that pommy idiot she talks like she got a carrott up her arse.    ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 25th, 2010 at 5:49pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:17am:
I always did think the NBN would win labor the election, didn’t think it would do it this way tho!

The NBN which will really be starting to be rolled out in 2012 will be creating jobs just as the Long Depression rolls in, so just as well it wil go ahead.

Darwin, YOU are a clown. Remember THIS from the other day?

I made my prediction, will know by 10.00pm Saturday if I was right so no need for the name calling.

If you look at the polls and how they are moving Labor’s way my prediction of 80 seats is very possible, then add in last night’s “town hall” meeting there is every reason to think the swing to Labor could accelerate. Julia addresses the NPC today, keeping that momentum in the final 2 days.

No Brisbane seat will fall and the polls in FNQ seats miss out aboriginals in remote locations so less than the expected number of FNQ seats will fall. Bennelong will not fall either.

Possum’s electoral simulation showed 77 seats to Labor as the most probable result—but that doesn’t take in the swing to Labor all this week.

LOL, as i said mate, YOU can't be taken seriously of ANY issue.

::)

Post by Vanessa on Aug 25th, 2010 at 6:31pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:03pm:

Vanessa wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:00pm:

they also lose because they have crap policies. and crap MPs and a backstabbign PM.

You think the Liberals have good policies? ;D

Post by DARWIN on Aug 25th, 2010 at 6:56pm

iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 5:49pm:

I made my prediction, will know by 10.00pm Saturday if I was right so no need for the name calling.

If you look at the polls and how they are moving Labor’s way my prediction of 80 seats is very possible, then add in last night’s “town hall” meeting there is every reason to think the swing to Labor could accelerate. Julia addresses the NPC today, keeping that momentum in the final 2 days.

No Brisbane seat will fall and the polls in FNQ seats miss out aboriginals in remote locations so less than the expected number of FNQ seats will fall. Bennelong will not fall either.

Possum’s electoral simulation showed 77 seats to Labor as the most probable result—but that doesn’t take in the swing to Labor all this week.

So I got the election results wrong. Big deal.

But the NBN is the key that will give Labor govt for the next three years by which time the NBN will be so advanced it can’t be stopped. good thing too for many reasons.

But the link I provided shows that FTTH is the network of the future.

Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 25th, 2010 at 7:02pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 6:56pm:

iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 5:49pm:

So I got the election results wrong. Big deal.

But the NBN is the key that will give Labor govt for the next three years by which time the NBN will be so advanced it can’t be stopped. good thing too for many reasons.

But the link I provided shows that FTTH is the network of the future.

Never said it wasn't mate, the size of the NBN FTTH footprint is the issue.

:-?

Post by DARWIN on Aug 26th, 2010 at 4:39pm
This article fowarded to me by a friend. It is from an industry publication called “Business Spectator”. The author is probably know to most of you, possibly the most emininent IT comentator in Aus.

Really demonstrates how far ‘off’ TA is on the NBN issue.

“The world is watching our NBN – Paul Budde
Published 26 Aug 2010

——————————————————————————–

It is unlikely that many people in the electorates of the independents who are currently holding the balance of power in the House of Representatives realise that the international telecommunications world is following with great interest the negotiations that are taking place between the two main political parties of Australia and Tony Windsor, Rob Oakeshott and Bob Katter.

It is amazing to see the names of these Australian electorates suddenly appearing in the international press.

The reason for it is that Australia is the international benchmark for the deployment of broadband – not simply based on the promise of high-speed broadband access, but because this infrastructure will be linked to government policies that will use the National Broadband Network to generate a range of social and economic benefits around healthcare, education, commerce, media, energy, environment and transport.

BuddeComm calls this the trans-sector approach to broadband infrastructure, and to achieve these benefits it is essential that the infrastructure be made available on an open basis and at utility-based rates.

Over the last year we have seen the following trans-sector initiatives in relation to the NBN:

– The linking of all schools to the network

– The Smart Grid/Smart City project in Newcastle

– Telstra and NEC have signed agreements with medical organisations to deliver e-health services to 17,000 GPs and 28,000 retirement villages (and through them to patients via broadband-based monitoring services)

– Medicare services will be provided to regional Australia, including video-based medical consultations.

While other countries will also have pockets of high-speed broadband – and often much better than Australia – what makes the situation Down Under unique is that the same quality of broadband will be made available right across this large continent.

It would be politically unacceptable to only offer trans-sector services to those customers who live in commercially attractive areas. In order to make the social and economic services accessible countrywide a good quality national infrastructure is essential. This, in particular, will create enormous economic opportunities for regional Australia.

The first government to recognise the importance of the Australian model was the Obama administration. Together with a group of international experts BuddeComm produced four reports for the American government and this information has been instrumental in the preparation of the National Broadband Plan launched in the US early in 2010.

Next the United Nations looked at the Australian NBN and then established the ITU/UNESCO Broadband Commission for Digital Development. This Commission is led by the President of the Republic of Rwanda and some 40 commissioners, including: Communications Minister Stephen Conroy; Carlos Slim, one of the richest men in South America; global entrepreneur, Richard Branson; New Zealand’s ex-Prime Minister, Helen Clark; the inventor of the Internet, Vint Cerf; the global CEOs and Chairs of Alcatel-Lucent, Cisco, Ericsson, Huawei, Intel, Bharti, Qualcomm, Microsoft, Telefonica and China Mobile; Nobel Laureate, Professor Muhammed Ynus; ministers and MPs from India, Macedonia, Finland, Korea, Uruguay, Azerbajan and Samoa; and many other leaders of international organisations.

This is evidence of the fact that world leaders support the broad concept of the NBN as we have developed it in Australia – and it also shows how seriously it is now being taken internationally. So the Australian independent MPs are in good company.

Paul Budde is the managing director of BuddeComm, an independent telecommunications research and consultancy company, which includes 45 national and international researchers in 15 countries”

The Libs didn’t understand the NBN and are therefor consigned to another three years in Opposition to learn.

As always, Labor does the major reforms and nation building: Curtin, Whitlam, Hawke/Keating and now Rudd/Gillard. I am glad Labor will be in govt: the next three years could be the most difficult since the 1930s.